Volvo XC60 Drive-E dealer brochure out – RM288,888

xc60-facelift

Volvo Federal Auto Glenmarie has posted a dealer brochure of the Volvo XC60 Drive-E on its website. New looks, new engine – the facelifted XC60 T5 gets a new 2.0 litre Drive-E four-cylinder turbo engine that’s good for 245 hp and 350 Nm of torque (pre-facelift 2.0 T5: 240 hp/320 Nm).

UPDATE: The Volvo XC60 Facelift Drive-E has been officially launched – click here for the launch report.

Armed with an Aisin-sourced eight-speed Geartronic auto (bye bye six-speed dual-clutch PowerShift!), the SUV gets to 100 km/h in 7.2 seconds before reaching a 210 km/h top speed. Combined fuel economy is a claimed 6.7 litres per 100 km.

The Volvo XC60 facelift, which was unveiled globally in February 2013, was spotted at JPJ early this year and much more recently, at a dealership.

A wider front grille leaves no room for the pre-facelift’s slim auxiliary lamps on either side, and a new front bumper, featuring vertical LED DRLs, brings the vehicle into line with the S60 and V60 facelifts, both of which we have yet to get.

All the black body cladding is gone, although skid plates are still fitted. The twin tailpipes are no longer circular; they’re now integrated into, and flush with, the rear bumper.

volvo-xc60-drive-e-dealer-brochure

Our car comes with Corner Traction Control as standard. It’s a new torque vectoring system that works against understeer by braking individual inside wheels when you enter a corner, and sending torque to the outside wheels when you power out.

Listed features include active bending lights, a Clean Zone Interior Package, keyless entry and start (with Personal Car Communicator key, tells you whether the car is locked or not), 40:20:40-split folding back seats and a DVD sound system with Bluetooth hands-free and audio streaming.

Now we come to the best part – safety. You get City Safety, BLIS with Collision Warning and Cross Traffic Alert, Whiplash Protection System, auto height-adjust front seat belts, Emergency Brake Lights, powered child locks for the rear doors and two-stage booster seats integrated into the outer rear seats. The six airbags and stability control should be retained.

The price is listed as RM288,888, OTR without insurance. That’s RM12k less than the pre-facelift 2.0 T5. Included is a five-year warranty with unlimited mileage, five years’ scheduled maintenance and five years’ Volvo On Call roadside assistance.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• tricycle on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:28 pm

Bummer, why don’t they bring the T6 3.0 or at least AWD with the T5?

Suv is better handled with AWD imo.

• seancorr on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:30 pm

My question to you is does it make any business sense and would you get one?

Volvo Malaysia is not doing well here in Malaysia and it shows as we do not see that many Volvo vehicles on the road after all these years.

Anyhow seeing the price going down while the spec is still intact is indeed a good way to promote the brand. Its a pity I’m not in the market for a Volvo…maybe when I’m 50 or so I’ll seriously consider one haha

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Never too young to own a Volvo. I’m not 30 yet, and I like to smirk everytime people ask I’m driving my dad’s Volvo.

Also, Volvo is suitable for young people with family. Nothing else can rival Volvo’s safety, and when u have young loved ones, you don’t want to compromise.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
        • feghrer on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:01 pm

Not 30 but when seen driving old fashion car, you become old before time.

Shhheessshhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 11
          • tokmoh (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 11:43 pm

Wanna be young in a Volvo? Get an 850 T5 or V50 T5, teach other “young” brands some lesson in speed kekekeke.

Or, I think Federal Auto might still have some S60 T6 AWD, opt for Polestar tune package. Swedish brick powaaaaaaah

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:39 pm

Nokharoom, in other post, criticise Volvo maybe not bring in this Drive-E drivetrain, then now bring in say why not bring in T6. Apa lagi paultanians mau?!!!

U tak suka, beli Range Rover V8. Nak power sangat, must be willing to pay for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
  • kcng (Member) on Jun 03, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Now Proton already in talk with Geely and soon Proton going to re-engineer it with better handling and ride yet sell it half of what Volvo selling now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 35
  • sick&tired on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:02 pm

i prefer the pre-facelifed model, the new one looks a bit bland.the red one looks really nice though.

Great alternative to those who are looking at a x1 or tiguan.

• 2.0cc? Serious?

• Jason on Jun 03, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Right under the poster you wrote

“Our car comes with Corner Traction Control as standard. It’s a new torque …”

Our car? Ter-copied the press statement?

:-)

• shawal on Jun 03, 2014 at 5:45 pm

New drive e engine is here!

All volvo engines will be 4 pot only after dis

T4 NA
    T5 turbo
    T6 turbo + supercharge…

Xc90 t6 unveiling is coming soon

• probably the cheapest brochure for a car I have ever seen in my life

• aerotourer on Jun 03, 2014 at 7:06 pm

Overall is nice in term of price and performance but have to scarify with Adaptive Cruise Control.

• zamer on Jun 03, 2014 at 8:13 pm

dont know why but evoque looks better.

volvo need to break the rule by designing more killer looks like evoque, new lexus NX..1 time look already fall in love..

this xc60 have to see right left up down center only can consider

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 10
  • Patrick See on Jun 03, 2014 at 9:06 pm

this is FWD and not AWD?

• Bloody.volvo.driver on Jun 03, 2014 at 9:52 pm

I was hoping for volvo cars to be much cheaper when they bring in the drive-e range due to the EEV policy. What a bummer.

Hope the new s60 will qualify… Vcm, surprise us pls…

And Whats up with the MS Word poster?!!

• GT Fan on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:45 pm

At this price, the XC60 is the cheapest of the bunch when you compare it with BMW X3 or Audi Q5, its main competitor. Evoque is just too small and noisy and at nearly RM400k very expensive.

• Though it is cheaper, it is far from being disruptive to the segment. Just look at how audi a6 hybrid flew out of the showrooms & (soon) s400l hybrid.

Volvos are ckd, so why not take advantage of the NAP? Maybe the xc60 is not qualified anyway, but heres to hoping theyll work harder for the other models..

Cheers.

• Low spec volvo on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Again..another big omission.. Where is the active cruise control??? At the very least make it an option!

• Swede metal on Jun 03, 2014 at 10:59 pm

From what I’ve gathered, this brochure is for the T5 second batch which doesn’t come with adaptive cruise control. The first batch came with adaptive cruise control. The T6 will have adaptive cruise control as standard. Looking forward :)

• rovisio on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:13 am

Just waiting for the S60 T5 with Drive-E…cmon!

• parkjw on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:50 am

the volvo logo is ugly. time to change the slangting line!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:47 pm

going into the volvo showroom in malaysia, and my experience of a volvo showroom in europe…. is clear enough reason why volvo isn’t doing so well anymore. volvo sales people are mostly old volvo salesmen spending their remaining days there…the younger ones would rather sell volkswagen which federal auto seems more focused now. can’t blame them, everyone has a family to feed.

• liihb on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:42 pm

blind sport LOLLLLLLLLLLL

• I browsed through Volvo Malaysia website and I found no indication if sunroof, rear camera, and GPS navigation are available. There’s no mention on colors available either. :(:(:(

• jjj (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 4:43 pm

so, in an emergency, the lights all break? must be some new swedish safety campaign