Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI brochure and price list appear online – RM178,888 nett, Tech Pack RM10k

volkswagen-tiguan-1-4-tsi-brochure-1

It seems Volkswagen Malaysia has introduced a new Tiguan variant – the brochure and price list for the Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI have popped up on its website.

The facelift model first landed in Malaysia in 2011 carrying a 210 PS/280 Nm 2.0 litre TSI, a seven-speed wet clutch DSG and 4Motion AWD driving all four wheels. This new Tiguan 1.4 TSI variant has a twin-charged EA111 1.4 litre four cylinder engine that sends 160 PS at 5,800 rpm and 240 Nm of torque between 1,500 and 4,500 rpm to the front wheels only.

Yes, that’s the Mk6 Golf TSI‘s engine, but no dry-clutch seven-speed DSG here – you get a wet-clutch six-speed DSG instead. The SUV does the century sprint in 8.9 seconds before hitting a 198 km/h top speed, while start/stop and regenerative braking (the Tiguan 2.0 TSI doesn’t have them) lets it claim a combined fuel consumption of 7.1 litres per 100 km.

volkswagen-tiguan-1-4-tsi-brochure-7

On the outside, you’ll notice the 1.4 TSI variant gets auto halogen headlamps, front fog lamps with static cornering lamps, plus 17-inch ‘Boston’ five-spoke alloys (Tiguan 2.0 TSI has 17-inch ‘New Orleans’ multi-spoke alloys) wrapped in 235/55 series tyres.

Interior features include Climatic semi-auto air-con, an electronic parking brake with auto-hold, Radio RCD 310 (MP3, CD, AUX, eight speakers), rain-sensing windscreen wipers and Silver Metallic door trim.

The seats are trimmed in ‘Milan’ Alcantara (Tiguan 2.0 TSI has ‘Vienna’ leather), although the gear knob and steering wheel are leather-wrapped. Rear seats are split 60:40, feature an armrest, and can slide, recline and fold. Six airbags, ESC, Isofix, an anti-theft alarm and drowsiness detection are standard.

volkswagen-tiguan-1-4-tsi-brochure-4

But that’s not all. An optional Tech Pack gives you lots of goodies – bi-xenon headlamps with LED DRLs, Bluetooth, Climatronic auto dual-zone air-con, cruise control, dynamic headlight range adjustment with bending lights, foldable wing mirrors with curb view (when you engage reverse), a ‘Premium’ multi-function display, a multi-function steering wheel, Park Distance Control with reverse camera, Radio RCD 510 (6.5-inch touch-screen) and a USB adaptor cable.

Fully imported (CBU), the Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI is priced at RM178,888 nett (or RM179,608, OTR without insurance). The Tech Pack is a RM10k optional upgrade. A five-year warranty with unlimited mileage is offered, and Pure White, Reflex Silver, Titanium Beige, Pepper Grey and Toffee Brown body colours are available.

And guess what – this isn’t going to be the only VW Group SUV to be one-point-four-ed in Malaysia – we’ve spotted the Audi Q3 1.4 TFSI at JPJ!

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Pinky on May 30, 2014 at 12:29 am

VW? Nehh..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 16
    • VW Lies Lies Lies Lies on May 30, 2014 at 12:28 pm

So much of uncertainty. Some say 6 Speed DSG okey, some say 7 speed DSG not okey, some say dry not okey, some say wet DSG is not bad.

Which is it?

Moral of the story, do you dare cough out RM170,000 on something that has NO or ZERO certainty of NOT breaking down?

If someone asked you to cross a river that maybe infested with crocodiles. You ask the people at the river whether got crocodiles or not. Some say got crocodiles. Some say no such thing as crocodiles and are all rumours.

Do you dare cross the river?

The same with VGM in Malaysia. So many lies and so much of uncertainty. You must have great big balls to buy a product that there is so much of uncertainty about it.

Ask even qualified engineers, they cannot even with certainty tell you the wet DSG is problem free. But they dare to tell you one thing, “it is lesser problems than the dry clutch”.

So what is the definition of lesser problems? So if dry clutch breakdown 5 times a year, wet DSG break down 3 times a year?

So much of vagueness and uncertainty. I am not buying a LED TV for RM1500. If TV is a lemon, heck with it. I just bin the TV. But here, I am spending RM180k. If it is a lemon like all the other DSG, what to do?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 69 Thumb down 2
      • Kadang kadang Rosak on May 30, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Why even take the risk? Assuming your daughter is going out with a boyfriend, if the whole village tells you he is decent man, then, you will be happy.

What if the villagers tell you he is a good and decent man but occasionally he screws prostitutes. But generally, a fine gentleman and loving husband.

Would you let her go out with the boyfriend?

That is wet DSG for you. Better than dry DSG but sometimes, you will have to wait for the tow truck to fetch it.

• Heng Lee on May 30, 2014 at 2:33 pm

You’re right: Why take a risk?

“Toyota recalls 466,000 vehicles to fix rust corrosion, brake pedal problems”
          http://www.autonews.com/article/20140522/OEM11/140529942/toyota-recalls-466000-vehicles-to-fix-rust-corrosion-brake-pedal

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
          • spot on heng lee. kadang kadang rosak has a head that kadang kadang rosak indeed. a stupid analogy that he wrote.

• yzlum on May 30, 2014 at 12:51 am

Finally they are learning and listening ! Please use wet-clutches for all models in the future ! :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Anonymous on May 30, 2014 at 1:11 am

OMG WET CLUTCH ITS ABOUT TIME. TOOK THEM LIKE 15 YEARS DAMMIT

• Wet Clutch Owner - Experience. on May 30, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Wet Clutch also got so many problems. I am a Golf GTi Mk7 owner. Already 6 months I owned my car, car kaput 3 times already. Each time VGM take 1 month to sort the problem out. I think they replace the whole gearbox.

In 6 months, I have only seen and used my Gti for 90 days (3 months). So who said wet clutch got no problems? I pay RM$210k for my car to sit in the workshop. Biggest regret of my life.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 10
      • kadajawi (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Got proof?

• Enthu on Jun 20, 2014 at 9:01 am

What is your plate no?

The way you wrote seems like a blatant lie. There are plenty of wet clutch 6 speed out there (since mk5) that is still running strong. The one in mk7 i tested was even more refined than the mk6.

• AVH (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 12:55 am

RM59k less than the 2.0 TSI 4WD :
    RM59k/RM237k x 100% = 25% less
    BN agrees to lower car prices by 20-30%
    Conclusion: BN Janji Detepati….apa? spec tak sama? kita tak janji itu, sorry.

OK, on a serious note, wet clutch DSG and FWD….If those are more educated enough, it is a really good buy. Wet clutch is said(said..) to be much more reliable but I’ll give a 1 1/2 year shadow of doubt in Malaysian market before I am fully convince. Elsewhere its what most Malaysian wants, a high-riding, German SUV with respectable spec and safety. Yes is FWD, but honestly who buys it for off roading or really care? and yes its slower but look at my above reasoning.

Interior still rather dull(and IMHO, most VW except the Passat CC are rather bland), but should expect good quality plastic. I believe this will really sell well.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
    • Clutch on May 30, 2014 at 1:08 am

FYI tiguan 2.0 also 7 speed wet clutch not dry clutch

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
      • AVH (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 1:15 am

Is it? sorry my bad, I always have the impression that all Seven speed DSG are dry clutch.

• BeemerFreak on May 30, 2014 at 2:04 pm

7 speeders are separated as DQ200 dry clutch and DQ500 wet clutch gearboxes. DQ 500 are for high torque and All wheel drive applications, all Audi 7speed s tronic gearboxes f

• clutch on May 30, 2014 at 8:18 am

What about Golf Tsi ? Is it a wet clutch or dry ones?
        Can it be changed if it is dry clutch?

• james1111111111 on May 30, 2014 at 11:00 am

dry.. the problematic one.

the one that disengages at high speed. leaving you with no acceleration

the one that diengages when you shift it to D and expect it to move.

• Wet Clutch Owner - Experience. on May 30, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Wet clutch or dry clutch, both are problematic. Maybe one is lesser than another. VGM is kaki penipu in Malaysia. Just be careful. I cannot believe I pay so much of money to be faced with problem after problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
          • VW owner on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:48 am

VW is really bad quality in malaysia. Especially CKDs model. Service center skill very very poor.
            Many Defects in new car can be found in first 3-6 months.Service center can not identify problems, keep dragging, make you tired,lastly, you sell your car and keep away from VW.
            Believe me, stay away from VW until they improve. If not believe me, you will spend lot of time in SC, problem s unsolved. then you lose your time and money aat the end.

• VGM Penipu on May 30, 2014 at 1:41 pm

Dont even look into dry or wet. VGM service stinks. To make appointment, you need to book 1 month in advance. If you cross your mileage, the void ALL your warranty completely.

Protestors made noise in Bnagsar few months ago but the practice is still going on. Your whole warranty is VOID. I got Honda and Toyota also, even cross few thousand KM also, Honda and Toyota always keep my warranty.

Also, the warranty of VGM is tipu warranty. All VW cars in Malaysia is only 2 years. The remaining 3 years is Insurance warranty. So many owners cry after 2 years because the adjuster turn down their warranty claim.

Be prepared to have at least RM50k in your wallet to replace the DSG box at your own expense after the 2 year manufacturer warranty is finished. This has been faced by countless of VW owners in Malaysia because adjuster say “NO”.

VGM faggots and VW fanboys, please don’t come here and say I am bluffing. You and I know its true. VGM faggots, please feel free to thumbs down my comment. After all, its Friday and you all don’t really do any work at office with sales dropping so much.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 2
          • kadajawi (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 7:42 pm

Actually VW has changed their policies. You can be a bit overdue now.

• I love your sarcasm..LOL!!!

• Terence on May 30, 2014 at 12:56 am

Is this price reasonable ?

• i think of vw on May 30, 2014 at 7:38 am

I think yes compared to scirocco 1.4tsi price tag. both unit got 1.4 but this tiguan came with 6 speed wet clutch, not the problematic and phased out 7 speed dry clutch.
      unfortunately, the interior are not updated with others 2014 vw range model. it shows the old rcd510..and much more.
      so..the judgement…still!…don’t buy la.

• Overpriced.

VW Tiguan is a size of about Honda Vezel/Pug 2008/ Mitsu ASX.

it’s only a B-Segment SUV.
      VW Tiguan wheelbase = 2605mm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 9
      • Its overpriced… because of VW marked their product at high price and AUDI has to keep their head above water.

It’s truth Q3 1.4 is going for 210k due to this Tiguan 1.4 selling price.

• ThePolygon on May 30, 2014 at 2:38 pm

Yup, Tiguan is smaller than the CRV and the ASX and around the same size as the 2008 put on higher wheels.

Please go to the showroom to ‘feel’ the space inside. They can price it this high because they are trying to sell the ‘got turbo’ catch phrase. Wouldn’t blame them as not much other ‘turbo’ petrol choices for that size.

• calvin on May 30, 2014 at 6:27 am

Finally… shit head in VGM awake… 1.4 TSI with wet clutch…is good buy… less worry.
    But At near 180k, why not the optional Tech package come as standard? Those are basic stuff u would expect as standard when spend tht kind of money n a conti.

Please just don’t end up like passat.. now giving free Tech pack… as existing owner.. im pissed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Halim bin Munan on May 30, 2014 at 6:44 am

oh my god the aircond vent look worse than saga

• nabill (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 6:47 am

It’s ugly specially da awkward fenders not da rear…BT can’t deny it’s very competitively priced…but I wd go for cx5 2.5

• tishaban on May 30, 2014 at 7:19 am

VW at 179k vs Mazda CX5 2.5l at slightly less. Similar engine and safety specs. Questionable reliability for the VW…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
    • therealmaserati on May 30, 2014 at 9:41 am

So what? Every year u cry when u paying ur stupidly expensive roadtax while the VW owner pays a roadtax almost equivalent to a Myvi.

Besides the 2.5 Mazda drinks fuel like nobodies business. In the long run, the vW is a better buy especially since its the same gearbox as Golf Gti MK6. I have a mk6 gti and its absolutely damn reliable compared to the 7 speeders.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 27
      • Semi-Value (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 4:55 pm

mazda berjaya sangat. tak ada masalah, macai saya pandu ok.

vw pulak byk byk masalah.

• Car_fan on May 30, 2014 at 7:49 am

The Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI is priced at RM178,888 nett (or RM179,608, OTR without insurance).

Mr. Writer, what is “nett”? Including insurance? And then you also say it’s “RM179,608 OTR w/o insurance”? So if add insurance, tech pack, tinting, etc, it’ll be very close to RM200k for a 1.4L. Not a good deal for such an dated model.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • To all who prepared to get Tiguan 1.4 full spec, I suggest they spend a little more to Q3 1.4 and at least its AUDI although its share comment parts i.e engine and chassis

• seancorr on May 30, 2014 at 1:19 pm

I’d wait until I see the official spec list for the Audi Q3…who knows what features they took out from the 2.0 model leaving you with stuff like fabric manual adjustment seats…?

• gavin on May 30, 2014 at 8:00 am

Is it just me or are car interiors moving out of fashion as fast as consumer electronics?

i feel the dashboard is outdated already

• Tyler Durden on May 30, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Everything about this car is outdated. Its a bloody 7-year model and VGM is attempting to rip us off.

These bunch of confused Germans are mental.

• VW group strategies! Want to sapu all market levels.

Audi Q3, Now VW Tiguan.

From 2.0 to 1.4, yes, price is cheaper but take away specs (although those specs are definitely not wortg that much!!!)

Even though the price is slightly more affordable. Those who buy accord and camry 2.4 can have one as well. My question is how about the maintenance cost? I believe it should still maintain the same charge with 2.0 engine!

• Cbu or ckd??
    Anyone knows?

• if vw is going to go against the cx5s, asx, kuga, crv etc then they shd price it lot lowe… but then ppl buy vw for the perceived “luxury”

• Jinyiwei on May 30, 2014 at 10:12 am

Really? Who said it? Buying VW is NOT luxury, its about technology, safety & confidence in driving. I owned a Passat. My 9 months of ownership, imho..

Technology : Turbo-charged Engine & DSG
      Safety : Much solid built than Camry & Accord.

Listen to the knocking sound on the car body. Huge difference & you know you’ll be much safer in a VW.

Many members in Paultan.org always say VW owners likes to tailgate & drive fast. Its the car that so fun to drive, giving you more & more confidence. I used to complaint too why VW owners do that. Until I owned it, I know the reason why.

I would suggest them to walk-in to VW showroom & ask for a test drive any model with DSG, not Polo Sedan or Polo 1.6 ckd.

Engaged straight into ‘S’ & feel it. You will never forget the feel that you thought only Supercars can pull you hardest. My Passat gives me that enjoyment every time when I want it.

For a RM160K you pay, you get driving pleasure & enjoyment. Camry or Accord, I’ll get one when I m in 55 or menopause.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 33
      • seancorr on May 30, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Have to remember that here in Malaysia people think VW is above Honda & Toyota.

But for the rest of the world VW is on the same level as them and all 3 brands actually have good spec….but not here in Bolehland but I think that only applies to Toyota. Honda on the other hand is coming out with cars with decent spec these days.

• VWFan on May 30, 2014 at 9:10 pm

What is DSG? I thought I saw somewhere that it’s problematic. Anyone here can confirm?

• Other_Thinker on May 31, 2014 at 10:42 pm

Attention please, IIHS small overlap test:

Volkswagen Tiguan: MARGINAL 2/4
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vWNTysC1amg

Honda Accord: GOOD 4/4
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gOOMR-fTBWg

BEST; Volvo XC60: GOOD 4/4
        http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SnLWMA21Hq4
        + Turbo Petrol
        + Adaptive Cruise Control, Collision Warning + Auto brake, Pedestrian detection, DSTC, etc…

Malaysians are really screwed over when asked to part 160K for a what they get.

And really?? Tailgating and driving fast = fun car. Proton and Perodua must surely be the most fun to drive then :D

• also can ask them to give more details about the 5 years warranty?

not just “A five-year warranty with unlimited mileage is offered”

thks.

• mmaker on May 30, 2014 at 9:09 am

Subaru Forester looks like has more value than this Tiguan

• Makes_the_Q3_1.4_inferior_and_obsolete on May 30, 2014 at 9:12 am

The tech package a 10K upgrade makes the Q3 1.4 inferior.

A 18xK VW Tiguan is better specced than a 25xK Euromobil Q3.

Shame on you EON/Euromobil. Either AUDI gives that delearship to someone else, or there’s gonna be more faux pas like this.

• But Audi dealership is under EON group which in turn is crony also and can trace its linage back to Mamak kutty. so yeah.

• wow…this would steal the buyers of cx5 2.5 if VW can market it right. Just stick a big note on the dashboard saying “Please ignore the interior design, continous staring at the interior could cause permanent damage to eyesight”

• Drove my friend’s 1.4 TSI Tiguan in Aussie. Quiet cabin and refined ride quality over bumps and potholes are the only two plus points.

You will still find the jittery launch when you accelerate from stand still (ie at traffic lights) even when the auto engine start/stop has been disabled. Same goes to decelerating down to 20-30km/h, you can feel the vibration. Typical double clutch syndrome I assume, since I drive a Passat as well.

At least the Malaysian spec is much better (if you add the tech pack that is) than Aussie, we have no touch screen audio, no LED DRL, no leather seats and no fog lights throughout the 1.4 range. You can add them as option but the price is sky high on top of the insane labour fees

• Malaysian spec is always better than most Asia pacific spec. When i was in Aussie too (Brisbane), most Tiguan and Q5 i saw is bare spec without LED and no rear parking sensor. hence, u may noticed most Aussie wont and cant park rear in. Their cars are always head-in first. LOL. I asked local distributor, they said bare spec is usually affordable but if adding all additional spec equivalent to Malaysian spec. The price will cost a bomb even to an Australian. And on top of that, the car service and labour is crazy and when they change a part, they change the whole piece and not singleunit like how we do it in Malaysia.

• Wet Clutch Owner - Experience. on May 30, 2014 at 1:19 pm

That is the dual clutch in action. Always judder, my car rattles worse than a diesel. Trust me, wet or dry, all DSG cars are problematic. I hope VGM in Malaysia stop cheating Malaysians. Just give us normal autobox at a cheaper price. Nobody wants problems.

• macromedia on May 30, 2014 at 10:14 am

Overpriced like mad. I do not really care hump cant feel anything etc. If i were to put it down to value, and comparison to legacy, ASX etc, this is no value with it’s price. Wanna go for badge at this price, might as well all the way to BMW or Merz. Don’t waste your time as you will be dissapointed.

• Gracke on May 30, 2014 at 10:56 am

No mention about 4motion???? With or without?

• jjj (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 10:58 am

anyone can explain how the curb view works? is it lcd screens at the wing mirrors?

• curbview on May 30, 2014 at 10:59 pm

the side mirror will automatically go down when u reverse to give you a view of the kerb

• foxtrot on May 30, 2014 at 12:16 pm

GOD DAMN DQ200 AGAIN

• sudonano (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 12:27 pm

The Tiguan, well a 1.4TSI makes sense. Sufficient power. It is small, I have sat in the pre facelift model, compared to the CRV. Yes, the interior is a bit boring, but it is well built. The one I sat in had 60000 kms in about 3 years, and looked pretty good. Generall VW interiors are quite well built.

But the thing is what took VW so long to realise the dry DSG7 DQ200 was problematic and it would make sense to backtrack, scrap the 7 speed and put the older but more reliable wet 6 speed DSG. They really deserve all the hate for that.

Price is too high too. Yes it is German, but considering the size and it is a relatively old model, the tech pack should be made standard.

• intermilan on May 30, 2014 at 12:39 pm

Volkswagen Tiguan 1.4 TSI
    160 PS and 240 Nm
    0-100km/h in 8.9 seconds
    Top speed 198 km/h
    Combined fuel consumption of 7.1L/100 km
    Five-year warranty with unlimited mileage
    RM179,608, OTR without insurance
    (without RM10,000 Tech Pack)
    RM189,608, OTR without insurance (with Tech Pack)
    Wheelbase: 2605mm

Peugeot 3008 FL 1.6 THP
    165 PS and 240 Nm
    0-100km/h in 9.5 seconds
    Top speed of 202 km/h.
    Average fuel consumption of 7.7L/100 km
    Five-year warranty with unlimited mileage
    24-hour Peugeot Assistance service
    RM149,738.00, OTR without insurance
    Wheelbase: 2613mm

Both vehicles are in similar class, equipment level almost on similar level if VW Tiguan was to specified with the RM10K Tech Pack.

Price different?
    A whooping RM39,870.00.
    Or…
    18,985 Liters of petrol @ RM2.10 per liter.
    Which allow journey for 246,558km, which will take around 12 years to be achieved (on average) with the Peugeot 3008.

Basically a Tiguan is similarly priced as the FL 3008 and FREE petrol for 12 years. Imagine that!

More than RM40,000 once you add the insurance.
    And probably more than RM50,000 when you include the payable interest due on the loan repayment.

Why the huge price different for what is but a similar vehicle?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr on May 30, 2014 at 1:30 pm

Haha not to mention that its other competitors like CX5 and Kuga also have similar stuff and are priced RM10-20k cheaper.

It clearly shows that VW is trying to market its brand above the likes of Pug and Mazda.

In all honesty they should have sold just ONE variant @ RM179k with the tech pack included so that it does not like too expensive!

• While Jetta C-segment is Civic Altis Price range.

Tiguan is only a B-Segment SUV.
    should be priced in the RM120k range.

• intermilan on May 30, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Tiguan is a C-segment SUV.
      Look at the wheelbase measurement of 26xx mm and overall length of 4,300-4,4xxmm.

Generally, B-segment SUV should have around 2530-2550mm wheelbase and overall length around 4,1xx mm.

Fact is, VW do not have any model in the B-segment SUV yet.

Their product development strategy missed out on this segment and their had admitted as such.
      If not mistaken, they are doing something about it and shall only have a model to offer by 2016.

For the time being, Nissan Juke, 2008, Captur and few other B-segment SUVs are capturing this segment without challenge from Europe biggest player.

Agreed that VW Malaysia really should priced it much lower, but they had never did this sort of thing and will probably never do it, unless they decided to change their pricing strategy / image position in the market.

Having somewhat successful in making a lot of Malaysians viewed them as ‘premium marque’ with position just slightly below the real German premium marques, they will want to defend this image by their pricing.

Beside, who don’t want a fatter margin when they can get away with it?

However, VW did had a bad year in 2013 when they only managed to sold 9,538 units compared to 13,003 units in 2012 (down by 26.6%) when the 2013 market actually grow by 4.47% YOY.

Perhaps another bad year in 2014 is required to jolt them out from their fantasy.

Lets wait and see if they’ll managed to hit their 20,000 units target in 2014.. Hahahaha…

• It is sad to see VGM provide such lousy after sales service and doesn’t do anything to solve the DSG problem.. I love VW cars and is always eyeing on the Jetta for my next car. But after seeing the feedbacks from it’s owners, I’d stick to my Preve. :/

• Ray (Member) on May 30, 2014 at 2:57 pm

But then, uncertainties are still present. The 6 speed wet clutch still has problems, just that it’s a lot lesser than the dry clutch ones. In comparison, I’ve not heard of any problems coming from Mazda. Owners are in general (whom I know) are quite satisfied with their cars though. So yes, I’d pick the Mazda anytime, it’s larger too, on a side note.

• quite interesting but it’s too late to consider..not sure whether my decision to go for Ford Kuga is right coz this Tiguan get a lot of positive comments as comparison to Kuga.
    OK.. don’t mention about CX5.. i know it’s a better all-round compact suv but 5-months waiting list is too long..

• Michael Horn on May 31, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Whoever still buys VW in Malaysia are plain dumb dumb. Crappy quality and terrible after sales service. 3 friends driving VW with same major problems is not coincident.

• Anton Forker on Jun 01, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Heard many stories about VW quality and breakdown. And worse part services and etc etc…. My old Proton Gen-2 still working well, just wear and tear to fixed. Scare to change to VW…. better consider Toyota, which is much reliable, and spare part easily can get….

• Hahahahah on Jun 01, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Better go for Ford KUGA (1.6 Ecoboost) come with 6speed normal Gearbox less headache

• Aiyo jeremy top gear also say mazda cx-5 is better loh but more people still buy vw tiguan in uk because…. social status mah!! lol

• I have tried Kuga and CX5 2.5L. Some kuga specs are nice like push start, locking system and the boot opening/closing design. Only thing I don’t like it, no rear camera (still can’t figure it out how to replace with 3rd party HU) and both front seat are too narrow for me. Maybe I’m big size. I really find the width for leg room is pretty small. The power wise is so so. Although it is a 1.6L turbo but torque response not that fast. By the way, Kuga is not using dual clutch gearbox. The shift stick is too close to the air cond. button, and some others button too therefore it block the visibility.

Mazda CX5, 2.5L. Sounds quite powerful for 2.5L engine inside but this is a totally disappointed. Not that powerful as you think. Comparison same capacity 2.5L which is from old Murano, old Murano power responsive are much better. Interior is not as big as Tiguan although the size look bigger.

VW Tiguan 2.0L (tested), I haven’t had a chanced to test the 1.4 Tsi, therefore I won’t talk about the engine. Interior are the biggest among all here. No push start. Solid build. Compare the pillars design, all VW pillars design are huge. Doors hinge are cutting out from a thick metal. If you all have chanced to inspect the car, pay more attention at the door hinge and pillar design. VW are more solid build. Good for side impact protection.

I have no chanced to test drive a Peugot. No comment but Peugot resale value will scare me to buy this car. Also servicing problem. I heard you need to spend a long time for waiting even with appointment. I heard they won’t service without appointment.

Sometimes buying a car depends on your luck. Don’t get fear of trying. You won’t spend a car for your whole life. Experience it.

• Kamal on Jul 08, 2015 at 12:08 am

I think the Mazda CX5 is way better than the Tiguan. It’s fully imported, reliable and fully loaded.