MIROS worried over unsafe driving of luxury vehicles

Merc_CLS_Audi_A7_001

Unsafe driving behaviour, particularly speeding and reckless driving can lead to accidents even in luxury and high-performance vehicles, Malaysian Institute of Road Safety Research (MIROS) director-general Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon has said, according to a Bernama report.

He said that although luxury and high-performance vehicles were equipped with state-of-the-art safety features, they were not immune to accidents, including fatal ones.

“Although they can be driven at top speed of over 200 km/h, it does not mean that in the event of an accident, the vehicles and the drivers will be safe and sound.

“These drivers claim that driving just slightly over the speed limit does not pose any problem to them. On the contrary, driving at speeds much too high increases the risk of accidents,” he said when contacted by Bernama.

speeder

The roads are designed to be driven at a certain speed and to stay safe, motorists should observe the speed limit and traffic rules, he said, adding that seat belts must be worn by all passengers, front or rear.

“We are not ‘Superman’ or ‘Ironman’, we are human, let’s prevent accidents by practicing safe driving rather than nursing injuries or losing lives,” Wong said.

MIROS behavioural and evaluation analysis unit chief Noradrenalina Isah said that according to a MIROS study on road users in 2012, drivers aged 42 and below were more prone to break traffic rules, including driving above the speed limit.

“Lack of bad experience of being issued traffic summonses made them bold in violating traffic rules,” she said, adding that men were twice more likely to break the highway code.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Appalayam on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:08 am

Luxury vehicles…
    … and MyVi
    … and Vios (TRD Sportivo or not).

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 204 Thumb down 5
    • Especially VW.

very worrying style.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0r on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:49 pm

How many could afford VW?

The Saga, Wira, Iswara, Myvi, Viva, Persona (they are loud but they can hardly speed), Satria Neo, even the Preve are driving like F1 on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 12
        • I see usually the most dangerous = Manual Cars and VW.

They Easily Pickup and Cut Here cut there in city.

mostly auto Pickup is constant, no sudden push to Potong. hence, they are quite safe to me.

Yes, Regardless car brand, fresh car drive below 20 drive dangerously.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 20
      • Kancil lagi garang, believe it or not?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Henry on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Yes, they are very irritating.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • cough…Estime…cough…Alphard…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 2
      • tht one no need to worry dude, atleast they speeding with their own Luxury Van Mayat whtt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 3
    • carazy on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Its really annoying when somebody flashing while we are overtaking other cars on the highway. Pls be patient, give time to the driver in front of you finish the job (overtaking) all the ventricles. Then.. unless that guy still in the right/fast lane, then baru la mau flash.. Our Malaysian driver still lack of road ethics its doesn’t matter what cars you are driving, Myvi, Proton, BMW, Mec event Lambo or Ferrari.. If you still drive mcm katak bawah tempurung.. our Malaysia still be a 3rd world country..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
      • hafiz on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:48 pm

Yes. A lot of cases like that. I will definitely give way once it is safe for me to give way. Sabar la a bit. I just need 20-sec to overtake then the fast lane is all yours. If i kena flashed once while overtaking, that’s it. Yup, better find another lane to overtake me.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • Sam Loo Sucks on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:20 pm

flash once to inform u la dude. some fellers blind n think they own the road hogging 2 lanes. If keep flashing then different story. But different animal requires diff approach.

• sutrak on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:46 pm

some people may think that just because they have 5 star ncap car, they can speed all they want. sorry to say that crash test is done at 60-80km/h only. 5 star is only applicable at that speed. Beyond that, your 5 stars berkecai become 1 star.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
    • JeremyNg on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:49 pm

VIOS TRD will be included bcs it’s the best car in the world !! The TRD body kits consists of F-duct (in case u dono google it {f1 tech}) , flex wing and blown diffuser ; thats why they can challenge those luxury car.

Megane RS also need give way leh!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • seancorr on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Dei I often see Saga, Iswara and even Kancil try to tailgate BMW, Audis, etc. They think their cars can withstand 160kmh? I only worry their wheels come off and hit some other car on the road when they travel at that speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 1
    • agree with you..i thought only me notice this..
      I can understand luxury car speeding.. but to see myvi and vios driven at 160kmh or faster is totally mad.. many times these 2 cars were driven at high speed and cucuk even other luxury car.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • engnr on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:20 pm

Japs car if goes beyond 160km/h already unstable. The cabin is like sampan, and the floor is shaky. While newer proton the cabin is stable, on the floor is not shaky but smooth. The tyres are planted on road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
    • Sam Loo Sucks on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Luxury is Lexus myvi 1.5.

• MIROS behavioural and evaluation analysis unit chief Noradrenalina Isah, Noradrenalina is a sympathetic neurotransmitter which increases the rate of contractions in the heart during speeding..hehe

• Allen on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:11 am

Agreed. Especially common for those who driving expensive JDM van

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 1
    • not JDM, is LVM. Luxury Van Mayat. atleast they bring their own van mayat at high speed.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:23 pm

I agree. Can save time crash n bury 1 shot. Hate these uneducated goons always hog 2 lanes like their fucxxxx grandfathers road.

• kcng (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:11 am

Government should consider impose special license for vehicle above 250bhp.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 41
    • works on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:50 pm

Government should impose speed cut at 110 km/h to all cars rather than special license to curb over speed driving. Also propose we can impose saman to law enforcer who break the law such as parking at OKU parking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
  • heybadigol on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:15 am

To quote one Jeremy Clarkson, speeding does not kill, its the slowing down that does it. Anyways, you see people driving fast on the German autobahn all the time (at the same time other road users are going at much lower speeds), but what is the accident rate there?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 45
    • It’s a special circumstance. Can’t really compare directly, it’s the road quality, layout design and special rules of the autobahn. If Malaysia had roads designed like the autobahn, sure, then a lot more people might support high speeds.

Maybe can also argue that an accident at 200km/h is definitely more serious than several cars accident at 110km/h. (Of course not talking about 110 km/h car hitting car going at 30 km/h)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Road quality? In Germany? Yes, they rarely get potholes on the Autobahn, and if there are they are fixed very fast, and the lanes are a bit wider and there is an emergency lane at all times (which is ONLY used by cars that have broken down!), but apart from that? Not much difference. Especially not on normal roads.

No sir. The main difference is the cars and the drivers. You couldn’t find a car like the Almera that is unstable at speeds above 110 in Germany. I’ve driven an 18 year old Ford Fiesta at 140, and it is totally planted, corners well, has a direct steering, … the only reason I didn’t try to go faster was the old diesel engine that already reached it’s top speed, but I’m sure the car can, handling wise, handle much more. I’ve driven the VW Touran and Ford Galaxy (about the size of an Estima) at 200, and they handle well. No problem. Also since the cars need to undergo regular inspections that are very strict they are also in a better condition.

And then there is the driver: Germans tailgate, flash their headlights, … at least as bad, probably worse than Malaysians. But they don’t do left lane overtaking (well, in their case right lane). They don’t skip queues. They are much more aware of their surroundings. They don’t tint their cars so heavily, so they know what is going on ahead of them.

Btw., the rules that Germans have on the Autobahn… they exist in Malaysia too. Just that in Malaysia no one gives a f***, and the police doesn’t bother going after real offenders (left lane overtaking and lane hogging, yes, in Germany the police stops and fines lane hoggers!)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Matthew on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:29 pm

Dude, don’t despise the Almera, I just saw an Almera Nismo tailgating a VW Jetta at speed at least 160km/h ++NSEW.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 3:47 am

Some people just have massive balls. Cars like the Almera were meant for comfort on bad roads, which is perfectly fine, but that leads to not so safe handling at higher speeds. To be honest I think that’s not even a bad thing, depending on where you stay. European cars can have brutal suspension setups in the name of handling.

• Henry on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:06 am

These are the fellas who just upgraded from a 1980s Nissan Sunny, Kancil or Perodua Viva. Cars like the City, Vios or Almera is a massive improvement by comparison. They don’t know how to spell the word die. But if they just borrow someones else’ better handling car and drive it for an extended period I think their balls will shrink back to normal size.

• powderful on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:29 pm

Tru.

Our roads ain’t bad. Excellent in fact. Same can’t be said of our drivers. The speedsters are one thing, the lane hoggers are worse. These are the perps that causes lane switching/splitting (cut n dice)by other drivers who simply can’t wait for them to go left…..

• Im truly agree with you.
          Try to look at yearly percentage of MVA at autobahn..U will be surprised. That showed us speeding doesnt really the major cause of accident.

The stupidity of the driver, lazy to service the car, drive beyond the car’s ability and our poor road condition are the major cause of accident.

Even If u re driving a ferrari 458 italia 300km/h in Malaysia road is still predispose to accident.

Still why people still blame speeding is the cause of MVA..Then the should banned all car race competition!!!!!!!

• BLUR SOTONG on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:09 pm

The German and European had good Driving Ethics, what about us ???
      Lorries riding on the road of autobahn will never overtake or use the speed lane and fast cars will not taunt other cars for a race . What about us ?? We have a bunch of monkeys on the road .

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 0
      • Lorries on the autobahn are going 100km+ there’s no need for them to worry about overtaking. Also on certain parts of the autobahn, there’s a minimum speed limit!

Having said that, I don’t fully agree speed kills. From local knowledge. It’s the driving mentality of Malaysians that is dangerous. Bikes jumping red lights, speeding and overtaking on 1 lane roads, refusing people from changing lanes, kiasu cutting into junctions at the last minute, badly maintaned vehicles.

Got into 3 accidents in the last 15 years and all of them have come within kl city roads and not highways (oh one of them was on a congested LDP)

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:32 pm

No. Lorries are electronically limited to 90, busses to 100 in Germany, and they do overtake each other occasionally. It’s annoying other road users and can cause traffic jams, and the Germans even have a term for that. Elefantenrennen… elephant race.

I agree with the driving mentality though. I’ve driven in Germany for 16 years and had 1 minor accident. And that was on ice, where the car in front had grip… I didn’t. At all. 2 years in Malaysia, 3 accidents (none on a highway btw.).

• You’re right. Sorry, I drove there once quite a while back. Rented an Audi A3 (all i was willing to pay for) to say i’ve driven on the autobahn.

I looked the rules up properly and came across this which should be quite interesting to Mr. Miros,

“Despite the prevailing high speeds, the accident, injury and death rates on the Autobahn are remarkably low. The Autobahn carries about a third of all Germany’s traffic, but injury accidents on the Autobahn account for only 6% of such accidents nationwide and less than 12% of all traffic fatalities were the result of Autobahn crashes (2009). In fact, the annual fatality rate (2.7 per billion km in 2009) is consistently lower than that of most other superhighway systems, including the US Interstates (4.5 in 2009). Furthermore, a 2005 study by the German government found that Autobahn sections without speed limits had the same accident rate as those with speed limits.”

• The accidents there are low not only because of the drivers good attitudes but also good handling vehicles USA’s chevvy is not that good in handling and most accidents on interstate are happening when the drivers lost control moving out to normal roads.

Still, Japs cars want to syiok sendiri with their dangerous sampan handlings and tin milo bodies, duh.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 3:51 am

I think it is a combination. Driving ethics, good handling vehicles and wider highways.

• guan eng jr. on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Actually we asian are shorter with smaller eyes so got more blind spots. We need more cameras on the car.

• theanswer on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:23 pm

lol..u’r funny brother.

• Chris (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Actually the main cause of accident is our sub-par driving skills and irresponsible behaviour.

Hate me all you want, but let’s face it, it’s true for the most of us.

I passed my test a decade ago and I still can’t drive when I got my license. The kancil I learn and passed the test in is modified to be easy to drive. My instructor even flicked a switch under the steering wheel that probably opened up the throttle and remove any chance of me stalling at the hill start portion.

And now they want to introduce an automatic-only driving license for those who can’t pass the manual license test?

I don’t know how we can fix this but I do know all drivers in Malaysia needs more discipline.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 1
    • magpie on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Mindset, bro. We are more reckless than the germans..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • mim (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:20 pm

No. Europeans have strong discipline and awareness on the road. They don’t randomly change lanes, flashing high beams or tailgating other ppl. They practice good ethics and safety measures. They also know their cars’ limits and conditions.

Unlike in Malaysia, where most drivers think they’re the king of the road when driving a Vios. Or even a Myvi.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 67 Thumb down 0
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Germans tailgate and flash their headlights. Especially Audi drivers. Heck, some Germans, when buying a car even take into account of how likely it is that others are going to give way to your car, and how unlikely it is that others will cut into your lane. They’ve got a term for that: Überholprestige (overtaking prestige).

Unlike Malaysian drivers they won’t overtake on the slower lane though. Say someone is driving on the fast lane at 130, no cars in the center and slow lane, and someone faster arrives at 200. He will early on, still driving 200, flash his headlights. He might ease of gas, but he won’t brake until it is really necessary (while flashing his headlights). Braking hard he will come to within a few meters of the lane hogger, and he will stay there, flashing his headlights and, perhaps, wildly gesticulating and scolding. That can go on for a long time, probably with a queue of other furious drivers. At some point the lane hogger (who is probably a foreigner, not used to the Rechtsfahrgebot, the law (which probably exists in Malaysia too) which says you have to drive on the slowest lane possible, unless overtaking (and you have to overtake at a reasonable speed difference, I believe you have to be able to finish the overtaking procedure in 10 seconds)) is intimidated enough and will give way.

Also I find Germans are, thanks to plenty of practice in driving school and on the roads, good at estimating speeds and distances. I have little problem estimating the speed of the faster car coming from behind on the fast lane, while I am driving faster than the lorry that is driving on my lane, so I know if I have time to overtake the lorry without making the other car brake, or if I should wait. I’ll then adjust my speed by letting go of the accelerator so that by the time I change the lane I’m only maybe 8 meters from impact into the lorry, and 4 meters from impact into the other car. And that is quite common for Germans.

Speaking of driving schools… driving on the Autobahn at high speeds is an important part of the class. You’ll spend quite some time on the Autobahn, learning how to drive there. That you have to constantly observe the mirrors, that you have to pay more attention to what is going on behind of you than what is going on in front of you, that you have to turn your head to see if a car is next to you before changing lane. And they make sure you follow all this things automatically before they even let you take the exam (and if you don’t do it during the exam you’ll fail).

• quicky on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:37 pm

You just remind me of terrible Japs car cabin, only 120km/h already shaking. But the driver is always taking glance at the side mirrors and that’s good practise.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 3:52 am

Try the Japs sold in Europe. So much better. Not great, but not far behind contis.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Over here the hilux will just cut into your lane at 70kmh and force u to emergency brake at 110kmh.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:58 pm

that’s a misquote. It’s actually “Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary… That’s what gets you.”

And even then, it is very misleading. To people who use that quote as some permission to speed over the limit, they’re in for a rude awakening when their reflexes (or someone else’s reflexes) fail them one day. As you gain speed, you have less and less time to react to situations that may potentially end up as an accident while the increasing amount of kinetic energy your car (and your body) is carrying will increase the danger of said accident if/when it occurs.

Speed does kill, if there is enough of it when brought into an impact.

Also, we have no autobahn here.

• IgnorantMalaysian on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:35 pm

Exactly. People keep saying “speed doesn’t kill, speed doesn’t kill”, to the not so smart Malaysians which I think is 90% of Malaysians, they really take it literally and drive as fast as they like.

People should really stop using this quote without really understanding it.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:03 am

Jezza made that statement in response to health & safety zealots wanting to reduce motorway’s speed limit, claiming it will reduce fatality.

But fatal accidents happen more on slower roads than on motorways. So how? Go faster is safer?

What people who like to quote it fail to differentiate is reckless driving and fast driving.

As kadajawi points, autobahn has low fatality despite unrestricted speed limit.

Cruising 140kph is safer than zigzagging like lunatic at 90kph.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:17 pm

I agree with your point that it is reckless driving and the general unpredictability of Malaysian drivers that truly cause accidents. I was just trying to clear up the error with quote: speed can, indeed, kill but only if you run into something suddenly. The faster you go, the less room there is for error. Know the limit of your driving ability and your car’s dynamic limit. That is why racing is such a dangerous sport. If F1 is limited to 30kmph, then we can all do away with the barriers meant to protect the onlookers but at the speed F1 uses, a mistake can send a car barreling into a crowd of spectators and mow them down.

While there are places where you HAVE to drive fast but there are places also where you have to drive slowly. Speed limits are usually set to account for such things but I do also agree that sometimes the speed limit set for certain stretches of road don’t really make sense. Still, some Malaysians should know not to speed in housing areas. I can’t tell you how many times in my home neighbourhood I’ve heard cars accelerating like mad only to screech to a halt at the next speed bump.

• Malaysian drivers are nothing like the Germans. One major difference between many European drivers and those in Asia is awareness. Awareness of other on the road, and knowing when it is appropriate to use speed. German lane discipline is amazing. It’s shameful to see what.occurs on Malaysian roads. Worst of all, many Malaysians will deny there is a problem. 7000 road related deaths in 2012 is hard to deny and explain away. I really wish things would change, sometimes the stress of driving makes me want to move back home to London.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:55 pm

I agree. And I find driving in England more stressful than Germany, despite Germans driving faster.

• Nizam on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:30 am

To Mr. MIROS, you got half of the point correctly. Apart of driving at high speed, you should highlight that our ROAD is the main hazard. Based on MIROS study, only 3KM road in malaysia were graded as 5 star…others are worst despite expensive cost of doing the road….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 82 Thumb down 0
    • Well… They badly maintained the road on purpose… Especially trunk road where each district council has to fork out $$$ to repair. The top mgt ambil duit Kopi whole giving out contract to contractors who did shoddy jobs. So after a while the road will turn back to its original form and then they have the chance to earn extra money again

• Maseratits on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:34 am

Worried about luxury vehicles driving unsafely? What about those Perodua Viva and Toyota Vios speeding at 140km/h on the highway? Those are the real idiots.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 122 Thumb down 4
    • I love Vios. 180km/h still stable

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 78
      • Maseratits on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:03 pm

When you meet with an accident at that speed, let’s see how much you love your Vios then.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Probably don’t know what is true stability.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:49 pm

vios is stable…. compared to 1986 proton saga.

• Agreed.
      Most importantly, driving awareness of driving.
      Driving license need to be more effective can follow the international standard and teach the driver of driving ethics.
      what I hate the most those who
      -not giving signal changing lanes/into junction
      -driving slow at right lane cars/lorries/busses
      **when driving on highway the will be some traffc jam on the speed lane (the 3rd right lane) because of 1 slow car , did he ever noticed there alot of car behind him trying to drive faster. Have manners.

• Bernard on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:25 pm

why is everyone talking about vios only??? what happened to city and almera drivers?

• Keong on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:39 pm

need to list down all the car for u?….
        but mostly i saw is….Vios and Myvi…! Monkey inside!

• Because vios is very stable in high speed cruising. City and Almera are more light sampan, very2 goyang even at 80km/h

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 17
        • ROFLMAO on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:28 pm

I’m not sure if you’re being sarcastic, but all three of those cars you mentioned are like “sampans”. Some people seem to think that their econobox Vios (TRD or not) is a sportscar. It most definitely isn’t with its “powerful” 109ps.

Stop driving like a mad dog and drive safe. Bring mad driving skills to the track. *Probably will be too slow there though, and be a road hog instead.

• sseeyy on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:42 pm

TRD got V8 turbo la, please get your facts right. You just go out from cave?

• Maseratits on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:26 pm

Vios where got 109PS only? Those ah beng modified Vios got extra 30 horsepower from their TRD Sportivo badge, 50 horsepower from all the extra unnecessary DRL all over the car, 20 horsepower from extra low modified bumper and skirting, and last but not least 80 horsepower from smoked tail lights!!
            Grand total of over 350 HORSEPOWER!

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 3:58 am

@Maseratits: Actually DRL are useful and improve safety, if they are good ones that are installed properly (full brightness, which has to be really bright, when headlights are off. Reduced brightness when headlights are switched on).

• Vios TRD – The Real Dugong

• neemfa on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:35 am

I do agree some big car owners tend to drive reckless, especially non-luxury like pickup trucks.. but I’m more worried of them pesky Myvis driving > 160km/h

hehehe

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 1
    • automan on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:35 pm

MyV drivers are dare devils. They are usually young owners who are fast and alert and usually forget/ignore the hazard caused to other road users.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • agree… now it seems that many comments here saying myvi drivers (some of them and the most on the road) are driving like dare devils..

• automan on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:39 pm

MyV’s and Perudua Viva and those pickup trucks drivers speed their vehicles at dangerous speeds without knowing their vehicles are not designed for high speeds and thus equipped with the least safety features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
    • mim (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Lol typical Myvi drivers are even scarier at downhill winding roads. Either they have big balls or plain idiots. Most of the time tons of them tailgated me on Cameron-Tapah downhill, finding every space to overtake.

I had to brake hard in straight line before every curve, just to show them what would happen when their cap ayam brakes fade, overheat and become almost useless. Dangerous, but i guess they like to learn the hard way.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
      • Myvier on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:44 pm

What car are you using? Myvi can do century sprint 7 secs only. Where got time to wait your snail alike car.

• Dear Miros,

I do applaud you for raising the awareness that people with luxury car should be wary of going at crazy speed and endangering not only themselves, but motorist around them. But I think your message should be do not speed when you are on the motorway, regardless of whether you drive a luxury car, a Myvi or a bike. And believe you us, we have seen crazy driving and riding like this on the motorway.

Also, how about making ESC standard across all selling cars. Have you looked at the recent school holiday accident rate on the NSE. It was wet all over NSE, and everytime that happens, accident rate sky-rocket. Making ESC standard not only guarantees the safety of the driver and other motorist, but reduces traffic jam like the one on NSE during rainy season. Please consider.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • Twinkle2LittleStar on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:42 am

Yeah, now put on the blame on luxury vehicle, later on put the blame to all cars. But MIROS and all of the government agencies failed to realised on how low quality our road condition are. Simple to all MIROS and government related, drive in KL and count the no of pothole. Go drive in LPT and DUKE, explain to us that all the wavy road is the standard of highway that is really save? how about night driving with road having missing cat eyes, lines etc?

Stop blaming and put all the bad things to Rakyat, check all the infrastructure that you prepare based on our tax money. you point one finger to all of us but the 4 is pointing back at your not so clever mentality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 19
    • Yes, agree. The focus should be on how to get the rakyat from Point A to Point B in the shortest time and safest possible.

1. Road design and town planning (two-lane road to support 100 condos in one area?? Have to make stupid U-turns 1km away to get to opposite side of road??)

2. Better public transport, so that less cars on the road. Safer and faster.

3. Making good cars affordable so rakyat don’t have to spend on cars like the Kancil. Can you imagine the Kancil being approved for safety in the US or Germany?

4. Making economic situation better so that rakyat can afford good & regular maintenance

5. Have good education system so rakyat is more civilized. Not resort to violent and tidak apa mentality like some, ahem, political parties who love to send thugs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 13
      • escvcs on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:48 pm

I read some comments here telling that using myvi is better because you can keep money from repair cost. Driving attitude is more important. No need such thing as ESC and 2 airbags are enough.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:54 am

Yep.. guess what your grandfather’s car ve no esc.. no airbags.. no vsc.. & he live right? Or else you won’t be here talking.

Yep it’s more on attitude. . & understand well what car you are driving. . If you ve a rally car you can drive like rally car.. same with F1 cars..

Unfortunately some of you tends to act beyond JPJ or police or Miros officers.. or my personal preference & justify this & that not safe?

• kenot on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Although they can be driven at top speed of over 200 km/h, it does not mean that in the event of an accident, the vehicles and the drivers will be safe and sound.

“These drivers claim that driving just slightly over the speed limit does not pose any problem to them. On the contrary, driving at speeds much too high increases the risk of accidents,” he said when contacted by Bernama.

I agree with his statement. some of super luxury driver thinks all the safety equipment can operate well at all condition. do you know the manufacturer always test their car including safety features and crash test in control condition?

i don’t mind if they want to drive at high speed..but please don’t make other people in danger.

• Turboman on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Is there any proof or evidence as to why they draw this conclusion? Any study on the statistics on AES summons, on luxury cars vs normal cars?

Malaysians need to start questioning the validity of claims being thrown at them, whether by the govt or private sector.

What about myvis, wira, waja, gen 2 and mat rempits with their modified engines and huge exhaust pipes weaving in and out of the traffic? Any study done on road conditions?

Why are luxury cars being singled out? Easy target?

• tiadaid (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:30 pm

If you even care to read the article, you’ll find that MIROS isn’t blaming the luxury cars themselves, only the owners’ reckless driving – which is true.

As for the wavy roads, that’s what the speed limit is for obviously! If you drive at the speed limit, terrain conditions would not unduly affect your driving as it has already taken into account when setting the limit. It’s only a problem if you exceeding the limit (which Malaysians are prone to do – I’ve seen cars driving at 120-140 kmh on the Old Subang Airport road which is definitely not rated for that speed!)

Don’t you see the irony? You point one finger at the authorities, the four (three actually, the thumb doesn’t point back) fingers points back at you.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:02 pm

The German Autobahn can be wavy too, honestly I didn’t see much difference driving from JB to KL vs a typical German Autobahn.

Normal roads are a big hazard in Malaysia, I agree.

Mostly it is Malaysian drivers though that are the problem. Unaware of their surroundings, doing whatever they want, and sometimes in a very aggressive way.

• phaser on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:53 pm

Accidents because of turbo bocor (preve and exora are excluded) and DSG failure.

• Mahendran Dharma Ratnam on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:06 pm

I would like to contact Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon, does anyone have his contact number or the gentleman at paultan.org perhaps? because besides driving high performance cars at lunatic speeds there a 101 reasons on way motorist could die on the road…for starters lets talk about road conditions…so please let me have his contact number or if who could contact me would be great if that’s too much to ask for.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 15
  • Mahendran Dharma Ratnam on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:07 pm

I would like to contact Prof Dr Wong Shaw Voon, does anyone have his contact number or the gentleman at paultan.org perhaps? because besides driving high performance cars at lunatic speeds there a 101 reasons on way motorist could die on the road…for starters lets talk about road conditions…so please let me have his contact number or if he could contact me, that would be great, if that’s too much to ask for.

• Implement rules that all car must equip stability and traction control then only talk about speed..

• Ray (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:31 pm

Luxury vehicles? We have more Myvis driving on the road like maniacs. How about implementing these:

1. Upgrade all road conditions. Yes, all. Potholes and unclear road markings/lines not only cause accidents, the former will also harm our vehicles. And, insufficient/unclear road signs will also lead to accidents sometimes, as motorists have to make sudden swerves or U-turns.

2. Make basic safety kit standard in all vehicles. 6 airbags, ABS, EBD, BA, stability control and traction control standard in all cars. Look at the US, they even require reverse camera as standard in all new vehicles (if not mistaken). Active safety like ESC, ABS will very likely prevent accidents from happening and should be a must in all cars.

3. Better public transportation. Rapid KL and Penang are good, perhaps this can extend to all states.

4. Stricter enforcement?

• kl fella on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:36 pm

now that’s a great generalisation by this Prof.. what bout those pimped almera, vios, city, crz, civic, wiralution, satrialution, kancil converted with small cc turbo..

• 2 cents on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:10 pm

The problem is this prof doesnt realize that the ones that are driving fast, changing lane like ayah dorang punya jalan is all this Perodua MIRA, Passo and Mitsubishi Wira. The lux vehicles even if they deive fast, its all cruisinh fast and the most they’ll do is flash light from a safe distance from the front car.

Apa deyyy cakap mcmni mcm.

• But it’s not your father who pays monthly installment of my car or in other twsited way (bukan bapak korang punya duit pun yang bayar smartphone aku ni)

Sounds familiar?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:35 am

Yep.. sound familiar. . Let me add.. u also can use..

Kena saman pon bukan bapak lu punya duit nak tolong bayar…

Those who want to pay my saman can talk kok on me.. or just shut the hell up..

Hahaha. . Peace.. joking around. .

• turbo_guy on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:39 pm

“…she said, adding that men were twice more likely to break the highway code.”
    Sounds a bit “gender discrimination”…
    Shouldn’t be the driver’s attitude a contributed factor to ‘breaking the highway code’ then the gender?

• 2 cents on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Driving fast doesn’t mean its dangerous; and driving slow doesn’t mean its safe. And i believe this explains it all.

• kl fella on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:54 pm

and don’t forget most of fatal accidents occurred because of stationary lorries or cars parked / stalled at the road side and got rear-ended with tragic result..

talking about irony!! fast car konon cause accident.. even drive slow also will cause accident

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:07 pm

If you’re at the road side, you should put a warning triangle at some distance to warn other motorists. Also, why were they hit when they were standing on the emergency lane? Others have no business DRIVING there.

• policeman on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:42 pm

Make it compulsory for all cars to have speed cut at 110km/h.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 21
    • Baja Lapis Seng on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Or ride a bike.

Government should leave their filthy hand off our vehicles.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • frustrated citizen on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:42 pm

They even told the cars are subjected to 65km/h during a crashh test session.

This is bcoz during an event of collision, the car will be slowdown that range of speed.

so MIROS stop making jokes on the luxurious car and come up wif the proper guidelines and preventive action on roads, mandatory safety packages for an automobile and etc.

Please stop treating us stupid to justify all ur comments.

by: frustrated citizen

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
    • Battu on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:08 pm

The only stupid one is u. do you think in an event of accident, all car have time to decelerate to 65kph?
      people loose control at 200kph, people run into stalled lorry at 150kph, people doze of and run into divider at 200pkh, that is why it called accident. it happens suddently.
      the main point in MIROS statement here is that people tend to feel safer when driving luxury car, they feel they have less probability to die in the even of accident. and yet all paultan commneter goes ape shit.

• apecaretskaer on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:00 pm

You la stupid, we here are not going ape shit like you. Most comments said that most dangerous cars are Myvi, Vios and alike. Understand it ape?

• niterunner99 on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:46 pm

Maybe Prof Wong drives a M3 himself!
    It’s not about the type of vehicles…it’s about the DRIVERS!
    Some mths back in Singapore, a cyclist on normal bike (not electric) bang into a pedestrian…the pedestrian died! So now how?

• Boy Racer (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:55 pm

True. I’m sure you don’t see ONLY luxury cars breaking the rules. I’ve seen all types of vehicles ignoring the red light, ranging from bicycles, food delivery motorcycles, buses, to old cars, new cars, luxury cars and etc, which is one out of many driving hazards out there.It’s not the type of vehicles we drive, it’s THE PEOPLE who operate them.

• Guan Yin Maa on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:49 pm

Easy la like all JDM car, electronic speed limiter till 180km/h only.

• kenix tim mun chong on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:51 pm

This research do not make sense after all. Car accident is involve two party, if one party with healthy mind and well maintenance car, where got accident..
    Those people that affordable to buy luxury car is due to the safety guarantee that our local car manufacturing unable to offer. Thus when accident happen between luxury and unluxury car, who were having the most casualties? Is the unluxury car.
    Speeding is not the killing point.. the killing point is when speeding car meet with slow moving car which slow moving car can refer to heavy truck, old car and blab la bla..
    If slow moving car, why allowed them took highway road?
    Delicate a special road / line for slow moving car while the rest is fast moving car.
    Make sure the research is comprehensive to all related matter before publishing it.
    Blaming 1 party will never solve the problem.. like looking to little ant while problem is big like elephant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 10
    • tiadaid (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:39 pm

I totally disagree – Karpal Singh’s death showed how being in a luxury cars does not guarantee that you will not be harmed in an accident.

Which leads me to another point – it scares me to see those MPVs and SUVs driving at maddening speeds on the highway. Their centre of gravity is higher compared cars (which is why supercars go as low as they can) so it’s easier for a MPV/SUV to lose stability, even with ESC/ASC/VSC and the like.

• Swede metal on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:49 pm

I suspect it’s because it’s a Japanese car and therefore not resulted to the stringent safety standards imposed on European cars. Just food for thought. No hate.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:28 pm

Perhaps it is, but you’ll really have to see how fast they were going at to make accurate judgments. It’s not very factual to say that “he died because he was in a Japanese MPV”. Even in European cars, once you go fast enough, you probably will get really hurt in a bad crash. Ever heard of a car wrapping around a tree because of a crash?

• kl fella on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:57 pm

you call those MPVs (alphards) as luxury cars? lol they’re dangerous to be in at the first place.. have you driven one? it’s so wobbly until i dare not drive fast with one.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:25 pm

Alphards are, in fact, marketed as luxury MPVs. It’s not the stability of the car that makes it a luxury car, it’s the level of trim within, the comfort features, etc. The luxury features.

And you should not drive fast in such a big vehicle. Good job with sticking to your gut on that one.

• 5star on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Thanks God the car has 5 star Australasia NCAP safety rating. I don’t Myvi and like those Myvi and Vios.

• Sam Loo Sucks on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:58 pm

alfart is not luxury car la dei…its a luxury van mayat! get your facts right

• Battu on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:13 pm

this is exactly the problem that MIROS is highlighting, which is people in luxury car feels they are less probable to die in the event of accident, so they drive faster than normal car. your kind of mentality is causing accident man. u drive 500k bmw, if u loose control at 200kph, can still be alive? take karpal singh case as another example.
      slow and overtaking road already implemented in our highway, do you even have license? never drive in our highway?
      talk sense first before trying to sound smart.

• walau on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:58 pm

I think the HILUX and TRITONs are the worst hooligans on the road compared to luxury cars, at least luxury car drivers are scared of scratching their cars.

• walau on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:58 pm

I think the HILUX and TRITONs are the worst hooligans on the road compared to luxury cars, at least luxury car drivers are scared of scratching their cars.

• cadbury miros on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Luxury car for rakyat:
    1. Myvi SE 1.5
    2. Alza 1.5
    3. Vios 1.5 TRD Sportivo bla bla
    4. All this converted wira,waja, gen2, persona with turbo or rota wirdo rims
    5. Preve CFE turbocor
    7. Saga BLM
    8. Many other <100k car

Mr Miros, this is the car that possesed more damage and mostly driven on highway at over 140kmh.

Simple, get the car then do crash test @ 140kmh and let us know the result.

Its such a pity to let the nation being rules by this wormbooks who cant even relate things to reality.

Wakey2 guys, 2020 the so called WAWASAN is 6 yrs around the corner and you guys so busy pointing fingers here and there.

What a Failures!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 16
    • fugkey on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:08 pm

YOu convey study ka? Itu kalau ikut advisor lah. Preve 5 star ANCAP, even new Honda Accord only has 4. Are you sure it gets more damages when collide with the cars listed?

Only 6 years left to 2020 still there are people living in cave.

• When people of money move from their humble cars to “luxury” cars, suddenly they feel like they own the road. Speeding and left-side overtaking aside, cops should learn also to spot and nab culprits of one of the biggest bane of Malaysian highway driving – the tailgater. Drivers of BMWs, Alphards, Estimas and govt-registered Perdana V6s, you know what I mean…

• AVH (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Lets be the devil’s advocate for a while shall we…..Not to defend tail-gaters, but here is what I notice, and I notice so many times that people like to dilly-dally in the fast lane for no apperent reason. and if you see someone faster than you coming from behind and flash at you, what would most Malaysian do…..A)move aside or B) stay put. Its almost common sense to let faster car use to right lane doing no matter what speed in a car, you should move aside and let it overtake, staying put (which is what I usualy notice)will increase the likely hood of accident even more and yes he is speeding, but why dafaq do you have to be in the way?

I do repent now that I am a sinner of tailgatting, I keep my moral and my behavior up and maintain a 2-3 car engths on normal driving whne roads are congested….but whan I see a person lingering around in the fast lane when the left is as clear as an abandon airport, I do tailgate. Forcing them to the right for my and their safety and amzingly, some keep their stand in the fast lane and those that move aside…..MOVE BACK IN after I overtake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
      • tut-tut on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:08 pm

avh you should not tailgate – keep your distance and be patient – flash your lights for them to let you pass. that is the correct attitude to take not a tit for tat.

oh ya 2-3 cars length is NOT SAFE ENOUGH! We need 2-3 seconds gap. look at a marker when the car in front pass and it should be 2-3sec before you pass the marker. we need 1 second to react to any emergency braking by the car in front……

• Drive Your Way (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Fast lane hogging is quite commonly seen in Malaysia. There is a problem with their mindset.

• f10er on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Of course la no need to give way to City or Alza, if BMW or Merc that’s different story.

• 2 cents on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:04 pm

2 things;

1) I quote Jeremy Clarkson, “Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that’s what gets you.” — eg. Massive potholes(JPJ, cough cough)

2) I can’t help it but to realize the name of the MIROS behavioural and evaluation analysis unit chief’s sounds so similar to Noradrenaline(excitability hormone), i actually had to reread it a few times lol

• tiadaid (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Road maintenance is not under JPJ’s purview – it’s JKR and budgeted either under Federal or State budget.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:08 pm

To be real honest, not that I defend speedseters, but cars nowadays its preety hard to just ‘stick’ to 110kph. Was talking to several VW CC and Merc drivers and the amount of times they have to look down and ‘notice’ their speed, they have already pass 150kph. And not to brag, I am sinful of this as well in a mere Honda, doing 130kph without realising. Puttin the blame on luxury car isn’t really fair, the number of time I’am being tailgated is usually by a Myvi, or a Waja/Wiralution, Vioses and most frequently…..Toyota Hiluxes and Rangers. Statistically speaking, most fast car I see on the road amounts to these people. ‘Luxury’ cars from A4 to S-classes that I usually see wanders at 130-140kph. BMW I find are the most frequent speeders, doing 140kph plus(As I was push to 140 by one).

And not to talk about speedsters, what about road hoggers? doing 80kph in the fast lane while the left and middle is as clear as the Sahara desert. Just drive down any highway at any time and you see that the left is usually as abandon while the righ(fast) lane is as dense as Shanghai. Than those that overtakes at 1.5kph faster, giving everyone behind the biggest misery of their life. This honestly pisses me of more than fast driver. Than we come to motorcycles……I’ve seen so many wandering around wind in their hair, helmets in the basket, around busy streets, ridden by airheads from working man to lower secondary school kids. There are those that don’t even have streetlight, rear and front!, and still wanders between the middle and fast lane. And just go around KL and look, almost 1/3rd of every motorcycles do not even have proper wing mirrors. And even thou technically they do not have blindspot, their field of vision pantamounts to just +/-20 degree in front of them and bless with a situational awareness worse than the people who did not noticed MH370 was flying in their own B****y Airspace.

The list goes on and on as far to how unsafe Malaysian drivers is. the lack of situational awareness, use of signal lights or mirrors and the chaotic mix of 2-4-6-8-10 wheels motorize vehicle. To sum it up, dont just be worried of those speeding…..Than we come to Malaysian road system, the road signs that tell you not where you’re going, but what you have missed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 4
  • ThinkTank on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:10 pm

Accidents occur not solely because of fast driving and driving slow by the speed limit is the best answer as well. I believe that unaware driving contribute to most of the fatalities. Example, shifting lanes without estimating the on-coming traffic speed and building enough speed to match. Lack of use of light indicators equipped for switching lanes. There is no problem in driving slightly fast but road users (drivers, riders, and pedestrians) need to be more aware especially in expressways or highways. Sudden braking and road hogging can also contribute to such fatalities. The road are already made into lanes and so match your car speed according to the designated lanes (subjectively) or match the traffic current when driving in one. Roadways can be improved and has improved in certain area in Malaysia, but improving alone is not sufficient if there is no proper road maps for the vehicles. Only allow certain vehicle size to travel at certain designated roads and commercial road ways should only be designated for standard commercial cars (maybe you can refer to other countries – Singapore, United Kingdom, and etc). This can may be reduce traffic congestions or fatal accidents by 18%.

Do address the matter in a much more complete manner as by pin pointing only on a single aspect really indicate your incapacity. Please, if you are paid to do this then you should deliver better conclusions.

Then again, this is my two cents and definitely are not absolute. But as a daily commuter in Lembah Klang, these are little things that I believe the government and society could improve. It takes two to tango ;)

• Half Blind on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:13 pm

MIROS never said anything about commercial vehicle inspections JPJ Puspakom…almost everyday we read news bus accidents with much bigger casualties…sure no hanky panky on bus inspection kah??

• Rocket Scientist on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:14 pm

“Although they can be driven at top speed of over 200 km/h, it does not mean that in the event of an accident, the vehicles and the drivers will be safe and sound.

These drivers claim that driving just slightly over the speed limit does not pose any problem to them. On the contrary, driving at speeds much too high increases the risk of accidents,”

Oh dear! Why me, a rocket scientist, didn’t think of that???

• mim (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:43 pm

Driving at 200km/h+ is not the problem. Lack of skills (and proper car) to maintain control at that speed is the problem.

• I don’t believe speed is the main factor of fatality accidents in malaysia or any other parts of the world. How often u see news or report in newspapers regarding luxury/high-performance cars involved in fatal accidents? It’s not a common scene although I must admit if it happens, the results sometimes disastrous. Personally, I think the major factor in road accidents is that a driver fails to identify how good the condition of the car he/she driving, can the car mechanical/electronic system withstand such abusive way of driving (e.g. driving a myvi/viva so fast like it is a ferrari) and lastly the condition of the driver him/herself while driving (drunk driving, lack of sleep or rest).

• Kanasai79 on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:20 pm

You can always seem those luxury and high performance cars racing along North South highway

• zafri on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Dear MIROS,
    I agree that fast driving is dangerous. But in this case, you are generalizing. Please present your facts backed-up by numbers. I, for one, am interested to know the statistics of car accidents by make and model in Malaysia.

• ahmadfaris93 on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:28 pm

As if the MyVis and Vios drivers drive better. Most of them are much worse.

• Anonymous on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:19 pm

It is because their cars are lighter and has good acceleration. I drive myvi and also vios before and YES. Those cars are fast !

• vee-oh on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:30 pm

basically road conditions and driver attitude play big roles in causing accidents..agreed with MIROS on driving >200kmh, but at least luxury car got all sort of safety equipments. What about the funny small car like Myvi also trying to be king of highway? disaster

• vee-uh on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Myvi IS king of highway. Motorhead please approve this.
      v o m i t

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:42 am

Well that’s depend on the driver..

But I can approve this.. Myvi is indeed the King of highway in quantity. That’s a fact.

• Noradrenalina… what a freaking cool name…

• choha on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:44 pm

2 words: speed kills

• Scania o Merc on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Lorry n bus.. no matter u r scania o merc.. ur speeding ceate danger to other driver.. especially change lane without border other vehicles..

• skycode on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:47 pm

Dear MIROS,
    Please do some analysis on all government agency on how their staff driving behavior. Why the policeman did’t wear the safety belt during driving? Any regulation said that they can skip these, if yes please amend it. Is that our government don’t appreciate our lovely and helpful policeman life? JPJ,Bomba, Emergency Rescue Team, Ambulance, and all government’s vehicle most of the time you can notice on the road the driver and passenger was not apply the safety belt and speeding! Any regulation said that they can do this? Because they are government servant and not afraid of getting summon? But what a poor practice and example for a JPJ, a fire fighter and an emergency rescue team members even they don’t take serious on this safety issue! Another issue is about the polis escort operation.. most of the time they are speeding! What i understand is the escort operation is to make the convoy smooth and not ‘speeding’. An road experience when i saw an bus convoy escort by police speeding on federal road with speed limit 60 km/h! What a stupid convoy that don’t think about other road user. Please start your study and analysis at Putrajaya where most of the government servant is there and re educate them on road safety awakeness and let these people give a good example what is a good driving behavior only the citizen will follow! Clearly what i want to say here is show your commitment on road safety with starting with YOU (Our lovely Government). Do saman and fine double on your staff who is break yours rules!

• Unsafe? Tell that to those luxury cars with undeserving outriders expecting a clear road during heavy jam.

• mohd faizul on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:50 pm

As a regular traveler using LPT and NSE for business trip , speed do not kill but behaviour and road ethic cause of so many accident. MIROS need is to solve this problem rather than pointing finger :- 1)Driver not using the signal indicator when changing lane. 2)Fast lane driver speed same or slower than the slow lane driver;this is one of cause of massive traffic jammed although we have 3 lane highway especially for KL-Seremban NSE stretch.3) Taillgatting. 4) Clear road sign/warning at least 1-2 km before any junction /construction/exit .

• AhBengChye on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:59 pm

You must be kidding me. How many times have you seen a luxury car getting into an accident as opposed as a Myvi/Viva getting into an accident? Personally, I find it very rare to see a BMW5 series (not from the 90s ok!) or equivalent getting crashed in Malaysia. In my own opinion though, driving a luxury car at higher speed than usual is actually safer than driving at 80-90KM/h with the traffic. Most of the time, an accident is caused by 2 car collision rather than own collision.

• Jejambu on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Its not only that speeding is a hazard but these luxury car drivers also fail to take into consideration other road users who do not have the luxury of safety wrapped around them. In fact, these drivers are more a hazard to everyone else but themselves.

• kl fella on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:05 pm

another generalisation. wait until you get tail-gated by kelisa.. lol

• forever lestari on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:08 pm

Noticed that the MIROS officer name is NorADRENALINA

she must be the real subject matter in driving on adrenaline..haha

• ThePolygon on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:20 pm

He wins already. He mentioned ‘Superman’ and ‘Ironman’ in one sentence… I have nothing to say anymore…

• Denaihati on Jun 04, 2014 at 2:35 pm

guy affordable buy a luxury car, of course not worry to paying max. RM300 summon, also not worry dead on road. some of riches guy buy luxury car not just for comfortable also for speed, in this case gives extra summon…for driving over 200kmh(no use even have 12 airbag…heee).

• Kangkung on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:04 pm

Malaysia Accident causes
    1. Poor road quality and design. Thanks to RM1 Ayam
    2. Poor lighting. Thanks to RM1 Ayam
    3. Inconsiderate driving mindset. Thanks to Rakyat forced to eat kangkung

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:16 am

Hm. Most of the Autobahn is IIRC not lit at night. No street lights. Not an issue. Your car has headlights for a reason. Adjust them properly and you’ll see the road without blinding others.

And driving attitude is true, but that’s mostly a lack of education in driving school and lack of enforcement by the police. Even if someone has a good attitude coming from driving school or a foreign country, you’ll quickly adapt to the awful attitude and skill set in Malaysia.

• Khoo Jia En on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:06 pm

To be honest, the whole Malaysia is full of unsafe drivers

• tishaban on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Yes cars shouldn’t be driving at insanely fast speeds on the highway. The speed differential between the slowest car and the fastest car especially on a 2-lane highway is one the biggest risks when driving on the highway.

However accidents on trunk roads and those involving motorcycles are far more deadly.

• What is the purpose of this obvious statement/research?

• Swede metal on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:40 pm

Actually to me, it’s not the speed that kills but driver attitude. Many other fatal accidents happen at speeds below 100km/h. In Germany they can drive fast because they have good driver attitude and are considerate on the road. Our drivers here however, do not have a very good attitude. Here, road hazards are also aplenty.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:02 pm

This what I meant.. Paul wannabe. . Drive to die.. at the end aunties driving Viva lives.. they died.

Attitude. . It’s about attitude. .

Miros agree with me.. they didn’t mention Perodua cars.. please accept the fact. . They are below 1500cc.. we are not talking about 2000cc and above..

Fast myvi are not standard. . But myvi 1.5 manual is fast indeed. Stock.

• motorbart on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:31 pm

Myvi is not that fast, it’s light, tin milo and dangerous.

• Rulered on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:12 am

Agreed, it’s all about attitude. Attitude need to be taught and practice from young. A person who drives a Viva like crazy will drive even more crazier after he/she saved up some money to get a better car and so on. Value life, in the end all the speed and flashy cars don’t count if you’re six feet down under.

• Dummies from miros

• “Lack of bad experience of being issued traffic summonses made them bold in violating traffic rules,”

Yeah, so in conclusion police shud issue more summonses? hahaha..

• It’s means no point to buy a luxury car?

• Usin Kangkong (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:07 pm

Last to komeng!

• powershot on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:51 pm

just impound the cars la, regardless of what car it is.

imposed ridiculously high compound rates

• Mohd Noor Yahya on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Why oh why don’t they make it a law that on a three lane highway motorcyclists are not allowed to be in between the 1st lane and 2nd lane? This is where cars always switch lanes or overtakes and poses danger to motorcyclists.

On another note, I had and amusing experience 2 months ago. It was drizzling one evening and I was driving through the bends and corners of Karak Highway towards KL and suddenly this car, either a Preve or Subprima started tailgating me very closely so much so I can see his pimples from the rear view mirror.

Mind you I wasn’t driving slowly. I was driving a powerful turbo charged German car known for handling corners (guess what car?) I picked up speed and he followed very closely. Then I saw from my GPS that there’s a sharp bend coming up and a nasty thought came up.

I press the throttle going into the corner hoping that he will blindly follow and looked into the rearview mirror and horrors! The Preve/Subprima was gone! Had it gone into the ravine?

Then I saw it sheepishly moving quite far behind in the left lane. Serves him right!

• bentley on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:40 pm

Let me guess 20 years old Merc or BMW, if he wants to continue to follow you sure he can.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Luxury cars = coffins?

Fact is.. did you see any luxury cars speeding at 110kmp on highways?

No you won’t.

But unfortunately we do need one or two Autobahn here.. or else why no gov just ban Luxury cars.. 110kmp in Luxury cars you ll die of falling asleep. ..

Or gov should limit all car electronically. . All cars.. including Ferrari, Porch etc..

Ok then can talk.

• I kinda agree with this article.. just came back from Terengganu and twice I saw 2 BMW (one of it is new 5 series) was accident on a quite straight road during the rain.. maybe the driver think that his car can be driven at any speed no matter what is the condition..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:07 pm

Yep.. well equipped & expensive. . So they think can drive helter skelter. . That’s the idea. . Faster way to die..

Anyway I approve. . Few ppl willing to die in expensive cars, it’s their dreams…. so I respect that.. salute.

To be fair..

Those driving luxury cars & drive safe ..I salute too..

• ecnce on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:43 pm

Faster way to die is to drive in moving coffin like Vios or Myvi. LOL

• BOYRACER on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Cars dont kill..Its the drivers themselves.Always remember your own ability,your car’s capability(sportscars will always have better handling than your average family hatchback) and road conditions.Follow these rules you will be safe on the road.Be safe out there..

• geley on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:45 pm

Are you a racer? Use Myvi la power siot, handling macam Ferrari. Laju pun laju boleh tarpau Beemer and S Class. If you don’t believe ask Motorhead.

• BOYRACER on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:16 am

I used to race with my friends before but not anymore.I still drive fast nowadays.Age is catching up so now i drive more carefully..Its more about paying up when u have an accident.Minor fender bender is troublesome when you do not have to claim insurance.Amount is too small to make insurance claim justifiable.Anyway you can drive a myvi lagi power as fast at 160km/ but the margin for error is so narrow that I dont think I will be comfortable driving at that speed.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:51 am

Max I tried with my Myvi SE (manual, standard engine) is 160kmp.. check with gps.. same.. my vios speedo meter not so accurate. . Minus 10-20kmp..

I tailgate a myvi once with my vios.. My Vios is already 170kmp.. the Myvi is still in front.. It was Myvi 1.5.

To Myvi owners out there.. using stock absorbers are dangerous at speed above 140kmp.. change heavy duty or adjustable absorbers. . Then you are good to go..

It’s your life anyway. .

• Annoynimouse on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Often, its the relative speed that causes accidents. You get very slow moving vehicles and very fast ones. A condition where everybody is doing 140kph is safer than some doing 80 and some 200kph.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:08 am

No. Lorries on the German Autobahn drive 90, while some cars drive 250 or more. Not a problem when people keep to the slow lane unless overtaking, and pay attention to what is happening behind them.

• john smith on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:10 pm

“The roads are designed to be driven at a certain speed and to stay safe, motorists should observe the speed limit and traffic rules, he said, adding that seat belts must be worn by all passengers, front or rear.”

how about those ministers and YBs as well as their police escorts who drive without regards to speed limit? are they exempted from the pre-determined safe-speed limit imposed on ordinary road users? are the road safer for them by the virtue of their position?

• miros on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:13 pm

these high powered lux cars (more than 200hp) can go from 0km/h to 200km/h to 0km/h pretty quick. Quicker than the average camry/accord/vios/civic/city/mazda6 etc. An example of a 300+hp audi a6 driving at 110km/h is much safer than a civic driving at the same speed.
    i have driven on the autobahn on a lux german car and when the sign on their electronic board says no limit, all cars on the fast lane will cruise on everage speed exceeded 200km/h, they will keep distant with the car in front and always give way to a much faster cars. the not so fast car will always stay on the righ lane with the lorries and buses. not once i saw any 1.3 liter or 1.5 liter small car move to the fast lane. this has made their highway so efficient, a person can drive hundreds of km in short time.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:06 am

Not really true. Less powerful cars use the fast lane too. Most people drive around 130-140 (including people driving a smart fortwo), lorries drive 90, some cars drive 150-250. However people drive on the slow lane unless overtaking, which is why you might not have noticed it.

• Coffee on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Kopi lesen also another problem.

• mujeeebur on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:30 pm

based on my experience, usually the common type of vehicles that drive like monkey on our malaysian road would consists of bmw, myvi, pick up trucks, alphard, estima & velfire, toyota van (hiace), preve, neo.. but hey, no offence pls, as not all driver of those cars that i mentioned above are like that.. peace yo!

• powerr on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:49 pm

Myvi and Vios also can get fast, 180km/h. Still can tailgate Audi A6.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:56 am

Yep.. Myvi 1.3 can do 160kmp.. 1.5 can do 180kmp.. I can verify this. Stock engines.. & they are just 50K.

Apa lagi you mau?

• I think the dimwits from Miros need to read this article before they open their mouths on speed, its attitudes which are more important, not merely speed limits – http://www.carbibles.com/speeding_facts.html

• Speed doesn’t kill in the manner that Miros & other govt officials want you to believe. It’s common sense that higher speed will make any accident more violent, but higher speed does not cause the accident in the first place. The police and governments should be spending more time on educating people to drive properly,they should spend more time and resources banning cellphones and arresting drivers for drunk and drugged driving – all major causes of accidents as supported by dozens of reports – http://www.publications.parliament.uk/pa/cm200102/cmselect/cmtlgr/557/557ap15.htm

Education & attitudes are important and this starts by not being dumb & ignorant of statistics and math, numbers do not lie people do!

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:38 pm

Can’t agree more. Spot on. Not hard to find the root cause, just look at our driving school.

• Prof Lim on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:23 am

It’s not an issue on the amount of safety gadgets that a car has. It’s just that most 3rd-world Malaysian car drivers have very bad or totally no whatsoever ethics when driving on the road.
    The Government or the transport minister needs to work harder.
    Meanwhile, our roads will never be safe until all the ‘un-ethical’ drivers die on our roads in their ‘natural death’ of meeting an accident.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:08 am

Miros talking about luxury cars here.. then suddenly people are talking about Myvi & vios.. what’s the problem?

Not your datuk or nenek highways anyway. .

The point is.. did you see a luxury car travelling at 110kmp on highways? Please be honest. Answer me.

Yes.. I admit there are a few rempit Myvi on the road. . But we are talking about 1.3 or 1.5 here..& they are best cruise at 110-120kmp for fuel efficient. Driving helter skelter also is my past.. inly sometimes the adrenalin hit.

Now I enjoy low FC.. slowing down save lives & money.. enjoy money more now.

• Moronhead on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Myvi fits the demographics of low income , low IQ and uneducated fellers. That’s why most of the time you see them cucuk here n there speeding like maniacs and endangering other road users. Similar to rempits…

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:32 pm

Besides excessively speeding, don’t forget about those who do not understand the concept of rear view mirrors, turn signals and the overall concept of what we humans call, common sense. These people contribute to accidents too.
    Can’t believe it per 100k motorist, we have higher death rate compared to Germany, which on most parts of the Autobahn, does not have any speed limit, only a recommended speed of 130kmh. Now, there must be more than just speed, how about we look back at our driving school? how is that for a start?

• Chan Wah Peng on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:14 pm

Speed doesn’t kill, it’s the way the driver drive.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:23 pm

To those complaining of road conditions,

While I agree with your points that Malaysian roads can do with some improvement and repaving in many cases, it is better we adapt our driving to the bad roads than complain fervently waiting for the roads to be patched up. What I’m saying is, when you’re driving along a road you use frequently, you should generally get an idea of where the bad patches are and do your best to mitigate them by slowing down for that stretch or taking a detour or some such rather than fly over the holes and waves at 110kmph. That’s just asking for trouble, imo.

• Why MIROS is not worry those old cars (20yrs to 30yrs ) on the road? Most of them doesnt care about their cars anymore- lead to road bully and the safety already compromise to current technology!

• The biggest road bullies are 4×4 pickups trucks. With their power and sizes, they a terror bullies on the road. Watch out for a particular silver ford ranger regn no. W9441A. Terror road bully on kesas highway. The driver won’t hesitate to overtake and slam brakes in front of you if you blocked his way while he is speeding