Hyundai AG and Grandeur facelift unveiled in Korea

Hyundai Motor Strengthens Large Sedan Line-ups at the 2014 Busan International Motor Show 1

The covers have come off two Hyundai sedans at the ongoing Busan International Motor Show in Korea – an all-new premium sedan, code-named ‘AG’, plus the facelifted Hyundai Grandeur (also known as the Azera).

The front-wheel drive ‘AG’ (yet unknown if this will be the final name), which will be positioned between the Grandeur and the Genesis (Azera-Genesis, get it?), is set to go on sale in Korea later this year, strengthening Hyundai’s push upmarket. The Korean carmaker recently opened the flagship Motorstudio showroom in Gangnam, Seoul.

The vehicle, based on the Grandeur, continues the ‘Fluidic Sculpture 2.0‘ design language, and “will offer quiet and sophisticated driving comfort, while adopting a series of advanced convenience features.”

On to the Grandeur facelift – the update brings about a reshaped front bumper with LED fog lamps, a new grille and an updated high-gloss, two-tone rear bumper.

Two engines have been announced – a Euro 6-compliant 2.2 litre R diesel engine (now with a variable-geometry turbo) with 202 PS and 441 Nm of torque, and a 2.4 litre Theta II GDI petrol engine developing 190 PS and 241 Nm of torque.

The company says the motor-driven power steering has been tweaked to give “greater handling responsiveness and stability,” and the interior has been treated to enhanced audio equipment, a remodelled centre console with new climate controls, plus a new eight-inch navigation screen.

The security guards comprise blind spot, front collision warning and lane departure warning systems, while convenience features include Advanced Smart Parking Assist (full auto park, parallel and vertical) and Smart Trunk (automatically unlatches boot if key is detected nearby for more than three seconds).

Hyundai ‘AG’ and Grandeur facelift at the 2014 Busan International Motor Show

Hyundai Grandeur facelift official images

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• There will be comments like,”look like BMW 6series! Look like Mercedes, look like…….”. Design is limited though, I like these Grandeur and AG’s design anyway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
  • Look at Hyundai, and now look back at Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 6
    • Aero (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 1:19 am

Don’t blame Proton, they’re merely the scapegoat in the full picture. Our real enemy is UMNO. Until UMNO is kicked out of parliament, Proton will never be able to prosper and compete on the global stage like Hyundai-Kia.

And it’s too late already. Even under the best-case scenario, Proton can only carve out a moderate niche market for well-equipped and well-handling cars which cost 10 to 20% less than their Korean and Japanese equivalents.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
      • George on May 30, 2014 at 11:12 am

Ha Ha Ha…Now you blame UMNO…why not blame the car buyers for not buying Proton??

Hypocrite lah you. When cornered no more excuses, suddenly you wake up and realise it’s all UMNO fault all along.

Baguslah you sudah bangun tidur. “Wake up me up before you go, go”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
  • M Sufi on May 29, 2014 at 4:42 pm

The cars look awesome anyway.

• Pak cik on May 29, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Tuah’s rearlamp spotted.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 17
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 29, 2014 at 6:45 pm

The Azera sold in malaysia many years ago already this type of rear lamp design..pakcik…

• Accordana on May 29, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Mehhh…that Hyundai Grandeur looks like rebadge or copycat from Lexus ES…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
  • ss427 on May 29, 2014 at 4:49 pm

Don’t worry about the toothy grill. The Azera, when they’re exported to western markets, all sports better looking horizontal slats grill instead.

Of cos, Sam Loo will say that no matter how great these Korean cars are, they will never beat Toyota with their 14 yr old 4AT box and 14 yr old 1AZ-FE engine…

And no resale value too right? Malaysians pay top dollar for antique, cheap design… its a good thing we singaporeans have grown out of these ‘blind faith’ mentality.

Hyundai and Kia are much sought after in SG these days.. their resale value is actually on par with Toyota and Honda here

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 4
    • EnergyAnalyst on May 29, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Oh Thnak You so much, your Singaporean knowledge/insights are much appreciated. MY Nation Thank You

• Low Budget on May 29, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Not only in Sg but the rest of the world with exception of Boleh Land where blind support is total.

• Who TheF is SamLoo on May 29, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Why bother about Sam CockLoo the sales man comment.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 29, 2014 at 5:42 pm

This is how the Camry should hv looked like..

• cropika on May 29, 2014 at 6:30 pm

now hyundai is putting out EURO 6?!! compliant engine! since only sept 2014 only will it impliment..not like malaysia- still using dirty EURO2M petrol n diesel, smelling and benzene is cancer causing agent. malu lah malaysia… so when are they bringing in EURO4M or even euro 5 fuels??
    in my dreams i guessed

• Denaihati on May 29, 2014 at 6:59 pm

beautiful inside and outside, with 441 Nm T for 2.2L T R diesel engine, very impressive.

• Josh Ling on May 29, 2014 at 8:33 pm

i can’t see the mentioned “two-tone” rear bumper….is it just me or everyone else?

• pojie on May 29, 2014 at 10:31 pm

I think it’s the lower portion of the bumper which is finished in gloss black

• Hyundai/Kia no thanks?? Lain kalilah!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
  • Yours Faithfully (YF) on May 30, 2014 at 6:47 am

Coincidentally, I am currently in Gangnam, South Korea. My distributor has been driving me around in his Hyundai Grandeur as pictured above. I must say these :
    1. Comfortable ride.
    2. Exterior looks very good with its Day time light bar on the head lamps.
    3. Spacious. Even have controls for the audio from the back seat via the folded middle arm rest.
    4. Front, back and even side sensor.
    5. Auto folding mirrors upon locking and unlocking of the car.
    6. Nice touch screen for phone, gps, etc.
    7. Powered by a 3 litre engine. Powerful yet smooth.
    8. Plush leather seats. Comes with seat warmer. Should be good during the cold weather.
    9. Even the steering controls are easy to use for audio, auto cruise and also for steering warmer.

Overall, I don’t mind updating to this unit if it comes to Malaysia. While Toyota and Honda are resting on their laurels, Hyundai has already step up the game.

• Yours Faithfully ( YF ) on May 30, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Just to add, sat in the front today, other luxurious items to add are :

1. Memory seats
      2. Front seats with warm or cold ventilation.
      3. Sun roof similar to the latest Santa Fe
      4. Heart thumping sound system.
      5. Passanger side temperature control
      6. Spacious from seat with ample lumbar support.
      7. Self dimming rear view mirror.
      8. Bluetooth connection for mobile phone.

Now on the way back to Boleh land.

• Eddie on May 30, 2014 at 1:40 pm

I am pretty sure that the car would not last long. A good Korean friend of mine who works with Hyundai few years ago told me that majority of the Koreans buy their cars brand new and change it very often. It’s their culture or something…”THE I MUST OWN NEW/UPDATED STUFF MENTALITY”.

So I am sure that the car isn’t engineered to last long. Would be ideal to drive and trash it after 3~5 years.

BTW, this apply to most or all modern cars made around the world now…Which I think is shit…

• unspoken on May 30, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Since nobody is mentioning this.

Am I the only one who find the appearance of a male model overshadow a fact there’s new cars? But It is true thats Korean culture isn’t as sexist as here.

• It won’t last long.
    Their marketing strategy is to encourage people to buy it, when it spoil change to a new model, and so on.

Why not just stick with one car and use it until 10+ years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
  • Iloveit on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:28 am

U guys can take the car.. Let me takes the girls.. :-D most of them are so pretty.