JPJ proposes darker legal tint levels, up to 25% VLT

ops-cermin-gelap-55

The two-day workshop held by the transport ministry on June 2-3 to study and review the use of tint in vehicles has resulted in some changes to the permissible tint levels in automotive glass, according to a Berita Harian report.

Darker (or higher) tint levels will be allowed, but there’s a catch – the changes don’t cover the whole vehicle, but all of the glass areas on a vehicle except the front side windows and front windscreen, if the report is read right.

UPDATE: The Road Transport Department (JPJ) has clarified that the front passenger side window, like the driver’s side window, will also be required to have a 50% VLT rate, instead of 25% as previously reported. It has also stated that tint shops will be required to have VLT measuring equipment, and that if the requirements are approved by the transport ministry, it will work with the Domestic Trade, Cooperatives and Consumerism ministry (KPDNKK) and SIRIM to standardise the VLT of tint films sold in Malaysia.

In addition, JPJ reminded Approved Permit (AP) holders to remove the tint films that do not meet the specifications from their cars before selling them to prevent buyers from running afoul of the new rules. Finally, JPJ has denied presenting any certification permitting the sale and use of tint films to vehicle accessory shops.

740105807_161256226255813975

Effective this month, the permissible visible light transmission level (or transparency rate) for both rear door windows as well as rear screen will be lowered from the existing 50% to 25%. In this case, the lower percentage figure translates to darker tint levels being allowed, meaning 75% of the light transmission going into the cabin in those specific areas can be cut out.

The level for the front side windows and front windscreen remains at the current VLT rate of 50% and 70% respectively. This means you can have darker tints for all glass areas on a vehicle save the front side windows and front windscreen, like normal privacy glass (below).

Deputy transport minister Datuk Abdul Aziz Kaprawi told the publication that the amendments will be brought to the ministerial level for approval immediately.

Santa Fe Morocco-52-tint

No mention was made of Ops Cermin Gelap, but at last count, it’s still a go for June 16 as initially planned. The operation against vehicles with dark-tinted glass which fall foul of the existing rules will be led by the Traffic Police, with JPJ providing assistance.

Aziz had earlier explained that findings from the workshop, which would explore aspects like existing regulations, enforcement, security and usability, would determine the direction of the June 16 operation, as well as policies regarding the issue.

In an earlier report, Berita Harian had speculated that the revisions would allow the side windows and rear screen to be “darkened” to 30% VLT and that of the front windscreen to 50%. As it goes, you can still be done in at a roadblock by the tint level of your front side windows, unless you’re willing to go a lighter tint level for those and the windscreen. What do you think of the revised tint levels?

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Just follow US lah. Rear passenger window and rear windscreen is permissible to about 25% light through. Front windscreen and front passenger door should have about 75% light through! And they don’t allow the front windscreen especially the 6 inch or 10 inch tinting as the sun visor to be implemented at all.

The driver’s face must be visible to the enforcement officers at all time!

In US the cops always stop their vehicle behind traffic offenders and calls for back up unlike Malaysia, they always stop infront of the offenders. Something we can learn and is much safer!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 117 Thumb down 19
    • In US you don’t have to worry about Kap Chai suddenly appear, smash and grab in the middle of the road.

I’m not saying US is better because we are taking tinting as safety measure as well as keeping the car cool.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0r on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:12 am

The Saga/Persona/Satria group can’t wait to tint their car whole black and keep on dreaming they are driving Mustang/Evo10.

“Smoke you while you couldn’t see me!” sound familiar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 91
      • kaeff on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:05 am

I think the JPJ and the police should not waste time on tinted glass especially we feel really comfortable under our tropical weather. Did the government prodyxe any proof of the so call security danger to the public? No! They fear…But remember the helmet with visor was banned and re-allowed later. No problem. We are more worried about mat rempit snatching bags which have proven causung death to victims. What possible harm can be caused by tinting glasses that cools our cars and make our druve more comfortable. If enforced, the VIP should not enjoy it and get it removed too. Why the double stanfard?.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
      • Very true. My wife’s Camry was hijacked because they saw my wife driving alone. It was very scary! I think I will go for full black tinting and pay fines rather than losing RM100k+ investments and precious lifes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 4
        • aku la on Jun 14, 2014 at 8:53 am

A colleague family member almost got kidnapped by a criminal is a very dark tinted MPV. He couldn’t identify, or even know who they were simply because he could not see anything inside. Imagine if she was taken away, do you think anyone would actually know what happened inside the car?? Better to lose your car rather than you family member…

• But JPJ law won’t stop those criminal tint their window before action right? they will tint it anyway

• I think you got it wrong. In the US, the windscreen is high VLT because it allows enforcement officers driving from the opposite to see into the car. Firstly, the number plates are government issued. Secondly, their onboard system in enforcement vehicles can read number plates. If they are driving on the opposite direction, the system cannot read the number plates properly and thus the ability to see the driver is important. Following from the rear, their system can easily read the number plate and have all the information come up, thus making an arrest or stopping a vehicle because of whatever law is broken is much easier. If the law enforcemenet officer is driving next to you, he just slows down so that you are in the front and lets his system do the work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • What really happened is simple. All the Datuks and Tan Sris told the big boss of JPJ that no such thing can take place cause all their Alphards are very much tinted.

The JPJ boss telur shrunk. Kecut. Takut. Straight away got workshop and this compromise was given.

But don’t worry. In Malaysia, all this is drama. It will be enforced for a week. After that, all forgotten.

Our polis officer see the tinted car of the Tan Sri or Datuk, he telur will kecut and he will say “Tuan, Sila Lalu. Minta maaf tuan”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 227 Thumb down 12
      • turbo_guy on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:22 pm

Agree!
        If they want to implement it, they should make it transparent to all Malaysian, no matter you are politician or non-politician.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 1
      • isteve on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:52 pm

I disagreed. I witness myself once when I was stopped by JPJ enforcement near Jalan Ampang. I was stopped because of my 8000k HID. While the officer was issuing me the inspection letter, they stopped a HUMMER with almost 100% tint and single digit plate. After a short while of negotiation the JPJ officer still issue him a letter. Seems that JPJ doesn’t give a fuck of who you are.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 26
        • Pretty good eyes there brother. Your 8000k HID really is working. Can see through the tinting and the envelope. Maybe inside it contains a stickman drawing. Do you know?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
          • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:00 am

The driver might also be just a rich guy owning a hummer. No politician, no deal.

• 2 cents on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:43 am

Malaysian officers belajar daripada movie action hollywood lah. Baru lah cool!

• In US, another reason they stop behind because they have on board camera that record all the activities..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Black Dog on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:13 pm

If implemented, this looks favourable to most. I fully agree. But I thot they need parliament to pass these rules?

• ahoka on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:53 pm

If we were to follow the rules and rules is changing mean our pocket will get burn again to re-tint our car…Damn.

Maybe some officer’s son tint shop run out of biz and ask his Dad – Papa business kurang la, then his dad replied, jangan risau sayang besok I tukar law…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 1
      • TomCat on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:12 am

The specifics on VLT % might be stated in the regulation under the relevant bill. Which might also have a provision giving the MOT Minister power to amend it without the need to table it in the parliament.

• How can follow USA brother. Sunlight and heat here not the samela. We don’t follow USA and put woodfire heater in our home living hall do we?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 2
      • Rokuth on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:38 pm

You are right. USA can get much hotter. In some US States the temperature can go up to 50 degrees C or higher during summer.

• megat on Jun 05, 2014 at 6:43 am

in usa every state have different permissible light through percentage.. so what u mention is not really true.

• mississippi on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:16 am

ridiculous.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 24
  • Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:35 am

It would be a wonderful news for ALL motorist if the report really TRUE!!
    BTW any updates for EURO 4 Diesel? Is been VERY VERY quite :( since announcement on NAP.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
  • Tanah Merah on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:30 am

I’d rather hv the ‘berita harian’ speculated value than the mismatch front side tint.

• Josh Ling on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:58 am

i think it’s an improvement, though i hope it can be more cohesive. but maybe they feel the need to let the driver visible at all time, so they maintain the rate of the windscreen and driver side window.

now, let’s see if that can be implemented immediately, else some of the motorists who will go for that kind of tinting, may end up having trouble somehow. it’s not like it’s never happened before in other situations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
  • Kudos. At least better than nothing.

• enforce on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:26 am

if it is going to be enforced, make sure it enforces on all vehicles, no double standards! and no exclusion!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
  • 90% of the time they want to check on you in roadblocks and they upgraded the tint on the front and drivers side and clear on the back?
    Was this system thought of by a bunch 12 year olds?
    Also i can only imagine a car is going to look so stupid with front fully tinted and light tints at the back.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 48
    • Opps my bad, its the opposite, i guess front side, clears and back dark tints…I’ll take back what i said, this system is actually not bad at all.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • USDfan on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:58 pm

or are u stupid?

• by admitting his mistake won’t me him any stupid than u…only plain moron would right away condemned peoples mistake!

• bunch of clowns sitting and doing nonsense.

Set ur priority guys on euro4/5 diesel & petrol to improve fuel efficiency, make mandatory on safety whereby all manufacturer should include abs, ebd and vsc mandatory.

Everytime make jokes on tints and petrol price. After this u can find a RM 30K – RM 300K with nonuniform darkness of tint whereby YB and top ppl with different standard… aishhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 21
    • Chris (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:07 am

Apuh… didn’t do anything people complain, do something people complain.

Sometimes I too complains about the government, but some other times I pity them too for having to deal with us, which honestly speaking, are just varied levels of selfish arseholes…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 3
  • geekfiredog on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:16 am

Was hoping for a lower than 70% VLT rate for front windscreen. A lot of new cars front windscreen are already “pre-tinted” upto 30%, which practically means that no more tinting can be done as I don’t think there is any tint film that can provide good heat rejection and yet very high VLT (> 90%).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 8
  • The place where it is occupied 100% of the time when the car is moving get the most light through? Panas la driver weii..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
    • Very dark tint doesnt mean block heat. You need to block heat to be kept cool, not block light.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:25 am

Don’t give any comment just yet. All these information will change as soon as tomorrow. Somebody will deny giving such such information, media twisted my words, all still in study phase, we will wait for public feedback, we will conduct roadshow to gather information, we will go to Antartica to study their tinting experience

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 2
    • "t2357s on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:54 am

Yea mate. Wait for the “Ministry denies so and so tomorrow…

• Not Antartica, London. Can do shopping there.
      Fly business class on taxpayer’s money, shop there on kopi duit, attend one hour seminar, then spend next 7 days shop shop shop.
      Tint study trip done.

• carlos on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:58 am

Now I can sent my new car for tinting. hu hu hu

• Guys, I think like this ok what..at least u can save 2 shades for the rear passenger and minimize the koyok effects..why need to tint the car so heavily????

• Make it one of the government’s income. For those insisiting for tinted glasses, need to pay to the government. Like road tax, for example rm1,000 per year. But of course they need to go through security screening first, and the personal data for those approved to use tinted glasses should be kept by the police for safety reason.

• Hiiii All…please la be open about what the government is doing. They have had open meeting with stakeholders NGO…tint shop owner and motorist from all walks life…..We malaysian always complain x2 never give productive ideas to improve things…I think the solution proposed by the government is ok. Why do you want to tint your car dark until people can see who is inside driving …. if heat is the problem then there are tint which is not that dark but give you protection from heat…Vkool, Huper optic, 3M etc to name a few…… if you scared of people smashing your window then install safety film……Be a productive citizen…Dont just complain help find solution….

Min

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 8
    • I think it’s because rakyat no more confidence in gahmen track record. Always flip flop, always say rakyat didahulukan, but usually not the case. Rakyat see so much evidence of corruption, Ministers & family living high life. So even if gahmen really doing something good, rakyat also find it hard to believe. Like if you have a bad experience with a car brand, you will probably buy another brand, not that brand again. Perhaps like a lion suddenly saying he turned vegetarin.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 15
  • LikeaBoss on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:39 am

It’s simple, just tint your all of your car windows 25% & rear also 25% …so when got JPJ or police block just roll down your driver window & it’s all good …..that way your car still looks good with all windows darken except the front ….problems sloved ;p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
    • drMsohai on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:51 pm

you can blame the power window switch faulty. cannot wind up lol

• Say Something on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:58 am

Somehow, it really makes me look like a paid driver if I darken the rear window. Awwww

• Henry on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:07 am

This is music to the ears of the tinting companies. Very pro-business policy.

• heybadigol on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:26 am

This reminds me of Cadbury chocalates, one day halal, then not halal, then halal again. Who are the people involved in this workshop? Are they subject matter experts (police, safety & health experts, MIROS, etc) or what?

• dodgeviper88 on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:31 am

Any feedback and how this works for pick up trucks with canopies? Would want to tint the rear canopies so as not to entice people to steal item in the back

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:31 am

I think this is a rather good move by the authorities if it sticks

I sense a lot of restrained comments on this thread because we all reluctantly agree its a decent decision ( why is why euro 4 diesel issues being brought up in a thread relating to JPJ and Tint probably??).

We need not tint our car to the extremes mentioned but it gives us a good amount of room to plan how it’s gonna appear (i foresee some weird looking ones though as some might think this is the absolute rule)

This a rare moment of positiveness to be enjoyed as a motorist in Malaysia. Lets enjoy the moment and leave the hate for once :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Heh… enforce 25% for rear and passenger windows but still want to keep 70/50 for the front and driver window. That way the police and JPJ will still have excuse to saman and also earn a little extra during hard times.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
  • Angus_Steakhouse on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:43 am

Does that mean that JDM cars would still fail, since most of them come with only 20% VLT tints one the rear?

I think the gov should not penalize those with original tints that come in recon cars.

If it’s illegal to use it, then why it’s legal to sell it?

• Before grey importers send those imported cars to JPJ for inspection, they will remove the privacy glass and put clear glass. After inspection they will install it back again and then only sell to customer.

• Denaihati on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:54 am

it is better than previous regulation. more over monitoring activity to accessory shop.

• Whatever on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:02 pm

IMO, the gov should make it compulsory for tint shop owner to have a device that can measure VLT of the car before applying tint of our choices. In that case, we can be sure that our car meets the requirement if we want to.

• IMHO 40%-50% VLT is good enough already if putting 4mm-6mm tints. No point going too dark cause vision to side and back mirrors will be affected when driving through poorly-lit roads.

• turbo_guy on Jun 04, 2014 at 12:27 pm

Thee are more concerns of the car driver from your back… just like you are driving after a lorry or other big vehicles.

• Okla tu.. It is better than nothing.. if to dark, you might loose vision (blind spot) on side mirror and rear mirror, especially for those who is driving on road with no road lamp..
    And not to forget, the UV protection is the most important thing on tint film.. If it is dark, but no UV protection, the heat still baking you..
    Faham2 jela, more UV protection, more expensive it can be..

• heat is from Infra Red, not UV. tints with high IRR (infrared rejection) will be cooler.

• zahar_UPM on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:55 am

ko paham atau tidak maksud blind spot?(titik buta)
      blind spot x kene mengena dengan tinted..
      kalau tinted zero atau ko bukak cermin sekali pun.. sesuatu objek atau kenderaan yang lalu ditepi jika melalui lingkungan titik buta (blind spot)objek atau kenderaan tersebut tidak akan kelihatan di cermin pandang sisi..
      kalau ko x paham dendiam je..tayah komen..nanti akan terserlah kebodohan mu

tq
      zaharUPM

• hmmm..unevenly distributed VLT..well honestly fair enough for me.Dont mind sacrificing for wife and kids.:) Thank you for thinking about us.

• Soon… Tint Tax apply for those with new tint … kekekeke

• Good move. Though I don’t understand why the front passenger window can be dark tinted like the rear. Visibility on the left side is equally important; plus we have rear view mirror on the left too (reminder!). My humble opinion – Front Windscreen 50-70%, driver + front passenger 50%, rear doors / windows + rear windscreen 25%.

• tiadaid (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:44 pm

I’ve driven cars with dark tints before – visibility outside is marginal and dangerous especially at night.

It’s ok for the rear passengers to be tinted up, but it’s a definite no-no for the front in my opinion.

• I smell darker film more value now and can charge more to customer. Light tint film nobody wants cheap cheap.

Better keep all the dark films and inflate the price.

Very good move. TQVM Bravo BN 1Msia

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • steven on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:09 pm

May I know what is the original tint for Estima ACR50 will it meet the requirement of the new regulation?

• Wait so my alphard with japan original blackened glass is legal now or no? Back is dark but driver and front is clear. ????

• That “blackened glass” is called as “privacy glass”. Yes it is legal, as long as it passed the VLT 25.

• smokey on Jun 04, 2014 at 1:45 pm

now everyone can have smexy time at the back of the car
    :)

• i drove a car with front no tint, both side of the driver seat darker, but the darkest is at the rear….. i found driving at nite is kinda hard to watch our pedestrian and other bikes or car especially when the surrounding is not bright enough, as we all know some of them got either no headlights or the headlights is really “dimmed”

• setsunaf on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:11 pm

We, road users use the front car front and rear screen to predict the traffic and when to apply brake. With the rear screen officially reduced to 25%, it will be no way to see when prepare to brake.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
    • syahif on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Have to obey on the 3 seconds rules I guess…and 12 seconds rules….

• ahmad on Jun 04, 2014 at 5:36 pm

to –>setsunaf

xpayah tinted la if u x nampak. org lain yang nampak ada option nak tinted sampai 25%. tu pon x boleh fikir ka??

• Steve Kok on Jun 04, 2014 at 3:37 pm

All tint shop must buy the cap ayam brand VLT tester from the gommen appointed company with sky high price.
    Else they cannot do business.

• another stupidest idea from JPJ. Kejap 25%, kejap 50%, kejap WTF%. They are kompius & they make everybody kompius.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • Mamasan on Jun 04, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Setsunaf, JDM cars come with high quality rear window tints that looks dark from the outside but when u look out from the inside, it doesn’t feel dark and visibility is not reduced.

You can trust the Japs and their research!

• AP_king on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:02 pm

Most important thing is to approve those tints that come original with imported vehicles.

Asking owners to change the original windows to aftermarket clear glass is really a bad idea as lots of $$$$$ would be wasted unnecessarily.

On the other hand, I wonder why our Gomen is so particular about window tints, always setting up special operations to tackle this issue.

In my opinion, I think it would be better to use our national resources to tackle other problems which are more detrimental to the country eg. ops curi, ops culik, ops rogol and ops rasuah.

What do u guys think?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 0
  • kaya lah all tint shop

• Any tinting shop boss here now?

Business syok syok kow kow macam kopi o kow kow.

Finally your nobody want dark films become valuable like gold.

More more Korean China films can dump ourmarket.

Gov can collect more tax

I like it. Supportlah our gov move till we died

I love u BN

• mdbend on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:26 pm

Complain complain complain. Nobody hu ha hu ha bout this b4. Suddenly give extra 25% for rear screen. Booommm!!!!! Btw its no finalize yet.

If complain can create energy, malaysia is NO 1 in the world. Best energy supplier! No blackout recorded until kiamat. Thanks

• USDfan on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:08 pm

ape bende ko nie….rakyat negara maju yg lain lagi kuat komplen ..nampak sgt ko ni tak pernah kluar ea…wtf!

• megat on Jun 05, 2014 at 6:47 am

in UK actually the people mock for something they wanted and and most of the time they will win.

• adam lee on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:26 pm

MALAYSIA SO HOT BRO..

• Shin-Ra on Jun 05, 2014 at 3:58 am

What is Ketulusan Cahaya ? Saya tidak mengerti bahasa Melayu.

• mat_rempirt on Jun 05, 2014 at 7:41 am

all mat rempit and criminals must be shot dead.

• boleh lar on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:18 am

new year is coming….so… like that.
    what the fox sound…!@#@%#@%$&*()(%$^#$@$@

• carjacker on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:38 am

Not good because there will be more cases of car hijackers running off with a car with a baby at the backseat.

Clumsy mummies please do not tint the back and rear windows.

Difficult for good samaritans to catch you clumsy mummies leaving your kids in the car while you shop!

Say NO unnecessary toddler deaths!

Clumsy mummies I hope you are listening!

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:25 am

THANK YOU JPJ…

my cars will pass your tests… tqvm…

Tqtqtqtq… lots of thx..

Motorhead approve! !

• OpMan on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Selamat Hari Raya, banyak duit GreenPow… Thank to the government to imposed Ops Cermin Gelap…

• apala on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Generally good idea to reduce VLT, but i’m still having issues with some suggestion to have even darker tints upto 90% or above due to the following reason:
    1) Security –
    a. if security is an issue, why don’t put security tint instead.
    b. Please put your handbag etc inside the car boot
    c. If someone got kidnapped, people may not know what’s happening inside the vehicle.
    2) Comfort –
    a. Use those tint with high IR and UV rejection like V-Kool, 3M etc. Cheapo dark tint does not necessarily have ood IR and UV rejection

• Black cars absorb more heat, dark tint reject more heat?

• Dennis on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:56 am

Sorry.. I may missed something..

But has this been confirmed and approved by our acting transport minister?

Thank you! :)

• Anonymous on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:55 am

Has the sun gone brighter? The ray gone less UV? The moon gone brighter? The night gone darker? Why must change the rules instead of enforcing the law ? Vehicles with heavy smoke, motocyclist without helmet, minor riding motorcycle, car driving on the opposite side of a one way traffic, and motorcyclist riding outside the motorcycle lane on a highway, running through red traffic lights, and etc are a worrying trend. Unless the tinting company needed to boost their sales!

• Alberto on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:51 pm

In Malaysia, where cops are afraid of “orang kuat” (VIPs) and where very dark tints are considered “glamor” and where the orang kuat can get away with it, all these regulations are a joke. Its hilarious. With such a high crime rate (many are unreported), no heavy tints shd be allowed at all. All occupants inside any vehicle must be clearly visible and identifiable by any cop. Yes, i know the cops are silly village boys wearing uniforms…but if they cant see inside the vehicle clearly, then its so much easier for the bad guys to do their dirty deeds.

A very dark tint doesnt mean your interior will be cooler. Most people do it to make their cars look more gaya oni.
    Sigh…its sad Msians are still stuck at this level.

• Levin on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:04 pm

2 days workshop and they came up with only this? I wonder how much money the spent organizing the workshop including meals and stuff. C’mon, it only takes a few minutes to come out with this logic. Don’t need no fancy workshop lah please… They should focus on how to implement speed limiter on express buses and install GPS tracker in all the buses so that they can have real time data (speed) from the bus. JPJ should focus more on such “road safety” topics instead of silly tinted issue. When was the last time they ever had a workshop for that?

• Gerald Wu on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:16 pm

Malaysian needs darker tint for the front and back due to the tropical weather.Besides that with the Al-Nino effect many will be effected by the heat waves. Back tint should be higher due to we children are mostly seated behind.Skin cancer will be at a rise. Hope that the Malaysian ministers cars will comply to the new regulations.Why not ban full face tint helmets as many hired killers are using it.

• When the new rules can be official finalized????? Waiting so long…………..

• jimmychin on Aug 05, 2014 at 10:44 pm

i wait until now.. when got new tinted rules..

• Farid Sabri on Nov 07, 2014 at 12:00 pm

The 2 days workshop is like an half-boiled egg discussion.They even bother about the pros of original dark glass for passenger area and rear. What point JPJ have technical team and didn’t do research or homeworks ? Waste of money. Even school kids can read glass info from Japan manufacturer such as http://www.agc.com/english/index.html etc. I’m using Toyota Wish and the rear glass not satisfy the new rules, without tinted the VLT only 21%.To change with aqua China or Taiwan brand ?? Just forget it. For original Japan clear glass, you need to fork-out RM3 – RM5K ? Is it worth it?? Unless PEKEMA members agreed to bear the cost. Will they ?? Really F#@%^ up with this stupid rule.

• Larry Loh on Dec 27, 2017 at 11:43 am

With the new ruling that foreign car with dark window tinting will be refused entry into Malaysia. What about MPVs which have factory fitted privacy windows which have less that 30% VLT?