Toyota Camry Hybrid sighted at JPJ – UMW Toyota set for comeback to the tax-free hybrid game

CAMRY-HYBRID-JPJ-3

It’s time for Sam Loo to go green again – the Toyota Camry Hybrid has been sighted by our spyman ApexKit at JPJ, complete with a fresh registered number plate no less.

Last we heard, the Toyota Camry Hybrid will be locally assembled, which means this car will qualify for duty exemptions for hybrid cars under the 2014 NAP, which is set to last until the end of 2015. Last we heard, it is expected to be priced a little higher than the current range-topping Camry 2.5V, which costs RM181k.

The previous NAP’s tax breaks for CBU hybrid cars have ended, so you can’t buy the Prius and Prius C anymore, not at affordable prices anyway.

The Camry Hybrid has some additional aerodynamic features over the regular Camry, such as the ‘vortex generators‘ shown above integrated into the wing mirror mounts, designed to help with cruising aerodynamics. Airflow improving ‘aero-corners’ are strategically placed in front of the front wheels and behind the rear wheels. 

The new two-piece front grille design uses a smaller upper grille and a larger lower grille that improve cooling efficiency by enhancing aerodynamic flow via reduced resistance. And of course, there’s the Hybrid Synergy Drive badging at the rear.

The hybrid system is similiar to the one found in the Lexus ES 300h, comprising of a 160 PS/213 Nm 2.5 litre 2AR-FXE single VVT-i Atkinson cycle petrol engine and a 143 PS/270 Nm electric motor, all of which send power to the wheels via an eCVT system.

toyota-camry-hybrid-klims 088

Total system output for the Hybrid Synergy Drive system in the Camry Hybrid is 205 PS, allowing a century sprint time of 8.6 seconds, 1.1 seconds faster than the Camry 2.5V‘s 9.7 seconds. Fuel consumption is rated at an average 19.6 km per litre.

The Camry Hybrid also includes a new Steering-assisted Vehicle Stability Control (S-VSC) system that adjusts power, the electric power steering and braking to retain driver control of the car.

We’ll leave you with a gallery of the Camry Hybrid from the car’s preview at KLIMS13 last year. We’ll be back with more news on the car’s launch date as soon as we can.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ben yap on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:15 pm

expensive and not worth the money spend. this car is not going to capture any market share.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 8
    • Vincent on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:25 pm

Poorly-rated. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 111
      • civicEK on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:08 pm

dey bro, only afford accordana? with the price of accordana we can buy k3 u know that?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
        • hybrid on Jun 11, 2014 at 7:08 am

could be my next car after wildtrak. Please put more airbags, electronic parking brake with auto hold, & paddle shift please

• Same L0r on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:28 am

Sigh, i gonna be very busy again.

Since it share same engine and gearbox with Lexus, you could consider it a cheaper Lexus..

Comfort is there
            Luxury is there
            Power is there
            Fuel saving is there
            Safety protection is there…

Again it gonna sell like hot cakes. Honda has to give RM20k discount for its Accord. Kimchi cars will be even worse

• WhySamLooFker on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:11 pm

What is this green got to do with Sam Loo the junior uncle sales man ?

• Nazri and Sons on Jun 11, 2014 at 10:41 am

This Camry in the US is priced at USD$26,000. This is the CBU Japan Made. 100% Japan Made. It comes with 9 airbags.

At USD$26,000, the dealership in the US already make their profit and margin. So, they get this car direct from their principal in Japan much cheaper than USD$26,000

UMW will get this car from the same Principal in Japan. We can assume it will be far lower than the USD$26,000 price sold in Japan. Lets assume it is USD$20,000.

You CKD it, it will be even cheaper. So, the price will be far far lower than the USD$20,000.

I think the cost of this car UMW gets is less than RM$60,000.

But they sell this car at RM180,000 and above. Buta buta 3 x the profit margin.

Do you still want to trust UMW again? They cheat you gila gila. Even duty exempt also they cheat you gila gila.

Don’t forget also, the Camry had no VSC for years. UMW took the VSC out just to untung more at the expense of your safety and life. UMW don’t care you die or become vegetable in an accident so long as they untung more.

You trust a company like this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0r on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:34 am

Car price expensive here is because we want to sell expensive? Or the government wants us to sell expensive because of the 30-years-old never-grow-up Proton?

You think we couldn’t sell Vios at Saga price if MITI allows us to. We produce so many Vios that with each Vios earning RM10 only, our net profit is still higher than entire Proton revenue!

Before Proton is born, Malaysian could buy a Toyota with RM10k only.

It is up to you not to trust UMW but our sales figure show Malaysian trust UMW.

No need be emotional, everything on fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
          • The US Camry is made in Kentucky, mind you. This is what we call blind bashing.

• Md Shah on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:02 pm

Toyota got no standard lah. Always recall recall recall. But that is CBU.

CKD I don’t know lah. Lagi worse. Anytime Hybrid battery can explode.

http://www.thestar.com.my/News/World/2014/06/11/Toyota-recall-vehicles-airbag/

• ben yap on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:02 am

u still enjoy driving your sagaru, bro?

• Same L0r on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:36 am

The RM120k Proton is awaiting for him. The RM30k one will run three miles and break down, as Dr M said.

• So how much airbag in this Camry Hybrid?4 airbag only?

• carazy on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:34 pm

I barely saw new facelift camry on the road now. wander why?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 10
      • Hybrid means environmental Friendly and economical but this shit is not at all. Price hideous and fuel consumption and performance still can not beat modern diesel. No reason to buy this shit really. For those who eying for this please check your eye and BRAIN with specialist.

• Ganesh on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:16 pm

I cannot understand. If Mercedes can drop the s400L from original price of 900k to 588k, why this Camry is going higher in price?

With the tax savings it should be about 100k or lesser. Can someone help me understand. Can UMW be transparent and tell us the Japan price of this car?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 162 Thumb down 0
    • yup, its priced less than USD30k in the US. why more than 181k. Any reason that we don’t know Paul Tan?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 0
      • Low Budget on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:59 pm

UMW trying to exploit the ignorant Apek and Ah Soh who always supported Toyota blindly.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 76 Thumb down 1
        • Sor Chai Sam on Jun 10, 2014 at 11:56 pm

BIasa la… prius also only USD20k but UMW sell at RM140k tax free. Milking to the max 100% fat ass profits and laughing to the bank. So many sohai ah pek and ah soh still lining up to buy like hot cakes. Really din go to school.

• SorCahiSam2 on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:14 pm

Dont bullshit lah. USD 20K in US. Another sor chai like sam

• kington on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:13 pm

UMW must make money.. for themselves and BN.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 15
    • Akuma on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:28 pm

yeah you’re are right Ganesh! Why? Double standard!!

• ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 10, 2014 at 5:30 pm

I think they put the price slightly above the price of normal camry because they think people will not going to buy normal camry anymore if the hybrid is cheaper.

• With the new tax structure for locally assembled hybrid, there could be surprises.

• pondan on Jun 10, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Typical UMW… taking malaysian for a ride…

If follow the tax break, the price shld be lower than the previous Pruis since it was imported directly from Japan.

UMW.. apa lagi mau huh..

• azrai on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:23 pm

Hahaha…Sam Loo name’s mentioned.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 5
  • UMWbloodsucker on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:28 pm

Pssttt!!!……bodyroll and overpriced are UMW best friends maaaaa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 3
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:35 pm

it will be very interesting to see what these UMW jokers are going to do. Over the last 24 months since the Camry launched, they have been delivered blow after blow, first with a sucker punch from the Continental duo, the Pug 508 and Volkswagen Passat, then followed by the second dose from the extremely gorgeous Mazda 6, which used its “Shinari” looks to slay the Camry, and the third shot was from the value for money, and rather good looking Honda Accord. The whole coffin was sealed when the Nissan Teana launched with rather amazing specs for the price, and the Korean trio, the Sonata, i40 and Kia Optima K5 all playing the final sonata (pun intended) as the Camry was sent to the junkyard. Not to mention, many younger buyers were willing to save a bit and go for a smaller but safer car, like the Focus, Golf and Cerato, or those who could afford it, did go one step higher and took home a C class or a 3 series.

Basically the current Camry lineup is gone. I don’t deny the Camry is a good car, it is reliable, easy to maintain and comfortable, but the whole market has changed especially since the 6 and the idea of owning a Continental make became possible.

Toyota would need this hybrid to be placed at a really good price and really good spec to regain the lost market share. But something tells me, they are going to put it at about 160k or so and strip out quite a bit of stuff, and then sell a variant with “additional safety” as an option.

Let the games begin.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 149 Thumb down 6
    • I'M 22BUT I LIKETHENEWCAMRY on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:56 pm

Well said my bro. It is going to be interesting. Knowing now UMWT really has to do something is indeed interesting. Rather predictable in a way in terms of their high pricing and low features, but I hope it all changes. Its time.

*Insert Hunger Games Theme Song*

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
      • sudonano (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:22 pm

The Malaysian car industry itself is like a Hunger Games especially in the D segment and B segment.

*insert the Deep Shadows song used in the Hunger Games*

Just as in the song, there are a few crescendos that make it so interesting. It’s the same thing when everyone except Toyota are launching a new product. Cause everyone has their targets locked on UMW.

• kington on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:31 pm

Knowing them, they will offer good specs… after everyone has… delaying it as much as possible gives them the chance to make the most out of MAlaysians.

For now, they will probably remain where they are. This Camry would be sold slightly lower than the 2.5V because if this is pricier people would away from Toyota becuase the 2.5V isn’t seeling that well, i see more Mazda 6 2.5 than any other premium D segment in town.

• civicEK on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:10 pm

honda and kia did a really good job this round! kudos to them! :D

• Toyota, I always wonder why the steering control for volume +/- and other on the steering is like a video game remote control? It reminds me of Sega and Nintendo gameplay when i was a kid.

• Hukaka on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:41 pm

Aiyo Toyota mah,you not I not buy still got lot people buy.
    UMW marketing only they will know,
    Sales growh or down will tell what car it’s winning the market share.
    But now our economy sure will drop if the GST and fuel subsidy are change.
    Every thing rise except salary.
    Better buy A SLK to drive SLK mean small little kancil.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
  • may be a good step for UMW and the market as well. hopefully the spec given is exactly what mentioned here or higher. and why the price should go higher? get it down to sonata level!

• Datuk on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:47 pm

i hope that the original sam loo will get more incentive from toyota malaysia by selling this car, LOL, but please sam loo, dont compare this sushi with merc s class hybrid, its a different segment. Anyway Paul Tan, any news about honda accord hybrid? i think accord hybrid its true rival for this car.

• got_wood on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:48 pm

Unfortunately it’s in the car not by looking at it.

• YeapyEvo on Jun 10, 2014 at 2:49 pm

If Toyota is still hoping to claw back the sales from Honda Accord and Nissan Teana this Camry Hybrid should be selling at 138k. In Australia the top spec Camry HL is selling at AUD 41.5k only (41.5 x 3 x 10% sales tax = RM138k)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 0
  • Sam "Hailat" Loo on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:07 pm

So that means UMW won’t be facelifting the Camry anytime soon… unlike the US Camry…

• Any idea that Honda Accord Hybrid will introduce at here to compete with Camry hybrid !

• Denaihati on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:24 pm

now toyota have D segment hybrid here, i think honda, mazda and nissan should follow. and might be interesting and make it a step ahead.

• mmaker on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:28 pm

You wanna buy cheaper lexus ES300h? yeah you can buy this one

• samlok on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:44 pm

looks so cheap

• james on Jun 10, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Camry 2.5V Tax-free Langkawi price RM117k
    that mean hybrid motor system is damn expensive(RM63k)
    is it justified?
    only can happen in this Bolehland….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • Still the same crappy interior and less features than a jail.

• paparadzi (Member) on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:13 pm

It is still a 2.5 liter car. Knowing how cars above 2000 cc are discriminated against in this country, you’d prefer not to go there, hybrid or not.

Read again the rumored fuel subsidy reorganization and you’ll see my point.
    http://paultan.org/2014/06/03/new-system-rm5000-full-fuel-subsidies/

• trololol on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:17 pm

thailand taxi driver been driving this shiet long ago…

• errev on Jun 10, 2014 at 4:30 pm

then what happen to prius / c ,.. how about spare parts since limited units in malaysia,.. ?? my brother thinking to sell it ,.. fuh!!

• Sam's Best Friend on Jun 10, 2014 at 6:29 pm

Looks so ugly I want to puke. Better buy the Mazda 6. Futhermore, no saving in price and more expensive. Better buy Mazda 6.

• it’s 2500cc Hybrid.

With Low Tax being a hybrid, it will be same price as 2500cc.

Hence, the Best Value 2400cc/2500cc D-segment in the market.

being a Toyota Hybrid, expect this:
    1. Superb Powerful, more powerful than 2500cc.
    2. Full Safety + 7 airbags.
    3. 21km/L.
    4. 0-100km/h = 7 to 8 seconds only.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 17
  • Sam Loo (Ori) on Jun 10, 2014 at 8:36 pm

Sonata owners are super hailat now, with their 15month old prices plunging to RM35k

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
  • Border guy on Jun 10, 2014 at 10:07 pm

A jersey seller been using this car in golok about 1 year already… Every morning fill in at local pump station without fail…test drove it already…. So quiet…somehow it is faster than petrol car….the fuel consumption maybe about 2.0 civic…

• tishaban on Jun 11, 2014 at 9:18 am

I think UMW are blood sucking leeches but to be fair Paultan.org has been wrong about prices more than once before.

I’m wondering about the posted 0-100 performances though. The US based camry using the same 2AR-FE engine does 0-60mph in about 7.8 seconds so why is the posted 0-100kmh Malaysian Camry using the same 2AR-FE engine significantly slower?

• Cheaper Car on Jun 13, 2014 at 3:00 pm

Mathematically, you may need to compare with 0-62mph with 0-100kph.

Hopefully more no tax vehicle coming in Bolehland.