Caterham Group officially denies it is up for sale

Caterham AeroSeven Concept 28

Caterham Group has released an official statement saying that it is not for sale, but that it is actively looking for additional investment as it seeks to fulfil ambitious plans to develop.

“Caterham Group is not for sale. We love what we build and we are always looking for further investment,” Tan Sri Tony Fernandes said in the statement, adding that it was “no different to how we started AirAsia.”

“Yes, we are constantly challenging ourselves and making decisions on everything from the structure to projects within the Group. That is normal business. That does not mean we are selling.”

Reports circulated over the weekend saying that Fernandes could be planning to sell niche sports car company Caterham Cars and its Formula One team for around 350 million pounds (RM1.9 billion).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Lelong on May 28, 2014 at 9:19 am

Politically correct way of saying “for sale”.

• heybadigol on May 28, 2014 at 9:54 am

It was probably worded to sound like either for sale, or looking for investors. Then, people will read assuming worst case scenario as “for sale”. Then when get negative feedback, can always claim it was misunderstood. Classic “testing the water” method.

• Caterham support QPR team.

Proton, Lotus support Norwich team.

Why Bolehland keep on supporting loser EPL clubs…?

• samlok on May 28, 2014 at 3:21 pm

synonyms

• Josh Ling on May 28, 2014 at 5:44 pm

i won’t be surprised if Caterham indeed is sold later on, unless there are some unknown deals going on behind the scene. Tony Fernandes is a businessman, so i don’t think he will tolerate the performance of the company for long, and it’s not like he doesn’t have any other investment options to make his money grow. Unless, like i say, there are certain deals going on behind the scene and causing Tony Fernandes to stop the bidding.