2014 Range Rover Sport launched – from RM860k

Range Rover Sport launch 18

Jaguar Land Rover Malaysia has launched the second-generation Range Rover Sport in the country, and the L494 arrives in three engine variant forms (two petrols and a diesel), all with an HSE equipment level specification.

The solitary diesel unit is the 3.0 litre SDV6, which has 292 PS at 4,000 rpm and 600 Nm at 2,000 rpm for output numbers running off its AJ-V6D Gen III lump (there’s also a lower output 258 PS TDV6, but that’s not coming in, nor is the 339 PS 4.4 litre V8 oil burner). Performance figures include a 0-100 km/h time of 7.2 seconds and a 222 km/h top speed.

As for the petrol variants, there’s the 3.0 litre V6 Supercharged, with 340 PS at 6,500 rpm and 450 Nm at 3,500-4,500 rpm, and the top-of-the-line 5.0 litre V8 Supercharged, the Jag AJ133 mill good for 510 PS at 6,500 rpm and 625 Nm at 2,500-5,500 rpm. All three models feature the same transmission, the eight-speed ZF 8HP70, with CommandShift manual shift mode.

There’s an all-new suspension, and the new RRS is a far lighter vehicle than the old one, weighing up to 420 kg less. Mud-bashers, meanwhile, will be happy to note that the new RRS has a wading depth of 850 mm, an increase of 150 mm over the first-gen L320.

Range Rover Sport launch 10

Standard kit on the 4.85 metre-long permanent four-wheel drive offering includes DSC, traction control, HDC/HSA, gradient release control, roll stability control as well as a Terrain Response 2 system, which is able to switch completely automatically between the five settings (General, Grass/Gravel/Snow, Mud/Ruts, Sand and Rock Crawl) on call.

There’s also Dynamic Response active lean control, Dynamic Active Rear Locking Differential and Torque Vectoring by Braking in addition to Adaptive Dynamics as part of the electronics parcel.

The High Specification Edition moniker brings with it the inclusion of a 12.3-inch high-resolution display for the main instrument pack, with an eight-inch touchscreen display on the centre console for infotainment and secondary functions.

Elsewhere, there are 11 interior colour themes plus additional choice of seat colours, four aluminium interior finishes, three real wood veneers and three headliner colours to pick from for the cabin, though no specific mention was made as to the variations and permutations available for our market.

Seen on the Barolo Black 5.0 litre V8 SC launch vehicle was a Cirrus-based theme (seats, headlining and Cirrus/Ebony-mix dashboard), while the Indus Silver 3.0 V6 petrol had a primary Ebony interior with lighter Cirrus elements providing contrast. Both variants were shod with 21-inch alloys with a diamond-turned finish.

The base RRS seating configuration is as a five-seater, but there’s an option to go the seven-seater path – ticking the box for the powered 5+2 seating with load-through, 60:40 folding rear seats adds RM20,000 to the vehicle price. The optional items list also includes a panoramic sliding roof (RM10,000) and premium metallic paint like Barolo Black (RM9,000).

Base pricing for the 2014 Range Rover Sport starts from RM859,888 for the 3.0L SDV6 Diesel HSE, RM939,888 for the 3.0L Supercharged Petrol HSE Dynamic and RM998,888 for the 5.0L Supercharged Petrol HSE Dynamic, all excluding insurance.

We’ve driven the L494 Range Rover Sport – read our UK test drive report on the SUV.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Painter on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:59 pm

So yum yum!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • James_bond on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Disappointed with the high price jump over the previous model.

Getting the new X5 30d would be a better choice with around RM300k to spare.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
    • I think those in Malaysia get this car is wan to be low profile, as only car enthusiast know its price.

• Simon Hoh on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:40 pm

S400L Hybrid conquers all at the moment! ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 47 Thumb down 4
    • Although belonging to a different class, i can’t help but compare with S400L hybrid every time i come across a luxury vehicle… it’s like becoming a benchmark of “best price to beat” for luxury vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
      • tokmoh (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:46 am

Why not? People who can afford this is unlikely to drive it off road, so why not get a comfortable, more fuel efficient saloon instead?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • piupiupiu on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:53 pm

RM860k.. crazy man..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 0
  • Denaihati on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:56 pm

see carbase.my adv. below the article, Land Rover Defender price RM158k… farmer at Cameron Highland should proud with their legendary Land Rover Defender.

• shawal on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:57 pm

same gear knob as the jag f-type hints its sporting intentions..

RR is making a huge comeback…
    but reliability issues still plagues them…

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Having owned a RR for nearly a year with about 20k on the clock, I have not experienced any reliability issues with the car. It fires up, moves, stops and handles brilliantly.

Honestly, I feel that based on the options available in the same size/price, you don’t get the fit and finish you get in the RR. The BMW feels extremely cheap, the Audi is rather dull, and Mercedes SUVs are not that impressive. Porsche is a decent competitor, but the way they sell cars where everything is an option makes it actually very expensive.

Plus, RR throws in 5 years of service too. So at the end, you just fill the petrol tank and change the tyres for the next five years. I can’t see anyone beating their deal.

• sick&tired on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:05 pm

i really don’t know how anyone is going to challenge the S400L hybrid. Both car’s might be in a different segment, but if I had the cash, I would get the S400L, and I would still have RM300k balance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
  • cobra on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:22 pm

Nowdays where got this kind of price to sell car. Still daydreaming. Good old days are gone.

• dashboard design too simple for a 800k ride. more like a lorry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
  • Prof_Xavier on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:31 pm

Range Rover prices seem to shoot up the roof every time a new iteration comes out. When the second generation first came out in the mid 90’s, the 4.6 HSE costed around RM300k, which was slightly cheaper than a locally assembled Mercedes E230 Elegance.

Fast forward to the 4th gen, it costs nearly a million bucks which is 2.5 times a Mercedes E250 Avantgarde. Even the RR Sport which is supposed to be a cheaper version of the big Range Rover has reached almost RM900k a unit. The first gen was priced similar to an X5, which probably reflects closer to it’s true value.

At current prices, I can’t help but think of other options in the market like the Mercedes S400 H, Jaguar XJ Diesel and Maserati Ghibli S as being better alternatives(even though different types of cars, but still as luxuriously equipped as a Range Rover Sport in my opinion, if not better).

I strongly doubt the current Range Rovers SUVs(bar the Evoque) would sell in significant numbers in our local market.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • Not worth it for this price

• driveabird on Jun 05, 2014 at 7:22 am

simple look ‘KISS’ interior…i like
    Proton should look into it and adopt the design philosophy…ignore those bashers

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:06 am

need to ask my abangbesar why price like dat

• Two words for RR…”Crazy Price”

• heybadigol on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:07 am

Granted its a great luxury car with unmatched offroad capabilities. But its way overpriced. A base BMW X5 (the diesel 3.0) is around RM300k less (you could buy an entire BMW 3 Series with that extra money). But is it worth RM300k better than the X5? Kinda doubt that.

• the driver on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:18 am

Gasp! From one of the auto companies that is not the most reliable brands around according to JD Power. Hmmm, pay a huge amount for a car that keeps having bugs; doesn’t make a lot of sense.

• Wilson Lim on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:39 am

“The High Specification Edition ‘moniker’ brings with it the inclusion of a 12.3-inch high-resolution display…”

i actually googled Moniker…… should be Monitor. anyway, good car!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • abuya on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:41 am

I still love Land Rover Defender, basic model which king in jungle and desert area.

• The interior does not feel expensive.

Volvo xc60 and upcoming xc90, shown how lower range class, with exceptional interior design.

Range Rover should learn one or two from other companies as well

• David_Moyes on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:26 am

At this price you are asking, who with their hard earned money would wanna buy?

Unless it is easy money lah.

For me I would go for the X5. Simply a better value.

• Jon Snow (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:01 pm

For RM 940k, I will rather buy a Audi Q7 and Q5 S line (as spare).

• fknbz on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Kroni2’s toys

• no no no, even kroni2 will not consider this car at this rate… porsche and BMW are more preferred among the kroni2.

if i was kroni, i would get M5, the symbol of wealth, vigorousness, energeticness and intelligence.

• m5 is the symbol of low profile, as 5 series is too common on the road.

only petrolheads will be able to spot the extra badges and bulging fenders.

• Manja_Man on Jun 05, 2014 at 7:09 pm

The conclusion is, say no to this car. Pricing is just ridiculous.

RM860k can buy you a lot of better cars.

• no need launch a new modern car. because in malaysia we only can buy normal car like proton and perodua.

Where ur promise najib, until when,u want ur rakyat using persona, saga, myvi..come on najib..the others car every years shows new technology..but we just only can see the advertisemnt, wanna buy can afford, because CAR in MALAYSIA is RIDICULOS EXPENSIVE

• klseklse on Aug 29, 2014 at 8:11 am

omg, thank you Malaysian government. The old version was just over RM 280k for brand new in Dubai.

• Jeffrey on Apr 22, 2015 at 5:00 pm

Lari tax je .
    langkawi buy half or cheaper than this 860k price :P
    worth actually since Johor from KL just 2 hours away for Euro 5 diesel.

• Frank pace on Sep 07, 2015 at 12:38 am

The jaguar cx -17 f-pace looks much more sportier and comfortable as compared to the range rover even though range rover is unbeatable for certain reasons…but then as compared to jaguar the price much more reasonable which is RM188k only…