Volkswagen Golf R Mk7 now on sale – from RM247k

Volkswagen-Golf-R-Mk7-0003

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) has very quietly announced the availability of the Mk7 Volkswagen Golf R. The top hot Golf comes in two variants – a basic three-door model and a more expensive five-door with a Tech Pack, similar to how the Golf GTI is sold here.

Both models get new, more aggressive front and rear bumpers, deeper side sills, adaptive bi-xenon headlights with LED daytime running lights, smoked LED tail lights and quad exhaust pipes. The base model gets 18-inch “Cadiz” five spoke alloy wheels wrapped in 225/40 rubber, while the five-door is treated to wheels in the same design, but measuring 19 inches in diameter and shod in meatier 235/35 tyres.

That’s not all – the five-door also adds automatic headlights and wipers, a panoramic sunroof, electric folding and heated door mirrors, cruise control, keyless entry and start, a space-saving spare wheel and a rear view camera. Even parking sensors – front and rear – are only available on the more expensive model.

Volkswagen-Golf-R-Mk7-0017

Inside, the R differentiates itself from the rest of the Golf range with an R-badged flat-bottomed steering wheel, white stitching, blue needles for the instrument cluster, a lap timer for the multifunction display, stainless steel pedals, faux carbon fibre trim, and R-badged sports seats. Those seats are upholstered in Alcantara for the three-door, and Vienna leather for the five-door.

Here too, you get your money’s worth, with the five-door model also coming with a 12-way power-adjustable driver’s seat, an adjustable front centre armrest with rear air vents, an auto-dimming rear view mirror and the top-of-the-range Discover Pro navigation and infotainment system with an eight-inch touchscreen (the three-door has to make do with the lesser Composition Media system with a smaller 5.8-inch touchscreen).

But no matter which model you punt for, you get the most important equipment of all: a 2.0 litre turbocharged and direct-injected four-cylinder engine making 280 PS from 5,700 to 6,200 rpm and 380 Nm from 1,750 to 5,600 rpm. Equipped with a six-speed DSG and 4Motion all-wheel drive, the R rockets to 100 km/h in five seconds flat on its way to a top speed of 250 km/h. Start/stop and regenerative braking come standard.

All models get the XDS+ electronic differential lock and variable-ratio progressive steering system, but only the five-door gets Dynamic Chassis Control (DCC) with driver profile selection.

This all makes sense when you look at the price tags for both models – the base three-door comes in at RM247,060, while the five-door with the Tech Pack costs a rather more eye-watering RM287,060. Both prices are on the road excluding insurance.

The Volkswagen Golf R come in four colours – Pure White, Tornado Red, Lapiz Blue Metallic and Deep Black Pearl. As with all Volkswagens sold in Malaysia, both models come with a five-year unlimited-mileage warranty and a five-year mobility guarantee.

Head to our new car research site, CarBase.my for the full specifications and equipment details of the new Volkswagen Golf R. You can also compare it to its nearest rivals to find out which tyre-scorching hatchback is really for you.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Tyler Durden on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:09 pm

Good Price !

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 32
    • Tumbi on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:34 pm

However you still can’t afford

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 99
      • Josh McEachren on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:19 pm

Hey dim-witted Tumbi…why bother replying when those words you typed are utterly moronic?

Wanna bet with me (and a few others) that Tyler can buy one off the dealer anyday?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 11
        • Same L0r on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:20 pm

A competitor for our legendary Toyota 86.

But 86 doesn’t have the gearbox issue.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 38
          • 86 has 80hp less and no four-wheel drive.

Better compare 86 to GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
          • Chong on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:20 pm

So you mean the 6spd DSG on Golf R is having problem?

• Booooo on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:08 pm

Rich Myvi-Mentality owners Loves this…. Drive dangerously on road thinking they owned a “Luxury” German brand…yawn….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 84
      • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:56 pm

Lu nak beli.. belilah.. ada duit beli.. jangan x beli.. let me know after you did.

Nak kutuk Myvi owners apa hal? Datuk nenek lu punya jalan raya ke? Datuk lu jg bukan bayar our roadtax & insurance my car. .

At least Myvi gearbox never fail like DSG..

Go to Glenmarie. . P2 service centre quite close to VW’s.. see how many cars stranded at VW SC .. at least after 6pm you cannot see a car stranded at Perodua SC there.

Puiihh.. talk kok only.. at the end see whose car rosak dulu..wanna bet?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 25
        • LoLlosers on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:04 pm

LOL Myvi owner defending themselves~ look at majority of all Myvi or Small cars owner, pandu Kereta macam Kereta F1, blah la… Kereta murah membahaya-kan orang lain…safety function pun teruk sangat….

Btw I drive an Audi & a BMW….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 92
          • hownowbrowncow on Jun 06, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Oh, you own an Audi & a Bimmer? I assume the Audi is your father’s and the Bimmer is your mother’s? Done your homework already?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 78 Thumb down 8
        • Serious Beb on Jun 07, 2014 at 4:08 pm

I drive a Myvi too and I have also driven my friends VW Golf GTI. Trust me, the Myvi does not feel or drive anything like the Golf. The Myvi actually feels like a small 3 cylinder car and feels wobbly at high speed. The Golf feels heavy and solid and is more stable at high speed, besides the Golf looks and feel premium, inside and outside. There is no way the Myvi can compete with the Golf, ever.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 2
          • Bataman on Jun 08, 2014 at 12:04 pm

Have you drive a new Proton lately??

Than you will realized that almost any car is more stable than a Myvi/P2 junk.

Even the cheapest Saga SV is more stable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 10
          • It’s true, Myvi handling is indeed unstable compare to Proton, if you had tested both..

• lelaki melayu bawak myvi mmg lancau bwk kete mcm bawak evo…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 12
      • lol butthurt much? cant afford vw is it

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Hahaha. . Oh please.. everytime I drive my Myvi or Vios the last feeling I want feel is like a VW.. all e dt

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 15
          • Darius Lim on Jun 07, 2014 at 4:02 pm

Actually what is your problem? You drive a Myvi and Vios, so why are you angry with VW and saying bad things about the car that you dont own, and what repressed anger you are keeping inside against VW owners?

Besides, what makes you an authority on VW and DSG, when you have never had one, but just talked to people who supposedly owns one? What makes you an authority when everything you say is based on what somebody else said about VW cars?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
          • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Look at my first comment. . I didn’t start the attack.. I did ask you go ahead buy.. no problem. . Also the last comment. . Also ask you buy again.. & again…

But why in the hell you like to justify first? I never ever think I drive a VW when im in Myvi.. no thanks.

I always wish they are Daihatsu’s or Toyota’s…
            You go ahead. .I approve. .

It’s your money anyway. ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
        • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:22 pm

VW never come across my mind.. not after all I ve read about the owners agony.. but.. please la buy.. please inform me after you do..I can blanja you teh tarik… im happy too…happy to see you fall into terrible financial traps.. let me enjoy all good stuffs in life. I can take over your gf.. your house lelong.. or whatever. . I ve met a person bankrupt of cars.. I have seen people driving VW or BMW.. but looking for free wifi for internet..& free stuffs.. tahi hidung masin..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 47
          • hellguy on Jun 07, 2014 at 1:40 am

Please don’t talk cock here. If you want to, please go somewhere else.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
          • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:59 am

Hell suit you. Go there soon.

I didn’t make the first shot. & motorhead always support what you want to buy.. especially VW & Protong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 29
          • I think VW has price it due to A250 strike in Hit Hatch market… the game is changed, finally. Hope to see more to come.

Buyer just have to make a choice…

• myvi turbo on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

What you talking? My myvi 1.5 turbo 0 to 100 in 5 secs also. Why do I need a golf r? I’m a proud myvi owner.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 33
        • slObs on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:58 pm

Its funny why u wana discourage ppl from buying it when even the 86 is almost the same price with less power and yet people around the world are buying and modding it…Why u gotta say?…how u wana mode ur myvi is ur prob and ur money..dont talk kok here like what motorhead always does…mode myvi can go 5sec…how abt a moded Golf?…makan asap ke?…eheheheh

• OMG…the design so dull and yet so expensive…puihhh, better take Merc A class which cheaper and look nicer.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 21
    • VW making a lot of money using the almost same chassis and design over and over again, year after year until you cannot distinguished between Golf and Polo and GTI, registered today, or yesterday, last year or 5 years ago. Smart….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • victor tan (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:24 pm

Holding popcorn and wait for the show of “DSG sucks, fails and take your all leave to visit SC”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 44
    • asrul on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:20 pm

DSG sucks, fails and take your all leave to visit SC

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 27
      • Owner of the R. normally no leave needed, they are own boss with flexi working hour or even jobless rich man.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 3
        • Mitsu Ralliart Lover on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:43 pm

.. Besides, all those who say DSG sucks, obviously ‘just tembak’ only, without knowing the difference between wet clutch and dry clutch. Chances are the A45 AMG will be giving you more problems due to its dry clutch 7sp gearbox, compared with the wet clutch of the VW R and GTI.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 14
          • A45 AMG is also wet clutch not dry

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 6
          • torque on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Do homework 1st la schoolboy, A45 AMG is a wet clutch gearbox. GTi wet clutch is also not problem free leh…don’t simply pluck statement like that. Give me your email, I show you where I used to work and where I work now. Bloody keyboard warrior!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 19
          • Muka Hamper on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Torque sounds like a low class school bully. Hey buzz off la from this site if you want to fight only! Go join Montfort Boys Home or something.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 5
          • torque on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:59 am

Yes, I used to be a school bully…u got a problem with that?! Thumbs me down, I don’t care. At least I’m been sticking with ONE nickname since paultan.org started, unlike some hiding with multiple nicks and plucking statements from their freaking @$$!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 22
      • DSG Supporter on Jun 06, 2014 at 6:09 pm

You’re not afford so don’t condemn DSG lah, be professional. Not fair to compare with Myvi bcos 20% of Golf R downpayment can pay cash for Myvi car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • lonelyobserve (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:30 pm

I like that comment, apply leave just going to service centre servicing car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 5
    • AVH (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:51 pm

*Munching popcorn…
      …By the road side, inside Das Automobile, waiting for the tow truck to come.

OK, Ok, its only a joke, anyways I have a neighbour who has the previous VR6 Golf R32(ditch his Lancer Evo for it), he also has a Triton with him. So far I dont see him having much problem thou he only takes it out on the rare occations, the Triton is his main duty machine. But when it runs, it makes a nice sound that none in the neighbourhood(with an exception of a Megane RS) can match. Funny today at Honda 3S servicing the car, the sales person was sharing his POV on VW horror story(thou less on Gearbox, more on the booking your car 1 month in advance thingy), little did he know he will be getting new batch of DCT-equippped Hybrid Honda’s soon.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • holofanboi on Jun 07, 2014 at 9:41 am

*grabs a handful of popcorn*

Theres a grey megane in subang who I often get to see in my usual breakfast area during weekends and I tell you, while it looks fabulous on the outside, the interior is no match for the golf.

Exhaust note is subjective. I guess I havent had the chance to hear it on full blast ><

On an unrelated note, my 6 colleagues with polo/golf still have no problems with their dsg. They do however complain like hell abt customer service DURING servicing.

• Dry-type DSG sucks… But Golf R comes with wet-type dual clutch DSG. Don’t think there’ll be any short term issue with this transmission

• yawnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnnn

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 17
  • takNakP1 on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:28 pm

if it could allow a family of 5 to sleep and bath in it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Soon Kit on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:46 pm

Dei macha, everybody also say 4 years and 5 years, but everyone does 2+3 or 3+2. So they are all the same.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
      • soon kit bodo on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:39 pm

ohh u’re spppp effing stupid… He was comparing it to buying a house for 5 family members la…
        Bodo bangang kayu

• ROFLMAO on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:33 pm

5 years warranty still meaning 2+3?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • Bob_B78 on Jun 06, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Funny, I thought it produce close to 300 ps.
    Is it slightly detuned?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:04 pm

It is, the 280 PS tune is the same one that Singapore, Australia and the Middle East also get. Only Europe gets the full 300 PS

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Jack Ang on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:39 pm

Why different region with different specs?
        Due to safety concern of the particular region?
        255ps and 280ps, not a significant different with its predecessor. Not attractive changes from the performance.

• Kelvin on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:46 pm

According to the product brochure in Germany http://www.volkswagen.de/content/medialib/vwd4/de/dialog/pdf/golf_r/golf_r_tup-pdf/_jcr_content/renditions/rendition.download_attachment.file/golf-r_preisliste.pdf

The performance and efficiency numbers are based on Super Plus fuel which has ROZ 98. This might be the reason that the numbers are different in the APAC markets due to the numbers being based on different fuel standards.

I slightly doubt that VW has done any detuning, just numbers based on different fuel availability and standards.

• Kelvin on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:41 pm

Furthermore, on the brochure, it stated that ROZ 95 fuel can be used but performance will be slightly impaired.

• mim (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Sometimes manufacturers do that because of fuel quality, or ambient temperature.

We didn’t get those European tiny clean turbodiesels because we still use crappy Euro2M diesels, those engines need at least Euro4 ones. Their high performance petrol engines nowadays often require at least RON98 for max power. So they had to be detuned.

• carlos on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Stay away. Horror stories comes as standard.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 24
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:38 pm

Shhhh…. no.. let them buy…

Please go buy.. it’s good.. Das auto… ada class..
      Jap milo tin xde class..

Conti baru besttt….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 21
      • kobongok on Jun 07, 2014 at 1:08 pm

I agree. Myvi and Vios in Malaysia not even Japs or JDM. Lesser airbags, no VSC = moving coffins / low specs so cannot sell in Europe..

Both no class. Conti baru bestttt

• VW Fans on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:04 pm

Wow amazing i like it. dsg 6 no problem no worry!

If I got money sure buy it. But pocket Zero!! sad :p

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 3
  • therealmaserati on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:26 pm

Overpriced for such a boring looking car. Yea i know its performance is fantastic but its just not worth 300k. A45 amg is the wiser choice.

U drive this around, no 1 even bother to look!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 35
    • Boon How on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:48 pm

Err everyone who says they prefer the AMG45, let me remind you that the Merc is a dry clutch. Chances of problematic gearbox is higher with the Merc!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 25
      • Therealmaserati on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:27 pm

Eh dungu, a45 is wet clutch la. Go read up more before you talk crap here!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Ferrari Fans on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:51 pm

Hey ‘therealmaserati’, why you want everyone to look at you when you are driving? You got inferiority complex ah? If you really want people to look at you, just go and have plastic surgery to remove that ugly growth that you call your face, first la!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
  • gaviny on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:27 pm

if I were to be shopping in that range the AMG naturally seems the better choice

• Ray (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:55 pm

Not gonna comment on the DSG but WAIT… the 3 door has no parking sensors?! How am I supposed to react?

• If you can’t park a 3-door hatchback without sensors, you’re supposed to retake your license test.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 6
  • whichidiot? on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:01 pm

which idiot that says 300k previously?
    which idiot drove this before?
    which idiot claims this has dsg problem?

so many idiots around

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 15
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:03 pm

Go to VW fb.. you can find the idiots there..

An idiot finding idiots..

Good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 27
      • ShamsulG on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:28 pm

Hello Motorhead. Everyone in this site already knows that the VW Facebook is dominated by fakers. So lets be honest la, if you want to say VW owners, then can la, just don’t say VW Facebook or Paul Tan site people comments, because we all know its a load of rubbish.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:10 pm

Those cars stranded at VW SC must be fakers too I guess…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
          • Lawyer JJ on Jun 07, 2014 at 7:45 am

When you make an accusation, you must back it up with proof, otherwise it is just heresay, which is tantamount to a lawsuit if you are not careful.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 9:05 am

Yeah2.. went to VW SC twice.. ve chat there.. a month advance appointment must be a fake too..

Company my friends intended to buy VW.. Unfortunately none did..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 18
          • motorbart on Jun 07, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Motorhead talked a lot, said having 3 cars but coward to post pics here. Fake enough.

If like that I also can say I drive GTI and smoked your TRD (the real dugong) 100 times.

• fikri on Jun 07, 2014 at 4:17 pm

Hey motorhead, why did you go to VW SC twice when you own a Vios and Myvi? You got so much time going to other make service centre to gossip ah? Sah kaki kelentong!

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Can’t you read there.. or can’t understand English. . I company my friends. .

Kalu dah bodo tu jgn nak kata org klentong pulak.. pergi sekolah belajar semula.

That’s picture at the show room.. on the right is the sales counter.. the SC is few hundred meters from the showroom.. also near Audi showroom.

All around the SC you can see all the stranded VW cars.

You want me go more details?

Those went there know I don’t talk kork.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 11
          • Motordickhead on Oct 10, 2015 at 3:12 am

Motorhead komen mcm budak terencat. Sembang baby pun boleh.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:59 pm

Bart.. face.. Cowards? ? Whose the coward? Look at your name.. Motorhead’s shadow?

Why not post you face pictures here? Can we post pictures here? Please tell me how? Bahalol betul.

Well.. 2 myvi and vios so difficult to achieve? Sounds like illogical? Sounds like bragging? You must be very poor if you think it’s sooo expensive to buy. Well not for me.. work for years dy.. loan free time for another car…

Besides. . If you think can get my personal info here.. you can dream on.. you are nothing to me.. nothing.. you ll get nothing too..

Only this.. ptuiihh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • ts lim on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Although it is still expensive compared to other countries, Volkswagen has done a good job to reduce the price by bringing different spec of the car. Keep it on, hope there have even more car to be cut price.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:23 pm

THe Golf R has always been about understatement. If you intention is to be an attention seeker look elsewhere.:)

Ignoring our ‘unique’ pricing situation, the car on it’s own has got bucket loads of ability. Ignore the 280 PS as i’m sure even a chipped GTI can reach those figures.

The money’s is in the way this car put it’s power down to the road and how usable that 280 ps is.

Although i must say the they could have switched up the engines with something a bit more exciting like that 5 cylinder from the TT or something to make it less GTI ish in character. The old 3.2 was quite a screamer.

• mango on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:32 pm

what happen to the bucket seat!!?? i want it back…

• medium income on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:35 pm

i wonder y pipul would waste money buy golf R, when they can get merce, AMG. top up a bit, got style…

ada gaya lagi best!

rakyat marhain see golf liek ahbeng ony…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 26
    • riley hart on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:33 pm

.. Because it is a better car to drive …

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
      • DonkeyKong on Jun 07, 2014 at 12:02 pm

It is still an ahbeng car all the same.. driven by people who think they have “arrived” but still have immature mentality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
      • My 5 Sen on Jun 07, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Agree, real drivers buy cars not because they look good, but because they drive better.

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:38 pm

A tad too expensive (like as if I can afford it). I kinda like the sleeper look. It does not turn heads, but it sure hell goes like a rocket.

• seancorr on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Its actually not bad that u can own a Golf R botak spec for under RM250k and if you want the higher spec you can go for the more expensive model but VW is being biased to the 5 door hatch leaving the 3 door hatch handicapped spec wise but I guess experience tells them more people are going for the 5 door hatch I guess.

Now if only VW Malaysia continue fixing its terrible after sales service then maybe…

• Will it become like Civic Type R pull out from Malaysia market in future? I like Golf R better, but as usual, no $ no talk. but if USD40k to USD50K, confirmed i will buy!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:05 pm

buy this for my son….hope he don crash it

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 7
  • heeman on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:43 pm

No more Recaro seats. What a shame!

• That’s not all – the five-door also adds automatic headlights and wipers, a panoramic sunroof, electric folding and heated door mirrors, cruise control, keyless entry and start, a space-saving spare wheel and a rear view camera. Even parking sensors – front and rear – are only available on the more expensive model.

What!!! u need to fork out 287k just to get all these??? Most of it comes as standard in my car, even the front sensors…and it cost a 100k less than this Golf R. I guess in this case “R” means Rugi..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • DonkeyKong on Jun 07, 2014 at 12:03 pm

What the big deal with those features, even Korean cars come standard with those and sometimes more at less than half the price

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Motorhead support buy VW.. go aheah.. 120%.. support. . Xde hal.. bagus. Thumbs up. Good specs.

I just enjoy see the agony.. later.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 18
    • motorbart on Jun 07, 2014 at 1:18 pm

Enjoy seeing others’ agony.
      That’s sick. Better see psychiatrist.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Unfortunately. . A dumb person like you won’t understand reverse psychology. . & the meaning of the message. .

But.. as usual. . Go ahead. . Blm cuba blm tahu.. or else VW supporter will get angry..

But you are just my shadow.. not a potential buyer anyway..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
  • Do u guys realized that the car in JPJ carpark has LED turn signal lights built into the headlamps but the showroom car above is the bulb type like the GTI?

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:14 pm

I’m hoping vgm bringing the base spec 5 door manual.

• Henry on Jun 08, 2014 at 11:29 am

Then the profit won’t be so good. With the AP system they would always bring in the more expensive models.

• That’s not all – the five-door also adds automatic headlights and wipers, a panoramic sunroof, electric folding and heated door mirrors, cruise control, keyless entry and start, a space-saving spare wheel and a rear view camera. Even parking sensors – front and rear – are only available on the more expensive model.

Someone have to fork out 287k just to get these stuff? Most of these items are standard in my car, including the front sensor and it’s cost a 100k lesser. I guess “R” means Rugi in this case…

• Kevin Wee on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:39 pm

Price is fair for the higher specced 5 door version although a tad high. But it’s alwiz been about RM1000 for every Bhp. The botak spec price is a revelation for you get t advanced MQB chassis of t Mk 7 compared to t Mk 6 Golf R.
    But for road use most of t time, I would plump for t GTI with tech pack…more than enough fun and crucially rm60k cheaper than t high spec R!!

If I were to get a Golf R…it would hv to be t 5 door model but at $287k….I’ll probably wait for t latest all-new C-class that’s coming soon.
    If u value driving enjoyment, t GTI runs rings round t A250 for driving enjoyment. Testing t A250, it had horrendous under-steer n t light steering feel just doesn’t inspire confidence to attack corners. the stiff ride comfort n average NVH, tight interior space just doesn’t cut t A250 for me. It only has styling, 3-pointed star, reasonable straight line acceleration going for it which to me makes me feel to t Mk 7 GTI (tech pack) is a better overall buy which u will most probably keep for a long time!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • Joker on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:02 pm

Amazing car.. can’t wait to test drive it!!!

• bringmanualcars! on Jun 06, 2014 at 6:21 pm

why no M/T?? at least put as option la

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:40 pm

MT? Are you kidding? DSG bagus mah.. don’t think much.. just buy..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 23
  • 208 GTi on Jun 07, 2014 at 12:10 pm

Curi 208 GTi chrome wing mirror

• Sebelum saya mencipta 208GTi, saya telah mencipta VW Golf R dengan wing mirror chrome

• I’ve been waiting for this. Can’t wait to get my ha ds on one

• Nice car, I was expecting a 300k price but vw has given options from 247k. It would b a good alternative to the 320i. Top spec golf to a lower medium spec3 series, great..

• Albert Lee on Jun 07, 2014 at 9:47 pm

Cars are like NARCOTICS.
    Some people will buy REGARDLESS of the inflated price tag and vehement amount of FACTUAL CRITICISM.
    Not all products made in GERMANY is good or superior.
    It is just PERCEPTION and PSYCHOLOGICAL need for peer’s acceptance and an INFLATED EGO that drive certain people to buy luxury cars.For them,it is a TOY.
    I don’t own a VW ,I can’t say any negative comment about it,but I have read about the frustrations buyers faced at the SERVICE CENTRES.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 11:21 pm

Let them Albert. Ego is theirs. . Pleasure is theirs & mine too (reading comments)..

They are important for economic cycle.. besides. . VW pretty sales girls need some sales too.. she’s quite hot.. her name is….

Gov can get big chunk of tax too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • Wow, a lot of negative comments.

Personally, I would never purchase this car myself, it’s over priced for my general use.

On the other hand, I have a lot of friends that get down to the track, and from what I’ve heard, this car is an absolute terror in that environment.

So really, if anyone’s considering buying this, I wouldn’t worry about all the people complaining about how it doesn’t look spectacular enough for a RM250k car. Really, it’s a car that’s bought for performance by enthusiasts, not for picking up chicks/impressing your co-workers.

As far as reliability goes, I haven’t heard anything about this newest generation of DSG gearboxes (yet), but I figure if you can spend 250k on a track-toy, you probably have a second car/can afford whatever maintenance is necessary.

Badass car imo, but I don’t have that kind of money to spend on a toy.

• Samad Jain on Jun 08, 2014 at 6:54 pm

hahaha, typical malaysian mentality fom the forum. Whatever car being discussed, surely proton and perodua might be involved one way or the other. Later Toyota will be dragged into it oso.

Seems like many car owners arent happy about their ownership. Insecure?? Not confident? Ego?? Blind supporters? Financially incapable?? Lack choice??

Sikit sikit want to jump on other ppl….

No wonder Malaysia is at this poor state as it is now.

• neutral party on Jun 08, 2014 at 10:51 pm

hi all , i have to be honest about DSG problems that ppl were complain a lot,sorry for off topic !

Does 7 speed DRY DSG suit malaysia ?
    forget about weather or traffic condition , i been asking a lot of people about this ,actually a lot malaysian who actually dont know how to handle a dual clutch gearbox or even the most reliable “full wet torque convert automatic” properly ,i dont think a dry and “possible” fragile 7speed DSG will last !

i got a friend who own a polo TSI not yet have any issue like cluth problems after 60K with a lot of city drive(he even teach me the proper way to handle DSG when i drove his car on a outstation trip) mean while a technical guy(my girl friend relative ) who work with vw sc told me he experience a Polo TSI have burned clutch and gearbox issue after 10k of mileage with while technical data from the laptop show the driver drove 140km/h at gear 3 + engine speed @7000 rpm (correct gear should be around gear 6 or 7@2000++ to 3000++ rpm), so a good driver vs a rude driver or mishandle driver ? how do u think ?

PS: VW should be blame becos they should teach all the users how to handle the gearbox properly , but question is how many will follow ?
    just my 2cents

• Samad Jain on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:31 pm

…drove 140km/h at gear 3 + engine speed @7000 rpm…

Must be an idiotic driver not to notice such problem??? Either the driver is blind or not hearing the overly high rev sound….

I mean didnt the driver see the RPM meter that smack dead right in his/her face when driving the car??

• AllHailVW on Jun 23, 2014 at 7:01 pm

So many haters and whiners can’t afford a VW and whine here instead.

• Ricardo on Jun 29, 2014 at 10:12 am

I have just test driven the Golf GTI MK7 yesterday. A superb car. Their motto Often Copied but Never Equalled holds true. When I sat inside the Golf R it was a whole new experience. If I can stretch my budget I will take the Golf R and rehister a R plate to go with it. My name also. Hee hee.

• I came here to read the review as I have interest to buy one …however I end up reading all those rant comments and it was a dope though.

• Jay Law on Jun 26, 2017 at 1:24 pm

Weedy speakers