Suzuki Swift RS spied in Malaysia – hot-hatch coming?

Swift-RS-Spyhsot

Reader Afif Fahimi sent in this picture of a kitted-up Suzuki Swift, taken at a Kesas toll plaza. The white unit has a red roof and a matching red pinstripe underlining the bumper, Mercedes A 250 Sport style. There’s an ‘RS’ badge stuck below the ‘Swift’ emblem, but if you can’t see that, just look at the number plate.

Now, it’s easy to get excited by an RS badge, used by Ford and Renault on their hottest hatches, but this is definitely not a hot-hatch of the same realm as the Renault Clio RS, Peugeot 208 GTI and Ford Fiesta ST.

Globally, the 136 PS Swift Sport is the most potent of its kind, and from what we can see, this “Swift RS” isn’t based on the SSS, as it doesn’t have the former’s twin pipes and diffuser.

New_Suzuki_Swift_Sport_live_pix_7
The Suzuki Swift Sport has a rear diffuser with two tail pipes poking through

So, we’re guessing that this mystery Swift is a kitted-up variant of the 95 PS/130 Nm CKD Suzuki Swift 1.4, possibly with extra equipment alongside the exterior add-ons. Mid last year, Maruti wheeled out a jazzed-up, limited-edition Swift RS in India, and it looks like Malaysia is set to follow suit.

The third-gen Swift was launched here in CBU form back in January 2013 (unveiled by the gorgeous Neelofa!), before the Pekan-assembled CKD version rolled out in May 2013, along with an entry-level GL variant. Current prices are RM65,888 for the GL and RM73,788 for the GLX.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• satu lagi ‘all show and no go’ kit

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 10
  • hukaka on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:54 pm

It just a body kit dress up.
    The rest remains same.

• rifle on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:11 pm

nice body kits :D

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 5
  • kereta kompak on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Nothing change much. Look similar with the rest…Why should i buy then? Small car with an expensive price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
  • Paul Ryan on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:34 pm

I had own Swift before bought bigger car(BMW 5 series). Swift always looks evergreen especially the Sport version. Hope Suzuki bring two doors version in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • cendol (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:48 pm

If I am not mistaken, my friend has been driving the 1st generation swift since almost 10 years ago, which LOOKS EXACTLY same like current edition.
    The only change I can notice is just the pricing.
    Others still look like 10 years ago

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • This latest design is an eyesore on the road.

• _xXx_ on Jun 06, 2014 at 6:19 pm

bring in the swift with shift stick laa!!

• kctan on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:19 pm

exactly what i think of,

this is the same perodua marketing….

people forget / dont give a damn of their car , they promote like someone new but it isnt

• samlok on Jun 08, 2014 at 12:34 am

i agree. Suzuki Malaysia, ini macam punya marketing tak jadi meh.

• What is this yellow thing. Hmmm.. like most paultanners will say.. My myvi 1.5 SE extremeX LimitedEdition will tapao this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
  • Misleading on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:30 pm

With only 95PS/130Nm, the RS moniker should be for Real Slow!

• another car with side skirt/stripes etc to make it look ‘fast’

• hyperX on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:56 am

if it is based on the stock engine n auto box then its a shame to the RS badge. Or RS means REAL SLOW?

• It doesn’t looks like OE, their idea still in era year 2000 no improvement like other brand did. How they will survive in this market.

• 1.4cc, 95 PS/130 Nm, 4 speed auto.
    but @ 3k rpm can go 120km. should be fine i think. compared to peugeot 208 1.6cc but rpm 3k = 100km. according to carbase.my owner review.

• Alfonso on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:23 pm

RS=
    R: Rich, Real, Rock, Rally, Racing, Ranggi(in Malay)
    S: Special, Strong, Spirit, Segment

Conclusion: Rich Segment….lol