Proton to work with Geely to expand in China, could produce cars based on design of Geely models – PM

Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has revealed that Proton Holdings Bhd will work with Chinese carmaker Geely Automobile Holdings to expand the former’s market in China, reports Bernama.

He said the national carmaker and Geely are now in the discussion stage after signing an agreement of interest on April 22, witnessed by former PM and now Proton chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

“The areas of the cooperation explored include vehicle design, sourcing, manufacturing, marketing, import and distribution for ASEAN and the China market,” Najib told Malaysian reporters in Beijing.

geely kc concept
Geely KC Concept from the 2013 Shanghai Motor Show

He added that if Proton and Geely were to seal the agreement, the Malaysian carmaker would produce cars based on the design of Geely’s models.

Najib said that in the two-way meeting between himself and Chinese Premier Li Keqiang earlier this afternoon, he had asked for cooperation and support from the Chinese government on the cooperation between Proton and Geely.

Geely develops, manufactures and sells cars under the Geely, Gleagle, Englon and Emgrand brands in China. It bought Volvo from Ford in 2010. As of April 4, 2013, the company’s total market capitalisation was US$3.9 billion (RM12.5 billion).

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• woot woot on May 30, 2014 at 5:37 pm

hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 132 Thumb down 33
    • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 134
      • proton fans on May 30, 2014 at 7:48 pm

take care your mouth

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 49
        • Same L0r on May 30, 2014 at 8:21 pm

Aiya, end up Proton still rebadging other people car?

So what is different with Perodua?

However, rebadged Volvo will be welcomed by local market. Volvo and Geely models are generally better looking that the Preve/Suprima S.

For build quality and resale value, Toyota/Perodua still the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 58
          • Ball Less CEO on May 31, 2014 at 3:38 pm

First and foremost why is the PM announcing for Proton? Isn’t it in private hands? Or was is a crony sandiwara to bluff to the people it is in private hands. Where is the CEO of Proton? Don’t he have any balls to make this announcement?
            Where is Syed Mokhtar? Ultimately he owns Proton. Why isn’t he announcing? Who is the boss now Najib or Syed Mokhtar. It looks like Syed Mokhtar is Najib’s real boss.
            Please lah Proton CEO and Syed Mokhtar. Please have some balls.
            And what happened to all the pondans that always posts in all the comments section of every Proton section that Proton is in private hands and they get no help by the government. Now, the pondans all keep quiet. Always the pondans come in to defend Proton saying that Proton too pay taxes, Proton are in private hands and they get no government help.
            So, why is the Government of Malaysia announcing for Proton?
            Bullshit to the public that Proton is in private hands but every year Proton sucks tax payers money like crazy.
            Najib should instead tell the people why he has not given the 30% price reduction he promised the Rakyat of Malaysia before the election. Najib promised every voter that if people voted BN in, he promised with all his heart that he will match PKR’s offer to reduce car prices by 30%. He said we could trust BN as BN always kept to their word and has never cheated the public. This Najib cannot do but he has time to announce for Proton like a lapdog. Very evident Syed Mokhtar is the big boss of Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 77 Thumb down 30
          • Minum Teh Makan Kuih Lapis on May 31, 2014 at 3:59 pm

You know why Proton is losing money?

It is because their workers are all lazy, like to sleep, 7 times a day minum teh and makan kuih lapis in the kantin and all they think about is kahwin empat.

How to do QC when the QC officer makan kuih lapis and minum teh in the kantin 7 times a day?

The workers don’t want to work hard because they know even their children can get free scholarship just goyang kaki with no merit.

This behaviour will sure irritate the Geely workers and we will see this partnership break up not very long.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 41
          • lorlor on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Preve.suprima S got 5 star Australasian NCAP (not Asean). P2 has achieved such standard?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 8
        • woohoo~ on May 30, 2014 at 8:44 pm

agree..always watch out your mouth and hand during writing and talking…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
        • Msian Culture vs China Culture on May 31, 2014 at 3:46 pm

This venture sure to fail. Very simple. No need logic. The reasoning is this. One country, people are so hard working and the other country, people achieve with no merit and always wanting a tongkat and handouts. Complete opposites.

After a while the Chinese in China will get fed up with the lazy attitude of their Malaysian partners who strongly believe in the Tongkat and a free ride in life and free shares and percentage of the joint venture company.

This clearly can be seen by the work attitude of both countries.

China workers:
          “We must work hard. We must focus and achieve success with every sweat. All task must be accomplied on time and we strive to have only 30 minutes lunch break. We must make our country proud and the only remuneration we should get must be accompanied with customer satisfaction and global achievement of our company’s products. We must always strive and work hard”

Malaysia Proton Workers:
          “Rilaks lah bang. Buat apa nak keje kuat. Jom mari lepak. Nanti boleh buat keje ni. Boss tak ada karang, jom lepak, boleh tido. Eh, tengok awek cun tu, bezz lah kalau dapat kongkek dalam bilik stor Proton. Jom jom meh pegi minum teh dan kuih lapis”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 54
          • Why proton dun get much benefits from youngman. Is it because they are lazy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
          • Now I realized that a lot of malaysian are no educated, shame

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
          • Uneducated comment

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
          • letstorque on Jun 01, 2014 at 12:40 pm

How China’s cheating culture?

Once heard on BFM,
            even Malaysian Chinese afraid of the China’s cheating and plagiarism and copycat culture.
            Don’t even trust to set up factory in China.

They are too profit-minded, nothing else matter.
            They even harvest featus and human organ.

They really hardworking, but really without sense of human

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 4
          • alldisc on Jun 01, 2014 at 5:51 pm

scdr,

fyi.. youngman did sell a lot of proton gen2 and persona in china (rebadge of course) and the figures are somewhere around 180,000. small figures compare to that huge china market but big numbers for proton.

• OMG…Shame on u VS – poor mouth. lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • What car are you using?

• VSsuck on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:05 pm

VS only rides kapchai, he never has any car becoz he cannot afford it, tat’s why butthurt

hahahahahahahahaha hahahahahah hahahahahahhhh

• Vader (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 8:24 pm

Then what is the relation between geeky, potong and youngman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 5
    • driver on May 31, 2014 at 1:10 am

Manufacture only important components here, and let China do the rest. Lower labor = cheaper price. Even Apple has their products assembled in China. It doesn’t matter where, as long as the quality control is stringent, the end product should be good.

Silap-silap krovendor (crony + vendor) yang sekarang pun outsource ke China.

• victor tan (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 2:23 am

Hahahahahahahahaha

• WaHahaha on May 31, 2014 at 9:57 am

Proton = Kereta Komunis??

Nooooo!!! Send me to hospital now, my stomach cannot stop laughing!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
    • i continue.. hahahahahahahahahhahahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:28 pm

PROTON???? PEMALAS SEMUA NI…….

• kcng (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Take that haters, Proton going to collaboration with Geely for Volvo cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 40
    • AHAHA on May 30, 2014 at 6:00 pm

Drive-E engine, plss potong..

• Vader (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Haha.. Potong die hard fans always can find a reason to praise potong.. :)
      However, it already mentioned potong may going to produce the cars on geely’s models but not Volvo models..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 22
    • well a good turnover.
      China nowadays cannot be consider of producing low quality product
      Original Apple Iphone also made in China.
      For me its a good decision,
      cheaper production car,parts.
      quality ? china made Volvo in good quality
      Collaboration with china gonna help

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 3
  • Roger Tan on May 30, 2014 at 5:52 pm

I don’t see how it will work in terms of manufacturing, but knowledge sharing may be possible.

Both brands want to expand their markets and improve their brand image, but them leveraging on each other? I can’t wrap my head around it.

But most importantly, Proton bashers will read this as Proton = China car after this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0r on May 30, 2014 at 8:23 pm

China cars are better quality after all, look at GreatWall which is the top seller for pick up truck in Australia.

Let Geely buy over Proton, maybe Malaysian will have more faith on Proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 21
      • sonyman on May 31, 2014 at 8:22 am

let geely buy over proton, then close it down and that it. end of proton, sounds like a plan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
      • Mat Taib Hampden on Apr 26, 2015 at 11:47 pm

Mungkin awak tak baca Proton dah jual melebihi 200000 Gen2 & Persona di China menerusi Youngman Auto China. Jika kita baik sangka tentu kita beri fair comment kan?

• Littlebear on May 30, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Habislah Proton… Quality already sub par & now plans to partner an automotive company from China without proven quality control..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 41
  • Yohnny on May 30, 2014 at 5:53 pm

last time with Mitsubishi,current with Honda,and now Geely?! I wonder what happen to the Proton R&D department?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 9
    • I am Proton Staff on May 30, 2014 at 8:27 pm

For good design and development, the treatment for R&D staff is special.

The kuih lapis for R&D department tea time is specially prepared by Micilin chef which cost RM180 per piece. The teh tarik use tea leaf from Himalaya tea plant cost RM 175 per cup.

Top quality nutrition for top quality design. Fair right?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 18
      • Low Budget on May 31, 2014 at 8:38 pm

The kuih is halal or not?
        By the way Proton is gonna end up as ‘Jack of All Trade’

• Vader (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 8:51 am

Who’s care?
      No matter the cars sell well or not, the employees still will get the bonus.. That’s the “hak istimewa” for the potong employees. Others cannot challenge and even talk about it, or else u go out from this country.. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 11
      • salambangi on Jun 01, 2014 at 7:26 am

Lots of racists and bigoted statements expressed here. I’m so sad. The future is not looking very good for Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 11
        • kolos on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:16 am

Every places have those kind of hak istimewa. If not proton can go to sell cars in china without those xollaboration.

Please grow up kid.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
    • PotongnoRnd on May 31, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Potong where got R&D, they can’t even design a simple reverse sensor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 12
      • nappa on May 31, 2014 at 6:59 pm

THey dun make cars? Then who makes preve, exora, etc. Geely issit.
        lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
        • alldisc on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:02 pm

preve was designed by italdesign.

saga blm by LG. exora also outsourced to a korean company. same goes to persona rear end.

• Low Budget on May 31, 2014 at 8:40 pm

The R&D department of Proton is not bad after all. Due to their extensive research on windows electrical motors, they have perfected the motor design and thus able to give lifetime warranty for the power windows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
  • SoMeOnE (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 5:53 pm

Oh gosh, the rain of hate is going to begin on this page soon. Wasn’t expecting this tie up but if they produce safe affordable cars for the masses then it should be good.

I guess we have to now look to the chinese for transfer of technology. Have we moved in reverse? Because if my memory serves me right they only started really making cars that were usable about 10 years ago.

2030 we will probably working with Timor Leste for transfer of technology. Not hating it but sad and happy to know this but overall in WTF mode.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
  • Proton v40?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on May 31, 2014 at 8:42 pm

THose spare parts are going to be very expensive. Just ask any Volvo owners, an original battery for Volvo costing RM 800.

• Anonymous on May 30, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 128
    • 10.5 km/L for my 1.3 saga, FC car par with my sister accord 2.0. How can we love proton?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 15
      • kentan on May 31, 2014 at 12:57 am

LOL If you want to cheat please be logical, where got 10.5km.l for 2.0l in city. That number only can get if on highway.
        In city of course Vios too only get 11km.l.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
        • Green on May 31, 2014 at 10:48 am

In city:
          New Vios is 15.5km/L.
          Old Vios = 15km/L
          Avanza and Alza 1.5 can do 12km/L.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 11
          • Acrix on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:57 am

Hmmm you sure? My Vios average is around 11-12 km/l city driving. At first i thought its just me but i confirmed it with several other friends with Vios and also Paultan Driven episode 1 also confirmed it.
            So i highly doubt you can get 15km/l unless its pure highway driving. A check in Fuelly.com also confirms the average consumption is around 11-12km/l. So not sure what are you smoking on and getting 15km/l in purely city driving in start stop traffic conditoins.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:33 pm

I would have taught the Vios/City would be able to give better mileage than that based on the response my vios/City friends give about fc. Thanks for the real world info man. It’s around the manual Campros for real world. They average between 11/12 KM for mixed driving.

• Ananz on May 31, 2014 at 12:10 pm

The new City gets 13-14 km/l in pure city driving and 18 km/l highway.
          Looks like the ancient engine of the Vios and transmission is showing itself to be very inefficient.
          UMW better buck up and bring in new engines for the next Vios model.

• guan eng jr. on May 31, 2014 at 1:18 pm

He’s absolutely no idea about 2.0 and above for city fuel consumption. They meant for fat salary ppl.

• possible on May 30, 2014 at 8:42 pm

I assume you had not heard of BFM radio station, check out the breakfast grill podcast of CEO of proton edar Hisham bin Othman. If you are too lazy to find it here is the link http://www.bfm.my/proton-edar-hisham-othman.html . Start listening after 14:40 Their Margins is very thin and sales is very thin, therefore it isn’t a real sustainable way to push the car forward in terms on r&d. If you are aware about business rationalisation, RM401m isn’t even halfway there, TVC itself would already burned RM120m, there’s still traditional media, digital media & roadshows.

IMO only option for them is collaboration with other car makers in hopes that they will transfer older technology to them. Or they can increase their profit margin to a more sustainable way to promote r&d and with that stronger technological expand and strengthen their offshore markets.

But when Preve was introduced, it’s not well accepted (chk wikipedia under ‘reception’) 41k global sales which equates to very poor profit margins (toyota in 2013 sold 150k in Malaysia alone), which means it will take a while to break-even their investment capital. So technically they are stuck with nowhere else to go; price wise-subpar product, high ceiling with low margin, cant afford r&d or technology purchase. Only option out for Proton now is collaboration.

Seriously, if you read up with their earning reports, with or without cronyism, I’m actually surprised they actually lasted till now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 2
      • fast5 on May 30, 2014 at 9:47 pm

And u really believe what it says???
        learn more about proton “past history” 30 years industry and still losing money ever year???
        Look outside window u see ever parking and there is proton car… We do support them for 30 years but “the management” let us down…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 9
        • possible on May 30, 2014 at 10:55 pm

@Fast5

Few things;

1) No, I do not believe what it says. And I agree that the management did let us down.
          2) I specifically said ‘with or without cronyism’, If you need an explanation to what that means. Take the earning reports, and assuming their ‘Crony’ mark up their products by 100%, the cash flow is still much lower than other carmakers for a sustainable R&D program.
          3) Proton had highly credible competitors way before its inception, while the market is relatively small, they only outsold their competitor because they cater for the budget bracket, which had and will always be bigger than the executive & premium market. Problem is, margin is far smaller and Malaysia doesn’t have the necessary volume to give Proton & Perodua an opportunity for adequate cash flow for R&D.
          4) I’m saying that given all the above and it still survived is a remarkable feat.
          5) In my opinion, they do not have the luxury of an option to do R&D. And their only option to sustain is for collaborations.
          6) Basically they are trying to wipe their ass without the aid from khazanah nasional with the very least of surviving past the current global economic state.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 5
          • fast5 on May 31, 2014 at 11:39 am

@possible

Now I understand your ideal… thx for reply…

• ruffstuff on May 30, 2014 at 11:04 pm

Patriotik boleh masuk bakul sampah bai. Walaupun aku sokong penubuhan Proton, tapi aku takkan sokong Proton semata-mata patriotik. Biar Proton hidup sebab engineering dan kemampuan, bukan patriotik mebuta tuli.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 3
    • Vader (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 9:03 am

Blame lagikah rakyat tak cinta negara?

Tujuan utama potong ialah rakyat boleh beli kereta dengan harga yang rendah.

Sekarang apa rakyat dapat?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Directionless on May 30, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Lack of vision and serious lack of determination….. Just need to rely on non misan for white labeling?

• celicazz on May 30, 2014 at 6:11 pm

Geely acquired Volvo recently and developing cross-platform cars.

This move, may have good coming in terms of economic of scale of parts sharing, since the chinese automakers also employs parts from world reknown brands such as Bosch and many other in auto industry if not more, as much as other automakers in europe. even BMW and Merc gearboxes are made in china, so does your iPhones and Sony Xperias.

So, China is not a country we should be seeing with one eye.

Just Proton has to be sure not to be conned again by likeness of those businessman took advantage of them before (Youngman).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • rosdi on May 30, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Well… Geely Panda is cute… why not bring it here.

• kadajawi (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 6:24 pm

What the hell. Mahathir is really the worst thing that could happen to Proton. They were already on the right track, producing decent cars that just need a bit of tweaking, like better QC. And now downgrade to rebadging again?! Some more Chinese cars? (And I highly doubt that Volvo models are meant).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 25
  • W204 C63 AMG on May 30, 2014 at 6:39 pm

Politics in Malaysia is hilarious. On one hand they told the Chinese born in Malaysia to get out of the country, on another hand they are courting mainland Chinese. Amusing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 18
    • pravin on May 30, 2014 at 7:59 pm

it is because the local chinese ‘assembled in Malaysia’ is worst lor. Just like proton. thats why they collaborate with original chinese. not chinese ‘made in malaysia’. lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 18
      • Want to ask about it? I think it’s not a rocket science to know why it happens.

• So how about you? You are even worse…rag head kutu robbery

• Guilt79 on May 30, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Ford and Volvo will drop price and value. Looking forward for Proton Focus

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
  • AVH (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 7:08 pm

“The areas of the cooperation explored include vehicle design, sourcing, manufacturing, marketing, import and distribution for ASEAN and the China market,”

Proton worshippers (the optimist)will say that we will get Volvo based protons
    Proton bashers (the pessimist) will say we will get china quality proton
    I (the realist) say we will get almost nothing out of it.

From my point of perspective , the Chinese market(as surveyed conducted) dosent want Chinese quality car. And as the Chinese citizen gets more and more affluent, they crave for stuff more materialistic, German brands are the most sought after, moving as far as they can from the stereotypically made-in-china quality. In fact it is believed that china has one of the most materialistic mind set in the world. So why oh why would they want to buy a car design, engineered by a small, almost obscure ASEAN country that is made-in-china? With quality almost unnoticebly better given the rise of some of their car quality. And if they want to be patriotic(or can’t afford a German car) they will buy a Chinese car…..or the dominating GM and Volkswagen.

And likewise, if we were to get a geely engineered and design vehicle (And bear in mind this is no Volvo), will the Malaysian public buy it? A car engineered and develope by the mainlanders and built in Malaysia? I supposed it could as they will just appeal to the government to discontinue the EEV progrme(due next year) and remap the NAP to Mahathir style. Cheaper pricing of the already dirt cheap Chinese car is hard to ignore. And the Japanese and Koreans cars have us by our throat, newly arrived Ford, PSA and VW are sagging candy in front of is as well. The stigma of Chinese cars are still strong.

But none of that matters, as we are talking about proton, like all of its JV-programmed of recent times, it hardly gains momentum before it all falls out. The DE-based electric Persona…….the recent Mitsubishi JV …the Italdesign EMAS……..and more recently Honda which now seems awfully quiet ever since Mr ex-chairman came crashing the party with the announcement that made soichiro roll in his grave.

The problem is that I don’t see results from proton. They are abit like the recent Hollywood blockbuster….giving us epic trailer before coming out of the cinema feeling ‘meh’ it not up to expectation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 4
  • lowprofile on May 30, 2014 at 7:08 pm

geely has economies of scale but what they do not have is decent design. like it or not, proton can do way better than what geely is designing for their cars now. and i think this is what proton could contribute to them. they on the other hand can contribute tech transfer… of volvo. who knows? it could happen. plus with their huge production, costs could potentially come down.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 20
    • Vader (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 9:11 am

Wau, good twist ya..
      Now is potong giving a helping hand to geely to produce more “good design” cars ya… lol
      And geely need good design from potong instead of Volvo design team???

• torque on May 30, 2014 at 7:17 pm

@ Guilt79

WTH r u talking abt? Geely bought Volvo from Ford thus Ford is not in the picture…Proton Focus?! Seriously, school holiday is it?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
    • possible on May 30, 2014 at 8:03 pm

except drivetrain, geely own DSI which supply ford, chrysler, geely & ssangyong. Possibly proton & lotus in the future?

• Same L0r on May 30, 2014 at 8:30 pm

Haha…
        Proton is someone’s pride and it is not for sales. Else it had been merged with VW long long long long time ago.

For some to live rich, every Malaysian has to die poor.

Proton won’t die before Malaysian economy die.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • DSI is hardly the leader in engineering is it? Went bankrupt because their largest customer went bankrupt. And that largest customer was..err..Ssangyong.

Even a “jaguh kampung” like Proton can produce better cars than Geely can, just take a look at their website and compare the Exora, Suprima and Saga to their cars. If anything Geely should learn from Proton engineers on how to make better cars.

Volvo? That V40 is using a 10-year old Ford C1 platform that nobody else uses. Heck Mazda stopped using it 2 generations ago.

What the hell is Proton (more importantly DRB) doing? GSC was delayed for 2 years (definitely huge increase in development budget to change platform from Mitsu to Proton’s own). Family-Y engine development abandoned. Lotus went from 2015 Porsche challenger to pure financial leach.

DSZ must be laughing somewhere, leaving a sinking ship early. All his work unravelling and crumbling slowly. I do have respect for our former PM for what he has done, but common sense dictates that no company would appoint an 88-year-old to be it’s leader and hope to be successful in such a competitive industry.

• unforgiven on May 30, 2014 at 7:48 pm

Inspira PROTON also we called it as collaboration and work together right? LoL!

• Two of the least attractive brands collaborate to make a car. I can’t wait to see what abomination they will come up with.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 0
  • possible on May 30, 2014 at 8:02 pm

If they play it right, as in Proton does the exterior design, so far it seems to be their only proven forte. Volvo, Lotus & DSI does the chassis, and Geely does the manufacturing, sth good may possibly come out of this collaboration.

• Dont syok sendiri la. Design macam sial self praising somemore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Tiger on May 30, 2014 at 8:05 pm

Omg, last time kawin Youngman, now scandal with Geli-man

• mim (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 8:27 pm

China or not, this could give Proton access to Volvo’s tech.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
    • Give nasa tech to proton also they dunno what to do ler.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 5
      • PotongnoRnd on May 31, 2014 at 12:35 pm

They will get 40 engineers to “sleep” with it

• Vader (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 8:06 pm

You h’got the point!!!
        Potong already have the great knowledge on chassis and handling (from lotus), then the power train (previously from Mitsubishi and lately bought a lot petronas f1 engines and gearbox)..
        But don’t know how to apply make them just sit inside the deep shxt!

• Proton learns handling from lotus. If not proton cars are sampan like japs lor. Proton bashers only know to bash, see pictures dun know what they see.

lololololllllll

• They did not learnt. It was lotus that apply it for them. We dont expect a company that cant even get power win & electrical circuit right to work things like handling.

• grvtr on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:45 pm

The testers now are mostly local engineers, not mat salleh from Lotus. They learn from them.

• Ya .. spin… just like your master. Testers? Local?

• Tiger on May 30, 2014 at 8:57 pm

And why on earth Geli-man would want to let Boleh-man get his Volvo bini tech for free?? They r not stupid too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • botol on May 30, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Only memorandum of interest… Not even intent. Like this also wanna make noise.. Running out of stories and time proton…. U are a generation of pain and failure. Just close down, better gor everybody.

• Why pm is announcing? Proton still a glc meh?

• Munkey on May 30, 2014 at 10:05 pm

Proton is joining the geely family.. LOL.. maybe they want to share the Lotus technology..?
    ok guys, i’ve read thru the colaboration between Volvo and geely… its just like Proton and Lotus(yah i know proton bought lotus so don’t go bitching about that i’m wrong or what)… geely is just getting some of the technology from volvo..that’s pretty much it, soo technology volvo, quality macam mana? don’t jump into conclusions that we are rebadging volvo cars! Eh brother, Geely pun tarak rebadge kereta Volvo lagi apa lu mau bising. So yeah you Proton fans out there just wait and see don’t assume.. As for haters keep hating..hope Proton gets it in their numb skulls to start building better cars. Peace!

• volvo had given her full design for XC90 to geely. so most probably collaboration between geely and volvo very strong compared to proton and lotus, just knowledge sharing. in fact volvo also had agreed that they will share their knowledge with geely and again it similar with collaboration made between ssangyong and mercs. imagine proton can develop tech based on lotus, proton and volvo, perhaps it will give more values to proton’s customers. or i just day-dreaming.

• Guilt79 on May 30, 2014 at 10:05 pm

@torque

Sorry. Misread. When wanted to edit was too late. :P

• hippo on May 30, 2014 at 10:39 pm

I am speechless. It is so malu to hear that proton is working with geely moving forward. Aren’t they ashamed of this? I was once proud that proton wss working with mitsu 2 decades ago. But hearing them stepping backwords is really bad. Sungguh malu.

• Proton n Geely, probably going no where. Just some discussion.

Proton need Geely more than vice versa. but Neither China nor Malaysian ppl wan China or Malaysia car, so what to do? Dono.

So some discussion.

• BeemerFreak on May 30, 2014 at 11:11 pm

Fking stupid, got VW to work with, don’t want. Last year just announce tie up with Honda, then no further news d. What sort of management is this, utterly pathetic at the expense of Rakyat’s money

• nabill (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Its one of the very few news where u feel going outside under the moon and scream to the lord ‘wwwwwwwwwhhhhhhhhyyyyyyy ‘ all nite long….

• bisakeris (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 11:38 pm

>>we know 1 thing for sure that proton’s design is waaaaayyy better than geely’s..

• 1 thing for sure proton days are numbered.

• Low Budget on May 31, 2014 at 8:56 pm

So easy to die meh? When on ‘Life Support’ mode, Proton can live longer than you all.

• wiralama on May 30, 2014 at 11:44 pm

Is that the best Proton can do?…Againn???…Pooorahh

• Aero (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 12:13 am

What happened to the Proton & Hawtai agreement ? Oh well. I don’t particularly like Geely, but their Emgrand division is worthy of praise.

It’s still too soon to judge this unexpected move. I just hope the gains are mutual for both Proton and Geely.

• Proton, please just rebadge Japanese car. It is a proven and viable concept. You used to do it and it was profitable. Perodua is doing it, and it’s very successful. Proton problem started when it started to develop it own car.

Please. Just rebadge.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • Rebadge? Then how to “mencipta nama”?
      The words like “persada dunia” , “anak tempatan” & “mencungkil bakat” are very important to them you know?

Also rebadge cannot go europe for 1 months to test car.

Cungkil bakat konon. Cungkil gigi adalah.

• iomasuck on May 31, 2014 at 7:04 pm

As if you don’t cungkil gigi unless you use polident.
        Bwahahahahahahahah

• Rebadging can only compete in Malaysia. Perodua isn’t going anywhere well with their Myvi’s. Yea they sell a bit here and there but can’t sustain just by becoming jaguh kampung and selling a few units overseas

They know they have reached the market saturation and they need to go global. otherwise they will just bleed to death in the end.

• MAS is on the verge of Bankruptcy and here we have
    another one in the making.

Hopefully KKM does not do any DNA test on future
    Proton models cause obviously “it” will be found…

• Low Budget on May 31, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Just like Proton, MAS will not be allowed to go bankrupt. They will secretly pump in lots and lots of sweet juice to both companies.

• PotonManaAdaCLASSSS on May 31, 2014 at 7:25 am

hahahaha,.. geeeliiii,… geeliiiiii, haha hihi huu huuu ,.. ambik kooo ,,lagi tak daa classsss, cikgu pon malu nak pakai proton…

• cikgu on May 31, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Takde class yea, name me under 100k Japan car that can do more than 205Nm torque?

• alibaba on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:20 pm

power saja lebih,.. feel bo liau…proton tetap proton,.. pakai 5 tahun mcm kereta lusuh…

• sonyman on May 31, 2014 at 8:40 am

why cant proton work with Honda, At least perodua is Toyota, Proton is Honda lah, rebadge and stop the sales of honda.

Mitsubishi also jadi lah,

else Subaru impreza to replace inspira, sell at 90K why not?

Why must go China and kacau the zen there.

• Because Honda don’t want to supply platforms and engines?

Show me one company in the world that gets engines from Honda (cars or motorcycles)?

• Low Budget on May 31, 2014 at 9:00 pm

To Bodek Chinamen. Now Ah Tee ‘kepala Pening’ lah.

• gandelen on May 31, 2014 at 9:04 am

Those upper management mostly appointed, that’s what they discuss in meeting. (U get what I mean) beside those r speechless cause whatever u suggest is rejected due to not benefit to appointed pocket. So..is been going on year by year n til now stil continuing. Not a qualifier but have decision decided. .can u imagine that!
    Anyway. .all the best PROTON

• alan pros on May 31, 2014 at 9:38 am

The first Proton with them will be called the Proton Giggle….

• Oh no!!

• Oh no!!

• Sparcov on May 31, 2014 at 10:34 am

In other word, also helping Proton to expand in China under Geely Brand,What I mean is the market in China are far bigger compare to Malaysia. As a company, they could not survive in Malaysia Market.

• Lawrence on May 31, 2014 at 11:00 am

Frankly, I don’t think this tie-up will be a wise move. Just hope that Proton won’t get conned in the long term. I believe even if Geely will sell Proton models in the future, they will definitely rebadge them instead of using the Proton badge. If like this, Proton can never carve a name out for itself in China. Eventually, it will only benefit Geely with more models to offer to the Chinese market without their need to incur designing and prototyping costs.

• All the big bosses in proton actually dunno how to do business.. never learn from other successful car companies.. sort of like SYOK SENDIRI only.. everyday make the rakyat so kecewa n agry.. come out with new model also takes so long.. gsc also from last year testing testing n testing.. talk BIG but action so SLOW.. rakyat fed up already..

• panjang on May 31, 2014 at 2:53 pm

tech transfer?
    nope….

last 6 mnth,an matrade officer did bring this matter up when we are having a conversation.only now it come true but only an interest.
    they are shifting to china to take advantage of the super low labour and manufacturing cost.

• Motorhead (Member) on May 31, 2014 at 3:54 pm

All my butt & bart fan go quiet…

Thumbs up guys.. well said.. no need comment dy. .

Enjoy reading. ..

Hahaha.. laughing too. .

• motorbart on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:03 am

Of course you laugh a lot because a loser laughs a lot until left far behind like a proud rabbit.

Loser.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 01, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Finally there u are.. I hope you enjoy read all comments above.. I no need to add..

You are the looser. . How much u earn anyway? Mind to share?..

Haha.. low life.. Puiih.

• motorbart on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:10 pm

You are the proud man here, claimed got 2 cars, 2 houses etc. Low life? Even if I’m much richer than you and most people here, why should I be proud and showing off like you? Only loser claims he wins but in reality he loses.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:25 am

P1=making lost, no bonuses, no sales, discontinued model, no support service, no resale value = looser.. who the looser. Oh must be u.. driving or work in proton..

I don’t talk kork.. or baseless claim. . Few of my friends here know me personally. . Unfortunately. . You are not.

Definitely. . You’re the poor guy.. work harder la.. or else you wouldn’t buy a proton too. .

P1 day are numbered. . Just wait..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:32 am

Let me correct you abit.. I ve three cars.. two myvis & vios… .two of them loan & problem free..

Going for fourth. No rush.. Following news here.. Nissan Note is coming.

Not bragging. . But you ve no idea what kind of people driving a Myvi or old Nissan Sunny.. or a Kancil.. put that on your mind & compare with your pathetic life. . Suit become my butt followers. .

• Motorbuttt on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:33 pm

now his bragging about his imaginary friends.. i think we’ve had enough already..

hey paul tan… do something..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:45 pm

What now? Whining? Can’t take it? Want to cry like a girl dy? Crying looser..

Cowards.. never ve proper username. . Here is motorhead. . Always the samw.

• Motorbuttt on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:11 am

wahh.. more arrogant than before..

this motordead had some smoke i think..

why only enjoy reading those comments..?? u dont have any idea to bash proton anymore..but depending on others like sam loo and the gang or u are juz a scared looser..

yang banyaknya.. orang yang berko-kok, buatnya sikit, canangnya lebih..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:06 pm

Ko tatang P1 tu bodo.. dah terang lagi bersuluh x feasible. . Ko tggu jelah…

Sikit lg kena jual. (Dah kena jual kat Drb pon)..

Suka ati aku la nak komen ape.. smartfon aku ni bukan datuk ko yg punya..

• Motorbuttt on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:13 am

*motorhead

• Motorbuttt on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:30 pm

hey.. motorbart

atleast pay attention to his lies..

u see.. when u get it wrong ..he’ll be bragging about those lies again..,are we’ve had enough..?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:41 pm

You talking to yourself?

• motorbart on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:51 pm

Hey motorbutt,
            Let him syiok sendili with his imaginary friends, cars and properties.

I am not surprise if after this he said he has 9 or 10 cars and 10 houses because he can imagine anything he wants..but in reality he is a loser.

• Motorbuttt on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:55 pm

no whining..i still can take ur lies but not sure about others…
          nvm la.. bring in everything u got..

Yg teramat penting adalah tindakan.. bukan penipuan yg hanya sekadar berlegar di fikiran..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:19 pm

Nak tipu mendanya. Baik aku kata ada lima keta 4 rumah.. bodoh la kau ni. Aku siap betulkan ko lg.

Fact is higher grade ppl not affected by motorhead only you. Simple.. because they ve more.. & normally ppl earn more than 6K won’t drive a proton.. none of my colleagues (same salary) drive a proton..

Definitely. . You are lower grade.. only lower grade envy higher grade..

Common sense. .

• motorbart on Jun 02, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Whaever you say. If like that i also can say i drive a merc and have 7 houses. Pics please or you are dreaming kid. Oh now is holidays, no wonder naughty kids are around.

• While Lotus can use Toyota Engine.

Why not Proton-Honda collaboration’s giving us Honda Engine?

• Global on May 31, 2014 at 4:30 pm

OK with the tie-up with Geely but reading between the lines stated Proton has lost its direction.

They went global in looking for partner:
    1. Mitsubishi: Japan (Saga, Wira, Inspira)
    2. Citroen: France (Tiara)
    3. Renault: France (Savvy)
    4. Proton own: (Waja, Exora, Preve, Suprima S)
    4. Honda: Japan (Perdana)
    5. Geely: China

Maybe my list not accurate as I lost counts as well.

• EnergyAnalyst on May 31, 2014 at 5:44 pm

Mahathir say collarate with Japanese car makers

Najib say collaborate with this Chinese car .

Cqn you two agree first before you two opening your mouths? Oh I forget. You two don’t agree on the things

• Tiger on May 31, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Even with the help of local newspaper and localised car magazines ( suddenly test drive on OLD model Preve and Persona) oso cannot sell…latest June Auticar Asean said the Supima shape ” beatiful and internationally recognised or something similiar, me laughed until saliva spit out

• ‘and sells cars under the Geely, Gleagle, Englon and Emgrand brands in China’

There are rumors that they also want to launch the ‘Flance’ and ‘Glermany’ brands soon to compete with european brands.

• Bongcs on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:41 am

anyone frequent KTV for china PRCs

• pondan that no support proton on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:50 am

Interesting. .. Geely is founded back in 1986 , completely private owned by an individual with limited fund and has been very successful today.

Proton founded couple of years earlier was completely gov owned with lots of fund supported by mitsubishi,backed by 20+millions malaysian with ridiculous protection policies and yet….. we are getting help from geely.

Apa proton lagi mau… or in a way… apa dr. M lagi mau.

• Henry on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:54 am

It is the right decision to work with the Chinese. Look east now means looking towards China, Taiwan and Korea. Japan is on the decline.

Unlike in the past, with the available knowledge and technology, the learning curve now is very steep. For once Proton made the right decision.

• Proton with Japanese DNA – Proton Inspira.
    RM78k 1.8L.

Reliable yet powerful C-Segment.

still fail to compete with Japanese B-Segmnet or even Hyundai Elantra Kia Cerato.

Seems there is no hope for Proton even Proton come with Honda Engine.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:07 pm

Correct you abit.. not Japanese DNA.. it is a Japanese. . It is a Lancer. Proton just change the front bumper & adjust the suspension abit. Inside all Mitsu’s. REBADGE. some rebadge butt or barthurt will go nuts.. P1 rebadge xpa.. P2 x boleh. Their level of mentality.

• Spirior on Jun 01, 2014 at 2:59 pm

No coincident that when Xi Jinping became China’s top man, Geely president Li Shufu got a 20bil RMB loan from the govt.

Geely is just as protected in China as Proton is in Malaysia. This is nothing new. Despite the good sales of the Emgrand and Geely Panda, in terms of quality and value they are nowhere near the offerings from the various JV companies (VW, Ford et al).

Regardless if Proton is smart, it should be gunning for thw CMA platform which is co developed with Volvo. There’s no plan for right hand drive yet, and this should be a good area where Proton can contribute.

If Proton is serious, planning should be for the long term. If it expects easy money by rebadging or trying to sell Proton models via Geely dealerships in China, tak payah buang masa la.

• pondan that no support proton on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Getting gov loan is no issue as long as showing results and pay back loan.

Proton instead is requesting for grant and that is free money from tax payer to help them to get syiok sendiri. That’s not right no matter how we see it.

While geely quality is doubtful buy they still deliver results. From biz point of view, they are increasingly able throw away their tongkat and start running.

Our beloved proton is asking for bigger, stronger and gold plated tongkat.

• alldisc on Jun 01, 2014 at 6:35 pm

IMHO,

what proton should really do is just make us of whatever resources readily available to them.

for example, proton owns the rights to Waja. why not,
    use waja body shell but use new front and rear end designs? designs that will also meet NCAP requirement. new doors. new cabin interior – dashbaord, door trims, seats etc

just like what proton did with the campro engine. revised it to be better.

make the waja unrecognisable this time around. make it a 5 star car. same goes to gen2, satria neo and savvy.

but please recycle all these models only once. and hope to succeed. once proton has all the money, they can look at making an all new car from scratch once again.

• pondan that no support proton on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:59 pm

Hyundai used to do major major facelift before changing new platform.

Cheap move but u know what it works and at least that what brought them to where they are today.

No need to be utimate car but reliable car. Unfortunately, proton can’t even do the basic right.

What’s more talk big. 30 years and still day dreaming. Now, asking help from geely and basically a younger company that proton. Shameful man..

• Albert Lee on Jun 01, 2014 at 8:45 pm

Watch out.Protong is getting pretty panicky.
    What to do? Every other car manufacturer or distributor is ANNOUNCING NEW MODEL LAUNCHING in 2014.
    This national desperado ,may perhaps REBADGE the Geely in Malaysia boleh Land instead.
    MMC cannot be forever losing money,can they?

• pondan that no support proton on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:02 pm

For some reason, najib is trying to avoid paying proton further under dr.m.

Instead proton panic, najib is panicking. .. if he pay proton, the nation will crucified him. If he don’t pay proton, dr. M will crush his balls (if he has any).

• anti racism on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:04 pm

A lot of racism statement inside here….. grow up maggot… keyboard warrior is for nerd with small penis

• Samad Jain on Jun 01, 2014 at 11:48 pm

Sorry.

Never another proton for me, my family and friends.

• ProtonGeely on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:36 am

Proton don’t have a choice but to JV with Geely, which i think is the best way going forward…both want to sell their car to ASEAN regions. Proton have to accept it’s too small to compete and Geely needs Proton’s factory why not ?

• Malaysia boleh on Jun 02, 2014 at 2:16 am

Getting better design from china, our design team will tambah Bodykit smoke lamp etc they’re only good at this. Also if they let us copy a $100k salon will anyone of you guys buy a proton at $100k? Proton need to show they can produce quality cars to change people’s perception. I read proton perfected the power window motor. Wow. It took them almost 20yrs to perfect the motor. There is nothing wrong with the motor! Is the plastic subframe quality! Same with the cheap Aircond vents that deform. Is the plastics! Not the design. Visor with cheaply printed warning stickers. Who is the qc head. He should be sacked. All proton did was replace the said parts. Ini lah. Jv my foot. Change your team. Wait… Impossible to change. The culture can’t be changed. Then, good luck with the future!

• mamat on Jun 02, 2014 at 8:36 am

eaww.. geli lah

• Cadbury on Jun 02, 2014 at 8:53 am

Proton Cadbury. Got pork DNA inside.

• Posting on Proton will have 200-400 comments. Impressive. Guys, whoever you are, you’ve done a great job.

On a different tone, ‘collaboration’ is easier say than done. I still want to stick to my theory – Proton changes hands too many and loses consistency in direction.

Instead of focusing on developing new models which costs hundred of millions, Proton should pause, think and rectify their mistakes/ weaknesses. What is wrong with having a few models but they are good and well accepted models? This is way cheaper than developing new models.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 3:49 pm

Everytime post on P1 issues there ll be hundreds of comments. . 99% of them unfortunately are curses..

Sad but true.. Metallica…

Hahaha. .

• Proton can join venture with any car company BUT it boils down to working attitude and the cronies that are running the company, till they sought that out we will be talking about the same issue in the next coming years……

• malaysian is finally bow to the chinese… indirectly agree chinese auto maker is progress ahead than p1.

• pondan that no support proton on Jun 02, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Kalau tak puas hati.. balik cina la…

Sekarang proton nak kawin cina.

• pondan that no support proton on Jun 02, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Sekarang proton nak kawin cina. Munkin nak balik cina

• pondan that no support proton on Jun 02, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Sekarang proton nak kawin cina. Mungkin nak balik cina eh