2014 Nissan Teana L33 launched – RM140k-RM170k

TeanaGirls01

We’ve already reviewed it and even compared it to its 2013 predecessor, so there’s not much else that have yet to be told of the 2014 Nissan Teana. Well, all but the prices, that is. Just launched today, we now have those vital figures: RM139,800 for the base 2.0XE, RM149,800 for the better-equipped 2.0XL and RM169,900 for the top-of-the-range 2.5XV (all prices OTR with insurance).

So yes, that’s a fair bit less than than the estimated RM142k-173k prices (which are identical to the 2013 model’s retail pricatags), with the lower two models matching the well-received Honda Accord like-for-like. The Teana 2.5XV, meanwhile, undercuts the Accord 2.4 VTi-L by RM3,000. The Toyota Camry 2.5V? That’s beyond RM180k.

Let’s start with the engines. The 2.0 litre models get the same MR20DE CVTC engine with 136 PS at 5,600 rpm and 190 Nm of torque at 4,400 rpm. Moving to the 2.5 litre variant, a new four-cylinder QR25DE Twin-CVTC motor replaces the older car’s famed VQ-series V6 engine. It gets 173 PS at 6,000 rpm and 234 Nm of torque at 4,000 rpm (loss of 9 PS, but with 6 Nm more – the latter peaking 400 rpm earlier than before).

Paired to a new-generation Xtronic CVT gearbox (70% new components, 40% less friction and wider ratio coverage), fuel efficiency remains as one of Nissan’s strong points. The 2.0 litre models are claimed to return 13.5 kilometres per litre (7.4 l/100 km), while the flagship variant does 13.3 km/l (7.5 l/100 km). For comparison, the old Teana 2.5 V6 consumed 21% more fuel, at 10.5 km/l (9.5 l/100km).

Nissan claims to have improved the new Teana’s refinement and NVH as well, with new engine and exhaust mount designs, improved body rigidity and 30% more noise absorption materials. Also working to isolate the passengers from road vibrations are the seats themselves, which now feature multi-layered paddings.

The front thrones, by the way, are dubbed ‘Zero-Gravity Seats’. Nissan says it used findings by NASA to design these thrones that come closest to a “neutral posture” – a relaxed position that the human body takes in a weightless environment. They’re also designed to improve blood flow, thus helping to reduce fatigue over long journeys.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_039

While the 2,775 mm-long wheelbase has been kept unchanged, the new Teana has improved rear knee- and leg-room by having revised front seat back design and interior B-pillar and door covers. The boot has grown to 516 litres too, up 10 litres from before.

Moving on to the list of equipment, all models get dual-zone automatic climate control, rear air-con vents, full-colour Advance Drive Display within the instrument cluster, cruise control and keyless entry and start system. Tilt/telescopic-adjustable leather steering wheel and 60:40 split-folding rear seats is standard fare too.

Opting for the mid-sped 2.0XL adds auto lights, powered front seats, leather upholstery and a 5.0-inch colour screen head unit with built-in Bluetooth connectivity and reverse camera. Self-levelling xenon headlamps, auto-dimming rear view mirror, sunroof, nine-speaker Bose Premium Audio System, LED mood lamps and a powered rear sun shade are all reserved to the range-topping 2.5XV.

No matter which variant you choose, however, the long list of safety features is identical. Six airbags, ABS, hill-start assist, Active Understeer Control (AUC) and two ISOFIX anchors are all fitted as standard across the range. First the Sylphy, and now this. Well done, Edaran Tan Chong Motor. Well done indeed.

Offered as optional extras are V-Kool 4mil Security Film for RM4,200 and a trunk tray for RM250. The first 1,000 customers will get the former at a 50% discount, as well as special interest rates as low as 2.48% per annum.

Unique to Nissan’s D-segment sedan offering is the “Teana Total Care” premium service package, which includes direct access to service managers, specially-assigned priority service bays, a dedicated Teana technical support team, as well a three-day follow up verification call process to ensure customer satisfaction. Assurance of delivery times and the ability to book service appointments through call/SMS/online are also thrown in.

2014_Nissan_Teana_L33_Malaysia_045

Assembled in Tan Chong Motor Assemblies’ Serendah plant, the 2014 Nissan Teana is available in five colours: Storm Blue (new), Tungsten Silver, Diamond Black, Bronze Gold and Brilliant White. All variants come with a three-year/100,000 km warranty.

Tan Chong targets sales of about 500 Teanas per month for the remainder of this year (compared to 1,600 units of the outgoing model sold in the whole of 2013), and plans to increase its market share within the D-segment from five percent currently to 25%. Tan Chong is optimistic it will be able to achieve this in 12 months, thanks to the improved specifications and lower prices compared to the previous generation Teana. The new Teana also has approximately 40% local parts content, which it says will translate to lower maintenance/repair costs compared to the previous gen.

You can refer to our new car research site, CarBase.my for the new Teana’s complete list of technical details and equipment. And while you’re at it, do compare it to its direct competitors as well to see if the Nissan is really the right car for you. Also read our comprehensive test drive report.

michelin-200Brought to you by Michelin
Switch to MICHELIN Pilot Sport 3 for your driving pleasure. The Nissan Teana 2.5 XV tyre size is 215/55R17 for the MICHELIN Pilot Sport 3 which retails at RM727.

Preferring to drive cars rather than desks, Hafriz Shah ditched his suit and tie to join the ranks of Malaysia’s motoring hacks. A car’s technical brilliance is completely lost on him, appreciating character-making quirks more. When not writing this ego trip of a bio, he’s usually off driving about aimlessly, preferably in a car with the right combination of three foot pedals and six gears.

• What say you Mazda on the price of your 3? Or Honda on the price of your Civic?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 11
    • And not to mention… Altis..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
      • policeman on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:33 pm

They say “haha, you little Teana still won’t be able to outsell any of our models”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 18
        • ApplePie on Jun 03, 2014 at 9:30 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 132
          • That’s cute hon, now run along back to your mental ward before the doctor finds out!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
          • bisakeris (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:22 pm

if u r honest, well boy, i wish u all the best.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 0
          • AVH (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:20 am

LOL, I had the same dream. Mind you, product design courses are rare in Malaysia (I only found KLIUC and LimKokWing having that course, didnt like the enviroments of either), and in Malaysia, you cant progress far either. Designing its not like taking a paper and draw it like this and I want this done, no it goes waaay furthur. AutoCad 3DMax and complying to the worlds regulation standard and than customer expectation…..it will drive you mad!!

Anyways, do tell if you found any course in product design, I might work for a few years and re-take another course, it is also my dream to design a car, something that people love.

• I see the two girls in the pix, I stim gila gila. The whole night I shot lizards on my ceiling.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
          • Same L0r on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:19 am

Have to admit that this is a good deal, might affect Camry sales a bit. But don’t worry, the sales is still strong with long waiting period. Camry brings out a successful man status, does Teana?

One thing to tell the Proton fanboys: Proton pose NO THREATS AT ALL to our sales. People buy Proton because it is cheap, not because it is good. They will go for Vios if they can afford more.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 13
          • vioser on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:56 pm

Vios is moving coffin, very dangerous.

• what say you Nissan on heavy car with less power,
      uncle look, uncle slow , uncle with underwear steering wheel
      if this car got into Top Gear, I wonder what Jeremy gonna say about it
      ‘what a hideous looking underwear wheels, it is looking back at you all the time when youre driving, urghhh’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 36
    • are you comparing high spec c-segment with low spec d segment? ofcourse their price will be similar.

• MG250 on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:03 pm

Because Mazda 3 gives you 162hp instead of 136hp. Fast 6 speed transmission instead of CVT. Handles far more superior and much better fuel efficient and to top it off its a World car of the year finalist. Above all it will not makes you look 10 years older when you sit in the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 8
  • AVH (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:33 pm

About the same price for the Accord, with better safety features(4/2 airbags more) and (debateble)looks. Thou interior I (and opinion do differ) would jump to the Accord’s in a heartbeat, Because seriously…..5 in colour screen? how do you see the navigation, supposed theres one(wasn’t stated in the article)

Personally I would say both car are evenly match, both are good looking in their own ways, both are decently spec and both are rather comfortable as per reviews. Both sits in the middle ground with the Mazda 6 and Camry sitting on the extreme ends of each sides. Well done TCM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 6
    • Nisan on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Still cannot beat the Honda Accord.
      And who wants the outdated boring car where Accord is nicer than this shit.Already 2014 still don’t have DRL.
      Even the new Camry GX can sell more than this Nisan shit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 117
      • Bob_B78 on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I don’t understand the reason for you bash Teana.
        All Teana models offer attractive price with reasonable kit level.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
      • ya, already 2014, still no DRL…even sylphy have DRL….lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 9
        • policeman on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:48 pm

ya, no paddle shift also, Proton got.

Small LCD screen, how to watch DVD? Proton got bigger screen.

No auto wiper. Even Proton got auto wiper. Very dangerous for female drivers since they’re dumb and they don’t know they have to turn on wipers when it rains. Now how can they see the road ahead when the windscreen is all full of water? Beware! On a rainy day if you see a Teana in your rear view mirror, move away. Or speed up and get the hell away as quickly as you can.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 35
          • saddap on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Shut up !!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 11
          • Nissan on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:37 am

and proton Superma (Ass) have higher 9.9L/KM FC than even the old 2.5L V6 uncle car. Good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 16
        • Bob_B78 on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:09 am

Wow, you comparing a 1.6l against a 2.5l engine.
          Very sorry to offend a genius like you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
          • bob_doh on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:17 pm

Bob_b78…a 1.6 engine consume more fuel thn 2.5 engine…dont u feel that 1.6 engine even wif turbo is a loser?…i thk u r the one “over genius” to give such idiotic comment..

• human on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Better u test drive … compare ur accord with a new teana .. confirm 80% ur accord lost

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 26
        • Have u tested both new Nissan Teana and Honda Accord?

• depend on everyone preference bro ,
          well teana feels underpower
          for me teana are good for someone prefer comfort like u, but less taste on the looks.

• zeebee on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:17 pm

so you honda accord because of DRL

• That one you can add anytime at kedai abang / after market headlamps

• In my opinion, interior is very important especially for those who sitting in the car for more than 2 hours per day, we can’t deny that Honda Accord have the best interior design.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • DRLisforsuckas on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:22 pm

lol at Nisan ramen who likes DRL, yr accord looks like some bengified wajunk with its stupid drl. The only ppl who does DRL good is Audi. All the rest are posers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • mr1031 on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:03 pm

saying something is shit when u don’t ever drive and feel it..what a shit head you are..

• giggle on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:01 pm

is DRL that important? only those who are shallow will fancy things like such and Teana is not meant for people who are shallow.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Not driven the new accord so my statements could be a little unfair to it.

But looking at it spec to spec I’d say the Nissan holds it own very well. full airbags and cruise control. The fuel numbers are quite impressive for a “normal” engine. Honda’s choice to omit cruise control is rather poor.

No idea if the suspension setup here is any different from the North American Altima unit I drove before, but as a comparison, it drove better and more comfortable than the rather stiffer sprung Honda and NVH control is waaaay better than the normally/historically thinly padded Honda.

In terms of looks, its split both ways, but the Nissan looks way better in the flesh. It actually provides a more convincing presence than the downsized Accord.

I would still think the Accord’s gearbox really needed 1 more gear. From our experience with the rather higher strung twincam K20A with the 5 speed, it was missing one more ratio…both 4th and 5th are overdrive gears. It just doesn’t have enough torque to pull on 4th…leading to nasty 2 gear downshifts from 5th to 3rd (which at very high RPM) for overtaking… a problem the more powerful 2.4 seem to be able to handle.

In this respect, I think the CVT in the Nissan is quite good. Its one of the better CVTs in the market with very little of the old rubberband effect CVTs of yore. This new one should be even better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
      • AVH (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:11 am

Wait…..Last time I checked, Honda does have cruise control on the Higher 2.0l and 2.5l.
        Anyways, I will always put the only major flaw of thye Accord at its airbags, it is to all definition, pethatic. Where Honda can put 6-airbags at their smallest offering so far, the City, the Accord makes do with only 4, and thats only on the top spec 2.5l.

Other than that, spec for spec in terms of toys, the Accord has the Teana beaten. The Teana does excels with Sunroom and 9-speaker BOSE system(Honda does have an 8-speaker Premium, not sure on that Premium thingy). LED DRL, LED-HID, BLIS-Lanewatch(Which is funny cause the last Teana has it and this dont), Navigation, larger 8″ display(I think largest in the segment)are a Accord’s specialty. In terms of performance in Malaysia anyways, the Accord has more power while the Teana has more Torque, but difference is marginal, usually +/- 10PS/Nm, produced around the same rpms.

The Accord lets it down with a very contemporary styling, thou sharp, theres nothing to shout about. And of course pethatic airbags. The Nissan, excels at standardize excellent safety and comfort, NVH, zero gravity seats, but let down at interior features; that 5″ is honestly VERY small for a car, and mounted so low in the dash, not something that is very user intuitve. They are very evenly match and even thou yes its a Nissan CVT……I just (very personally) prefer the paddle-shifted 5-speed in the Accord. It might be slower(small selections of ratio) but I still like the responds that a proper gears give.

• airbags numbers for better safety ?
      go watch in youtube channel – IIHS
      they will prove how efficient the safety equipment during crash.
      for example the optima, lots of airbags
      but still lower crash rating.

• kangkong on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:39 pm

Altima in USA received top safety pick rating. The small overlap test (20%) collision test also rated good protection. This test can fail many Euro NCAP 5-star rated cars.

For example kuga has 5-star Euro NCAP but rated poor in this test.

• LeYuv on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Wow.. Pricing.. Not bad, Nissan.. Not bad at all…….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 4
  • lololol on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:39 pm

No built in GPS navigation???…btw good safety features offered compared to Accord & Camry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
  • Guest on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Would get this anytime compared to some overpriced C segment cars, even if it is just the entry level variant. The level of refinement in D segment cars are just unbeatable by those C segment cars.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
  • elgringo on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:47 pm

No more 2.5 V6 engine??

• Tan chong, what the hell you are doing?
    Only 3 years warranty?!!!
    Honda is doing good job!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 5
    • Agree, only Honda offering 5 years warranty, Toyota and Nissan still remaining as 3 years

• Superman on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:04 pm

The steering wheel looks like my underwear lol

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 8
  • bystander on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:09 pm

If nitpicking at the lack of GPS navigation capabilities is considered a negative for the Teana, then it says quite a fair bit about it compared to it’s competitors in Malaysian context.

• Sunita Dalton on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:09 pm

I personally think that this a good car and Nissan has got the price on the right end. I will surely sell off my Mazda for this. Good value and service in Nissan is good, so I heard. paul can you confirm if there is gps for 2.5 and any goodies ???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 6
  • Chandran Sivaguru on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:19 pm

wow NISSAN did it. I hope this car rocks like its previous model. bye bye Toyota and Honda. mazda was neva in the race. common teana and common uncles and taiko’s lets buy it….. hoooooottttt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 9
    • yeah you are right,
      but u will look older when driving this car.
      go on uncle.

• Annoynimouse on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:20 pm

Seems like a good car for this segment. I can’t seem to get over the looks, especially the extra long overhangs.

• Wyman Tang on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:34 pm

First 100 customers get 50% discount on what? the tinting and trunk tray?

• Ilikecars on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:36 am

“The first 1,000 customers will get the former at a 50% discount”
      when the writer says ‘the former’, he is referring to the tinting.

• AriefMohd on Jun 06, 2014 at 10:56 am

Wyman Tang, please improve your English vocabulary before commenting. You are making a fool out of yourself.

• 2.0 XE selling RM139K, same price with Mazda 3…. so…N or M haha….

• or…H

• policeman on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Nissan where got face value?

You mention Nissan, people think Sunny and Almera – cars for poor people. Imagine the shame. Nissan is no better than Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 42
      • Hey are you Honda/Toyota salesman?

Syyooooooohhh syyyooohhhhh!!

• kvsual on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:03 pm

Most probably.
          I really dislike Car SA, as they always critisize other brands. If smart enough, just give pros and cons of each cars by doing some study, but not talk bad about other brands infront of buyers. Just feel annoyed everytime face this kind of rude SA.
          There was a Honda SA saying the only competitor to Honda is Volkswagen, others cant compete! omg that makes me laugh! please look at honda reviews, there are so much! NVH of accord is poor! And VW? I rather get KIA/hyundai rather than problematic VW.

• FansCloseBashersCloser on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:54 pm

Nissan GT-R never come up in your mind is it? What did Proton do to make themselves better than Nissan’s GT-R?

• R u So Hai on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:43 am

Nissan can not beat proton?
        Erm.. means GTR lose to Suprima S

LOL

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:39 pm

Too late Nissan.. now we are talking about new fuel system. . Let’s see who dares to buy 2000cc and above now..

Salesman need to work hard lah..

Good luck.. hehe..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 24
    • kvsual on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:06 pm

Huh? There alots stil dont care and buying 2.0cc above car mate..There are too many rich ppl outthere buying prop and cars like vege.
      Nways, Ive done research on reviews, new teana havin the best fuel saving among others. Hope there’s a detailed reviews soon from Paultan =)

• SamShowedMeTheHilux on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Sonata 2013 can’t even get RM35k trade in

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 16
  • NISSpengAN on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:10 pm

Say RIP to all Nissan Teana rival !

• shawal on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:11 pm

No dvd n nav as cost option?

Neway good pricing..

Even the base model covers all d essential..

The XV party trick has got to be the bose speaker system…

Its frikkin bose la weyh…

• busan on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:32 pm

not mentioned whether surround-view camera being offered at all……

• kvsual on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:25 pm

N0, thats disappointed.
      There are alots Nice features being removed by Tan Chong! Thai and Altima version has BlindSpot detector, land departure sensor, Navigation, Tyre pressure indicator etc.
      It’s still a comfortable car, would be perfect if come with all these.
      Tan Chong, please be smart!

• _xXx_ on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:42 pm

WOW!!! 4mm thick bullet proof Vkool. I want!!!

• Stanley on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:42 pm

I am never a fan of Nissan cars.. But to be honest, for any average joe who yearns for a decent no frills D segment family car with decent specs and pricing.. This car ia definitely one of them.. Gotta say great work Nissan, esp not compromising on safety features across all variants (unlike Toyota). Great work with the Sylphy too. Let this be an example for Toyota and Honda to follow and not dupe us public for a ride..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • ah chai on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Like this car so much so that I think I wwould But it early next year.
    Is it just me or some of u here also expect some 10k cheaper as per najib promise of cheaper cars…

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Anyway thumbs up for the foldable rear seats.. at last.. Unfortunately not apply to new Slphy.

• Who is the kidney failure guy where put on the unfit coat? Macam orang gila….

• Nissan vehicle is 1st choice to those unable to buy or afford to toyota and honda due to nissan able to over trade with good price

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Another failure in the making for RM 139K.

The new Sylphy has backfire with the pricing on par with Civic and Altis.

Now Teana follow his footstep to commit suicide and sell at the Accord price.

Anyone who can not take the high depreciation for nissan car is advisible to go for Accord/Camry.

Accord or campry will beat this low resale value Teana that worth less than RM 80K after 2 years.

Wait for the big discount after 4 months from now when stock piling up.

I expect a RM 10K discount to be offered to clear all the stock after 4 months.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 36
  • Tracks on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Thumbs up to the all new Teana. Great safety specification across all variant.
    Although it won’t win any beauty contest, I don’t think it is old looking.
    For those who complained about resale value, well I personally think maybe it is because it is sold to 2nd hand car dealers. Individual sale normally would have obtained a higher price but have to go through the hassle to screen through non eligible buyers.

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:20 pm

>>>overpriced.

• Denaihati on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:47 am

also get “Teana Total Care” premium service package, that nice. nearest competitor don’t have this.

• Insider News on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:35 am

dont be fooled. their service center dont really care. management has direction but not necessary they will follow.

• I would still buy an Accord anytime oover a Teana, Camry or even Mazda 6!

Accord is sturdy & class of its own!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
  • yzlum on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:29 am

Why the 2.0 engine does 136 PS only while Honda 2.0 engine does 155 PS? The torque is same as 190 Nm

• never buy from tan chong. discriminate the workers base on race. malay and indian never get promoted to higher level. malays and indian foreman remains a foreman until die. chinese workers in tan chong gets pampered and will get kicked once the management feel threaten.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 25
    • nas = incompetent on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:33 am

hhahhahaha. so many datuk dato’ in the management you dont know ah? no wonder you are a foreman only.

• samua boleh on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:25 am

chinese people work is based on BRAIN and MERITOCRACY rather than on ass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Kamini Kushboodevi on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:03 am

ru sured. my bother working there as manager.

• this is not your blog, dude. If what you’ve said is truth, please go report in labour office..

• samua boleh punya on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:13 am

chinese work is based on BRAIN & MERITOCRACY rather than others on ass

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
    • Are you sure? if yes please report to police or labour office, if not please don’t bull shit here. Btw, your comment is very serious, Tan Chong can sue you anytime.

• Insider News on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:34 am

Teana 1600 a month? LOL

Camry can’t even sell 500 a month. Accord slightly >1k

• Tishaban on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:37 am

Any hints on whether there will be a hybrid version?

• Kamini Kushboodevi on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:58 am

I love it. I have to asking my husband to buying for me. which varien the best and value money. suggestion.

• macromedia on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:20 am

already got a teana (tin-nah: crazy bitch wife) at home, donch need another one!

• Adrian on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:30 am

Hey all, just here to provide a fresh opinion. open to arguments and debates but not unlogical bashing.

i was at the launch of the Teana yesterday in M.O. Yes the car might not be as the same level of the T&H (in terms of brand name strength)but seeing this car in the flesh gives me a new impression towards Nissan. The Teana was not done justice through the picture seen on the net (Kudos to Paul&Team for capturing the better angles of the Teana). The real car was sporty yet had an elegant feel to it. I hated the fact that the V6 was gone but the 4cylinder wasn’t really a let down either.It may be underpower to some but to buy a Nissan is to buy a sense of comfort and security (6A/bags,ABD,H/Start,etc.). I dont really buy the seat idea as i would feel more comfy seated in a Recaro but its just me. probably too old for that gravity seats.
    The interior trim is actually nicer in real life as well not as good as the Honda though but the its still acceptable for the D-segment category. T&H fans, just take a look at the Teana before saying anything that isnt fair. i’m not saying this is necessary a better drive than the Accord or the Camry but just try it out. it might surprise you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • NissanMakeTheGodzilla on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:12 am

Don’t forget, Nissan makes (or made) the following awesome machines:
      GT-R (R35)
      Skyline R34
      Skyline R33
      Skyline R32
      Sylvia S13
      Sylvia S14
      Sylvia S15
      240Z
      350Z
      370Z

What does H or T make?
      Accord and Camry, lol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • AVH (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Honde:
        CRX Si
        Civic Type R EK9
        Civic Type R EP3
        Civic Type R FD2R
        Integra Type R DC2 (arguably best FF car ever)
        Integra Type R DC5
        S2000 AP/1
        S2000 AP2
        NSX NA1
        NSX NA2

Toyota:
        Corolla AE86 (variants)
        MR2 SW10
        MR2 SW20
        MR2 SW30
        Celica 35 series
        Celica ST165 4WD
        Celica ST185 GT-Four Rallye
        Celica ST205 GT-Four
        Supra JZA70
        Supra JZA80

Your Move….

• Adrian on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:41 am

Nice Try:

1985 In Japan-hosted WEC, Silvia Turbo C is victorious
          Hong Kong-Beijing Rally: 240 RS wins team championship
          All Japan Rally Class C: Fairlady Z (Z31) wins championship
          1986 Le Mans 24-hour race: R85V, in first appearance, places 16th
          JTC (Group A): RS Turbo (DR30) wins Manufacturer’s Title
          1990 Le Mans 24-hour race: R90CP places 5th
          Nurburgring 24-hour race: Skyline GT-R (R32) is Group N class winner
          Spa 24-hour race: Skyline GT-R finishes 1st, 2nd and 3rd in Group N class
          Macau Guia Race: Skyline GT-R (R32) takes overall victory
          Australia Touring Car Championship: Skyline GTS-R wins class title, Skyline GT-R wins overall title
          JSPC: R90CP wins Manufacturer’s Title
          JTC (Group A): Skyline GT-R (R32) wins Manufacturer’s Title
          1991 Nurburgring 24-hour race: Skyline GT-R (R32) wins Group N class
          Spa 24-hour race: Skyline GT-R (R32) takes overall victory and wins Group N class
          Australia Touring Car Championship: Skyline GT-R (R32) wins championship title
          JSPC: R91CP wins Manufacturer’s Title
          J-N1: Skyline GT-R (R32) wins championship
          1992 Daytona 24-hour race: R91CP takes first victory for a team consisting of only japanese staff
          Spa 24-hour race: Skyline GT-R (R32) is Group N class winner
          Australia Touring Car Championship: Skyline GT-R (R32) wins title
          JSPC: R92CP wins Manufacturer’s Title
          1993 JTC (Group A): Skyline GT-R (R32) wins Manufacturer’s Title
          JGTC (N3): Skyline GT-R (R32) wins championship; Sylvia (PS13) participates in series
          1994 JGTC: Skyline GT-R (R32) wins championship
          J-N1: Skyline GT-R (R33) wins championship
          1995 JGTC: Skyline GT-R (R32, R33) win championship
          Le Mans 24-hour race: Skyline GT-R (R33LM) finishes 10th
          1996 Le Mans 24-hour race: Skyline GT-R (R33LM) finishes 15th
          1997 Le Mans 24-hour race: Nissan R390 GT1 finishes 12th
          1998 Le Mans 24-hour race: Nissan R390 GT1’s finish 3rd, 5th, 6th and 10th
          JGTC: Skyline GT-R (R33) wins drivers and team titles
          1999 Le Mans 24-hour race: Nissan R391 DNF; Nissan C52 takes 6th place
          JGTC: Skyline GT-R (R34) wins drivers and teams titles
          Le Mans Fuji 1000: Nissan R391 is overall winner
          2003 JGTC: Skyline GT-R (R34) wins drivers and teams titles
          2004 Super GT: Fairlady Z (Z33) wins drivers and teams titles
          2005 Super GT: Fairlady Z (Z33) wins teams title
          2006 Super GT: Fairlady Z (Z33) takes 2nd place in teams championship
          2007 Super GT: Fairlady Z (Z33) takes 2nd place in teams championship
          2008 Super GT: NISSAN GT-R (R35) wins drivers title
          2011 Super GT: NISSAN GT-R (R35) wins drivers and teams titles
          FIA GT1 World Championship: NISSAN GT-R (R35) wins drivers title
          2012 Super GT: NISSAN GT-R (R35) wins drivers and teams titles

• AVH (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 6:05 pm

touché

Honda:
            -Honda RA272 :1965 Mexican Grand Prix 1st place
            -Honda RA300 :1967 Italian Grand Prix 1st Place
            -Honda (Engine Only) 1986-1991 Formula 1 Constructors champions
            -Honda Civic Type-R BTCC (2005-2006 Manufecturers/Team’s Champion)
            -Honda Civic (2011-2013 Manufecturer’s Champion, Teams Champion)
            -Honda Chassis and Engine Champ Car, 1st place 1996-2001 Indy Car World Series
            -Honda (Engine Only)Indy Car, 2004-2011, 2013 1st place Indy Car series
            -Honda NSX , 1st place 2004 JGTC GT300 (Drivers /team)
            -Honda NSX Autobacs GT500, 1st place 2007 Super GT (Drivers /Team)
            -Honda HSV-010 Weider, 1st Place 2011 Super GT GT500(Drivers/team)
            -Honda CRX, tied 1st place 1988 SCCA / Escort Endurance Championship, TC group
            -Honda Prelude, 1st place 1995-1996 SCCA World Challenge
            -Acura(Honda) Integra, 1st place 1997-2002 SCCA World Challenge
            -Honda Civic, 1st place 2011,2012 SCCA World Chellenge
            -Honda Integra Type-R, 1st place 2003-2004 Asian Touring car series
            -Honda Integra DC-5, 1st place 2009-2010 Asian Touring car series
            -Honda Civic FN2, 1st place 2011 Asian Touring car series
            -Honda Civic, 1st place manufecturer champion 2013 WTCC
            -Honda Accord, 1st place 1996-1997 Japan Touring Car Champion
            (48 1st place)
            *Special mention:
            2008-2009 1st place SCCA World Chellenge TC= Acura TSX
            2013 1st place SCCA World Chellenge GT= Acura TSX.

Toyota:
            I give up listing all of them which include multiple GT, TC, LeMans, Rally and Formula 1 victories.
            [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_in_motorsports]

• R u So Hai on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:56 am

See what u want for normal D segment.
      Pros
      Camry – better and more service center, easy maintainance
      Accord – better performance in handling
      Teana – better comfort and safety
      Mazda 6 – better looking and new engine
      Passat – Powerful engine and safety
      Mondeo – Best power, handling, safety all in box
      508 – Full with accessories u want
      K5 – Stylish design

Cons
      Camry – Old tech, less safety features, pricey, NG looks
      Accord – High NVH, smaller outer body
      Teana – Less driver feel on CVT
      Mazda 6 – Smaller interior and space, especially rear.
      Passat – Poor after service and quality control on CKDs
      Mondeo – Best power, handling, safety all in box
      508 – Less reliability on electronics.
      K5 – High FC, lack of power.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:42 am

No DRL = don’t want to buy

• I dont know…but those seats look nothing special to me!

• Jaybond on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:18 am

Japanese (plus Korean) D-Class Executive Sedan Comparison test results:

1) Honda Accord
    2) Mazda 3
    3) Nissan Teana
    4) Toyota Camry/Hyundai Sonata

• Teana is aimed for people who enjoy quiet and relaxing driving. If sport is your thing then you are looking at the wrong car.

By the way, 6.5″ or 7″ screen c/w reserve camera and built in GPS will definitely look / function better. Hey Nissan you can even put that as Rm1500 option and still come out cheaper than 2.4 accord and 2.5 camry.

• messi on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:30 pm

also get “Teana Total Care” premium service package, that nice. nearest competitor don’t have this.

—————————

Yes, you will pay through your nose with the expensive parts from Nissan service center.

• V-Kool 4mil Security Film? According to V-Kool website malaysia the specification states that the 4mil security film has visible light tranmission of 50% which the front windscreen is against the regulation that was set by JPJ which needs to be 70%.

• ahmah on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:55 pm

I still prefer the beige interior from old teana.

With this pricing at RM139K, I will opt for accord or camry which is more demand at the 2nd hand market and high resale value as compared to Teana.

But wait, I can wait for Teana discount after 3 months from now to reduce the high depreciation cost.

• Jabra on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Some people just know how to bull in commenting how bad that this teana compares to other models. Have you tested out the car before you talk about it. Ya, it’s already 2014, so what’s with comparing proton and this new Teana. What’s the point of commenting, just continue driving ur proton then. Try driving something luxury compares to your proton, see what’s the difference. See which car will be chosen. Teana has lower their priced compares to previous owned models. Can consider in getting one for medium to higher end income peeps. Kindly don’t compare different segment/catergory cars with this new teana. It’s totally out. If like that I can also compare Porsche with teana.

• kangkong on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:03 pm

i will drive 1 storm blue in next few weeks. Who care RV? Only Sam Loo Abeng cares. Outdated uncle Abeng only will talk about RV, you think you buy the car for selling not for driving ah?

• tehcho (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:03 am

I am really impress on the design and spec given especially on the 2.0xl, but I have doubt on the after sale service whether up to
    standard or not?

Design= impress
    spec= good
    comfort = need go test drive first , but I guess should ok
    reliable = not sure
    power = so so , but gd enough for family
    after sales service = ??

Maybe some previous owner can share some experience.

• Honda and Toyota will be the king again for B, C and D segment car when Nissan trying to be the “Tai Koh” and price their lowest specification of new sylphy at RM 112K and new Teana at RM 139K.

The New Sylphy and Teana is a good car but their pricing strategy has help the Accord and Toyota to fight for no: 1 spot for year 2014/15.

Honda and Toyota sale man will need to thank TC for putting a high price for their good car and hope TC will maintain their pricing and no discount at the later stage.

Nissan Almera has provided the surprise to T & H (old Vios and City) during year 2012 by putting a lower 10% price (no additional safety feature and hard plastic) as compared to their competitor thus become the top sale volume in year 2013.

This time, they are trying to price their new product (sylphy & teana) on level with T & H and Nissan sale man will need to get a new job soon.

As what my friend from Nissan told me that the new Sylphy is dead now (sale was bad) and no one will consider to buy Nissan if TC trying to priced their car on par with H&T. He hoped that TC will provide big discount to increase the sale or they may trying to get a new job soon.

Nissan need to remember that they are no:3 in malaysia with highest depreciation cost among the 3 japanese brand.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 9
    • kvsual on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Good or bad pricings is kinda subjective. For me, it’s considered reasonable priced provided with this quality Teana, Have you testdrive one? I guess U dont even bother to try it.
      For buyer who interested in D-segment cars, do you really think they really care the difference between 5-10K? (this money quickly gone by just buy tinted screen, coating, accessories, or 1-3months loan installment).
      If they priced it lower or too low just to fight the sales, then ppl would definitely say You r buying cheap cars, nissan only for poor, 300K+ murano nissan is for poor too.
      After test-drove both Accord and Teana, I could definitely tell you the Teana would be the overall winner, better exterior, more comfortable interior especially the leather seat (firmer lumbar support) etc. Please do more research/review from net on this Nissan ALtima/Teana, how many awards they hav obtained from net. And ANCAP scored 5stars wheares Honda Accord only 4stars, the lowest among its precesdor (note: 6airbags in oversea version yea).

• Good or bad pricings is kinda subjective. For me, it’s considered reasonable priced provided with this quality Teana, Have you testdrive one? I guess U dont even bother to try it.
    For buyer who interested in D-segment cars, do you really think they really care the difference between 5-10K? (this money quickly gone by just buy tinted screen, coating, accessories, or 1-3months loan installment).

—————–
    Sorry, I will opt for T and H if the pricing is on par with them because most people is very concern above nissan high depreciation cost. (higher than conti and Korean)

I presumed that you have not done a survey on the 2nd hand value of Nissan teana when you talk about RM 5-10 difference as compared to T&H.

AS for your info, there are many 2011/12 2.5 teana selling at RM 100K and dealer taking below RM90k for 2 years car which is RM 70K depreciation cost and my friend 2008 2.4 accord trade in value is RM 83K. So, the difference is RM 20-30K

If what you said is “right” where no one will bother above the depreciation cost then Nissan will finish off the Accord and camry to be the no :1 for 2014/15.

Let wait for 3 months from now (Oct 2014)and see your verdict right or wrong. My prediction the new teana will be giving RM 10K discount and new Sylphy will provide RM 15K discount.

• 2.0 at 140k with 3 year warranty? For new engine? Better i buy Fluence 2.0 with 115 only. With 5 year warranty and 5 year free service. i dont understand why Renault can reduce the price but Teanna and new sylphy cant. ALl under TC.

• Head Hunter on Jun 22, 2014 at 2:27 pm

I’ve driven this car and somehow I find it a very nice car to drive. The PROS:
    1.) The seats are great, comfortable and I didn’t even feel tired after driving for a while. No bone jarring ride, felt great with the Zero Gravity seats.
    2.) The engine, when put into Ds mode is very responsive, makes it more ummph when you try to overtake or get off the set of traffic lights. Although it might not be as powerful and as urgent as the mazda 6, but this is adequate enough for the family man reminiscing his youthful street racing days.
    3.) The legroom, the rear seats are great for 6 footers, a good plus point and a deal maker.

The CONS:
    1.) The in car entertainment could have been improved with more features and a larger screen. This totally negates the beautifully set up Bose arrangements for this car.
    2.) Slap bang Infiniti’s M56s wheels and this Teana will have the looks of its posh sibling.
    3.) A very quiet interior, but tyre droning still noticeable especially with the stock Michelins.

OVERALL :

I find this car to be the ultimate entry-level banker’s car. It has the looks, the frugality that we are so calculative about but it also has the punch that a gentleman would give without being overly sweaty. Beats the Camry, yes, hands down. The Accord loses this one but just by the skin of its teeth. The Mazda 6 is the perfect ride but for value of money and best bang for buck, this is just spot on.

• nkhong on Jul 26, 2014 at 9:56 am

The sterling of teana looks abit odd to me. It looks like got bull face or dog face on it.

• summicron on Sep 07, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Some really artsy shots of this Teana here:

http://blog.mingthein.com/2014/08/02/on-assignment-new-car-launch-part-i/

• thronald2828 (Member) on Oct 02, 2014 at 11:37 am

I just got one unit 2.0XL everything Is awesome except
    The assembly….
    The most heartache part is the front speaker vents on RT & LT are not leveled (1cm discrepancy)….

Even worse or this is show room teana for sale all have variable degree of high on left and low on right….

Except the test car… Which the speakers are leveled…

Claim warranty….? Yes I did appt on 14 October 2014…

I bet no one will have confidence the superior NVH will be preserved…(some more my car in sarawak)

Am I getting rejected stock or there is no single ruler in the assembly line…..

If one is really particular about assembly…I think just go with anything else which is not assemble HERE…

Or I should have just buy and drive a camry with flawless assembly but 2000 1AZFE w 4speed auto.

Sigh…

• ezioauditore on Jun 02, 2015 at 12:05 am

my 2.5xv just went out last friday…what i can comment for this car is only SUPERB!!! no regret at all…

• Wolfpack on Apr 19, 2016 at 10:52 pm

I wish to have D segment car next, hopefully is Teana