Works ministry allocates RM1 billion for federal roads

federal-road-maintenance 091

Bernama reports that the Works ministry is setting aside RM1.037 billion this year for maintenance work of federal roads, stretching 17,458 km nationwide.

Of that allocation, RM409 million would be for routine works while the remaining RM628 million would be for periodical works, said Works minister Datuk Fadillah Yusof.

“Maintenance work of federal roads in Malaysia is privatised to eight concession companies, appointed according to zones, comprising three in the peninsula and five in Sabah, Sarawak and the Federal Territory of Labuan,” he told reporters after launching the state-level federal road maintenance balloting at the Johor Bahru Public Works Department (JKR) office here.

581 federal road maintenance projects, worth RM28 million, would be implemented through balloting this year, said Fadillah. They comprise 412 in the peninsula, costing RM20 million, and the remaining 169 in Sabah and Sarawak.

He said the main aim of implementing it through balloting was to open more opportunities for small contractors to also be involved in maintenance work of federal roads.

74 repair works at black-spot areas, costing RM31 million, and 50 pedestrian crossing projects, worth RM10 million, were implemented last year in an effort to reduce road accidents, the Works minister said.

He added that his ministry is spending another RM20 million for 50 black-spot area repair projects and RM7 million for pedestrian crossing projects.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• hohoho on Jun 06, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Out of 1b, 80% down the drain

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 73 Thumb down 13
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Ya ya..correct correct…govt are evil

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 24
      • Same L0r on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Come on, if 90% down the drain we still got 10%.

Proton is 100% ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 8
    • abuya on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:09 pm

How can you come out with that figure? Where is your evidence and credible proof?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 40
      • Kyoru on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Found the crony supporter.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 13
        • powderful on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Tak habis habis ‘Kroni’…..

They allocate the budget, you guys tembak. Tarak allocate budget…you guys tembak. What da fook do you guys want???? Change government??? You guys seriously think by changing the government it’ll eradicate the so-called ‘misappropriation of funds’…? Worse I believe since power corrupts and it’ll corrupt the new in no time.

Now, as far as ‘cronisym’ is concerned, I and most of you guys are guilty as well. Contoh : You are say, a top professional, i.e Architect/Engineer/Accountant/Banker whatchamacallit. Three peeps, with SAME qualifications and finance capability(s) get shortlisted. One of them is your buddy or acquaintance or someone you know. Guess who the award will go to? Of course your ‘kenalan’ innit???

Because by giving to your ‘kenalan’/’Crony…you KNOW that if scheisse happens, you can hold him responsible. Among other things, the so-called ‘kenalan’ is easier to monitor since ypu know his/her kinfolk as well. Comfortable is the operative word here.

Most sour grapes on here will state that the person-who-awards-the-job will get kickbacks etc….NOT really and NOT in all cases. It’s the ‘broker’/middlemen that charges for the services. NOT said person-who-awards or minister or whatever.

Don’t blame these folks who worked their way to get close and be labelled ‘cronies’. You too can do it. Hell yeah, been cursing meself too for not joining the youth movement when I was young….!So bebudak semua, pergilah join kelab parti pemuda masing2. UMNO ka, PAS ka, DAP ka…..just make sure you join the right one i.e in power. Work hard to get to rub shoulders with the ketua-ketua and prolly 10-15 years down the road, you’ll get to taste the fruits of your labour. Being a ‘crony’ is hard work too…..

Note: I was a bitter person 20 years ago and ranted and cursed at the PM,government and its cronies. Left the country, worked overseas and grew up. I don’t hate anything anymore except idiots who spout things sans thinking or by reading nonsense partisan tabloids or the intraweb. In fact,I have no political affiliation at all and actually like Guan Eng…

Politics will be politics.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 61
          • brown kid on Jun 07, 2014 at 4:40 am

some ppl just dont understand how the world operate, they think it rainbow and chocolate all the way.
            let them think and spout what ever they want, its the majority of it, that what democracy mean right? majority win, no matter the majority with brain or no brain…

• Bro..I dont care whether its cronies or not who got the jobs..all I want is transparency..I want to know that 1 billion ringgit well spent on managing the road..not buying luxury cars first then expensive house or apartment in new york or london and splash the money on holidays and thier daughter or son super grand wedding. All I want to know is that every single penny is recorded where it goes. Now it seems whoever the the grant or contract may do whatever they want the money..something that supposed to be 1 billion only become 1 million..where has the rest gone nobody knows.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 5
          • lancau..

• oia chin wei on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:49 am

Wake up fren, pls see those countries alrdy developed like singapore, Taiwan, US and so..
        Too many excuses from gov when issues happened within a country will killing everyone except hiself.
        Pls abserve more from other more or alrdy developed countries except you still prefer to stay under development kind of country… C:

• fast5 on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:35 pm

My living area cheras south is full of holes… After fixed within a month the holes come back… But the worst case is… I can still see ppl asking “aunty nak taman tanah rm300 saja”…
      Please stop the corruption !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
      • Low Budget on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:04 pm

The roads in the Taman are not Federal Roads, they are municipal roads normally maintain by the municipal council.
        Anyway, Federal or Municipal, same shits always happen, ‘Tampal, Bocor, Tampal, Bocor’. All Malaysian cars shock absorber, drive shafts, bearings, tyres are damaged from time to time caused by ‘lobang’ in roads.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
      • Macai Detected.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
      • Want to know why? If the make high quality roads, then the road will last a long time, without defects. That means no repair works for the kroni.

This is what they do, repair ala kadar. Then rosak again, do repair work, at the same time a portion of the road repair contract money goes into kroni’s pocket.

• GDrogon on Jun 06, 2014 at 6:16 pm

the best way to pocket money, malaysia route never being serious treat, suka sula gorek then tampal, after 2 days the route worse then before. name of maintenance or expend soon they use same old method gorek money again.

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 8:43 pm

talk is easy la bro hohoho.. puiii

• AVH (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:06 pm

OK, slightly off-topic

The problem with the government is not the funds allocated for the roadwork, is the method. That RM1 bil, yes it will ‘patch up’a majority of the holes in Malaysia……but how long? In Rawang and Sri Hartamas at least, patch up job last for few weeks before another hole is made. I do recall UK(having one of the worst roads quality in the world….according to them) are inventing new ways and method to cure up holes once and for all and I believe funds should be allocated to research to improve the quality of the road, not maintaining bad ones. As our ‘dream’to become a first world nation, aren’t we supposed to look thing ahead instead of letting those first-world nation doing it.

Of course all I’ve just said is utter BS in regards to Malaysian mantality; our road planning is in all intents half-ar*d, with roadsign design to tell you what you have missed not where you’re going, and roads that suddenly merge out of no where and Roadways that suddenly decides to be LHD(I am looking at you, Federal-LDP bridge)……it’s all seems to be plan either on a late night football match in some Mamak store, or by a group of very intoxicated chimpanzees.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 1
    • tokmoh (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Aye, should consider concrete roads, asphalt doesn’t cut it.

Roads around subang badly patched, holes will reappear soon enough. Mpsj so rich, yet too kiam siap conduct proper repair. Instead, some perfectly good roads keep getting resurfaced, ruining it instead, as new layer so soft, shoddily done, will crack and become shit. If not to enrich some incompetent subcon, dunno what to call anymore.

Inb4 balasan undi opposition.

Inb4 atas pagar hipsters say bn, pr, sama saja songlap. Then, to improve should turn msia to anarchy?

• AVH (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:34 pm

MPSJ once summon my car….INSIDE A GATED COMMUNITY!!!

anyways, I do agree, the road management in Sunway are is so bad, its almost chaotic. Case in point, I once punctured my car tayer on a U-turn outside PJS15, underneeth the flyover. It turns out it happen to be a boulder the size of a watermelon lying on the inner corner of the turn left off from some roadwork(new flyover going towards Subang Parade). I only manage to hit my tire, imagine some poor soul in a motorcycle who didn’t notice.

And than theres the infamous Sunway U-turn(the one before the ramp up Sunway Pyramid). I notice so many haphazard waiting to happens as cars from the slow lane crawls to the fast lane(where the U–turn is) right into the path of others doing twice the speed. And mind you there are alot of high-end garage in the Sunway area so you often see, high performance car strutting its stuff on the fast lane.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 1:53 am

Beech pleez. Mpsj summoned my friend’s car parked at subang avenue (next to carrefour, now aeon big). On weekend at night! Seems mpsj authorised some ulat to issue summons there.

All those efforts are better used to improve road design, and go concrete. They’re cheaper in the long run than asphalt.

But u know i know. There’s no cure for arrogance + stupidity. All we get if we complain is x suka, balik cina/india/indonesia.

• Low Budget on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Does road planning existed in Boleh Land? Building mushroom up every where but only serve by existing narrow 2lane roads, at most, the housing developer will create another access lane to their housing areas but only for a couple hundred of meters.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:27 pm

An expatriate from Western Europe once told my mom that Malaysia will never move on unless they sort out our planning and management skills. Currently, our educational system prides on its ‘achivement’ but not in developing the skills. We are told all 12 years in school to achieve a result….no matter what cost.

And thats what happens to most ‘plan’ in Malaysia, even if has to go through corruptions, cutting loopholes and bypassing regulation, as long as the result is achieved say….a 3-lane highway, everything is fine dandy right? This is the direct opposite of what develope countries are doing, prime examples being Japan and Germany. The results are met not only in an orderly manner, but also with precission(in Germany’s case).

I can’t find video of examples of Germany, but here is Japan and UK:
        Japan: A simple roadside job
        [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0Iu7BpWsnuA]
        UK: A demolition of a bridge under a day:
        [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-F9tfeiN_s]

• GT3 (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 9:16 pm

You’re earlier 7 hours than me. Definitely one of the points that I’m thinking when reading this post.
      The main problem with our Works Ministry and JKR is that their mentality: “it’s ok lah we build low quality roads, can have maintenance contract every 3 months…”
      Damn. Why don’t they just change it by building a slightly-more-expensive-roads-but-with-much-better-quality. Contractors can have profit on expensive roads but in long term, better road quality means more comfort for drivers, better image for Malaysia, reduces damage on car’s tyres and suspension. Even Thailand have better road quality than us.
      There ARE few roads in Malaysia which is up to global standards; some in Putrajaya, NKVE, and few other ‘hot-spots’. The rest, just like 3rd world countries.
      On other POV, Malaysia actually have pretty good driving roads with good curves and good environment like Bukit Tinggi, Cameron Highlands and Bukit Putus but those are spoiled with poor road quality. I like it how backroads and winding mountain roads in US have excellent quality.
      Sometimes I think that road builders in Malaysia is not even a driver, they’re building and designing roads without putting themselves in the drivers’ perspective.

• oia chin wei on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:54 am

The method and technique doing road is a question, how come when i was in other countries but their road seem seldom easy damage n lubang here n there….

• Kangkung on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:24 pm

Hopefully this is not kangkung project

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 5
    • Low Budget on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:15 pm

Some roads and bridges will be built but will go through several contractors, the best contractor will be the main one, just collect commission will do.

• azrai on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:31 pm

By comparison, how much do PLUS and other concessionaires collected and what are the profit ratio?

• abuya on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:14 pm

They are normal companies which is do business for profit, not for charity as well as pakatan cronies. If you too much think about profit ratio, then you should ask how much profit ratio ah beng when pimp your car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 28
  • satekj38 on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:35 pm

if really all RM 1 billion is pouring into maintenance of roads will be good.

what worrying is only 20% or less are really into the purpose and remaining into somebody’s pocket…

• seancorr on Jun 06, 2014 at 2:45 pm

The way we repair roads is just wrong. All they did was just tar over the damaged road when they should have dig up the old road and then re-tar it back. I noticed in other countries they mix some small stones with the tar for a longer lasting solution.

Did you all noticed that the height of the road is increasing after every tar? Even the side curbs are no longer to be seen!

• of course height of the road is increasing after every tar. A thicker lift of pavement will keep its life longer than a thin one. Wear due to heavy load vehicle(Lorry) would affect the road lifespan.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Nonsense. Go check ss15 subang in front of maybank, the main road resurfaced until too tall, it’s ridiculous. That area got many scratch marks cuz bumpers keep scraping as descent angle too low to enter ss15. Many years ago they were even, now it’s crap.

• abuya on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:17 pm

They were looking cheapest material and cheap labour. So dont compare to UK roads. 1 billion already makes above commenter eyes burst, imagine if 3 billion.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
    • roadrunner on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:46 pm

hello? 1 billion only, give more 10 billion to add little sand okay :D

• shawal on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Its about damn time…
    I almost mistook by neighbourhood for jakarta!

• shawal on Jun 06, 2014 at 3:20 pm

Hybrid biodiesel buses…

Morphing all current buildings into solar generating powerstations

More LRTs and MRTs with free parking

Encourage companies to run their businesses and meetings from home…
    Encourage gov to run meetings via web conference…

A developed nation is not where the poor drives their own car… But where the rich uses public transport…

We hv to start futureproofing and change our mindset rather keep stumbling on short term solutions

• FireAce on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:06 pm

I rarely see highways (PLUS, MEX, Duke, etc) need to patch a hole. Maybe didn’t notice it cause they did such a nice job so I drive over it on high speed also no feel.

Well, when i noticed that they do, they dig a big square before patching, not just fill up the hole, and that patch job last for a long long time.

• tawil on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:10 pm

JKR should widening all federal route.. They should not relied on expressway to serve as primary route to any interstate journey. A lot of low income still choose federal route as their regular journey. Look at Thailand all federal road from Malaysia-Thailand border to Bangkok city have two lane per direction road. JKR should follow the suit.

• mitro on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:33 pm

They do upgrade from time to time. They have banci kenderaan on number of car that use the road. Why upgrade if the usage is not maximum. main federal road accross malaysia is well taken after. problem with city road around developing area.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:19 pm

At last.. finally. .

Please do repair the roads.. very bad dy..

• messi on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:29 pm

They only tell you the expenditure.

Kind to tell us the road tax renevue for the whole Federal territory?

• Joker on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:57 pm

I don’t think they should repair the road…
    They should resurfaced the whole road instead…
    Patching a hole won’t bring durability at all and will only lads to wastage of $$… The hole will resurface back in a month or so..

• Early Adopter on Jun 06, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Let’s start by positioning this from a neutral perspective. Allocations pledge by a govt on improving road conditions/works is nothing new in this country or any other country for that matter. What we want to know is not on the Ringgit value allocated, nor the high-level specifics which may never be evidenced against but simple “results” that can be felt and seen. Year-on-year the conditions on our local road quite frankly is not on an improving trend (except possibly roads in the city prior to some big events). Also there are almost zero enforcement on heavy vehicles damaging our road’s condition pre and post completion of construction works/projects.

So my fellow Malaysians, we can continue to hope and pray for a miracle outcome but if you ask me, I’d rather maintain my sceptism on the results of this “master plan”. Dat way, I will be less disappointed :)

• Huhu 500mil goes to road and 500mil goes to someone’s pocket money for new rolls Royce and Bentleys. Only in mulaysia

• Denaihati on Jun 06, 2014 at 5:41 pm

“more opportunities for small contractors”, good news for small contractor. just wait the implementation.

• Sure manyak lasuah puyer. Some people are so gullible that until now they can’t see that our government is so corrupt. Perhaps they are also part of the corrupt system that have become immune.

• nasha on Jun 06, 2014 at 6:18 pm

i always envy thai road. no lubang sana sini. very good road condition (even the kampung road) compared to us malaysia.

i think it is not about how big the budget allocation. it’s about the kontraktor here always cut corners by using no quality material but declare using quality material.

• Therealmaserati on Jun 06, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Come on la Paultan , we all know that out of the 1 billion, probably 70 % masuk poket and the balance 30% is used to do shoddy halfbaked work. This is Malaysia, so stop posting rubbish news like this!

• Sabahan on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:28 pm

My home town (Tawau) road to airport landslide for 4-5 years already. No $$$$ repair.

• arulkay on Jun 06, 2014 at 11:53 pm

So many a good comment…but how many of us know which one road that u use are fed road n state road……n highway or expressway ofcoz it will well maintain that the reason u pay for it….

• Murderer on Jun 07, 2014 at 6:45 pm

1 billion or 10 billion if dunno how to manage also useless.

• Rocket Scientist on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:22 pm

With generous development and maintenance allocations like this, Malaysia could easily be one of the best nations in the world, IF and only IF, there are no leakages along the way.

• Albert Lee on Jun 07, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Raya round the corner.
    CRONIES have their prayers answered.
    After Raya,their celebrations commences in 7 STAR hotels,cos by that time,the construction will have to begin.
    Nowadays,besides the MRT,not many MEGA PROJECTS have surfaced.