Ops Cermin Gelap still on for June 16 – latest update

cermin-gelap

It was off, and now it’s back on again. Apparently Ops Cermin Gelap is a go for June 16 as initially announced, according to the deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi.

“Let me be clear that the operation is still on and it will be held nationwide. We will still go after those who have failed to adhere to regulations on tinted windscreens and windows. Motorists have until June 15 to revert to permitted tinting stipulations,” he told The Star.

The operation against vehicles with dark-tinted glass (which fall foul of the existing rules of a minimum of 70% visible light transmission levels for the front windscreen and 50% for the side and rear windows) will be led by the Traffic Police, with JPJ providing assistance.

This, however, does not affect plans for the two-day workshop to review the use of tint on vehicles, which will be held on June 2. Aziz explained that findings from the workshop will determine the direction of the June 16 operation, and that the public will be duly informed of any changes to existing laws.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• Shihh on May 29, 2014 at 11:54 am

Kopi Time!! Be prepared or else you gonna belanja alot…of kopi…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
    • Orang Cerdik (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 12:42 pm

itu kopi minum sama bisjut dan royi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
      • vee-oh on May 29, 2014 at 2:09 pm

royi sedap juga…adik manis juga

• University International Tahi Malaysia (UiTM) on May 29, 2014 at 5:46 pm

This is the reason why they cannot find the plane MH370. Its a flip flop government. One day say this, another day say that. This Ops Gelap thing, they said like 3 times yes and no they are going to do it.

Now you wonder why the MH370 cannot be found. It is because of utter morons running the government who are so stupid, they have no idea what they are governing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
      • Same L0r on May 29, 2014 at 3:07 pm

It is all about MONEY!

Instead of talking in phone while driving, they choose to catch the dark tint. Why?

Easy money mah…

Window smasher rob the drivers, the tint shop rob the drivers, then the JPJ rob the drivers.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 87 Thumb down 4
        • jenjenjen on May 31, 2014 at 10:27 am

what so hard with complying with regulation. what is it that these offenders find so confusing about “50% max” ?

dont understand meh? wasted all those years in school coz dont understand simple numbers and words???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
      • Hasif on Jun 01, 2014 at 8:34 am

kt cni pn ko ade gak Org Cerdik? hahaha ko mmg lawak

• Mah Jib on May 29, 2014 at 12:58 pm

Hahaha.. Just in time for raya. Angpau2 sapa mau angpau?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 4
      • Lim kopi loh on May 29, 2014 at 3:05 pm

It is kopi time for the authority. Small thing also want to make rakyat difficult, what is it so big deal compare to mat rempit and snatch thief, must ban all motorbike ah ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • flat_tire on May 29, 2014 at 8:15 pm

maybe it’s time for me to stock up on those 3-in-1 instant coffee sachets to be handed out to the authorities..

• sufferred consumer on May 30, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Obviously the authority is not fit to comply its own regulations and practices and double standard. First, who supply the tint? Why don’t they control from the supply source?
      And now, they are letting the consumers to suffer because they are not capable of doing their job right!!!

If the control is right at the tint shop and obeys the rules and regulations, consumer wouldn’t have any choice and will not violet the law.

Anyway, this is very wrong and the authority does not really or know what they are doing. Catching the shop is easier than catching drivers at the roadside under the hot sun, right?

Anyway, I do agree with Bro Shihh because that should be the only reason for the authority personnel to have the good reason take action endlessly even your next next … generations if they do not know how to do their job right.

Good luck to all.

• Kangkong on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:35 am

Standards always unclear. Its benefit them to accuse driver. Raya coming, do it before raya.
        Its good opportunity!!!!!!!!!! Boleh land!!!

• guilt79 on May 29, 2014 at 11:57 am

MAKE UP YOUR MINDLAH!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
    • flat_tire on May 29, 2014 at 8:19 pm

the other day got some brilliant mind still around.. somehow nowhere to be found anymore.. probably got terminated.. ok moving on..

• gavin on May 29, 2014 at 12:02 pm

my advice just remove if you know you’re over the limit, is it really worth to get harassed over window tinting?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
    • itsfarhaan (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 1:47 pm

would you like to be harassed by our corrupted government over a small matter? come on la we live in an oven we need dark tints! Negara maju lain semua dah boleh pakai kita bila nak ikut langkah pragmatik mereka?
      If not semua gelap at least let the rear doors and boot to be darken due to security reasons.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 12
      • payed on May 29, 2014 at 2:18 pm

bro, kita hidup di malaysia. Bukan negara maju lain. So berpijak di bumi yang nyata. Kalau poket tebal, takpelah. Just follow je la ape yang da ditetapkan. usah berangan tukar kerajaan. Even bertukar kerajaan sekalipun belum tentu lg ada perubahan dalam isu ini.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 58
      • gavin on May 29, 2014 at 3:56 pm

JPJ never said you cannot at all, you just need to have it tested and approved. If that you also don’t want to do, then how?

other thing is tinted technology only started in last 5-10 years, as far as i can remember malaysia always had hot weather since Merdeka and even before that and up till no haven’t heard anyone suffering because of non tinted windows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 57
        • slk3879 on May 29, 2014 at 6:56 pm

Only started in the last 5-10 year? Come on, where were you before? Lived in a cave?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 3
        • sochai gavin on May 30, 2014 at 12:36 am

Hahahahaha…i vote you as the clown of the year!!!

• Wilfred on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Where do you get your information from?
          Joker.
          My Datsun 120Y in the year 1995 had tinting on it.

• jenjenjen on May 31, 2014 at 10:38 am

bro, seriously, 50% max pun cannot comply meh?

have to find some idiotic reason oso… too hot… come on la, we have heat reflecting tints what? some more such tints can have clear or darkened… just stay within limts and your car will be cool.

face it la, its not they cannot comply, they just DONT WANT to comply. if jpj set max at 50%- they intall 60%, if JPJ set 100% oso they sure fit 1000% tint…

• Anthony on May 29, 2014 at 12:03 pm

What are they smoking at the MoT la?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • i really not understand…

1. give us the reasons why can’t have tint?

2. How about MPV who just like a house ..? Full fancy curtain?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • zack beauty on May 29, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Tinted is allowed…we only have to ask the govt to review the percentage of darkness from 50% to an acceptable percentage after considering the heat and safety in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
      • jenjenjen on May 31, 2014 at 10:46 am

did you mean bcoz of the heat, we need darker tints???

frankly i find this argument barely holds water in this day and age… three words for you…. heat reflecting tints

one very good example is Vkool- cool and clear. darker shades are also available. who says need to be dark to stay cooler???

• Halim bin Munan on May 29, 2014 at 3:40 pm

ni lagi satu bangang. sapa cakap x boleh tint langsung?? cahaya tembus 50% x cukup ke?? pondan siot x bleh kena panas

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 60
      • flat_tire on May 29, 2014 at 8:22 pm

dah tuh kalau anak ko tak tahan panas.. kira anak ko pon pondan lah yea..? cerr kalau berkata kata tuh takde dok pikir pasal diri ko sorang jerr.. bole..?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • full_tire on May 30, 2014 at 12:34 pm

anak x tahan panas? dulu2 masa aku kecik2 elok je orang xpakai tint. xde pun cakap anak xtahan panas

• zack beauty on May 29, 2014 at 12:06 pm

There is a major roadblock by traffic n jpj after exit ayer keroh toll right now for both direction…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • cybermalaya on May 29, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Haram jadah…suka2 nak telan duit rakyat.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on May 29, 2014 at 12:17 pm

To be fair to all: Police, JPJ & motorist. Front passenger “side” increase to 70% while back passenger “side” increase to 80% THEN I am sure everybody happy. If completely DARKNESS then:
    1) Cause danger coz u can’t see clearly “side mirror” especially night
    2) Other Motorist won’t know who those “reckless” driver
    3) Some motorcyclist which doesn’t have “BULB” in their headlight pose danger to drivers!

Thailand, Australia, USA, Japan, Hong Kong all adhere to International standards.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • dodgeviper88 on May 29, 2014 at 12:43 pm

In USA you can tint however dark you want. The only thing is that the police would then stop your car if they feel suspicious and thus you’ll get stopped more often.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
      • Mr.Skywalker on May 29, 2014 at 5:54 pm

The Malaysian police force can’t even compare to the US. In the US even if you park your car in someone’s driveway & that person calls the police, you can get reprimanded. Too much noise at night, same thing happens. Expect the police anytime, anywhere, especially on the road. Though you can say maybe their police force is far larger than ours, but I never heard of cases like duit kopi.

• tokmoh (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 2:59 pm

This.

Even the lightest tint edi borderline on current vlt allowable. When jpj/puspakom use their sensor, bcuz window itself reduce vlt, effectively all tint is illegal.

Some say darker does not mean cooler, rubbish. Darker tint gives better heat rejection is not dongeng, go check 3m, huperoptik, etc reputable tint specs. Don’t compare with chaplang rm200 tint la, they can claim anything also nobody gives a fucuk.

Some say europe ban tint, well duuuuuh, europe hot like msia meh?!?!?!!!

• nabill (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Why dont we jus do online transfer to them direct… I mean its so obvious… Thy ahould release their acc numbers.. We do da reat… Bcos seeing how grossly incompetent thy r is jus sad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
  • kalu nak tangkap, tangkap semua yang salah.

jgn jadi hipokrit.

yang x pakai topi keledar dan double triple park pada hari tertentu macamane pulak…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Guan Yin Maa on May 29, 2014 at 12:48 pm

This is the problem which differentiate malaysia with other country, we got so many BAD GUY, aka ROBBER. How you know in night time, the driver in a dark tinted car was wearing mask and prepare to rob a house /shop ? Once you kena rob before by those people , then you will realise the important of visible tint.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
    • hahah got ah robber wear mask and driiving around looking for victims? doubt so…

• sochai gavin on May 30, 2014 at 12:42 am

2nd runner up clown of the year, most robberies i see and read about is motorbike. not dark tinted cars with robbers. better ban all bikes then…

• smokey on May 29, 2014 at 1:18 pm

sekejap off, sekejap on
    apa lagi u mau?

• JPJongang on May 29, 2014 at 1:45 pm

cakap je nak wat roadblock sebab nak duit raya lebih… xpayah nk hipokrit cakap merbahaya haram jadah cadburry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • victor tan (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 1:50 pm

This whole event makes a good joke in kopitiam, shows that how stupid the ministry could be.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • EnergyAnalyst on May 29, 2014 at 1:58 pm

What about fancy styled numbered car late. Any ops on that too?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • vee-oh on May 29, 2014 at 2:01 pm

ini suma vera sama kincin…vanyak tepuy worang

• Matchy on May 29, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Not the first time our gov being indecisive and giving contradicting statement! (see MH370)

• Haiya…….we cannot do anything! They are the boss and the law!

• Good move. I have been a victim of robbery. I know the pain what i went through. The car was tinted, furthermore it was a black perdana v6.
    Yes there must be visible amount of light through the car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • ask a doctor friend to come out a medical report saying i have skin problem or eyes problem, and cant expose to direct sunlight. problem solve ?

• samy vellu on May 29, 2014 at 2:37 pm

Ini semua kerja orang gila punya.

• Denaihati on May 29, 2014 at 2:37 pm

i think, also ask accessory shop/supplier/ don’t sell and don’t import any not allowed tinted firm. also if found fail just give warning until a certain period, more fair to driver.

• jenjenjen on May 31, 2014 at 10:51 am

even if they are selling the stuff, you dont have to buy them right? what are you trying to say, we simply have to buy what ever they sell?

• azzrie on May 29, 2014 at 2:38 pm

This menteri always want to give statements but empty. Last month he announced that under e SIKAP we can submit tender registration no. from any state to any JPJ office but JPJ officer said no instruction from HQ. He said,’ini menteri cakap saje.”

• ask a doctor friend or a clinic to come out a medical report saying i have skin problem and eyes problem, cant expose to direct sunlight. Problem solve ?

• Make this tiny decision also flip flop!

• Remove on May 29, 2014 at 3:03 pm

they shold maximize to 50% only. If not we gonna end up like indonesian. All window so dark. too dark dont know wht is going on inside the car or van mayat (Ifart, VellHell and many more). There could be kidnapping in progress or raping. It is good they implement this.

• Howard on May 29, 2014 at 3:06 pm

MoT seharusnya bekerjasama dengan pihak Kastam untuk tidak memberi kebenaran import tint yang tidak mengikut spesifikasi. Kenapa MoT tidak meminta para ilmuwan di Malaysia bagaimana mengkaji untuk membina cermin kenderaan yang mampu menghalang kepanasan dan silau tanpa perlu bergantung pada penggunaan tint gelap. Kerana itu adalah alasan mengapa pengguna kenderaan di Malaysia untuk menggunakan tint gelap. Sewaktu sekatan jalan raya, pihak berwajib boleh meminta pengguna untuk menurunkan cermin kenderaan untuk di buat pemeriksaan. Alasan sukar melihat penjenayah sewaktu sekatan jalan raya kurang logik untuk digunakan. Jika kenderaan mereka meragukan, pihak berwajib boleh menahan mereka kerana itu adalah tugas mereka menjaga kepentingan awam. Pengguna tak perlu sentiasa dihukum, tetapi perlu di berikan pilihan. Itu adalah apa yang sewajarnya. Tak salah menguatkuasakan undang-undang tetapi perlu ada ketelusan. Jika mengubahsuai kenderaan secara keterlaluan adalah di larang, mengapa peniaga aksesori yang menjual aksesori tidak mengikut spesifikasi masih bebas berniaga tanpa ada sekatan? Kalau mahu membersihkan lalang, jangan buang pucuknya sahaja. Pasti akan membiak semula.. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
    • dan boleh prevent mat rempit nampak wanita yg letak handbag di sebelah passenger seat..

• Richard on May 30, 2014 at 9:13 am

Please open your eyes on imported used car. Estima, Alphard, Vellfire ….so on. Most of the cars are original dark tinted glass, how come this was approved at first? Later, when consumer buy the so call ‘hand-pick car’ they need to pay an additional fee for the so call ‘JPJ inspection fee’ for the dark tint glass and approved. Have a check on this and you be damn surprise!!! A flip-flop rule, 1st the cars are approved to be brought in and later they claim that the tinted glass cannot be use in Malaysia???? Rakyat Didahulukan?

• guan eng jr. on May 29, 2014 at 3:12 pm

My ex teacher taught me that dark material absorbs more heat frm sun ray but PT readers said otherwise. My tint installer opinion about dark tint is merely for style and with current tint technology nowdays, actually the lighter one more efficient in resisting uv and heat.

• dark thinting can prevent MAT REMPITs to see what stuff u kept in your car…if not it’ll be an easy target…shopping list terang terang nampak…Smart Tag, shoes, etc

• Dafuq on May 29, 2014 at 5:26 pm

MAT REMPIT. sampah masyarakat. Just kill them will do.No one pity them,even police hates them.

• sochai gavin on May 30, 2014 at 12:48 am

I thought the police were planning to recruit them? Must have been another idiotic talk kok menteri again…

• That case has long been bouag dalam tong sampah lah bro. Tu menteri yg cakap Hisampuding la.I know alot of Police even sometimes i dont agree police brutality. Pak polis told me it was operation rempit is the hardest and they always hav hard time catching those culprits. Once caught,those rempit will have a hardtime in police station. Police hates rempit to the coreas compared to chinese and indian drivers

• Main reason they ban dark tinting is because to reduce risk of crime. I’d say even after this is enforced effectively, a robber will still tint their vehicles and do their crime. This way, the police still didn’t reduce the crime rate what. And please don’t blame your inferior incompetency to reduce crime rate on car tinting. What a great excuse to use.

• meejawa on May 29, 2014 at 3:18 pm

Why is Puspakom stip naked all tinting film stating they are not compliant when JPJ approves them at the first place? 3M, Llumar etc confirm their tints are compliant, but when we buy/sell used car, Puspakom said not compliant. WTH??

• policeunabletocatchthem on May 29, 2014 at 3:39 pm

To be fair, there is no point using dark tint as an excuse of not being able to catch the criminal.
    if you even know, nowadays snatch theif, those on motor with parang dun even care to cover their face and dun even bother to run and just walk away slumberly when they failed to rob you. so you think those having dark tint are most probably criminal? yes, for those that are afraid of kena catch only.
    However, it is also a concern that a tint that is too dark will cause visibility issue for the driver. not all driver are good, a lot have poor vision even with clear tint in the car. I personally have a dark tint and most people that get on my car will not get used to the darkness during the night. Some can’t even see outside. My suggestion is, remain your 50% tint, buy the static tint type of sunshade and place it over your car. It is effective. It is dark. and when you reach a road block, remove the sunshade.

• MOT mabuk ke? kejap ada kejap takda…ingat ini biskut Oreo ke?

• Dafuq on May 29, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Kalo ini memang aktif, tangkap tu Zahid hamidi dulu. Aku tau dia dudk mane, kat country height kajang. Selalu nampak konvoi semua tinted gelap. Yang nak ditangkap jugak ialah kerabat diraja, Hari tu nampak TMJ pakai kate Amerika Stingray tint gelap. Kalo nak tangkap, golongan korupsi tu jugak hendak dikenakan tindakan. Kerabat diraja bukan kebal diraja.

• Uncle Seekers on May 29, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Well said! The main culprits are the politicians and VVIPs. Not to mention the police escorts who force and kick cars off the road. Saw it in JB on the Middle Ring Road while approaching the General Hospital. Was amazed to see a traffic cop approach a car at high speed and attempt to kick it’s bonnet. This despite the VVIP ( was a Mustang then) being in the extreme right lane, while the slow moving “offender” was on the extreme left lane. The middle lane was empty. Strange how the elite in Malaysia claim to love and serve the rakyat but do the opposite, while aided and abetted by our cops.
      On the other hand, our genuine complaints to the authorities seem to fall on deaf ears.

• In JB, driving Mustang definitly is Kerabat Diraja lah. I wonder how come citizen of Johor loves their king when their Royal family behaves like a samseng. The other day on North-South highway, a convoi of Corvette Stingray, Dodge Charger and also Rolls-royces drive like their father own the road. Number plate TMJ. ONly from Johor their behaviour is like that,like father like son. Gene came all the way from Grandfather, Malaysian know well wat did the grandfather did during his reign in Johor. Like a tyrant.

• x-city on May 29, 2014 at 5:42 pm

Tinted ni perkara kecil la, kalau betul gov nak benteras jenayah, kawal kedai2 yg buat no plate kenderaan sebab banyak sangat penjenayah guna plat palsu

• pondan on May 29, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Ops duit raya…

• sumak molek on May 29, 2014 at 6:13 pm

polis/jpj minta duit.. u minta no badan, u ckp abg u keje d9 atau d7 bukit aman… bia dorang rasa gerun

konpem x saman coz mula2 dia nk pau..then bila x dapat pau, nk saman .. mmg x brani la jwbnye…

ak dh cuba..ia berhasil! hiihii

• Tracks on May 29, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Many people had commented on the issue of tinting. However, based on the comments, it can be concluded that most don’t read enough or worst don’t google to find facts.

Visible Light transmitted by the sun consists of a spectrum of colours. Concerns about heat is due to Infrared (IR) light and about skin cancer is Ultraviolet (UV) light. Both are electromagnetic light and are not part of the visible light.

Normal Black tinting just blocked all lights. A good quality tinting that allows >50% visible light transmission have the ability to block a certain percentage of IR and UV as well. The higher the price, the higher the percentage of reducing the IR and UV.

IMHO, users of dark tints does so because
    1) They think they are VVIP and above the law.
    2) They are criminals, crocks and gang members hiding from the laws.
    3) They are couples who nneeds to spend time in a vehicle as they will be easily apprehended if they check-in to any motel or hotel.
    4) They are idiots who can own a vehicle but apparently can’t pay RM600 upwards for a reasonably good tinting.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • SamTheDaiLanNgong on May 29, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Yup, and you cant even afford for RM180 tinted and that’s why you are making this statement.

• sochai gavin on May 30, 2014 at 12:59 am

1st runner up clown of the year spotted!

I only tint my rear window dark coz always blinded by van mayat alfart, wellfired pariah HID lights. People have their own reasons.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 6:45 pm

minister make statements b4 getting the right info from jpj or police.. this is what happened..

• bisakeris (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 6:49 pm

>>>what abt the recond cars that hv dark glass not tinted? why can jual? so who’s fault is that???

• ProfessorXavier on May 29, 2014 at 9:29 pm

For a start, how bout we start banning the importation of JDM cars since most of them have dark tints?

But it would also mean less profits for AP holders!

• Agree. JDM vehicles are usually comes with dark glass & not tint. They would have to change the whole glass. Usually recond cars send for PUSPAKOM test, the rear window will be change to clear window for a mean while then change back to dark glass after passes all test. That is why sometimes you will see some cars are salotaped & temporary glued the rear window.

Anyway, drug trafficker are being fine heavier than buyers. Why not fine the seller who make it. I don’t understand. They let the business carry out & summon the after come out garage.

• xorcist on May 29, 2014 at 9:59 pm

LOOK WHO IS THE REAL ‘PENCURI’ HERE. GO FIGURE. SECURITY REASONS KONON. BS

• Sam kor on May 29, 2014 at 11:14 pm

YOU TAK SUKA, YOU KELUAR!!!!!

• @#$%!

Boleh fikir betul2 tak? Sekejap mahu,sekajap tak mahu!

Budak kecil main2 ke?

• Someone mention in us can tint all u want, half truth la..in japan and us u can only tint rear and rear side windows. Front driver and pass have to be around 50% or less.

• itsfaiz on May 30, 2014 at 11:02 am

Pity on breastfeeding mom inside car..n baby oso..

• Danny Wong on May 30, 2014 at 11:16 am

Cermin hitam ada DNA babi

• Hmmm..still think that any decision for enforcement should be done AFTER the workshop.THEN the Malaysian Tinters Club (?) can safely tint by regulations.and car owner with already proposed 60% side visibility dont have to tear off their tints.:) again,we respect the enforcers decision and will always follow.and thank you for thinking of us and our safety.:)

• ApaLagiUmau on May 30, 2014 at 11:32 am

On Off On Off….
    Even after the damn workshop on June 2, they gonna wait for after festive season to say well maybe, ops cermin gelap is a NO GO. Biasa la we all know… its DUIT KOPI season right… once a year only…

Minister : Ops Cermin Gelap OFF!!!
    Police : i jaga u…. u jaga i
    Minister : Ops Cermin Gelap ON!!!

• HanS (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 4:38 pm

Political and corruption issues aside. Lets be logical about tinting. The main purpose of tinting your vehicle is to reduce the harmful UV rays and IR rays that heat up the internal of your vehicle + increase the security against smash and grab robbers. The opacity (darkness) of the tint have little contribution to above 3 points mentioned. There are many automotive film with <50% opacity that offers very high UV and IR filtration which is thick enough that greatly enhance the window's strength against smashing.

In my humble opinion, heavily tinted vehicle with more than 50% opacity poses greater risks as it also reduces the driver's view of the surrounding.

CASE 1 (which happened to me): I was loading my son into the car at Bangsar Shopping Village I open car park during a bright sunny afternoon when a car with heavy tint backed into my son's strollers at moderate speed. The driver was very apologetic but defended that he did not see the stroller. What happened was the driver suddenly noticed a parking spot that requires backing up to park into it. With reduced vision of the driver's surrounding, it makes it easier to miss my son's stroller which resulting in it being hit by the car.

CASE 2 (eye-witnessed by me): Kesas highway on a sunny morning rush hour traffic. Driver of large sedan car with heavily window was driving on fast lane. The morning sun was shining from the front and was strong enough to allow me to notice that the driver was on the phone without hands free. I was in the middle lane looking for opportunity to merge into the fast lane. Suddenly the sedan car driver applied emergency brake to avoid stationary traffic which caused both vehicles directly behind to hit the sedan car and each other. It could have been avoided if the front vehicle's tinting wasn't that dark which allows the other two rear vehicles to look past it and possibly noticing the stationary traffic upfront. I am quite sure this resulted in heavy traffic congestion affecting all vehicles behind them.

Heavy tinting also allows non-responsible drivers to perform hazardous tasks such talking on phone without hands free, texting, viewing social media, etc. without others noticing them. Besides the police, I myself would like to know if the driver of vehicle next to me is performing such activity so that I am able to be extra alert of them. Heavy tinting also gives non-responsible drivers the extra sense of security against being identified which "allows" them to act irresponsibly on the road or in extreme cases perform road rage.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on May 31, 2014 at 6:53 pm

This is instigated by accessory shop owners who has in their pockets those that make these stupid decisions

• Frank Chin on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Aiyo! The El Nino is going to hit us very soon and the weather will be hot. It is not the right time to start this nonsense exercise. Even all cars without tints can the police guarantee the reduction of crime. Come on the climate has changed so it is time that Road Transport Act 1987 need to be amended.

• LicensedToRob on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Hmm.. why not close down all the shop, ban all kind of brand, then setup and enforce 1M tints. Seriously, that’s the fastest and easiest way to earn money :)

• udang on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Here in Sandakan. Police traffic only using their bare aye to check for cermin gelap then saman. I dont understand why at peninsular they have the device to check, here in sabah they dont use.