New system to ensure subsidised diesel, petrol is sold only to eligible commercial vehicles, starting Sept

RON-97-petrol

Starting September 1, the government will introduce a new system to ensure subsidised diesel and petrol is sold only to eligible commercial vehicles, Bernama reports.

Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) secretary-general Datuk Seri Alias Ahmad said a similar system for private vehicles would be implemented in October or November, with details to be revealed at a news conference soon.

“The government is finalising a new system for about 3,500 petrol stations in the country to ensure the sale of subsidised diesel and petrol is made only to genuinely eligible vehicles.

“The government targets savings of RM9.8 billion through the implementation of the new system which is assured to be more efficient and effective,” he said on Saturday.

He added that the government was confident that the new system could curb abuses and leakages, hence economic wastage, in the distribution of subsidised diesel and petrol.

Until the system is implemented in September, KPDNKK has limited the sale of diesel and petrol by kiosks at the Kelantan-Thai border to 600,000 litres per month each.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• niterunner99 on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:01 am

Hope you don’t blame me for being a skeptical.
    How is the GOV track this initiative?
    What happens if a non-eligible vehicle owner decides to ‘tip’ the pump attendant to get subsidised rates?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 7
    • Don’t worry the government and the higher authorities will hold a national meeting at the famously known “lets not give a fck” office.

• Same L0r on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Soon the restriction will be increased to “Only Proton cars entitled to subsidized fuel”.

Government no need pay extra money, but Proton is given more PROTECTION, as Dr M wished.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
    • azrai on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:59 am

The saving is for Panda breeding program lorr…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 5
  • Vader (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:06 am

What the.. Again???
    Last time so called mykad system already let few billion masuk pocket to establish the system, and now start another new system?
    Stop the corruption first and we can save the money more than that!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 6
    • implementing this system cost 9 billion and end up save 8 million

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 5
      • kazanixm on Jun 02, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Curious, where can i get articles or information that gov going to spend 9bil for the system. Would love to share that

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 18
        • yankeepapa on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:26 pm

read between the lines

how many gov projects have come within budget?

but how good is the follow up after implementation? more laws means more pocketmoney for some.

• This exercise to curb subsidize petrol or diesel smuggling is good… Just introduce the long overdue Euro4 diesel please.. Our neighbors have been using it for so long. We deserve cleaner fuel for our car.. I have been holding myself from buying diesel cars simply because our fuel grade isn’t good enough. Long term maintenance is a problem with diesel of our quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
    • bro,it is not easy for refinery to simply change their crude feed for euro4.need a pretty neat strategy to avoid lost to them. plus they usually have contract already in place to buy crude for certain amount of time.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
      • You sounds like that is a dead meat problem to the refinery. How many years we have been using lousy quality diesel fuel and how many years other country have already been advanced into fuel grade higher than Eu4?

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:38 pm

Then, forever no need upgrade fuel?

Bodo, O&G buat duit bergunung-gunung, suruh upgrade refinery sekali je merengek nanti jadi losses, takleh bagi bonus 8, 12 bulan. Butoh aa

• sgarrista on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:06 pm

err… can you enlighten me which refinery in MALAYSIA does refine diesel and which o&g company operate it?

and according to your statement which company gives bonus 8 to 12 month and how does their work?? do they work permanently with the company or freelancing contract in which in their contract stipulate how much bonus they will get if they did a good job cause i reaaallllly love to work with that company

• Orang Cerdik (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:11 am

nanti bisjut dan royi mahal!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
  • Ah Vier on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:13 am

Ya, right… RM9.8 billion. Saving all these money and spend on the unnecessary, again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 7
  • kudus on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:14 am

Government is trying all sorts of ways to reduce the deficit. Any idea this oil producer country is making per year and still burden the rakyat?

Well try to work a way to fight the inflation now and stop complaining for the government. There is no use finger pointing the government, we all make the decision. Take it and fight on.

Question, when will Ron95 go up? Heard coming very soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 9
  • 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:25 am

Didn’t they try this with fishermen? What a roaring success that was.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
  • Terryble on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:34 am

Really dunno what those smart ass has in mind…every time when they have this kind of smart ass idea…the rakyat suffers~~

hopefully it doesn’t complicates the whole refueling process~~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
    • What you said is totally wrong! You can call them “ass” but they are 100% definitely not “smart”! :-P

• I wonder how the system works?

Camera with face detector and link to citizenship department and LHDN to decide if you’re eligible? or detecting car number plate? Orang kaya will just use fake IC to register their car then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 6
  • Steve Jobs on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:39 am

OMG.habes my 20 years old W140.LEL.

• concerned rakyat on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:44 am

like that might as well abolished subsidy once and for all la.. nut head.. wonder what are those pea brain thinking.. car price already sky high.. now want reduce subsidy pula.. the one who hit the most is rakyat!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • expected another wave of BN (Barang Naik)!!! suck!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 6
    • they will tell me, it is closely monitor to ensure there is no wave of barang naik.

• kl fella on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:52 am

what about private vehicles running on diesel? bmw, landcruisers, prado, etc? don’t simply remove subsidies without revising the ridiculous taxes on these cars. it’ll be a double whammy for us tax payers

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • the driver on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:00 am

Another system to beat by the smugglers. When will they ever learn, as long there is a reason to break the law for gain, there will be a way to break it. Unless the system ties everyone including the user to gain access to subsidized fuel :)!

• mustafa on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:04 am

RM24.8b set aside for fuel subsidy in 2013…with this system will safe RM9.8b..that is nearly 40% saved…. that is a lot…. will the middle class be the one who is going to suffer again…

• Blue-traveler on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:04 am

When this hit the mkt, there WILL be another round of inflation. Most people don’t know how “hard” it is for companies from SME to small business to apply for the fuel card. Pug the current current loop hole abuse by the current card holders, and the govt WILL see a huge saving. (I.e. One:-99% of the small time fisherman “loan” their card for a price, Two:- please monitor the near boarder petrol station. As if they can’t tell an est of how much a 1 to 2 ton tuck usually can fuel up…. And etc)
    And finally if you, “Damn!”, Umno govt going to increase price to near mkt price, where is the reduction in car tax. You “Damn!” BN, govt said that high car price due to tax is needed, as the tax is being use to subsidised the low fuel price. So if increase one, the other must reduce la!
    Note I didn’t use the C word. Hypocrite umno cyber people.

• why take so much trouble to categorist the car owners status that are not eligible for sub Ron95 ???? by doing so you need to involved so many parties as well so many procedures ( that’s $$$$ )… why not just simple implement from now on all the new car sell below rm100K are only fitted with Ron95 engine and otherwise are with Ron97.

• Joe Radzif on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:14 am

Yawn…

same flow different stories…
    who are the cronies?

• sadly that we don’t have a smart govt

• No need to give subsidy. Sell at market value. Nothing will happen.

• dando on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:26 am

I see the trend now… everytime win by-election.. next working day announce barang naik!

• dando on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:27 am

I see the trend now… everytime win by-election.. next working day announce barang naik! Yebbadabadooooo

• tkhengong on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:32 am

The only logical and sane implementation is to remove diesel and petrol subsidy – give us Euro 4 standards and lower the price of cars. Why bother with another system to curb illegal sale of diesel? Only the cronies will stand to benefit; on its design and implementation i.e. if any smart card technology is involved in its implementation. Currently, there are already congestion and queues at petrol stations located in residential and commercial districts during peak periods and weekends. I certainly hope the new system will not result in long queues to fill up petrol.

• seancorr on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:52 am

After they robbed us billions worth of subsidized fuel NOW only you decided to take action. Makes us think we’re fools paying tax for nuts eh?

• wow, with RM9.8 billion saving, they can buy 3.267 million wall clocks at RM3,000 each based on Auditor-General report

• limited 200 liter for Diesel or Petrol per month, if exceed must pay a market rate, if raya go back to kampung, already 50% used, another 50% for sure not enough for works, jalan-jalan, another new way to cheat our money from our pocket, for sure all the items outside the price will increase like NASA rocket, enoughlah BN, really enough, enforcement team makan duit, then need our rakyat to compensated.

• Tampon on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:08 am

Why everytime after small election, BN will announce the good news?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:40 am

Before gov want to take the subsidy petrol away from citizen users.. please take out the Duty as well..

Jangan nak makan dua2.. enough paying duties for decades. People deserve better cars on their choice.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:44 am

Scrap the tolls also..Scrap NAP..

Then I can survive if the petrol keep afloat like Ron97..

• Barang Naik Lagi on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:46 am

31/5 – BN won Teluk Intan. Cheers guys, this is their present for us.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:48 am

One thing we learned over da yrs is dat 3 words never end up in one sentence,thy are ‘government,system and implementation’

• Denaihati on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:54 am

i hope new system will success. RM9.8 billion will save. this is not easy solution, smuggler also keep thinking and also petrol station owner collaboration is essential, give some petrol station incentive to keep them always give info. life CCTV to UPP, i think.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:11 pm

Just abolish the petrol and diesel subsidy. Let market forces prevail.
    As Chinese saying, “Short pain is better than long pain”

• tishaban on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:21 pm

I would like the government to have a dialog with the actual users and come up with a proper solution for fuel subsidies. This “strict father figure” type governing is insulting the rakyat’s intelligence. The lower and middle class are being slowly squeezed yet the millionaires can now save RM200-300k on their next hybrid Mercedes…

• kl fella on Jun 02, 2014 at 12:26 pm

it just shows that those who thumb down the comments here don’t understand the phrase “double whammy” or makan dua2.. thanks for the G’s brainwashing and propaganda all these years

• Stop making complain. Don’t be childish! We are the one who choose the government. So we must fully support their decisions. First 3 years we will suffer. But the next 2 years we will have more candy coming.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
    • huih….i thought you were going to say “first 3 years we will suffer. But the next 2 years we will have more suffering coming.”

• I think what he was trying to say is “first 3 years we will suffer. But the next 2 years we will get use to it already.”

• If the gov implement euro 4 and increase the price at market price , Definitely u will not affort to pay for the petrol/diesel…

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 4:16 pm

beribu ribu tahniah pocket saya berjaya

• it reminds me on 2005, when many diesel vehicles don’t have fuel to run

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:35 pm

I still remember. . People asked high price for my kancil Ex at that time..

Sold at good price.. bot a vios in 2006.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Kei kar will rule the road. I am ready.

• bossX on Jun 02, 2014 at 9:07 pm

If I were your boss I would sack you because you use working time for surfing internet. You are not productive and competitive enough for my company.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Who are you to judge my work? Lu sapa?

My achievement among the highest now.

Don’t talk about productive with me..

Im not using the Internet. . 24 hr on mobile.. 8gb data plan.

X kenal suka2 cakap…. otak kat mana?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Unfortunately. . Protong not ready. Still need protection. That’s the problem.

I think P2 is ready.. subsidy on petrol won’t go forever. It is inevitable. They ll take it sooner or later.

They did it once.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 02, 2014 at 10:26 pm

And frankly, that incident proved we can survive un-subsidized fuel price.

About time abolish fuel subsidy, and bring car price to market value than today’s crazy tax scheme.

Those that say good prices will naik, butoh laaaaa. Ko compare harga barang skrg ngan time Badawi naikkan RM2.70/L, time ble lagi mahal? Minyak turun pun, kalau harga barang nak naik tu, naik la dia. Bazir duit je subsidize minyak, buat kroni kaya je.

Bagi kita market rate minyak n keter, buang subsidy n tax. Abis citer.

But u know i know why this inefficient system must continue.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:05 am

Ok tokmoh.. glad we agree on this. Yes I did survive Pah lah time.. fortunately my Kancil loan finished at that time.. people complaining. . I still ve no problem refueling. . Roaming everywhere during hard time.

With proper management. . Yes we can deal with fuel hike.

Unfortunately. . They want mkn dua2. . Tax mau.. keep proton alive.. subsidy mau tarik. This the problem.

Now saya hold new car purchase. This news is not good. Better look for fuel efficient cars.. enough to move around.. easy on your pocket.

• Murderer on Jun 02, 2014 at 6:07 pm

STUPID!!

• Son of Sam Loo on Jun 02, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Petrol price going up? Sell your kimchi car to my daddy and buy a Hilux.

• I hope they have done a SWOT analysis before deciding this new system and a big challenge stop abuse this involved implementation of security measure of verification and authentication of malaysian car owners and reliable source of this information comes JPJ malaysia. And legal actions (fines/jail terms) for convicted by the court.

A better security features in a system can also be a burden to users as to pump petrol as more step process to be done before you get fuel to your car. These problem can be due to user problem, fail authentication (device problem),disputes of verification etc.

Who going to apprehend a suspect of fraud at the petrol station, is petrol shop owners are taking this risk? Is there a way to stop corruption of this situation?

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 02, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Now, if u look back years ago when 95 is introduced. ..u will realised it is irrelevance. ..99% of petrol car can run on 95, even a luxury car which cost.more than 500k. By comparing price difference of 97 vs 95 (5%) and the extra milage of 97 (5 to 10%), 95 project is making government subsidy more!

Now, u want another skim? Let see ….

• what about the tax for cars?

• Frustrated guy on Jun 02, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Why must penalised the whole country? This is an excuse to make money and used for ridiculous stuffs that not even benefit a single citizen here. I don’t understand why they can win the last election.

• Because they are non malaysian selected government…

• kl fella on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:59 am

don’t you realize BN for the first time in history lost the popular vote in last election? PR won slightly over 50% (i think 50.8%) of popular vote (not seats) and therefore, BN is still clinging to power due to their tactics of seat allocation. if this is a democracy system that relies on popular vote, BN is finished. it’s high time we should start practicing “total representation” that is based on the premise that every single vote cast in elections has to end up with some representation in parliament, whether directly or indirectly, forming coalition governments. what we’re practicing now is from the UK, first-past-the-post. it’s bloody outdated!

• mautau on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:16 am

INI KALI LAH!!!

• WhiteFox on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:02 am

this definitely bring me to the street to anti them gao gao.

Last rise already cause me enough pain to my spending and i can’t imagine the next raise will bring what damage to me.

• superbird #43 on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:18 am

Meanwhile, in East Msia…..

• memalukan on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:22 am

The country is becoming bad to worst. Whole world is laughing at us and still acting so ignorant!

• Abolish the fuel subsidised scheme once and for all will save billion and billion of dollars. At the same time abolish the excise duty and lower the import duty for all CKD and CBU cars will cause government to lose billion and billion dollars of revenue. So what BN do? Dont want to save and dont want to lose also. Why? Ask BN lor…