Perodua ‘Axia’ Global EEV leaked onto the internet – here’s what we know about the new hatchback

Perodua-Axia

An undisguised photo of what appears to be Perodua’s next car was leaked onto the internet today. The photo seems to have been snapped inside some kind of storage area. Today we’ll show you an artist’s impression based on that photo, prepared by our rendering whiz buddy Theophilus Chin.

The design of the car that was leaked looks rather radical, like an interpretation of the Lexus spindle grille on a small hatchback. This leads us to believe that this will not be how the basic model will look like. It could be some kind of ‘Axia SE’ or ‘Axia Extreme’ model, if Perodua continues with the Myvi variant naming scheme.

A tamer look would be quite suitable for the baseline model – can you imagine the streets filled with angry-looking hatchbacks like this?

Will the new hatchback be called the Perodua Axia?

Perodua filed for the trademark ‘Axia’ with the Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO) in February 2014, under class 12 and class 37, which are generally car-related. Then in late May 2014, it filed for two additional trademarks – ‘Atrivia’ and ‘Eliana’, under the same classes.

When the Axia name was discovered, Perodua president Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said it was not the only name submitted, and that Perodua had not decided on a name. So it could either be Axia, Atrivia or Eliana for now. Which name do you prefer? We like Axia, as it’s short, sweet, and follows Perodua’s current two-syllable, four-letter naming convention.

Is this new Perodua based on a Daihatsu car?

The two photos above show a Daihatsu Ayla with light disguise running around with a trade plate in Malaysia. Perodua says its new Global EEV hatchback will be built on a licensed Daihatsu platform, but will use its own body. The Daihatsu Ayla itself is based on the Japanese market Daihatsu Mira e:S, and the new Perodua will likely share this platform as well.

From the leaked photo, it looks like Perodua has gone with the tried and tested formula of giving a Daihatsu its own-designed front and rear end. The whole front end, including the headlamps, are bespoke. The big gaping mouth design seems to have been inspired by the original Daihatsu design but in inverted fashion – while the Daihatsu grille is wider at the top, Perodua’s grille is wider at the bottom.

What will the interior look like?

Perodua gave us a preview of what the new hatchback’s interior will look like at last year’s KLIMS13 motor show. There was a model interior on show called the Perodua Global Model A (GMA) Segment Space concept.

Compare it to the Daihatsu Ayla’s interior as well as the Mira e:S interior and you can see that the Perodua interior is closer to the more conventional-looking Ayla interior styling rather than the Mira e:S interior, which is done in a quirkier Japanese style.

What engines will the new hatchback be available with?

perodua-engine-details

So far we’ve only heard of a single engine, and it was previewed at last year’s KLIMS13 show as well. Perodua calls it the 1KR, obviously based on Daihatsu’s 1KR-FE three-cylinder engine. The 998cc all-aluminium 12-valve DOHC engine (first for a Perodua) will produce 66 PS at 5,000 rpm and 87 Nm of torque at 3,600 rpm. Compression ratio has been increased to 11:1, however the new engine lacks variable valve timing.

Being made of aluminium, it weighs 69 kg, which is 10 kg lighter than the 1.0 litre cast iron block engine that Perodua currently uses. This is the same engine used in the Daihatsu Ayla, where it is mated to either a five-speed manual or a four-speed automatic.

Perodua claims the new engine will be able to deliver a minimum fuel consumption of 20-22 km per litre. The Ayla is claimed to be able to do that, which qualifies it for Indonesia’s Low Cost Green Car programme requirements.

Where will the new Perodua be built?

Daihatsu Kyushu-7

The new Perodua will be built at a new Perodua factory which is currently being built next to the current one. The new RM790 million 65,000 sq ft factory is said to mirror Daihatsu Motor Kyushu’s best practices, technology and low defect rate – we’ve detailed some of those in a visit to DKC’s Nakatsu Plant 2 last year. All key features of Nakatsu Plant 2, from the jigless concept to slippers and water-based paint, will be emulated by the new Perodua plant. A group of 130 Perodua staff have undergone training at DKC, and will be the ‘trainers’ back in Malaysia.

“The new plant will have an improved DPU rate of 0.05%, which is a world standard. We plan to achieve a world-class level through this new plant,” Perodua executive director Zainal Abidin Ahmad told us, adding that the current DPU rate at Perodua is between 0.06% and 0.08%.

When is the launch date?

Perodua has remained tight-tipped on this so far, but we’re fairly sure it will be launched this year. It’s the year of the small hatchbacks, with the market eagerly awaiting for both the Perodua hatchback and the Proton GSC to be launched.

They don’t compete in the same segment though, with the Proton GSC gunning for the B-segment market (Kia Rio, Perodua Myvi) while this new Perodua is an A-segment car (Kia Picanto, Hyundai i10).

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Pak cik on Jun 11, 2014 at 10:59 pm

*looks at side mirror*
    I better give GTR his way

*once Axia passes*
    It’s the Axia =__=

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 70 Thumb down 8
    • Mak Cik on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:08 pm

fuel savings & nice city car :)

Tak sabar nak order, bila keluar?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 38 Thumb down 18
      • Salesperson kata bulan 8. Dah boleh start booking sekarang.. Free booking je.. perlu ic dan lesen memandu.. :D

Saya dah book.. haha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
        • betul ke da boleh booking. salesman pun xtau ape2 bile tanye

• scoresport.org on Jun 12, 2014 at 11:30 am

aku pun nk book

• When are they gonna start making REAL cars? ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 15
          • kzm (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:27 pm

i can see steering inside for sure it is real car not toy car…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
          • Same L0r on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:12 pm

People have been so longggg in GSC cinema for Proton GSC and Perodua Axia is coming soon.

Dr M also feel no hope for GSC thus he decide to sell RM120k car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 9
        • da boleh book ke???…sy tnya saleman dia ckp xthu..and then hrga pn x pasti lg bpe..

• Look carefully on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Ahem, GTR is much wider. This is more like a smaller Myvi (look at those headlamps).

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:14 am

i like the design better than the donor car(ayla)..hope the spec oso better than ayla

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
    • policeman on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Copy Lancer grille. Celaka betul.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • The next Ikan Keli after Vios?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 16
    • kzm fanboy on Jun 12, 2014 at 12:05 pm

If Proton GSC fuel economy 30km/Liter better than Perodua Axia, I’ll walk from Tg Malim to Shah Alam wearing only tiger-stripes seluar dalam.

Any takers?? Wanna join me??

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 7
      • sugar glider on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:44 pm

Count me in!

• farghmee on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:13 pm

Jangan bro..
        Kalu tiba2 gsc tu hybrid/elektrik, abes malu.

Melainkan kalu anda cik adik manis ;-)

• Same L0r on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:40 pm

HAHA… count me in for the run. You think all hybrid can reach 30km/l? Honda Insight max also can reach 23km/l!

Proton will in fact declare GSC hybrid if it reach 16km/l.

Wy GSC hybrid?
          Junk fuel consumption + 5 star safety features = Hybrid

• Jeffrey on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:04 pm

The rim from the photo is the same from the 1.3 S series Myvi, the side view mirror should be the same as Myvi as well. The headlights couldn’t be more similar but I think there is DRL on the end of the indicator lamp swooping up vertically. The opening slit between the hood and the front grill reminds me of Prius C and what were they thinking with that huge grill ? Mitsubishi wanna be ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 12
    • Matchy on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:15 am

This is just a rendering… the rim in the actual photo is different.

• Perodua on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:06 pm

like it (y) thumb to Perodua

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 10
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:07 pm

I am not so sure if I am digging the looks. I saw the leaked photos, and honestly I think the MyVi and the current Viva looks like it has a friendlier face.

Crucially, safety would be something Perodua should also look at. They are the only passenger car manufacturer in Malaysia who do not have ANY model with ESP, side airbags, curtain airbags, 5 star NCAP rating, nothing. And they are selling A LOT of cars.

Multiple faces and body kits are not going to help in 2014. Malaysians are aware of the importance of safer cars now.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 84 Thumb down 2
    • Ray (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:51 pm

Hmm true, but the omission of side+curtain airbags can still be forgiven as models like the baseline Viva is selling for about 25k. Two would be decent for the (lower spec) A segment models, but the Myvi and Alza deserves more airbags definitely, at that price point. Perhaps ESP should at least be included in higher spec models. But selling models without ABS?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Ah Beng King on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:27 am

I beg to differ, most people still don’t even wear rear seat belt let alone use child safety seats. Only people on this forum care about safety. Others only care about brand name and horsepower

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
      • sudonano (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:43 am

Well, I don’t see a reason why they cannot produce a proper car with a decent safety cage, and 6 airbags as standard with ESP. The Dacia Sandero is selling for 6000 quid, which is about 30k ringgit. It is the size of a Fiesta, and has a more advanced engine, and yet it has a suite of safety to give it a decent Euro NCAP score. The Axia or whatever is one size smaller, and has a much simpler engine (The Dacia uses a 0.9 turbocharged TCe engine or a 1.5 turbo diesel dCi engine.) so whatever savings there can be moved out to something else.

That is the thing. When automakers start producing cars with these features, people will be aware when they walk into the showroom. Its a mess created thanks to the manufacturers not keeping up with times and we not having anywhere to speak out, before paultan.org came.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 2
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:23 pm

The Sandero isn’t exactly a safe car. I believe it has a 3 star rating? And while you can get some additional safety features putting it on par with the Camry, in terms of specs, you do have to pay extra for it. The 6000 quid you mention don’t include air conditioning btw.

However it is still great value of course, even with some extras.

It would be nice if Renault Nissan could bring Dacia models to Malaysia, CKDed or even fully produced locally. Maybe badge them as Datsun so locals recognize the brand.

• random passerby on Jul 19, 2014 at 3:15 pm

Also, i10. Selling for RM50k++ with 4-star rating. Cheaper than a “high-spec” MyVi.

Link for 2014’s rating:
            http://www.euroncap.com/results/hyundai/i10/545.aspx

• Edward on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Don’t forget that the Sandero’s most basic trim, Access, uses a 1.2 litre engine.

• mystvearn on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:20 pm

I don’t like the front grille. Trying too hard to copy Mitsubishi ASX or Lancer

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 20
  • Ray (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:24 pm

First of all, Axia is the best name among all, short, simple, sweet and nice. Eliana and Atrivia are both a bit too feminine, and a car that’s going to be driven by college goers should sound a bit more unisex.

The looks are decent, a bit better than the Ayla, Agya duo. It’s not too radical upfront actually, but the rear styling is a bit too retro. Perhaps LED tail lamps can spice up the butt? (I see bulbs, though)

Speaking as a Viva owner, the car is pretty good and all rounded in my opinion. The handling might not be as great as the Kelisa, as it tends to get a bit jerky and unstable at speeds exceeding 90km/h, the engine is a bit noisy with pretty bad NVH, but after all, what do you expect from a budget car? It’s easy to maintain with decent fuel economy and has ample legroom at the back. The safety kit is okay at a price point of 40k but side note, those wing mirrors can be quite expensive to replace (mine’s the EZi variant with turn indicators and auto retractable feature), each one can cost up to 700 per piece excluding paintjobs.

Rectify those weaknesses and you might have a decent A segment Perodua. Perhaps better insulation, firmer seats and a softer suspension tuning (current one is too hard to my liking). And mind throwing in ESP?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
    • zuan mata on Jun 12, 2014 at 12:07 am

The name “Axia” came from old ad sabun cuci pinggan Axion..do you remember??his wife said : Axion ke Axia..tunjukkan kat saya..that idea came from that i guess hehe

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 52 Thumb down 14
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:19 am

40k for a Viva is too much. A Saga with 2 airbags is much safer, it’s even safer than the Myvi. Let alone the GSC, which should be miles ahead.

I’m curious how the Axia will do… I’m sceptical though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 15
      • Ray (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:15 am

Have to agree that specs-wise, the Saga FLX is indeed a better choice than a Viva Elite. I got my Viva in 2007, and back then the pre-facelift Saga was only offered in single airbag form without ABS. There were also claims of it being very fuel thirsty and maintenance issues were present. Since all I needed back then was a spare car to do groceries in the weekend with about 45k to spend, the Viva ticks all my boxes. But now, the 44k asking price for a full spec Viva is a bit too high with the better specced Saga SV around.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • The EZi`s mirror cost RM830+- each

• Low Budget on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:34 pm

RM700 per piece, Oh what a price. Many car owners need to change the side wing mirrors due to ‘kena hentam’ from the sides by motor bikes, as such P2 should design cheap and simple manually operated side mirrors since P2 cars are cheapo cars.

• Just make this car with the same safety features that they get in japan

ESP/ESC should be made standard across the line as the owners tend to tailgating the bmw & merc on plus highway eventhough they have skinny tires & no ESP

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:23 am

u maybe mistaken between agyo and agya/ayla rite..

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:24 am

Erm, is this car available in Japan? Seems to me like it is a purely Indonesian car, it was even designed by an Indonesian, and by the Indonesian branch of Daihatsu it seems.

So a downgrade even to previous Peroduas…

• theanswer on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:40 am

purely indonesian? designed by indonesian? did u know daihatsu indonesia use our myvi design as their sirion?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:17 pm

Yes, I do know that. So what? The Ayla is only built in Indonesia.

“The Ayla was designed to meet the Indonesian rules that include fuel efficiency of at least 20 kilometers per liter of gasoline and local assembly.”
          http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-07-19/daihatsu-to-consider-cars-cheaper-than-ayla-for-emerging-markets.html

Mark Widjaja, an Indonesian (you can look him up), is listed as the designer.

And so on. Now there isn’t detailed information on what engineering team developed the car (obviously…), but I think it’s quite likely that it is an entirely Indonesian product (apart from platform and drivetrain), like the Avanza and Innova.

• Nak tipu pun agak agakla

• fatchicken on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:38 pm

where’s the Kenari new model?

• Das Auto on Jun 12, 2014 at 12:59 am

They survey d. No one will buy so sent straight to junkyard..

• Contender on Jun 12, 2014 at 12:05 am

What is all the fuss on Perodua new model ? Look no further, just follow Daihatsu/Toyota model …. after all it is just a rebadge with local parts and modified bumpers etc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 9
    • theanswer on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:42 am

perodua rebadge wrong, inspira rebadge wrong…proton in house made wrong..everything is wrong with msian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:53 pm

How old are you kid? Don’t know what is NAP? They ve to justify to get national car status.. or you can end up buying Daihatsu or Toyota plus excise duty on CKD.

Is that to hard to understand or you were not born yet when first national car rolled out. It was from mitsu platform (collaboration with Mitsubishi). . Proton Saga. . & still survive today. .

Gen 2, tiara, iswara etc.. all dead.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • bloody perodua. this is the best car untuk membeli sayur. n can go langgar lobang urban di jalanraya without crying.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 7
    • ayamitik on Jun 12, 2014 at 11:31 am

hope this new axia will not inherit the symptom of bunyi mcm atap zink when it heavy rain or downpour. Hint cost cutting everywhere.

terbang is good. can evade traffic jam. i guarantee most of the drive will push the engine to the max in the highway all the way.

no esc, no abs, no 6 airbag..takpa. it is a perodua ok. invincible perodua.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • More traffic on the road! Wish we had a great public transportation system like Singapore. I would definitely skip driving! MRT project is not a perfect solution to traffic, hope they can provide an excellent feeder bus service! Pick up/drop passengers at multiple locations!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
  • Obviously (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 12:47 am

I think that even if this isn’t the baseline model, there will still be a lot of these angry-looking cars on the road. Most of the new MyVi’s I see on the road are of the SE varity, be it 1.3L or 1.5L. I think most of the buyers are willing to fork over a few thousand more for a sportier looking car, along with the slight trim upgrades that would bring.

• wow its another japanese car, ohh malaysian car i meant..

• good enough for budget purposes

• SadGuy2 on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:49 am

Seriously very ugly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 11
  • Keris Jawa on Jun 12, 2014 at 1:54 am

Fiesta wannabe!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 10
  • Azmeerhunt on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:09 am

Slightly prius c…but in perodua model

• Gareld on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:51 am

Seriously? ?

Extremely ugly car!! YUCKS!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
  • OMG! Perodua can do better than that! What a piece of shit!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 11
  • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:45 am

Looks fine to me.. angry hatchback. . Not bad.. some Lexus looks there.. some myvi look also..

If FC is good.. this car will sell like hot cakes..

Regardless what some of you said..

Daihatsu’s platform always sell.. it is still the most reliable car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 7
  • more rubbish car on the road

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • Proton smell danger!….GSC nowhere to be launch, and the existing Preve+Suprima had their own problem create by Proton themselves….seat berbulu, wiring harness problem, car suddenly stop, quality like sh**, fit and finish still like 25 years old…….proton is shaking and sweating now, call everybody, help us..help us…our vendor and workers is so bad with their atitude, lazy, but help us until end of this world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 31
    • i smell dumb person

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 7
      • He is talking fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 6
        • xander on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:38 pm

I smell another dumb person

• Of course. You smell yourself.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:34 pm

Yep he’s right.. & you are dumb & stink.. with 820 millions lost now. . What do you think Protong can do? This Axia will make P1 bleed like hell. P2 even built a factory to build the new engine. . U think P2 did that for no reason?

Bad news for Protong indeed.

• I smell 2 dumb person

• asyik mengaitkan dengan proton.

• car car on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:02 am

Front look like mirage and rear look like hyundai i10…..haha .

• Lane Tamer on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:07 am

Whatever name you call this car, definitely, they will be flying there and hete on the highways…

• Most money-oriented Malaysians didn’t know about A, B, C, D, Segment

• RIP Proton….Good job Perodua !!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 21
  • if this car goes on sale soon, Proton GSC will have no chance against it. it is doomed already as it will not be able to compete this this car. I am not a fan of P2 but this is a fact. specially GSC with out-dated 1.3L CamPro engine is no way close to P2 Japanese engine.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 18
    • ayamitik on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:50 am

i beg to differ. this so call new perodua 1KR-DE is a cust cutting version of the existed ej-ve. The old engine have DVVT or VVT while the new advance version ommited the VVT mechanism and replace it with air resonator. Air resonator mechanism is the same technology used in campro aifm and aifm+. this new cut cost engine is a downgrade tech.

while it 1kr-de is full alluminium, but the omission of vvt mechanism mean one thing. Cost cut everywhere.

so dont get so exited with the new axia engine, it is the downgraded and downtuned engine from the original.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 7
      • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:36 pm

Oh.. downgrade? Downtune? Bla bla.. Can’t you read there 20-22km/L.. you know what it means? Very close to hybrid cars dy.. & how is campros doing? Can you give some best figures here? Yes it may uses air resonator. . But does it means campros are better.. please give your best shot on FC.. any model of campro.. then you can talk kork on downgrade or downtune..

May be Perodua should use Proton’s campro is it? Is that what you trying to say?

Prrfft.. syok sendiri. .

4S.. sendiri syok, sendiri rosak bla bla.. pinjam from Same lor..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 9
        • ayamitik on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:53 pm

dear motorhead,

which points did u not get it? it is a fact.
          1. It omitted vvt mechanism. replace it with air resonator. hint cost cut.
          2. it is a small cc engine. couple with feather weight body and chasis (hint milo tin), it can do wonders. My old kelisa have same kind of fc. 20 -22 km per litre. Old engine withour dvvt.
          3. this is about axia. but if u insist, proton dont have anything below 1.3 litre capacity engine. general rule, smaller displacement consume less but sacricife power.
          4. 3 cyclinder engine is a pain in term of vibration. 4 inline much refine.
          5. my old kelisa had already achieve 20-22 km/litre fc. new engine that so call eev…should or could achieve better.
          6. I am too old for this kind of budak sekolah type of comment.
          adios.

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:25 pm

Dude, no offence but if you want to flame you should at the very least READ CAREFULLY.

What he meant to say was that the ‘Air resonator’ (Whatever that means) is a ‘cost cutting’ method employed by Proton In thier IAFM thingy that is now supposedly being used in this new engine by the Perodua according to our buddy here.

If those are real world figures they are impressive regardless of make.I guess hearing the word Campro/Proton really grinds your gears. :)

Not a P1 or P2 fanboy as I drive neither. Just pointing out the obvious.:)

• I know you don’t want to see the word “campro”, but Ayamitik’s comment is more rational than your reply. Don’t you see the whole point of his argument – COST CUTTING. Or simply put, this new engine use a cheaper method [resonator] to achieve fuel efficiency compared with VVT.. Do you agree? if not then please put forward your argument with some facts…and do it in rational way.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 10:02 am

Well you want rationale..

why not you read properly.. compression ratio ve increased. Check out hp & tork.. also increase. . The previous Viva is 60hp.. tork 90.. so now you said down grade with using air resonator? Why not you look at the engine as a whole? Now also aluminium.. lighter.. can you explain where is the downgrade here? Smart@xxhol engineers? From the figures please explain which numbers go down? Engine oil also ve change. . 0-20W.. these type of oil normally for hi compress engine. .

Well motorhead don’t like berlagak like smart@sshol, because all the technical info is there.. yes.. sometimes I like to kid around. . Ve some fun..But before you judge a person..

Baca betul2 la…

& please. . Let the car roll out.. then later can talk kork.

Bunch of butthurt.

• Same L0r on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:23 pm

If it is the same engine with Kelisa, why bother launching new one? Toyota is not like Proton, Toyota doesn’t have this protection that protection and it need to compete in the world not only in Malaysia.

Don’t comment before you have test drive the new engine. Mitsubishi Attrage/Mirage also 3 cylinders, Ford Fiest eco boost also 3 cylinders. So why so scare?

Proton never have engine below 1.3l is simply because its junk engine can’t even move the car. Now you see the difference between inferior and advance technology.

Wait till you see the new engine then u comment, 3 cylinder is the trend for fuel saving and vibration has been fixed.

Many many many years ago, people give up atkinson engines. Now it shine the world in every Prius with proud.

• Toyota Vios old engine in a new body. who cares. at least it still toyota. Proton engine doesnt move a car what a stupid statement. lots of proton car prowling and moving on a malaysian street

• motorbart on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:46 pm

20-22km/l only for highway driving, when in bad traffic jams will go down drastically. Better spend more for fuel rather than die syok sendiri.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:57 am

Wah belum keluar pon sudah tahu.. nujum pak belalang ka? Haa?

Talk like you are the designers of the engine. . If you are really the designers.. I pass..

I don’t care if it cost cutting or what.. as long as it works and ve some good figures there..

Perodua mau untung? Well siapa x mau untung.. as long as x rugi billions or ringgit & keep asking tax payer money for help.

We ll see after this car roll out.. see the actual performance. . Only then.. especially you ayamitik can open your mouth again. . Let the figures speak.. not your mouth.

Im looking forward if it can beat Mirage or some of Honda’s hybrid.. but expect can’t beat Prius C.. as it fully assist by battery in certain conditions. .this car is not a hybrid.

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:10 am

Wow.. I’m amazed with this guy Motorhead. Especially after noticing he sounds dang serious for what he said.

• Same L0r on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:29 pm

Government will increase the fuel price soon in September. Don’t simply talkkok like “better spend more money for fuel”.

Later we all see you upgrade from Proton to Honda EX5. Then you can pump as much petrol as you like.

• dumb but acting wise.

• azmi dont be foolish gsc use brand new engine call nfe its different then old campro

• Low Budget on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:44 pm

TDM says Proton will go Global with World Class models.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:29 pm

The GSC is a Myvi competitor, not a Viva/Axia competitor. It will most likely be a much better car, even than the Myvi, but it will probably be priced that way too.

• Launch now or launch later. Proton gsc already no chance. Even p2 not launching also gsc got no chance.

• Francis Tan on Jun 12, 2014 at 12:07 pm

Just a sharing. Eliana is a good name to use. I named my daughter that 4y ago at birth.

However, it is a Hebrew or Jewish name which means my God answers. Anti Semitics will have a field day with this.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:07 am

Danial is a Hebrew name, but many malays use it.

Hypocrites gonna butthurt.

• Why Hebrew name related with this car forum? What’s the point you’re telling? LOL

• kia picanto 2014 have all.lot more cheaper too.who said if you need all feature you need to pay more?the old pm said that.lol

• Denaihati on Jun 12, 2014 at 12:35 pm

The main purpose small car, saving fuel. with fuel consumption of 20-22 km per litre no doubt meet the purpose.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:40 pm

They don’t understand kei kar concept. .or choose not to understand. . Because the other side can’t sell their cars.. so marah customers la.. apa lagi..

sendiri syok.. sendiri mati..

• motorbart on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:44 pm

Kei kar is moving coffin, if you die you cannot drive.

“sendiri syok.. sendiri mati..”

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:02 am

Who are you? a God?

Last car you will be in.. is a coffin.. Regardless what car you re driving (must be a proton)

Sendiri cakap.. sendiri syok.. sendiri mati (bankrupt).. just wait.. reported 800 millions lost dy.

• motorbart on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:36 pm

Me no God, that’s why need safer car. And who are you, God?

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 2:49 pm

It is you who justify this & that are coffin. . Lu sapa? Puspakom? Why not you sue P2, the gov fir selling coffins..

You think you are safe? How safe is safe? Remember Paul Walker? He was in a better car than yours. . Paul wannabe?

Let me know when you are in real coffin. . Oops.. let your relatives me know..

I drive to life & make a living..

You drive think go dead soon.. gud luck.

Ameen.

• motorbart on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:54 pm

You ask me how safe it is? Got 5 star australasia NCAP or Euro NCAP then can talk la. If not it still a not so safe car.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:46 pm

Bart @sshol.. remember this Paul & Karpal did not died in Perodua’s.. as much as you want my dead in my car. I pray it on you also..

Let your car be your coffin as well.. it discussed over & over.. even Miros warned. . It also about your attitude. . Kei kar is an urban car.. to compare with Superma S is absurd. Where is the so called GSC anyway? Nak compare pon blm launch2 lagi… why not compare with lower spec of Tiara.. or Savvy.. ohh stop production dy pulak.. sendiri rosak..

Mmg @sshol. . Suit your name.. bodo nak mampuihh..

Lu nak drive nak mampus lu pny pasal.. berjuta2 org drive kei kar.. kat Jepun pon byk.. spec lebih kurang.. yg lagi teruk pun ada.. x mati pulak org Jepun.. idiots.

• motorbart on Jun 14, 2014 at 1:43 am

What? Spec lebih kurang?
            You just show your ignorance. No wonder you go for overrated cars.

• kalau sebut pasal kereta, pasti kaitan dengan proton.Karpal Sighn dan paul walker tak mati dalam proton. maknanya mahal murah, kualiti tak kualiti tak menjamin nyawa seseorang. senang cakap la. kalau korang tak pakai kereta malaysia dan berbangga dengan kereta luar, tok sah la belagak.n i tidak duk hina keluaran negara sendiri. tak siapa yg suruh ko rang beli perodua atau proton

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 9:32 am

Oh.. & Protong sampah not overrated? Low spec protong still many on the road. .

Making lost near 1 billion.. see how it goes in this short time…

& what in the hell you think im going to drive for my next car?

Definitely not a protong ..low life like you.. go for overrated company. . Ailing some more..

Lawak sungguh.. terang lagi bersuluh.

• iskhalifah on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:41 pm

After 30 years of producing own cars, Malaysians don’t deserve a ‘global low cost green car’ that were originally intended for the Indonesians. We deserve a global EuroNCAP certified car with modern technological features, even for a city car like the Toyota Aygo (not T.Agya or D.Ayla!), or Fiat 500.

Thanks to unfriendly auto policies & discriminatory duties, we are not moving forward as those in modern countries.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Yep agree with you..

if this true we ll get a national car status with performance close or same to Mirage.. very close to hybrid cars too..

Just let it roll P2.. I don’t ve space for this.. but happy to see fuel efficient cars on the road..

Burn less fuel.. save the planet.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:27 pm

Even without the duties it is all up to customer demand and profits. If Toyota for example can offer the Agya instead of the probably more expensive to produce Aygo, and it sells well, then why would they offer the Aygo?

Unless people boycott these “developing nations” cars and demand what Europeans for example get, things won’t change.

The Singaporeans get the proper 3rd generation EU/JDM Yaris, while Malaysians have to make do with a 2nd gen Yaris turned sedan then facelifted then chopped off the boot again Yaris meant for ASEAN countries.

• Perodua…i want new daihatsu Copen…..
    please …bring it to malaysia and take my downpayment tonight

• Proton dont syok sendiri la. Ppl are not competing with you. You are not in the league. The only German brand you close with is Trabant.

• Spirior on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:00 am

Perodua will not use its “own body”. Maybe a different top hat, which probably involves skin deep class A surface and of course different front-rear bumpers- but Perodua will never have to engineer their own structural members that underpins the body as these would be cost ineffective from platform sharing point of view (plus it would have been engineered by Daihatsu already).

Another interesting point is how Perodua is smart to avoid head-on competition with Proton. Still remember when Savvy was planned to compete with Kelisa when P2 was busy preparing the segment-defining Myvi. Deja vu lagi… Or just another classis episode of Proton Lupa Belajar Kisah Silam.

• Sam Loo (ori) on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:09 am

As long as its not a kimchi, it will have RV

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:24 am

Proton butthurt pi main jejauh.. tu pi settle rugi 820 millions tu.. go see in Livelifedrive..

Now asking more money.. tak tau malu.. no wonder GSC pon x keluar lg..

See how after rugi 1 billions end of the year.. see how you can manage the lost..

• motorbart on Jun 14, 2014 at 1:40 am

Talking like you pay 1 million in tax every year
      Syok sendiri tin kosong
      puihhhhh

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 9:37 am

Oh.. lost nearly 1 billion you still syok sendiri. .

Wait.. you ll be jobless soon.. padan muka.

Puiihh to you too..

Sinking ship..

• kalu keluar pun, kau dah ready nak kutuk. kan bro motorhead.tu saja yg kau pandai, kutuk kondem. pastu bila kena kutuk balik, hangin. non so smart. only talk nonsense bla bla bla bla

• Nothing to proud, Produa forever re-badge. We should award Produa No 1 copycat! i can predict this car will still remain 4 speed auto(damm old gearbox) and the price definately expensive, estimated RM5x,xxx for just 1.0cc, and the rim estimate is 13″ only. with this price and spec you already can get import car like Mitsubishi Mirage, Kia Picanto, Suzuki Alto already

• You predict? All of us already predicted Proton cars cannot sell.

• leoRNado on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:10 pm

You are wrong YCL.. The price of this new car will be cheaper than current Viva.. :)

• cheaper than viva. cheapest viva is for 660cc. but this is 1.0. no lah.

• sugar glider on Jun 13, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Predict? are u sure it’s price gonna be RM5X,XXX? well, i can bet that the price will remain same as Viva. RM4X,XXX for high end variant.

Btw, u mention Picanto (4-speed AT),Alto (4-speed AT) and Mirage(4-speed AT too) and aspect this new axia gonna have more than 4 speed(AT)?? ridiculous bro! for 1.0 need extra gears meh? it’s like Honda c70 craving for 6-speeds.

btw, do u know this new perodua car will use 1KR-FE. reread again bro. stated that it will use 4 speed. no need to predict. it’s facts!

i’m not pro P2 but some of ur feedbacks really not make sense. chiaw!~

• durianjepun on Jul 02, 2014 at 11:02 pm

potong smell its own fart of shame shaking their knuckle head as this axia soo launch and filling so much space that GSC need a tent in pasar malam to sell one.. their stubburn management still insist customer to understand them.. we cannot understand you but understand axia will make GSC a savvy

• Jenna on Jul 13, 2014 at 11:50 am

this car will be phenomenon & sell like hot cakes.
    Just wait and see :D
    Leave Proton GSC alone,..it’s in different segment plus…hmmmm…look what happened with Suprima S, Preve, Exora Bold..bla..bla..bla.. they were flopped.

• Its will not sale like hot cake but will sale like people can get it for free..haha

• bmpower on Jul 20, 2014 at 9:51 pm

1.0cc = 67hp. lol

meanwhile 1.0 ecoboost, 125hp. and better FC.

sigh.. malaysian…

• 66PS is same as current Viva 1.0 engine, but with Euro 4 emission standard and slightly better FC. The old engine is Euro 2.

• bobomarley on Jul 22, 2014 at 10:53 am

yes kawan you want to compare with the best engine of the year 3 year straight ka ,don’t say perodua , dozen other world class car maker also cannot achive that don’t want to highlight ka..Malaysian What!

• zaharizman on Jul 27, 2014 at 11:21 am

Haha semua benda salah bagus beli basikal…jimat lagi tiada masalah enjin.. dapat menyihatkan badan

• kalau 40k++ , baik ambik kia picanto 1.2. Disc brake 4 tayar, Electronic Stability Control., ABS Brake, Airbag. LED headlight..

Dah test drive di Sect 13 Shah Alam. Ramming area Stadium, memang best

• kalau 40k++ , baik ambik kia picanto 1.2. Disc brake 4 tayar, Electronic Stability Control., ABS Brake, Airbag. LED headlight..

Dah test drive di Sect 13 Shah Alam. Ramming area Stadium, memang best

• azmir on Aug 15, 2014 at 5:10 pm

laa aku ingatkan Perodua buat kereta sendiri rupanya model CKD lagi, Daihatsu E-S Mira yg di tukar sikit lampu depan dg bumper

• vwowner on Aug 15, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Why P2 is always best than P1? Design, fuel efficiency, durable, etc. Now price too.

• because they dont have to produce, just take from daihatsu japan and re badge it

• the look like reheat Myvi model, why P2 no more idea for new compact model?
    come on Myvi model already in market almost 10 years(since 2005), you all not boring for this design yet?
    why want to buy a 10 years old design car?