Safe and Stylish Balik Kampung – win a Polo Sedan

vw-raya-2014

Volkswagen Group Malaysia (VGM) recently announced its “Safe and Stylish Balik Kampung” campaign for the upcoming Raya season in collaboration with fashion designer Melinda Looi.

With a Volkswagen Polo Sedan as the grand prize, the campaign will run from June 10 to July 10. It was launched at a fashion show in conjunction with the unveiling of Melinda Looi’s “emel by Melinda Looi” 2014 Raya collection.

“Ramadan and the Raya celebration is the season of virtues and as a company who regards these values, we want to be a part of this contribution by sharing and spreading the cheer in bringing mobility solutions to people. It is a time of giving during this festive season; we are excited to give away a brand new Polo Sedan to one lucky winner just in time for a Safe and Stylish Balik Kampung,” said Christoph Aringer, VGM’s MD.

2014 Volkswagen Polo Sedan CKD 6
The locally-assembled VW Polo Sedan was launched in October 2013; 1.6 MPI engine, six-speed auto

emel by Melinda Looi is a socially conscious fashion initiative by the designer, who invited celebrity Diana Danielle to co-design ‘Diana Danielle x emel’, a capsule collection of ladies’ baju raya inspired by the star’s personal style. A portion of proceeds from both collections will be channeled to the Institut Jantung Negara (IJN) Foundation.

To be in the running to win the RM89,888 Polo Sedan, you’ll need to test drive a VW at any official dealership, or go to bit.ly/emelxVW and fill a simple online survey. No purchase required. Good luck!

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• only offering polo for raya? how about other models? u think we dont have money to buy vw izzit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 22
    • RUGAL on Jun 06, 2014 at 10:47 am

If I have money also, I would rather go for other brands. Don’t want to spend for Dia Selalu Gagal gearbox.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
      • polo=cheap aka entry model only.. interior so small..How bout other models? hari raya people wants to balik kampung using MPV/SUV, pls put sharan, toureg or at least tiguan on offer la.. idiot VWM

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
        • Same L0r on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:24 pm

When Proton offer win a Saga, everyone diam diam.

Saga is Proton cheapest car.

When VW offer win a Polo Sedan, here comes some voice.

Polo Sedan also the cheapest VW.

Somemore NO PURCHASE REQUIRED, you need to test drive the car.

You think Proton will so good let you test drive and give you a car for free? Keep dreaming please.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 5:32 am

They didn’t diam diam when the Saga SV was offered. Some people joked about Proton needing to clear stock. Anyway, when the Preve LE was introduced, there was a sort of lucky draw for those who test drove Proton cars. The grand prize was a Preve LE and other people won other things as well. Just pointing out facts…

That said, the commenters above Same L0r are quite strange. VW wants to give away a car. It’s their choice as to the model. It happens to be a pretty decent car (objectively speaking). I don’t know what you’re thinking but your criticism makes you seem quite stupid.

• simonsays on Jun 06, 2014 at 10:18 am

Hey stupid vagabond zz, who is saying if you got money or not? Who cares if you only drive Proton only?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 9
  • Balik kampung n rosak tengah jalan how?

• Derick on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:22 am

Can chinese apply for this?hehehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 8
  • dupey on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:36 am

Polo sedan use non DSG GB.. Please do some homework before comment..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 3
    • RUGAL on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:54 am

I know. But he/she mentioned OTHER MODELS as he can afford those Dia Selalu Gagal gearbox.

• Noob apollo.

• Affinity on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:50 am

Giving out free cars also can complain. Gees there’s no pleasing some people

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Nissan Almera more bigger than Polo Sedan but boot space not larger than Toyota Vios and no folding rear seat for Almera.Maybe the popular option Honda City is suitable for who want spacious interior and boot space.Want premium feel?Buy Toyota Vios G

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
    • malcomgladwell on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Premium feel vios G spec??! Wahahaha…toyota sales man?. Preve also better than vios or Camry x. The badge and reputation do not make good cars. Its the tech and specs and balance of pricing. Polo is basic, but still better than vios. Only those who own,one and tried it will know.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 3
      • no, preve interior quality sucks. too plasticky feel. atleast vios has better build quality than preve. bash also bash with facts la

• whichidiot? on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:04 pm

so many idiots around..this is free..if you want..you participate else stop your bullshit crap here.

• Denaihati on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:11 pm

big contest and big opportunity, good luck to all participant.

• malcomgladwell on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:38 pm

I hope the idiots who are so biased against vw will not win it. Only deserving winners desiring a vw, not the vios camly city fan boys. Nice rays for someone who cannot afford a new car but wishing to own a vw. May your wish come true.

• Harvs on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:26 pm

I dont care to argue i applied in this vw polo survey thing. Hope to fucking win!

• kami (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:43 pm

haiya…free also complaint. if win just sell it la. got cash buy other car

• If anyone wins a VW for Raya, it’s more of a curse! duh!

• Simin Liu on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:30 am

Talk cock la, you Lim. The so called curse is having you in this forum.

• Rakyat biasa on Jun 15, 2014 at 6:38 am

Ok apa…free from bank interest. For a small family…for me that have rm2.5k + salary… I would be really glad if i win this Polo sedan. Memang la x se best menang Golf R mk7 but to win a car….compare 9 years loan….best woooo