MINI 5 Door – for people who don’t want a Clubman

P90151642-highRes

After countless spyshots, the wraps have finally been pulled off the MINI 5 Door. Yet another addition to the already burgeoning MINI family, it gains a couple more doors, a longer wheelbase and a longer rear overhang to address key criticisms of the three-door‘s cabin, namely a lack of rear legroom and a small boot.

How much longer? Overall length has expanded by a full 161 mm to 3,952 mm (Cooper S and SD models burst out of the four-metre mark, at 4,005 mm), with the wheelbase stretching 72 mm to 2,567 mm, meaning the leftover 89 mm goes straight to the five-door’s now rather lardy bum. Height has also increased by 11 mm to 1,425 mm.

Compared to its nearest rivals, the MINI 5 Door is 2 mm shorter than the Audi A1 Sportback, 10 mm shorter than the Peugeot 208, 18 mm shorter than the Volkswagen Polo and 30 mm shorter than the Ford Fiesta. Crucially, the wheelbase is also 29 mm longer than the 208, 78 mm longer than the Fiesta, 97 mm longer than the Polo and 98 mm longer than the A1.

P90151648-highRes

The size increase bring manifold benefits to the interior, where that 72 mm increase in wheelbase goes directly to rear legroom. You also get 15 mm more headroom and, despite the width remaining the same at 1,727 mm, 61 mm more elbow room at the rear. You also now get three seats at the rear instead of two.

The boot, featuring a variable position floor, now measures 278 litres, 67 litres more than before (the 60:40 split rear seats can be folded to boost luggage space to 941 litres). MINI says it’s the largest in the premium segment, and it does just about beat the A1 by a measly eight litres. But it’s still smaller than most other B-segment hatches, only narrowly besting the Fiesta by a tiny two litres.

The five-door gets four turbocharged engines at launch, three of them borrowed from the three-door – the Cooper gets a 136 hp 1.5 litre three-cylinder, the Cooper D a 116 hp 1.5 litre diesel triple and the range-topping Cooper S a 192 hp 2.0 litre four-cylinder. A new variant, the Cooper SD, gets a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel producing 170 hp at 4,200 rpm and 360 Nm from 1,500 to 2,750 rpm.

Transmission choices remain the same six-speed manual and automatic gearboxes, and you can get an optional sports auto too. As expected, the five-door is very slightly slower than the three-door across the board. The new Cooper SD, on the other hand, does 0-100 km/h in 7.4 seconds (7.3 for the automatic) and has a top speed of 225 km/h (223 km/h for the auto).

What do you guys think? Rational addition to the MINI range, or just a MINI too far?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:10 pm

How about the mini Rocketman, for people who wants a mini, no an actual mini.

In any case it does extands mini’s reach into the market, 4-door in anyway sells better than 2, just ask Bentley, Porsche and Aston Martin. The German big 3 are also making 4-door variants of their coupes. But honestly is it still special? I know it has swanky and retro looks but to my eyes it looks ghastly. And I can’t think of any other reason not to go for a Golf instead.

• Same L0r on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:45 pm

How about for people who wants a mini, but could not afford a mini?

Suzuki Swift!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • tiadaid (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:03 pm

It has that cachet that your normal Golf (with the exception of the GTi) doesn’t.

Having said that, I manage to rent a Clubman back in 2012 and the driving experience is a bit meh to be honest.

• Josh Ling on Jun 06, 2014 at 6:06 am

it’s all about image and wow factors these days. when you drive a golf, yes, people will say it’s a nice car, but almost no one will notice your arrival at the place, and some may even scratch their heads wondering if you are driving the older generation of golf (i have some hard time still in differentiating the current one from the previous gens at first glance. i am talking about the TSI version of it.). this will not be the same story when you are driving a MINI.

MINI is still very much a cool car in many people’s eyes, including mine, though i’d prefer a 3-door to a 5-door at any one time. but i guess there must be enough feedback from the people out there led to MINI’s decision to come up with a 5-door variant, instead of just letting clubman and countryman to play the role.

• Black Dog on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:18 pm

It’s time to call it a MAXI

• Black Dog on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:19 pm

On second thoughts, a MIDI

• Another Italian Job on its way, beautiful.
    I owned a mini after seeing the movie Italian Job.
    But now, Malaysia “tak” boleh.
    How can I own a mini with such high tax ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • work hard some more la a**hole
      asyik complaint like small kids je kau ni

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 32
  • Edward on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:33 pm

I guess if you need a five-door Mini, you are looking at the wrong place.

• Ray (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 1:48 pm

Errr no, that no longer is a mini.

• GT3 (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Yep. The problem with Mini nowadays is that they’re not ‘mini’ anymore.

• I’ll prefer countryman or mini moke (beachcomber)

• nabill (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:11 pm

I can think of sooo many ppl who dont give a f*** abt mini…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • macroemdia on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:21 pm

looks like a suzuki swift, thks MINI!

• spongewai on Jun 05, 2014 at 2:43 pm

3rd gen of Mini Cooper variant extended in the future

3-door Cooper S
    5-door Cooper S
    6-door Cooper S (Clubman)
    cabriolet Cooper S
    Countryman S
    Paceman S
    coupe Cooper S
    roadster Cooper S
    sedan Cooper S
    Rocketman S
    4-door coupe Cooper S
    an MPV Cooper S
    flagship Cooper S (Superleggera Cooper S)

• Josh Ling on Jun 06, 2014 at 6:09 am

some of the variants like rocketman, coupe, roadster are confirmed to be killed off already. don’t think it will be a sedan variant either. that’s a stretch too far already….lol……

• GTR36 (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 3:26 pm

MINI saloon?

• GTR36 (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 3:27 pm

Previous MINI Clubman looked like a mortuary car (kereta mayat) with the rear double doors!

• Jaybond on Jun 05, 2014 at 4:14 pm

BMW definitely has gone too far with the numerous iterations of the post-BMW era Mini Cooper car. The most outrageous being the Mini Coupe (Paceman).

• loose (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 6:12 pm

no more mini, actually.

• samlok on Jun 05, 2014 at 6:49 pm

Nice! like it, easier to live with

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 7:17 pm

•BORING

• I think many Auntys with heavy pocket will go for it. It will be around your neighborhood schools, colleges, football arena and the local malls and supermarkets… I wonder the price and will it have a 1.5 CKD in the pipeline…. Well done, the mini bread and butter in Malaysia

• I guess it is okay to hv the four door version. I more for Clubman though even when many said it looks ugly but I think it looks just awesome! However, it is a pity as based on US consumer report plus my housemate’s own feeback (who owns a Cooper), this is one unreliable brand and high maintenance. Additionally, for its price might as well get the Bimmer 2 Series.