Proton R3 Motorsport Driving Experience – getting to grips with the new driver training programme

Proton R3 Driving Experience 25

As an avid fan of the Gran Turismo video game series, I have gone through countless of the famous licence tests that are a necessity to advance through the games’ career modes. Those tests help you drive better virtually, but the skills taught in the game are also fundamental to real-world performance and defensive driving.

Trouble is, there aren’t many avenues for the average motorist to learn and practice these skills in reality. The national driving syllabus is not comprehensive enough to teach advanced techniques, and professional driving courses, typically offered by the car manufacturers themselves, are often very expensive.

Recently, Proton contacted us about a new driver training programme, called the Proton R3 Motorsport Driving Experience, and wanted one of us to try our hand at it. Naturally, I raced to take up the opportunity and joined the other 40-odd participants in an empty parking lot in Serdang for a whole day of thrashing these tidy-handling cars. This, I concluded, was going to be fun.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 21

Open to all members of the public with a valid driver’s license (even if they don’t own a Proton), the Proton R3 Motorsport Driving Experience follows in the footsteps of a number of already well-established programmes, and teaches a range of basic and advanced driving techniques designed to make you a better, faster and, most importantly, safer driver behind the wheel.

The main factor that separates this from other competing courses? The price – because this programme takes place at the parking lot of the Malaysia Agro Exposition Park Serdang (MAEPS), instead of a more expensive location such as the Sepang International Circuit, it comes in at a relatively low RM880, less than half the price of most courses.

For that price, R3 will provide you with its own cars, as well as food and drink. And don’t think for a moment that you’ll be getting a regular driving instructor to teach you. Oh, no. Showing you the ropes will be none other than Malaysian rally legend Karamjit Singh.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 10
From left: Suhaimi Md Ali, Admi Shahrul, Karamjit Singh, Kenneth Koh

The rest of the roster is nothing to sniff at, either, and includes chief instructor and racer Admi Shahrul, reigning Malaysian Rally 2WD champion Kenneth Koh and Proton test driver Suhaimi Md Ali. The programme was designed with the input of head of R3 and pro drifter Tengku Djan Ley, who oversaw the event.

A quick breakfast later and we were shuffled into a room for a short briefing by Tengku Djan and Admi on the activities we were about to do, with Admi stressing the importance of a good driving position for safer driving – sitting close enough to depress the brake pedal fully without having to shift your body forward and with the elbows bent at a 90-degree angle to prevent fractures in an accident.

After a demonstration of said position (with Karamjit bravely volunteering as a model), we were sorted into four groups, each taking up one of the four tests at one time. And just like that, we were on our way.

The first activity for my group was a threshold braking test, which involved braking from a high speed without locking up. This sounded easy until I realised that the Suprima used in this test had its ABS disabled, and the patch of dirt strewn over the braking area made the wheels even more prone to seizing up.

We hopped into the car with Kenneth, the instructor for this test, who gave us a run through the test. Then, he shifted to the passenger’s seat and we each had two runs to learn and master the technique.

My first run didn’t go so well – my overeagerness with the brakes caused me to slide straight through the dirt. Had there been an obstacle to avoid right there and then, without any steering ability whatsoever, I would’ve been little more than a passenger.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 15

Kenneth told me to ease off the brakes slightly as soon as I could hear and feel the wheels starting to lock up and slide, and adjust the braking force when the wheels started rotating again to keep the tyres just at the limit of grip, which is when the brakes are at their most effective. This I did the next time around and it worked like a charm, the Suprima slowing down quickly in a controlled manner.

With that done, we headed over to the next activity – a test of understeer and oversteer control – which took place on a slalom track. This time, it was Karamjit who was to guide us, and after the customary run through in another Suprima (with the 52-year-old demonstrating exactly why he was nicknamed “The Flying Sikh” through smooth and precise steering inputs) it was again our turn to take the tiller.

This was a test that I personally struggled with – instead of Karamjit’s quick flicks of the wrist, I was frantically twirling the wheel one way, then the other through the slalom. This caused the car to understeer, and meant that I couldn’t negotiate the course very quickly. Eventually, I did manage to pick up some speed, and then Karamjit pulled the handbrake.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 26

This caused the car to snap violently sideways, and although I had seen him done the same with other people who had gone before me, I panicked, swung the wheel the other way and slammed on the brakes. Predictably, all that did was drag the still sideways car straight towards the kerb, the front end only biting onto the tarmac and turning after I realised what I was doing and released the brakes.

Karamjit did not look pleased. I apologised profusely.

Determined not to make a bigger fool of myself than I already did, I came back around and this time, after the handbrake was pulled again, I simply eased off the throttle while counter-steering as just as Karamjit instructed me to, and watched as the tail tucked back in line. After another round, we came back to a stop, and I asked him how I did.

Apparently I had been turning the wheel way too much to negotiate the small turns of the slalom, and Karamjit said that although I didn’t do too badly initially, my performance actually worsened progressively as I tried to go faster. Humbled (and fairly embarrassed of my dismal performance), I thanked him and stepped out of the car.

His words were still fresh on my mind when it came to the next test, with Suhaimi as the instructor. This was also done on a slalom course, but the wider spaces between the cones allowed him to teach a very important component of performance driving – cornering lines. And this time, we’d have a go in a manual (yes, really) Satria Neo R3.

Specifically, we were taught the “slow in, fast out” approach, doing all the braking in a straight line on the outside of the corner before turning in. By moving to the inside of the corner slightly later, the car hits the apex of the turn on the way out of the corner instead of on the way in. With most of the turning effort done earlier, the car is much more settled on corner exit, allowing power to be applied sooner.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 30

Again, it sounded so simple, but I made a complete hash of it. I thought I had followed Suhaimi’s instructions to a tee, staying to the outside of the corner before turning in, but the front end just would not bite, so again I found myself turning and turning the steering wheel just to get around the cones.

The epiphany came at the end of my stint, when I asked him how to get the car to turn in with less input. His answer was simple: turn in earlier. It appeared that I had been taking his advice on turning in later too far and missed the apex completely. Oops.

With my seat time done, it seemed that I would not be able to put his advice into practice, but then our group finished up early, and Suhaimi asked if anyone wanted to have another go. I dropped everything and ran back into the driver’s seat.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 29

Throwing the Satria Neo around the cones a bit earlier this time, I was surprised at how much less steering input I had to put in for the car to change direction the way I wanted. Finally, I was able to drive through the course much quicker than I had ever been throughout this entire programme so far, goaded on by Suhaimi’s encouraging remarks.

After lunch, it was back behind the wheel for the fourth and final test, under the watchful eyes of Admi. This time, we had to undergo a brake avoidance test, which involved driving up at full speed towards a marshal, braking hard very late (with the ABS enabled, thankfully), at which point the marshal would raise a left or right flag indicating where we’d have to steer to avoid him. Suffice to say, this was not for the faint of heart.

The purpose of this test was two-fold – to showcase the ability of an ABS-equipped car to retain steering ability even under heavy braking, and also to test our reflexes and reactions. Getting into a Preve this time, Admi insisted that I keep the accelerator pinned until he explicitly told me to brake. Setting off at full throttle straight at the aforementioned marshal, I wasn’t sure if this was a good idea.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 37

The Preve’s 1.6 litre turbo engine roared incessantly, and at one point I could’ve sworn I saw the speedometer needle swing past 100 km/h. But still Admi told me to keep going. The marshal was getting uncomfortably close; surely it was time to hit the brakes.

Finally, Admi gave the instruction, and I slammed on the brakes. The marshal swung up his right flag, so I flicked the steering wheel left, then right, grinding to a stop next to him. A sigh of relief left my lips.

Admi said I lifted off the brakes slightly while waiting for the marshal to indicate where to steer, so the next time around I made sure I left no air under the brake pedal. Unfortunately, while doing so I completely forgot to wait for the marshal’s signal, instead steering immediately in the direction I had taken earlier. Just when I realised what I did wrong, the marshal raised a flag in the opposite direction. Uh oh.

Still, Admi did say I braked very quickly after he instructed me to, so I guess it wasn’t all that bad.

With the skies starting to open up, we figured it was time to head home, but the instructors had other ideas. Instead, we were pitted against each other in a no-holds-barred time attack session in an ABS-equipped Suprima that combined all the tests together in a single, highly technical course.

Starting with the tighter slalom course, we would then cross over to a more spaced-out series of left-right-left gates, then attempt the brake avoidance test. Once we’d come to a complete stop, we would set off again, heading around to the threshold braking area, where we’d have to stop within a marked-out box. Three-second penalty for hitting a cone or missing a gate, five for stopping outside the braking area.

My run took place when the rain was already starting to build up. Despite the treacherous conditions, the Suprima’s stable, balanced and predictable handling shone through, taking on the course with aplomb. I also felt that I had driven much better, and felt confident that I was going to set a decent time, right up until I finished my run and Admi told me that I had missed a gate.

Proton R3 Driving Experience 46

In the end, I came in 15th. That didn’t look so bad considering that there were about 40 other participants, but then I realised that quite a lot of them were driving in even worse conditions and I sank back into my seat. Then again, without the skills that I have learnt from these revered instructors, I would have probably fared much, much worse.

So, should you join this course? You definitely should, especially if you have never done such a programme before. The tips and tricks taught here are invaluable and will make you a better driver not only on the track, but also on the open road. The fact that it’s so affordable relative to other courses only seals the deal. And if you’re left wanting more, don’t fret – more advanced courses are currently in the pipeline.

If you do want to take this programme on, better hurry – the next event is happening from June 21 to 22. To register or to learn more about the Proton R3 Motorsport Driving Experience, email [email protected] or call 03-80269400 or 03-80745888.

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Albert Lee on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:00 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 203
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Your capitalizations are ANNOYING and UNNECESSARY.

Anyway, this is their R3 division which has little to do with their new model launching department. You can’t really see what a company is doing by looking at these sorts of activities they organize. Audi and BMW do offer these sorts of courses as well whilst they’re aggressively launching new models. In BMW’s case, new variants and spin-offs.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 94 Thumb down 20
      • Haha… bmw again. Memang sah orang proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 93
        • Obviously (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 1:44 am

You cannot sah anything. I don’t own a Proton and I certainly am not working for them or the auto-industry, much to my chagrin.

I brought up BMW because lately BMW posts have been popping up like wild mushrooms after a rainstorm on paultan.org so the material is still fresh in my mind. Their newer cars aren’t all that radically different (especially in styling) from their other cars yet they can call it a new model.

Also brought up BMW (along with Audi) because they’ve been known to hold these sorts of driving courses in Malaysia as well. I don’t know if Perodua, Toyota, Honda, Nissan, Ford, Chevrolet, Mitsubishi, Renault, Mazda, Subaru, Isuzu, Citroen, etc hold these courses too, so if you know anything about that, please let me know.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 4
        • Obviously (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 1:48 am

Oh yeah, I just remembered that Peugeot is offering a defensive driving course. Worth checking out. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 2
          • No one with right mind will associate lousy & ailing brand with bmw. Only proton staff does that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 75
          • Obviously (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 8:48 pm

I do not know what to say to you. Your comprehension is way off the mark, the assumptions you made do not have strong basis and you are horrendously biased.

I’m sorry for saying this but that’s not how mature adults reason. This doesn’t have to be a logic class. You can say “proton staff” all you want but you have no proof (btw, this statement in itself is not and cannot be considered proof) and the point you’re trying to make is quite moot. It’s different, though, if you have actual points to contribute to the topic at hand. My defense of Proton was made not because of any affiliation with Proton but because I felt the need to counter the ill-informed comment at the top.

I’d like for these comment sections to be more informative than filled with flaming, bashing, piss and other undesirable stuff (hurts my brain reading some of these things) but it’ll take effort from every commenter to make it a reality. YOU can make a difference. Every single one of you.

Thanks for reading this long-winded post and sorry for diverting from the topic.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 54 Thumb down 4
          • I know my postings have given headace to proton that has tried different ways to counter me. Seriously no one except proton putting proton and bmw in one sentence. Asia’s bmw?…. hahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 51
        • Fred.Lam on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Looks like you got something against Proton. I don’t know what it is. But how is that associated with BMW at all? I don’t understand.

• maybe this ioma person worked with proton, and somehow did not excel in his work and did something awful and get fired from proton.. that’s why he is so hateful with them.. good speculation ?

• Albert Lee on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:17 am

Your excellency Obviously,
        my CAPITALISATIONS are meant to wake up tired eyes.If it annoys you,kindly go elsewhere and read.
        If you own Protong,and you are losing rm500 JUTA a year,do you have the time and energy to focus on all these R3 activities?Only fools with plenty of spare cash will do it.
        The Founder Chairman said Protong will need collaborations with other car makers fast(newer engines,rebadge)and focus on exports.
        Special driving courses,of course are welcome BUT Protong simply cannot afford to wait.Look at its May 2014 sales,it took another dive even with Raya round the corner.Protong diehards can get mad and emotional at me,but the facts is PROTONG IS ON CRITICAL LIFE SUPPORT like racing legend MIchael Shumacher.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 24
        • Obviously (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:19 pm

I totally agree with you about Proton being on critical life support. No one can deny that their market share is shrinking and pretty soon their grapes will become raisins.

But the R3 department isn’t Proton’s focus in any way. For all you know, the Tengku guy just got together with the rest of R3 and thought that this was a way Proton can get further publicity and trust in addition to being a public service. What else can the R3 do? They’re a tuning arm. They don’t make new vehicles, they modify the brand’s existing lineup. This could be an effort by the R3 department to help with their current crisis and if you think that’s not what their tuning arm should be doing, then that’s your opinion. But I just think that it isn’t fair to say that Proton is losing focus just because their tuning arm organised this event that people have to pay for. It doesn’t really take much of their corporate resources to organize the event. All they need are some test drive cars from some dealership, their facebook page and telephones for communication and rent out the place. The R3 team will do all the work.

We can all bash and defend Proton but let’s try not to lose our logic and reason along the way. I have no strong feelings about Proton, unlike many of the Proton haters and Proton fanboys here. There is no point. Proton will do what they do regardless, especially now with Dr. M at the helm. The people will decide whether to buy their cars or not. I was at that point of time not too long ago. I chose not to.

• Halleluyah on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:31 pm

I totally disagree with your statement, for racing kaki or rempits? Majority of drivers do not understand their own driving capabilities and so does their car.(ask yourself a question, how many drivers can recover from an over steer *including aquaplaning) This exercise actually let you experience the edge of control. By learning how to take corner lines, control during understeer and oversteer, you may survive or even avoided crashing into something. This programme is provided by “R3” by the way. read it up there.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 95 Thumb down 8
      • Fred.Lam on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:41 pm

You sir, deserve a potato. I don’t see why people need to come up with stereotypical statement that refers to absolute nothing. I am a professional in my own prefession and I own a satria with complete R3 set. Does that make me a rempit?

• Maximum Stupidity on Jun 08, 2014 at 6:18 am

bodoh u think only Proton do Advanced Driving Course?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 3
    • meeting on Jun 08, 2014 at 6:49 am

This is FOCUS. Showing customer what the car can do. So customer would appreciate the car more. Similar to Bmw fuhrer training, Porsche driving and MB driving experience. Google a bit please, showing off your lacking in knowledge?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 5
      • kokatoa on Jun 08, 2014 at 1:04 pm

You might wanna know the difference between “fahrer” and “fuehrer” – the former is “driver” in German, the other has much…darker connotations.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Fred.Lam on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:01 pm

Typical flamers. Lighting up their torches everywhere. And yes Mr. Meeting try googling up fuhrer. You’d be surprised.

• Afiq Azri on Jun 08, 2014 at 8:58 am

Its defensive driving dude. Main purpose is to let you know how to fully control car in case of accident. That’s all. Nothing related to satisfy excitement of racing kaki and rempit.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • armandd on Jun 08, 2014 at 9:46 am

Do you even read the article until the end? It’s not for kaki rempit lah bro, it’s about driving techniques that can save you and your passenger’s life in an accident. Don’t be so ignorant.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
  • AVH (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:40 pm

Or in the language if paultan commentistan, ‘the proton smoking Vios experience’ ,course includes how to avoid out of control skidding Vios on the highway.

Moving on, I would love to try it if it’s a manual-equipped Suprima, CVT…..not so much. The Satria R3 is awesome thou, can’t believe it still exist. Personally, it’s good to know some of this skill, any additional driving skill is good to sharpen your senses. But I believe that good driving comes from the knowledge of knowing your car to the very last bit, how good the brakes are, how good is the grip in the wet , if I could bring either my Saga or City to the track and supervised by a professional, that woul be the ultimate experience.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 2
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:14 pm

CVT or not, it sounds like a good experience. Quite a few vehicles out on Malaysian roads still do not have ABS and for them whose usual instincts when faced with an emergency braking situation is to slam the brakes real hard, should attend courses like these to learn how to threshold brake. Skidding tires = bad. Threshold braking means to brake really hard without seizing up your tires. Other than that, it sounds like fun to throw a car around a slalom as fast as you can.

Dang, I love their jobs.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
      • AVH (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 12:58 am

I always believe knowing your car limit is the key to safe driving. No its limit and never beyond. I remember back when I still had the P stickers on the Saga, slam the brakes and the wheel locked up on LDP, coming down the ramp towards the Kelana Jaya station, wasn’t a plesent experience. instict told me to shift down gears and off the clutch, and the traction regained. On non-ABS car if its a manual, I find its best to use the gear to coax the car along with the brake. The Saga also has substential body roll compared to more modern(and advance) car like a City. So I understand that a corner can’t be entered as fast as a City. But the City dosen’t have the responds of a purely machanical Saga, the Saga thou low on power, responds to throttle changes better…..

Anyways, I believe good drivers spawn from people knowing the car and trusting them in the things they do. Courses like this help people to know their car better. But I want one that thay actually use your own car. If Today I join this and drive the suprima/Preve, I understand the capability of the Proton but applied to the Honda, it will never work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Obviously (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Heh, you can always tune the throttle response on your City, if you’re into that kind of thing. Don’t know what adverse effects that would yield but that’s one of the benefits of these more electronic cars: you can customize their response (engine, throttle, transmission) with the right tools and know-how. Not that anyone should be messing around with it too much…

But I agree with what you said. The more familiar you are with your car, the more you know what you should and should not do with it. That, however, assumes you are not inclined to do stupid, daring stunts with your car.

• Orzie on Jun 07, 2014 at 8:48 pm

Good, training makes perfect.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 2
  • You worry more about your quality than drivers skill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 46
    • Sorry but even if the god car Vios/Dugong has ultimate leather seats and gear knob and stuff, nothing will stop an out of control Vios/Dugong from crashing… Oh wait, the badge will. Sorry again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
    • Which of these might cost you, your life or limbs? Poor quality or poor driving skills, ioma=amoi=p2 salesman?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • Whole day with r3 guys?so when new r3 suprima/preve will be out?cmon,share with us some gossips :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 3
    • Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:44 pm

Sorry, tried as I might, they wouldn’t budge. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
      • AVH (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 11:10 pm

I remembered there was this Proton Restoration My Proton makeover contest where R3 manage to restore an old 1990 Proton Saga to an absolute beauty.

http://paultan.org/2011/09/14/my-proton-makeover-1992-saga-handed-back-to-fadly/

I wonder do they actually offered that as part of their service. I really want to restore my beloved Saga.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 07, 2014 at 10:57 pm

I wish it becomes compulsory before geting a driving licence…. I think going tro dis experience makes u love ur car even more….lots of fun!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • tokmoh (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 1:06 am

Harga advanced driver’s course turun, syukur…

Brb, wanna write love letter to kerajaan, must puji beribu ribu taniah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
  • danedz on Jun 08, 2014 at 1:47 am

Paul…do they provide any cert after the course complete?

• Jonathan Lee (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 12:53 pm

They do, it even comes in a frame. That reminds me – I need to put mine up. :)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • FarizY (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 8:07 am

Nice, very interesting indeed.

• I would not want to be in the position of the marshal that is doing the flag..

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 1:51 pm

Well approve driving training. .

Can’t sell the cars.. why not do some social service…RM800++. . Huhuhu.. not bad..

Hehehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • this car has a funny shape and design and the headlights (the preve too) look odd too and the DRL design looks like an ah beng after market addition.

no wonder, i don’t see any suprimas on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 08, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I thought Im the only one looking for Suprima S. .

Why not you buy it.. more will be on the road. . Please support. . Malu lah global car but rare on the road of it’s origin country.

Hehehe. .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 13
      • But make sure u buy a backup car because that sups is going to spent a very long time in service ctr.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 14
  • Train with Proton Suprima S first after that sell it and buy BMW M3!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
  • botol on Jun 08, 2014 at 3:59 pm

U got to be flying singh or drifting prince to throw around the car like that and have fun. At the end of the day they all go home and drive more superior cars that most of us cannot afford anyway. So it creates that disillusion at the expense of normal people like most of us that we are lucky to get a proton capable of all this handling and dynamics and that the reason we dont appreciate it is because we dont know how to drive. Most proton owners have genuine issues that proton hasnt addressed… Engine dying in the middle of a turn, engine cannot shut off, brakes that dont bite and all kinds of parts defects and failures that everyday owners have ti face…. Why dont R3 teach owners how to catch their cars when the engine dies off suddenly in a turn rather than trowing the cars around on dirt…. To me this whoe huu haaa is just a distraction from what proton really is.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
    • Battu on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:10 am

Whaa?? give me an example of case where a proton engine dying in the middle of a corner? u talk pure rubbish.
      this program is not for proton owner only, it open to all, that want to learn about defensive driving skills. u have more chances of loosing control at corner instead of engine dying.
      and seriously, dont just read the headline and straight away being a warrior at comment section

• Samad Jain on Jun 08, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Botol, you are right.

I guess that is called “smoke and mirrors”, to distract consumers from the pressing issues.

Malaysian politicians are good with it. Proton has learnt much from them.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 10
  • Akule_sapelagi on Jun 08, 2014 at 9:46 pm

Defensive driving course is good for driver. You will gain a lot of safety driving skill / knowledge. You will appreciate it.

• subtle silver on Jun 08, 2014 at 10:10 pm

Seems like a decent program, but given the cars and the venue, the value seems low! For comparison, I paid $295 SG/bout RM760 for a very similar program in PASIR GUDANG.. the big difference was it was driving Mini’s, with CooperS & even a JCW track drive thrown in!

I applaud Proton/R3 for the effort, but there is so much more that can be done if they want to execute their strategy of owning grassroots racing..

• Whitefox on Jun 08, 2014 at 10:50 pm

i sure want join this course if have extra $$$$

• zaaer on Jun 09, 2014 at 3:24 am

One can never please everyone.

• The underwear is not selling well….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 8
    • NissanLovesUnderwear on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:07 am

Wrong post bro? The nissan thread is that way. This here is the protong circlejerk.

• gaviny on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:22 am

from driving to work this morning thye need to teach

1. use indicators for changing lanes
    2. don’t overtake on the left
    3. get off the bloody phone
    4. keep left at traffic lights if turning left and same if turning right, not the other way round
    5. check goddamn mirrors before switching lanes

• mim (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:24 am

That’s called JPJ driving test. This is advanced driving. Go re-sit the test if you can’t even master that.

• Jason on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:28 am

I will buy the suprima if it was launch earlier. Too bad they launch it so late. Bought a Preve instead.

• Maybe you should consider Toyota vios and Honda city?

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:06 am

Wow..i must say you guys have really done it.

Without fail it always ends up as a flame war about the ineptness of Proton/brilliance of the rest regardless of manufacturer.(I once saw that even in a lubricant/accessory post put up by paultan! How that even happened is a mystery but needs applause)

Kudos to those who stay on topic. I don’t see any sort of negatives of being part of this course. Its nice to see more and more manufacturers providing us with an avenue to sharpen our defensive driving and the cost has finally dipped below the 1000 mark. We don’t have enough such programs at an affordable price.

The quality of driving on roads are at an all time low so we need more of this until the driving syllabus and governance has been examined(which probably wont happen)

• panjang on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:07 am

would love to join if i have the extra cash reserve.

i think course similar to these should be thought to the masses as part of new driver curriculum.makes the road a safer place.
    everyone can drive a car,not many can handle a car esp when it matter.

• Cikgu on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:22 am

Bnyk betol condemn proton. Yg support kurang, yg underestimate, mencemuh, menghina, punyaaa la bnyk,x phm aku. Ataupun diorg ni ada sentimen proton hater sbb keter proton asyik rebadge, kualiti teruk dan sebagainya? Apa daa, igt senang ke nak buat keter? Klau x suka proton buat program cenggini, diam2 sudah, jgn bnyk bunyik. Dont talk rubbish too much ok. Papepun diharap proton punye program akan brtmbah rmai peserta lepas ni. Sekian dari cikgu exstudent car designer yg pkai keter lancer cedia manual. X puas ati jom race.

• GO GO PROTON!!!!!To Proton Haters like Albert Lee,be proud of Proton,it is th National Carmaker.You are a Malaysian!!!!!!!!You know what,next year,2015!!!!!!!!YOU SEE,you will love Proton very much and you will hate foreign car maker

• Coach on Feb 15, 2015 at 10:14 pm

Traditional driver-training programs that aim to improve vehicle-handling skills, including manoeuvring exercises and skid training, have tended to be relatively ineffective in reducing crashes. In fact, the introduction of skid training into driver-training programs has been found to increase certain crash types for young drivers. This has been attributed to associated increases in confidence that resulted in greater risk-taking. Rather than focusing on physical skills, insight training focuses on attitudinal-motivational skills. The aim is to raise drivers’ awareness of factors that contribute to crashes and potential risks when driving… Overall [the insight training] program did not inflate the confidence of the young drivers, as found to be true of other driver-training programs… Overall, the insight-training program resulted in important road safety messages being relayed and adopted in a relatively short time period. Researchers and others involved in the field of road safety should consider the potential benefits of insight training… (Senserrick & Swinburne, 2001)

• Coach on Feb 15, 2015 at 10:15 pm

“Traditional driver-training programs that aim to improve vehicle-handling skills, including maneuvering exercises and skid training, have tended to be relatively ineffective in reducing crashes. In fact, the introduction of skid training into driver-training programs has been found to increase certain crash types for young drivers. This has been attributed to associated increases in confidence that resulted in greater risk-taking…”

T.M. Senserrick & G.C. Swinburne (Monash Univ., Australia) 2001