Nissan Pulsar Nismo to take the fight to the Golf GTI?

nissan_pulsar_2

Back in May 2013, we told you to look out for a future Nissan rival to the Volkswagen Golf in 2014 – which materialised, exactly a year later, as the European Nissan Pulsar (pictured), replete with ‘V-Motion’ face.

Now, Autocar UK reports that the new kid on the block could be setting its sights on the very daddy of hot-hatches – is the spirit of the Nissan Pulsar GTi-R returning to haunt the Volkswagen Golf GTI?

Except it most likely won’t be called the GTi-R – Nissan executive VP Andy Palmer told the British publication that the carmaker’s Nismo performance arm is set to extend its product range across different price points.

nissan_pulsar_3

Would a Nismo-tuned Pulsar be amongst that widened range? “It’s not something I’d like to confirm now, but would a C-segment hatch be the great place to have a Nismo? You might say so,” he told Autocar UK.

Palmer added that Nismo was working on two levels of performance. “You’ve got the Nismo S, which is more about exploiting the ride and handling of a car. Most of us can’t drive within the power of the engine we have anyway, even though we’d like to think we’re God-like in our abilities behind the wheel.

“Most of us basically just need the suspension and steering to do more. So the first step is a little bit of horsepower and a lot of improvements to the chassis dynamics.

Nissan Juke Nismo (left) and Juke Nismo RS (right)

“On top of that we come with the RS, which has got all the extra power. So as we go forward over time wherever you would expect there to be a GT or an S in a normal-grade line-up, there will be a Nismo S and a Nismo RS.”

Palmer also said that Nismo is keen on hot variants of ‘unlikely’ models, like the Juke, which has recently been facelifted. “Anyone can go out and buy a Juke Nismo, which is signed off by Nismo and is inclusive of race technology.

“We’ve redefined the brand of Nissan as ‘innovation and excitement for everyone’. It’s about democratisation of exotic sports cars – even the most expensive Nismo is only US$151k (RM483k), which isn’t a lot of money for the amount of performance you get.”

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Waja2003 on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:09 am

FUGLY

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
    • Delloyd on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:07 pm

Suprima rear butt far more uglier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
    • If you think the golf is prettier or anywhere near the word “interesting”, please don’t reproduce.

• Aaron on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:25 am

I believe that you can do it, Nissan!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
  • Hate Nismo on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:57 am

WTF looks of Nissan Juke,katak face make kids frighten cry and scare the old folks when night driving.Fugly

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 25
  • TCM.

Pls bring in 2014 facelifted JUKE!!!

• mango on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:01 pm

everyone wants a piece of hot hatch market. End of the day golf is still the best all rounder

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:02 pm

I like frogs. . Just bring it.

• Good start, bring in the GTR spirit, and kick the VW asses. Please sell cheaper :)

• tanchong will bring this by 2018, just in time for new pulsar to come out worldwide

• VW Rules on Jun 10, 2014 at 1:37 pm

Golf Often Copied, Never Equalled.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 8
    • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:13 pm

never equalled….just surpassed

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 16
      • Fan lian on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Hello Samy Velu. Tell me what car has surpassed Golf?

So far nothing, not even the A45, despite it being a very good car. No, im not a Golf fan, but we must tell the truth la, no,point lying,

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
        • Akuma on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:34 pm

Got! Proton Suprima S loh. They always like to Suprima S vs Golf! Suprima S handling sure better than Golf!

• WaJib on Jun 11, 2014 at 10:56 am

Sorry.. i think Vios TRD is better than Golf.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:42 am

wah lao eh suddenly so many butthurt golf gti owners here

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:23 pm

As long as they don’t put a CVT in, this is something to look out for.

• Biasdmalaysian on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:58 pm

Rmb the super sentra nismo concept ?
    Will this pulsar equipped with that sengine as stated in nismo sentra concept .
    But still noptg to compare v golf la …
    Golf rules malaysia hothatch
    The suprima most fugly hothatch ever
    I would take this pulsar instead of suprima fugly butt looo

• The old school Pulsar GTI-R pwned MK7 Golf for sure.

• mungh on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:33 pm

Why compare suprima with pulsar DIG? Pulsar is much more expensive – 1,070,000 baht in Thai. would easily be RM107,000 in bolehland.

• rear looks like a focus sedan.. lol