DRIVEN: 2014 Nissan Teana ups the D-segment ante

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_003

Well, this is quite something. It’s a brand new Japanese D-segment sedan that has the looks and presence of something beyond its stature. Bigger, classier, the lot. The Toyota Camry seems boring, the Honda Accord understated and the Mazda 6 inelegant in comparison. The crowd-favourite 6 is gorgeous, but perhaps rather crass for an executive D-segment sedan.

We’re talking about the 2014 Nissan Teana L33, of course. When you’re driving this type of car, let alone a brand new one that looks as bold as this, you don’t expect people to love you like a brother. Outroars of “[expletive] Camry!” would be rather familiar for most of us drivers here on Malaysian roads.

But this new Nissan is getting the intrigued looks, the nods and even the odd smiles from passers by and motorists. Just by looking at it, they sense that the new Teana defines a new breed of Nissan vehicles. Whether or not it’s actually any good is a different matter altogether, though.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_016

The sporty yet elegant style – more toned-down Infiniti than stretched Almera – and well-toned complex surfaces tell the story of a new spirit, change of course from the old car’s blunderbuss approach. This car represents a revolution for its maker and its plans for premium-feel large car leadership.

After all, the old Teana launched itself into a hail of brickbats. It sat tall and upright at a time when looking bulky had suddenly become unfashionable, so its visual appeal wasn’t quite competitive enough. So the new one is made to be 35 mm longer (4,885 mm) and wider (1,830 mm), but only 5 mm taller (1,485 mm) than before.

It manages to have a much sleeker silhouette and sportier stance, while the sharp edged, neatly detailed shape slips through the air and into your hearts. The heavily structured design and familiar ‘kamishimo’ trapezoidal grille gives the new Teana an instantly recognisable appearance. It’s far more expressive than that of the Camry and Accord.

If its appearance is a clear step ahead, what’s underneath is a leap, thanks to a massive rethink on all fronts. Interior comfort (quality, seats and NVH) and safety equipment (six airbags, stability control as standard) all break new frontiers for a Nissan. Most importantly though, improvements have also been roped in, Nissan claims, to put a smile on both the rear passenger and driver’s faces.

Others usually stick to one extreme or the other. The Mazda 6 is brilliant to drive, but has a hard-edged ride to show for it. The Accord, meanwhile, sides on comfort, but is a dull steer. Then there’s the current XV50 Camry, which tried to be the jack-of-all-trades, but ended up as a master of none. Cue the range-topping Teana 2.5XV, to put Nissan’s claim to test.

Sure enough, the newfound dynamism of the latest L33 Teana over its slab-sided J32 predecessor is most obvious. The new D-segmenter feels surprisingly lively, almost shirt-sleeved under the urge of the slick 2.5 litre engine.

Out goes the old VQ25DE V6 engine, but the new QR25DE four-cylinder motor is as sweet and brawny as you’d wish, perfectly matching the car’s dynamic persona. With 173 PS at 6,000 rpm and 234 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm (loss of 9 PS, but 6 Nm more, the latter peaking 400 rpm earlier too), you won’t be left wanting for more performance either.

Some may miss the appeal of a V6 motor, but no doubt all will welcome the massive gain in fuel efficiency – about 21% less than before at 13.3 kilometres per litre (versus just 10.5).

Those technically inclined would be glad to know that the inclusion of Twin-CVTC technology adds variable valve timing on both exhaust and intake camshafts, while Nissan’s Power Valve intake system opens the valves at a higher rpm to help keep the torque curve flat and minimising any torque dips (something that would hugely benefit Proton’s CamPro motors).

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_048

Also welcome is the equally improved Xtronic CVT gearbox, which has 70% new components and 40% less friction than earlier applications. The transmission now adds a Ds mode that simulates gear change steps at higher speeds (similar to Proton’s SAT mode, but much better executed) – useful through corners or in preparation for overtaking manoeuvres.

Left on its own, it’s super smooth at all speeds. The CVT benefits from having a wider coverage range than before, which improves acceleration at the lower end, and maximises fuel economy at the other. Nissan says that the effective gear ratios now equal that of a tradition seven-speed automatic transmission.

Gaining momentum is one test, redirecting it is another, though. And here the car excels. Turn in is commendably brisk and body roll is well suppressed. Set the car up properly and the Nissan dives for the apex with uncanny agility and fluency for such a large vehicle.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_001

Pushed hard, this car is more fun than most, if not all of Nissan’s previous models. It is amazingly swift even when the roads get tight, and it handles with more poise and precision than bigger, even more overtly sporting Infinitis (yes, that really isn’t saying much at all, but you get the connection).

The chassis features a combination of MacPherson struts up front and a redesigned multi-link arrangement at the rear that’s wonderfully set up, giving the new Teana a deep handling competency and unbridled comfort. It’s a real step forward for the class, this, and it’s certainly closer to the Mazda 6 than the Camry in the driving department.

These major gains can be connected to the rear suspension design, which is largely different to that of its rivals and indeed, its own predecessor. The departure from the J32 Teana’s single wishbone-based multi-link setup (which the Accord shares) allows for more flexibility over the effective stiffness and movement controls.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_012

In comparison, the Camry’s vertical (instead of diagonal) damper arrangement and simpler rear strut arms offer a significantly narrower ideal window of operation, which is reflected by the large Toyota’s relatively limited range of body control. Sophistication plays in the Teana’s favour here. By quite a margin at that.

Bespoke to the Teana is a clever movable connecting bush that is built into the rear suspension assembly, which allows for minute on-the-fly toe-in adjustments (turning the outside rear wheel to the steering direction). Both body control and steering response improve considerably with this addition.

Working completely behind the scene is Nissan’s Active Understeer Control (AUC). The driving aid works in tandem with the standard Vehicle Dynamic Control (VDC) to brake the inside front wheels during cornering, negating the car’s natural tendency to understeer through sharp corners.

Whether it works or not, well, it’s hard to tell, as it’s supposed to be almost undetectable when it operates, and the system itself is designed primarily for everyday operation rather than emergency evasive manoeuvres. From behind the wheel, you just feel that the Teana resists understeer remarkably well for a large front-wheel drive, but not unnaturally so.

Speaking of the wheel, the new Teana employs an electro-hydraulic power steering system. It’s essentially a traditional hydraulic power steering unit with an electric-driven pump, theoretically offering the best of both worlds – hydraulic power assistance for precise steering feel, without having a hydraulic pump feeding off the engine.

In reality, though it is one of the better setups in recent years, it’s not without its drawbacks. It’s certainly quick and very relaxed around the straightahead, but the weight is too inconsistent and its feel isn’t all it could be (considering it’s hydraulic), especially on lock.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_046

Despite the (artificial) weighing up of the steering load, there isn’t enough self-centring. In combination with the soft-ish spring and damper setup, it doesn’t quite muster the same fluid lateral movements as a Mazda 6, for instance. It can feel rather detached during sudden changes of direction, and the steering hardens briefly in the process. It’s no big deal, but it shows that there is still room for fine-tuning.

Stretching its legs on a clear highway, there’s decent pull above 110 km/h for a car this size, while rolling refinement and ride fail to disappoint. Up to 160 km/h, the new L33 slips through the air near-silently, and it’s sealed against tyre noise just as effectively. Directional stability is impressive too, no doubt aided by the car’s trick suspension.

Moving inside, there’s a vastly different driving position to the previous Teana. You sit slightly lower, less upright and generally more comfortably, mostly due to the fact that the steering column now has both tilt and telescopic adjustments, the last of which was jarringly missing in the old car.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_039

The supremely comfortable seats, comically dubbed ‘Zero-Gravity Seats’, help too. Nissan says it used findings by NASA to design these thrones that come closest to a “neutral posture” – a relaxed position that the human body takes in a weightless environment. Err, yeah, whatever. All we know is, they’re quite nice to sit on.

The high-mounted dashboard scores top marks on perceived quality with the use of soft-touch materials and classy-looking silver and piano black panel inserts. The steering wheel, meanwhile, is full of buttons and the four-inch high-res colour screen integrated within the instrument cluster – though it shows no more than a basic set of trip computer information – is certainly visually impressive.

Added to that is this top-of-the-range 2.5XV model’s nine-speaker (four door speakers, one centre tweeter, two front tweeters and two subwoofers in the rear parcel shelf) Bose Premium Audio System. Look beyond the fancy aesthetics, however, and you’ll find that it lacks a navigation system, a touchscreen interface and automatic wipers, all of which are widely seen as modern essentials.

Also missing from the roster are the comfort access (auto slide back for easy ingress and egress) and memory functions for the front seats, which is made even more grating since they were offered in the old model. On the other hand, there’s now a sunroof thrown in for the range-topping variant.

Beyond equipment, the new Teana also features improved rear cabin space. While the 2,775 mm-long wheelbase has been kept unchanged, Nissan has managed to free up some extra knee- and leg-room by redesigning the front seat back design and interior B-pillar and door covers. The boot has grown to 516 litres too, up 10 litres from before.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_015

Everything considered, this car is undeniably the new yardstick at the upper echelon of the Japanese D-segment car league. It manages to be both sporty and genuinely comfortable at the same time, with minimal trade off in either aspect.

It’s easy to see why Nissan is projecting confidence. The new Teana is, if nothing else, highly contemporary. The new model is far prettier that before, safer, and more lavishly furnished. On first impressions, it seems exactly what new car buyers now seek – a visually imposing, relatively well-equipped and high quality car with plenty of standard safety features.

Add to that highly competitive pricing (estimated to be between RM142k to RM173k), the new Teana looks like a very convincing option. Together with the recent Sylphy, Nissan has shed its long-standing stigma of mundane and predictability by adding impressive dynamic virtues, while retaining most of the brand splendour it’s known for.

So watch out, Honda Accord, the 2014 Nissan Teana is gunning for the class lead.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• TopsyBoXyTurvy on May 30, 2014 at 8:28 pm

Toyotata….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 7
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 131
      • You have 1 star or 0 star car?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • 2 Airbag Dangers - Bravo ETCM on May 31, 2014 at 3:50 pm

This car will wipe out the Camry and Accord completely. One must have no shame, no dignity and no testicles to buy a car that ONLY gives 2 airbags.

Malaysians have no shame at all. All over the world, the Camry and Accord come with 8 or 9 airbags. In Malaysia, DRB and UMW treat Malaysian lives like pangsai (berak). They don’t care for you or your family. If you meet an accident and you children become vegetables, UMW and DRB (Honda) don’t care a damn. You are just a statistic. You are just dust in UMW and Honda Malaysia’s eyes.

But yet, people buy cars like Camry and Accord because they are like a herd of cows. just follow the first cow. One cannot be so stupid in life. Think about your family. Think about your children. Airbags have proven to save lives and severe injuries.

What is the use you drive Camry or Accord, in an accident, only father and mother are protected in the front. The children at the back get smashed into pieces because got no airbag.

You must be a man with no testicles if you go out your family and children in such danger and expose your children to such danger.

In summary, with the introduction of cars with 6 airbags, one must be an irresponsible parent to expose their children to road dangers with cars of 2 airbags.

Honda Accord and Toyota Camry parents are IRRESPONSIBLE and NEGLIGENT.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 17
          • jemey on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:11 pm

I get your point, but for the record Honda Accord 2.4 VTi-L has four airbags.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
          • alldisc on Jun 01, 2014 at 5:47 pm

think about it. why must have high speed accidents?

why not… instead of promoting cars that can go high speed… lets promote safety driving. practise defensive driving.

that is a lot better isnt it? imagine travelling from KL to melaka (150km) at 150kmh and at 110kmh. the slower one will still reach melaka at 20 minutes later.

not that much to shout about to drive faster. just be calm. the roads are crowded by the nowadays.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
          • AVH (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:10 am

As much as I am an advocate of safety, I believe people at Paultan only judge them by their spec, the stuff written on paper. True in the case of 6-airbags are safer than ‘just’ 2….but airbags only works when you are already crashed ,means somewhere some place, you have done something wrong and someone slam into you.

We leave aside with the side impact because that is the deciding factor betweens the cars. Now currenetly as per IIHS test for structural integrity, the Accord scored the best, with a ‘good’ for all criteria….the rest only manage an ‘Acceptable’ for Small Frontal Overlap. Than we come to things that that are not written on paper. Steering and brakes feedback/respond, car responsiveness and also blindspot size. NO ONE ever factor this in for safety, but personally it means alot….a performance of that means how fast the car react and responds and how good that responds is to the driver to avoid sudden collision. Blindspot and Visibility also must be good so that the driver can be situational aware…..Be warn that accident happens on the part of the driver first than car and all this plays into consideration. Which is why I find VSC/ABS and all this ‘active’ safety vitals as well as the car design. The Mazda 6 may have the best safety features in the car….but the view out is restrictive(at least my 10 min sit in it).

Now moving on to the worse possible moment…..when you crash. You maybe a bad driver but chose to not vigilant so yea this happens. OK, The data recorded by MIROS showed that most accident happens at the front. And considering all cars have about the same score on frontal (Accord having better Small Frontal Overlap….a Bonus), we move to side. Now the probability of a car crashing from the side is low, I can argue with this all day long, but even at low, we count that as a risk, a probability…..it is still a statistic of concearn. So if you factor not just side/front and rear impact…..but also those little statistic, mechanical responds, brakes and visibility…..what are the probability of one out weighing each other? if you have 2-airbags car with better side visibility and better engine responds, you might have gotten away in a car with 6-airbags but stuck in the collision.

And mind you the performance of airbags are tested at 50kph…..something engineer try hard to pass but nor exceed. IF its say 80kph(which we all do) collsion, what are those chances. I doubt that will happen but if you want to count probability than this is a probability. The truth is, as of now, I do not yet consider side airbag as a VERY SUPER DUPER LIFE SAVING piece of equipment….Its an awesome thing to have and the chance of it giving your life advantage is there, but if it has a 1.5l ASTHMA engine car with pethatic excuse of a brake and performance(like my old Wira 1.5 A), I am going for the 2 airbag car with better performance. VSC is a must and so is any active safety. Avoiding is better than coliding, but I think the discussion of the importance of airbag is here because drivers in Malaysia dont LOOK at their F****** mirrors!!!.

Safety is iportant, but if everything else is crap, than as much as you want to downvote me, I’am going to compromise and head for where my moneys worth…..something I enjoy and not waiting for the day my money is spent on the airbags

PS: this post WILL cost alot of misunderstanding. Airbags are important, but nnot everything.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • kington on May 31, 2014 at 10:28 am

Haisz… if got money, sure people will buy better cars lor…..duh….

• sence on May 31, 2014 at 6:35 pm

Talk a lot but at the end dun buy, duh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
        • With the kind of money we spent on entry level cars like Vios , City, Almera etc, we can buy a much btr equip car (in term of safety features)in other part of the world. We have been denied of the fundamental (like water, it is our fundamental right to live in a safer world). U know who to thx!

• policeman on May 31, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Hafriz, Which one handles better? Inspira or Teana? Ignore the fact that one is C and the other is D.
      Which one is more stable in a straight line and corners?

• xxprt on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:17 am

Normal Japs car if go above 100km/h the ride becomes not really comfort. More than 170km/h it’s like you ride sampan or its shaky already. Noise is kept to minimum level though.

While proton/conti shines. I’m not surprise if any people telling me he is used to proton/conti level ride so when travelling in Japs car he becomes afraid of high speed because the car is felt unstable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 22
        • alldisc on Jun 01, 2014 at 5:53 pm

too bad that this handling thing is not appreciated by the ppl in australia and europe.

oh wait, they have ford focus there. and renault clio/megane. and vw golf.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:21 pm

And so do we

Wait, so you’re telling me that the Teana is supposed to win over the hearts of people over the Golf, Megane and Focus warm(ish) hatches……with a large, bulky-comfort tune sedan? seems legit.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 8:35 pm

I frequently do 110-140kph in my Honda city E(3rd gen) everytime I am in the NKVE or the LDP….or any major road that is straight and have little cars and interchange. And i don’t get this instability that you speak of unless you are saying that the Honda city is not a ‘normal’ Japanese car. In fact I usually go over te speed limit without if I do not look at the speedo because I do not notice the speed of it until about 140(did once 160 early morning on the ECH and yea it’s really unstable). Other japs cars that have no problem at 120kph I’ve sat are a 1st gen Vios, XV50 Camry, Nissan Sylphy and Nissan Sentra. So unless you are talking about Rush, Almera or Avanza(which owners so claim of slight difficulty above the triple digit) I have no idea what Japanese car is not ‘normal’

In fact sat in a persona once above 100 once, not much different from a Japanese car. But I do believe European car have an UFO like stability at high speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
        • yankeepapa on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:18 am

Most cars irrespective of Japs or Continental, they should feel very stable at near their max speed when driven along highways. There is not much to tax the abilities of these cars even with the long sweeping corners. Car manufacturers have done so much R & D on alll the various suspension setups that their cars should behave safely on Highways. I have driven many times flat out in my tall Mitsu Triton on the NS Hwy even at corners. Flat out the Triton does wobble slightly but it is expected bcos of the higher CG but at 150 it is very stable. Only when driven fast along narrow country roads that the Germans seem to have better suspension.

• Still looks like a piece of potato to me. You can’t turn a potato into a strawberry can you? It’s still a Nissan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 18
    • shame_Loo on Jun 15, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Super ugle steering wheel. Out-dated ID design. How to compete in the market?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • techsmart on May 30, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Both the interior of sylphy and teana got downgraded…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 45
    • feeder on May 31, 2014 at 4:05 am

You want real interior finishing go for Volvo/Merc. This is fake look alike like those in potong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
  • sudonano (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Am rather surprised with the lack of automatic wipers, something the Accord and everything else except the empty Camry has. But it is not a deal breaker.

This is the new Nissan alright. Nissan is back to its good ol’ days of decent handling, decent performing and good kit count cars they used to make. Reminds me of the Sentra and the Cefiro (which was the Teana’s grandfather) which came with dual airbags as standard and ABS too in 1999/2001 era. At that time, Toyota’s XV10 Camry was empty with no safety features, same with the Accord, and the Corolla and Civic too.

If they continue, many more people will come back to Nissan. Their aftersales from my past experience was good, though a bit far out of the city suburbs. The cars they make are generally quite good too compared to the Toyota.

Good job Nissan on your Sylphy and Teana, well executed, pricing should be good too. Its time to erase the dark years between 2003 and 2013, and let the good times roll.

UMW Toyota, be very afraid.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 136 Thumb down 1
    • samelu on May 31, 2014 at 3:30 am

But RV is not so good. You can get used Nissan much cheaper than T and H

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 35
      • Kangkung on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:18 pm

Our life is much much more than RV

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
        • ahboyy on Jul 01, 2014 at 6:29 pm

u r rite. RV is not the only point we need to think of when buying a car. Only M’sian talking about RV. Otherwise we r trapped in so called good RV manufactures only. Wake up and be like overseas people..adventures in choosing car and technology.

• policeman on May 31, 2014 at 9:03 pm

Aiyoo apa ni no auto wiper? my 80K Inspira got auto wiper. This 170K Teana tada kah? Kedekut betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 24
      • plcwoman on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:19 am

Apa susah you label “Auto” kat wiper, dah jadi auto wiper.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • Nissan on Jun 01, 2014 at 5:21 pm

service quality at the service center (Klang one, not sure about the others) also downgraded when the sales (mainly Almera) go up. i do hope the manager read my message & go improve it.

• roxas on May 30, 2014 at 9:07 pm

screw the expensive mazda 3 with tis reasonable priced teana

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 4
    • mzd3mps on May 31, 2014 at 3:47 am

Mazda3 skyactive is powderful, I heard this high compression engine can outpace turbo engine. 2.0 litre has already more than 2.5l performance, can smoke Teana anyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 30
      • Bob_B78 on May 31, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Sure it can outpace a Turbo car. It can outrun L200 Turbo car. U know what L200 Turbo car is? That is yours truly kancil Turbo.
        What’s the point mentioning Mazda 3 here? Here is give opinion on D segment cars. Definitely not about performance

• mzd3mps on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:29 am

Ask roxas above not me

• Bob_b78 on Jun 01, 2014 at 2:16 pm

Roxas never mentioned about performance comparison.
          From what I can see is Roxas thinks Mazda3 is a smaller car, less roomy, refinement levels are lower and yet sells at the price equivalent to a 2.0l D- segment car.
          To him, is a better bargain to buy a 2.0l D segment. Bigger, more refine and comfortable to with.

• Can’t really compare to a CBU Japan with a (not sure CKD or CBU Thailand). Maybe when the Mazda 3 has been CKDed later this year it would be somewhere around 120k? Similar price to the Slyphy?

• Ray (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 2:45 pm

It is, but then when you compare the 3 with our dear Corolla and Civic, it actually seems like a pretty good deal.

But sad truth, they’re all overpriced. Only the Cerato is decent. But if I have 130-40k to spend on a C-segment, a Mazda 3 please.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • broker on May 31, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Mazda3 skyactive 2.0l but fuel like 2.5l. Anyone can confirm?

• messi on May 30, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 120
    • sudonano (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Does second hand resale matter when you are about to end up in a ditch on a slippery road, when the Teana and Mazda 6 would most likely save your life, while the empty Camry won’t?

Of course you pay less at the start, with the same % of depreciation, you get less la. The only reason why your Toyotas can be sold back for a higher price (“so called”, I can guarantee that my ex Toyota did not sell any better than my ex Nissan),is because you paid more in the first place! When you calculate the % lost, it is the same!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 113 Thumb down 4
      • tesla on May 31, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Somebody told me dun need many airbags. Just drive carefully and you are safe.LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • Who ask you to sell after 2-3 years? If you keep it long, it will drop to a minimum price where all the cars shall be the same at the last.

If you tend to change car at this class every 2-3years means your financial should be quite ok. You will not mind right?

If you really mind, sorry, brother, you have to have kosong camry at high price and enjoy it low depreciation rate!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 2
    • Borrrri.....zzzz on May 31, 2014 at 4:54 pm

How can anyone who buys a car based on resale value call themselves a car enthusiast? Still, what am I to know? Toyota has got your corner of the market well covered. That’s why there’s always a mockery for Camry drivers.

• goodbye Camry

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 1
  • AVH (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Once Upon A Time……Toyota launch the XV50, it was holding its D-segment crown by the finger tips, passed down by his father XV40. XV50 aka King Joffrey was dislike by many, but reputation and family name kept him high from the raging Koreans and Ecoboost Ford and Passat. Than the Mazda 6 came in, trying to steal it with its sevelt looks but let down by a rather cramp and rather uninpirational cabin(even by Camry standards), not helping it was the price, but it did weaken it. Than the Accord came, the old time arch-enemy laid out everything, better but still sedate looks, Brilliant interior design with toys and specs that still is one of its forte…..Still let down by the airbag counts which could be better (looks at City V), but it wounded the Camry. It was curtain call to old King Camry’s dominance, and now the Teana comes in, with hammer and nails in hands, J33 is now here to do the finishing jobs. And D-segment market happily ever after.

Okay thats enough bedtime story, I was in Publika last Sunday and the first thing that greeted me(after someone in an Iron Man suit) was this sevelt looking machine. I can go as far as to say it is almost as good looking as the maginificent 6, but unlike the 6, inside looks like a very much nicer place to live. And under Publika’s glass ceiling, it really looked gorgeous. The spec is also impressive, thou apart from safety, the Accord and Kia K5 seems to have an edge in interior toys (thou I still prefer the Accord’s interior), but with standard and excellent safety, TCM really did well with the marketing of this. I can say this is a winner in almost everyone eyes, good spec, good looking , and pricing is honestly not that bad. It has all the pedigree and image that the Toyota badge gives, not to mention the reliability. but with the interior of an Accord and the looks of a 6…..It is almost perfect

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
    • samelu on May 31, 2014 at 3:34 am

If it’s good why the sale is bad?

• powderful on May 31, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Tru dat.

• Borrrri...zzz on May 31, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Zzzzzz… Oh sorry. I fell asleep halfway through your bedtime story and never got to read the rest…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • AVH (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Good!, that means that I have wrote myself a good bedtime story….

Equally interesting is how you type this half asleep.

• insider on Jun 01, 2014 at 9:38 am

accord already long beat camry for many many months

• swaik on May 30, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Excellent write up Hafiz. This is undoubtedly the top Japs D segment now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
  • Avtech on May 30, 2014 at 9:53 pm

The steering wheel reminds me of “Jar Jar Binks”

• Guilt79 on May 30, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Everybody wants a piece of D segment.

I wonder will Mitsubishi coming with another D segment car?

• Obviously (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 11:11 pm

A D-segment sedan? Very doubtful, unless they rebadge another company’s D-segment sedan, which seems quite unlikely at the moment as well.

They’re now mostly SUVs and pickup trucks along with their two eco cars.

• Why is it that when a new model was launched, they praised it like no tomorrow and start cursing the older model which they also praised like there was no tomorrow before?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • In which paragraph?

• kington on May 31, 2014 at 10:31 am

Yes, even local magazines are doing that….
      gone are the days when mags were pure and genuine motoring news.. like Torque Singapore. That’s why i still buy Torque SG.

• powderful on May 31, 2014 at 2:22 pm

That’s the way the world goes round and it applies to all cars in general. Heck..it applies to everything in life!

• Black Dog on May 31, 2014 at 4:26 pm

Firstly, this is called Positive writing. Nobody likes to read an article with tons of complains about the product.

Secondly, it’s bad business to bad mouth an existing or potential advertiser. The writers did highlight those lacking points. It’s up to consumers to differentiate them and decide what they really want in their car choices.

• this is a fantastic looking car, i have never gave a crap about d seg cars, but this really changed my mind.

• nabill (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 11:28 pm

It jus shows how simple n ancient the camry is,n despite that,thy can sel at high pricec,no wonder fat profits all yr long
    Its commendable of nissan to launch the teana,u can feel thy looked at every aspect to improve,although i prefer the last gen dashboard rather than this glossy reflection filled center console
    This segment is too hot,personally the peugeot 508 is the best looking of them,turbo, spec n quality…but too many of us r suckers for japanese brands sadly!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • jemey on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:34 pm

It’s not all about design and quality product. People are also concerned about reliability, after-sales service levels and re-sale value.

The Jap brands have worked on these for a long time in this market and have a huge lead (with maybe Toyota slipping badly in recent years). Korea and Europe brands will need to work harder to win the minds and hearts of ordinary Malaysians.

But the Japs will still fight back. The All New Honda City just blew everyone in its class, cementing Honda’s foothold in the segment. Perhaps it’s the C-segment, MPVs and to some extent SUVs that other brands may still have a chance as the Toyota Corolla and Mazda 3 are a lot pricier against comparative specs than their competition.

• xiper (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 11:43 pm

aww this came in too late, I have gotten the Accord else I would have consider the Teana with 6 airbags over the Accord :(

Exterior wise, both Teana and the Accord are really nice but interior wise the Accord wins. However this Teana comes with 6 airbags as standard and its really one of the very important point when buying the car.

New generation of Japanese “top 3” D-segment should be the Teana, Accord and Mazda 6 I supposed. Good bye Camry, XV40 is still the best to date.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 2
    • jemey on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:38 pm

So true. Market expectations for safety equipment are higher now. It should not be compromised at all.

• shawal on May 31, 2014 at 12:05 am

That is the ugliest ICE ever graced an interior of a d-segment sedan…

Sat-Nav is definitely a RM3000 must have option…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • nissanNo1 on May 31, 2014 at 3:41 am

Seems normal to me, maybe you have to check your eyes

• techsmart on May 31, 2014 at 8:52 am

Definitely the ugliest center dash. Same with the Sylphy. They changed it from the Infiniti-like center dash to what appears to be some typical Japanese-dash that’s really cheap looking. Puny LCD display, and cheap glossy black plastic. What nonsense is that. The best D-segment is in terms of price:performance has to be Accord this round, and for those who don’t mind paying a premium the Mazda 6 is another option.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • powershot on May 31, 2014 at 12:00 pm

ICE? Internal Combustion Engine? there is not a single picture of the engine bay, yet you it’s ugly? how to you determine an engine is ugly or not?

or are you referring to the infotainment system?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • 4G63T DSM on May 31, 2014 at 1:53 am

I had many experiences with Nissan’s “mid sized” offering and they have always provided something different from the other Japanese offerings. From the Maxima/i30/A32 on, they managed to provide a good mix of sportiness and comfort in a stealthily low key package. Most of that charm was due to the Excellent VQ30 engines that came with them. It would do 240kmh and hit 100 in slightly over 7 seconds, which was pretty brisk (I had the stick shift – a rarity even back then) and would out accelerate a lot of cars with more sporting pretensions.

The 3rd generation Altima which proceeded the Maxima was the only model that was a let down due to poor build quality and cheap plastics but where quickly rectified in face lifted models. The best Altima I’ve had was a vQ35 equipped 2010 model. It drove well, powerful, handled decent enough, quiet and well appointed.

I actually drove this new model last year as a rental with the 2.5. It was basic rental spec but was a decent drive. However most of its character is lost without the big VQ.

If anything, the Mazda is too left field, while the Camry is too much to the right. Only the Accord and Altima seem to make middle ground fairly well. With their big V6, they would be fairly equal but if based on the smaller 4 cyc, it would be tough to beat out the current Accord though.

Unfortunately we won’t get the big VQ due to our tax structure.

• Sam Boo on May 31, 2014 at 5:32 am

Sylphy or Teana…what a dilemma…

• Only one thing missing to make new Teana almost perfect D segment…… Built in GPS.

• from rear.. yes.. a bit of infiniti.. but front still resemblance of cheap almera.. should facelift it to have a bit of infinit face..
    then it can sells better

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on May 31, 2014 at 9:35 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Ray (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 10:17 am

Not quite a fan of D-segments, though a serving of Mazda 6 would do fine with me. The Teana is good, seriously good when you look at the spec sheet. It’s hard to point out any weaknesses but then, here’s my list.

1. CVT. No, just no CVT.
    2. Not a fan of Infiniti’s styling, which is a lot present here. And there’s no doubt that hints of Almera are present.
    3. Dash doesn’t suit to my tastes, I’d go with Mazda 6 or the Accord. Plus, there’s no sat nav. Why oh why.

Note that those mentioned above are all my personal preference. If you’re okay with them then this would be a fine car.

• hukaka on May 31, 2014 at 11:19 am

miss the V6,now only available on Infinity brand.
    does it mean nissan cutting cost or better fuel efficiency?this VQ25 engine are used in murano and 2.5 x-trail maybe did some upgrade improvement.

• Denaihati on May 31, 2014 at 12:38 pm

i believe nissan fan will be satisfied with this new Teana, especially for the very nice, premium, exclusive interior.

• this will change the games, every D segments will hav 6 air bags……thank you so much nissan tenna, salute ur effort :)

• Aero (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Excellent well-worded review ! I enjoyed reading it.

Also, dua tangan thumbs up to Nissan and ETCM Nissan for pulling off this hat trick; Nissan for making a properly good successor and ETCM Nissan for good safety equipment.

UMW Toyota is so screwed now. I see more new Accords, Mazda6s and even Optimas than the new Camry.

• Macromedia on May 31, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Not a fan of Nissan or t and h, however, I find this review distasteful the way it puts down other brands which is totally unnecessary. Forced by client to do so? This speaks of a blogs integrity in the long run guys.

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on May 31, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Poor kimchi owners, Trade In Value of 15 mth old Sonata now falling to RM35k

• RoKie on May 31, 2014 at 7:48 pm

I didn’t see a button that can disable the front passenger’s airbag. That is useful for mounting a child safety seat in the front passenger seat. Does it have it ?

That feature should be standard in all “full safety” equipped cars.

• Haha! on May 31, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Might as well add some more penny and get the mazda 2.5 sedan~ lighter kerb weight, more safety features and greener (having i-eloop and i-stop) =3=

• messi on May 31, 2014 at 9:42 pm

Does second hand resale matter when you are about to end up in a ditch on a slippery road, when the Teana and Mazda 6 would most likely save your life, while the empty Camry won’t?
    fr Sunonano.
    ————————
    Sudonano,

The above statement will never end. Do you think only Teana and Mazda can save your life? Why only mazda and Teana?

With these type of depreciation cost, I may opt for a better safety features car like those conti Car which is more solid than the japanese like WW passat or a second hand 5 series BMW or Volvo and they are more safety than the japanese.
    if you can take the depreciation cost of 20% per year like the existing 2.5 Teana. (RM30k depreciation cost per year is rediculas for a janpanese made) I think most will go for Conti Car.

This show that your level of safety knowledge is quite shallow or maybe you are a Nissan sale man. Even those who drove Ferrari or Mers will die in an accident if you are driving like no tomorrow.

Nissan car only get high sale wehen they price their car lower than the T&H. Almera is a very good example to follow and not the safety feature.

Who ask you to sell after 2-3 years? If you keep it long, it will drop to a minimum price where all the cars shall be the same at the last.
    If you tend to change car at this class every 2-3years means your financial should be quite ok. You will not mind right?

If you really mind, sorry, brother, you have to have kosong camry at high price and enjoy it low depreciation rate!
    ———————–

CKL,

Your above statement has confirmed that Nissan has a high depreciation cost.

Well, The sylphy sale is proven failure now and New teana will be worst than sylphy.

Just wait and see to get a good discount after 4 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • Ray (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 9:06 am

“This show(s) that your level of safety knowledge is quite shallow…”
      Well Mazda and Teana are the only Japanese makes that offer 6 airbags and stability control as standard across the range. It’s not that hard to understand why he quotes them as cars that will save you in a crash.

Right, continental cars are good are well equipped in the safety department. But VW and BMW, seriously? The aftersales will burn a hole in your pocket, especially with the Passat and it’s oh so famous 7 speed DSG.

You’re right about the depreciation value though, Nissan depreciates horribly when pitched against its Japanese sisters, but then if it offers a good drive + good deal + low maintenance costs, I don’t think most will matter as their resale values are allegedly much better than those from Korea, and this car ticks all the boxes, as it’s a lot cheaper than the 6.

And on a side note, saying that “safety features won’t matter if you drive no tomorrow” is partly true, but then across the same price range, wouldn’t it be wiser to opt for cars with better safety kit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • jemey on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Relatives say Nissan maintenance cost is pricey.. or is that just their perception? Perhaps Carbase.my can have a new tab for comparison = maintenance cost. :)

• Good specs….Other than 6 airbags, equivalent to Accord. But the interior. ….. damn boring. Still prefer M6 or Accord

• oldyuncle on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:46 am

Old people might like the interior design and usually they can afford more than younger ones.

• Heybadigol on Jun 01, 2014 at 9:31 am

It’s a good looking car, not as dramatic as the Mazda 6, but an understated handsome design that will last the test of time. But to my eyes, the wheel well gap is a bit too big. Nothing 18 imch rims cant solve. But interior wise, the Accord wins it for the D segment, with beautiful dash design and the high position of the Satnav/side mirror camera.

With the zero gravity seats, this must be marketed as the most comfortable and luxurious D segment around. Must try to sit in one of these to feel what the fuss is all about. In the end, not everybody wants a sharp handling car, but with a not so luxurious ride. Some (especially older ones) want a luxurious ride, with acceptable, but dull handling. So this car must be for them.

• Altima SSS on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:49 am

“minute on-the-fly toe-in adjustments”
    Awesome.. the much older Nissan Bluebird Altima (U13) had this feature.. glad to see this re-appearing in this latest Teana. You will see it in action when you take sharp bends at high-speed. Those who had owned or driven the U13 would have experienced it. It was called Super Toe Control (STC) back then.
    http://wikicars.net.au/reviews.php#!content=review&make=Nissan&model=Bluebird&gen=1242

• Ben yap on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:54 am

Low powered engine and nissan will never lead the class.

• Ah Chai on Jun 01, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Like the idea of putting in most of the safety measures. Unlike many others who gives a little, take back a little.

I’m planning to get a segment D, not now but (hopefully ) early next year. So the shopping mode is on, and before new teana I have short listed to accord & passat.

Accord for Its all rounder built
    Passat for Its powerfull engine. (But then the dsg issue might cost it at least one client away, from me)

Now with the new teana I am happier to have more choice. Hopefully more upgraded segment Ds with better pricing would be introduced in the coming months before I have to decide where to put my money on.

• jemey on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:51 pm

I think www.carbase.my is a great tool to help you compare models. Give it a go.

• fasszz on Jun 01, 2014 at 3:50 pm

you must be kidding !!!

I would go for citroen ds5…

massage seat
    nappa leather
    5 years warranty unlimited mileage
    5 years free service
    all automatic (wiper/lamps etc)
    gps, reverse camera

or I would go for peugoet 508

rather than this…3 years warranty (100 000 km) LOL

• voyager86 on Jun 01, 2014 at 4:22 pm

let down by the interior plastic quality …

• Wilson on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Overall, good looking car.

But interior looks outdated and boring.

Exterior looks good, in the same league as Mazda 6.

Resale value is a bit early to predict, but I don’t think it will be in the same league as Toyota and Honda.

I’m in the market for a mid-size sedan (D-Segment), but will have to wait a few more months to see how it goes. Owned a Murano with CVT, had lots of issues with transmission. Owned a Navara Manual, no issues. I’ve got mixed experiences with Nissan, but my brother’s 12 years old Camry 2.0L sold for RM50k, and I was utterly shocked.

At the moment, I’m leaning towards the Honda Accord, for it’s overall design (above average exterior, great interior and features). Camry is too ugly for my taste, and Mazda 6 worries me too much on the resale value, just as much as the Sonata and Optima do.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Nissans r not that reliable… Being a japanese brand gives u a false sence of reliability, i had a cefiro n a sentra many yrs ago n though thy wer solid,both had transmission issues as well…suspension issues r common as well…u can use them for abt 100k mileage n better sell after that

• totti on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:38 am

Nissans r not that reliable… Being a japanese brand gives u a false sence of reliability, i had a cefiro n a sentra many yrs ago n though thy wer solid,both had transmission issues as well…suspension issues r common as well…u can use them for abt 100k mileage n better sell after that

——————————
    Nabill,

You are absolutely right and the reliability of Nissan car is nowhere near the T & H especially the Suspension system.

I love Nissan (those feature may not get in T & H like roominess/engine smoothness /internal soft plastic) but their car reliability and expensive parts will make you thick twice to own a Nissan.

To tell you what I have experienced with my Latio before 90,000KM mileage and what I had replaced and the horrible parts price:-
    1) 4 new absorber. (1 pc cost RM 220)
    2) 2 new wheel bearing. (1 pc costing RM 900)
    3) Front Brake kit. (RM 150 per set with few rubber ring)
    4) 2 new front Absorber mounting (1 no cost RM 250)
    5) 2 new fan Belting at 50K & 90K mileage due to sound (1 no cost RM 90)
    6) Skim the rotor disk (3 times at 60K/80K/90K) now need replacement and cost Rm 900 for rotor disk.

These are the problem with Nissan and parts are damn expensive and make you a frequent visitor to Nissan centre.

To those still think of cheap parts from Nissan;

please do your comparison before trying to tell other that Nissan part is cheap.

I have another Toyota and my previous City DSI, They don’t give you the any problem before 120,000km.

Nissan still think their New Sylphy and Teana can priced on par with T & H. I expected them to give a huge discount after 4 months and New Sylphy pricing proven to be a failure now.

I have tested the new sylphy and engine is better as compared to the old model but paying 112K without a
    (i) Keyless push start
    (ii) Poor fabric seat
    (iii) Rear air-con
    (iv) Fabric for door pull handle (can be dirty easily)

Nissan is dreaming to be on par with T & H. Their pricing strategy has back fire and new buyer will feel the pinch on 2nd hand resale value when they start given the discount like what the Almera is having now.

Nissan “Culture” is to provide a huge discount at the 1st buyer’s expense. Try it and you will know the answer.

Among the 3 japanese brand. You will not make a mistake to own T & H brand if Nissan selling the same price with them.

• totti on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Dear Nissan TC,

I am a good supporter to Nissan for my past 9 years (Serena C24 and now latio)

Your pricing strategy for new Teana and sylphy really kill your good product.

I still can recalled the previous Honda CEO mentioned that he wanted to see more Honda car on the road in malaysia by reducing the Honda City DSI price below RM 80K.(RM 78.8K to be exact – OTR with 3 years free maintenance) and the strategy has make Honda getting more sale in return.

You should bring in the 1.6 sylphy from Thailand and price at the latio’s pricing (between 79K to RM 88K) to kill of the City and vios.

At the same time, price your 1.8 sylphy below RM96K (previous latio price) to finish off the Altis and Civic and make the malaysia road full of Nissan car.

A good product without a good pricing will backfire. Your Almera is a very good example on how to get the high sale (top during 2013)when you price them below the Vios and City and not because of your safety feature.

• sick&tired on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:53 pm

good to see that they have ditched the fugly beige interior. Still not a big fan, although the new model is a step in the right direction.

• messi on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Right, continental cars are good are well equipped in the safety department. But VW and BMW, seriously? The aftersales will burn a hole in your pocket, especially with the Passat and it’s oh so famous 7 speed DSG.
    You’re right about the depreciation value though, Nissan depreciates horribly when pitched against its Japanese sisters, but then if it offers a good drive + good deal + low maintenance costs, I don’t think most will matter as their resale values are allegedly much better than those from Korea, and this car ticks all the boxes, as it’s a lot cheaper than the 6.
    —————————
    The above statement has shown a person dont know about good drive and low maintenance of Nissan Car.

If you have driven a BMW/WW passat/Mers/Citreon or other Conti made. You should know the term called ” good drive” or we called it “Solid drive”. All japanese got no match of the solid Continental “feel”.

If you talk about low maintenance then you must own a Nissan to justify the parts price. Among the 3 brand, Nissan is the most expensive.

• thronald2828 (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:40 am

I just got one unit 2.0XL everything Is awesome except
    The assembly….
    The most heartache part is the front speaker vents on RT & LT are not leveled (1cm discrepancy)….

Even worse or this is show room teana for sale all have variable degree of high on left and low on right….

Except the test car… Which the speakers are leveled…

Claim warranty….? Yes I did appt on 14 October 2014…

I bet no one will have confidence the superior NVH will be preserved…(some more my car in sarawak)

Am I getting rejected stock or there is no single ruler in the assembly line…..

If one is really particular about assembly…I think just go with anything else which is not assemble HERE…

Or I should have just buy and drive a camry with flawless assembly but 2000 1AZFE w 4speed auto.

Sigh…

Read more: http://paultan.org/2014/06/03/2014-nissan-teana-l33-launched/#ixzz3ExIKseAq

• Hi there. Among all those that post comments, you’re the only one that is actually an owner of this new Teana. How’s the Fuel consumption so far for you?