Perodua to build new engine manufacturing plant

perodua-engine-klims-144

Yet more expansion on the Perodua front – the automaker and Daihatsu have announced that they will be investing RM600 million to set up an engine manufacturing plant in Sendayan, Negeri Sembilan. Construction of the facility is expected to begin in September.

When completed, the new engine plant will have a production capacity of 140,000 units a year. The 142,000 sq metre facility will feature a 19,000 sq metre plant area and will employ an initial work force of 150. Its core businesses will include the manufacturing and sale of automotive engines as well as the development, design, manufacturing of engine parts and equipment.

The announcement of the engine plant follows on the new Perodua Global Manufacturing (PGM) assembly plant in Sungai Choh, Rawang. The new 65,000 sq metre plant – which will mirror Daihatsu Motor Kyushu’s Nakatsu Plant 2 in tech, practices, efficiency and low defect per unit (DPU) rate – is scheduled to begin operating soon.

perodua-engine-details

The new PGM plant will of course produce Perodua’s next model due later this year, the “Global EEV” that might or might not be known as the Perodua Axia. As for the new engine manufacturing plant, it’ll add to the build of the upcoming car’s new aluminium engine when it eventually comes online.

Though not officially disclosed, the 1.0 litre Daihatsu D26F-1KR-FE that was on show in an engine layer display at the automaker’s stand at KLIMS13 is likely to be the new mill – the 66 PS and 87 Nm three-cylinder, 12-valve twin-cam unit powers the Daihatsu Ayla and Toyota Agya eco-cars for the Indonesian market.

The new engine plant will be the second investment Daihatsu has made in Sendayan – the Japanese automaker’s recently-opened Electronic Automatic Transmission plant, known as Akashi Kikai Industry Malaysia, is also located in the area. Perodua has 10% equity in that particular venture.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• the pic shows perodua’s new 1kr engine is without variable valve. so should be 1KR-DE which is the non-VVTi variant instead of 1KR-FE.

• kzm fanboy on May 29, 2014 at 12:55 pm

If Proton GSC can give 30KM per Liter fuel economy, I’ll run from Tg Malim to Shah Alam wearing only tiger-belang seluar dalam.

Wanna join? Any takers??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
      • Same L0r on May 29, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Can! GSC can give 30L per km fuel consumption. The engine developers should wear the tiger belang seluar dalam instead. lol

• mengh on May 29, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Why you said so? This is engine can get 30km/l?
          Talk kok

• ayamitik on May 30, 2014 at 10:40 am

dey macha. this is about the advance and most sofisticated and state of the art new generation 1KR-DE. talk lah how advance and how good is DAIHASTSU engine is. want to talk about campro nfe,go to gsc topic lor.

e-throttle? 10 years technolgy implemented by proton.air intake resonator? 5 year old implemented by proton. top on coil ignition next perhaps? why dont tiru that one also?

next generation engine in perodua vocabulary is old 10 years back technology. the truth is bitter isnt?

• OMG…I believe P2 can make an engine which better than P1 campro.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 10
    • Nissan on Jun 01, 2014 at 5:29 pm

pls dont. we only want engine from the land of the rising sun, not bolehland.

• ruffstuff on May 29, 2014 at 10:21 am

Almost died when heard about Perodua to build new engine. Rupanya build new kilang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 5
    • AHAHA on May 29, 2014 at 10:34 am

hahaha, if perodua build their own enjin, i will run naked around their enjin factory..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • genamorima on May 29, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Give me your contact details so I can get to you when they do build their own engine in the future :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
        • AHAHA on May 30, 2014 at 11:08 am

nah, dont hesitate to call me 013-2495689, bet ya don’t dare.. :p

• victor tan (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 1:51 pm

count me in.

• EnergyAnalyst on May 29, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Oh behave.

• Same L0r on May 29, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Why must they have to build their own engine?

Your organ and body are also 46000 years old design, yet it is much more reliable than the Campro engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 14
        • Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Ohh. Leave them.. org lain rebadge they butthurt. . Dia rebadge. . Ok pulak.. Unfortunately no one wants to partner with them now..

They are sore looser.. making lost every year..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
          • motorbart on May 29, 2014 at 7:32 pm

When will p2 produce home-grown cars? Forever rebadging? That’s pity. And only euro IV engine? Why not euro VI? P2 is so yesterday.

• barthurt on May 30, 2014 at 10:39 am

P2 sales volume double of P1, current engine better fuel economy than P1 campro engines. Until P1 sales is higher than P2 and fuel economy can match then only talk.
            It does not matter that P1 has Euro VI engine when it still guzzles more petrol than ancient Japanese Euro II engines.

• mmaker on May 29, 2014 at 10:54 am

new engine uses Euro IV standard?

• alaskanbunny on May 29, 2014 at 10:59 am

what? no variable valve? save cost? pump up d compression n remove parts?

• Jules on May 29, 2014 at 10:59 am

Can build new kilang? Nanti complain lagi not supporting P1? Lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
    • Chris (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 11:23 am

Who says only P1 can create jobs locally? Haha. I suppose any CKD cars create some sort of jobs here.

• Sugar Glider on May 29, 2014 at 11:54 am

Seriously? are you being sarcastic or you can’t differentiate between p1 and p2? Lel

• Eddie on May 29, 2014 at 11:41 am

If Perodua build an engine similar to 1/2JZ…I would support perodua forever

• bmpower on May 29, 2014 at 12:15 pm

1KR-FE engine = year 2007.

wow.. so new local innovation..
    sohai..

• victor tan (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 1:53 pm

Yes it’s new if you compare to what engine they used in Toyota Vios.. :)

• ckae76 on Jun 21, 2014 at 11:37 pm

don’t change something that’s not broken. Old but still better fuel consumption than P1 cars.

• ayamitik on May 29, 2014 at 12:31 pm

so this new advance and state of the art 1KR engine is dumping the so called dvvt (vvt) and replace it with air intake resonator.

what is the different about campro aifm (air intake flow modulator). The same thing right?

so, if dumping the variable valve timing and replace it with air modulator is consider as most advanced. hence…campro aifm+ is state of the of the art and more advance lah than new agyla.

or, perodua and daihatsu just found out the actually vvti and air intake resonator actually give same kind of fuel efficiently with lower cost?

somebody care to explain?

• angsa on May 29, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Perodua 1KR engine = 20 km per Liter

Protun Camproh = 10 km per Liter

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
      • motorbart on May 29, 2014 at 7:41 pm

20km/l in your dream
        and motorhead has hating without teason syndrome
        go to psychiatrist before it gets late

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 9:58 pm

Oh.. I hate with a teason (reason).. we all have reasons to hate u…

Hahaha. ..

• motorbart on May 29, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Since when I ask other people? Only YOU who hate without reason. That’s SICK, better go to psychiatrist

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Another teason?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 5:59 pm

Campros sucks.. 1KR is not.

• motorbart on May 29, 2014 at 11:09 pm

Suck too because no VVT, only Euro IV, mild output and cannot do 30km/l FC.

At least I have logical reasons than your sick empty childish comment.

• ayamitik on May 30, 2014 at 9:54 am

1KR sucks more. Cost cutting everywhere and still you praise this engine. If DAIHATSU give 1KR-FE, it is still acceptable as it still retain vvt. Now it is a tune down and strip doen 1KR-DE. At least give some value and improvement not tune down and strip down engine.

it is the most advance engine according to perodua. Basicly it is strip down and tune down and cut cost engine. Current EJ-VE is much better.

plain and simple. This is a downgraded engine of EJ-VE. and worst it could not achieve 30km/l . it should have. as it is small and said said state of the art. yeah. state of the art during dinasour period perhaps. Joking intended.

• nabill (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Factory finishing in 2yrs to build engines that came to market in 2006…i guess any investment in welcomed

• ayamxxx on May 29, 2014 at 1:37 pm

lest technology, no VVT, all new is less viscosity engine oil being used = save fuel?

perhaps it less weight can contribute for good FC rather than VVT system

• Exactly. And all these P2 sohai supporter think the crappy Daihatsu engine can do magic.

Crappy light cars which floats on highway like a coffin. Sure can give good mileage.

And for the last time, P2 ain’t designing no engine. They simply build a factory to manufacture Daihatsu engines. Which means lower engine quality. Means more death traps on the highway with engines flying out of VIVA and bursting flames into Myvi.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Another corpse wannabe. . U want drive to die eh?? Always think of death one.. well may be you ll drive a coffin also trrw.. in whatever car u drive. Good luck. Drive carefully.

• Perororodua on May 29, 2014 at 1:43 pm

It’s so funny when u want the cheap car at the same time u concern more safety on the car…Do u know that making more safety features actually incur more cost???

let me prioritize what is attractive vehicle means:-

1) Safety – Our life absolutely no 1. Without life u won’t be able to enjoy good design of the car.

2) Durable – Good quality of the car. It’s for our long term usage. Because since day 1 we are spending the monthly car installment means we are spending money to the liability which the value of the car will continue to decline.

3) Design (It’s a bonus when cars have all these three). Yet we can’t afford to have everything all in one. Some more if we want cheap car. Ahahaa

My conclusion is in every angle of perspective; we can consider Proton or any other cars that provide Safety as their no 1 feature. Why I said that, just imagine why you want to spend or sacrificing your money to purchase for example car like Perodua produce? Perodua they didn’t concern about.
    1) Safety – Obviously
    2) Quality? Who said they are better than Proton.
    3) Perodua so expensive, just did some interior change than the price walawehh 50k 60k. – Why we wasting our money at the liability thing. Car is liability. Car price won’t increase after u bought the car even at the day 1.

Think wisely guys

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • tokmoh (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Buy a used volvo la, 240 edi depreciate until stagnant rm5k+-. Same downpayment for brand new car can get entire volvo, debt-free. Some say buy used need repair la, expensive la, so? If buy new car hv to become bank slave for 9 years, that is better option? So kelian, at least if repair car, the car improves. U pay bank 9 years, car become more reliable mah?

Plenty still running around tells u volvo are sturdy. Keep good maintenance, it’ll go on for life.

Safety, no need to say la, it’s a volvo.

Parts a little premium, but there’s plenty fb group, volvo community can help advice whether u getting fair price or kene ketuk. Hint: find jimvolvo on fb.

Get 2.0 injection, more fuel efficient, if manual, even better. Same fc as iswara 1.5 auto.

Volvo also very comfortable, if ever drive/sit in volvo, u’ll know it. Perfect as daily car. After long day at work, when get into volvo, fuuuh, awsm.

Volvo also not hot car, thief rarely wanna steal volvo. No need worry means better life.

All from rm5k+- onwards. Vs the beginning of 9 years bank slave, lansi bloodsucking sc, worry resale value, blabla.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Protong ve no resale value just a minute you sign S& P.. puihhh.. used car pon x mau lah..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
      • Childish comment, you mean you just give it for free to used car seller?

hahahahahaha

• Perororodua on May 29, 2014 at 1:43 pm

It’s so funny when u want the cheap car at the same time u concern more safety on the car…Do u know that making more safety features actually incur more cost???

let me prioritize what is attractive vehicle means:-

1) Safety – Our life absolutely no 1. Without life u won’t be able to enjoy good design of the car.

2) Durable – Good quality of the car. It’s for our long term usage. Because since day 1 we are spending the monthly car installment means we are spending money to the liability which the value of the car will continue to decline.

3) Design (It’s a bonus when cars have all these three). Yet we can’t afford to have everything all in one. Some more if we want cheap car. Ahahaa

My conclusion is in every angle of perspective; we can consider Proton or any other cars that provide Safety as their no 1 feature. Why I said that, just imagine why you want to spend or sacrificing your money to purchase for example car like Perodua produce? Perodua they didn’t concern about.
    1) Safety – Obviously
    2) Quality? Who said they are better than Proton.
    3) Perodua so expensive, just did some interior change than the price walawehh 50k 60k. – Why we wasting our money at the liability thing. Car is liability. Car price won’t increase after u bought the car even at the day 1.

Think wisely guys

• angsa on May 29, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Yes think wisely. Never ever buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Protong butthurt.

• xherd on May 29, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Why must butthurt?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 11:29 pm

Because Potong low sales. . Semua salah Perodua. ..

Salah kereta import.. sbb mahal pon org beli.. salah semua x patriotic. .

Hahaha. .

• Perororodua on May 30, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Not because they blame on Perodua. Blame our nation who so pathetic on design and simply put aside the safety and security on their life safety.

ANCAP & ENCAP surely most of our citizen don’t have any ideas what it is.

• Sorry to ask … why Senawang?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 3:42 pm

Thumbs up.. including my feet thumbs…

51% Shares on Daihatsu. . Go Daihatsu. . I can change new engines easier in future. .All hail Daihatsu. .

Before some butthurt make stupid comments. . Check this out.. check where your manufacturer position here.. can you find anything similar like the sound potong?

http://www.reliabilityindex.com/manufacturer

• bisakeris (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 6:54 pm

at 1st i tot p2 make new engine! ooo kilang pasang engine.. anyway, still a job well done by p2.. profit for the country.. all the best p2!!!

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 7:54 pm

Go get newspapers.. Daihatsu ve 51% on this one..

But hell yeah.. there job vacancies. . Protong staffs or ex protng staffs can prepare their resumes. ..

Leave the boat la.. going to sink dy..

Hahaha. ..

• Josh Ling on May 29, 2014 at 7:58 pm

and yet some of the people are bashing about Perodua being not “national car” enough……really?? after all the investments they brought in and they made in the country, still saying they are not as serious player as proton?

• Motorhead (Member) on May 29, 2014 at 9:59 pm

They are Ptong cyber troopers..

• The money is mostly for Daihatsu / Toyota. They will leave if they cannot cover high labour cost here anymore.

• most advanced, next generation engine but don’t have vvt lol.

• Some reviewers, although they appreciate remote start method, do not feel that it is the most critical function.