2014 Nissan Teana spotted on oto.my – RM142k est?

s4-5956-image

With the 2014 Nissan Teana now on the last leg of its tour of the peninsula, ads for the L33 have already popped up on our sister classifieds site oto.my ahead of the new D-segment sedan’s launch on June 3. Both a 2.0 litre model (we think it’s the base 2.0XE) and the full-spec 2.5XV have appeared with an estimated price of RM142,000 for the former, rising up to RM173,000 for the latter.

These figures are similar to what the outgoing J32 retails for at the bottom and top end respectively, so the price of the mid-range 2.0XL shouldn’t stray too far from the current 2.0 Luxury’s RM145,830.

Standard equipment on all variants consists of push-button ignition, cruise control, dual-zone automatic climate control and rear air-conditioning vents, while safety kit includes Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC), traction control, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, hill-start assist as well as six airbags (front, side and full-length curtain airbags).

The 2.0XL tacks on Bluetooth connectivity, while the 2.5 XL gets adaptive bi-xenon headlights, a nine-speaker Bose Premium Audio System, a sunroof, a powered rear windscreen sunshade and 17-inch alloy wheel shod with 215/55 tyres.

Interested? You can view our full gallery of the new L33 alongside the previous-generation J32 and read our test drive report from the Nissan 360 event in California.

GALLERY: Nissan Teana – new versus old

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• this car’s styling makes me fall asleep

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • EnergyAnalyst on May 30, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Does that mean if you want to buy a brand new Nissan car with 2.0 Litre engine, you need to pay 142k? Hmmmm…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • 6 airbags for 142k…. TAKE MY MONEY NISSAN!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • 2 Airbag Dangers - Bravo ETCM on May 30, 2014 at 1:55 pm

This car will wipe out the Camry and Accord completely. One must have no shame, no dignity and no testicles to buy a car that ONLY gives 2 airbags.

Malaysians have no shame at all. All over the world, the Camry and Accord come with 8 or 9 airbags. In Malaysia, DRB and UMW treat Malaysian lives like pangsai (berak). They don’t care for you or your family. If you meet an accident and you children become vegetables, UMW and DRB (Honda) don’t care a damn. You are just a statistic. You are just dust in UMW and Honda Malaysia’s eyes.

But yet, people buy cars like Camry and Accord because they are like a herd of cows. just follow the first cow. One cannot be so stupid in life. Think about your family. Think about your children. Airbags have proven to save lives and severe injuries.

What is the use you drive Camry or Accord, in an accident, only father and mother are protected in the front. The children at the back get smashed into pieces because got no airbag.

You must be a man with no testicles if you out your family and children in such danger.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 7
    • Nisan on May 30, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Meh,nissan Teana is the real shit.
      How many Teana you saw on the road until now?Its totally fail,u think 6 airbags can boost the sales?Honda Accord is still the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 32
      • Nisan on May 30, 2014 at 3:30 pm

New Camry GX and Accord can totally wipe out this Teanashit!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 27
  • AVH (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 2:03 pm

Saw it at Publika last Sunday, honestly I find iit almost Mazda-6 level of sexy. And at that price and spec, we might be looking at the new king of the D here. Its like a Mazda 6 without the performance but also better interior, both in design and space.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • AVH (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 2:04 pm

I hit the submit to fast

Correction:
      *King of the D-segments here.

Please no dirty thoughts.

• azrai on May 30, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Where’s the Proton-Geely JV news? PM already went on discussion with Geely in China.

• fast5 on May 30, 2014 at 2:18 pm

Let it price below 135k for starting line… then it will give a good fight to accord…
    UMW camry can give back to thailand or tell tan Sri Asmat to keep it all at his house and luxury 2.0 at his bedroom…

• totti on May 30, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Well. Trying to be the “tai koh” in pricing with RM 142K as compared to H (RM 139 OTR) & T.

Sylphy has failed in term of pricing strategy and now the D segment Teana want to follow the footstep of the small brother.

Regardless of what has been improved for the safety feature, Nissan should not price their car higher than T&H due to the bad resale value of the car.

Good car with bad pricing strategy will backfire.

Let see how long they can pile up their stock and start giving RM 15K discount. I expected a big discount to be offered after 4 months from the launch date.

To beat T&H, your strategy should follow the Almera where lowest spec pricing should be lower than H&T and priced around RM 129K (OTR) because your name is” Nissan” in Malaysia.

With this pricing, T&H will be malaysian choice.

Good luck Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
  • pity this kind of car segment do not come with gps navigation..

• totti on May 30, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Well. Trying to be the “tai koh” in pricing with RM 142K as compared to H (RM 139 OTR) & T.

Sylphy has failed in term of pricing strategy and now the D segment Teana want to follow the footstep of the small brother.

Regardless of what has been improved for the safety feature, Nissan should not price their car higher than T&H due to the bad resale value of the car.

Good car with bad pricing strategy will backfire.

Let see how long they can pile up their stock and start giving RM 15K discount. I expected a big discount to be offered after 4 months from the launch date.

To beat T&H, you lowest spec pricing should be around RM 129K (OTR) because your name is” Nissan” in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 14
  • LeYuv on May 30, 2014 at 4:09 pm

Impartially, I am a big fan of where Nissan is headed. Uniformed design for the new Sylphy & Teana feels more premium, reminiscent of the German styling. Approximately same design, sized according to segment of the market the car is targeted at. Saw the 2.0 XE in Nissan showroom today. Like it a fair bit. Pricing TBA though. Seriously think the pricing will make or break this model.

• Ray (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 5:23 pm

I know everything about this car is awesome, specs-wise at least. But for some reason, I’m still more inclined to the Mazda 6 and Honda Accord. No, just no Nissan for me.

*better than the Camry though*

• can Malaysia stop getting all these so called new designs which are at least 2-3 years old overseas?

• Denaihati on May 31, 2014 at 12:13 am

the price of Camry and Accord, but have much extra safety, luxury and interested feature.

• pondan on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:09 am

While we are debating price tags for T, H or N, it’s still very overly priced cars and for the segment of population while the rich or very rich are getting much cheaper car such as new Merc S class hybrid and Meserati Ghibli that usally priced close to 1mil. They are getting 40+% cheaper car.

Is that justice or plain ignorance.

• lalala on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Dont like the atok dashboard..