New system for sale of subsidised fuel – motorists with monthly incomes of RM5,000 and below, and sub-2.0 litre-engined cars, to qualify for full subsidies?

2013_Toyota_Vios_fuel_test-003

UPDATE: The government has denied plans to limit fuel subsidies (click link for more info) to those earning less than RM5,000 a month owning cars with engine displacements below 2,000cc.

A Sin Chew Daily exclusive has revealed some details on the new system for the sale of subsidised diesel and petrol to eligible motorists that’s set to begin in September for commercial vehicles and October or November for private vehicles.

Citing Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs ministry (KPDNKK) sources, the report indicates that under the new system, motorists with a monthly income of RM5,000 and below – and having cars with engines displacing under 2.0 litres – will qualify for the full fuel subsidy allowance.

Those with a monthly income of RM5,000-10,000 will be entitled to 300 litres’ worth of petrol and diesel subsidies, and those with monthly incomes of over RM10,000 may not be able to enjoy any fuel subsidies at all. Also, foreign motorists and foreign cars will no longer be entitled to buy subsidised fuel.

The source told Sin Chew Daily that the government is considering whether to upgrade the MyKad to include information on the bearer’s eligibility to purchase subsidised fuel, or issue a special fuel card.

diesel-pix-wm

Motorists will likely have to register with JPJ and provide relevant details, such as personal or corporate tax information, to collect this fuel card.

According to the source, the card will contain information such as the bearer’s name, address and monthly fuel quota. It will need to be swiped at petrol stations before filling up.

If a motorist has exceeded his/her fuel allowance for the month, he/she will have to purchase the (additional) fuel at market price, the source said, adding that the cards will also help the government trace motorists’ fuel spending.

However, all this has yet to be finalised, and KPDNKK is still exploring recommendations from relevant industries, the report states.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• How_about on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:02 am

How about people with RM10000 and above don’t pay taxes to the government? Cause I think fuel subsidy is the only thing that the government provide to the middle income class right now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 288 Thumb down 73
    • How_about on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:14 am

“However, all this has yet to be finalised, and KPDNKK is still exploring recommendations from relevant industries, the report says.”

Also how is the rakyat represented in this. Only corporation are “human” now? The actual human aren’t.

What about people that hides behind corporation, declaring lost every year by use of clever accounting. They are the ultra rich but they continue to not pay a single cent for taxes and enjoy the benefit of the fuel subsidy. Meanwhile, the government continue to victimized the middle income. The hard-working, honest working adult how’s neither rich nor poor. Why is Malaysia stuck in the middle-income trap? It’s the continued policy by people like this that favors the industry and the rich 1% in Malaysia.

Pick up your shit and start enforcing tax loop-holes and get a fuel subsidy system that works instead of this loop-sided, favors the rich and victimized the poor idea.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 277 Thumb down 9
      • Same L0r on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:37 pm

In order to make it works.

1. Government need to a big IT system supporting it. – Government spend money

2. Government need to spend more on maintaining the IT system – Government spend money

3. New MyKad need to be issued – Government spend money

4. JPJ procedure need to be updated to support the policy – Government spend money.

5. Fuel prices go out – Malaysian pay the bills.

End of the days, does government actually save money or spend money???

But one thing confirmed is Malaysians are paying more!

There so many ways to rob you, even at the name of balancing government finance or creating better future bla bla bla…

For a few to live rich, all Malaysians have to die poor.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 352 Thumb down 17
        • Hidden due to lowcomment rating. Click here to see.

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 283
          • kelso on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Oh I read just fine, I think you’re missing the part in between the lines.

One Like for Same L0r

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0r on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:54 pm

Do you know how much it would cost the government to implement such real-time countrywide coverage IT infrastructure to identity the MyKad and its available monthly quota? This system also need to link with JPJ database also.

You don’t know, do you?

You think it is your cheap outdated PC bought at the IT shop beside cybercafe? A firewall could easily cost a C class.

Do you know how much it cost to set up a similar system years ago back to 2010?

RM200mil bro! Stop dreaming in public restroom!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 181 Thumb down 4
          • hantu on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Yeah, you absolutely correct.
            Save millions but spend 10 of millions or more. As same as throwing good money after the bad money.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 2
          • If it can save a Billion, it worth to spend a million.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 30
          • Jac Li on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:08 pm

Save a million? Or billion? If the gov can save 10billions but not use the money wisely, better don’t “save” as those “saving” are squeezing fr the poor!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 3
          • This what happens when you have a government who has ministers and officials who have no brains, pass exams by no merit, get scholarships by no merit and all they think about is kahwin empat their whole existence.

That is why you get decisions like this. No logic. Hello, Malaysia is an oil producing nation. There is nothing to subsidise. What you produce, you cannot subsidise. You are producing it. Unless you buy somethign from another country, then you can say you subsidise.

If you grow vegetables in your backyard and eat them, you cannot tell people that your vegetables are subsidised. You have grown it. It is yours.

The same with our oil. It belongs to the rakyat of Malaysia. What is there to subsidise?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 7
        • ahoka on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:21 pm

The hideous system in the human century and Discovery channel should record this if it kick off.

The best way is to stop subsidized fuel and removed car tax, I bet everyone will not make noise on fuel if car is much affordable.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 5

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 139
          • Same L0r on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Malaysian die poor because to feed rich cronies like you.
            Malaysian die poor because people like you earn big money but didn’t pay tax
            Malaysian die poor because people like you only thinking how to make big money, regardless where does the big money come from, and where the big money goes to.

Because people like you, the government keep having deficit. Once they can’t cover the debt, they ask the tax payer to pay more.

For people like you driving a S 500 is not rich; for tax payer like us change from car to bike, from bike to bicycle is not poor.

There is a similar creature for people like you: parasite.

And you should be thankful of what you have now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 7
          • It is very sad to see some of my countrymen still using material ruler to measure their richness.

Rich in knowledge, love, faith and moral may not buy us expensive food or lux cars but the utmost is, it will lead us in achieving a happy life ever after. It takes someone rich in the said virtues to control the money. Not otherwise. Else, you will be poor for your entire life.

i’m rich coz i know how to grab the opportunities. I’m rich coz i work smarter. And, whoever i am, i always richer from day to day. Thanks for the god blessing too.

Btw, i am nor a crony neither a slave to shallow minded political people.

I’m just a humble malaysian who want to see our nation prosper and progress in harmonious and peaceful manner. Cheers :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 95
          • What talking you ATMD????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
          • Same L0r on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:32 am

When you ask the cronies or those parties members working “hard” and “smart” get a cut in government project, they all say sh*t like “I’m just a humble malaysian who want to see our nation prosper and progress in harmonious and peaceful manner. bla bla bla bla bla…”

They only want to be richer and richer, but where the money comes from? As long as it is from their own pocket, who give a sh*t?!

• Lawrence on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:17 pm

There’s one simple way to achieve the similar goal: Government reduce/remove high taxes for cars, remove tolls, and reduce income tax. Then you can remove the subsidy to petrol completely.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 0
        • We understand the government too well. When they started new “enhancement” project, that enhanced their pocket as well. Rich will get richer, poor will get help and middle class just have to look up to the sky asking WHY.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 1
        • armandd on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:12 pm

All systems in the world need money to work. For many Malaysians nowadays, everything the government introduce they take it as negative. The government can’t satisfy everyone, especially Malaysians who complain about everything, from the day they were born until they die. I think even in the grave also they will still be complaining.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 46
      • Have you heard about the GST? Spend more and you get taxed more, unless you don’t spend at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • btree (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Weak idea from weak people under weak gov.
        what else do we expect

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 3
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:41 am

The higher income, the higher tax to be paid to government, but not entitle for petrol subsidy?
      I am not yet reach RM10k per month, but this is not fair to them too.

Besides of the normal motorist, the commercial vehicles should be our main concern. If the commercial not get the subsidy, definitely the transportation cost is increase, eventually every single item’s price may increase and the rakyat is the one who surfer in the end!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 198 Thumb down 9
      • it’s Communism.

Malaysia Practicing.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 96 Thumb down 4
      • kl fella on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:41 am

the rich will be subsidizing the poor.. then what’s the push to work harder to become rich? so that you can help the person who’s poor? LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
      • Francis on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:49 am

No Worries bro.. Those rich fella earning 10K above driving ferrari can buy those bangla proudly distributed freely IC to get the fuel card.. Got problem anymore?

I can see this as business opportunity…!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
        • Lawrence on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:21 pm

earning 10k can’t event afford an BMW, where got Ferrari lah bro. The more you earn, the more tax you are paying, end up 10k earning is actually poorer than 5k earning.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 2
          • Francis on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Ok! Repharase… Earn 10K, or Ferrari owner…

Now earn 10K delare to govt and pay tax but side income earn another 10K dont declare, still have 15K to spend. Cantik?

• Tankie on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Bro, read carefully 10k above means it can be any number except numbers 10k n below

• brink on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:16 pm

You want to help needy or less needy people? Richer people pay more but they still have more left to spend. Poorer people pay less / don’t pay but still have much lesser left.

Go figure.

• Wonka on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:10 am

What about those people driving an old volvo / merc and have no money for a new car? What about those rich people who don’t declare their income and skip their taxes but driving all those expensive turbo cars? Basically, the government is telling us to sell our car, get a Honda EX5, and balik kampung with it in pride! And you can expect those cronies to say: Tak cukup duit ke? Hidup susah ke? Kan abang dah bagi BR1M.. RM500 cukup untuk hidup satu tahun mahhhh.. Ada duit extra utk Raya lagi.. Hidup mana ada susah?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 185 Thumb down 10
      • weeble on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Most people don’t have it

• Vader (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:29 pm

You remind me.. =)
        M from BN: RM500 cukup untuk hidup setahun!
        N from BN: RM150 per head per dinner is standard price.

Dunno how they can be wakil rakyat???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
    • Wolpe on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:12 am

It’s simple, let this plan go ahead.

What you can do to go around it:
      1) Have your unemployed relative (eg wife, mum, brother, sister, even grand dad) to pump your car

2) Use your 2nd car Myvi to pump it then pump it out to your E250?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 147 Thumb down 5
      • E250 will drink the fuel like no tomorrow and you will end up out of fuel in the middle of you journey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 16
    • there’s where GST comes to the rescue dude

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 81
      • Same L0r on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:55 pm

GST comes to rescue their pocket or our pocket?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 3
        • Francis on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:32 pm

Of course their pocket la… GST briefing alone already spend 1.6M (Thank You for your contribution) Then they need more $$$ to implement this Fuel Card to make it a fruitful planning..

• Lawrence on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:37 pm

Foreigner (aka Singaporean) can get refund for GST wer if not mistaken!

• Haha.. Singaporeans, thais, smugglers, smugs, must be bloody mad right now.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:15 pm

How about cheap hospital & medical fees at clinics (and despite the frequent moans about the quality of Malaysian hospital, I find the quality of certain hospitals like Hospital Ampang & Putrajaya to be exemplary), free education (books etc) for Primary & Secondary students & subsidized foods, just to name a few.

How about low tax rates – at maximum you’re only paying 26% and the amount you get back in subsidies will surely exceed that amount.

It’s unfortunate that the fuel subsidies have to go, but it’s now getting untenable with consumption going up at an alarming pace. Pretty soon we’re going to be a net importer of oil rather than an oil exporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 38
      • How_about on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:31 pm

tiadaid.

1) Do you really go to GH for treatment and endure the long wait? And how many people live and Ampang & Putrajaya? Also, most middle income health care is paid for by their employer, I’m not sure if this is how this works for you, so there’s zero benefit here. Unless of course if you work for the government, which kind of explained your bias.

2) Free books. I’m pretty sure this applies to low income earner. Certainly not for middle income.

3) Primary & secondary public school. Sure and we all know what quality education we get from our public school.

4) Low taxes: Your point being? That a lower income earner don’t pay lower taxes. I hope you have zero aspiration to reach 10K. Because I was there and I earned crap. But I work myself up and be true and honest and pay my taxes. Meanwhile, the drug peddler, the illicit DVD seller, the AP holders, the immoral people running corporation continue to evade taxes and obviously the easier way to squeeze more money by our government is to squeeze the middle income earner. Cause running after these folks will involved actual governing…

Taxes is already applied to all income earner at it’s proportionate rate. Except for the afore mentioned the drug peddler, the illicit DVD seller, the AP holders, the immoral people running corporation. Malaysia is having a credit squeeze because we are not going after these folks and it’s just appalling how we enforce the law. Fix this, instead of doing the weasel route of squeezing more from the honest tax paying public.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 4
        • drMpower on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:30 pm

u were born in GH, isit
          so thats already beneficial to your parents. ya ya ya now u will tell me u werent born in GH

for gods sake grow up

• How_about on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:27 pm

I might be just feeding the troll but here goes.

I was born in GH yes. Did I dispute that? No. Was my parents middle income. No.
            There were dirt poor.

So how is you bringing up the fact that I was born in GH dispute the argument that middle income is being squeezed to generate more income for the 1% rich and the tax avoider?

Your contribution to the argument Mr. M, is zero. So why don’t learn how to keep to the topic and stay in topic and debate the issue and not do personal attacks. Or did you read my reply at all.

• cibusat on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:35 pm

i think govt hospital is already damn cheap if you compare to the fees charge by private hospital. but i agree quality of service can be improved but its not that far off from private in some govt hospitals.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Black Dog on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:20 pm

Our no brains Govt at work again. Yet another system clearly open for abuse before they can even solve the diesel abuse system.

They think everyone works in the Govt and have a fix income?

They don’t know that we can use our mother-in-law, grandfather, neighbours wife etc names to buy fuel?

They can’t even decide what cars are above or below 2000cc (Turbos, hybrids, old cars, rotary engine etc)

And hundred more reasons. We’ll become the laughing stock in the world again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 8
    • amfin on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:36 pm

We must not forget that the rakyat actually paid almost 2 years of fuel usage via duties and taxes and not forgetting the cronycally enriching AP papers. SO FOR SOLUTION:1)Just float fuel prices based on realistic market price price of AN OIL PRODUCING COUNTRY, 2)Stop subsidising fuels and gas for Independant Power Producer (IPP)too, 3) Price car according to their actual prices by the car manufacturer themselves not via cronycally CONnected GLC, 4) Not forgetting to promote safe,reliable,well connected public transport and 5) Promote EEV (Energy Efficient Cars) or better still Electric type vehicles from small commuter (BTW KFC is using electric scooter to send your fried chicken to your house) to big commercial trucks and buses.Senang cerita.BTW I came up with this idea in less than 10 minute He He He,no need to kaji kaji BS.Peace y’all

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 3
      • Wah then you are genius!

Naaaahhhhhhh, you dun give enough details. If you send this as a research paper, it’ll probably ends up in the rubbish bin!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
      • sotong88 on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:22 pm

I agree with all your points except the last one.

Please don’t make the assumption that electric cars are cleaner. Our Malaysian electricity mainly comes from burning fossil fuel (coal and gas). so essentially the electric cars also contribute to CO2 emissions.

EEV cars should ONLY cover cars such as hybrids or the Mitsu mirage, attrage, new fiesta etc. NOT until 75% of electricity generated in Malaysia is coming from a renewable energy source such as wind, solar or hydroelectric.

• silver on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:15 pm

i can see big tauke sending their driver to pump fuel for them lol

• “you tak suka, you keluar la!”

unbelievable stupid system

i am already paying so much tax and i still have to pay full price?

cmon, its either no subsidy or got subsidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • hway de Cruz on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:02 pm

simple… first u hv to proof u r citizen… please supply original documents of ur dad and his dad and hia dad’s dad birthcert. then please supply original of citizenship of all parties involved…. then ensure the originals must be in mint condition. any folding or dirt will otomatikali disqualify. next submit ur income tax details at least 50 years… if u dun hv that enuf data to submit, u just hv to wait until u gather all these data lor. next supply ur documents of ur driving licences, even expired ones and must be in mint condition, otherwise please go to jpj to get it done. after that u hv to engaga a lawyer to screen thru all your documents and contribute a sum of 500,000 to tabur kasih susah manyak. next wait 60 years for processing… after that u get ur card eligible for 2 litres of fuel of ur choice to use monthly

• So How_about, you don’t want public roads, airports, sea ports, defence, police, banking regulation, securities exchange, public hospitals, public univiersities, schools… etc?

All this no need tax money to fund?

• pondan on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:43 pm

Gov has been telling us that fuel prices have gone up and can’t further subsidise further…but…

Hey.. fuel price is priced against USD and since US has been printing so much money that causes fuel price to go up against USD.

If MY is not printing Ringgit, our Ringgit should have been much higher against USD and we won’t have an issue paying for fuel cuz a stronger Ringgit.

Now, our beloved gov has joined the US gov running up their money printing press and devalued the Ringgit (that we experienced it as inflation) so much that everything is bloody expensive.

At the same time, who has swollen those excess printed Ringgit? Where did it goes?

Printing Ringgit causes inflation which is a form of tax to all Malaysian cuz it steal your saving by reducing the Ringgit worth.

Everyone can have a sense of it by referencing what you are paying now vs 6 years ago.

• Refuel service. on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:28 pm

This is great idea. I’ll have the full subsidised special fuel card. Booking is open to bring me to lunch and dinner and lets stop by the station, i’ll let you have cheap 1000 liters.

• calcutta on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:56 am

malaysian are more like communist country now
      poor ppl pay low tax
      poor ppl drive cheaper lower tax car
      rich pay more tax to gov
      rich buy high tax car,more tax for gov
      gov use their money feed the poor
      why rich ppl who pay more tax can’t enjoy effect of their tax money?

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 237
    • Low Budget on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:57 am

That is not wise at all, the whole thingy is subject to abuse and fraud and lots of paper work to track a person’s income or nationality.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 8
    • not-so-john on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:25 am

yeah… wise indeed

“qualified” ppl will be standing beside petrol stations “lending” pay-per-use subsidy card..

wana enjoy subsidy ? pay me rm5, here.. take my card.. give me back when you finish and i can re-lend it to others…. 1 day 20cars x rm5 = rm100 easy peasy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • People who object this proposal is either filthy rich or a fuel smuggler. So please just do it. Please use the billions in savings to a better cause ie cheaper cars

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 45
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:28 am

Judge the poor and rich by the car engine 2.0litre or not is an stupid system.
      Look at those European luxury cars, they all having down size engine but with turbo or supercharge, so these cars buyer consider poor?
      On the other hand, the rich one already paid the taxes in other area too and why they are not entitle for the petrol subsidy?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
      • That’s in Europe, we cannot get that cars much cheaper here. Here, to buy it with small amount of wage is same with suicide.

• yundei on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:13 am

Let me see. Sub 2 litre cars? Preve turbo [email protected], altis 1.8, elantra 1.8, pug 308 turbo,, jetta 1.4, civic 1.8, forte 1.6, cerato 1.6….etc

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Merc C class wt the 1.8 liter engine, Audi A4 1.8T,Merc A class 1.6, BMW 316i (1.6 liter)…most european cars are downsized turbocharged….u get what i mean

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 93 Thumb down 3
      • xiper (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:11 am

but if their income is below 5k, it is not possible for them to own that car…..u get what i mean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 23
        • senooi on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:19 am

how about those 2nd hand car with 2.0cc and salary is bellow 5k, it’s not fair for this… u get what i means?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 6
          • Government is out of fund, you get what I mean

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
          • xiper (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:20 pm

yeap i totally understand that situation, this system is not that easy to implement.

The Camry ACV30 is still selling good in the second hand market and it is at a price of a new Myvi.

But when this is implemented, the resale value of vehicles above 2000cc will be greatly affected!

• thefact on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:42 pm

haha..they can help fuel up their dads, husbands 528 too right? still a 2.0…u get what i mean?

• OnePoint8 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:14 pm

I have an Elantra 1.8 and also a Viva. So I will manipulate. If they start using income as qualification, then I transfer car ownership to my college kids, and I will under declare my income to the income tax department.

• idiotsatwork on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:15 am

based on cars below 2.0?

I got 2 cars. One 1.5, other 2.5. How you gotta track ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
    • Useless government on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:45 am

Yes,mine also 2 cars,one City 1.5 and Civic 2.0 and i will fight for the subsidized fuel for my 2.0 Civic.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
      • 2.0 cars the actual cc is less than 2.0, no problem there.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 0
        • Absolutelty right..the 2.0 car real cc usually 1996,1998..its still below 2..no prob i think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
          • just wonder on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:52 pm

err…. did you all read carefully??? look for this..
            “Also, foreign motorists and foreign cars will no longer be entitled to buy subsidised fuel.”
            so.. wonder is civic is made in malaysia?????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 49
          • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:09 pm

In fact this is to reply to the reader “just wonder”: “foreign car ” does not mean car made from other country, it means car driven/owned by foreigner in malaysia. Go brush up ur english so that u cause embarrasment on ur own.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
          • “just wonder”, stupid fellow you. foreign cars means cars that come in from singapore and thailand. not imported cars.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:05 pm

That’s why it includes income level as well. If you can afford a 2.5L car, it means you won’t be eligible for subsidies even if you sold that car and kept the 1.5L car.

• noobplan on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:27 pm

the only way i think that can be tracked by government to implement this is maybe they check on car plate, to see it is registered under who, so it can be entitled which subsidies benefits they are going to have. mayb they get a system to able check by just tracking car plate? but it seems costly

• seancorr on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:18 am

Screw the subsidy and sell it at market price. Any plan these fools do will surely have a loophole for people to exploit.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 124 Thumb down 3
    • idiotsatwork on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:26 am

Yes I agree totally. In Malaysia, they just “create” all this nonsensical projects to make money. Final outcome will always be a failure. You want examples? Look at the Home Ministry Immigration Biometrics – FAILED. Look at the DBKL ITIS traffic control – FAILED. Look at SmartTunnel – FAILED. Look at AES Cameras – FAILED. Projects in Malaysia are “created” by each Ministry just to make money , not to solve issues

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 3
      • Anti CO2 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:24 pm

And no body get sack for wasting rakyat’s money!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
      • I wouldn’t consider the SMART tunnel to have failed. It is still one of the fastest way to reach the city without having to jam through Sungai Besi highway.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
        • GDrogon on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:58 am

it spent few hundred thousand ringgit to wash after a water disputant ,do u know it? money even fastest then your traffic

• You cannot outrun the AES unless you move very very fast

• Low Budget on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:00 am

Little wonder Boleh Land cannot leap to the fully developed country status what with many policies that work against the flow of efficiency.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:32 am

Yes. And reduce taxes on other items like cars.

Gomen, jangan pandai pandai.

• Yeah, remove the subsidy and the car excise duty/tax at the same time.

• I agree. Do away the fuel subsidy. But at the mean time do away all import and excise duty for new cars.

Practice transparency by setting up portal that public can access and see all the cost breakdown of each model on sale, The list details a model’s open market value (ex-factory price plus shipping insurance and delivery charges), Customs duty, GST, registration charges, before adding up to its final selling price at the dealership.

This is practice in Singapore and believe it or not BMW actually outsold Toyota in 2013.

• 1. Must be ultimate joke
    2. Those with connections will bypass the system
    3. End up paying bribe to fill petrol
    4. middle class will die faster
    5. end up seeing new luxury cars paying for cheap fuel
    6. Clowns running the system

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 171 Thumb down 10
  • THIS COUNTRY IS FULL OF FCKING SH1T, CORRUPTED SH1T.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 5
  • Sattian on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:24 am

Gosh, another card? Please make full use of Mykad

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
    • OnePoint8 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:19 pm

When buy petrol, if need to ‘cucuk’ Mykad into the machine at petrol kiosks, then the clever crooks can skim information from Mykad readers at petrol kiosks for other use.

• Sekarang ini Mykad sedia ada pun kerap rosak cip walaupun setahun tak digunakan. Kad ATM yang setahun beratus kali digunakan pun masih berfungsi dengan baik. Bayangkan kalau Mykad rosak sewaktu nak isi minyak, tak huru hara jadinya? hohoho..lebih rela daftar kad keahlian stesen minyak yang percuma berbanding asyik tukar Mykad. :)

• jwrx (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:27 am

This is the dumbest thing ever.When will the gov realise…the only possible way of doing this is to float the price of petrol? Then you can rebate back cash to derserving ppl via BRIM. All this talk of petrol cards, mykad tracking etc aint going to work.

It takes just 1 corrupt official to hand out hundreds of subsidy cards, it wont stop foreigners hiring kampung ppl to use thier fuel cards. I hope they realise that a RM215k BMW 316i has a smaller engine then a Proton Inspira

1) dont base anything on CC its stupid and outdated
    2) dont base anything on cards/mykads that can be abused

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:34 am

“Seperti tikus membaiki labu.” Remember this peribahasa?

• OnePoint8 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:20 pm

There is a saying, stupid until cannot stupid anymore.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Anti CO2 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:32 pm

Exactly! Why do you think the G dont wanna float the price?! No subsidies = no loop hole = no escape = no fraud = no $$$ = no way!!!

• another impractical joke from govt to squeeze from middle income. i think i better open a food stall

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 1
  • if im earning 10k per month…easy..i will ask my siblings who earn 5k below go pump petrol for me..LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 1
  • BIAS!

• Buy Mercedes E200 lar. 1991cc only. Entitle for subsidy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Vomit blood to maintain it unless you are rich enough.

• Of course must be rich enough la. Instead of buying a E250 or C250, should buy E200 because the capacity is smaller than 2000cc.

• Its about time u stop complaining and start giving some solution

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 27
    • Answer on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:20 pm

ppl are complaining the stupid proposal. The solution already in front of you. Remove fuel subsidy period

• Solution is remove all these people from the office.

• Thursday on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:17 am

Dato, it’s about time to cancel your plan and start retirement life.

• AHAHA on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:38 am

stupid plan, menyusahkan rakyat je…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 6
  • Haripal on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:39 am

Seems like the government has been resorting to squeezing the people in order to get more money to cover their loopholes… The biggest wastages have been corruption and inefficient governance of the federal government. The only way that can fix the problem is to change the current government to reset all these.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 8
  • ModernM on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:39 am

This, if true, is utter nonsense, higher income taxpayers pay a lot more tax to support the economy!!! Why are they not entitled to subsidy???
    We used to tolerate expensive cars because, at least, we get subsidised fuel. And in fact, government has been priding itself that our fuel is the lowest in ASEAN in order to justify levying hefty import/excise taxes on cars. NOW WHAT?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 10
  • Outdated on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:40 am

With new tech, Mercedes, Audi and BMW are well below 2.0 today. I buy a 1.8 car that cost 400k and make my daughter the registered owner with zero income.

Wrong method to use to determine who gets subsidies.

Another outdated and poorly thought out policy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 1
    • the can u come with a solutions regarding this matter?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 41
      • ongtu on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:53 am

He did not apply to be govt.

• JaRoD on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:59 am

Ask government to be more efficient with their current fund. Cut wastage. Like recent Police’s force Suspended project???
        Not squeeze rakyat again and again…

• ivnlph on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Whats the problem in the first place?
        1. The Gov subsidize too much in petrol? Do u know how many gallons of subsidized diesel are being smuggled thru every single port in our country? And also thru our loose kastam into thailand? Everyday! Who r the one that let these happen? I believe they sure know all these things. Just that they are somehow involved. Thats why no actions will be taken onto this.

2. Whats the problem of subsidising higher tax payers? Those who dun pay tax doesnt means that they have no income. They just dun pay or pay rather low taxes. This is the fundamental loop holes before any further implementation to be based on it. Admit it, the system is not reliable. Its only reliable to those who’s trying to hide something frm us.

• OnePoint8 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Only solution is same price for every citizen who consumes petrol, upgrade the public transport system to advance country standard (can only be done without kick backs).

• TheRealMaserati on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:32 am

If your daughter has zero income, hw in the world u register her as owner?

I support this new system as it will reduce the jams around the Klang Valley. Sometimes the Jams nowadays is pretty ridiculous

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
      • Dead Chicken Kick Pot on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:02 pm

Rich pay all in cash la. Point is the rich will still benefit and this proposed system will just be abused. 6 months later it will be scrapped at the tax payers expense. Hundreds of millions $$$ to implemented the half cooked system. This is Malaysia Truly Asia

• Thursday on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:32 am

Errr…i think there’s congestion bcuz…
        1. most people is on their own transport rather than public (ask yourself why).
        2. the road systems is not good. (don’t forgot it adds more pain when there’s malfunctions or ongoing development or maintenance).
        3. there’s a lot of ppl living in Klang.
        4. there’s ppl like you contributing the traffic and complaining not their fault. (better stay in caves to avoid it).

• daijoubu on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:44 am

Oh great, so those with unused quotas of subsidized fuel can sell to those that is not eligible for subsidized fuel?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 2
  • kl fella on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:46 am

this is a blatant breach of privacy! the G will be able to track our movement, our spending etc etc and god knows what other purposes JPJ will use it for. like during road blocks they just need to swipe your “fuel card” and they know you’re earning 8k a month, and ask for RM200 duit kopi.. you say you no money.. they will just shook the head and say.. “saya sudah check fuel card kamu, kamu kaya 1 bulan ada 8k”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 10
    • OnePoint8 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:29 pm

A good one! Now Kopi-O also have different price point base on income….

• don’t know why, i just have the feeling of this is another project which is to make crony rich and to be scrapped before implementation

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 6
    • Din Tiger on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:09 am

well..what do u expect…..hehe…

• OnePoint8 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:33 pm

Sure will, sure will..
      A crony here will benefit in developing database worth a few hundred million bucks..
      A crony there will benefit in supplying the cards, card readers, etc. to all petrol kiosks nation wide.
      Another crony will benefit from service and maintenance contracts.

• kangkong on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:53 am

Seem like the main purpose is to create the system and the cards. “Someone” for the card supplier and software system provider will make 100millions of RM first before the government claim this is successful.

Abundant subsidy and reduce the damn car price is the real solution.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • mmaker on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:53 am

Very clever as they informed people after election in teluk intan

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 2
    • Tell that to the people who still voted BN in Teluk Intan.
      Disappointed.

• Low Budget on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:54 am

Stupid policy!
    Either all get subsidy or all pay for the higher prices, period.

• Boleh! on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:55 am

Yeah!! My BMW 316i, my dad punya Merc E 200 all sub 2000cc, can still enjoy subsidies…. Great plan, wonderful policy!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
  • macromedia on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:56 am

Yawn.. chill guys. it will be about DUNNO how many years before they implement this. THis is just a show to SHOW they are working. BLABLABLA

• I currently use 2 cars – a company car and a car under my name for the wife. So how does this work???

• lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:57 am

With this system, not only low incomers have to show myKad but also monthly payslip to prove.

However, surely this system will be exploited by high incomers.

• Kampung Boy on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:58 am

how do u trace if every kid is borrowing their fuel card to refuel their dad’s estima, vellfire, benz?

• Well rakyat di dahulukan and your 1 Malaysia work well with the Malaysian. Cheating your own people for your own porpose is not a hero but a zero.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
  • wiralution on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:01 am

If someone have salary less than 5K but drove 15 years Honda Accord (2.0), does he entitle for fuel subsidy? A lot of old folks like this ma.

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:11 pm

@Wiralution
      Honda Accord is high class. You buy, you pay. No second guessing.
      Janji diutamakan, rakyat didahulukan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
    • Rambo on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:58 pm

The answer is NO no matter how many people
      do this. Next question please…

• pening on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:03 am

I pay 26% income tax and now have to pay extra for fuel. Well, I guess it is time for me to ride kapchai to the office.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Rambo on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:01 pm

Then go ahead ride yr kapchai. Nobody’s is stopping
      You. The gomen dont care anyway so why shud we care
      About u…

• loose (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:03 am

hmmm i dont think it can be run nicely. some people got income less than 5k in paper but they still hv side income more than that but never declare.it just effect for gov servant n private sector who hv payment slip.

• The income thingy wont work. For 10k above salary, would probably have somebody in the household (wife, adult children)below 5k to fill at the pumps. Easier to implement based on engine cc. But would probably have another smaller car also. Can always siphon fuel, too many loopholes.

• for a long term solutions i believe goverment have to abolish the subsidies at all (tak kira la BN or Pakatan yg memerintah nanti)

trust me by abolishing the subsidies, the rakyat will terasa the ‘heat’ but in long term the rakyat itself (our future generation) will earn the benefits from it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • kl fella on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:47 am

it is proven that a “fake” or artificial market sustained with subsidies will cause more harm than good in the long run.

agree with you to remove all subsidies and feel the heat for the first 5 years. after that we’ll reap the benefits of free market, dictated by demand and supply, rising wages etc.

• OnePoint8 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Problem is when the people feel the heat, the Gomen will ‘tumbang’. PKR supremo will lead hundred of thousands of people to jam Putra Jaya.

• iskhalifah on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Yes. Abolish the subsidy, and at the same time remove astronomical car taxes and duties for CBU imports, especially hybrid or EVs. Low income should be able to buy EEV cars at 20K+ (like Indonesians do), and spend less on petrol. Middle incomers are able to drive Jazz hybrid, Prius or Nissan Leaf. Rich can drive the BMW i car, or even Tesla.

See how this can benefit the people and the environment too??

• Din Tiger on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:09 am

another f**ked up plan from THE G…..lol…**clap hand*….

• Loophole:
    I can just ask my wife or child to pump petrol for me.
    Or i can ask my Macai to pump for me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • with this system in place.. you will start seeing those people that are eligible for subsidy petrol price hanging around petrol station and to offer their IC to those luxury car owner to get lower rate petrol….

• The worker (bangla) will send for another khusus for know kereta below 2.0cc , exp camry 2.0 and 2.5 outlook is same

• bananahead on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:14 am

dumb and dumber, lets get rid of this stupidity.

• azizul on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:16 am

I think most, if not all, people involved with smugling petrol and diesel have less than rm5k declared income. So these people will do their business as usual, and honest and hardworking citizens have to pay the price

• abdullah on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:16 am

Stupid idea!
    Now we have to create jobs for one million civil servants to implement this policy.

• Josh Ling on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:16 am

there are real issue at hand and they don’t want to solve it. always looking for some non-issue and trying to come up with something “brilliant”, and said it’s gonna save government this amount of money that amount of money. and it ended up to be another system exploited and enjoyed by a few, and brings negative impact to those who really need the help.

• Not satisfied on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:16 am

This is seriously stupid. My parents both earn more than 10k per month. Means they paying for those below 5k income for petrol? Seriously this is unfair. Work for your own money la why Susahkan others. Dislike this but this is a fact. Like that next time everyone earn 4.9k per month and goyang kaki. Earn dirty money better la if the govt want to implement this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
    • passerby00 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:06 pm

is very fair. you mean to say the more harder u work and you are a millionaire and you are not socially responsible to provide for the poor or nation-building and hence no need pay taxes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 12
    • Are you of driving licence age? Then you can fill up the petrol..

• Poor Idea Poor execution on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:17 am

Just charge 6% VAT on car and remove all duties and fuel subsidy. The tax duties (and the interest amount that you took a loan to pay the tax duties) u saved for the car you purchased would be more than enough to offset any increase in fuel price for your car for the next 10 years (assuming you are travelling on a tank a week).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • Blue-traveler on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:17 am

I can envision it right now. The local uncles maning the pumb, wipe out a number of fuel cards, “….rm15 and you can use it for 50l. I pumb for you. Ok……….”

• klagang on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:18 am

i wonder which datuk will get the contract to implement this new system. only to be critized a week after implementation (after spending millions of RM) and this system to be taken out, reviewed back in the parliament, then given to another datuk who will sub-con it to an outside china company at the expense of more millions in RM.

• like what I had said earlier in another similar topic that all this controlling of eligible subsidy petrol procedures will cost a lots of $$$$$ (tax payer $$$$$)….why not just implement all new car sold below rm100K must with Ron95 engine and otherwise will be Ron97 engine.

• passerby00 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:04 pm

your suggestion doesn’t make sense on diesel – why should a hilux / triton / navara / ranger 4×2 or 4×4 pay for a higher price than the lower price diesel range of the same just because they are let say RM100,001 and above?

• Sorry, my suggestion are only take petrol car in the consideration.. no diesel as I don’t familiar with diesel. and with this strategy in place, the car buyers will demand for lower price car models and this eventually will force the manufacturers to price most of their bread & butter models below rm100K.. so another word this is win win solution for most middle income city folks….

• ABU111 on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:21 am

who suffer? middle class suffer

• Critique (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:40 am

The Middle class now also known as ‘Water-Fish’ Class! sighhh…

• Interesting…Let’s see how they put this system in place.

• Joker on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:25 am

This is wasting time and resources…
    jz scrap da bloody subsidies system and abolish all kinda excise duty, import duties on cars…
    and plz intro euro 4 fuel plz!!!

• I dont mind paying full price of petrol but car prices should go down, no excise duty or any other taxes since govt should save billions from non subsidising fuel. Imagine ur car price is half of what you pay now, how much savings is that yearly? This can easily dwarf the fuel price increase.

• totti on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:29 am

They just want to suck the rakyat dry.

They just make the whole issue become complicated and how to implement with big and small car pumping? need attendance to pump all the petrol?

Why not just abolish the car tax like Indo/Thai and let the petrol follow the market rate?

Oil belong to the country and all rakyat and these so called representative (miniter) keep robbing the rakyat.

Just hope all rakyat go to the street to change the barang naik G.

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:23 pm

@totti.
      Reporting you for sedition. Good luck and please don’t bend down to pick up bar of soap in prison.

• Simon Ng on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:30 am

The moral of the story from this government is, why work hard when you can subsidize by the government?

I can see why all my friends are moving their money out from the country.

I know a friend whose income is made from Singapore and pays minimal taxes locally. He makes more money than me and he gets to enjoy the fuel subsidy.
    What kind of screwed up system is this?

• Just remove high duties on cars and gvt solved the problem as most will pay market price for petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • kl fella on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:51 am

and please also mention with the removal of duties on car, you can actually use the “saved” money in tax and interests to pay for market priced fuel for the next 5 years or more!

• mango on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:10 pm

They cannot do that because some idiot company need protection

• honta on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:25 pm

If you can save 15k jazz without tax, you can only use it for 2 years if you move 60km a day in city. Better with subsidised fuel.

Go figure.

• JaRoD on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:11 pm

They will not do that. Duti and Tax from new car are much more than Fuel Subsidi.

• btree (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:20 pm

Agreed.

Gov creates problem by imposing duties and subsidizing petrol.

Try to solve the petrol problem, yet creates other problems. Where is the right people in the Gov that may solve the correct problem?

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:26 pm

Please la, with high duty and tax we are seeing plenty racerboy in Viva and Saga on the road. Removing the tax will make BMW 316i affordable to them. God bless us.

• After all the racerboy in Viva and Saga upgrade to BMW 316i already no money to pay for fuel so how to fly some more? Even without tax and duty do you really think the price of BMW will be as cheap as Viva n Saga….think again.

• Leong on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:33 am

Free float the fuel prices now…rather than wasting million tax payor money on implementing some silly system,you save how many billion already with no subsidy on fuel and not buying that hard to implement system?
    Now please reduce cars prices!

• jaijoe on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:33 am

i thought this “Weak ideas” already been reviewed and scraped last time around..?!!

• nabill (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:33 am

Maybe its a way to frustrate us thn wen thy announce to float it to market price we wd b less upset rather than this hassle…bt i doubt chimpanzees r that smart….
    It kinda feel like we r living in cuba,iran, those countries under sanctions n use petrol rationing…..

• cybermaster98 on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:34 am

And all this for the rubbish Euro 2 standard fuel which was the standard for Europe in 1996. Its 2014 now and yet the Malaysian Gov is still offering this crap to Malaysians and charging us higher prices while Europe is using Euro 6 fuel.

• Denaihati on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:35 am

might be good practice and fair, high income will get less subsidies and low income high subsidies,
    but i worry more people become smuggler later on…heee

• AVH (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:36 am

On the side note, the Malaysian annual table-flippin competition Is a restounding success!!!

Now many will down vote me for this but……I support the abolishment of fuel subsidies. I like the fact that it will force people to think more at where they are going and force people to use public transport. People will also drive smarter as to when and how to get to their destination. It will lower road congestion and improve air quality and all that good stuff….and I like the fact that they are implementing it slowly throu stages, BUT.

the problem is that this will only work with the lowering car prices in Malaysian and the last time I check…..spec to spec there’s seems to be no improvement(and no, no matter how many el-cheapo you’ll throw at us, it does not help). To rub salt in the wound, you’ve abandon foreign CBU tax-exemption, leaves out a large majority of FEV(fuel efficient vehicle), espacially the newer ones like the I-series of BMW and other advance new EV and hybrid cars, and persuading them to spent multi billions of ringgits opening new CBU factories with advance, state of the art machinery in a market the size and potential of Malaysia and ASEAN countries? Good luck with that. To add wasabi in that same burned wound, our CKD EEV tax-refuction promotion is filled with loophole and are pethatically lax, theres not even a standardize procedure. And although public transport has been improved considerably in te past few years, it’s no where near Japan level of efficiency.

Ok, now I know many people close to me with a monthly income of more than RM10k and no it’s not like they are overflowing with cash. This also extands to people with 2.5l engined cars, it’s not like they are overflowing with cash either. Than we go to the problem of old cars, those folks with 90s 2.2l Camrys will be suffering, driven by retired people bought their cars when they were working. What about them?

Allah in all, this (and ,sorry BN supportes, also a large majority of government backed plan) sounds great at first , but is filled enough loophole to sail the USS Nimitz aircraft carrier through it.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:41 pm

That same uss nimitz can be shoved in their u-kno-wat..
      Ppls frustrations is an accumulation of their wrong, mindless, i-dont-give-a-f**k policies that look great on a paper,purposely made with so many holes in order for some ppl to make a buck out of it,i bet the computerized system wd b tendered to some nephew/son/son-in-law/daughter of some big guy at da top….
      Their track record is soooo bad that even if thy mean well,ppl r not going to buy it…..
      Oh btw,u dont have to b sorry for bn supporters….feel sorry for the other half of population who didnt vote for them….

• slumber on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:37 am

Somebody will someday come out and say this: Kalau tak suke, migrate lah….

• mayoyo on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:43 am

pakatan rakyat promise to reduced the petrol diesel and lot of thing but you all still vote umno bn so dont feel sad. Its all yours freee to chooose your own government padan muka sama luuuu semua.

• Hadi75 on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:50 am

How about if the government abolish the subsidy to the people…instead subsidize the industries…transportation etc…AND REDUCE THE PRICES OF CARS SO THAT THE RAKYAT CAN CONTROL THEIR SPENDING INSTEAD OF PAYING CAR LOANS TO THE BANK AT FIXED PAYMENT EVERY MONTH…this way government dont have to spend more money to make cards etc….

• Tew chin yan on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:53 am

The proposed system above is NOT IMPLEMENTABLE, the alternative way is to impose higher road tax on high cc vehicles.

• mason on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:49 pm

Do u know now the high cc car roadtax is very high ald or not..please dont give such incompetent suggestion if u dont know…tq

• JaRoD on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:55 am

With current salary of Rm10,000 after EPF and Income Tac deduction I take back Rm7648 every month. Rm400,000 (30 years house loan) Rm2,000 installment, Proton Persona ( Rm40,000 5 years loan) Rm700 Installment. Wife Rm1,000 , 2 kids Rm1,000, Kindergarten monthly school fees Rm800, Utilities Bill Rm500. Left Rm1648 for myself and other miscellaneous like family member insurances, medical fees if any member fallen sick, my retired old parents, petrol bill, Car maintenance, road tax, Tol fees, New cloth for kids, house appliance spoil and etc.

A person with Rm10,000 also not enough to spend in Malaysia City Area. Some more next year we have GST and This Fuel Hike issue again.

Migrate???

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 0
    • Agreed,

Mine also same shoes as yours. The car might need change in next 5 years, more loans, GST coming.

Less 2 k to settle this.

And my wife complains 1K not enough for her.

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:40 pm

@JaRod
      Please ask the wife and kid to earn their pay. In Communist everyone must work to pay their dues to ‘Dear Leader’/

• JaRoD on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Wife go to work even worse, no experience and no cert. baby sister pay for 2 kids is even more expensive and don’t even know whether can fully trust the baby sister or not!

By the way my kids not even on primary yet. Child Labour is a big no no even in Communist country!

• passerby00 on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:02 pm

there is just one big flaw here. for a lot of motorists with diesel car / 4×4 in peninsular sabah and sarawak – where got diesel truck 4×4 like triton/ranger below 2000cc one? adoi ! rm5000 yes but there should not be any discrimination for us 4×4 or 4×2 users in malaysia since these are all above 2 litres.

• samlok on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:05 pm

Aiyo, so messy, let the oil price flow with market price and abolish ap system done.

• Michael on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:07 pm

just take off the subsidies, let the price flow like market price. your have 4 years to be government, you say you can help us improve life. ok is time for you prove it.

invest on this “system” and not 100% get the result. end up waste $ on the “system”, and the “consultant” who propose this.

• kenix tim mun chong on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:08 pm

the brain only know to recycle old methods.. that why malaysia has a lot of recycle politician.. where very low innovation capacity towards better malaysia.. how far sight they able to see this system can go? best suggestion; stop the corruption.. no more AP.. bungkus Proton..open car market.. then we will know what kind of system to benefits all citizen in petrol subsidy which those really deserve subsidy will be deserve..

• just sell the petrol at market prices, stop the subsidize, and removed the vehicle duty and taxes, settled. now, the gov is collecting vehicle sales taxes and duty, thus we are already paying sky high prices for cars in msia, and now we are gonna pay non subsidized fuel again??? if we pay less on cars prices, we wouldnt even complain on the fuel prices.

• People ….please give some positive solution….ini tak habis x2 complain…typical malaysian…..always blame the government…..& authorities…. If pull out subsidies you all complain prices of goods naik ……. look at Singapore …. NO subsidies on fuel …. no one complain…..the key is let our fuel price at par with Thailand and Singapore & smuggle of diesel and petrol will stop. If government wants to help the poor help them by giving BRIM ……BUT Government must make sure its fair and only deserve malaysian are given don’t care what race or political inclination they might be.

min

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 21
  • Elvin on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:27 pm

So wiralution with 2.0 turbo engine can get away frm this?

• my fren doing online business with income more than rm10k per month..she pay no income tax at all.so this is so unfair to us who pay income tax every month with lower income.

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:47 pm

@fren.
      Be a good fren by reporting your good fren to LHDN my fren.

• Discrimination. Treat us fairly. Put up a level ground. Bloody hell.. We studied hard.. Work hard.. And yet being punnished for our achievement. Blood sucking goverment.. May you rot in hell.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:40 pm

Motorhead to gov.. you will never win the heart of urban people. . Take my word.. never.. it was bad & you make it worse..

Middle class are many nowadays. . Unfortunately you treat us like milk cows.. & most of us live in the city..

& please. . Get rid of NAP before you want to implement this.

I can survive. . Unfortunately you won’t. . Wait for next GE.. I won’t vote next GE.. but it cannot save you anyway. .

Take this seriously.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:44 pm

Pls put in mind.. the last GE was worse than Pak lah.. have you forgotten?

Haven’t you learned? Why do you think fail in Selangor?

• WAKAWAKA on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:46 pm

GOV OF MALAYSIA JUST GO FULL RETARD

• REDDEVIL on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:54 pm

Stupid policy from inconsiderate government, all the hardworking middle class will suffer. Why not just abolish the car excise duty, with this saving we all are willing to pay the petrol at market price.

• btree (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 12:59 pm

” However, all this has yet to be finalised, and KPDNKK is still exploring recommendations from relevant industries, the report states ”

KDNKK should visit paultan. Lots of recomendations and identified loopholes from relevent expert user here..

The proposed solution seems not to solve the problem

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:50 pm

They only listen to AAM Datuk Aisah.
      She represent the car manufacturer only.

• 99% of comments are curses, complaints and bashing

• kimchi on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Horayyyy.

GST pun kena…subsidi pun kena tarik….electric all pun kasi naik. Excellent choice for goverment…BN dulu kini selamanya….

• nighttrain on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Solution? The only solution is to stop this plan. Is there an alternate universe?

• Taiko on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:09 pm

Got to use my relative or family members’ mykad that has full subsidiary whenever pump petrol.

• kangkong on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:10 pm

It is quite high chance this system will be implemented. This is a good chance to siphon gov money to their own pocket. A few hundred millions has to spend first to make the system run. And it doesn’t care it is going to be success or not (I will give 99% failure rate).

• Alan Tan on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:11 pm

There’s a loop hole for the eligible but don’t drive to sell their fuel card to the richer people. Thus the richer May buy the fuel at slightly discounted rate as well, it’s still a saving to them.

• Gary Leong on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:12 pm

Middle and lower class people who pays taxes it is time for them either to work in overseas or to migrate. This class of people gets nothing back from the government.

• Stupid policy, what about those people can’t don’t have car but driving a car inherited from family? No car registered meaning no need to pump petrol?

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:59 pm

@D
      You meant those Ching Ming burnt paper cut-out cars that is complete with driver?

• munchui on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Satu lagi projek bodoh barisan nasional

• Guan Yin Maa on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:22 pm

Talk only. 1000% wont be implemented. HAHA

• instead of that, why don’t you just increase the number of men guarding the border and increase the technology there..it saves a lot more of our money

• Fair does not mean everyone must have equally what others have.

Fair means placing something on a right place.

Rationalizing subsidized fuel quota according to income tiers sounds reasonable but as usual, how effective the implementation, monitoring and enforcement is left questionable. Hope it works and in a meantime keep looking for better alternative.

Cheers!

• Maserati(Official) on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:28 pm

I’ll have difficulty filling up my gas tanks for my A class, Golf, CLS and also my Cayenne.

• If Gov implement that, let STOP paying income tax through PCB, we calculate and pay when needed.

• Disgrunted Malaysian Citizen on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Guess they are discouraging people to be higher income earners, cause there is no benefits to work hard and earn more. You dont get quality of life cause they takes it away in such double standard policy. Right now everyone will want to be in the RM5k income bracket. Nice job genius.
    Good job my goverment, you guys really knows how come up with this stuff. I sometimes wonder how you do it.
    It is ok if you have no ideas, but to come up with this!!
    I am ok to pay cause i worked hard and smart towards higher income bracket. Its your double standard governing that pushes my buttons.

• Arcee on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:41 pm

All the suggestions put forth by our lovely G is akin to reaching an itch on your nose by stretching your arms around your head!

Let’s get down to basic.

Wastage due to smuggling activity. Why don’t the authorities enhance the law until it is severe enough to punish(forfeiture of smuggler’s assets, whipping, longer jail term & etc) the smugglers including parties abetting the smuggler. Make it really painful! This must be done along with tighter & stricter enforcement (round the clock & all year long). Both suggestions has to work hand in hand to ensure consistent results.

2nd option is to cut the problem at the root. If there is no price difference at our pumps, there is no incentive to smuggle fuel. To encourage the RAKYAT to accept floating fuel prices, dispose our multi tier taxes & make cars affordable. You will firstly free up some much needed disposable income for the RAKYAT. Secondly, even with cheaper cars, we will think twice to drive & perhaps source for cheaper transport alternative to get to our destination due to higher fuel prices. In the long run, there will be less wastage on a limited & depleting resource.

Honestly, I feel we don’t need to punish the RAKYAT for the sins of a few. There are less painful methods to curb smuggling activities. While suggestions are jumping from one government agency to another, I fear in the end we would have created a sophisticated XRay machine to remove empty cartons from a manufacturing production line while the easiest & better solution is to use an industrial fan to blow the empty cartons off the production line (hope readers can understand this analogy).

Just my humble thoughts

• mason on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Our gov cabinet really is full of shit cabinet…full of old and smelly shoes that can come with such inefficent policy….tolonglah,quit the cabinet for the sake of the country lah….

• Henry on Jun 03, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Some joker must have spend ten minutes in the toilet and got the inspiration. Like Achimedes he shouted EUREKA! He just made an earth shattering discovery and must recommend its introduction for the greaster good of the nation.

Tun M have a name for such people ~ half-past-six.

• Back to the main issues, the foreign vehicle and smuggling subsidise fuel.

So can govt tackle just this issues, more enforcement from borders for smuggling issues.

And foreign vehicle can only pump ron based on mykad.

No need to extend until no subsidy for rich. They also pay taxes, they also buy expensive car which contribute to more taxes, they also pay higher road tax as their big cc car.

Just solved the smuggling issues and foreign vehicle pumping subsidize fuel problems la

• cibusat on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:01 pm

wah….so many smart people here. u guys must be top class A students to come out with great ideas. my “class A” proposal is to harness the power of the sun just like how superman did. I will lift both my arms towards the sun every morning and let the power flows thru me. When fully charged, i will fly my way to work or do my daily chores or whatever

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
  • Ashho on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:08 pm

why don’t they put more effort n much planning in our country education, medical and transportation system instead of creating more unnecessary cost & havoc to rakyat. Cost reduction should first implement among the highest hierarchy in our government.

• Crazy idea with so many loopholes as mentioned by the other posters. Simply a waste of money (or good opportunity to make money if you are the company tasked to implement the proposal)…

Easier fix:-

1) Free float the petrol and diesel prices
    2) Lower tax rate for the RM5k below income earners
    3) Only give rebates / subsidies to only qualified companies such as bus transport, taxis, etc.

The above should address the issue of foreigners taking advantage of our current subsidies.

• John Cooper on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:44 pm

As usual, too complicated!!!

1) What if a person earns > RM10k yet drives a 1.4 liter car – will he/she gets the subsidy?
    2) if ownership is used as a benchmark, what happens if the retired parents are the registered owners (hence 0 income), yet the children are the ones driving the cars and they earn > RM10k? etc etc….

Leakage in fuel subsidies to neighbouring countries and commercial sector is best solved by floating the prices where everyone pays the same price, and the car prices brought down via reduction in taxes.

Using monthly income as a benchmark is a double whammy, because if you earn > RM10k, surely you are already at the top brackets of taxes to be paid, kena tax between 20-25%, and if this system proceed as planned, no fuel subsidy so have to pay market price, kena whack again, adui…..

Ultimately who benefit? the company that provide and install the system to the Mykad or Fuel card….

By the way, if without subsidy, the RON95 prices is about RM2.83 (as at May 2014). So perhaps better to just pay RM2.90 to pump Ron 97?

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:57 pm

I will use my 2 daughter MYKID ic to pump petrol next time. Janji diutamakan, rakyat didahulukan.

Next hot commodities in Malaysia after propery, dead people IC so the alive person can use their quota.

• Daniel Ng on Jun 03, 2014 at 2:59 pm

How about people earning less than $5,000.00 but owning an used vehicle that is exceeding 2,000CC? This is common as vehicle could have been bought years ago.
    How about those vehicles registered under business name ? No subsidy?

• old dog on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:01 pm

please remove subsidize of fuel AND car tax together, and that will be the real benefit to the Government, Rakyat, and only harm the cronies. That is why they wont do this.

• Francis on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:33 pm

Second!

• Remove Car tax? Wait Long Long till “M” and Proton goes down.. (Technically won’t la.. coz got “M” to back it up for cheap made cars and suck petrol like hell – don’t look down on a 1.3 saga that suck more fuel than like e.g. Mazda made 1.6 or 2.0)

2nd.. its time to reduce dependent on fuel and shift to more environmental friendly.. (Its a ideal logic to do so) but then.. Environmental friendly car are so damn expensive because of.. PROTON.. again.. because Proton.. that result in so many AP and tax.. (If Proton make good cars.. I don’t mind paying tax for imported cars.. but PROTON make lousy car and rebadge logic car)

• Beckscum7 on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:16 pm

Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs ministry (KPDNKK)if so free, please station your officer at Johor Bahru and Tuas petrol station. Open eyes big and you know what is going on. Singapore carplate forcing pump attendant to sell petrol or pump attendant let them pump petrol with some commission. Then come back here and talk. Don’t need MBA for this.

• Xiao Mi on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:29 pm

It’s great idea if the government could reduce the taxes imposed on cars and stop any subsidies on petrol and diesel. Can anyone imagine how will be the condition for second car market? Brand new 2014 2.4 Toyota Camry cost 128k while 2012 2.4 Toyota Camry cost 130k?

• come on lah on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:35 pm

lets see. some guy own a 300k car, fretting about the petrol prices?

• kecil on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:39 pm

This is one of the options made by the Gov. Yet, it is still on discussions and not being implement. There r still rooms for any improvement. There r a lot of options. Either u want to change or stay. In the end, something must be done. Do suggest if u have something better not just condemning.

• It wil only make the rich poorer and the poor even poorer. In the end everyone dies.

• besar on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:38 pm

Sorry kecil. I hope you did not came up with this idea.

Because it’s the most ludicrous and ill-thought out suggestion from KPDNKK and it deserved full condemnation. It should not be tabled in the 1st place.

I don’t know why you say there’s no suggestion. Please open your eyes and read some of the better suggestion in this page and stop living in a bubble. There are plenty here and they are ton better than what was proposed.

• First of all, this system will not work, just like any other systems from our current gov. There will be another big U-turn after all the money spent and wasted. Secondly this is not the way to save, it will only balloon up the already high cost of living and business, therefore causing less spending power for the consumer and higher cost plus less competitiveness for local business. It is just killing Malaysia in all possible ways. I don’t want Malaysia to die in such a stupid way. Please cut useless spending, cut useless projects, cut corruption and use those money and resources to boost Malaysians’ efficiency and competitiveness.

• bogus on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:15 pm

memanglah gaji lebih 10k tak bising sebab kaya..middle income dan orang miskin saja yang kena..hang ni bangang atau apa???

• azrai on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:22 pm

Don’t worry, my Datuk will use his gardener or driver mykad. Is it another ‘salahguna’? Isn’t it? Loophole? Isn’t it?

• Syameer (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:25 pm

So the higher income (according to the above-said definition for high income) people wouldn’t entitled for subsidies anymore? This is unacceptable. We pay more taxes than the middle-class. We work equally hard and if not, harder than them. This is unacceptable. Totally unacceptable.

• mystvearn on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:01 pm

IMHO, this is slightly retarded.

Let me give you a real scenario:
    1. Parents working earning more than 10k. Kids, not working. What will stop parents from registering all their BMW’s with the kids?

Free fuel is free fuel.

2. People earning 5-10k, commuting from Seremban to KL daily. 300 Liters of petrol is not going to cover that at all. Those people will be poorer as a result.

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:10 pm

cheaper cars then?

• Maseratits on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Whoever came up with such an idea is either an idiot or just plain retarded.

• I think this is a good idea provided they can get the system working properly.

I like the idea of 300 litres of petrol subsidised.

• Lam du sa on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:17 pm

Another reason to increase fuel price…. and after all this implemented we can see long Q at petrol station same like at post office or when you want to see ‘box office’ movie….Walla…..ready for RM5/liter price.

• I hope the Govt don’t forget about those who owns a car but is unemployed or those that are pensioned from the private sector who don’t have an active income anymore.

• Kelvin on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:00 pm

In my opinion, this system will not work. Too many loopholes and complicated implementation.

It’s better to stop subsidies on consumption and tax it. Then abolish the taxes on cars based on outdated and unfair conditions but retain the GST on cars to curb overconsumption.

Consider road tax based on fuel efficiency. Allow petrol stations to compete on price but also have MYCC check on cartel and price fixing activities.

Allow auto insurance to compete but set minimum regulations on insurance coverage.

May only be a dream but not unrealistic.

• Steve Kok on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Gommen likes to Tok Kok and come out with Tok Kok ideas.

• Starstreak on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:33 pm

What about those who need to use 4×4/pickup at kampung and farm for family car or for their farm? All 4×4 confirm 2.5 litres and above, and most 4×4 users are not rich or high income people anyways.

• Subsidy's_killer on Jun 03, 2014 at 6:46 pm

most smuggler from DAP member!!!

confirm try to sabotage n blame the effect to government…..

Stop pretend DAP supporters we know u…..ur action will reveal….
    ready for punishment…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • james dean on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:05 pm

Don’t be fools la … Ini semua nak bagi business dekat kroni kroni kerajaan . BN mahu rompak rakyat habis habisan sebelum lingkup dalam PR2018 nanti .

Itu upgrad e MYKad la , mahu introduce FuelKad semua mahu sapu duit rakyat saja !

• This make perfect sense.
    Usage of petrol and income group determine subsidies.

Those unemploy retiree falls under below 5k category which mean full subsidies.

With current Tax format, all petrol allowance paid to employees are indirectly fall in operating cost before profit and lost, so whatever scheme you can come out with, these directors are not paying fuel at all personally from company perspective.

So the question of them cheating subsides are not valid, the most you can say is company cheating subsidies. Perhaps government had another set of taxing, whereby, an aggregate of tax will be charged to the declared petrol usage under operations cost.

• Gomen kaki kong kaki song onli one la….
    this kind of things wont work…

• Iskandar on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:22 pm

1) Sell Euro 4 unsubsidised diesel alongside current Euro2M diesel (side by side).

2) All government vehicles, police, army, jabatan, agencies are no longer entitled to subsidised petrol OR diesel. Thus they must use only RON97 or Euro 4 unsubsidised Diesel. This can be in a form of directive by the head of civil service, or by head of the armed forces or head of the respective government agencies.

2nd bullet point is easy to implement but needs moral courage.

• Awesome on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:54 pm

Wow the whole proposal sounds huge and great too but it can hardly be implemented because it is way beyond the capability of our authorities to control.

In simple words, it is just a piece of crap!

• thedarkside on Jun 03, 2014 at 9:25 pm

stupid govt why dont u just remove the subsidy and make sure we get in return toll free roads, free education, cheap and better healthcare. why try to manage the unmanageable???

• apalagibising on Jun 03, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Why not just abolish the subsidy. Not so intelligent bureaucracy and this situation can and will creates more fraudster and syndicated smuggler.

• Ron Soo on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:32 pm

Then the car price should not be that expensive and no tax should be imposed to imported cars… since people >10k not qualified for subsidy

• dRwh0 on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:55 pm

Well planned and very thoughtful govt..my mom retired and my wife not working..earning slightly more than 10k..the whole family will be punished by our govt..thank you..

• If you want to cut fuel subsidy, fine!!! Just abolish AP and at least import taxes on ASEAN made cars, even if it’s Japanese brand made in ASEAN as per AFTA. Otherwise don’t talk about discontinuing fuel price bollocks…

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:15 pm

Gov deny dy.. paultan pls update.

• ApaPunBoleh on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Yeah Great the BN govt can save 9.8billion on fuel subsidies and the saving goes to their cronies pocket via inflated project like klia2,TRX,MRT etc. so end up rakyat is the loser and the govt not saving any money. And btw they are getting more commissions too.

• Stealth on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:32 pm

Earning 10k nowdays merely translate to about 7.5 or close to 8k considering your salary is after EPF and PCB deduction. Thats not much for take home pay.

• Samad Jain on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:52 pm

tak boleh pakai……

• Just asking here…
    If this system is active.
    1) I just use Nouvo LC bike.
    2) Work as technician at Hospital.
    What happens to me if i go purchase Diesel for GENSET? around 300L

tell me pls

• Thanks for voting BN… Hope you all are happy ..

• asmadi on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:27 am

how about all the minister ?

• Cadbury on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Worse system introduce by our G.

Suggestions:
    – Just remove the car tax (car become cheap). G lost 7xx Million per year (estimate)
    – Just remove the fuel subsidy (fuel become expensive). G save Billion per year.
    – Introduce ‘float market’ price for fuel (fuel price become more competitive)

Impacts:
    – G save Billion ringgit
    – items price rise for once proportional to the fuel price
    – a lot of people will have a “dream” car due to cheap price
    – but not many afford to fill up the tank (reduce traffic jam & reduce parking congestion especially in crowded area)
    – reduce fuel smuggle

• mat jojo on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:48 pm

dr mahathir, please guide najis. im sufferingg.

• Mat oo mat,

Dr M is now guiding Proton.
      Why do you think they came up with this?
      They wanted more ppl to buy proton.

• Is it a sin that I earn more than 5k? But im driving a motor..got subsidy arr?

• Based on last general election analysis, voters who voted for opposition were mainly from urban. These poor urban folks were mostly honest and hard-working middle class income earner, like yourself and myself. After paying tax when I get my salary, I pay excise duty when I buy a non-national car. I pay stamp duty when I buy a house. I pay government service tax when I go to restaurant. I pay sales tax (which is not indicated in receipt selling price) when I buy electronic appliances, clothes, shoes etc. Even after I’ve paid up all these forms of taxes, now Government is asking me to buy petrol at market price when I am living in an oil producing country!
    By the way, the said RM10,000 threshold is not based on invidual gross income but household income!
    So, if you and your spouse are earning RM10,001 in combined, you are not subsidized anymore, even both of you are driving car below 2,000 cc!

• Proposal on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:19 pm

I Have a proposal!

They should sell luxury/executive cars/bikes that requires Euro 5/6 petrol and sell the Unsubsidised Euro 5/6 petrol to luxury/executive car owners while maintaining Ron85 subsidies for non euro 5/6 (i.e. affordable to own) cars. This way gov can become genuine robin hood, taxing the rich & subsidising the poor!

• Proposal on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:32 pm

heck, tax the cars based on increment instead of standard sales price so more people can affordable cheaper but higher quality cars while luxury/ executive cars cost more to acquire. Gov will still get same amount of revenue while majority of the rakyat is happy about it. EG: tax for tata 30%, tax for toyota 70%, tax for bmw 160%, tax for bently 300%. And that includes grey market dealers as well.

• Mana-Ada-System (MAS) on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I’m dazzle of how a Ministry can come out with a household income of RM5,000.00 below when we face inflation, GST tax, home loans, car loans, education, rental, utility bills are all increasing.

Should you decided that RM5000 it going to fixed for 5 years or yearly adjusted due to economic reasons.

How you going to address abuses, responsiveness and corruption in the system.

• bn_gov_byk_stupid on Jun 11, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Ini bn government byk stupid. takda otak punya. asyik susah rakyat aja tau. pegi mati la wo.

• with this scheme, the rich taukehs will ask their drivers who earn less than 5k a month to fill up subsidized petrol for their bmw 520i or mercE200 which have displacement less than 2000cc.

or the petrol station attendant can lend out their IC for a fee to anyone who was to pump subsidized fuel..