AAA asks for 60% VLT front windscreens to be legal

tint-windscreen-vlt

The Auto Audio, Accessories and Air-Condition Traders Association of Malaysia (AAA) has urged the government to reduce the legal minimum Visible Light Transmission level (VLT) for the front windscreen of a vehicle from the current 70% to 60%, Bernama reports.

AAA exco member James Goh claimed that some passenger cars like the Proton Saga already have a front windscreen VLT of 72% before tinting, which effectively means no (more) windscreen tinting can be legally done.

“The issue here is not about fixing darker tint for front windshields but there are cars which have 72% VLT even before tinting and this has created problems to customers to have their cars tinted.

“Eventually, additional tinting works for cars which have VLT of 72% even before tinting will reduce VLT level and thus violate the minimum 70% VLT set by the government for front passenger car windshields. The value of VLT decreases as the tint darkens,” Bernama quoted him as saying.

740105807_161256226255813975

New legal tint levels recently proposed by JPJ

Goh also suggested that the legal VLT of the side windows and rear screen be fixed at more than 40% as, he said, tints of below 35% VLT would make it difficult for authorities to carry out their enforcement duties.

“For instance, they cannot see if the driver is wearing the safety belt or not,” he said, adding that all VLT-testing devices should be uniformed and streamlined to ensure vehicle tints were within the legal limit.

The AAA will submit a memorandum to the Transport ministry on Tuesday on the requests made, said Goh.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• This fella who is lobbying for the Govn to disallow darker tints for rear windows is a jerk!

How out asking him to pay for all the costs to change original tints on JDM imports to clear glass?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 15
    • Black Dog on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:48 pm

He’s totally talking to his own self interest.

Reduce VLT for front windscreen so that Saga owners can add tint on the front and increase VLT for rear so that JDM cars are force to change their tints.

What a f**king jerk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • Merino on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:39 pm

agreed. whos gonna change my back alphard winscreen?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
  • I don’t know about VLT or stuff, but seems to me that the new tint levels suggested is there for the cars of VVIPs….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Again how consulted the rakyat in these matter. Your tax money at work.

AAA does not represent the rakyat. They obviously represents the tinting industry and their pocket.

Many people will have different view on tinting. For me, I think 25% for the back is unacceptable. Knowing that I’ll be able to see to the next car in front and anticipate any sudden changes in speed and hard braking is essential. With 25%, I doubt that many could still do this.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 15
    • Yeah.. absolute agree.. freaking annoying when we driving behind those dark tinted cars.. totally affect our front vision.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 16
      • Black Dog on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:41 pm

So u’re one of those fricking tailgaters? U can’t see in front if u’re close to SUV & MPV too.

Keep a safe distance

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 21
        • Car-Fans on Jun 09, 2014 at 2:01 pm

Sometime is really dangerous following those car with rear too dark tinted … We really unable to see further … this will increase the risk of those driver from behind … especially following those heavy dark tinted car. Some even worst with those huge soft toys and cushion/pillow behind !!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 7
          • It is not an issue if you do not tailgate heavily tinted cars and do not speed.

You should just go back to driving school.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 16
        • Francis on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:07 pm

I always see “penetrate” through the car windows infront of me. it allows me to be ready if the car ahead of infront of me brakes thus giving me sufficient readiness to react to avoid any collision.

• Great. Being able to see the next car == tailgating.

Obviously, no one else had this problem other than the ones that follow the previous rule of 50% tinting at the back.

By that rational, I could also presume that people accusing of tail gating has:
          1) Never been in a back to back stop and go traffic where accident sky rocket.
          2) See 1) but add heavy rain.
          3) Has adaptive cruise control.
          4) Drives a tall car where 25% tinting on a sedan is a non-issue.

No one says anything about tailgating. Stop making personal attack and debate the issue. If you don’t like the sentiment, fine. Make your point and be nice to others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 5
      • mim (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:13 pm

I wonder if you are annoyed if you drive behind a Hilux lol. Therefore dark tints is ok. Tailgating is not.

Take that JPJ book again and read about the 2 seconds rule

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Same L0r on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:34 pm

You should keep distance from the car in front of you, not the car in front of the car in front of you.

People tend to keep larger distance behind lorry, truck, pick up truck, bus where they don’t have any visibility of the vehicle in front of these big size vehicles. It is safer for everyone!

If 0% visibility can make the driver keep a larger distance behind me and everyone, I will opt for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
      • Try driving during traffic jam on a highway, ON the right lane. You will definitely require to see not only the car in front of you, but also the car in front of the car in front of you.
        With very dark tint, you will definitely have hard time anticipating what happening in front of the car in front of you even when you drive at 60kmh. Without knowing what happen in front of you, 2 second will not be enough to react in case of emergency brake…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
        • Bentlow on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:18 pm

So I guess you are NOT QUALIFY to drive a car with a bus, lorry or truck infront of you la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
          • Bodoh on Jun 11, 2014 at 7:39 pm

U on the other hand are NOT QUALIFY to drive ANY vehicle…

• It is annoying to drive behind busses, lorries or trucks without knowing what’s going on in front of them, especially when they’re moving on the right lane.

If somehow those big vehicle make emergency brake, there will not be enough time to react to the situation.. And you know what, some of these vehicle don’t even have functioning brake lamp, which worsen the situation..

Let say you use 5 second rule, which theoretically giving you a 2-car distance between you and the vehicle in front of you, you what what will happen next? Some bugger from the other lane will simply cut into your lane.. This is real scenario in this country…

Whatever it is, not being able to see in front of the vehicle is annoying…

BTW, none of these busses, trucks or lorries are allowed to move on the fast last in a 3 or more lane highway.

• “The issue here is not about fixing darker tint for front windshields but there are cars which have 72% VLT even before tinting and this has created problems to customers to have their cars tinted.

I don’t understand! This should be good to customer as we don’t have to pay more for tinted. ie without front windshield.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
    • so if the law says max permissible VLT is 70%, the owner need to remove factory fitted tint. I don’t even know if that’s possible at normal tint shop, plus costs associated with that…

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:54 am

Agreed. Especially taking into consideration factory tints might have low IRR, so the heat rejection should still be dealt with using aftermarket tint. Such may be the case for saga. Although it does look tinted out of factory, it gets way too hot when baked under the sun.

• geekfiredog on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:36 pm

there is no “tint film” to be removed. The windscreen glass itself is made to block upto 28% of lights. So if you add another layer of tint (let say with > 90% IRR and 90% VLT – if it is available), it is going to block another 10% of lights, effectively only ~ 65% (72% – 7.2%) of lights through, lower than the 70% limits.

• VLT vs tint darkness on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:29 pm

Err, the 65% you calculated is already below the legal limit of 70% VLT. That’s why the AAA guy is proposing 60% VLT.
          Perhaps you’re confused between VLT and tint darkness. Remember that 60% visible light transmitted equals to 40% tint level darkness

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:41 am

You WANT to tint windshield the most, reduce a lot of heat and glare.

• @gt4

that kinda proton factory glass tint is a simple dye to make it darker

the issue here is we want the IR/UV rejection properties of tint film but cannot put it bcos proton sibuk only put simple dye

• mim (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:19 pm

On the Saga maybe. Preve/Suprima/Inspira all use highend Ecotint Raybarriers which costs more than the windshield

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 09, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Owh I didn’t know preve comes standard with ecotint raybarrier. That’s quite tempting lol

• Simple

70% VLT means no business for windscreen tinting.

25% rear windows VLT means all the reconditioned cars are legalized thus no business for assesories shop to replace the original dark windows.

These new regulations will kill the industry.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 5
    • james on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:44 am

the rule of 70% for the front has been around for a very long time.

So it will not suddenly cripple the industry

I believe keeping the front windscreen at 70% is good as there are too many people with too dark tints.

i think for the front two side windows at 50% is fine..

however, the rear windows should be around 25% VLT and the rear maybe 40%.

• geekfiredog on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:42 pm

I think the only tint film that meet this requirement is from VKool Elite (73.2% VLT), that’s provided that you windscreen is clear (with 100% or almost 100% VLT). Other than that, I just don’t know any combinations can meet JPJ’s requirement.

• mim (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:29 pm

Ecotint Raybarriers on highend Protons have 80% VLT, very cool however it is damn expensive, more than the windshield itself lol

• geekfiredog on Jun 09, 2014 at 2:31 pm

From Ecotint homepage, the highest VLT from Ecotint is only 65% from Ray Barrier Suncare

http://www.ecotint.com/p_automotive-solar.html

• mim (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:32 pm

The one used by Proton is Raybarrier 80, it’s an OEM-type commercial tint designed for buildings. You can only get it by buying Protons or claiming warranty from Ecotint through Proton. I don’t know if any shop sells it.

• MenteriPening on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:30 am

With this proposal, we can effectively conclude that rear seatbelts now turn ‘optional'(goooood!) But hey, can you ever trust Hishamudin Husin?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • mim (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:31 pm

It’s never good to not wearing rear seatbelts. I hope your family members won’t fly through the windscreen if anything happens

• terry on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:37 am

72% VLT on Proton Saga windscreen does not automatically translate to blocking appropriate UVA/UVB/Heat, merely visibility.

• heybadigol on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:42 am

If the Saga already comes with front windscreen tint, then dont put there anymore lah. Problem solved. Cheap solution for car buyer. Or remove the OEM tint, then put better (more heat/UV protection) tint with legal VLT. There will still be buyers who buy tint not for VLT, but for security, or for heat/UV rejection.

• geekfiredog on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:49 pm

you don’t get the point, there is no OEM tint – the windscreen glass itself is not 100% transparent, it only allow 72% of light transmit through. You can’t “increase” the original VLT by removing something from the windscreen, unless you replace the whole windscreen with higher VLT rate.

• Jebonr on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:08 pm

That will help cool down the dashboard.

• mustafa on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:10 pm

I agree that all VLT testing device should be standardised and be regulated by an independent body. All tinting shop should have this device, and they need to prove to the customer that what ever tinting that the carry out to the customer car is within the legal limit.

• KL choy on Jun 09, 2014 at 12:24 pm

I totally agree with AAA. for me, my main criteria to reduce UV and heat trasmission to the interior of the car is essential with malaysian weather.Even my existing screen with the lightist tint, will not pass JPJ.Standard VLT device and calibrated to ensure accuracy of reading.

• mim (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:21 pm

Haiyaaa i can see most Msian still have this misconception: lower VLT=cooler. It doesn’t work that way la *facepalm*

• Gerald Wu on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:31 pm

Why our Malaysian Police force are so stupid. Very simple only during road blocks all drivers are required to wind down all the windows. We Malaysians need dark tinted glass because nowadays the weather is getting hotter and hotter. Al-Nino has started.By having dark tint it will help to reduce C02, fuel and skin cancer.

• gutierrez on Jun 09, 2014 at 2:29 pm

say what now? fuel? co2?…… could I have some of yr koolaid?

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 09, 2014 at 3:51 pm

1. Fuel? less use of aircond so yea probable
      2. CO2? Not really sure how if even possible..
      3. Risks of skin cancer can be reduced by using UV-protective tints that aren’t necessarily dark at all.

• smokey on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:33 pm

yes please make the rear windows to have higher visibility…
    if 25% VLT is approved, imagine the vehicle fetching criminals or abducted victim and u cannot see them..
    not sure whats the fuss of you all of having higher VLT unless you have things to hide

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 09, 2014 at 3:56 pm

First of all, we would prefer LOWER VLT, not higher. Second of all, with darker tints the first few things that come straight to my mind are:
      1. It may reduce sunlight, glare & heat
      2.natch, break & theft cases can be alleviated, if not avoided when they can’t see inside the cars

• Sam Loo (Ori) on Jun 09, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Only UMW Toyota tints will pass Puspakom inspection

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 9
  • Hello kawan2…. ini satu lagi projek cetak duit lah. So who going to benefit most from this?

Always follow the money trail…….

• BigBossMan on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:29 pm

My ultimate point here is if most other countries(especially first world countries) allow dark tints to be used, why Malaysians find using it such a big problem???

For those of you who do not know, UV rays from sunlight actually causes skin cancer and is also harmful to the eye.

Isn’t health more important than everything else in life???

• Well, you can get those tints that provides security, UV and IR protection, better than those darker tints. Darker tints do not necessarily provides better protection, especially those el-cheapoo brand. Try use V-Kool, 3M vs some cap ayam brand…

• Francis on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:13 pm

If the wearing seatbelts are one of the concern that retain the windscreen at 70% VLT. Well, the Govt could consider having coloured seatbelt like Yellow or Red or etc.

http://i177.photobucket.com/albums/w207/s4playko/997%20GT3%20pics/gt3_yellowbelts.jpg

• Steve Kok on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:51 pm

JPJ around Northern region now busy having Tint operasi before the new tint regulations proposal comes to effect.

• ding dong here and there…. After July you’ll see… this tint issue will be forgotten.
    so much bullshit coming from all participating parties… sekejap macam ini sekejap macam itu…
    Authorities waste a lot of brain cells thinking about this stupid tint rules which never comes to a conclusion. And for a million years, they will still be talking about tints. Cos this is the only thing authorities can do and they never try to see the bigger picture.

• kelkatu on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:22 am

why people want the tinted so dark, want to hide their ugly face?, or they feel shame to drive cheap car, look at the ferrari/lamborghini car, always can see all inside.

• VLT vs tint darkness on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:35 pm

actually the want to pick their noses and don’t get caught at it =P

• Bansoon168 on Oct 03, 2014 at 9:34 pm

Front windscreen in most imported cars are tinted and VLT are close to 70% yet passengers still feel hot inside because of invisible heat wave.
    In our country we need to block off this UV and others, for comfy and reduce air cond usage and ultimately petrol bill.