BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo CKD now available: 328i GT Sport RM330k, 320d GT Luxury RM300k

BMW-3GT 3

The locally assembled BMW 3 Series Gran Turismo will be available at all BMW showrooms this weekend. While the CBU range was limited to the 328i GT Sport, the new CKD line-up consists of a BMW 328i GT Sport which retails for RM329,800 and a BMW 320d GT Luxury which retails for RM298,800. Both prices are OTR without insurance. The CKD price for the 328i GT Sport is a RM19k reduction from the CBU price.

BMW 328i Gran Turismo Sport Line – RM329,800

The BMW 328i GT Sport Line is powered by a 2.0 litre turbocharged four cylinder engine producing 245 horsepower at 5,000 rpm and 350 Nm of torque from 1,250-4,800 rpm. This engine is mated to an 8-speed Sport Automatic transmission, sending power to the rear wheels. The 100 km/h sprint is achieved in 6.1 seconds.

Exterior-wise, the locally assembled BMW 328i GT Sport should look identical to the CBU, wearing the same Sport Line kit and 18 inch Double-spoke Style 397 wheels wrapped with 225/45R18 tyres. In the interior, you get Dakota leather, aluminium trim, a sport leather steering with paddle shifters, and sports seats with prominent side bolsters.

In terms of safety equipment, you get six airbags, DSC stability control along with its ABS, ASC, CBC and DTC complements. There’s also a powered tailgate. The iDrive system has an 8.8 inch display with GPS navigation and you get a 9 speaker HiFi system like the CBU model, but the CKD model gets an additional rear view camera and keyless entry.

BMW 320d Gran Turismo Luxury Line – RM298,800

The BMW 320d GT Luxury is a new variant. It’s the first time the Luxury Line trim has been available on a 320d in Malaysia – you can currently only get Modern Line or M Sport with the F30 320d Sedan. The 2.0 litre turbodiesel engine does 184 horsepower at 4,000 rpm and 380 Nm of torque from 1,750-2,750 rpm, doing the 100 km/h sprint in 7.9 seconds. The gearbox is an 8-speed Sport automatic, driving the rear wheels.

The Luxury Line gives the 320d GT Luxury a different exterior look compared to the Sport Line – there is more chrome, and it’s paired with a different 18 inch alloy wheel design – Multi-spoke Style 416, wrapped with 225/45R18 tyres. On the interior, you get Dakota leather, and Fineline Anthracite wood trim.

The equipment list is identical to the CKD 328i GT Sport except there is no reverse camera or keyless entry. This explains the big gap between the 320d Sedan and the 320d GT compared to the smaller gap between the 328i Sedan and 328i GT – the 320d GT’s equipment levels are higher.

So if a 3 Sedan or an X3 doesn’t really do it for you, perhaps a locally assembled 3 Series GT then? To find out more, read our 3-Series GT Review or use CarBase.my to compare the differences between the CBU 328i GT, CKD 328i GT and CKD 320d GT.

GALLERY: BMW 328i GT Sport

GALLERY: BMW 320d GT Luxury

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kuntakinte on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:10 am

Its a beauty! Looks like a mini x6 and the rear space iswelcome. Hope they offer a pre-reg unit soon. The 328i Gt will be my choice although I’m a big fan of BMW diesels. The 28i 4 pot is so responsive and rev happy when I tested the 428i coupe a while back

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 10
    • mango on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:48 pm

i smell sales man..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 11
      • Kuntakinte on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:25 pm

I smell an idiot! Yes, affirmative!

Just because someone praises a car you can’t afford, he’s gotta be a salesman.

Grow up, man!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 9
      • Md Shah on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:52 pm

Never buy a new BMW. Always buy 2nd hand.

The price of the 1st year depreciation is so great, you might just get a heart attack. I just bought a BMW 520i, mileage about 5000KM, 2013 July model with still 6 months warranty left for RM250,000. A brand new 2014 BMW 520i is RM370,000.

So, in 11 months, the car can drop RM120,000.

The same with this 328iGT and 320d GT. If you are interested, just wait 1 year. You can get the 328i GT for RM200,000.

Usually 2nd year onwards it stablilizes and depreciates abt RM20,000 to RM30,000 per year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 8
      • BMW 2 Years Warranty on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Why would someone buy a trash that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts.

Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 25
        • jacka55 on Jun 11, 2014 at 7:24 pm

2 years warranty no problem as BMW is very reliable and high quality car not like mercedes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 13
          • brown kid on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:43 am

both are the same, both will be reliable. Its just depend on how you take care of it. Just dont be like someppl where only can buy but service in the cheapest ‘ulu ntah mane dtg workshop ntah’.. so dont mad if the car break alot

• datuk on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:19 am

….with 2 years warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
  • UGLY car, put your money somewhere else. just my opinion!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • shawal on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:35 am

Wow…
    A worthy upgrade for current ssangyong owners

Remove ron95 subsidy, remove car tax, then we can buy at reasonable price.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 1
  • TheRealMaserati on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:19 pm

Rubbish car with a rubbish price. Makes the Merc A45 look like the bargain of the year!

Ckd bmws quality are awefully terrible. After a few mths u will start to hear rattles and squeaks all over the car.

Plus this car doesnt feel powerful at all on the road. It feels so normal to be commanding a 330k price tag!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 24
    • Agreed. With this kind of price tag, the 3 pointed star A45 beast offers exceptional value. BMW – overpriced, stinge warranty and terrible reliability. Zzzz…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • besi buruk on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:21 pm

Macai-macai cannot afford 3-series GT, boleh beli Proton Gen2 lah….kasi free sama lu kedai scrap iron…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • pondan on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:06 pm

Susah la bang. Atuk nak naik harga.. 120k ribu tu… betul…

BMW of the east… konon.

• seancorr on Jun 11, 2014 at 12:55 pm

Woot 320d price too high. It only has bigger rims, Idrive with navigation, powered boot and a slightly better sound system compared to the F30 320d and they’re asking a lot more! With that 300k price I would have expected reverse camera and comfort access thrown in together.

• bmw4life on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:36 pm

even tho im a big bmw fan, but the quality of the bmw CKD cars are just awefully pathethic!!!!

my stupid 328i, rattles since i first got it.

all kinds of squeaks and rattls until im so #@$@$@#%#@%#@%#@@# FED UP!!

BMW CKD cars are a big NO NO.

gosh i regret terribly.. need to serve thru remaining 8 years of loan. regret 4 life.

if only the fittings can be better assembled..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 8
    • The misperception that a CBU car is better than a CKD is overblown.

I have an a6 hybrid. It’s a nice car to drive but not without its minor gremlins. I had a faulty air cond sensor, some suspension noises, water stain on some rubber seals, slightly misaligned doors. Most of them fixed in a couple of visits.

Well, there, German CBU for you. At the end of the day, there are bound to be lemons, CBU, CKD or whatever. Just count your lucky stars

• If you have not enough money, go for GEN2, it has BMW DNA.
      People who buy BMW normally buy cash or the most 4 years loan.

• Akuma on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:41 pm

BMW is a very powerful car! right?

• kctan on Jun 11, 2014 at 1:56 pm

330,000->290,000->250,000->210,000->170,000->
    130,000-> 90,000-> 50,000

every year value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 10
  • WHAT! Is this car used for transporting elite black-eyed panda? So, let the panda shit in this car.
    Giler, CKD pricing at more than 300k.

• cobra on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:17 pm

I am a fan of conti cars and driving one today. Some months ago, I drove a friend’s E90 320i, and found that the car seems to have lost the BMW feel like it was before. It feels light, filmsy and feels very much like driving a Japanese marque.

In the early days, my dad was driving a 3 and 7 series and I remember the feeling was great. Can really feel the difference.

Am I just feeling this way or is it true ? Maybe some BMW owners can share their thoughts.

• Daemon on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:50 pm

Not really, modern BMW are becoming more like Benz and the modern Benz is becoming more like BMW too. So the original driving feel of each of the marque is lost on the newer models.

• On its early days, all BMWs are NA (natural aspirated) engines especially it’s 6-potters :) truly UDM but it’s had since replaced by 4-cylinders turbocharged engines even in 5-series.
      I used to drive E60 525i and the experience was great. Now I tried F10 528 but somehow it felt different although it’s 245hp and torque are higher than E60.. Can’t blame BMW and other Marques because they have to comply with strict EU omission regulation.
      If you ask those BMW old-timers, they’d always say “nothing beats displacement”

• Kelvin on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:41 pm

It could have been the stock 16 inch wheels. I feel the difference too when I drive 18 inch in summer and change to 17 inch in winter.

It could be that you were driving a different car and transitioned into your friend’s car, therefore, you felt the lightness.

• Megane on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:06 pm

True in every sense.Better stick with the Merc, it feels more special and solid

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 8
  • Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:53 pm

what is it with bmw and big butts

• kcng (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Still havr Gen2 DNA over it.

• Nothing wrong with it, most people including me who drives Gen2 always feel their car has BMW DNA.

• bambee on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Bought a 320d 2 years ago just right after warranty over and nothing but problem that engineers cannot solve. Thinking of selling but still owe the bank so much because of bad resell value. Lesson learn, don’t buy something which distributor it self got no confident of giving warranty.