Nissan 370Z Roadster – JDM production to end

nissan-370z-roadster-au

Nissan has announced that it will stop producing the 370Z Roadster for Japan (where it is called the Fairlady Z Roadster) by end-September. Less than 800 units of the open-top sports car have found Japanese homes from October 2009 to April 2014.

Following the roadster’s bow out, Nissan will concentrate on spicing up the 370Z Coupe to the end of its lifespan. It has already unveiled the facelift-based 2015 370Z Nismo – the current generation’s swan song.

Nissan Z-cars’ engines have always gotten bigger and bigger – until now. The successor to the 370Z could be powered by a downsized, turbocharged engine, and is set to be smaller and lighter.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Protonist on May 28, 2014 at 10:41 am

The rich one get it!

The ahbeng, smoking addict one get what? Satria Neo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 15
    • AVH (Member) on May 28, 2014 at 1:00 pm

I always thought they’ve gotten Almera Nismo.

• not a hater on May 29, 2014 at 4:58 pm

there goes a hater.every opportunity have want to cucuk proton.dont be so busuk hati la. clean your heart first.

• torque on May 28, 2014 at 10:49 am

Smart move Nissan, better late than never…even some supercar manufacturer has began downsizing their engine capacity. Especially here in Malaysia, anything more than 3.5ltr cars is not so roadtax friendly.

• I think this particular Z is very cool, unlike the 350 which is just a poser’s car.
    However the performance numbers for this car in comparison to its rivals is not very amazing, even the nismo one, which is a shame.

• shawal on May 28, 2014 at 11:28 am

Heavy nose hinders performance..
    Looking forward to the successor..
    Probably has long nose short tail like the original z car

• spongewai on May 28, 2014 at 12:15 pm

farewell my Fairlady Z aka 370Z

• 4G63T DSM on May 28, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Time for a new Silvia with a Turbo 4.

Actually, the problem with the 370Z is that in sports car terms, it occupies the middle ground. Its more like a GT than a sports car, the engine isn’t particularly powerful compared to the rivals, and the lack of any optional higher powered powerplants didn’t help it.

Unfortunate case of neither here nor there. Very dangerous space to be at for a sporting car.

Good car though.

Nissan needs a smaller, lighter car. Something like a Silvia or even a Miata sized roadster.

• spongewai on May 28, 2014 at 3:13 pm

long live Fairlady Z & GT-R

Silvia must revived

• Jaybond on May 28, 2014 at 3:22 pm

Nissan, bring back the 300ZX Twin Turbo & Silvia models!

• My remapped GTi tapao’ed my neighbour’s 370z, 5 times, on smaller roads, winding roads and highways. Anywhere, the GTi will pwned it. Nonetheless, we still go out together for our monthly touge. It is still quick. Just that, poor people like me who cant afford the road tax will go for the GTi. The ones who can afford it, will go for a GTR. So….left the minority who will buy this car.

• Shawn on May 29, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Very true, this car is for the niche market. Only nissan/fairlady/Z fans will buy this.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Liked the way you said ‘poor people’ right after talking about your remapped GTI.

• Samad Jain on May 29, 2014 at 9:59 am

such childish attitude use the word “tapao”.
    Sure, your great GTI tapau oso lorry, bus, motobike, merc, toyota, etc
    I suppose this is similar to kids competing among themselves who can piss further….

But

Buying a car, driving the car on the road isnt always tapao this and that cars.

Driving the car is an enjoyment, a reward from our hardwork and hard earn money. If I drive a Porsche, I drive it well, as it should deserved. not tapao other cars with my porsche