Proton to change strategy from being maker of cheap cars to become world-class carmaker – Mahathir

proton-suprima-s-tun-dr-mahathir-9

Proton’s immediate plan will be to change its strategy from being a maker of cheap cars to become a world-standard carmaker, newly-appointed chairman Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has said, according to a Bernama report.

The former PM said Proton has always been labelled as a maker of cheap or poor-quality cars. “Now Proton wants to produce cars which are of world standard, but you have to pay a higher price. You can’t have a good car and pay a bad car price,” he told reporters.

He said that when the Proton Preve and Suprima S were introduced, people claimed they were too highly-priced for a Proton. “The next car of the same quality is RM120,000. You (consumers) want to have cheap cars, OK, Proton can produce cheap cars.

proton

“Proton has to make a living. If consumers want cheap cars Proton will make cheap cars, they run three miles and break down.”

Responding to a question if Proton has approached the Ministry of International Trade and Industry (MITI) and Petronas for any funds, Mahathir said it had never asked for funding.

Asked if he himself as Proton chairman would approach either for funding, Mahathir replied: “No way, because Proton is a private company now and it is able to make progress in research and development.”

IMG_4972

Mahathir also said the government was now encouraging importation of cars rather than encouraging local industries. “When you import cars, money flows out and you don’t get any technology from them,” he said.

Asked if Proton needs government help, he said former South Korean President Park Chung Hee, during his tenure, called up 12 individuals and told them they must go into industry, with him providing the loans and funds.

These companies, like Hyundai, LG and Daewoo, were private companies and their government fully helped them, and because of that today they do not need government help anymore, he added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Sam Boo on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:19 pm

Oh no!!! My remaining EPF…. my hard earn money…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 356 Thumb down 22
    • Same L0r on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:56 pm

There are 2 ways to survive in car industry:
      1. World class technology – Ferrari, McLaren etc.
      2. Mass production of reliable cars – Toyota, VW, Mercedes etc.

Does Proton has any of above?? Unfortunately NO!!

Why people want to buy your RM120k car while your Preve and Suprima S also tak laku (New Honda City appeared more than Suprima S on the road) ???

It is similar like you want to make Champagne but you don’t even know how to grow the grapes!

Proton 4S lifestyle:
      1. Sendiri Cakap
      2. Sendiri Syok
      3. Sentiasa Rosak
      4. Sales Carnival

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 679 Thumb down 65
      • world class maker? wahahahahahahahahaha…. so funny…. this statement makes my day crazy!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 200 Thumb down 39
        • Medical Doctor as Chairman? on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Since Proton has been sustained long by the Government using our tax payer’s money, can we find out how much the Proton’s Chairman Mahathir is being paid monthly?

Few hundred thousand ringgit?

Why has Proton appointed a medical doctor to run an automotive company? Should not we get an engineer with automotive technical knowledge to be the chairman of Proton and drive Proton to world class cars?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 270 Thumb down 30
          • fast5 on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:14 pm

He had been robbing Rakyat for 30 years now he want to rob more!!!!!!
            He’s not the saviour of proton… He’s will makes proton well hates by Rakyat even more….

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 202 Thumb down 28
          • Loafer on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:51 pm

TDM lacks entrepreneurial skills. Look at his roti business. So much losses but still wants to maintain world class prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 91 Thumb down 17
          • This doctor managed the country longer than any othaer PM. And he transformed this country more than any other PM.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 71 Thumb down 111
          • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:08 pm

the old man screwed it up before, and now he still wants to talk c__o__C___K..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 102 Thumb down 36
          • Doctors hv the passion to fix and heal.. I guest tats y they r using to him fix and revive proton.. Proton is improving but too slow where else their once competitors have gone to far ahead.. It would be nice to have a national car which is widely acclaimed world wide.. I think we should at least be optimistic .. Hope they plan properly this time around instead of wasting out on the countries tax payers money..

Ps they should fire all their designers.. And appoint talented and creative ppl

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 9
          • 30 Years Rakyat Suffer! on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:37 am

It is solely because of Mahathir that for 30 years, 30 million people in Malaysia suffer. Everybody’s biggest payment per month is their cars as we are paying overpriced cars.

You see, in the 80s or even in the early 90s, you can get a brand new Nissan 130Y or a Toyota Corolla for RM20,000. Now, the same car is RM139,000.

In truth, the past 30 years, car prices have come down a lot and have not gone up due to inflation. It has come down due to economies of scale. This is proven by the fact that you can get a brand new purely Japan made top spec Toyota Camry 2.5 with 9 airbags in the US for US$22,000. That is about RM60,000. The normal B segment car like the Almera is sold in the US for US$9,999. (RM30,000). Mind you, this is after Toyota and Nissan of the US has made their margin and profits and the US government has collected taxes and duties from Nissan and Toyota. The direct from factory prices is far cheaper. UMW will get the above 2.5 Camry for US$15,000 from their principal in Japan. As our Camry is CKD, the price is even lower than that.

So, in actual fact, most Malaysians can enjoy cheap and reasonable cars but because of Proton and Mahathir, all the other car prices have been raised up tremendously to protect Proton. Pro Proton pondans will say that even Proton pay duties and taxes but every Malaysian know that MITI has clearly instructed all other car brands to price their cars no less than RM20,000 higher gap than Proton to protect the dying Proton.

Now, Proton is committing suicide. You bring the person that ruined Proton. Now you want to sell RM120,000 cars. Already Perdana was a big failure. If not for Government departments buying Perdana, you won’t even see it on the road. You see Proton is actually a good concept. But when Mahathir created Proton, he made sure every single part of the Proton car is supplied by his crony buddies. And these crony buddies overcharge Proton by ten times whilst giving poor and inferior parts.

That is why your Proton always falls apart and everybody blames quality control. That is the reason also why Proton makes only RM500 per car that they sell. It is solely because of the crony vendors who are overcharging Proton. For example, per car Mat is soled to Proton for RM100 whilst you can buy the same car mat from Brothers for RM10.

So, now by bringing Mahathir in, he will just ensure that all the vendors for Proton remain the same. All his buddies and relatives. Proton will still get the same low inferior quality parts it has been getting for the past 30 years and it will still be overcharged by 10 times for each part the vendors supply.

Malaysians have already suffered so much. For 30 years, 30 million people suffer so much. We struggle paying for our high car prices all because of one man’s dream of benefiting his buddies and friends. Until Proton changes ALL their vendors, Proton will be a loss making organisation because it produces super low quality cars due to its vendors supplying Proton Super low Quality parts.

In the meantime, we Malaysians will suffer another 30 years with very high cars prices and very high car loans. The government also makes sure their GLC and government banks also get a free ride from the rakyat. Because cars are so expensive, every single Malaysian is forced to take 9 year loans from the banks to buy a car. And most banks are GLC or Government owned. All get a free ride. Ever wondered why only Proton gets high interest rates compared to other car brands? Isn’t Proton conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat?

In 1985, Proton was conceived to lessen the burden of the rakyat. That was the speech Mahathir gave on that launch day. If so, why do Proton cars get higher interest rates?

It looks like Proton is not to benefit the rakyat. Infact, besides making the rakyat suffer, Proton bleeds the rakyat. Every year, Proton gets hundreds of million of taxpayers money as form of research grants to keep the company afloat. Few months ago, Proton even asked the government to give them 2 billion ringgit. Government said no in a sandiwara show. But we know, they will get the money quietly.

Proton also cost us hundreds of billions in ringgit in investments from car companies who moved to Thailand and Indonesia. Car companies got fed up with Malaysia’s MITI for protecting Proton and telling other companies what to price their cars. They all moved their operations to Thailand making it the AutoCity of the world.

Recently GM announced that they rolled out already 1 million cars from Thailand. Imagine if GM was in Malaysia and we taxed GM RM10,000 per car. Calculate that with 1 million cars. Just from GM alone, we lost Billions in USD

Because of Mahathir and Proton, we lost hundreds of billion of ringgit in investment and trillions of ringgit from jobs lost. If Malaysia was the autocity of Asia, hundreds of thousands of jobs would have been created for Malaysians. We lost all that. Trillions.

Don’t forget also, every single PEKEMA member and AP holder is Mahathir’s family member, relative and good buddy.

Why give a top job to a person when government has not even sorted the AP issue yet?

Pro Proton pondans will say Proton is in private hands now. Well, dream on lah. Proton in reality is purely government covertly. That is why even in parliament, the ministers answer questions on behalf of Proton. The CEO of Proton should be answering questions on Proton but we all know the CEO is just a puppet put there by the government.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 207 Thumb down 17
          • Think again on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 152
          • Perodua Fans on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:50 pm

I don’t want to comment much about our dear formal PM or Proton. Just don’t give a shit to Proton, don’t you guys forget about the existence of Perodua who make cheap and good quality cars….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
          • pakamos on Jul 20, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Don’t be too closed minded. Open your mind a little bit lah ! Look at Air Asia, the CEO is Tony Fernandez; he is not and Air Craft Engineer but he has ran the busness successfully.

• GDrogon on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:03 pm

wuahahahahahahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 7
        • WeRnotSohai on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:57 am

Send this “quote” from Dr M to TOP GEAR show. Let Jeremy Clarkson verdict it !
          Hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 44 Thumb down 6
          • omgTM on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:54 am

Jeremy Clarkson will said :” Where the hell is this old dog come from, I don’t even know who is he. Rubbish is rubbish, even you produce a so called high class rubbish, it is still a rubbish! Bloody hell!”

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 8
          • rogaz on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:52 pm

Ha ha so intelligent people why are you here bashing Dr M and Proton, please produce a better car and a better nation. Malaysia is better than Thailand, Indonesia, Filipino or any other country around us so what why you hate so much. Go build your own country if here is not suitable for you. You be rich because of Malaysia be more appreciative not hatering.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 19
          • omgidiot on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Malaysia is better than Thailand and Indonesia. Agreed, but who make this happend? Definitely not an idiot like you (rogaz). Go back and continue beg for money from your fellow cronies and keep sucking cock!

• Md Shah on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:16 pm

Is there such a word as “hatering”? I think this is what UiTM and Mara teaches. No wonder education is going downhill.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 9
        • ngaitiaw on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:38 am

you all the ungrateful people’s, talk much than doing, condemn peoples more than helping, always see bad side than good one without giving any solutions to improved that..you only talk shit dude’s..if you want proton to improve go study and enter proton and make improvement not cincung2 here n there..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 88
        • CAMRY FROM THAI BRO, (30 YRS RAKYAT SUFFER)

• The former PM said Proton has always been labelled as a maker of cheap or poor-quality cars. “Cheap” in quality but not in price!!!!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 248 Thumb down 13
        • AnitSocial on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:52 am

Now want change to “expensive” and poor-quality

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 2
          • This old man talk like my dad or grandpa zaman…he forgotten this is 2014 now and young Malaysian are well educated and we’ll not obey or listen is something is wrong!! The game has changed, my dear..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 10
          • Technology – tak ade
            Design – tak ade
            Quality – tak ade
            Marketing – tak ade

How to success??? But our govt ade of $$$ to back them up

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
        • We want quality, reliable and better fuel consumption. if low quality high price then No Good. Quality&Reliable is the Main points that people want Protong to improve not that cheap car maker image. if they produce car that Reliable and decent FC than it is ok already. You can produce cheap car price if you share many components between platforms. you also need to see your manufacturing process which i think have many wastage.Produce 1 good platform (5 STAR safety) and just change exterior design. so no need to invest a big amount of money for R&D. just look at Volksw. protong market is middle income people mainly. if people want high price car they wont look protong. so change your quality & reliability image first then your FC. i wish they have a special forces who study on how to reduce manufacturing process cost and study design on how to increase sharing platforms components.

• Open Letter to Proton on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:35 pm

Actually for years, Proton has been making two types of cars. Local cars and Export cars.

The Export models, as many know, are so much higher in quality. Many in Malaysia managed to get their hands on the Satria that was Export quality in the 90s. My God, it was far superior to the Satria that was sold in Malaysia then. It even had a continental feel.

Now, even today, go overseas and see the current line of export models, they are so much higher in quality, build quality far better and much higher spec than the local Malaysian market models.

The big question is here, why can’t we Malaysians get this higher spec cars with much better build quality?

Why does Proton treat Malaysians like dirt and give us far lower quality cars for the local market? I went to the Proton showroom in the UK, test drove a few models and they felt superb. Felt as if I was driving a Renault or a Peugeot. The same models I drove in Malaysia, felt like trash and wobbly.

So again Proton, why give the rakyat of Malaysia trash? Are we subsidising the world buyers of Proton? It looks like we Malaysians are subsidising buyers in Australia and Europe by us Malaysians accepting substandard cars and the Mat Salleh get really good quality export model Protons.

Was not the whole idea of Proton’s inception in 1985 is to give the rakyat of Malaysia good quality cars at a cheap price?

Also, in Saudi countries, every single Proton model is sold for half the price from what it is sold in Malaysia. This does not seem fair to the rakyat of Malaysia. Malaysians pay double the price in Malaysia for lower quality cars and not like what the Arabs get, the Export model. Is this fair? Why are we subsidising rich Arabs who are super rich and have so much of money? If Proton is selling the whole range of cars in Saudi for half the price than what it is sold in Malaysia, it is pretty clear that Proton is probably making a margin and profit despite it being sold at half price in Arab.

So, why can’t we Malaysians benefit from half price Protons too? Again, was not the whole idea of Proton’s inception in 1985 is to give cheap cars to the rakyat of Malaysia so that we don’t have to depend on foreign car brands?

Proton owes Malaysians an explanation because Proton bleeds blood heavily and the government yearly spends hundreds of million of our LHDN money to sustain the company.

We Malaysians deserve cheaper Proton cars because indirectly, it is all our tax payers money that is being used to sustain and maintain Proton. Money that can be used to build countless of government hospitals and schools.

So, why are we sustaining a company that is dying and depriving Malaysians of newly built schools and hospitals? Just declare bankruptcy and lets use our LHDN money to build more schools and hospitals. Every year, we can build at least a 5 schools and 5 hospitals with the money Proton gets.

In 10 years, just because of losing Proton, we will lose 50 new schools and 50 new hospitals, all because we want to sustain Mahathir’s Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 636 Thumb down 19
        • Netsoft on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Please don’t forget excise duties and sales tax when you factor in prices for comparison purposes.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 8
        • Yeah! on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:03 pm

Well said!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
        • A likely story, my friend.

If indeed what you say about PROTON cars being of better quality overseas, then erm, why are the reviews I have read in Australia and in the UK EXACTLY the opposite of what you wrote?

Also, if they were continental in feel (and cheaper compared to actual continentals) AND of good quality, why didn’t they sell??

This is a classic case or arguing without facts. Just a PROTON basher having a day our as a keyboard warrior.

I don’t fancy PROTON either but I do try to be fair in making comments…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 53 Thumb down 121
          • Frank J on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:18 pm

Let me make a comment of yours. Proton’s car doesn’t have great sale in UK because of 2 things:-
            1. Service parts: Those are rare, mechanics doesn’t have the correct tools even most of the proton show room.
            2. Salary of the people, students over there purchase car by cash, and less than £2000 and you get a volvo S60 minus 2005 years.
            People who have proper job are able to afford a max 5 year loan new bmw 116 with around £300 a month payment with zero downpayment.

Out of those reasons, peugeot, citron and European cars, are easier to get and maintain. They even get better quality standard than our export version and get europian special price. With what “our” car can compare? :\

I do know that because of the 2 years study. They even sell a packet of biscuit for 20 pence (1rm) as per normal in ASDA.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 3
          • noname on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:16 pm

I miss ASDA muffins!!! lol.

• CL Lok on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Ironically, the better quality Export models are still treated as cheap and lousy cars overseas. They are using our overpriced car’s money to subsidise a pointless effort to persuade the Westerners to buy Proton.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
        • You’re implying that Proton CAN built cars that can rival the other established name you mentioned. Bravo…they have the technology, they have the capability. So what’s stopping them? Me and you …

So, demand such car and be ready with such price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 19
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:39 am

Here’s an idea: It may cost 60k to produce a Preve of export quality. But since there is a 75% tax on all cars in Malaysia, that would drive up the price, to say 90k. Malaysians are not willing to spend 90k on a C segment car if it is from Proton, no matter how good the quality is, and no matter how competitive it is, while they’ll easily spend 120k on a non local C segment car, no matter how bad it is.

So for the Malaysian market they cut cost everywhere, to get the production cost down to 40k, so that after tax it is so affordable that some Malaysians will buy it.

Also, the high car taxes in Malaysia probably finance all the new schools and hospitals. Get rid of them, and the government runs out of money to spend on helping people. To be honest I’d rather have rich people who must have a new car rather than a second hand one finance all these projects rather than have everyone pay for them through GST. (And yes, the corruption needs to stop, stupid projects and half assed jobs have to be stopped (just look at how roads are fixed in Malaysia. What a joke, can’t even last a year!)).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
        • Car-Fans on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:04 am

Open Letter to Proton – We get such Price and Quality coz Proton and our current Gov think we are still “katak bawah tempurung” – DUMB !

We see and we heard but We can’t do anything with it … Yes or No – U need to spend more to get what you want but those people from outside laughing at us paying so much for same Brand/Model … Another word they might think we’ve been fooling around by some people !

• dun despair, you still hv Perodua and chinese brand can choose

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
      • but we got macai, proton will survive as long macai had

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 15
      • Anti CO2 on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:12 pm

Partnership with China car maker=Top quality=Reliability=rm120k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 11
      • Before Mahathir start syok sendiri with Proton to be ‘World class car maker’,at least emulate the success of Hyundai-Kia first, then we can talk.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 6
      • Proton Global Junk on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Yes the new City,together with new Vios now already flooding the road in Penang.Everyday can see at least 1 new City and 2 new Vios.Haha face the truth Proton your junk Preve and suprima sales is very bad,until now not more than 10 Preve and Suprima until now

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 10
      • WeRnotSohai on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:24 am

We are not sohai anymore.
        Not even reach basic, want to be world class?
        Potong is cheap car, sell in “world class” price.

Even we pay “World class” or even BMW/Merc price.
        you will never make basic standard car.
        Only potong us, benefit ownself.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
    • kington on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Long live communism in this country. I doubt they will leave the already escalated prices of non natioanl cars as it is with more expensive Protons. We are already living in a country where C segment cars are now viewed as luxury items with additional chrome plates here and there and still doing counts on airbags, TRCs and other safety systems. In a proper market like Australia for example, C segments cars are just plain old cars for everyday use but with specs they don’t have to pay for with their arms and legs.

So yeah… the RM2.4M for the McLaren 650S ain’t that expensive after all. This country is really beyond help.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 6
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:45 am

You might have not noticed, but every Preve or Suprima S has 6 airbags and stability control, unlike Japanese cars that cost more than 2x as much, despite similar taxes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 16
        • WeRnotSohai on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:00 am

do u know all honda, toyota are owned by whom?

all CKDs car’s air bags ommited and keep in their pockets.

• kington on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:40 am

Yes, for every Honda and Toyota sold, our good old Government gets a cut. In fact almost every single brand is linked as a GLC or with prominent people in it. Either way, the rakyat are screwed.

• kington on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:45 am

Yes, I applaud those who fit 6 airbags and etc, probably Nissan is leading the field now. Good for them.

Many still find it better to splasha premium on the highly under specced Toyotas and Hondas because over the years, these brands have gained stability and a reputation for decently safe and reliable cars. Proton on the other had, till today still gives you cars with burnt marks on the dashboard, flimsy 3rd brake light which were not fastened and loose rear tali lamp clusters. Now, if this is to continue with higher priced Protons, am sire some forces will ensure prices of Toyotas and Hondas would be jacked up further. Aren’t we all screwed?

• Sammy Valley on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Kalau tiada lelong, kita bina lelong!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1

• Joke of the year

• OMG…Proton will make cheap cars, they run three miles and break down.” ….jokes of the year…well said by TDM…

• OMG…P1 can only survive by making cheap cars…if u sell world class price (but quality not world class)…u will be like what u facing now (pity to P.Preve and suprima) lol…

• Low Budget on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:21 pm

We wish you good luck TDM. Looking forward to see world class Proton to emerge.
    Since world class means more expensive cars, Perodua will take over the ‘Jaguh Kampung’ tag once Proton go world class.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 135 Thumb down 9
    • Jimmy on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

How young is Mahathir now?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 6
    • iskhalifah on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Dear Tun M
      The europeans, americans, and even the Arabs enjoy world class cars at cheaper price. Who says in order to be world class, have to be expensive plus laden with tax??

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 118 Thumb down 6
      • In Denmark and Norway cars are more expensibe than in Malaysia (both countries don’t have a national car maker)?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 62
        • Then what is their average household income?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 2
        • Yeah! on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:11 pm

Cost of salaries and taxes are higher

• subsidy's on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:24 pm

plus higher tax structure….so high vat so high incometax so high….

• What a silly comment.. Citizen of Denmark and Norway earn 10 times more then a Malaysian.. Now, you make statement based on the price of car..

Shall also remind you that every level of education, every kind of medical assistance and all the basic needs of people are subsidised by the state in those countries.. They had been explaining very clearly where the money is….

What about Malaysia..? Why do you pay so much..?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 92 Thumb down 3
          • jshamid on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:33 am

In norway and denmark, they pay more than 50% of their pay to tax. Are you willing to pay that much ? You pay less tax, and you get less. Even for this amount of tax you are paying, there are too many idiots out there want a tax free country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 8
          • THHYH on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:45 am

hey genius, even they pay 50%, they are still 5x wealthier than us. go back kinder garden and learn math.

• yankeepapa on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:09 pm

Why talk about Denmark and Norway when just down south across the border is a country which also dont have a car industry, their cars are also much much more expansive. However all cars are being equally taxed.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:50 am

In Singapore you pay for the license to be able to buy a car. Cars are not equally taxed, cause the amount you have to pay isn’t based on the car price.

Also, in Malaysia cars are usually similarly taxed. AFTA agreement, as long as it is produced in an ASEAN country the tax is the same.

• Sathis on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:40 pm

Are Norway and Denmark an oil producing nation like Malaysia?

• Yes. Norway is one of the biggest oil exporters in the world…

• brown kid on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:38 am

and the troll win ROFL

• WeRnotSohai on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:35 am

u need proper study.
          denmark and norway are high income country.
          Citizen there no need to buy house.
          They rent house rather than own houses.
          There are no such cronism housing developer to raise or hike the house price.

Their life is relaxing, enjoy work, life. High paid, short working hours, well gov welfare which is equally distributed to all people.

Their public transportation is super efficient, clean, well organize.

Pls go there have a look.
          you will change your mind.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 0
      • Hear! Hear!
        This is how the government has always positioned themselves. More expensive means better.

And if TDM had half a businessman’s brain, he would build good quality cars in ECONOMIC QUANTITIES, sell them at cheaper than the competition prices AND still be profitable.

Sheesh! Why go for the same market dominated by the established names? Build equal quality cars to the Japs or Contis, sell them at lower than Japs or Contis. Susah nak faham ke?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 5
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:59 am

And how exactly is that supposed to happen? All aforementioned car makers produce many, many more cars, so development cost can be spread out. They can also buy much larger quantities.

And VW for example is terribly efficient. The same production line can produce totally different cars, depending on demand. They use the same parts in a Polo as in a Passat, as in an Ibiza or Fabia. The same engines work in a Polo or a Passat. Plug and play. How on earth is Proton supposed to compete with THAT? To produce cars even cheaper than VW can? Citroen and Peugeot are making losses with every car they sell.

• frank c on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:31 pm

No doubt the Preve is of much better quality and built than Persona, Gen2, Waja and Wira. There is improvement in quality and price wise cheapest in class. That is textbook marketing talk.. Why still can’t sell ?
            When one read comments in this column, you hear many angry Malaysians. That is the reason why Proton (no matter who is running it) have difficulty to sell. If I am not wrong, Proton’s mission is “to raise bumiputra’s participation in automotive industry… “. Back then automotive industry is dominated by non-bumi.. If you look at our automotive industry today, Proton have achieved this mission. Sorry to say, the ideal of Proton is to benefit a larger spectrum of bumiputra but it seems there are many still not included… it left behind many more angry folks and hence the lack of support as of today.

• turbo_guy on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:26 pm

In fact, we are paying “a bad car with a good price “

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 2
      • WeRnotSohai on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:50 am

E.g. buy a myvi, pay golf,corolla/civic high spec cost.

Buy a preve, pay camry/accord high spec cost
        Buy Suprima S, pay Estima standard spec cost.

120K buy a proton? pay for BMW 3 series/ C class cost.

We are poor, but robbed by rich cronies..

• dun despair, you still hv chinese brand can choose

• Bryan on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:22 pm

““The next car of the same quality is RM120,000. You (consumers) want to have cheap cars, OK, Proton can produce cheap cars.”

Mr Old Man, i think you forgot that the next car of the same quality cost RM120,000 because of taxes you implemented to protect proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 282 Thumb down 21
    • turbo_guy on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:34 pm

Well done, Mr. Old Man! He is going to ruin “Proton” Malaysia automotive industry again…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 57 Thumb down 4
  • Frankly speaking, can boh?
    Jaguh kampung i have no doubt?
    Jaguh dunia? …… Errrr

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 9
    • OMG…now P1 no longer is jaguh kampung, somemore 1 become world class…..dreaming lah…puihhhh…

• droll on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:26 pm

govt has a policy that cars are a luxury item. so if you need a car, their answer is – buy a proton. with proton moving out of this segment – how lah? does perodua suddenly gain more preferential protection?

• fatihablack on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:26 pm

we want reliable car

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 0
  • Ensco 105 on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:27 pm

30 years too late.

You want to sell cars for 120k yet forgetting that the equally priced cars in malaysia were sold half the price elsewhere.

By right 60k here should rival the quality of 120k cars.

Not forgetting those Korean car companies were way behind proton back then.

All the best.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 114 Thumb down 2
  • please be

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 40
  • “Proton has to make a living. If consumers want cheap cars Proton will make cheap cars, they run three miles and break down.”

So Mahathir admit that current Proton cars will only run three miles and break down.

Also, cant do a good cheap car, why bother do an expensive car?

Like the old sayings, do the same things until you are really good at it then only proceed to the next challenge.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 112 Thumb down 5
    • How do they even explain Satria Neo being sold for 8k pounds in UK while it costs RM63k+- here. Doesn’t justify anything he said when selling price is cheaper for people in overseas rather than their OWN rakyat.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 109 Thumb down 2
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 5:04 am

Simple. In the UK a Proton is taxed at something around 20% tax, in Malaysia it’s 75%.

• Low Budget on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:45 pm

That is his usual ‘Sarcastic way of saying things’,
      el-cheapo Proton today do not breakdown after 3 miles, it can go on for thousands of miles but with cheap plastic and ill fitting parts causing squeaking and rattling noise after a year or so.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 6
      • normal_user on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:57 pm

U call those plastics in the Preve & Suprima as having quality??? Price aren’t cheap either because without tax, Sylphy and Cerato with BETTER interior costs around RM60-70K+.

U need to wear higher powered spectacles dr M!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 7
        • Proton Global Junk on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Preve and Suprima is just a low class and rubbish car.People don’t want this type of car.In penang,people rather buy the new City and new Vios.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 8
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 5:27 am

And the Preve and Suprima without tax will probably cost even less than that.

If they can cost as much as the Cerato or Sylphy in production then the quality would be better too. But it would result in the Preve costing 90-110k. That’s what he is talking about.

• MajuProton on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:30 pm

The Chairman of Proton has spoken ….. so for those who are buying the SV series for Saga and Persona, be prepared to constant breakdown ! serve you right you pay cheap price you get lousy cars, time to upgrade to the Preve and Suprima while waiting for the new RM120,000 world class Proton

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 50 Thumb down 10
    • Proton Useless junk on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:39 pm

People rather upgrade to a new City and new Vios then these cheap junk Preve and Suprima.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 6
  • Vincent Cheng on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:31 pm

World-class carmaker? Unless Ur world is limit to Bolehland… So U siok Sendiri, self declare and self happy.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 8
  • Yes, you can make a high quality cheap car. Kia and Hyundai has proven it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 2
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:31 pm

Cheap cars that break down fast eh…? Hmm…

How come Toyota and Honda made cheap cars in Thailand, far cheaper than Proton, still these el-cheapo cars don’t break down easily…? So now we need to fork out 120k just to make sure Proton cars don’t break down izzit…? 120k quite pricey to ensure that power windows don’t break down isn’t it…?

I tell you what’s even cheaper for consumers… BY CLOSING DOWN PROTON…!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 151 Thumb down 13
    • Low Budget on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Ha,ha….. A nice joke.

• Celicazz on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Honda Brio in thai starts at what price?

http://www.honda.co.th/th/brioamaze

Proton Saga in Malaysia starts at what price?

http://www.proton-edar.com.my/en/Models/Saga%20FLX/Model%20Overview%20Page.aspx

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
      • And the average salary in Thailand?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • Celicazz on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:38 pm

Care to give a clue?

• Celicazz on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:43 pm

Nevermind, here is your answer

http://www.numbeo.com/cost-of-living/compare_countries_result.jsp?country1=Malaysia&country2=Thailand

• LOLOLOL on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Easy job la for proton. Just rebadge honda. Straight away world class. Then the cronies get to make world class money also. Smart move!!!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 81 Thumb down 4
  • How much money? How many more years? How you gonna do it?
    I also hope Msia car is successful, but at what cost?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 0
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Rubbish. Their current breed itself is not THAT reliable compared to the Koreans. Quality is similar to those with a price of 120k? Rubbish. The Preve doesn’t feel as premium as the Kia Cerato.

Let’s not forget it was thanks to him, we have insanely high prices.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 6
  • TooDumb on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:33 pm

Tun M has reversed the cause and the effect. The effect of expensive price of foreign car is caused by NAP, which imposes heavy taxes on foreign car in order for Proton to stay alive. Now he is saying that the effect is actually the cause, the cause of why Proton car is made lousy. Now he can happily raise Proton car price to the level of foreign car.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:53 pm

People don’t understand that Proton itself has a 75% tax. Yes, local parts will lower the price, but the Preve isn’t all local. Probably similar to cars like the Vios, which also has a 75% tax.

The government should be fully transparent on the taxes. What model has exactly what tax. Maybe the new boss can use his contacts in the government for that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 25
      • TokokU on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:10 pm

Show proof of what you say la…. there is protectionism and exemption. Even if Proton has 75% tax, check what kind of rebates they are enjoying? On top of the rebates, they also enjoy incentives… thts where all the money is going…. BTW, previous gen Vios only has 30% duties on it as it has high local content.

• TooFail on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:52 pm

I’d rather Proton just disappear, seriously. They took their “billions” of reserves boasted by their ex-CEO ages ago and just squandered it due to their complacency. Now crying again for more free money.

When will the torture end?!

• Obama (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Dr. M What kind of comment is that? One of the objective of Proton is to provide affordable and reliable car to the Rakyat. Seems like you have forgetting that.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 9
  • deaftek on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:36 pm

world class car = re-badge car

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
  • thefact on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:37 pm

seriously so damn stupid. cant believe he was our PM!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 26
    • Najib Razak (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:55 pm

“Smart people don’t think others are stupid”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 15
      • Ramone on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:22 pm

They just think they are over smart ;))

• thefact on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:28 pm

another Stupid PM..when r u going to sell the fleet of private jets u have? such a small country need 5 private jets??

1. Airbus A319
        2. Boeing 737
        3. Global Express
        4. Falcon 900ex
        5. Fokker F28

u sell this, sure can help proton. take commercial flight.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 6
      • Kanena on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:38 am

Yeah, so better ask ur wife to stop showing her old fashioned diamond ring all the time in public. Sell it and give the money to poton so that they can survive another year. Smart people!!

• cibusat on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:22 pm

he is one smart man thats why he was our PM and you are not

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 21
      • lololol on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:08 am

Cibusat…he was PM bcoz thr r alot stupid macais lik u supporting him…

• dun only talk.. made it.. mass production it.. yes, we wan to see “If consumers want cheap cars Proton will make cheap cars, they run three miles and break down.” we wan to see how proton can turns toyrus plastic into cars..

• Dear Tun,
    Let’s get the facts right.

The next best c segment is not rm120k. It starts from 90k onwards depending on the different brand and offers of the week. They are priced that high not be coz they want to but be coz of your kind policies. Seems like selective memory is at play .

Also P***** is also not to built cheap cars or build world class cars but to feed selected groups of individuals.

And yes you can have good cars at cheap prices. Take the same examples you mentioned and see how much they price and b segment or c segment car in their own country or their ability to price close to P***** here.

Also the examples mentioned did not need 30 years of G assistance and still going nowhere ripe with questionable procurement and management style.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 1
    • It was not only govt assistance, but the RAKYAT hard earned monies for paying unnecessary tax and duties for a CHEAP and LOW QUALITY PROTON… *$%@#%$%$^#@$@#

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:46 pm

Actually the Japanese did start in the 30s, and had heavy protectionism until the 50s or 60s. They even had pretty much the same rules as Malaysia. The Koreans also had or even have heavy protectionisn. Koreans prefer foreign cars, but can’t afford them because the government makes them ridiculously expensive.

Even America, to this day, has protectionism. You can’t sell a pick up truck that wasn’t produced in America.

Also keep in mind that in Malaysia the high car taxes (that are also imposed on Proton) are a big source of revenue for the government. Without it Malaysia could become bankrupt. And thanks to the hybrid CKD thing the taxes are eroding away, so that is why fuel subsidies will go away.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 49
      • Yeah! on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Get it straight la….. Malaysia is running out of money because we are funding the useless company like P1 and other crony companies who take rakyat’s money in to their own pocket. Macam lintah hisap darah dari tanah air kita!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 4
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Funny how people who say truthful things that seem to defend Proton will get loads of downvotes. Protecting the local industry is a normal and reasonable thing but at one stage, Proton was too complacent with being jaguh kampung and shortchanged the people in their products and, most importantly, the quality of their products. They’re paying for their mistakes now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
        • TokokU on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:14 pm

Defending a crook is useless… no matter how truthful, noble and generous the initial thoughts were….

• AVH (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:08 pm

1958 to be exact, the year that Japan’s Protectionism stop. But you’re forgetting one BIG major evant many like to call it, World War II. If you remember history, 1933, Japan pull out of the League of Nation following their invasion of Manchuria, 1936 was the year Japan tallied the Automotive Manufacturing Industries Law, the Japan Ministry of Commerce and Industry imposed a 60 percent import duty on imported vehicles. It also imposed a limit on locally assembled foreign brand vehicles. But by than which nation would be dumb enough to export or produce cars in a country so close to a verge of war…..except Germany. Japan marj]ket was practically stagnent, cars were’t churning out, neither the public were buying cars. All companies were busy churning out ammunition but Toyota, who are amking army trucks. Mitsubishi were to busy building Zeros and Yamatos, Mazda(Or what would become Mazda) makes ammunition and bombs while Subaru was previously the Nakajimma Aircraft Industry, making dive and torpedo bombers. Honda was busy running a small bicycle shop in Tokyo. Nissan (or what would become Nissan) was making CKD Austin Sevens.

Than we move on to post WW2, 1946 neither the country nor the economy was stable enough to produce cars, people prefer Honda’s human powered bikes than Toyota engined trucks. Now 7 years later, Japan’s economy is still building, Misubishi was saved by the Americans due to the Korean war, American forced Mitsubishi to stop dismentling its arnaments industry and start making M4A4E8 Shermans and M26 Pershing…..due to the Korean war(American foolishly has scrap almosst all of their WW2 tanks), this allows Mitsubishi to restart buisness but for the rest, things were tough. Toyoto knoew that Japanese will not continue to buy cars because they do not have the income(people rather buy houses than cars) so in 1953, Toyota was exported to the still anti-Japan Murica’, selling it to wifes and families scared from loosing love one to Japanese Banzai charged, good luck with that. But Toyota still persist because America was the only econmy large enough at that time to support a buisness(other than Europe).In 1969(about 20 years later) Toyota was the 2nd largest import in the Americas after Germany’s peoples car. They were praised for ficxing every issue on the Crown on a year-by-year basis.

Back in Japan, Japanese manufacturers began distributing dividends to its shareholders. This upset the Japanese government, who took it as a sign that Japanese manufacturers were profiting excessively from the protection accorded to them.The lack of economy of scale meant that the Japanese were much more expensive than foreign cars pouring from the states. But the 1936 admandment was still in place which place a 60% local tax to foreign imports(sounds familiar). Japanese citizens were furious about the quality and high prices of Japanese cars , but with higgh price of foreign imports, like they had a choice(De-JA-Vu). Representative were called into the Japan’s Diet to speak. One lawmaker called the Japanese auto maker “Manufacturers are dependent on MITI’s protection of domestically built cars!” in defense, Toyota’s representative and president ,Mr. Taizo Ishida said(or shouted) “If it turns out that our technology cannot keep pace, I am ready to heed the criticisms we have heard today by giving up the idea of a Japanese-made vehicle… we feel sure that, in the near future, the day will come when people will say that we did a decent job, and we look forward to that day.”….Bold satement indeed. But the Diet ended with the lawmakers agereeing to kill of the amadnment soon. Import Quota(similar to our beloved AP) was killed of in 1965.

Honda’s story iss even more interesting, You see Japans’s MITI wanted to group different companies to specialise in different type of products due too too many different car company, Honda was sadly not in that plan. So car making buisness for Honda is denied….I’ll Ctrl+/Ctrl+V from my cource at LIVE.LIFE.DRIVE on Soichiro Honda’s conduct and why I simply admire him to all aspect:

[Soichiro was an eccentric person. To force MITI to delay a proposed Specified Industry Promotion Bill that would in effect block new entrants like Honda from making cars. Soichiro Honda tried all sort of tactics, including one where he pretended to be drunk and entered MITI’s office with a bottle of sake.
        Masaaki Sato’s The Honda Myth described Soichiro in his drunken stupor, saying, “The Ministry! The Ministry of what? You’re a bunch of morons! You’re the reason the Japanese industry is so damn weak!”
        In another incident, he snapped at a MITI officer by saying “Government employees are supposed to dedicate themselves to the public good, but every time we try something new, all we get are complaints and rejections! If you’ve got a problem about Honda’s policies, why don’t you become a shareholder first? Buy some stocks and then I’ll listen to what you have to say.”
        Honda also strongly opposed MITI’s position to protect the established Japanese car manufacturers. He famously twisted MITI’s logic on its head when he said “If you can’t be No.1 in the world, you can’t be No.1 in Japan.”
        In his writings in the October 1952 issue of Honda’s internal bulletin, Honda Monthly, Mr. Honda told his employees:
        “I simply cannot go along with the idea that in order to protect our jobs, we should set limits on the import of foreign cars. Technological competition should be conducted by technological means. No matter what barriers we put in their way, quality products will always find a way in… Good products know no national boundaries… ‘The best in Japan’ means nothing when you are only comparing yourself with the rest of Japan… the moment a better foreign product is imported, that kind of ‘Number One in Japan’ is toppled. Being ‘Number One in Japan’ is but a stage on the way to being ‘Number One in the world.'”]
        I admired Soichiro’s that resulted my undying support to Honda much like yours to Proton Mr Kadajawi. In one instance Soichiro was so stung at GM’s downright nagative-crictisissm of his CVCC tech that he went and bought a Chevrolet Chevelle, installed its CVCC tech into its Big-Block V8 and sent it back to America, which tahn resulted in a hike in fuel economy with no loss(in fact gaines) in performance, to the humiliation of GM.

So if Japanese cars can implemment all that kind of improvements in just 10 Years(counting out the ststic time of war)…..wheres your argument on Proton.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 59 Thumb down 3
        • pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:41 pm

Proton argument…. no malaysian support, no gov support. Apa lagi mau

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 5:41 am

That might be the longest post on PT, ever.

You don’t see an improvement from the Gen-2 to the Preve? They went from a car that is just as safe as the Avanza (same rating at CNCAP, and both were pretty damn bad), to one that can compete with everything Europe has to offer.

I won’t say the Preve is a great car, but it is a rather decent one.

A German last year had to cover his brand new Mercedes with a big shower curtain cause is car was leaking when it’s raining. Similar story with a new VW. Keep in mind those are cars bought in Germany. And a friends Toyota had his automatic gearbox fail within a few years.

Quality? Yeah right.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:55 am

A friend once saw me writing such long post and recommend me to start a blog. Maybe I will, I’ve been getting the hang of writing and reading lately, but I don’t test cars the way a real automotive journalist do.

Moving on, in a way if we look at proton as just te products itself, it by all means can be seen healthy. But looking it as a whole company, things don’t look that way. In my previous rants of proton I’ve said before I don’t blame the product they are coming out, car to car it still looks okay. But I’am just outright disappointed at how the company is going. The countless promise yet to be filled, bold words and no actions, prototypes and joint ventures that is yet to be fruitful.

In the above chronicles(abit too long to be an article eh…) I stated the eccentricity of Soichiro Honda. Honda started making cars about the same time as hyundai, 10 years before proton if you count out that 4-wheel bike with a truck chassis. His strife for perfection and eccentric words and action is what I always love about Honda although it can be said today Honda is a mere shadow as it once was. Honda once strides for the working mans perfect automobile, not Toyota’s mass-sales target which it seems to be its latest corporate achievement (ironically, soichiro once said “quoted as saying that the best-selling car cannot be the best-driving car, because the compromises needed to become the former are incompatible with the lack of compromises required to be the latter.”) .

Anyways the point I bring up Honda was that, soichiro can be compared to the automotive greats such as Enzo Ferari, Furrocio Lamborgini and horacio pagani, people with large passion and commitment to automobile. But Honda had one big difference, they make cars not people desires, but people can buy and love, and to me, that’s what I believe all mass-making car should strife to achieve, not boring mass transport appliance like Toyota and Volkswagen(oh I just piss so many people). The point is that proton needs this people to succeed, all companies success are usually driven by one man and I don’t believe Dr M is that man for Proton, I don’t believe he has that passion either. Jennifer Clarkson once said this as he blows up a Kelisa in the background, cars like this are designed by people who do whatever it takes to win the heart of the people’s wallet…..compromise and reap profit, and that’s one proton as a company has done for the last 30 years, the R&D non-existence. The dream of market extension and Motorsport, evaporated.

TL:DR: proton as a company is flawed. You can say that it is not protons fault that car price and thus competition is already one-sided, but you can’t deny it either. Proton has spent too long as a company being complaisant, and with the market tightening with ever competitive Koreans and European marque as well as the strong Japanese prescence, proton is now bagging another chance…….errr no.

• No doubt many people will agree with you that Proton cars have improved compared to the Gen-2, Savvy period with the Preve and Suprima. The Preve is a much better car now compared to Proton cars before.
            Any car manufacturer whether its Honda, Toyota, or any other brands will not be defect free but how many % is their defect rate? 1/100? 1/1000? If Proton has such high quality why did it not even make it to the reliability index for cars while Toyota and Honda is in the top 10 world most reliable brands. Do you dare bet how high is the % defect rate in Proton cars as compared to other makes???
            If cheap cars meant unreliable and low quality cars, how is it that Perodua has double of Proton sales for the past 5 years. It is not due to perceived quality but proven track record in terms of reliability. I have a 7 year old Myvi which only recently needed a change in rear wheel bearing and was problem free before that. People want hassle free cars and not having to spend days at service center to rectify the car problems.
            Proton has screwed themselves up by giving inferior quality cars for many many years which made many people fed up and this problem is evident even until the launch of the Preve which was plagued by many issues for the first batch owners. So basically Proton dug its own grave. Unless Proton strives hard to rectify this stigma, the masses will always think of Proton as a low quality car brand and second rate even to Perodua.

• btree (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:43 pm

The strategy keep changing but the result remained poor.

Wrong strategy or wrong execution? or ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 1
  • Itulah bekas PM… dah lama dah. Apa selama ini kerajaan tak bantu?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • Chow 1 on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:46 pm

Ok noted. Any deadline?

• a proton consumer's POV on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:48 pm

indeed proton is catching up in terms of built and reputation…
    but why arent these good products being reflected on the financial statements of the company’s performance?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:40 pm

Because people in Malaysia buy cars based on how the brand was 10-15 years ago, not how the product is now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 15
      • 4ProtonFags on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:17 pm

Have you even seen preve’s interior? That in itself looks worse than cars made 10-15 years ago. Get real….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
        • Proton Global Junk on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Even when I see the Preve’s exterior design I straight away go to Honda showroom to book the all new City.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 5
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 5:44 am

Yes, I admit it’s pretty ugly and cheap looking. But what do you expect for a car that is produced for such a low price? It’s half the price of it’s competitors, that it works at all is a miracle. That’s why Dr M wants to raise the price (at least that’s what he claims), so that they can use better materials etc.

• albag on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Orang tua ni memang dah nyanyuk.. Semakin tua semakin nyanyuk

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 6
  • mmaker on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:48 pm

So in 4 years time car prices will be reduce up to 30% or will be increase up to 30% ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 0
    • kevinlowl on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Increase lah, bro. Mana boleh reduce punya. Terlalu leceh nak tukar polisi negara etc.

• shawal on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:49 pm

They can start by facelifting the preve..
    Improve the quality in and out reduce the fuel consumption and get a better gearbox..

The old proton wira and perdana has an air of quality which can’t be found in proton cars now, yes they were mitsu rebadge cars but, why is the qiality decreasing since then???

• Make the car more reliable through stronger engine internals, stronger auto gear box, add strong manual gear box and improve interior finishes.

• Rokuth on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:51 pm

I think the ex-PM is out of touch with reality. Or he is suferring from Alzheimer’s… just about the only way to explain why he’s forgotten that it was his laws that brought about NAP… which is why the competing import is RM120K…
    And even if the World Class Proton is RM120K, less people will buy it because it is… STILL A PROTON!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 1
    • Proton Global Junk on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:44 pm

RM 120k world class Proton people rather get themself the Honda Civic or new Toyota Altis.

• Dear Tun,
    Let’s get the facts right.
    The next best c segment is not rm120k. It starts from 90k onwards depending on the different brand and offers of the week. They are priced that high not be coz they want to but be coz of your kind policies. Seems like selective memory is at play .
    Also P***** is also not to built cheap cars or build world class cars but to feed selected groups of individuals.
    And yes you can have good cars at cheap prices. Take the same examples you mentioned and see how much they price and b segment or c segment car in their own country or their ability to price close to P***** here.
    Also the examples mentioned did not need 30 years of G assistance and still going nowhere ripe with questionable procurement and management style.

• iskhalifah on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Err without tax & without UMW-greedy-style profit margin, i think C-segment cars price should be around 60-70K.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • OK…

1. Change the brand name
    2. Change the brand logo
    3. Improve quality control (better engineering…etc)
    4. Improve both interior and exterior material and styling
    5. Remove taxes on imported car
    6. Compete fairly

-If proton really can produce a good quality and reliable car, I am pretty sure people will buy Protons. Take Holden (Even though they are closing) Hyundai and Kia for example, strong local support

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • The 120k car will be the new Proton Honda Accord, hahaha world class manufacture my foot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 3
  • Jackson Oh on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:54 pm

You can see from the picture that the bumper and fuel cover’s blue is different from the car body’s blue. Hmmmm

• maung lay on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Changing Mitsubishi and Honda emblem to Proton emblem n planning to export abroad HOW R U GOING TO EXPLAIN IN FOREIGN MARKET?

• derick on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:54 pm

“Proton has to make a living. If consumers want cheap cars Proton will make cheap cars, they run three miles and break down.”
    Wonder how much it cost for this 3 miles car hehe

• Maseratits on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:57 pm

If Proton raises their car prices without raising the quality, I don’t think they’ll be able to have the rakyat’s support anymore.
    What Proton is currently doing with their Suprima and Preve is already a step in the right direction, affordable yet pioneering the safety standards for cars in Malaysia. What are you trying to do, Dr M?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
  • kvsual on Jun 09, 2014 at 4:58 pm

If yes, first please change the stupid cheap name PROTON to nicer one.

• I would totally support Proton if they can produce a NA or Turbocharged 2.0L RWD Coupe/Sedan with reasonable styling and build quality.

But if the price is above Rm120,000. I would defect to Toyota 86 then

*86 without tax is roughly around AUD35-40k (120k++)

• Allen on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:53 pm

A wrong comparison if you ask me. 86 need to pay for tax, so are Proton cars.

It’s not like Proton car is taxless.
      I would be glad to buy a peeve if it’s taxless. It should be around 40k?

• kevinlowl on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:20 pm

I like the 86 too mate but it’ll cost way more than 120k in Malaysia. Unless o course, you’re living in Australia then…

• ccsfelix on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:01 pm

Nice move.. I think proton is heading to the future so “bright” that people will just start ignoring Proton. At first, you charge other countries like “saudi or Australia” with cheaper price and full spec. But for our own citizen, you are charging us high price, low specs and high bank interest (which you never intended to discuss with Bank Negara). Fine, now you want us (consumer) to buy 120k Proton? Nah.. I’ll pass.. I believe Honda Jazz, City or Toyota Vios is 10 times better in terms of price, engine quality and specs and when comparing to price. I realised there are more people going for Honda Jazz, City and Toyota Vios because Proton just giving empty promises. Nevermind, Perodua will over take you for good and another 10 years, I can feel Proton and Lotus will be selling the company over to China.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • Proton Global Junk on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Right.Now new City and new Vios is flooding the road.People is smart and they get themself new Honda City and new Toyota Vios,far more reliable and more quality.Preve and Suprima??Only moron will buy these junks.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:02 pm

I have already said that Proton has to raise the price in order to produce good quality cars. Invest all the money from the price bump into quality. Better materials and workmanship. And explain to the public exactly how high the taxes are, and that of competitors.

120k is a bit high in the C segment though, that is Ford Focus money.

• 4ProtonFags on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:19 pm

WRONG!!!!! Proton has to raise price in order for cronies to make more money, cos govt has no more money for them to suck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:30 pm

That’s why… they getting an old dixk for them to suck.

• anti cronies on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:58 pm

30% of current Proton car price can be reduce if Proton personally can delete the cronies even though TDM crony.. Without any tangan ghaib and wahyu Proton staff can reduce the price.. Now nobody can reduce the parts price supply from cronies company such PHN, HICOM TECK SEE, OSI, HICOM DIES CASTING etc.. All of this cronies company like to suck rakyat money..

• I can only say, LOL !

• iskhalifah on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:05 pm

Kejap nak partner Geely el-Cheapo..
    Kejap mengaku taknak jadi el-Cheapo..

Reminds me of Tengku Mahaleel remarks that the Waja deserved to be priced higher due to its ‘Asian BMW quality’. PLEASE stop this game of tongue twisting. DrM, u better retire and rest, go to masjid more often and repent of your past sins to the rakyat.

Dah lama rakyat ‘marhain’ (average joe) menderita tak dapat merasa kereta kualiti yang sebenar. For the sake of ’employment’ (blue collar??), ‘own technology’ (re-engineer??), ‘forex money inflow’ (no successful outflow either), I don’t see any real benefits to the people for the past 30 years.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • poorton on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:07 pm

Make world class car? Ur current car quality n price already cannot match consumer minimum expectation now u wan to make world class car? It is like baby dunno how to stand firm and start want to running and jump. Hope you wont fall down and zap lap!

• Jebonr on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:10 pm

I am taking this positively. Excited for the results to come.

• FrozenHeart on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Proton salesman: ‘Here goes my hard works…’

• carnut on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Let’s face it, cars are expensive here because of the high tax structure. Proton has done no one any favour selling so called cheap cars when in actual fact the quality of the so called cheap cars are not even worth its “cheap” price.

Proton’s current sales volume and profit margin are too low for economies of scale. It won’t be able to survive long as is when bigger manufacturers are investing so much more into R&D and can move single models around the world. The only way for proton is to find a technology partner and investor, but that will be tough when Proton wants foreign technology but is unwilling to let go of control.

• blackbox on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:16 pm

This old man like Proton very much till he want to bring Proton in to his grave with him…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 0
    • pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:27 pm

Ya ya.. better to it soon. Like tomorrow cuz it will be the best news ever.

• Darling on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:18 pm

Ohh darling, even the basics arent right (e.g. Power windows, squeaking sounds, engine efficiency and materials used for the interior) hw r u gonna build a world-class car? Im not looking down at local brands but perodua is doing better than P1! No offense but jux to say hyundai and kia with the same age as P1 is producing awesome cars (although there are some click-clacks like RV engine bla bla bla) but they are still significantly better! Uhhh.. Better learn from them.. Their spirit, their mottos.

• Do u think proton car is cheap? if according the quality of proton car we already pay more for you cheap junk,in addition we still ned to bear proton inconvenient ,no efficient,no standard services whenever after purchase the car or after. any way it is a good first step to bring the proton go back to stone age.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:20 pm

saya nak kata berjaya…tapi tak begitu berjaya

• Please raise the price of Proton to that it will give way for other non-national car makers to make affordable quality car then national expensive junk from Proton. In fact why not make it easier for everyone, M, step down, and close Proton for good. Don’t make any cars, don’t make a fool of yourselves, and let those guys in Proton learn a thing or two with different car manufacturers. Earning a living means creating good quality cars which are reliable and honest. Proton employes R&D staff, engineers, and “what have you”… you come out with Inspira and Perdana, both of which a slapped on Proton Emblems on other people’s car. I think Proton should stop making cars and just focus on rebadging cars from other makers. I forsee this coming in the future with Honda.

• If Proton selling RM120k, means other imported car will be more expensive? In another word, we have to prepare extra money to buy expensive car in the future?

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:24 pm

Wah Tun…. 120K? Who will buy Suprima and Suprima S when accord is only selling at MYR 135K? Even your rebadge Accord Perdana also won’t sell well if price at MYR120K….Before talk about world class, pls look into the basic problem, Is Proton still relevant in Automotive industries?

WE,the Malaysia is glab that, now Proton is back to DRB Hicom, no longer using our EPF money to pay the yearly loss!

• Lambat-dah! on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:25 pm

Think bernama reported it wrongly. The sentence should be “…World Standard Car Maker for crappy cars…”

• Easy easy on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:31 pm

This coming World Cup Iran also have strategy to win it….

• Proton Basher on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:33 pm

Why there are so many Proton bashers? Not because people so free to condemn Proton. Because so many of these people surfering just because of Proton! Now, another proof.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
    • Ananz on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:29 am

Totally agree with you!
      We are not bashing for fun or to troll cuz many of us have been burned or indirectly burned by Proton!! My Saga not even one year ady got engine leaking plus broken suspension. Always have to go service center. Never gonna support Proton again!!!

• NotThisAgain! on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:35 pm

After 30 years, our jaguh kampung still dont understand the “basic” in the mass market car industry…. economies of scale. All those with Dr and Phd certs at Proton still dont get it; even when its infront of their eyes. Look at Honda, Merc, BMW, VW, Toyota, KIA and Myvi… one of their main success is the sharing of R&D cost. All of the brands above have cars which look similar and uses some same parts for their cars. That way, they can leverage on their R&D cost and reduce the cost of parts and production.

Look at Proton, all the models look different (with the exception of Suprima S and Preve. This means that they have additional costs of managing more spare parts and each model cannot leverage on bulk purchase discounts. So long like that also dont understand. Keep saying that Malaysians want Proton to fail. Look at Myvi… reason its beaten Proton is because its technicaly Toyota built quality. And its parts are lower cost with Toyota quality because it shares parts with previous gen vios. And, the looks of their cars are similar, hence leveraging on the R&D cost.

For proton to be world class, first thing is to implement successful world class practices other than crony practices.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:13 pm

Yep.. u got it right..

Unfortunately my butt or bart fools can’t understand this.

• motorbart on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:39 am

Preve and exora use same platform although have different shapes.

• kemosabe on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Perhaps Proton has appointed the wrong person as a Chairman of the company.
    Not really doing the company any good coming out with such statements. Just aggravate the already bad situation of Proton.
    The Chairman should be throwing down a challenge to the Proton employees to produce higher quality vehicles at lower costs. Proton can start with the assembly line employees to assemble cars better since they are the ones that “produces” the vehicles.

• muggle on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:37 pm

apa kenalah dengan mamak kutti nyanyuk nan seorang nie? sudah tua-tua hendak mampus pun masih sibuk dengan pangkat, harta dan kuasa…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • 120K !!! for a local made car !! Come on Dr.M !! U want competitive !! try to reduce the excise tax and sales tax of all import cars in Malaysia… I doubt u can even sell 1 proton car…

• I think his next action is asking government to increase price for non national car and force rakyat to buy proton again.

That’s the only proton can survive without funding.

• haha … I like this guy … expensive world class car? …. hahaha …. Proton should had have him a decade ago as CEO.

• pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 5:56 pm

Proton always talk and talk amd talk about high quality car can match BMW (during tengku time) built tanjong malim state if the art plant, tonnes of automation etc etc etc…

All talk cock. In the end, expensive low quality crap cars and blame malaysian for not supporting. Now want to shed cheap image by increase price? Cheap trick and short cut to success. Typical tongkat mentality next time use a wheelchair.. it’s better. Macam OKU ( by the way, OKU folks are much more independent than u. Shame on you).

• The next Proton quality car is RM120,000?!!! Bring it! Huh! Mahathir We shall see…….!!!

• fuuckchicken on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:01 pm

The infant industry that never grew up…

• pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:03 pm

should prove that proton car is cheap by apple to apple comparison. Strip off all the taxes and compare the real car cost among the japs and koreans. Your ugly red baboon arse will show the naked truth that you are moron, taken malaysian for a ride in the last 30 years and still wanted to con more out of the ppl while u enjoying your german crony ride.

A true idiot indeed. The 47% of malaysian that voted this fxxking gov needs to wake up from this BN induced glue sniffing epidemic.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:04 pm

I seriously support Malaysian product but before “Our” product being look down or ppl perception. I dare to ask Government: abolish tax for import cars for 2yrs and if after 2 yrs Proton can survive “we dare DREAM” to overcome them coz they are afar way advance. If after 2 yrs Proton is still well accepted by Malaysian buyers, I am sure lots of Malaysian will stand side by side with our Proton. Now the problem is: Good cars already been tax till RM120K while your Preve No Tax only RM80K. U r like compare Gold Chain with a Platinum Chain. Just check it Thailand, Singapore, Indonesia, Australia where country price EVERY car fairly, so how did Proton perform? P.S: not we don’t support Proton, it is The fairness which public to hatred the policy!!!! Sorry if I offend Proton fans but just voice my 2 cents opinion :( I still keep my 20yrs Wira & sad to sell coz IT is still Damn good condition.

• cedyy on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:05 pm

can’t even walk properly with tongkat and now want to run? ish ish…

• maknyah on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:05 pm

sigh… still sleeping yet dreaming

• in short: Higher price. As what most of you foresee tt will happen after the appointment of DrM

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:08 pm

Hahahaha… Laugh die me la. Joke of the day and possible joke of the century.

I wonder what is Malaysia impression to others when we are rule by monkeys and the baboon king is still alive despite being 90yrs old.

• That statement almost felt like he is making a sarcastic remark on the future buyer of Proton. As thought telling us, we pay peanuts for cheap junk, sorry, i mean Proton cars. Now you want quality, you pay more. Why does it have to be said this way? People have the choice to choose their car. I rather pay 120 to Nissan and get a Silphy and any Proton car.

I think the management of Proton need to invest money to garner the hearts of the buyers and by giving quality and assurances, meaning 5-7 years warranty, good established proton service centre, not franchise their service centres to non-professional ding dongs who can’t even speak English or Bahasa. They should be marketing quality and giving perks above the average japanese car makers in Malaysia. Then maybe Proton will a better game to play. 120k for a Proton car, perhaps a sedan, what do I expect? I expect it to be a car that has the quality of Nissan Teana or Toyota Camri. I expect the engine to be powerful yet having good fuel consumption. I expect to have comfortable ride, passenger leg room and big boot. I expect it to have strong body components that and above average safety features. I expect it to come with a 5-7 years warranty with online check ability and nationwide history checking ability. I expect it to be a car when I drive it, I can say, now this is what I’m talking about.

Put the money, invest the money into buying the hearts back, put money into those segments that people really hate about Proton, like quality, style, safety, engine. You know i think it’s perfectly fine to have a Honda engine in a proton car, or Nissan’s shock absorbers and springs, or Camri’s comfort. It’s okay, just so long that it has something that tell us, you mean what you say in terms of safety and assurance. I’m sure we have people who are smart and engineers who have really clever ideas, its time to buy the hearts back and make a swell car. If you’re going to make cheap cars, increase the warranty and stick by it, but at the same time give us a run for our money. 120k, that’s my marker M.

• Funny, if suprima selling RM120k, possible that Toyota Altis 1.8 & Honda civic 1.8 still remaining at RM114k?

• Kr0ll3R on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:16 pm

“He said that when the Proton Preve and Suprima S were introduced, people claimed they were too highly-priced for a Proton.”

Revise your QA/QC and after-sales service first la, then only talk world class.

“The next car of the same quality is RM120,000”
    u mati lagi cepat.

• Let him try la. Never try never know….. after try it, Hari Hari mau. hehehehe

• maciva8 on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:23 pm

just simple solution to keep everybody happy.
    1- just keep existing tax & duty for non malaysian brand. so, no increase in price.
    2- gov must demolish tax & duty for proton and produa according to their availablity of malaysian made part. 100% local part = 100% tax & duty free.
    so, proton price are cheaper with today quality or more quality with today price.
    3- today roadtax rate are for local car, non local should have more roadtax because they not support local industry. hahaaha

all idea above not interfere with AFTA …
    so no problem.

and for Fuel Subsidized problem, i like the idea of fuel rebate in year 2008 when petrol was rm 2.90, that time people are happy with the price because they got back their money later. i wish u all vote for my idea positively..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 7
    • cendol (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:19 pm

The government will not be happy – less tax collected
      The car companies will not be happy – less profit
      Banks will not be happy – less car price = less car loan = less interest earnings.

• History Statement Proton makes 3 mile running Cars on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:24 pm

This is the best statement a proton chairman has ever said in their automotive history “Proton make cheap cars that run 3 miles and breakdown”

Bagus Proton … keep it up, you have a bright future ahead of you with this old man leading the way :)

Just stay out of the progress of other automotive makers in Malaysia and you can sell your RM120K cars in overseas markets as we don’t want them here !!

• Henry on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:33 pm

I hope he start by building Lotus cars here and badge them as Proton at one third the price. I will buy one. It will be a good solution for both brands.

• John Queenie on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Lord M, you are already our most respected public figure and your family members are already billionaire. Please leave us the middle class n poor alone. Your rakyat are taking 9 years loan just to buy a basic Proton car and have to suffer high maintenance, high fuel consumption and highest depreciation. Do you really care about Rakyat needs when ur family members are driving European luxury brand and not Proton ? Do we need to sustain your Proton for yr own reason?

• missy polkadot on Jun 09, 2014 at 6:52 pm

if You guys remember… the VW and AUDi cars are less reliable… and there are more major accident and even major complaints from these two’high-class” manufacturers compared to Proton (in terms of percentage)… Proton has more quality nowadays… so stop bashing one of your country’s own major economy developer (at least while they was still with the goverment)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 34
    • Dear missy polkadot,

Can you please elaborate the major accidents/major complaints for VW/Audi? VW do have complaints against their DSG especially in APAC countries, but compare to proton, how many countries proton selling the car? i think only handful of right hand drive market and the total unit sold do not even enough to compose a major complaint i think…

• Haziq on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Hello Hello major economy developer huh? get your facts right la, malaysians are forced to buy proton’s la.. Proton only laku in Malaysia la.. If proton never existed we will be the regions automotive hub long time already la building (sushi,kimchi,and european car’s la even bigger job opportunity!!

• Haziq on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:37 pm

Hello Hello major economy developer huh? get your facts right la, malaysians are forced to buy proton’s la.. Proton only laku in Malaysia la.. If proton never existed we will be automotive hub long time already la building (sushi,kimchi,and european car’s la even bigger job opportunity!!

• Rakyat-MY on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:17 am

Proton has been losing money and needing government support for 30 years. Proton is not bringing economic development to Malaysia. Proton is a burden for the country, holding Malaysia back.

• support proton on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:04 pm

msg to the proton chairman, board of director, C levels should own yourself and drive proton car and not other car (bmw, benz, porches, etc)

• Proton Basher on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:05 pm

A common layman also know appointing an old man does not help but why they still do so? Because these juara kampung mentality want to “improve sales” by using government to make other cars not competitive. How? Increase other cars price.

• biasa la cina dekat malaysia ni.dengki tak abis.comment nak kutuk orang je.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 52
    • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:35 pm

Stupidly blinded by cronyism…

You deserved to drive crappy Proton for life and get drained by it…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
    • Proton Basher on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Azri, kamu pandu kereta apa? Bukan Proton? Baik tukar ke Proton utk tunjuk sokongan kamu. Pandu Proton? Padanmuka engkau sebab mentality kamu sebabkan 99.9% rakyat Malaysia susah.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
    • pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Azri ni… ish ish ish… mentality kayu….. kayu apa?

KAYU MATI.

• Jinyiwei on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Apa boleh buat.. si Azri ni otak udang, katak bawah tempurung. Dah kena tipu lebih 30 tahun masih tak sedar-sedar lagi. Otomotif Negara dah mundur lama ke belakang.

Majoriti orang beri kutukan bernas, si Azri pulak bawak isu perkauman. Semuanya salah Cina.

Harus si Azri ingat, kalau dr mamak berlaku adil dengan tidal mengutamakan maanfaat kroni.. Siapa nak bising? Ingat Cina je bising? Melayu dengan India tak bising? Dah dr mamak mengaku kereta P1 perlu ditingkatkan kualiti apa lagi hang nak BERDALIH? Lagi nak salah kan Cina.. Kau ni biar betul fikiran kau tu!!

• Hisham on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Celaka u, melayu macam kamulah negara mundur!

• Grow up on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:55 pm

Azri, azri.. sekarang dah masuk tahun 2014 dah, kenapa mentaliti masih 10 tahun kebelakang. Grow up, we’re all humans arent we?

• Haha proton run 3 mile and break down? Then I get a second hand imported car can run better, price cheaper and definitely more quality than your world class proton~

• KOH KOH KOH world class….
    mimpi orang tua di siang hari!

• This tun getting too old…let’s fprgive whatever he said…he dunno wat the hell is he speaking…

• Nice try. Good luck ex PM

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:30 pm

Oh please. .

I do not want cheap cars from Protong. . I just don’t want the excise duty..

Others can built & sell cheap yet reliable cars for us..

You can keep proton to yourself. .

• Wang Swee Kong on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:32 pm

Companies, like Hyundai, LG and Daewoo, were private companies and their government fully helped them, and because of that today they do not need government. Proton, did you get funding protection and support from Malaysian public when you initially started? Those Korea companies are all global giant today but where are you in global listing ohhhh proton. The root of the problem is you let us Malaysian down again and again.

• F**k you proton.. who make those car sell rm120k ? those rm120k car just sell 20k USD include tax and profit in other country

• Now i know why this old man wanna b proton’s chairman… coz he want to bring proton masuk lubang bersama

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:49 pm

Well equipped new Picanto. . Six airbags. . Can sell 60k++.. with excise duty..

Yet they don’t breakdown in 10 miles.. or.. 10,000 miles.. do they?

What kind of jokes is this?

Try to justify Protong price & sell them expensive?

Increase the duty?

We are not fools.. please.. it’s getting funnier. .

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:51 pm

Can’t say that I didn’t expect them to go for such a vision. They’ve always been wanting to shoot for the stars, judging from how they advertise their cars as the best car ever only to disappoint buyers. I hope he knows that they still have a long, long way to go from being considered world-class.

They have a sub-par engine. Fuel consumption is too high for current world standards. Rising petrol prices do not help.

They don’t make their own gearbox so they have to use other people’s gearboxes (extra cost).

To be a world-class company, you need world-class build quality. Maybe benchmark Toyota cars or something. You’ll also need world-class mentality among all those working in Proton. Most Malaysian companies cannot say they have this.

Now, more than ever, I also believe that Proton needs to be humble. Never once were they humble enough to win the people’s hearts. Never once did they acknowledge their faults, apologized for quality issues and strive to do better. Instead, they glossed over them and moved on to their next big thing with tons of promises which will also likely have certain issues and result in disappointment. I think the biggest issue for Proton is their image and how that image can come across as arrogant and aloof. Continue on this road and they won’t make many friends.

Sure, you can all say “just close down lah, Proton!” But you and I both know that it isn’t going to happen. That said, I still think Proton is a good idea, conceptually. But how it turned out is…very, very bad.

• Proton Basher on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:19 pm

Because of 1st class idea, 4th class implementation and 1st class cronyism.

• frank c on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:48 pm

Ya. Proton need to be humble.
      If I am not wrong when Syed Zainal took over as CEO, he has been humble. As a former Perodua chief, he knows what it takes to lead Proton out of it’s trouble. In him I see potential to improve Proton’s image. He is the one who put a “Lifetime warranty” for power windows failure. Challenge it’s own R&D to solve this problem… ya my Saga FLX is about 3yrs old and I have been using the windows all the time.. It never failed .. yet.
      Proton need an honest makeover from the top. Genuine effort to improve and stand on it’s own…

• Murderer on Jun 09, 2014 at 7:55 pm

Old hag never rest…we’ve been enough of u!

• Proton have wrong strategies from the start till now. Proton need to improve their models better and not wasting build new models. Look at Toyota global bestsellers – Camry, Corolla and Hilux. Already 20 years but still selling strong globally today. Each generations are minor improvements from last generation. Its called Kaizen strategy. Proton R&D team keep on changing without clear direction from top management. Most of previos R&D money from taxpayer went where ?

• bootupjoe on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:02 pm

Dreaming still early…..now only 8pm lah…

• Klangboy on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:06 pm

I was actually quite excited to see what Dr M could do with Proton when it was announced that he would be in charge again.
    But now, looks like the remaining hope I have left is slowly disappearing. Disappointing.

• QChan on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:14 pm

After 3 decades, with very little to show, isn’t it time to consider employing/poaching from auto industry’s greats??

KIA’s astounding turnaround is clearly attributed to Peter Schreyer. Nissan’s Carlos Ghosn is another outstanding example! Their products are sold in every continent on this planet.

After 30 years and if local talents don’t cut it, we should swallow our pride and look further ashore. It’s ridiculous to continue bleeding in the hundreds of millions… with no end in sight. And the auto business is not getting any less competitive!

What can the new Chairman do? Weave magic?

In the auto business, if we can’t do the volume, it will fail. It’s a vicious spiral – no volume, no money to R&D, and no R&D, no quality products.

The magic answer is quality products (weed out sub-par vendor in the supply chain) and head-hunt quality/competent people from the auto industry to lead (even a foreigner!) – really that simple.

• Cant agree more. The motor industry is a function of scale and u need to be globally competitive and proton with or without that mamak does not have that. Knowing that mamak keras kepala n stupidity, he will gamble again with taxpayers money to spend on proton. As he ask more from the Govt for help, we the rakyat will continue to suffer as the Govt collect more taxes from us and imposed various form of ridiculous fines and penalties. With this mamak on board, malaysians mustt be prepared to suffer more over the next few years to come!

• jaytee on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:16 pm

“The next car of the same quality is RM120,000.

Honda City is listed RM74,000 to RM89,000.

• chong on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:20 pm

I am a poor persona owner, and I hate my campro engine very much. seriously a thumbs down engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:00 pm

Sorry for you..

That’s why I bought a Myvi.. & bought it again. . & I don’t mind buy it again. . For my kids next time..

• Honda City on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:29 pm

I am a proud owner of a 5 year old Honda City. Excellent condition, engine is very quiet, no problems whatsoever within the 5 years that I drive it. Fuel efficient, reliable and long lasting. My Honda City is much much better than Proton Preve and Proton Suprima S. There are more Honda City than Preve on the road. Ha Ha!

• Proton Basher on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:57 pm

Same to me. I am driving a Persona too. I have to leave with all kind of irritating noise in the car when cornering, passing bump & holes. And the worst is the campro engine is like 5000cc engine drink fuel like hungry hippopotamus!
      F… off Proton, I change my car in next few week.

• justdie on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:24 pm

so many ppl die why u still here.

• submarine on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:25 pm

you’ve been using these kinda tactics to suck our money dry for so long la, still wanna try again ah? u can turn potong into a spaceship maker la, but if u can do it without help (read: tax payer money, our moneu) then i say u got nuts la. World class…. tssk tssk tssk.

• Haziq on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Proton time to wake up la, and admit you are a failure and close shop.. if you were not here malaysia will be the regions automotive hub long time already… our taxi will be more safer and comfy ady aiyooo….!! Even your preve which supposed to be a global car freakin failed la. Then about lotus, you got a sportscar manufacturer with such big plans and world renowned and then you fired Dany Bahar Ceo , Then you lost the court case. If not now got new lotus models already la!! Omg i wonder who is working in the management, the most stubborn human in the planet!!

• lcmbryan on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Dr M you really have a vision. Good in talk but not doing.

Before you go into world class please make a more reliable car. And remember to fire your marketing department head.

Hire someone more capable to market your product.

Why people said your car cheap because you launch your car on open air car park where at night it was a pasar malam spot. Other manufacturer launch car in high end shopping mall.

See the different, foundation of marketing also don’t have, you talk about world class.

Just imagine yourself if Apple Iphone launch at open air car park.

• Hukaka on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:41 pm

Haha I will buy proton car with world class quality,but it the price are selling rm 120K either our salary are rm30 per month otherwise we rakyat all ride bike cycle .

• Hukaka on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:42 pm

Salary Rm30 K per month .

• Xiao Siong on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:52 pm

This old mamak want to make National Car world class?? I think he meant the world class price!!!
    Hey, Dr mamak! Preve price in Bolehland can get me a Camry in California!! U already achieved world class price!!! please bring up the standard!!!

• botol on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:53 pm

The only car that travels three miles and then break down is a PROTON.

• pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 8:58 pm

Proton… juz talk talk talk….. ada apa…? Cuma angin.

30 tahun cakap cakap angin… tak habis habis hisap darah rakyat.. sekarang lagi complain.

Pergi tutup dan mampus lah.. at least make proton useful for one last time and salvation to poor Malaysian.

• POTONG on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:04 pm

The appointment of Tun Mahatir speaks volume and indirectly shown the future approach of Proton.

It is not hard to see Tun has been advocating the need for government support and funding. One would not totally discount the fact of his appointment is to secure funding from the government or to impose further policy to protect proton.

Otherwise the appointment of Tun makes no sense as he possess no knowledge of the automotive industry.

The only way Proton can be a success is a complete revamp of its policy. Here are some suggestion they might find useful but as always ignored

1. Appoint someone with proven record. Carlos Ghosn would be great if Proton can attracts him.

2. Appointment new designer.

3. Revamp its supplier line. If the supplies did not made its grade ditch the supplier regardless if they are bumi company or not.

• Proton Basher on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:01 am

Let us day dream till UMNO and it’s corrupted cronies disappear in Malaysia.

• rebadge ferrari?

• Dr M you should stop proton making cars, make coffin instead. You have better market there cause we rakyat going to die very fast soon. Btw, your car is not expensive and cheap quality.

• pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:14 pm

Susah bro..

Bila nak buka, pintu stuck. 6 feet under, masuk air. Tak de quality bang

• babygrand on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:11 pm

Proton not even worth to bring up to discussion topic the permanent solution is shut it down completely and let Malaysian enjoying cheaper plus good quality car !!!!!

• Sparcov on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:16 pm

The next cheap car same type RM 120K ? This is because of Malaysia Government Tax Structure. What if, Without tax? Toyota camry 2.4 can be sell RM 85K in Middle East, Is is same quality with Proton suprima?

• celicazz on Jun 10, 2014 at 6:46 am

i donno if u have been in middle east or not.

The camry 2.4 is rm85k in saudi, for example, is rm85k becos there is no airbags, only hubcaps, no foglamps, only all the basic.

it is not the same as ours.

even Elantra (new) is rm65k, becos dont even have airbags and all are basics, too.

• I still remember there is one model which do call Asia answer to BMW hope Dr M and the management team don continue korek duit rakyat and bring proton to holland

• Andychan on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:28 pm

I own a proton 2003 till 2011~ Wira and Waja
    Both also is good car~ satria,perdana, putra all also is good car~ u make a good car on factory is not use~ u need service Center well train ~ always I hear when I service car~ dah biasa la bang ini proton ma~ what kind of service is this??

• ShamefulProton on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:38 pm

This is Proton – all power windows broke down in 2 yrs after bought it brand new. Never will i buy Proton again.
    Let me suggest how to improve Proton. Sack all Proton staff from white collar until to chairman. Then recruit the best and qualified engineers(no racial), managers and outstanding business automotive knowledge chairman. I supply parts to Proton, the engineers knowledge are below standard compare to Japan engineers whom i also working with them like Mazda, Honda and Suzuki.
    Proton cannot survive with the current workforce. No one wants to buy Proton which has already become a tarnished brand, history of bad reputation and a very expensive local car(Proton).

• Captain Meow on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:54 pm

maybe proton should sack you as vendor as well… part of the problem is vendor..

• tujupakale on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:46 pm

if i’m not mistaken, i’m still remember when the preve was launched, they stated that the car is a’global car’, today they stated that they want to be a world-class car maker, and it might be possible that in the future they might wanting proton to be the planet-leader.. hahahahahahahahaha

• Jinyiwei on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Not long ago, we heard we Malaysian not PATRIOTIC in not supporting P1.. But P1 didn’t realize & did not admit that they have FAIL our expectation with their sub standard product.

Let me ask who would love to have nightmare after nightmare going into P1 Service Centres to do warranty claims after claims on power windows, water leakages, air-con issues etc etc? Did P1 ever bother to say SORRY to all the hassle we been through?

Now today we hear it again.. Dr mamak u pay more for better quality cars in P1.

Why are we fellow MALAYSIANS always being threaten by corporates like P1 & dr mamak issuing such irresponsible statements? It’s their wrongdoings, wrong production inefficiency, wrong standards product that causing them what they are now!

Don’t they really feel embarrassed about it every time they put the blame on us? Or I would say they are not humane. P1 & dr mamak owe us fellow Malaysian an APOLOGY & they should stop blaming us not being patriotic in not buying P1.

It is your poor quality & poor products that failed us. Your cronies suppliers FAILED YOU, P1 & dr mamak.

• rebadge Ferrari?

• Xiao Siong on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:51 pm

will anyone imagine what will happen if BMW CEO come out comment like Kuda Gila?!

• Vcool on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:53 pm

become world-class carmaker?! Try to beat Hyundai and KIA first!

• Jinyiwei on Jun 09, 2014 at 9:54 pm

Not long ago, we heard we Malaysian not PATRIOTIC in not supporting P1.. But P1 didn’t realize & did not admit that they have FAIL our expectation with their sub standard product.

Let me ask who would love to have nightmare after nightmare going into P1 Service Centres to do warranty claims after claims on power windows, water leakages, air-con issues etc etc? Did P1 ever bother to say SORRY to all the hassle we been through?

Now today we hear it again.. Dr mamak u pay more for better quality cars in P1.

Why are we fellow MALAYSIANS always being threaten by corporates like P1 & dr mamak issuing such irresponsible statements? It’s their wrongdoings, wrong production inefficiency, wrong standards product that causing them what they are now!

Don’t they really feel embarrassed about it every time they put the blame on us? Or I would say they are not humane. P1 & dr mamak owe us fellow Malaysian an APOLOGY & they should stop blaming us not being patriotic in not buying P1.

• TunTunggu on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:02 pm

I believe if Proton can really make outstanding cars i don’t mind RM120k, until then tunggu saja…

• Anti-Toyota on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:04 pm

Actions speak louder than words. So don’t just talk big and get your act together. Don’t just stick those “Lulus” stickers and call it high quality.

• Albert Lee on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:14 pm

Protong can start talking about quality when the SUPRIMA can OUTCLASS the VIOS and CITY.
    The facts are there for all to see.
    Hafiz commented on the poor built quality.
    Paul Tan himself drove the suprima and said the gear box vibrates too much besides the noisy Campro engine.
    Just check the sales figures every month for Proton.
    Perodua is going uphill with modest acceleration,while Proton is sliding downhill non stop.
    By the time the debates ended,we find that DRB is busy looking to ditch this baby(together with parasitic LOTUS)cos the bleeding is uncontrolled.
    Albert Einstein said” Insanity is doing the same thing over and over again but expecting different results”.
    You must be insane if you can lose RM120 million every quarter and not be desperate enough to do something else.

• Ralph on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:15 pm

problem with local cars is that buyers are investing more than 50k on a non-safety compliance aluminium box !!!

• Accordana on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Why think so complicated? Paying 120k for the upcoming Accordana is worth the money, comes with international standard lor.

• Don'z on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:31 pm

world-class? let’s remove the car Tax, then let’s talk about world-class.

• Wayne on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:33 pm

yes…my brother’s proton saga blm did indeed broke down after 3 miles upon collection..or maybe less!

and you think that’s what the rakyat want… *clap**clap*

• Proton Basher on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:18 am

My 2005 Proton Saga (cheap version of Iswara Aeroback) broke down in first 25km due cooling fan failure. Back passenger door leaking due to the door window’s frame was total out of shape. After in and out of SC over 5-6 times and clearly pointing where was the problem but those idiot still done do anything. Proton, even you can build up to standard car but your SC is worst then shirt quality. You are still fail!

• guan eng jr. on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:37 am

Hey, i had an experience where a chinese mechanic mistakenly open wrong screw for engine oil change. Instead, he drained out transmission oil and topped up the engine oil. It caused my car ran frm 5th gear enable reduced to only 1st gear for 20 kilometres before we stopped at another shop! We suspected this was due to him of having more blind spot then the rest.

• Tumbi on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:35 pm

I would rather choose a china made car

• ToKok on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:36 pm

Talk One,
    Talk Two,
    Talk Three,

TOKOK

• cockok on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:42 am

no no. talk one talk cock, talk two talk cock, talk three also talk cock, and so on ….

• all bro and sis here, please work harder if you dont want to get a proton.
    proton car price going to be around 120k, so your city vios will be at least 140k and civic 180k and accord camry 200k over.
    i have prepared for it, how about you?

• pomen on Jun 09, 2014 at 10:58 pm

rm120k for proton???i dont think so…better we buy another brand which is much more better in term of design,spec and etc…

• Ray (Member) on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:02 pm

Is Proton being a tad too ambitious? Wanting people to change their perception in the sense that the cars they manufacture are basically still poorly assembled milo tins glorified by class-leading specs?

1. You say the next rival to a 70k Preve costs 120k? Oh yes, thanks to our country’s sky high taxes and excise duties being imposed onto imported cars.

2. Is the Preve exactly a game-changer in the C-segment? Not quite, after hearing reports of the somewhat underpowered 1.6 CFE and built quality issues. And note that it is priced dangerously close to Japanese B-segments which are getting cheaper nowadays. Many won’t mind the smaller space, as those cars are a lot more reliable and fuel efficient than our dear old Proton. And oh, forget about the Suprima S. Tagged at 80k, it’s hard to even spot one on our streets. Don’t get me wrong though, they both are pretty good cars, just that they are slightly inferior when it comes to certain details which might affect buyers’ decisions. And of course, there’s no running away from brand image issues.

3. Proton wants to go upmarket? Forget about it darling. You can only make business with your Saga or Persona SV, which actually makes a pretty good alternative to all those Myvis on the road. Reviving the Perdana era? No thanks.

• pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:06 pm

Just came to mind… first direction from this old faxk as chairman is to raise price.

Proton is really counting days. Pls die and die far far away..

• Tun M should keep quiet. You don’t sell a product by complaining about it’s customers.

• pondan on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Mamak ni cakap world class teh tarik…

Sama teh tarik tapi harga RM30.. world class price. *moron*

• BlackMiey on Jun 09, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Don’t bother about all the comments and critics above… Just want to see World Class Proton Cars looks like…

• pondan on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:44 pm

No need to wait cuz u can see thru the crystal ball.

Look closeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeely….. IT’S A BIG WATERY SMELLY 30 YEARS CONSTIPATED CRAP.

• tikus on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:09 am

The higher the better.120K mana cukup….must be selling Saga around 150K , Preve around 200K ,Sup Rima around 250K cause all is legendary Lotus handling car and can banchmark against BMW why sell so cheap.BMW 316 using turbo 1.6 and Preve also using 1.6 turbo same same mah.BMW real wheel drive is ultimate driving machine And proton got Lotus handling.BMW got 8 speed gearbox proton using multispeed gearbox aka CVT.See better.So Tun pls sell at BMW price and RAkyat love it.The world love it !!!!!

• Same quality car is for 120k? That is with taxes. Why don’t Tun Mahathir compare that to Honda Civic or Toyota Camry in Labuan/Langkawi, which both are still cost higher than people in Australia is paying, Remember the baby CLS = CLA is cost just less than 30k USD. Can Proton produce the quality for the same price? Compare a Lancer to the Inspira, both quality and prices, it doesn’t make a good sale in Labuan/Langkawi due to lower quality and sell for a much hire price than a Lancer. I hope Tun Mahathir can drive the company to a level where the products are a real value for quality (beat the price in Labuan & Langkawi), thus drive Proton to be a real competitor in world class automotive.

• tikus on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:12 am

When u sell at this price ,people will camp at proton showroom to place order.

• carbonman on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:12 am

Lol… Let’s remove the excise and import duty and see what car we can get at RM120k. Remember the taxes were there to protect Proton in the first place. If you claim to be profitable, then the excise duty shouldn’t be there anymore. Just like Japan removed it when Toyota starts making profit and be independent.
    Always always Malaysia govt mindset… Bantuan Bantuan Bantuan… You’ll never grow up if you never been through tough times.

• kobealex on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:24 am

Dear TDM,

You can do the talking, but where is the walking? Complaining about your customers not buying your product is the last thing you should do when running a business. Can we boycott Proton then? Stop complaining and start showing what you are made of. I drive a Proton too and hope one day they will succeed but this is getting ridiculous. How can the rakyat support when you give us this sort of shit?

• Old dog on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:31 am

RM120k can buy bmw outside of Malaysia…means now the next protong accord will be 120k I guess….

• kobealex on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:46 am

Seriously? world class car? Your so-called global cars can’t even penetrate the global market now you want to produce world class cars?

What are they smoking in thr? Seriously…

• Nicholas on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:40 am

Er… I’m worry about proton future now… Things are getting better with preve and suprima, they just need to improve the quality further and reduce the cost and price… In time people will realise that it is a good car… And no, preve interior is much smaller than the next rm120k car…

• foobar on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:26 am

If I need cheap car, I can buy a bicycle which may be safer than driving a proton. To encourage people to buy Proton, there must be quality, safety record and cheap because it is Made in Malaysia. If you cannot satisfy this conditions, you better close shop and let other larger mass production manufacturer handle this.

• carjacker on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:33 am

Proton’s going to be a luxury brand..

Proton is now already expensive when compared against our small disposable income.

So we can kiss good bye to sub RM100K cars just like we kissed good bye to sub RM300K property in Klang Valley.

Welcome to Wawasan 2020!

• Wishful thinking huhuhu.talking about world class.even the chinese design and produce more exciting cars than protonggg.how pathetic.

• rickyll (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 5:14 am

Just to prove your point, tun mamak , why not put a high price tag to Proton’s soon to be launched GSC, let say RM 60K and sell it world wide with roughly the same price ie USD19K in USA, £11K in UK, €12K in Europe and so on. It would be world news if proton could even sell a car in those markets. Your dream to turn Proton into a world class car maker would remain forever a dream with the present bunch of stooges at the helm yourself included.

• Michael K on Jun 10, 2014 at 5:30 am

Do TDM, high level Proton management and all their family member driving Proton? How many Proton in their garage?

• No wonder my current car run three miles and break down.

• lalaman on Jun 10, 2014 at 7:41 am

Thanks paultan.org for creating proton bashing party every now and then

• Stacy on Jun 10, 2014 at 7:43 am

Regret buying the preve

Loud engine noise and under power

High fuel consumption also and many many issue – disc brakes noise, squeaky and rattling plastic noise at the back, front driver seat squeaky noise but got it changed, headlamp burnt, just barely into 1 year of ownership and my mileage only 10k..

No choice gotta stuck with it for next 2-3 years before changing. The thing that sold me of preve is the safety 5 stars ANCAP and ASEAN NCAP

Sometimes I wonder if I’m better off buying a 10 yo Altis or Vios better….

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 7:51 am

Hi quality? Sy mohon Tun.. ank beranak..samp cucu cicit.. semua pi dok pakai keta proton.. jgn beli yg lain.. tlg support dulu jgn hipokrit..

Juga mohon gov tender semula penggunaan keta proton dlm semua jabatan kerajaan. .

Then can talk about quality.

Napa? X cukup quality ka?

• Preve dan suprima mempunyai masalah fan radiator ‘wiring harness’, seat berbulu, cangkuk gear tercabut, bunyi ngek sana, ngek sini…….itu tidak justify Proton utk jack up the price to RM120K ..itu tanda sebenarnya RnD tak bagus, pekerja yg malas, atitude pekerja tahap longkang ….. so any pekerja Proton nak argue dengan saya?…dengan RM120k gaji pekerja bolehlah naik, tapi kalau atitude, mentality tahap longkang…kereta harg RM200k pun tak boleh nk ubah apa2 mengenai Proton..mengkayakan vendor lagi adalah, tapi kualiti tetap tahap longkang!

• Macdonald on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:10 am

His Lespresso is also dying…in The Curve you can see Starbucks just located under his Lespresso is packed while only 1-2 customers is there. Cafe is horrible, food is lousy and staff is lazy. Price same as Starbucks. Sums up the whole similar as protong.

• amirad on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:11 am

I don’t mind paying RM120k for a Suprima S. Provided it has the same performance and quality as a Skoda Octavia VRS. And I don’t mind that understated elegant look.

• toyol on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:28 am

malaisia sulah habis liao

• Tiunyasin on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:33 am

No worries, ladies and gentlemen. Proton will meet its maker when that old crazy man meet his maker. Be patient all, it will not be long! LOL.

• sonyman on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:34 am

maybe he is hinting us that he is making a Lexus of Proton. Maybe named TUNPROTON as the luxury car range.

You know
    Toyota = Lexus,
    Nissan = infinity
    Honda = Acura.

Something like this. High end and low end.

• Some of proton manufacturing processes e.g. hot-press, homologation, already global standard. I don’t see anything to shout about.

• theanswer on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:43 am

you want a bad sales number?
    that’s how u get a bad sales number.

• autodriver (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:55 am

“The next car of the same quality is RM120,000. You (consumers) want to have cheap cars, OK, Proton can produce cheap cars. If consumers want cheap cars Proton will make cheap cars, they run three miles and break down.”

This old man is drunk all time. I bought my Forte 1.6SX which have similar spec like Preve at RM86k. Kia did produce a cheaper car but it didn’t “run three miles and break down” after clocking about 70k km now.

Proton need to ensure its build quality, fuel consumption and most important thing is its AFTER SALES SERVICES.

• honest on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:07 am

This new appointment is interesting
    lets wait 5 years to see the result

• VTEC in car (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:12 am

Dear Tun M,
    After 30 yrs… Proton is still at their learning stage to build a proper, good quality and a car that can be trusted. Now you want Proton to build world class car?? When you think this can happen? After 300 yrs? But one thing for sure, they are World Class JOCKER now!! Wahahahhaha….

• honest on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:17 am

Lets build jet instead
    good for our defense

• pondan on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:34 pm

Let’s build (or make) crap instead… not just good for defence, no one will even think to attack. Prevention is better than cure.

• Continue to dream hard.
    We may see Proton to loose it’s No.2 spot in short time.

• pondan on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:33 pm

Let’s build (or make) crap instead… not just good for defence, no one will even think to attack. Prevention is better than cure.

• Dream on lah, Dr. Mahathir.

• I am wondering…

If Proton build a RM30-35k city car

1. Body Size build quality similar to Myvi
    2. 1.3L Engine
    3. 5 Speed Manual
    4. 2 Airbags and ESC (ESC prob not needed)

*No luxury like folding mirrors, power windows…etc

Will it sell? Or le typical Malaysian would just comment about its lack of luxury…etc

• blackbox on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:42 am

“Whom the gods would destroy, they first make mad.”
    I think Proton and this old man is almost there…

• Jon Snow (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:57 am

So Tun, you trying to say next project for Proton is rebadge of Volvo? If you can make V40 RM 120k, we Malaysian will SURE support Proton! I don’t mind the stupid name it will be called, as long as it’s a Volvo in disguised.

• The problem is the brand itself. You can rebadge a ferrari but no use. You may sell a few but not many will buy it.

• mustafa on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:10 am

deja vu….back to the tengku mahaleel era…when we were the BMW of Asia….trying to conquer the niche market… I thiought when this old man launch proton in 1983 and the first car in 1985, he proudly pronounce tha proton is the car for the rakyat….
    go figure…

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:38 am

cars r expensive bcoz of govt policies/ crazy tax.. pls la reduce the tax! ayoooo!

• bisakeris (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:42 am

like toyota.. they hv lexus.. so proton can do the same.. 1 for the masses, 1 for the rich..

• msiabodoh on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:46 am

Ferrari= High end luxury
    Lambo = High end luxury
    Lexus = High end
    Toyota = Standard mid end
    Honda = Standard mid end
    Perodua = Middle low end
    Proton = rubbish or junk

After this statement from TM, he said proton will aim to become the high end rubbish cars producer. Of course they can produce but noone in this world will buy. No, at least one, he himself will buy one as his coffin afterwards.

• Proton wasted the precious time during saga to wira era, even it was no 1 then. During that time there was no research and development works were done to acquire technological advancement regarding the improvement of their cars. What proton did in collaboration with Eon, was to put unnecessary accessories to proton cars, such as stickers or whatever. This was the time of Datuk Nadzmi. Then came tengku mahaleel who produced the disaster, the Gen 2. This car was the worst car for proton, and it defines the perception of proton cars till today.
    So as we can see, proton failed to develop because it was managed by the wrong people. To be successful, you need the calibre of soichiro Honda, but these people are just.like you and me.
    And now the Ceo is someone named Hisham something, and I really doubt this guy is the man to bring proton to greater heights.

Good luck proton.

• Joe Radzif on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:05 am

although i am not gomen supporter,
    but I wish Proton best of luck to become the World Class car manufacturer…

I am waiting for the result

• gotodmc38 on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:06 am

“BMW of Asia” slogan – Somewhere in year 2005 from proton. After 9 years, what is the results?

• Car-Fans on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:32 am

Message to Tun,

Pls pls pls lar … Don’t get yourself involved in Proton liao … U check forum … still plenty of owner complaint even 1 week out Proton car … Politician controls Proton not Proton running it own … Kita orang dah cukup suffer with current tax and coming GST …

• I suggest that Proton should start working and stop talking. World class? I have been hearing this since the Waja era. And I always like to compare Proton with Hyundai especially. Back in the 90s, Hyundai was on par with Proton, in fact Proton was much better than Hyundai back then. So forward to current period, where do Proton stand against Hyundai? I say no fight at all. Look at how Hyundai evolved with each new model and range introduction while Proton still stuck with 3-4 model range?

Proton. Learn to walk the walk, not talk the talk. And maybe that will get you somewhere.

• Think again on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:32 pm

When u talking, have u wonder that life can be turn around 360′, upside down. Same goes the story that u making between Hyundai and Proton. Don’t u ever think it will be the other way around?

• I think you need to know what you are talking about because your comment don’t make any sense of what it meant. Same goes for life if you like to talk about it when my comment is comparison between Hyundai and Proton, and how Hyundai picks up and moved up from late 90s onwards while Proton still stuck? Life can be turned 360 degrees around when you make any effort to, with a sense of direction, hardwork and determination. As for Proton’s case, they have been talking too much with minimum action and too slow since the Waja era. Life will turn around for the better when you put action before words.

• Life do turn upside at times. But in business, it is either you fight hard to succeed or you close down if you know your business is not sustainable. Proton is not trying hard enough. Proton was doing well until the Waja era, when that CEO at that time decides to arrogant by even competing with BMW. The CEO after this waja era CEO is the one who makes an effort to put proton back to where it was but, the damage caused by the previous CEO was so great that Proton needs to make more than double effort. Business needs the right person to run the show while the waja period, that CEO shows how well he can screw up the national pride.

• kacimara on Jun 10, 2014 at 12:35 pm

Wow this topic is HOT.
    325 comments.
    see they are all concern with Proton.
    This was hard reminder proton should improve not improvise.

• how much he is paid? with that kind of comment any1 also can b chairman la

we need action plan and strategic plans!!

not just pure words

• twisty on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:17 pm

“Private” company my ass… If really private, should be shutdown long time ago.
    Before tht, kindly came up with new engine instead of using CamPro technology again on next gen car production, install a turbo on the engine wont change much the fact it is “old” engine.

• Anonymous on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:22 pm

With reliable engine, great design on interior and exterior, better product image, Proton can go further.

Place the best and talented people, prove it to people you guys can do it. I still have a Saga and it works perfect as I need.

Proton should produce high quality car with the best quality and at the same time they can also produce “people’s car” to cover cost for research and development.

Proton should also involve in bus, truck and others transportation medium to increase revenue.

I believe they able to achieve it with Tun is part of them now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 7
  • RealTime on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:47 pm

Extremely shell shocked to hear the chairman of a big local company talking like this, and much worse a former Prime Minister.

In fact, I’m disgusted by his statements. Not even going to bother bashing proton.

• Lalat on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:51 pm

Cheap car and break down every 3 miles? Isn’t the same car which is being sold in the Middle East, Australia etc is cheaper than what we get locally? The point is the same car that is being sold is more expensive. The Rakyat doesn’t mind paying more for a real premium car but unfortunately not for substandard quality car. It’s a shame that other auto maker has since having leaps and bounds in their line up production be it the quality as well as designs like our Korean counterpart. Why can’t we? Is it because of the poor management? I suspect the do not have te desire to make proton a real success and make it the pride of the nation but instead only interested in maximizing their income out of it even at the expense of the Rakyat. Unless the management’s attitude changes for the better and produce better quality car rather than still using Mitsubishi or honda’s mould, perhaps one day I or the rakyat would own a or more proton.

• Ahh~ carry on with this spirit! Get ahead and stay ahead with this statement. Im sure proton will be successful one day. Maybe jux one day before the doomsday. Sarcasm.

• messi on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Regret buying the preve
    Loud engine noise and under power
    High fuel consumption also and many many issue – disc brakes noise, squeaky and rattling plastic noise at the back, front driver seat squeaky noise but got it changed, headlamp burnt, just barely into 1 year of ownership and my mileage only 10k..
    No choice gotta stuck with it for next 2-3 years before changing. The thing that sold me of preve is the safety 5 stars ANCAP and ASEAN NCAP
    Sometimes I wonder if I’m better off buying a 10 yo Altis or Vios better…

——————–

One of my friend having the same issue with you and get a full loan for the Preve.

She wanted to sell after few months but the 2nd hand resale value drop like a bomb and need to pay RM 15K if want to dispose off.

So, stuck with the proton forever if you own a proton.

• Darah rakyat dihisap kao kao

• Vincent on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:23 pm

Proton = Financial death trap.

• Mareyappan on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:35 pm

Owhhhh…..what a comedy of the world !!!

• Howie on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:44 pm

Is he too old and misunderstood us. We are saying Proton car are selling quite expensive for its quality compared with those imported car not we want a cheap rubbish 4 wheels. What the hell is he talking? How to define world class standard? Is this mean all the while Proton is selling bad cars to the nation? Is Proton trying to push the imported car selling prices up buy selling Proton cars at high price to gain more revenue?

• frank c on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:55 pm

Err.. I hope you guys re-read the article.
      DTM says, when they make Preve and Suprima at RM70k, people complaint too expensive. But other car of similar segment priced at RM120k. So he is justifying that Preve and Suprima is of high quality design and spec and cheap. that’s what Malaysian wants !!!
      The “next car” priced RM120k is referring to other cars in this segment.
      cheers

• Dear All, we must give a chance to him at least 22 years to see what is the result. Thank You.

• Another 30 years of BIG Mistake coming in Bolehland

• zzzzzzzzzzz on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:27 pm

First of all, this old man knows absolutely nothing about cars. It’s like a worm dreaming of becoming a dragon. To become world-class carmaker? I think it’s time for you to go to bed. To improve on a particular field, you need someone who is good at it, not some handpicked monkeys.
    You say Proton can produce cheap cars, well every company can produce cheap cars. What on earth are you saying? Everybody can produce rubbish product easily. Please, do something that can benefit the people. Not some repeated facelifts or just simply throwing in some common stuffs and called it brand new.

• old dog on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:13 pm

Politicians only worry about their wallet, and religion, races are all put up to make the rakyat not harmony.
    If they can use this fighting spirit to fight against outside of the country, to make Protong compete against Korean, Japan, and China automotives manufacturer will be great…but all fight internally…that is why no way Protong can challenge outside, since all its meant is for the crony parts supplier…kasian Protong, kasian rakyat…same with MAS, same crony supplier drained their profit…(the same old man’s son supply MAS food catering…). Now you get it.

• I sense bull shit on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:35 pm

seriously? other country 30k can own a toyota 86 for their money and we own shit with 30k saga

• You wont get 86 with Rm30K. Think abt currency exchange…RM is kinda weak. RM100k+ sounds reasonable. Rm250k is BS

• Aniq_Affandi on Jun 18, 2014 at 1:02 pm

Its the currency exchange that causes the difference. Malaysian Ringgit is weaker compared to foreign automobile developers. So when things come in, the margin has to be put alittle bit higher to acomodate the price that we are purchasing for.

• Juz die will you on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:41 pm

I don’t normally do this as it’s bad karma….but this is an exception as we’ve been suffering for far too long….I juz wish the old geezer will keel over and (…. fill in the blanks). Jeezzzz

• If u can give me a 150++HP RWD car with the price of 120k, I’m cool with that. Make sure handling by Lotus as well, pedal shifters and 5 years warranty. Also, add leather interior with a touch of magnesium alloy here and there.

• What paddle shifter? stick mate…STICK!

• I prefer paddle shifter since I started learning left foot braking. Been learning that with my preve for a while now. Good skill to keep the front of the car planted while cornering.

• Fred.Lam on Jun 18, 2014 at 12:47 pm

Definitely always a stick man. Has a classic touch to it. I would never let go of my Wira.

• Proton38 on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:53 pm

I dont trust proton, because they sayed that they will produce a diesel engine in 2010! Now we have 2014 and there is nothing!

They sayed it first at 2006!

Than, the preve would come in first quarter of 2014 but nothing happened, exora is a another planned model which never arrived!

Greetings from Türkiye.

• William on Jun 12, 2014 at 11:40 am

What kind of global car they produce?

Please go to see https://www.facebook.com/ProtonCars

Their car cannot go up tian hou temple ….

if this is incorrect, proton should defend it. Else, who dare to buy such a lousy car in future? kancil also can go up that hill.

• Sagia on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:56 am

Erm, seem ok with my Proton Exora Bold, even on very long and high hill my car still can reach 100km with 5 passenger, maybe only his/her car kot

• Fred.Lam on Jun 18, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Bullshit. What are these people talking about? Were these people there to throw such blame? They did make a coverage regarding the performance on Genting. Go look for it man. Don’t listen to these blabber mouths spitting out of their guts.

• expensive car?Mr.M, have guts to remove the foreign car tax and compete?

• Vincent Cheng on Jun 12, 2014 at 11:50 pm

Ohhh Tun old horse, proton is not just having a quality issue or financial looses….they are worst than u can imaging! Proton is having branding crisis!
    No matter how much u sell… those buyer buying it as they do not have other choices.
    And one more fact is, u … urself Tun M is the reason of this branding crisis! U can’t see it? Pls lar…look at mirrors more offen and stop thinking rakyat is stupid to be fool by you for another 30 years!

• Steven on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:51 am

world class or super world class…..
    low class or totally no class……
    shame to own P1. just change the name to problem….

• o0o Dr.M on Jun 14, 2014 at 10:56 pm

F this old shit! Enough of fooling and cheating around. Let others take over and don’t ever get involved in Proton anymore.

• Absolute Rider on Jun 15, 2014 at 11:18 am

Dear Tun, chairman of Proton and to all Proton personel.

Try to look at your Preve and Suprima S especially interior plastic quality and fit & finish then go to compare with korean (not to say Japanese) Kia and Hyundai for example, which one better? The panel gaps which one is bigger, not inline and lack of connection?

For over RM70k to RM82K (west and east malaysia) price is ok, but Preve and Suprima S so far still have unpleasant interior design and fit and finish.

Sorry and that’s the truth. Please improve. Thank you very much, sir.

• Absolute Rider on Jun 15, 2014 at 11:36 am

Ex-Proton chairman said they have good designers and engineers, but why Suprima S comes with:

1) non functional rear bumper diffuser
    2) thin LED guide light, serve nothing during
    heavy rain and heavy rain but sun shines –
    ever met such situation before?
    3) old OS, slow and bad quality 7″ ICE-Navigation
    display
    4) Global car, global standard? But keyless entry
    is not standard after all including when start
    up the engine
    5) with HPF steel the car getting heavier. please
    use more HPF in car structure

Only good thing is 6 airbags,ESP,ABS+EBD+BA,TC.

• Sharon on Jun 15, 2014 at 11:43 am

Even with RM60-RM80+, the car hard to sell what more to say to make it higher price to become world class?

The price is one thing, the quality is another! Make sure design and quality always improve.

• Captain Meow on Jun 23, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Wah… lots of potential CEO in this forum….

• Sunil on Jul 06, 2014 at 3:02 am

I am very new owner of Suprema S and I feel cheated after buying this car at a whooping price of RM88,000. It was much hyped car where people said it was the best car produced locally and handled by Lotus. After buying this and in the second month itself Car Wind Screen got a big crack, few weeks down the road we started hearing some burn smell but during first service it was said there is nothing wrong and that first service cost me RM300++ actually it was promised to be free ( first three service) and one month after service while driving along the Old Subang Airport car overheated and got stopped and have to call DRB HICOM for tow away and it was sent for further check up..
    It was said to me that radiator fan was not working it was overheated and all wiring got burn.. Now car is in workshop for repairing and despite paying so much money I am using my old Hyundai Matrix which since last seven years I am using it without any problem..

Can anyone answer why so called and the best from Proton and much hyped car got so many problem ??? Do you think I will recommend anyone to buy this car ??? Should I recommend it for any reason?

Thanks

• Guestaa on Jul 10, 2014 at 5:08 pm

After reading all the comments, I put it this way. Proton needs a leader who loves cars, passionate about it, loves driving and be proud to drive the final creation himself. He should envision a car that wows people especially in the area of external design.