Locally-assembled Mercedes-Benz S 400 L Hybrid gets full duty exemptions under NAP – priced at RM588k

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_028

If you’re in the market for a big luxury car, prepare to have your mind blown. Mercedes-Benz Malaysia officially announced today that the locally assembled Mercedes-Benz S 400 L Hybrid has received full duty exemptions in Malaysia under the new 2014 National Automotive Policy (NAP). Yes, like the CKD Jazz Hybrid, you’ll pay no import or excise duties for it. The official price is RM587,888 OTR without insurance.

Unlike the previous versions of the NAP where duty exemptions are given to CBU hybrid cars with engine displacement of 2.0 litres and below, the new 2014 NAP provides duty exemptions for locally assembled hybrid cars with any engine displacement size. This duty exemption for CKD hybrids will be in effect until December 31, 2015.

“We have worked hard to bring the S-Class as a hybrid vehicle to the Malaysian market. Having invested a considerable amount in preparing our assembly line and manpower at our Pekan plant. This marks another great achievement and certainly a milestone for Mercedes-Benz Malaysia,” said Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) president and CEO Roland Folger.

Kai Schlickum, vice president of sales and marketing added: “With the S 400 L Hybrid qualifying and receiving full duty exemptions, we are proud to be able to contribute in helping Malaysia fulfil its ambition of becoming a regional EEV hub.”

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_088

MBM has invested a total of RM15 million to prepare its plant for local assembly of the S 400 L Hybrid. The new price is a massive reduction over the previous estimated price of “below RM900k” given when the W222 was first launched in March this year.

We suppose MBM was being conservative at that point and gave an estimated price with duties. We’re happy to see that the duty exemption is non-discriminatory and luxury brands can take advantage of it in the same way as a mass market brand.

To put the pricing into perspective, an entry level model in this class of car usually costs in the mid to high RM600k range. The W221 S 300 L had a retail price of around RM660k, while the S 350 L was priced at RM840,888. This S 400 L Hybrid technically should replace the S 350 L. That’s over RM250k saved in terms of exempted duties.

For the first time ever, the most affordable S-Class has nearly every box on the equipment list ticked. It gets LED Intelligent Light System headlamps as standard (it’s actually an option, and replaces the stock LED High Performance units), and likewise, a 590-watt, 13-speaker Burmester Surround Sound audio system is fitted in place of the base 10-speaker system.

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_019

Elsewhere, you’ll find an Air Balance perfume atomisation package and Thermotronic climate control – with two additional zones to improve thermal comfort – in the kitbag, in addition to a twin-spoke multifunction steering wheel wrapped in Nappa leather, DVD player and rear head restraint cushions. The S 400 L Hybrid rides on Airmatic suspension.

The interior features a double-screen instrumentation binnacle design, with 12.3-inch high-resolution TFT screens in 8:3 aspect ratio utilised for both displays.

As for space, the W222 offers 12 mm extra headroom, 14 mm more shoulder room and 10 mm more elbow room for the front occupants, as well as additional 14 mm in rear knee room and 9 mm increased shoulder room for the rear occupants, despite the wheelbase dimensions remaining the same as the outgoing W221/V221 long wheelbase model. The rear seat configuration for Malaysia is a three-seater one.

Tech bits include the Driving Assistance Package Plus, which comprises Distronic Plus with Steering Assist and Stop&Go Pilot, Brake Assist BAS PLUS with Cross-Traffic Assist, Pre-Safe Brake with pedestrian detection, Pre-Safe Plus, Active Lane Keeping Assist and Active Blind Spot Assist.

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_090

Also in the electronic mix are Adaptive Highbeam Assist Plus, Attention Assist, Crosswind Assist and Night View Assist Plus. As for airbags, the S-Class is equipped with eight as standard – Malaysian cars feature the seatbelt bag, which is an option, as standard fitment.

The S 400 L Hybrid model name means it has a 3.5 litre direct-injection normally-aspirated V6 with 306 horsepower and 370 Nm of torque under the hood, mated to a 27 hp/250 Nm electric motor integrated between the engine and the 7G-Tronic Plus gearbox. Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.8 seconds, a 250 km/h top speed and combined fuel consumption of 6.3 litres per 100 km.

Time to get yourself into an S 400 L Hybrid then?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• looker on May 30, 2014 at 2:21 pm

gonna sell like hot cakes!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 126 Thumb down 7
    • Sammy Valley on May 30, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Beribu-ribu tahniah sama MITI….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0r on May 30, 2014 at 3:07 pm

The roadmap for hybrid owner
        Prius C/Jazz Hybrid => Prius/CT200h/Civic Hybrid => A6 hybrid => S 400L

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 2
        • mercdrv on May 31, 2014 at 4:09 am

Why you all butthurt? Even if you can afford one, can you pay the maintenance/service? I dun think so, so better let it expensive and let the riches buy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 16
      • salambangi on May 30, 2014 at 3:20 pm

YB LGE should have waited a little longer and get this instead of the S600.Looks like a more modern Towkay’s car than his current car which fits more his father – LKS.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 25
        • MBM Penipu Betul on May 31, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Although this is a good price at 588k, MBM can reduce more. They are clearly making at least RM300,000 profit on this car alone. You see, top of the range S550 in the US is USD$90,000. That is RM270,00. Although is base spec, we can assume the S400L Hybrid is much cheaper than S550. So, we can say the S400L is about USD$80k.

Adding to that, MBM will get it cheaper directly from Germany from its Principal. The S550 in the US can be sold for US$90,000 and yet MB USA can make a good margin and the US Government can still collect taxes and duties. That would mean they are getting the car far cheaper from their principal directly in Germany.

So, assuming MBM is getting the S400L cheaper directly from Germany, we can assume it will be US$70k a drop from US$80k assumption price for the S400L. (remember the S550 is US$90k)

Another reduction would be CKD. Since it is using Malaysian parts, and Barang Buatan Malaysia and all the CKD crap MITI tells us, we can safely say, the price will be reduced to US$60k per car sold.

The above estimates are just modest assumptions. We all know MBM will get this car far far cheaper than the US$70k direct from Germany price.

Of course, all this base spec. So, US$60k is RM180,000. MBM sells this car for RM580,000

This is a clear profit of RM300,000 per car sold. No where in the entire world a car company can sell a car with this kind of margins. To be honest, the real direct from Germany price for this car is not US$70k but in reality, those who work in the car manufacturing business will know, the real direct price from germany would be US$50k. (That is before you CKD it and it becomes more cheaper)
          Don’t talk about UK or Europe pricing. They GDP per capita is so high, they earn very high income in the UK and Europe. So, the car is priced accordingly to the proportion of income the British earn.

So Folger, don’t bullshit lah. Malaysians will always be cheated.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 33
          • Some Guy on May 31, 2014 at 4:13 pm

In UK, Mercedes-Benz S-Class S400L Hybrid costs £74,930 or 403970.26 Malaysian Ringgit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
          • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:03 pm

That’s a load of bullshit, I’m sorry. Car prices in the US are not including taxes (though you do have to pay for taxes), because every town has a different tax.

CKD means lower taxes, but how much lower than no tax can it go?

Also, I managed to spec a S400L, base price 92500 Euro, to cost 180000 Euro. 2x as much as the base price… and it’s still the same engine, and as expensive as an AMG S63.

I went through what Paultan has listed as specs, and probably they haven’t mentioned all, and got the price from 92000 to 110000 Euro. Save to say there are 20-30000 Euro worth of options in there…

Even if you insist on US pricing, you completely forget all the expensive options the Malaysian S400L has.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Actually the S600 and S63 AMG are much cheaper than the S400 when fully speced.

• YourMIABrains on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:48 pm

MBM reduce price you complain, they increase lagi complain, if ever they sell at 100k you still complain dunno parts good or not how can that be and shit…

cmon… if you can afford it buy it, if cant just STFU.

also biggest reduction here is tax… other country have different taxes for a car. dont compare, wanna make a diff aim to be PM.

just make sure you don’t start your own business… sure bankrupt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • What??? on Jan 30, 2015 at 4:55 pm

Oh my, that’s a long comment. To be fair, I think we should ask the Government on their promise to reduce car prices gradually (taxes) within 5 years (As per their manifesto) and gradually phase out reconditioned cars (APs)

Well, at the end of the day, Bumi groups still need these APs to maintain certain quota of Bumis in the automotive industry.

From another point of view, taxes for cars are still there as the government STILL needs to protect PROTON. If taxes on foreign cars are reduced overnight, PROTON will close down almost immediately as the people will then buy foreign cars instead of national cars.

Then again, we all have to ask the government, where is their promise ?
            Peace bro.

• Omega on May 30, 2014 at 3:49 pm

But the earlier buyer will vomit blood. But that is how merc treat their customer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 26
      • remove all excise and tax duties? someone is speaking with foot in their arse. RM600k for this car is far far higher from the price in other countries like US or UK. so how can one say we have removed all duties? unless merc benz m’sia is a blood sucker who did not completely reduce price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 30
        • kadajawi (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 8:08 pm

Are you sure it is? This thing has all the kit you could ever ask for.

Let me try to configure a S400L hybrid with similar specs in Germany.

S400L Hybrid: 92.225,00 Euro
          Air balance: 440 Euro
          Screens at the back and memory seats front: 4000 Euro
          Keyless go would be 1800 Euro, but it’s not mentioned in the article (though probably it is included too, but I won’t tick it here).
          Driving assistance package plus: 3800 Euro
          The better LED headlights: 1800 Euro
          Any color than solid black: 1200 Euro
          Thermotronic: 1400 Euro
          Standard is 16″ rims, the ones on the photo seem to be the 18″ ones which cost 2300 Euro
          Burmester sound system: 1300 Euro (there is also a 7500 Euro Burmester system)
          Nightvision: 2600 Euro

110000 Euro, and I’m sure I have missed several options that I’ve overlooked in the PT article or aren’t even mentioned. RM 480000. Add the remaining options, and you’re probably quite close to the price in Malaysia. Maybe 530-550k?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 1
          • dugongx on May 30, 2014 at 11:58 pm

brader…they already said they invested 15 million to prepare the plant and probably another 50mil for kopi-0. How to recover the investment if sell at 480k? At least they are giving you full spec and not empty shell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 15
        • stop blaming on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:57 am

If the government decides to reduce the price immediately, like how Pakatan would love to implement, what is going to to happen to your loan that you are servicing today and the value of your current car?

You guys never ever though of that?

• Even though I can’t afford it, the pricing is definitely attractive.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 74 Thumb down 1
      • ABTguy (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Hope MBM subsequently bring in the E300 3.0 turbo hybrid as well as C300 3.0 turbo with hybrid too.

I don’t wannat pay Gov much tax for car !

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 3
        • pailang83 on May 31, 2014 at 6:13 am

If you can buy this then you should pay more tax than us maaa……bcoz you ate super rich than average malaysian…..

• 2014 C300 Bluetech Hybrid please and price it 200k hahaha…TQ TQ.

Ah Jib will said..dear fellow rakyat, open your eye and see…car price is going down

• Obama (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 3:54 pm

C-class hybrid is going to launch end of this year in US. Are we gonna CKD that next year and priced at $150k? It will be really interesting then.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • ABTguy (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 3:55 pm

Mercedes only need to sell 40 units to recover the RM15 million investment :D

That is order to be secured in one month ?

BMW will be crying for their 7 series stock on hand, ha ha.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 5
      • Innovator on May 30, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Rm 587k is their selling price, not profit la!!
        Anyway agrees that 7 series & A8 gonna cry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • kzm (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 2:24 pm

How can small volume car brand in boleh assemble hybrid car but other who sell a lot more cannot assemble hybrid car here?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
    • Paul Tan on May 30, 2014 at 2:40 pm

I guess sometimes it depends on whether the car is built to allow CKD or not.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 4
      • itake on May 30, 2014 at 3:00 pm

I believed this just for show..paultan..have u ever visit pekan ckd factory?.. i can assure you if u ever went there once..u will never think to buy a ckd merc, suzuki,..i had been there with my public health specialist and occupational health specialist team to inspect all the factories..only vw factory are up to international standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 25
        • luqman on May 30, 2014 at 6:47 pm

itake..as if u know a lot about pekan plant..hv u drive vw polo sedan ckd built in pekan? go back to pekan and compare MB operations with Suzuki or VW operations..then u can talk..and for those who think cronyism of DRB-Hicom..pls do some research on the business model of MBM and its contract assembler – DRB-Hicom.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
          • factory on May 31, 2014 at 7:40 pm

What conditions there or you only talked c**k here

• BeenThere on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:36 pm

cut the crap man..
          been there many time for their family day event.. where they open the plant to public come and visit.. it’s very clean and orderly.
          if the condition is so bad., MB would have serious quality issue..
          visit the MB CKD plant and then go to Proton plant.. compare the cleanliness, the attention to detail to every station.. proton is far off! sorry man.. i seldom comment..but couldn’t tahan seeing this type of crap comment.

• kzm (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 3:18 pm

im agree with that..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 14
      • Obama on May 30, 2014 at 3:38 pm

C-class plug-in hybrid which estimate to launch in US end of this year end. Any chances it will CKD it in Msia? and price at 150k.

• John Goh on Sep 26, 2014 at 9:42 am

Hi Paul Tan,
        The new NAP 2014 says tax exemption on CKD hybrid cars till 31/12/2015, but why is it that Mercedes dealers say they only limit to 2000 units S400L hybrid? & it’s been all taken up? Can’t they produce more? ???

• kzm fanboy on May 30, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Sounds like a bad news to Proton….Ha Ha Ha…Jaguh kampung very afraid of open competition kah??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 38
      • taboogen on May 30, 2014 at 4:04 pm

wow didnt know proton is competitor for Merc.. fuyooo

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 2
        • yankeepapa on May 30, 2014 at 9:25 pm

Any car will eventually become a competitor to Proton. If a Merc C class hybrid is sold at RM150k, it wil outsell the Camrys, Accords etc and in 3 yrs it will be RM100k second hand, who will buy a Inspira or the Perdana new?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 9
      • Perororodua on May 30, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Hey Macha?!

It’s seems like you comparing Durian King with Durian u kutip tepi jalan la Machaa…

But anyway, since u were talking about Proton, can u afford to buy this?

and the price is more than 1/2 mil…Lai lai…

U want everything to put in the car, nah here infront of u. lai lai

• cendol (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 4:40 pm

Its must be another case of I help you, You help me

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
      • Green on May 30, 2014 at 6:21 pm

If they don’t fight for lower price you will complain, when they fight you also complain. Brainless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
      • Green on May 30, 2014 at 6:22 pm

Bring in electric B-Class pls

• siriuslim on May 30, 2014 at 6:30 pm

prius C, crz and etc all sell like hot cake during tax exemption, which will affect proton sales, and less money goin into their pocket.

• sudonano (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 2:25 pm

Sorry, my jaw just dropped and I nearly passed out seeing the price. For a moment I thought it was a typo in the title.

All I can say is well done Mercedes Benz Malaysia. That’s the end of the Lexus LS, BMW 7 series, Audi A8 and all. In fact, they don’t even need to bring in all the other variants anymore!

Considering every option is ticked too, this is gonna be another mad deal like how all the execs went for the Audi A6 Hybrid last year. Amazing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 106 Thumb down 0
    • AVH (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 3:22 pm

All it’s competitors bar the British come with some form of hybrid system. So if they want to have a hope of competing with this they have to CKD it in boleh land.

Lexus already says it ain’t leaving the land of the rising sun, BMW have almost no plan of CKD hybrids here as their main objective is to popularize the REEV ‘I’ range, and that has a glimmer of hope to reach Malaysia. So all that’s left is Audi.

Personally I’m really surprise Mercedes went throu all the effort to upgrade their facility to make one of the most advance version of their flagship, Right here on Malaysian soil…..bravo to that Mercedes. At RM600k it’s honestly hard to think of an alternative considering the Sonderklass, with it without the price reduction, already beats the rest in almost all corners.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 5:07 pm

That is right, but I won’t be surprised that now since JLR does have a hybrid system for their Range Rover models, they could dump it into the Jaguar Xj. Though then again, many Brits do love their diesels too…

Lexus will not leave Toyota city. BMW well I won’t be surprised now that the tables have turned, they would consider CKD-ing the AH3,5 and 7. Forget Audi, they don’t have many investments in the Malaysian market.

Actually it makes sense. You see after all the upgrades, they are starting with the S class Hybrid. Wait and see, they are just warming up the price war. Next up will be the C class and E class hybrid up next. MB knows the diesel market is dead now as they can’t bring in their latest diesels thanks to our fabulous diesel quality. Don’t be surprised, the C class hybrid coming in just above the price of a D segment Japanese sedan, about the price of the 316i or 320d.

The show is just starting. If BMW were smart, they should go to MITI and highlight the efficiency levels of their CKD cars, after all the 3 series, 5 series, 1 series, X1, X3 and Countryman are all much lower than MITI’s maximum limits. Unless they want to use the tax as a way to disguise their profit margins.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • Ah Boon on May 30, 2014 at 6:32 pm

Couldn’t agree more. I have a strong feeling there’d be more CKD Hybrid models coming up from MBM since they have laid the foundation for assembling Hybrid models. Can’t wait, to be honest!!! I have actually put down payment for CLA45AMG but am seriously considering other models now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • sudonano (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 8:57 pm

CLA45AMG eh? Very sporty car, but if you don’t mind a non AMG car, its just waiting to happen, the hybrids are coming. Once MB starts the hybrid production in full swing, BMW will be scrambling to try and lower the prices.

People say that at the price, customers don’t care. Actually they do. They want bang for the buck too. Same reason why BMW sold so many more cars in Malaysia during the DaimlerChrysler days of Merc, which IMO was the worst period of Mercs. After that deal went sour, we really got some nice ones.

• Got so many thumbs down coz ppl read u have put downpayment fot CLA45. Ppl jealous coz they cant afford it. and they think u are just lying. Typical malaysian.

• BeenThere on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Audi have plan to do CKD here in bolehland.. now scouting for land.. near where mb is produced..

i’ll be opening me ear for more news..

• syedhs on May 30, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Yes.. all it takes is for one competitor to price it lower (or way lower) and all others would have to follow..
      Think what Digi has done to Celcom/Maxis?
      Think what Honday City has done to Toyota Vios?
      Lets hope this cycle will spread to other models as well.

• naqib on May 30, 2014 at 2:25 pm

goodbye 5-series……..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 19
    • Vader (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 4:01 pm

This car is fight with 7 series.. not 5 series!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 1
      • Chicken and egg question on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:54 am

Yes its a different class, and that why its better to get the S-class. A better class with the price of 5-series.

• zeek (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 2:26 pm

brace yourselves, S400 hybrids will be flooding the roads like the A6 hybrids…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 0
  • panda on May 30, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Wow, the price is really tempting. Good value for money if you are looking for the like of S-class (although some will argue about the price).At least it is still within 500k – 600k range

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • Adique on May 30, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Wow, coming back just after the jumaah prayer and reading this. What a great news. Hugely interesting pricing. Now that the German marque has ‘buka langkah’, surely hopes that others will follow in its wake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • EHYOUCRAY on May 30, 2014 at 2:33 pm

when will be the new c-class arriving?

• torque on May 31, 2014 at 10:09 am

Expected Sept/Oct but if you wait till the launch to booked the car forget it, booking has pile up since early this year…expect to only see your car by next year bro.

• Very good pricing

• if owner manage to chunk out half million then saving from fuel will that be significant…
    then umw should consider do something on their hybrid car over here…

• dugongx on May 31, 2014 at 12:19 am

UMW can take their 700k LS460 that is collecting dust n ship back to japan. Hahahaha

• successor to the A6 Hybrid ?

i wish i have the money now

• Omega on May 30, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Wowwww!! 7 & 5 series owners butthurt because with that much of money they can get a much handsome and luxury car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
    • 7 may be but 5 series is for young people and this is for old uncle.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 26
    • Why butthurt? it still extra more 100K+ compared to a 5 series. This car is slower than a 528i, it is design for backseat owner, whereas 5 series is for driver owner. Speaking from a 2014 528i m sport owner

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • HybridX on May 31, 2014 at 6:54 am

Haha you clearly do not know Hybrids and how powerful they are. Bikin malu punya comment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
        • I not showing off.. But I also have a CT200h, maybe you are the one dont’t know anything about hybrid.. just a keyboard warrior

• mercde on May 31, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Then show us the numbers not empty talk

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:50 am

Hybrids and powerful doesn’t make good housemates.

It all depends on perspectives. If you were driving an old Proton Wira 1.5 Auto, any of the new hybrids no doubt feels powerful, but for a good number of us that drive bigger engined or turbocharged cars, hybrids are mostly slow and pathetically over complicated.

I once toyed with a new CRZ, it was quite brisk (possibly with the sport + or whatever engaged) but once it ran out of battery assist it was as limp as a wet towel. Even a normal 1.8 NA would outrun it, let alone those of us with 2.0L Turbos.

The old rule of car buying.

Power (Performance)
          Reliability
          Cheap (in this case Frugality)

Choose only 2.

• REDDEVIL on May 30, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Sadly not all average Malaysian like us can afford one and it would please the bosses & the rich rather than the general public. Eagerly waiting for the other brands to introduce hybrid cars with tax exemption with affordable prices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 0
    • Obama (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Yes, exactly. This will still benefit the rich and not for the masses. How many people can afford a $600k car even it’s $300k cheaper.

• lolololooo on May 30, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Lol the goverment is being fooled. Again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • yankeepapa on May 30, 2014 at 9:34 pm

when all DUMNO macais and cronies have bought one they may end the tax free hybrid cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Blaze on May 30, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Few months ago i read and ad from a grey importer selling this car at around 800++.. Wonder how many did they brought in and what are they going to do about it now…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 0
    • Sammy Valley on May 30, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Kalau tiada lelong, kita bina lelong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Aiya…wat they sell does not translate in how much they actually paid to bring those cars in….
      GI have been raking in profits for so many years…ok la…time to lose abit mar…how can everytime untung hor…

• IWANT on May 30, 2014 at 2:48 pm

i have my concern for the quality level

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
  • nanashisan on May 30, 2014 at 2:49 pm

mind blowned already

• Amazing on May 30, 2014 at 2:52 pm

It’s interesting to see that, when prices weren’t lowered – GOV got bash because it didn’t do a thing. Now that it is lower – the next issue is – the people cannot afford. How can you want it all? Hey guys – take life easy. Be content!~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 7
    • gangully on May 30, 2014 at 3:17 pm

now the government kena conned pulak… hahaha… its just the complain culture we have inculcated in the people…

• TomCat on May 30, 2014 at 3:37 pm

I’m not entirely sure of how people are still gonna complain after knowing this 500k S-class merc is still unaffordable. I don’t think we’re that low, are we? Better to think of how to afford a house la… Even a 300k house isn’t exactly affordable to the masses :/

• hanssen on May 30, 2014 at 2:55 pm

thank God…extremely cheap! grey importer will die by this.

• Tax or no Tax? oh goshhh~~!!! Boss are always right!

• In UK it just few thousand pound..haktuih

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 20
    • it costs almost the same in the UK. Close to GBP 100k. That is without including their hefty price of insurance. its a great deal. anyone who is thinking to get an E400 i suggest u think again.

• E400 and S400 is different class la. E is cater for younger audience now. And at 100k cheaper and a tad faster.dont forget to mention, its sportier. I would go for E400 if hadn’t i bought the F10 528i back in 2011 because i couldnt stand pre-LCI E-class design. Really so-called ah pek car by Malaysian.

• Ah Boon on May 30, 2014 at 3:03 pm

What?! This is shocking!! I wonder will MBM bring in the new C Class Hyrbid CKD! That will knock the socks off BMW, Audi and even some of the Jap brands!

• The same car costs GBP70k in the UK, at today’s exchange rate thats RM380k. Considering this price also includes VAT at 20%, the Malaysian pricing structure is just confusing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
    • leonon777 on May 30, 2014 at 4:18 pm

The car you mention at GBP70K is the base spec S400L without all expensive options that our local unit is getting. I did a quick tick of similar options using the car configurator at Benz UK site,that brought the price up to GBP92K. That’s about RM495K. Slap on an additional sales tax of 10%, brings it that much closer to the 588K MBM is asking for.

• Ah Boon on May 30, 2014 at 6:43 pm

I guess MBM has to factor in freight cost?? OR they are just taking advantage of the tax exemption to jack up the price abit more? Our local 10% sales tax applies on CKD Hyrbids or its completely tax free?

• shawal on May 30, 2014 at 3:07 pm

…wokey….
    Will wait for accord hybrid and facelifted camry hybrid ckd models to arrive…

City hybrid is coming soon as well…

• Joker on May 30, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Now it’s really interesting to see if Honda’s new Hybrid and Pug’s Puretech will get similar exemption or not… imagine a City Hybrid costing rm90k….
    Accord Hybrid 140k…

• ququbert on May 30, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Hmm I can’t help but think that MAI via the NAP is slowly getting what they want, evidenced by the more competitive prices for CKDs and EEV qualified vehicles. I can only hope the prices become even more competitive going forward.

Mighty good looking car btw, looks like a bargain at this price!

• bo chap on May 30, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Wow… so cheap. Finally an affordable luxury car for the rakyat (kaya sahaja). Thank you kerajaan BN, harga betul2 turun. Will trade in my viva for this (10 yrs from now, 2nd price gonna be good)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Yours Faithfully ( YF ) on May 30, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Why would some of the readers compare this with a 5 series? Isn’t the 7 series the right car to compare apple to apple or in Malaysia… durian to durian?

everything looks great. Just hate the steering design. Thats my own personal opinion. Cheers and have a good weekend to all.

• seancorr on May 30, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Previously the 535i was at RM500k so anyone who gotten the 535i will butt hurt over this. Its the same for the E400 AMG which is also around the RM500k mark…why the E400 when you can get the S400 for just another RM90k? That that price range these people would better opt for the S400

• LGE should get this instead..

• mercs on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Think they lower tax cos LGE got a good deal, so the rest wants one. hence they lower the tax for a year

• Really cheap…..! if for millionaire people la

• Victor on May 30, 2014 at 3:54 pm

When is BMW ActiveHybrid 3 coming?

• Guan Yin Maa on May 30, 2014 at 3:55 pm

MITI damn smart. Only duty exemption for expensive car. Evem after duty exemption, no much people able to afford it. In the end, no much effect to PROTON. Will they give full duty exemption to car such as vw, mazda ? HELL NO. Without duty, those car just cost well over 70k. PROTON terus mampus.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 19
  • DRB Linked on May 30, 2014 at 3:59 pm

Anyone noticed that Merc Benz in Malaysia is assembled in a DRB owned assembly plant in Pekan? First Honda Jazz Hybrid CKD in DRB Honda Malacca and now S400L CKD… Smacks of cronyism no?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
  • CLerk on May 30, 2014 at 4:02 pm

HMmm i think the previous model owner will be crying to sell their S350, with very low price.

• Dude, if u drive ur car of more than 5 years, its alrdy depreciated all ur value. So S350 owner will have no problem changing their car. Besides, ppl who drive S-class dont really care about RV.Right?

• Thought it was turbocharged mated with hybrid system.

• kangkong on May 30, 2014 at 4:08 pm

The back LCD player is really not matching. So much like after market from Brother.

• BolehLand on May 30, 2014 at 4:31 pm

At close to RM600k, this celebration would only extend to a very small minority of the population who can afford a car above half a million ringgit.

While this move is a positive one, I hope the Govn would seriously come up with measures to lower car prices for the average man on the street.

With the impending introduction on GST, high yearly inflation and high car prices, we the Rakyat are really finding it tough in our daily lives as Malaysians.

With all the rich natural resources(blessings from above) that our country possess, we actually deserve better.

• Yours Faithfully ( YF ) on May 31, 2014 at 12:48 am

Is it safe to say that when GST takes effect, all car prices will be up due to it? Would it be cheaper to buy a car before GST implementation?

• Well, those on top think that only them deserve better. and when they always proclaim they fight for one’s right and protect that ethnicity group. It turns out to be only their kin are taken care off while normal folks struggle to meet end needs. We are a rich country, but misuse and mismanage by those above. Thats the hardcore facts.

• Heskey on May 30, 2014 at 4:36 pm

Janji ditepati! But in uk it costs gbp70k on the road including vat. How come in malaysia tax free no vat/gst cost more?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 9
    • This is not janji ditepati la. Its just pure business. Janji Ditepati is reduction of excise duty thru all the car range. From cheap car to expensive car. At least reduce by 10%, thats call janji ditepati.

• Semi-Value (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 4:38 pm

yo man my new car. beribu ribu tahniah MIC dan BN BERJAYA. Next Porsche Cayenne Hybrid and Panamera Hybrid SKD boleh tak?

• azrai on May 30, 2014 at 4:41 pm

Beside BR1M, this is also ‘targeted subsidy’.

• Perororodua on May 30, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Lai lai lai Proton Bashers lai lai…

Can u afford to buy this, completely with quality and safety features…

and the price is more than 1/2 mil…Lai lai…

U want everything to put in the car, nah this here infront of u. lai lai

• sick&tired on May 30, 2014 at 4:52 pm

instead of high end cars, the government should be looking to reduce the price of lower end to mid range cars. For the middle class, the savings from installment will make a big difference, whereas for the rich, they probably spend that much partying one night! help the people who really need it, not the super rich.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • HybridX on May 31, 2014 at 7:01 am

The tax exemption is for ALL locally assembled hybrids. Not govt’s fault that the car companies are CKDing their top-of-the-line cars. At the end of the day it is up to car companies, not govt.

• noticed there is boot opener at the driver door card same like suprima..merc copy from proton! lol

• bryan on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:23 am

Bro, for all you know, I think Merc don’t even know that Suprima even exists! Let alone copy its design. You’re very funny.

• mango on May 30, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Come on.. bring the the E300 Hybrid!!

• Those who ask MBM to bring in E300 Hybrid. Dont be naive and follow what pl have. Merc E300 Hybrid is Bluetec Hybrid. Means it is Diesel-Hybrid powered. And with our lovely filthy diesel quality, good luck on using it. Bare in mind, Merc diesel isnt ordinary dieel engine brought by BMW. Bluetec is for hughly refine diesel around Euro 5 grade not our third world country grade.

• Attractive pricing for such a classy and top luxury car. All these luxury high displacement cars are benefitting from its ‘hybrid’ genes. But don’t get me wrong, this is not a car for any ordinary joe with 600k to spend. I still recall an uncle who bought the A6 hybrid is having problems with the batery pack, apparently it costs 50k to replace it. Hmmm…

• therealmaserati on May 30, 2014 at 6:24 pm

This is gonna be the buy of the year. Soon to see all the bmw and audi sales ppl flocking to Merc.. hahahahaha

• The S350 is GBP70k or MYR380k. How is it that this car is nearly MYR600k TAX FREE? Mercedes must be enjoying a huge profit margin although almost everyone is exclaiming so cheap!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 22
    • Yeah S400L Hybrid base price is GBP70k but please note this is a base spec with limited equipment. Including all the bells and whistles (which you can customize on the UK Merc webpage) – the price is closer to GBP90-100k, which comes to about RM500k. And hey, the nice rims (probably one of the nicest you can get – see Merc S brochure) on our S400L hybrid is not even offered as an option on the UK Merc website.

Note Merc UK offers only 3 years warranty as opposed to 4 years here.

So RM588k probably gives MBM about 20 – 30% profit margin – this is reasonable for a luxury brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 8:00 am

Scroll up, I’ve posted a list of how much the base price of the S400L hybrid is, and what the options that Paultan mentions cost. Basically even though I probably missed quite a bit, I got up to almost 500k. The stock S class comes with 16″ rims. That’s how low the specs are. The investment in CKDing in Malaysia needs to be recouped. I don’t think Mercedes is doing a ton of profit on this… not more than they would usually do.

• bisakeris (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 6:44 pm

> wow! huge price reduction indeed.. for the tokey2 lorr.. tokey gula.. tokey casino.. tokey astro.. tokey 7-11.. tokey tgv..

• amus3856 on May 30, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Proton can re badged as Proton Exklas..so that all the ministers can use it as govt fleet…

• Krasher on May 30, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Cheaper car for the rich and you ain’t get a shit

• pondan on May 30, 2014 at 9:06 pm

Of all this high end luxury sedan, the rakyat is more keen to see more reachable price sedan… for instant, more tax free sub 200k hybrid… then it will be more meaningful.

Recent launches are 400k plus … only good to cronies and rich ppl.

• TakNakP1 on May 30, 2014 at 9:56 pm

Looks like this NAP is going to benefits the rich the most. EEV at the upper range saves them hundreds of thousands but the lower range is more than 10 times lesser.

• hidayat on May 30, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Typical Malaysia…all the good news is just for high income group…what about the middle and low income group??? I don’t think the gov will allow ckd of c class hybrid and sell for 150K price tag…don’t ever dream about it…someone need to pay the tax…huh

• Dr zack on May 30, 2014 at 11:39 pm

Porsche macan or this…. I live in kampung… Must be very troublesome if breakdown…

• Its V222 , V221.
    not W….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
    • STFU if u dont noe about cars.

• bryan on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:27 am

W221 W222 should be for short wheel base bro’s
      V221 V221 could be for long wheel base.

We’re getting the long wheel base here in Malaysian, I think.

• even with all duties “exempt”, this car is still priced 80% higher than what one can get in the us (fully loaded is about us$100k). and for 2014, this model has been discontinued in the us.

• Jeremy Ting on May 31, 2014 at 2:34 am

Does the Mercedes-Benz S400 Hybrid CKD of RM600K available for the customer in Kuching, Sarawak? Was it Hap Seng as the authorized car dealership that provide the sales and service?

• autoblog on May 31, 2014 at 9:11 am

tax exempted? how come you need to add VAT to equal the price if tax exempted, profit margin is higher for them

• kenot on May 31, 2014 at 10:30 am

my friend said this is show the rich don’t need to pay tax.

only poor middle class pay tax.

• megatron on May 31, 2014 at 11:23 am

if all extra in 90 k euro, that is about 400 k ringgit, how come still charging 580k? if you argue vat 20% then that means there is 20% duty remaining or dealer 20% profit?

• Ooi Sheng Fung on May 31, 2014 at 12:13 pm

i think the german designer has lost it , this one looks like a nissan…..

• trust me, this is really a good choice for those who can afford, if u go n see it in flesh, itz mind blowin nice dude, itz awesomely designed, i neva felt anything more luxurious than this, but it only benefited those who is rich, not the poor, one of the proof that we got a poor taxation system :(

• Thanks bn for lowering car price.

• fanzz on May 31, 2014 at 3:31 pm

yeah!! full exemption and you save hundreds of thousand. very good job indeed .

but the price is 600k, how many in MY could afford that?

• Heybadigol on May 31, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Great price. Far cheaper than the facelifted A8 (next post). But hybrids do have some problems of their own. Firstly, boot space will suffer, as it has to make space for the batteries. Next is Resale Value. It will be quite difficult to sell hybrids second hand, as the battery may be nearing the end of its life. But hey, the reduced price makes up for it!! So enjoy the car, and don’t bother much with the RV. Let Sam Loo worry about that.

• dont talk bout boot space or fuel efficiency. power alone A8 can smoke this. I will go for Audi A8 after i have sold my 528i.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • puaboy on Jun 01, 2014 at 4:48 pm

NAP is to benefit the rich more than to benefit the middle class….. Sigh

• I wonder if I order 1 now, when will mine be delivered. The current basic spec w222 MBM told me I can get it next year June. So this “entry” leveled price maybe 2016 June? MB need to do something to sort the long long waiting list man….

• whatever jargon the call it the government will allow the rakyat to getaway with lower taxes on cars.

• whatever jargon the call it the government will not*** allow the rakyat to getaway with lower taxes on cars.

• 2 years warranty car.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:57 am

One issue perhaps PaulTan would like to address or investigate.

With these hybrids (whole cars) being tax exempt. Are the spares to maintain these cars also tax exempt? Most of its critical systems are all imported.

• superman on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:31 am

with this price, BMw 7 Series, Bentley Contonental V8 model, Audi A6, Lexus LS, and the horrible looking Bufori geneva will be in deep trouble. I am not a Mercedes fan but with this price if I could afford any of them I will take the Merc for sure. the interior is just like the Airbus A380 first class cabin.

• stop blaming on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:57 am

If the government decides to reduce the price immediately, like how Pakatan would love to implement, what is going to to happen to your loan that you are servicing today and the value of your current car?
    You guys never ever though of that?

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:48 pm

It has to start somewhere.

No one in the right mind would implement an overnight price dump. Even Pakatan. It would be stupid.

So are you saying that in order not to loose money, all cars should stay expensive? That’s some twisted logic.

There are plenty of us that have been smart with our money and not taken loans (or if we had, shorter term ones)or like me, bough my 2nd hand cars all for cash (and save on both interest and insurance since I can buy 3rd party).

Besides, all cars depreciate 50% every 5 years anyway. Even if we see a reduction of duties of say 10% a year, your depreciation will only increase to 75% / 5 years. This would stabilize when prices stabilize. If you do sell your car, your next car will also be cheaper so replacement costs isn’t 1:1.

• Henry on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:57 pm

How about a Merc E200 hybrid @ 200K?

• Zahari on Jun 14, 2014 at 6:48 am

Now there is an opportunity for some people to book this ckd car. Time frame for the said price is likely true until December 2015 only (NAP2014 will be expiried). The question is how long the waiting list it will be?

• Ali M on Jun 25, 2014 at 5:36 pm

If you are interested in placing an order now, you are out of luck. I heard today that they are not taking any more orders as they cant go beyond the 1,500 orders they already have. At least till there is clarity on what happens with the tax after Dec 31 2015. I think for us in Malaysia, the price is very attractive, relatively.

• Henry kong on Jan 09, 2017 at 2:09 pm

S400 hy

• S400 (2017)