DRIVEN: F26 BMW X4 – the X3 redrawn as a ‘coupe’

BMW X4 xdrive35i Bilbao 02

There are many ways to expand reach and extend market share, and spin-offs are a good way to go about it. Television uses it to great effect, and automakers are getting big into that particular game as well.

Nothing too hard about it, and it beats turning out a completely new trick from ground up, cost and time-wise. Identify an existing model and see how you can make it so it’s differentiated enough from the original, and voila, new cake.

BMW is getting very efficient at this – plenty of variations and sub-takes to be found in its model inventory these days, but the F30 3 Series / F32 4 Series Coupe and latest F36 4 Series Gran Coupe trinity is a good an example as any of how to stretch the net for effect.

That train of thought has spread to their cousin, the F25 X3, and the result is the X4, a vehicle for the BMW buyer wanting to go the taller route, doesn’t care for the F15 X5‘s shape, loves the E71 X6‘s (or the second-gen F16‘s) flash but thinks it too big, preferring something along the lines of an X3 dimension-wise, but thinks the latter too stoic and wants something with more visual dynamism. Here’s the extrovert then.

BMW X4 xdrive35i Bilbao 05

Strange when you consider that when the X3 first came along, it was the sportier option to things, but such is how things have progressed that a Sports Activity Vehicle (SAV) isn’t seen as being sporty enough these days. Enter the second, smaller iteration of the Sports Activity Coupe (SAC).

As its type designation suggests, the new F26 adopts an outlook based along X6 lines, with the rear mimicry evident. The latter has done considerably well, despite its size not making it a vehicle for all, with more than 250,000 sold since its debut in 2008, so a smaller option should prove to be a bigger winner, or at least that’s the hope.

Nothing wrong with the rear half of the equation – it’s quite fetching, really, reworking the lines of the X3 into something with far more energetic visual appeal. The front, however, doesn’t quite blend into things as well, to my eyes at least. There’s a flatness to it and more than a passing association to the X3 in that mix, minor redrawn lines notwithstanding.

From some angles, the X4 works, and from others, less so. It’s a face that one can eventually get to love, I suppose, but it’s not ever going to be classified as pretty, now or ever, and there’s definitely less of a uniqueness factor to it than the X6 – like that one or not, the E71 has presence. This one looks ungainly, despite attempts to doll it up to recreate a similar effect.

BMW X4 xdrive35i Bilbao 06

Externally, the X4 measures in at 4,671 mm long, which is 23 mm longer than the X3, and at 1,624 mm tall, sits 51 mm lower than the X3 (1,675 mm tall). Otherwise, the width and wheelbase of both vehicles are identical, at 1,881 mm and 2,810 mm respectively.

The X3’s underpinnings continue on inside, with the dashboard fascia of the X4 being a good place to play the spot the difference against the X3 game. Actually, as with the F30/F32/F36, the approach is downright generic, in a “you know you’re in a BMW, but which BMW are you in?” manner.

A selection of high-gloss black panels and aluminium trim strips are available, as is an optional M Sport dress-up package, while standard equipment levels are higher than that of the X3, but it’s all status quo otherwise. As with the 4 GC, some differentiation in design would have been nice, but this is how it is, like it or not.

So, aside from the external rework, the differences can be felt from a height perspective – the X4’s body sits 36 mm closer to the road than the X3, with the driver/front passenger sitting 20 mm and the rear passengers 28 mm lower to keep things in line with the coupe overtones.

Like the 4 GC and the 3 Series, there’s a difference in cabin height dimensions as well in terms of measurement from top of the seat base to roof line – at the front, this is 1,014 mm and at the back, 950 mm, on the X4. The X3’s corresponding numbers are 1,033 mm (+ 19 mm) and 994 mm (+ 44 mm).

In practice, it doesn’t feel too pinched, as demonstrated by the above pix, with Richard Leu of the Bangkok Post ensconced in the rear of an xLine level xDrive30d that was on display in Bilbao Airport – he’s a lanky fellow, and the lack of thigh support from the rear seat base is very apparent, but accordingly knee room is decent. The seating arrangement is for five, but more readily serves four with a fifth occasionally.

As with the 4 Gran Coupe evaluators on the double model drive, all the X4 mules on call in Bilbao were outfitted with a light beige interior, presumably to give a better rendition of cabin space. Clever move, actually. Boot capacity, meanwhile, is 500 litres, increasing to 1,400 litres with the 40:20:40 split-rear seat bench folded down flat.

This is slightly less than that of the X3, which offers 550 litres and 1,600 litres in the same configuration. The X4 features an automatic tailgate, but an optional Smart Opener function, which opens the tailgate with the movement of a foot (like that as initially seen on the Ford Kuga) can be specified. Like that seen on the 3 Series Gran Turismo, the boot area features a double rail track, which makes up the base for a variable attachment system that helps secure cargo.

Standard equipment includes a variable sport steering, Performance Control and a sports leather steering wheel with gearshift paddles, while optional kit includes a full-colour head-up display and Adaptive LED headlights.

Six engine options are available for the X4 at this stage, three petrol and three diesel units. The petrol line is a familiar trio, led by the 306 hp and 400 Nm 3.0 litre straight-six that provides the basis for the xDrive35i model. The 2.0 litre twin-scroll turbo N20B20 is found on the xDrive28i and xDrive20i in their different states of output tune, these being 245 hp/350 Nm and 184 hp/270 Nm respectively.

The oil burners are made up of an in-line six-cylinder turbocharged 3.0 litre, on the xDrive35d in a 313 hp at 4,400 rpm and 630 Nm at 1,500-2,500 rpm output tune, and on the xDrive30d in a 258 hp at 4,000 rpm and 560 Nm at 1,500-3,000 rpm tune. The xDrive20d, meanwhile, features a 190 hp and 400 Nm 2.0 litre four-pot turbo.

In Spain, like with the 4 GC, a single petrol variant was used across the entire X4 drive fleet, and this was the xDrive35i in Melbourne Red and equipped with an eight-speed ZF auto transmission, attendant M Sport package as well as 19-inch alloys dressed with staggered fitment 245/45 front and 275/40 rear Michelin Primacy 3 rubbers. Not small by any measure, the double five-spoke wheel, but it looked somewhat undersized at points on the X4.

BMW X4 xdrive35i Bilbao 59

From a drive and dynamics viewpoint, the X4 returned a mixed bag of results. Pluses include an ability to be driven hard in the twists. Despite its bulk and 1,890 kg kerb weight, the xDrive35i never felt distended, with commendable body roll control and mid-corner stability aspects. Traction levels are high, even in the wet, and the adaptive suspension does a brilliant job in keeping everything composed and tidy.

It’s all enough to make the X3 feel downright pedestrian in comparison, but there’s a caveat to it. The X4 is dynamically sound and capable enough as a corner-carver, but there’s also an unshakeable heavy-set way about how it plies its wares. You can always feel its workings, and transitional aspects are obvious – there’s none of the glide-about integration and light-footed nature in handling switchbacks as the 4 Gran Coupe.

Granted, the mass of an almost two-tonne SAV – despite the reshape to a coupe-like form and reclassification as an SAC – isn’t ever going to translate to delicacy in motion. Provided you look beyond the fact that it’s not naturally-gifted in that sense, the drive – and handling prowess – will be gratifying enough. For sure, the ‘coupe’ nuance is bound to encourage drivers to explore the limits of grip more often than not.

That thick-set impression also imposes itself on straight-line performance. It takes 5.5 seconds to get the X4 from standstill to 100 km/h in the case of the 35i, but the X4 never felt as rapid as that getting off the line in Spain despite that suggested by the on-paper stats (coming in to it from the sprightlier 4 GC back-to-back may have had much to do with it, in fairness). Midband response is good though.

BMW X4 xdrive35i Bilbao 55

Otherwise, the X4 offers sport-like ride behaviour, that on the xDrive35i being firm but not jarring, keeping in line with its design posture. The steering is a bit dull in feel but quick and precise, and most won’t find fault with the chosen tactility. Also, rearward visibility could be better and takes further gloss away, but that’s to be expected with going the ‘coupe’ route.

On the flip-side, wind noise levels are low, with very little noticeable window turbulence at 120 km/h crusing speeds, and road noise levels are also decent – there was some tyre roar, but nowhere close to being as intrusive as that on the 4 GC.

Having a diverse two vehicle drive inadvertently brings one to the forefront at the expense of the other. With the 4 Series Gran Coupe and X4 equation, I ended up liking the 4 GC more despite having been initially more curious about the X4.

Viewed in isolation, however, the BMW X4 has more than a bit going for it. Until the smaller X2 eventually arrives on the scene, the spin-off should well appeal to the SAV buyer who thinks the X5 and X3 too straight-laced, the X6 too big and the 3 Series GT a neither-here-nor-there kind of vehicle. You can imagine that there are quite a few folk who think like that around here, so it’s likely to have a higher adoption rate compared to the X3, provided the pricing is right. The answers in due course.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• Twoyearwarranty on Jun 07, 2014 at 7:37 am

Just look at that rubbish interior, can’t imagine what kind of sucker would pay the expected price of this car and live in that cabin everyday.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 52
    • Merc salesman don’t get so frightened, and start the low class personal attack. Just imagine how your supervisor train to talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 11
      • BMW Salesmen GTFO on Jun 08, 2014 at 11:40 am

You BMW salesman are all desperate and in denial. You think that anyone who dares criticise your products must be a rival company salesman and the public is sure to love your product. You probably think that any member of the public who doesn’t like your product got something wrong with them. Such arrogance. If BMW was all that great you wouldn’t have to sell every single car at a big discount or with zero mileage pre-reg, buying your way to the top of the premium car sales list with no credibility or sustainability. You secretly don’t even have confidence in your own products, which is why your warranty is an industry worst 2 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 13
    • shame_Loo on Jun 07, 2014 at 4:14 pm

The dashboard design is kind of weird. Not up to the standard or on par with similar segment of car. Exterior wise, front design looks not well match and like a “crab” face.

• Merc salesman don’t get so frightened, and start the low class personal attack. Just imagine how your supervisor train to talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 9
  • Something is wrong with the fog lamp embedded in the bumper directly underneath the headlights

• rambo on Jun 07, 2014 at 9:45 am

cant wait to see this SAV on our roads. i’ve been saving for this baby since it was launch in Detroit….yeah….come to PAPA…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 11:06 am

I am a big fan of BMW cars.

But honestly, I am let down with this X4. I thought maybe they would have done up the rubbish interior that came with the X3, which felt just plain cheap compared to the Q5 and the Range Rover Evoque.

In fact, why buy this when you could get the Evoque, it looks miles better, has better quality, more comfortable, and at least in Malaysia, does not come with the nonsense 2 year warranty.

BMW makes good cars, like the 3 series, 5 series and the i8. This is just not one of them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 8
  • seancorr on Jun 07, 2014 at 12:15 pm

Ah…hopefully they will differentiate the cabins of the X3 and X4 in the next gen. Currently the cabins are similar even for the 4 Series and 3 Series as well as the 1 Series and 2 Series and who cannot forget about the X5 and X6 too.

Would be interesting to see the price when it arrives here as well as the spec sheet.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Meh. Volvo XC60 nicer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
  • The Fog light position has spoiled the front design

• mason on Jun 07, 2014 at 3:08 pm

not so interesting BMW….it is the price factor that determine this x4 looks?Bmw nowadays is competing within themselves..hehe

• Rashuk Khan2 on Jun 07, 2014 at 3:24 pm

I tought Gen2 if the logo not there…

• Yours Faithfully (YF) on Jun 07, 2014 at 3:25 pm

I wonder when the 5 series is gonna switch to this generic look that all the new beemers seems to be coming out with these days.

• Maseratits on Jun 07, 2014 at 3:36 pm

Am I the only one who thinks the front end looks a little odd?

• shawal on Jun 07, 2014 at 4:28 pm

If i smoke enuff weed i probably can conjure up nonexesting niche products too… Probably handrawn them too free hand…

These new series of beemers were conceived during the time when adrian van hooydink was their chief designer…
    And he was Dutch…

• mmaker on Jun 07, 2014 at 9:32 pm

sorry bmw, i prefer mercedes GLA or new lexus NX

• Ray (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:14 pm

It does look a bit odd up front. I’m not too keen on recent BMW designs where the headlamps are connected to the kidney grille. It makes the front end look really odd (F30 et al, the new X5 and X6) , and I still think the kidney grille should stand by itself at the centre with headlamps separated from it.

The X4 looks like a jacked up F30 from certain angles. Sorry it doesn’t work for me.

• Josh Ling on Jun 08, 2014 at 8:32 am

this look had finally grown on me. i don’t like the average-joe look of X4. prefer this sportier look.

can i really suggest to BMW designers to reduce the number of holes upfront please? i know it’s crucial to cool down the engine, but there must be other more elegant way of achieving the same result no?

• spock1976 on Jun 08, 2014 at 9:32 am

The nosy is fugly. I am no Merc salesman. I own an F30.

• zamer on Jun 08, 2014 at 3:37 pm

what if park all bmw series in a row and see how all of them differs.

the interior is as almost identical among all the models. exterior is just a minor twist and called a new model.

the only model that i really admire is 6 series 4 door..that looks extra ordinary among all..

• spongewai on Jun 08, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Dear BMW, pls developed the new BMW X2 after unveiling the fwd BMW X1 next year

so you can compare the bigger cousin like X4, X6 etc

• off-road on Jun 09, 2014 at 3:05 pm

Gen2 + tall absorbers = Asian BMW X4

(My idea only, jgn marah ya macai-macai Proton ok)

• Francis on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:29 pm

I dont understand this model… Its like suspension lift of 3Series