Perodua files two more trademarks – Atrivia & Eliana

Perodua filed the trademark ‘Axia’ with the Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO) in February this year. Today, we’ve managed to dig up two other names that Perodua filed at the end of May – Eliana and Atrivia. Both names were filed under the same classes as the Axia trademark – class 12 and class 37, which are generally car-related. So now we have three possible names for Perodua’s upcoming hatchback.

When the Axia name was unearthed, Perodua president and CEO Datuk Aminar Rashid Salleh said it was not the only name submitted, and that Perodua had not decided on a name for now. He added that more details on the new car would be announced sometime in the second half of this year. However, these two names were filed towards the end of May, which is a few weeks after that.

The new hatchback is referred to as the “Global Energy Efficient Vehicle” for now. It will be built at a new Perodua plant next to the current one. The new plant will mirror Daihatsu Kyushu’s best practices, technology and low defect rate – we’ve detailed some of those in a visit to DKC’s Nakatsu Plant 2 last year.

The car’s upper body design will be an in-house design by Perodua using a Daihatsu platform, which could most likely be the Daihatsu Ayla’s. We’ve already seen the Daihatsu Ayla running around Malaysian roads without badges or trade plates. Perodua also showcased the car’s interior last year at KLIMS13 in the form of the Perodua GMA Space concept. GMA stands for Global Model A Segment Space.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ya ya ya on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:28 pm

ya ya ya… as if people want to copy u

• How about Elia? or Ellaria? Any Game of Thrones Fans here?

• Proton and Mamak on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:40 pm

I am sorry to tell you Perodua guys that now Mahathir is in Proton, life is going to get very difficult for you guys. Be prepared for the worst.

Mamak will do everything he can to squeeze the government for every single cent to boost up Proton, ie like get more exemptions etc.

Oh yeah, though not official, Proton does get special privileges and special excise customs exemptions. Though it is not written and not official, Proton does not really pay lots of things Perodua pays lah. You know and I know.

Nobody can track. Nobody can check what Kastam receives from who or for what. There is no payment trail.

I advice Perodua to get Badawi or Samy Vellu as your Chairman too. Then maybe can level the field.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 40
        • kcng (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:24 pm

If without Mahathir, Perodua won’t be born.

You should thanks him now.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 17
          • Vader (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:37 pm

Yupe, if without him, we can direct get the toyota cars at current perodua car price!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 33
          • Andrew Pang on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:50 pm

Oh My! What English!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 6
          • Low Budget on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:26 am

When TDM approved P2, he thought that P2 only produce 660CC cars and will play 2nd fiddle to Proton, unfortunately for him, he was wrong! He certainly has the power to right the wrong he has done even if he is no more the P.M. today.

• bla bla bla bla bla bla..

• mamak on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:12 am

at least he’s doing something for the country rather than you…hopeless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 4
      • Allen on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Why not Oberyn?

• Same L0r on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:10 pm

Perodua basher will seek this chance to bash on Perodua R&D again. Because
      1. Perodua is much more reliable than Proton.
      2. Perodua is much more fuel saving than Proton.
      3. Perodua is cheaper than Proton.
      4. Perodua is roughly same comfort as Proton.

They can only bash on R&D. But who care???

People want a reliable, problem-free car? Or a self-developed car which full of problems, and requires you to make good friend with garage?

Simple answer!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 26
      • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:36 pm

I have no idea why you seek this kind of attention, but good luck.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
      • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:48 pm

Yep.. that’s right.

• kcng (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 6:26 pm

Hah, when people give honest opinion you call it bash?

No wonder you live in your own world.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 6
  • Eliana on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:39 pm

Yay! A car with my name on it!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
  • auto buster on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:41 pm

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eliana

Eliana, אֶלִיעַנָה (Hebrew), Ηλιάνα (Greek), إليانا (Arabic), is a female given name found with that spelling in Italian, Portuguese and Spanish.

• Low Budget on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:30 am

Yah, those lovely latinas (Elianas, Illianas)hot,hot,hot..

• roxas on Jun 11, 2014 at 3:47 pm

stupid name ..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 15
  • spongewai on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:04 pm

Perodua Abuden is ok

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:06 pm

What with all the Sissy names.. puihh I don’t like it.. Axia is fine then.

• besi buruk on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Proton should register name “Huduh” also.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 11, 2014 at 7:07 pm

1. People just don’t read properly anymore. Perodua or Proton can’t even differentiate?
      2. Perfect example of bashing away for no good reason.

• Both name sucks!!!

• SUPRIMAN on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:20 pm

so we all already know that the car is a girl..pff..cant you find a man enough name like suproma or inspira?come on produa..think!

• Reffai on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:42 pm

Who the heck cares what name it has.. Its just gonna be a rebadged car from another brand anyway. People will still buy it even if its called ‘Ikan’ simply becoz they don’t have much choice when it comes to cheap car..

• me (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Many sources derive it from Hebrew, literally translated as “My God has answered me.” It is composed of three Hebrew elements: EL, meaning GOD; ANA, meaning ANSWERED; and the Yud, located after EL, indicating first person possession.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Eliana

• Inb4 paranoid people associating this car with ‘Yahudi’. Lol

• mr1031 on Jun 11, 2014 at 4:57 pm

another proton in the making..enough with new names..unless new model ok la

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
  • iskhalifah on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:37 pm

Why must local car names usually ends with the alphabet ‘A’?

Viva, Alza, Axia, Atrivia, Eliana.. (drama name from TV3 soap operas???)

For Proton, dont mention it bcoz so many of their model names ends with A except for Preve, Savvy & Gen2.

• kebodohan yang melampau on Jun 11, 2014 at 5:49 pm

Another dumb name, just bring Kelisa or Kenari name back to live.

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 11, 2014 at 7:14 pm

Agreed. Kelisa’s a great car. But it’s in the best interest of Perodua (alone) to stop producing Kelisa or it would definitely kill viva’s sales kaw2.

• Great? It’s been crashed in Top Gear means it’s junk!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
        • bujingyun on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:43 pm

have you even compare the quality of both cars??please do not be a dumb before making any judgments..just try it out first..top gears always bashing cars,even bmw also have been considered as junk..

• why no “Phobia”?? they shld name it Perodua Phobia.

• albag on Jun 11, 2014 at 7:47 pm

nice… better than suprima lampin orang tua

• sprmum on Jun 11, 2014 at 9:08 pm

Dun worry if your life is long enough you will wear it too.

• This name came up just to cover line the Axia leak. Come on like we dont know this is a cheap trick. Doesnt sounds like a proper name for car at all.

• better continue with the current name..

• Ray (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 10:06 pm

Atrivia and Eliana both sound weird, a bit too feminine in my opinion. Axis will do just fine.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 11, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Im trying to give a damn…..naah,i tink i cant give a damn…..

• Redline on Jun 11, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Eliana is a girls name. Why would a car-maker choose a girl’s name for its car? Bad move. Do you think guys want to buy and drive in a car called “Fatimah”, or “Lisa”, or “Eliana”? Habis la macho…..haha….

• BUSUKPUNYAKERAJAANMALAYSIA on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:19 pm

busuk punya kronisme.

perukdua (perodua) atau peruktong (proton)dua-dua kaki kaut duit rakyat

kenapa kereta honda di thai harga x sampai 60k (honda jazz) pun.
    kat malaysia cecah 70k-80k (honda jazz).
    60k bleh beli myvi 1.5 jek.

sebab kilang di situ? murah? so kenapa preve di australia lagi murah dari malaysia? kilang di laut hindi kot.bengong..buat macam rakyat malaysia macam budak tadika.

tarif elektrik naik
    harga gula naik
    harga susu naik
    harga minyak naik

semua masuk ke kroni. kroni kerajaan.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 27
  • BUSUKPUNYAKERAJAANMALAYSIA on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:22 pm

gula rm2.85

cer check gula di malaysia sapa pegang sekarang?

FELDA. duit pi ke mana?
    cover saham FGVH
    yang menderita? rakyat bawahan.

dulu cakap cina pegang kawal semua x ok. ni dah dapat kt kerajaan majoriti melayu. lagi x okdr dulu. baik biar cina yg pegang kalau macam tu.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 25
  • danedz on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:23 pm

Initially perodua supposed to be jv with daihatsu for 10 years contract before stand on their own feet..wondering where would be perodua now if follow the initial plan…

• BUSUKPUNYAKERAJAANMALAYSIA on Jun 11, 2014 at 11:26 pm

duduk di malaysia. apa yg orang kerajaan atas cakap.
    kasi melayu dapat banyak projek. tengok?betul yg melayu dapat projek.tapi siapa melayu tu? kroni diorang saja. biar pi la cina ka, melayu ka, india ka bangsa apa pun janji tender mesti la jujur. harga yg terbaik patut dapat.

malaysia ni bukan melayu punya. tuhan dah kata bumi untuk sekelian manusia. x kira bangsa apa.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 24
  • Ah Beng King on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:23 am

May i suggest Perodua Rosmah for the new mpv

• hassy on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:24 am

the car exterior design was like Hyundai i10 or Mitsubishi Mirage.. Just Saying

• palehotak on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:30 am

why no felixia?

• I don’t understand some of the people how to compare car?
    Proton Saga 1.3 SV Auto = RM 36,888.00
    Perodua Myvi 1.3 Auto = RM 45,436.45
    Perodua Viva 1.0 = RM 41,286.45
    how can your people say proton is expensive than
    Perodua car leh? Obviously Produa is mark up too much for the price. furthermore just re-badge why need to register Intellectual Property Corporation of Malaysia (MyIPO)? this car is not design or develop by Perodua just copycat/re-badge only,dont tell us just modify the bumper/front light/tail light is a great design and great invention? we should shame on Perodua

• iluvmyvi on Jun 14, 2014 at 5:37 pm

What about kanninia? Also end with a.