Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 teased online, coming June 6

Volkswagen Golf R teaser

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has teased on its Facebook page the arrival of a new R model coming on June 6. This is almost certainly the Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R, since it has already been spotted on a trailer, in JPJ Putrajaya and out on the road undergoing evaluations.

The searingly hot hatch is powered by a 2.0 litre EA888 turbo four with differing power outputs depending on region – 300 PS for Europe, 280 PS for Singapore, Australia and the Middle East. Whichever tune we will get, there will be 380 Nm at your disposal, and drive is sent to all four wheels through a six-speed DSG. 0-100 km/h is done in either five seconds for the 280 PS version or 4.9 seconds for the 300 PS.

The performance backs up the muscled-up looks of the Golf R, differentiated through more aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side sills, smoked LED tail lights and quad exhaust exits. Brushed aluminium trim adorns the door mirrors and grille.

Inside, there is an R-badged flat-bottomed steering wheel, white stitching, blue instrument cluster, carbon fibre-look trim and sport seats. Based on the spyshots, our Golf R will get the top-of-the-range Discover Pro touchscreen navigation system, push button start, leather upholstery, panoramic sunroof and 19-inch wheels shod in 235/35 tyres.

The outgoing Mk6 Golf R currently retails for RM270,060, but we noticed an ad on oto.my posted today listing the car for an estimated price of RM285,888, and another ad mentioning a 3-door version of the Golf R for RM245,888. The 3-door listed price is probably much cheaper because of lower equipment levels, similiar to Volkswagen Malaysia’s Golf GTI Mk7 offering. So, anyone interested?

GALLERY: Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R at Volkswagen Showroom

GALLERY: Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R spotted at JPJ

GALLERY: Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R official pics

GALLERY: Mk6 Volkswagen Golf R

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• BMW Fanboi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:40 pm

First………. to have DSG failure.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 23
    • Chong on Jun 04, 2014 at 9:27 pm

are you sure the DSG on GTI version is having problem?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 10
      • BMW Fanboi (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:37 pm

Are you sure you can con enough people into buying your faulty products to meet your sales quota this month?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 23
        • Same L0r on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:41 am

All BMW after 5 years are full of problems too, that’s why the second hand value so cheap. Second hand Vios is more expensive than a second hand 3 series.

However, it is still much better than the junk class Proton. Keep it up, VW.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 12
          • dadurtyz on Jun 05, 2014 at 12:03 pm

what talk you?
            this RR compare with junk floating Vios and BMW 3 series???

can u drive vios and tapau this RR?

• Chong on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:50 pm

come on brotherrr, I am asking you that specific question, and you said I am a VW salesman… zzz

• Heng Lee on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:52 pm

But it stops when you push the brake. Unlike Toyota, which currently is calling back 400.000 cars because of brake failure… ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
    • Beautiful and affordable…

• rocky balboa on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:42 pm

300k? I would rather top up 50k more and go for a45 at least that is Mercedes badge and an AMG model!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 6
    • BeemerFreak on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Haha then you don’t know what you are missing. Adjustable dampers that make you and your family more comfortable, much shorter waiting list and most importantly is a significantly better gearbox. Mercedes 7 speeder dual clutch is a dry clutch unit with terrible gearing programme

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 18
      • VTEC in car (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:03 am

Haha.. then you don’t know what you are missing if you drive such a car with your whole family in it. Shorter waiting to get the car but you will have to wait longer for the car to come out from their workshop. At least A45 have proper brake system with 4 port cliper and a performance seats from Recaro, this should be standard features for a sports vehicle. Btw, Merc 7-G DCT is wet clutch.. you dumb!

• Or even save some money just get the A250, problem free..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
    • Bob_B78 on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:15 am

Top up extra 50k is easier said than done.
      That is like buying additional 1 hp for 1k.
      Anyway, there are alternatives to these 2 cars if you don’t mind AP or 2nd hand cars.
      My alternative choice would be E92 M3.
      In term of performance, it takes the cake

• Datuk on Jun 04, 2014 at 6:52 pm

rm300k its too pricey, boleh jual kah? Current Golf Gti also hard too see in Klang Valley…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 2
  • ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Interested in manual, even if it’s slower.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:27 pm

I second with you.

Actually 6-speed manual and 6-speed DSG of Golf GTi and Golf R are identitcal in acceleration, fuel economy and emission.

For obvious difference will be the car price, at least RM5K difference between 6-speed manual (cheaper) and 6-speed DSG.

• VTEC in car (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:06 am

I support manual! Less problem, more fun!

• Who care ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • victor tan (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:46 pm

Too expensive and the perception of DSG failure mean it will be a flop in Malaysia.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 04, 2014 at 7:47 pm

Manual Tak Dak!!!!! Still old stubborn VGM Marketing team refuse to listen or read PaulTan blog.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
    • lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:30 pm

VGM only see majority of the market need (DSG and conventional auto) and rather not to gain sales from minority (conventional manual), which in their mind not justifying for the cost of bringing the manual transmission of the vehicles and other blah, blah excuses.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:17 am

HAHAHA!!!! thumbs up for you Bro, especially the blah…blah…
        Not sure TC will bring in limited units of Megane RS Trophy with custom Akrapovic exhaust system or not?

• amg45 is wet clutch, so far the r models dont suffer from any gbox issues. too bad its 300k so its not for everyone which leaves a lot in envy.

• ToAll on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:22 pm

No dsg U all say….”so bad no dsg lousy car”

Give DSG u all say “DSG failed!!”

This is DSG 6 MAN……not 7 please la. DSG 6 is no problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • I never blame that my 528i no DSG and use conventional 8 speed

• spongewai on Jun 04, 2014 at 8:45 pm

see it
    touch it
    snap photo it
    feel it the seats
    test drive it

never buy it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Denaihati on Jun 04, 2014 at 10:38 pm

interested on the speedometer, max speed, 300 kmh. but the price about 3x than vw polo…heee

• Tanah Merah on Jun 04, 2014 at 11:57 pm

It’s 285K. I think

• Joker on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:56 am

Wow… Golf R…
    The number of hot hatches that could beat this monster is pretty limited..
    Only the Megane RS 265 and Seat Leon Cupra could achieve that feat i guess…

• kumar on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:07 am

6 speed dsg is wet clutch. no issues. relax.

• Lots of idiots here with comments who probably never drive a DSG car before.

• veedud on Jun 05, 2014 at 6:21 pm

the uber golf!

• Comparing to latest Civic Type R-2015, which one preferable? at US- Golf R cost USD 40K to 50K only.