Volvo XC90 – Bowers & Wilkins sound system teased

147106_2_1

The slow tease continues before the August reveal, and this is for all you audiophiles out there – Volvo has announced that it is teaming up with British audio equipment company Bowers & Wilkins on an optional sound system for the next-generation Volvo XC90.

The top-of-the-range Premium Sound system consists of a total of 19 speakers – seven Nautilus extended range aluminium tweeters, seven Kevlar midrange speakers, four cone woofers and a subwoofer. These speakers are driven by a 12-channel Harman 1,400 W amplifier.

In a signature move from Bowers & Wilkins, one of the tweeters is placed on top of the dashboard in the centre, facing the occupants directly. Volvo says this ensures a cleaner, more lifelike sound, as more of it reaches the listeners directly, rather than being reflected off the windscreen first.

147105_2_1

Another notable feature of the system is the inclusion of an air-ventilated subwoofer integrated into the body itself, instead of simply being a freestanding box bolted into the car. Claimed to be a possible world first in the automotive industry, the subwoofer design is actually integrated into Volvo’s Scalable Product Architecture (SPA) and enables it to pulse more air, delivering bass notes as low as 20 Hz.

Swedish audio company Dirac Research has also had a helping hand in shaping the next XC90’s audio system, providing an advanced sound processing software that manages the timing of the sound and co-operation between the speakers to suit different seating positions and can also recreate acoustics from certain music venues or concert halls.

In the XC90, the software has been tuned to mimic the acoustics of Gothenburg Concert Hall, located in Volvo’s hometown and home of Sweden’s national orchestra, the Gothenburg Symphony Orchestra. In addition to this, the sound system can also be switched to a recording studio or a concert stage setting via the car’s central touchscreen.

The Bowers & Wilkins Premium Sound system is just one of the systems that will be offered on the next XC90 – there is also a 224 W, 12-speaker High Performance system with an optional fresh air subwoofer.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 7:52 pm

Sounds good.

And B&W is a proper HiFi brand, unlike BOSE. Calling the tweeters Nautilus is going a bit far though, I kind of doubt they use the same tweeter as in the famous Nautilus speaker.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Also the Nautilus line has long since switched to diamond tweeters, the old Nautilus that looked like a snail did have aluminum tweeters, but again, the whole Nautilus line is rather expensive.

• heybadigol on Jun 05, 2014 at 7:57 pm

Beautiful speakers. But I think Audi already has those tweeters that face passengers directly for years already. The subwoofer using the car as the box is a cool idea though. But how will it feel like inside the car with air being pushed around?

Anyways, I am no audio expert, but I prefer the music to sound the way the musician and producer intended it to be. So if it was recorded in Abbey Road, I would like it to sound as though I am in Abbey Road (small, intimate), not Royal Albert Hall (huge soundstage). Its a cool trick nonetheless. Anyways, im sure you can switch off the sound processor and listen to it neutral.

• Same L0r on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Hope Proton will rebadge it from Geely.

But then Bowers & Wilkins will become Edifier. This is the Proton’s style.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 13
  • Jupiter on Jun 05, 2014 at 8:17 pm

Holtz

• mmaker on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:31 pm

volvo becoming better and better nowdays

• Denaihati on Jun 05, 2014 at 10:58 pm

i think, don’t want go out once sit in this volvo. doesn’t matter traffic jem, still enjoy inside.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 05, 2014 at 11:07 pm

this is crazy la….my car use bose B&O etc etc but my house hifi is only Sony

• carjacker on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:03 am

I want this in my future Proton Geely car.

• seancorr on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:06 am

I’m already very impressed with what I see on the all new XC90 but by the looks of it, Volvo will price this SUV at an all new price range too. I highly doubt its gonna retail at its previous price of RM368K looking at all the luxury and tech this SUV has at the moment.

• Boleh! on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:20 am

No worry… we shall pray hard for Proton to rebadge this XC90 can call it Epora, Ecora, Elala…. etc in 20-30 years, then the price will be more affordable for most bolehlanders……

• HiFi_Crazy on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:05 am

Kadajawi: Bose not a proper hifi company?? You should check out how many premium automakers use Bose audio system in their cars and there is a reason for that.

I’ve been a HiFi nut for 20 years and I can tell you Despite B&W speakers have superb clarity, when it comes to bass it is absolutely FLAT.

It all depends on what type of music you enjoy listening. While B&W may be good for listening to Mozart, I strongly doubt you will enjoy listening to Lady GaGa from it.

Now back to our main topic. Looking at the impressive interior offerings of the new XC90, if Volvo can get their suspension and engine offerings right, I could see a potential Range Rover Sport beater there!

• Music on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:41 am

And one of the major issues of Bose is the total lost of detail in the midband of the sound spectrum. It is only able to capture the top end and the bottom of the register due to its tweeter like speakers and subwoofer setup.

• Sonyman on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:02 am

Nice nice, but make sure the nvh improve first ya, the a And b pillars are bloody noisy at high speed,

• walau on Jun 06, 2014 at 10:07 am

damn, this car is really going to cost

• Music on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:44 am

It is surprising why they didn’t stick with Dynaudio which is just as good. Perhaps they have terminated their contract and decided to move the B&W

• NotSoundNut on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:30 pm

Wow. After watching the video, realized that B & W system sounds as good as my old laptop speaker. Or the other way, I’m not too sure.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:33 pm

Volvo continuing the tradition of stonking sound systems. To be honest the Mark Levinson ones in the Lexus are the closest stock system i have heard that match and probably surpass Volvo systems.

Btw Volvo uses a variety of vendors. Dynaaudio is just one of them. But i think this is their first B&O though.

• coffeedude on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:52 pm

wow I wonder if the 12-channel Harman 1,400 W amplifier can be upgraded to a tube amp :D

• niterunner99 on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:02 pm

Currently Volvo is using Dynaudio as their audio system. Will hv to wait & listen if this new B&W can match it.
    If I’m not wrong, currently best sound system is in a Porsche Panamera using Burmester (German) system costing SG$50+k…option of course.
    Pls don’t ask me where they put their power amps!! :-)
    To really enjoy the music, the car MUST be very quiet (example Lexus or Merc S class), otherwise, no point with all the noise.
    So don’t expect to listen to classical music in a mod WRX!