Volvo XC90 – next-generation interior photos released

146731_2_1

First interior images of the next-generation Volvo XC90 have been revealed ahead of the new car’s official unveiling in August. About time, too, considering the ageing original has been on sale since 2002.

Through these images, it is clear that the new XC90 will feature a cabin that looks friendlier than those seen in Volvo’s latest series of concept cars – the Concept Coupe, Concept XC Coupe and Concept Estate – with softer surfacing and a less adventurous use of materials.

What it does share, however, is the large tablet-like portrait touchscreen, an integral part of a new in-car control system with a range of Internet-based products and services. It has virtually no buttons and is said to help create a space that is “modern, spacious and uncluttered”.

Also contributing that effect are the materials used, combining traditional trimmings like wood and leather with handcrafted details, including gear lever made by crystal glass from Swedish glass maker Orrefors as well as a diamond-cut start button and volume control knob.

146945_2_1

The seats, inspired by Scandinavian chairs, have been designed to be comfortable without requiring very thick padding, with cores shaped like a human spine. The standard Comfort seats feature power operation including for the side bolsters, seat cushion extension, lumbar support and vertical headrest adjustment. Ventilation and massage functions are optional, as are Contour seats with additional side support.

Like the car it replaces, the new XC90 is also expected to feature a very family-friendly seven-seat interior. The second row consists of three separate seats that can slide, recline and fold independently, and an optional booster seat is integrated into the centre seat.

The two third row seats, which Volvo says offer “class-leading comfort” for passengers under 170 cm in height, have been moved slightly inboard to offer a better view forward. These too can be folded individually to create a flat load bay, with electric folding operation optional. Additional feet space under the second row seats frees up more legroom, and special attention has also been given to third row ingress and egress.

146708_2_1

As you would expect from a Volvo, all seven seats will be fitted with three-point seat belts with pre-tensioners and all three rows will be protected by improved curtain airbags.

A four-zone automatic climate control system is available, and third-row air-conditioning vents are either optional or standard depending on the market. Volvo’s CleanZone air purification system has been improved with a new filter to more effectively capture small, harmful particles and pollen.

The new Volvo XC90 will be the first car built on the company’s new modular Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) which broadens design flexibility, improves drivability and includes the latest safety features and in-car technologies, all while increasing interior space. It is tipped to weigh up to 150 kg less than the outgoing model and will be powered solely by a range of Drive-E four-cylinder engines from the Volvo Engine Architecture (VEA) family.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=N_ybBhJ8aYA

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Xn0FCqROU2g

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• gavin on May 27, 2014 at 4:37 pm

definitely have upped the luxury level by a good few notches

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
  • Obviously (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Usually, I don’t like the wood part of car interiors. This is one of the unusual moments. I think the wood trim in both the bright and dark cabins look freakin’ awesome and so friggin’ well done. It exudes so much class and elegance that makes me think “to heck with carbon fibre patterns”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • Volvo - China Made Car on May 27, 2014 at 5:10 pm

The Volvo car of today is not like the 244GL where it was Made in Sweden. The Volvo of today is 100% China Made. Go and open every panel of a Volvo and see, there is Made in China on it. Even the windscreen has Made in China on it. The question is this, are you willing to cough out RM300,000 on a china car?

When Geely bought Volvo a few years back they promised Volvo would be 100% Swedish made and they will never share parts nor use parts Made in China. That is typical Chinese company in China. Before deal, promise all sorts, after deal, do another thing.

Buying a Volvo now is as good as buying a Geely. You might as well spend RM80k and buy that Geely.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 88
      • Anthony on May 27, 2014 at 5:28 pm

Better to call this car Volvo Alado XC90. I don’t mind my Samsung handphone being made in china because it is only RM$1500. I don’t mind my clothers or shoes being made in China because they are cheap.

But pay RM$300k over for China car? Are you kidding me?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 59
        • Johan on May 27, 2014 at 5:41 pm

You are better off with a Mazda CX5 2.5 CBU. At RM150,000, at least you know its fully Made in Japan.

Or just get the CKD CX5 at 137,000. At least you know, its fully Japan but assembled in Malaysia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 25
          • hanji on May 27, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Scared airbags not working, any warranty it’ll deploy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
        • Vader (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 7:33 am

Made by which country doesn’t matter, critical point is how well the quality control is.

Example, the iPhone, made in China and still lot of ppl to buy even it is expensive compare to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
        • Other_Thinker on May 28, 2014 at 6:10 pm

You obviously have never been to a Volvo showroom and seen where the cars are made. Even other luxury car brands manufacture outside of their own countries.

There is reason their motto is “Volvo, for life”. You only truly understand what they mean when you’ve owned and driven in one.

• cinono on May 28, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Imported from Japan = Yes!
            Imported from China = NO!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • volvo4life on May 27, 2014 at 7:33 pm

yeap, jaguar and land rovers are indian quality cars too.

stop being in denial my friend.

if you do enough reading, you will know that every single part you see you on all volvo’s are engineered by the swedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 1
        • gotti on May 27, 2014 at 9:28 pm

That wood finishing is plastic or real wood?
          If plastic no buy.

• Keith Wong on May 28, 2014 at 10:26 am

Volvo used to use real wood trim and real metal trim, in short, they use premium material.

• Why it looks plasticky?

• sudonano (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Cool story bro. If that is the case… As we saying that Dacias are using French made parts too?

A lot of these companies after they got a good company to pump money in, are really making fabulous products. Look at Jaguar Land Rover, before the Tata Group bought them over, their sales were rubbish, their cars were bland and not as nice compared to the BMW and Mercedes equivalent. Look at them today, Land Rover has gone way beyond what anyone imagined. Same with Jaguar too. They are making cars that look and perform well.

The same thing with Volvo. Volvo for a while was a bit lost in the competition. Today, their V40 is simply stunning, their wagons are really nice and so are their SUVs. The interior quality in fact feels even better than before. The drive and ride is really good.

All I can say to Volvo is, hurry up. And shut up and take my money. It is too beautiful. Only Volvo can pull off wood and cream interiors that look so calming and gorgeous. Fantastic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
          • kadajawi (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 3:19 am

Er, I’ve got a used spare part taken from a Dacia in my Renault… and guess what: Made in France, by Valeo.

• Pat San on May 27, 2014 at 9:01 pm

You are what they say “katak di bawah tempurung”. There are many products made in China with TUV Certifications these days and I am not surprise that it now cost more for some made in China products.

• LeJohnZ on May 27, 2014 at 9:15 pm

Are you a troll or ? Just because it is owned by a China company doesn’t make it a China car. So if your theory is right Jaguar is an indian car ? Come on . Don’t tell me you don’t use a smart phone . And 90% of the parts are made in China. Your mindset is total bullshit. And you can’t deny the fact that now-a-days, almost everything is made in China .

• kadajawi (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 3:21 am

Every car uses parts made in China. Aston Martin for example. So what are you complaining about? The Chinese can produce quality products, if you give them the money needed to produce quality products.

• sonyman on May 28, 2014 at 8:25 am

Volvo china, if you cannot afford this beauty just say so lah. no one will say anything if you drive a kancil or so. ITs ok, cause its your dream car, but you cannot afford so you complain, hoping one day they would listen to you.

No need to tell everyone that is from China, we all know that. Most car parts are made from China. Unless you talking about Proton and Perodua lah.

Geely, lucky Volvo to have Geely, otherwise it be like Saab, wrong investor with no money.

IF Saab would have been a China company owned car Company. I bet it be stronger than ever.

• Ok so you suggest we call it “Made in China” car?
          Thanks, but no, thanks.
          Not for me.

• CarNutty on May 28, 2014 at 9:40 am

That is why there is the saying never trust a Chinaman….

• not you again on May 30, 2014 at 12:17 am

Every single write-up about Volvo, you said everything Made in China.

Hello, go and check out all windscreens on latest V40, all made in Europe countries lah.

Something wrong with your head, eyes and mind.

• zeek (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Daaammnnnn thats gotta be one of the most minimalist and elegant dash I’ve seen. Kudos to Volvo. Its been far too long since the release of one of the best 7 seater SUV (over a decade).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
    • AVH (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 6:12 pm

Audi’s new TT dash does give a fair fight for the most minimalistic/zen dash in the industry, along with BMW’s i3 interior(personally my favorite interior design yet).

• velloo on May 27, 2014 at 9:30 pm

but…but…but…it looks like for old people.
        I can afford but dun want to be seen in such cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
        • sonyman on May 28, 2014 at 8:36 am

when you are older, with children and a family to fetch, and you love your most important gift from heaven, your children.

You will WANT one. Now, you can always go get a 4 series, TT, GTR, GTI what ever you call it.

But when the time comes, you might say, I NEED THIS BEAUTY.

Dont worry, this will be around for the next decade.

• This car is not mean for you. Look somewhere else’s. I am 34 when I first own n XC90 for my wife and 2 kids.

• wayne on May 28, 2014 at 10:38 pm

Whatever you say, minimalist or maximist or averagist…It looks so cheap

• longjaafar on May 27, 2014 at 4:49 pm

The current model was a big success. This one will be more successful.

• Just jizzed my pants

• nabill (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Interior looks like those big SUV’s frm Ford n GM… Anyway its a volvo,nice plush interior is a given

• qctrl on May 27, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Wait till you sit on those seats. Maybe you’ll be sorry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 3:29 am

If the Volvo C30 is anything to go by, nope, no regrets. The rear seats of the 2 door C30 are perfect.

• damonlee on May 27, 2014 at 5:20 pm

OMG… really nice…makes me remind of the Range Rover which cost almost a million…

• Damien on May 27, 2014 at 5:30 pm

Nice. This is the only Volvo I will consider buying. Should be as successful as the last model.

• Sgt Scoop on May 27, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Volvo really need to hire a professional designer and stop letting the lads from the factory have a go.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 22
    • melly on May 27, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Volvo should hire other designers, this one is not good enough with that price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 12
  • Sorry, sleeping cat that i hurt! on May 27, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Finally the world safest car make his legend stream again. I love the seat layout and the interior gadget. Tis is the car that safest to my family at all time! XC90, let me have you!

• AVH (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 6:20 pm

It looks awesome, Scandinavian design always seems to evoke minimalistic and zen feeling. Volvo cars also have some of the best use if wood in any motoring interior. Sand papered wood that seems right out of ikea instead of the usual glossy(and ugly) ones you see in most German cars(even Rolls-Royce an Bentley).

But! I can’t shake the feeling of the fact that the centre screen looks like someone just glued an iPad on it and call it a days work. I believe they could have surround it with glass or wood trimming……it looks like a half ass job compared to the rest if the interior.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 3:31 am

The touchscreen is nowhere near as bad as Mercedes though. There it really looks like someone glued an iPad into the interior. Floating, yeah right.

• car manufacturers seem to be moving towards such minimalist designs which involve less buttons and more touch controls

other examples include peugeot with their new 308, and honda with their latest city and jazz

• hubba on May 27, 2014 at 9:37 pm

Might be dangerous too coz need more time to reach the menu, push buttons etc, whereas old style knobs/switches are much faster to reach.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 3:33 am

Lets not forget the Citroen C4 Picasso, or the most extreme example, the Tesla Model S. In the Tesla there are 2 buttons (or so). One to open the glove box and one to turn on the warning signal (all indicators blinking). Everything else is touchscreen…

• this will be an absolute winner if the exterior is as or even more impressive, that key is beautiful, this level of luxury is finally on par with the 3 germans, even richer in materials i think!

• Denaihati on May 27, 2014 at 9:48 pm

interested with function voice control, hope not just for media player, also for controling others thing such as turn signal, lighting etc, aircon control etc. it is will make this model step ahead i think.

• Ray (Member) on May 27, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Someone just literally slapped an iPad onto the dash and ta-da, you have a brand new XC90. Other than that I guess most parts of the interior did manage to impress me, the wood trim and oh-so-fine glass.

Random out of topic subject: why do manufacturers love touch screens? Yes they do look cool but then, it’s too much distraction as the driver has to look on the screen to change a setting it while speeding on a freeway or whatnot. Call me old-fashioned but I still prefer the traditional buttons and knobs, and if touch screen must be integrated, it should go no further than the audio and navigation system. Stuff like air cond controls or whatnot should still stick to knobs and buttons – one can easily feel and press the right button without losing too much attention on the road.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 3:35 am

Personally I prefer buttons and knobs for at least the basics too, but I guess it’s getting too cluttered. And cars are having too many features these days.

I guess the driver can control the main things via the display in the dashboard and buttons on the steering wheel too, or via voice control.

• Vinann on May 28, 2014 at 6:01 am

How come nobody comment about Volvo dashboard like Tesla Model S?

• sonyman on May 28, 2014 at 8:41 am

probably after a couple of facelifts, this model will drive on its own, So that IPAD, is there to entertain you when you get home from work.

Watch a movie while the XC90 brings you back home.

• sonyman on May 28, 2014 at 8:47 am

all is Scandinavian design, but why the hell the ICE is a British Company. Why not use Bang and Olufsen, MArten design, dynaudio? Why B&W pulak?

maybe because Audi has taken B&O, and now probably they take a British speaker company instead.

Mazda=Bose
    Volvo= B&W
    Audi= B&O
    Land Rover = Meridian.
    Kia = Infinity

• what rubbish are you talking about?? Volvo cannot use B&W just because they’re Scandinavian? Bose is american but even Porsche uses it.

Audi – Bose & B&O
      BMW – B&O
      Merc – Bose & B&O
      Porsche – Bose & Burmaster
      VW – Dynaudio

• Eurocar on May 28, 2014 at 9:37 am

Aaaiya
    Why the headlight switch follow like those Japanese Shitty cars???

• W204 C63 AMG on May 28, 2014 at 11:05 am

Honestly, I’d take made in China than made in Malaysia.

• Keleta lama on May 28, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Soo you won’t take yourself lah since you also made in Malaysia

• W204 C63 AMG on May 28, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Sorry, I’m made in Singapore, an expat in Malaysia.

• salesale on May 28, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Then buy this car, dun talk only.

• Keleta Lama on May 29, 2014 at 10:58 am

Another stupid singaporean low life. Got nothing to do in Singapore come and kacau in Malaysia.
          If you think Malaysia not so good balik to your supid island lah.
          Can’t get job there come over here.

• lowprofile on May 28, 2014 at 5:39 pm

hmmm, not many buttons and dials. those who bashed the 208 would probably bash this too.

• Other_Thinker on May 28, 2014 at 6:39 pm

(LONG POST/RANT WARNING!)
    the XC90 is also one of the few (if not only) crossovers that has decent space in the rear seat for larger kids or small adults (like Malaysians). Many times has out family gone out on a trip fitting a 18 and 15 year old in the back =D

And to all those naysayers out there you says it doesn’t look “flash”, of course it doesn’t. Why do you think the police (used to), secret service, doctors, lawyers (and even mafia bosses) use it.
    Volvo prides itself in its core values; Safety, reliability, comfort, environmental care and responsibility.

People who really want a discreet car which encompasses comfort, luxury, power and of course safety would drive a Volvo. Pity it costs so much in Malaysia…

Some evidence of the “Volvo demographic” (Of which I am guilty of being in”):

“Demographic statistics reveal that the average S60 buyer is 45 years old, has a household income of more than $100,000, and is slightly more likely to be a woman. Clearly, this is a smart, conservative market, one that is less prone to mid-life crises, and which can afford to buy any car it wants from the category. The more expensive BMW 3-Series, by comparison, has a younger (39), predominantly male demographic that, interestingly, has a lower household income.”

In short: Volvo owners make ‘smart’ choices
    http://www.forbes.com/2003/05/12/cx_cd_0512test.html

“Here’s an encouraging piece of news for the Volvo brand: Volvo buyers had the highest average credit score in a recent study from Experian Automotive – not a more prestigious brand like Mercedes-Benz, say, or Porsche as you might expect.

That means Volvo had the most-creditworthy customers, with the least debt and best record of paying their bills.”

In short: Volvo owners have money and know how to spend money.
    http://www.forbes.com/sites/jimhenry/2012/12/30/volvo-buyers-have-the-highest-credit-score-surprisingly/

(END OF LONG POST/RANT)

• They buy it because they have no taste like younger people. Look at korean design, more modern and fresh than BMW and Merc. Volvo design is suitable for oldies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
      • lowprofile on May 29, 2014 at 10:50 am

they have taste. just that it is a different taste which is more understated than shout-a-loud that he younger crowd is looking for. volvo can’t be gunning for the same target market that other more ‘established’ and ‘flavour-of-the-day’ brands are looking for so the best is to avoid a direct fight (and waste marketing money) and go for segments that aren’t well covered. and you need to respect that.

• Other_Thinker on May 30, 2014 at 6:45 pm

Damn young people think that they have the “best” taste. I really fail to see how (for example) modern music is better than stuff produced decades ago.

The truth is, older people buy it because they a) ave matured enough to know what they want in a car and b) have the income to spend.

their target demographic is for people who don’t need a car to show off. Volvo again, as stated before is for low profile luxury.

Mind you, before Proton, PDRM used Volvos (as well as other brands) to patrol. They have quite a punch to them; especially to lug thier heavy body around.

Korean cars are good, just not in the same league or market as Volvo or other European high end brands. But please, define “Modern” and “fresh”. Is it not just what people like at the time?

• You have to hear Gangnam Style and see the dance. That’s what I call having best taste.

• petery on Aug 13, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Gangnam Style is good taste? grow up boy, when you have earned sufficient cash…then only comment. Till then, go buy those car that befits you like your proton and perodua….