Thai Customs to hand over 25 stolen Malaysian cars

2010_Toyota_Hilux_001

The Thai Customs Department has recently seized 30 stolen cars, including 13 from Malaysia, worth 21.6 million baht (RM2.1 million), on transit to a third country, Bernama reports.

The cars were shipped from Singapore to Thailand and declared as furniture and new cars, said Thai Customs director-general Rakob Srisupaat. Meanwhile, an official said Thailand would hand over 25 stolen vehicles to the Malaysian authorities by the end of this month.

Malaysian Ambassador to Thailand Datuk Nazirah Hussain expressed her appreciation over close cooperation given by Thai authorities in curbing cross-border crimes, as the syndicates involved usually recruit members from two or more nations, she said.

This close cooperation has allowed more stolen Malaysian vehicles to be traced and returned to their owners, Nazirah added.

An official said that although hundreds of stolen Malaysian vehicles have been recovered in Thailand, the hand-over process runs into legal and insurance wrangle.

“To add insult to injury, some of the vehicles were found to be used in criminal activities and ended up as court exhibits. Sending the vehicles home is also costly,” he said.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Carlos Victim on Jun 10, 2014 at 6:15 pm

Let’s be honest. If your new car was stolen and recovered, would you rather get it back or the insurance claim?
    Who knows what the car was used for and there could be secondary damages to the car during the theft.
    Also, how come Malaysian customs didn’t detect the smuggled cars on the Malsysian side of the border and depend on Thailand to detect it? Is there an element of carelessness, corruption or both?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 65 Thumb down 8
    • comeonelah on Jun 10, 2014 at 6:42 pm

Are you implying malaysia and Singapore got corruption but Thailand has no corruption?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 44
      • dejavu on Jun 10, 2014 at 6:58 pm

no need to imply. Read this
        http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/malaysia/article/malaysia-one-of-the-most-corrupt-nations-survey-shows

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 25
        • kzm (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:00 am

Well gud that u gave those link…it show corruption on business community…many company use that to gain business upper hand..it oso show that boleh people are very corrupt people not just govt..bribe to gain sumthing.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 34 Thumb down 0
          • Customs Thieves on Jun 11, 2014 at 10:29 am

We all know, Malaysian Immigration and Malaysian Customs are the biggest crooks. Most of the child, women trafficking done in this country is done by the Immigration Officers themselves. It is proven. The triads all got contacts with the Immigration Officers and they all kongsi profit.

The same with the Customs. Cars that are stolen and cross the border all got jalan within the Customs. Or Custom officers are the dirtiest in the world, always on the take.

This is just a small sacrifice to show “work is being done”. Just a show for the public. Call Bernama, and they, like fools will report anything. Good PR for the Customs Department.

In Malaysia, every day, hundreds of cars are being stolen. Some of them kena potong, most leave the Thai border. We all know, Singapore border got no escape because Singapore is too strict. So, hundreds of stolen cars leave the Thai border daily.

What are the officers doing? What else? Share the profits and gains with the triads and syndicates! Apa lagi!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
          • CustomsOfficer on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:43 pm

To Customs Thieves :

I cannot reply to your comment I do not know why, sorry KZM as I have to reply on yours. But this intended to this stupid Customs Thieves.

Just a saying does not make you correct. You can keep on telling people that other people/gov.agencies are corrupt but the truth? Do you really sure they are corrupt?
            You are not customs officer nor a gov.servant.
            I bet u dont even know what act does customs used. Which ministry does customs lies.
            You merely saying things.
            I’m not saying that customs is corrupt-free agencies.
            But get this fact:
            I caught a lot of chinese company/business falsify documents/double invoicing/ to avoid tax. Recently 2 companies, 1 singaporean 1 malaysia Chinese. Declare their tyres from vietnam which is supposingly have CEPT-ATIGA rate of 0% import duty, only sales tax 10%.
            But the truth is the tyres are from CHINA. Therefore, 20% import duty + 10% sales tax.
            Came to my office, offer duit copy.
            Proudly I said : GO TO HELL!!! They has around 100 containers, around RM80K worth of tax per container.
            Now you say customs corrupt. the fact that the culprit who offers the money is not corrupt too?
            Two words for you :
            Blatantly Stupid

p/s: Don’t insult people’s career. Most of customs officer are facing life and death situation in our borders. None of you especially you stupid Customs Thieves are aware. We received threat every time we catch/collect taxes. We collected 30bil over per year for Malaysia’s development. Does that even count as corrupt? the whole agency?

• hahaha on Jun 11, 2014 at 2:42 am

Malaysian Insider?
          hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha…

read that everyday..and nothing in this world appear to be right anymore dude. think very deep about it. ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 4
          • qozh moreno on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:16 am

Hahaha…. correct!!!… D world is control by greed… just most of us are naive…

• Thailand is better than Malaysia.

Be Shameful.

This Should not happened. 25 cars should be found in Malaysia boundary instead of Thailand’s border.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 22
        • I go to Thailand, they mention Malaysia is more better than their country.

So, which one is more better?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
    • BOYRACER on Jun 10, 2014 at 7:10 pm

Better for the car to be never recovered.Easier for insurance claim.This happened to my best friend.My friend bought a Waja and after six months the car was stolen.The car was found the same day BUT not before it was involved in big accident with a hillside.Police found it abandoned by the thief.Mind you the car was in a mess.Bent chassis and all.Tried to claim total loss.Know what the insurance company said..This car cannot claim total loss,can still be repaired.Reason:repair is cheaper than total loss because car is still new.WTF..bent chassis.Bloody hell.Guess who is suffering?my dear friend.

• Sam Loo (Ori) on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:32 pm

Whoever that thinks that Singapore is corruption free needs to read a lot more.

Not too long ago, ladies working in Oracle Singapore are well sought after by all multi nationals, coz they are also nicknamed Oral Girls

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 2
      • Bentlow on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:37 pm

True story. I would be more worry if there is no single corruption report… there must be something wrong. Singapore no corruption? big joke! World biggest money laundry… oh I forgot everything is LEGAL in that country LOL

• kusochon on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:59 pm

kalau kat bukit kayu hitam bukan susah sangat nak bawak kereta masuk dalam thailand.. bila sampai imegresen malaysia cakap nak pergi kompleks bebas cukai.. pastu terus ke thailand punya border.. bila dah masuk thailand punya immigration lagi senang.. bukak cermin angkat tangan sikit sambil senyum pastu terus masuk jer dengan selamba..

• i think you will find your answer when you compare, how much time singaporeans check incoming cars vs how malaysia checks…or rather the lack thereof.

• You probably haven’t heard of the story of a Malaysian Woman driver, driving past the Singapore Immigration Unnoticed and it took almost 2 days for the Singapore police force to locate her … Read on – http://www.asianewsnet.net/Spore-checkpoint-breach-raises-vital-questions-56706.html

• dejavu on Jun 10, 2014 at 6:57 pm

How did the car leave Malaysia shore in the 1st place? What was the custom officer doing? I can tell you what the Thai custom officer is doing…his work.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 11
    • CustomsOfficer on Jun 14, 2014 at 1:01 pm

Hey Dejavu,
      If you want, I can arrange for you to visit and join operation at Malaysian Border.
      I’ll bet u’ll piss and shit ur pants in less than an hour once u get the feeling on how u see bullet shooting through ur boat.
      Dont simply saying.

• Sam Loo (Ori) on Jun 10, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Why do they show in the pix the pickup i use to show kimchi owners?

• Samm loo on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:19 pm

Haha…. Most favourite car by smuggler… TOYOTA HILUX…. Even the BAD GUY GETS IT…..sorry kimchis…

• sam the sin kar lan on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:30 pm

Because useless Hilux got no safety or security features. Same like 1988 potong saga. So damn Easy to steal. And lots of uneducated fools will pay 100k for it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 6
    • Sam Loo (Ori) on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:24 am

Get a used kimchi.

Very dai mai, can leave the car unlocked all the time coz no thief in their right mind would even want to be seen dead in one of these rotten cabbages

• loose (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:24 pm

my dear friend, please be fair to others, do not make your assumption as a accusation.

• transformer on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:58 pm

many Bolehland stolen vehicle can be found in Batam and its nearby island. These stolen vehicle are legal import and can be owned there. Seller and Buyer know these are stolen cars originated from Bolehland.

• How about those smuggled to Africa countries? Shiploads of them there. Cari sampai dapat!!

• Painter on Jun 11, 2014 at 8:43 am

Anyone got issue with Cobra Connex tracker? Wonder whether it is theft-proof.