3M Malaysia: Darker tints don’t always mean better heat protection and security

3m-ops-cermin-gelap-b

There is a common misconception in Malaysia that darker vehicle tints mean better heat rejection, 3M Malaysia senior manager of communication markets and renewable energy divisions Thomas Choo has said in an official statement.

Amidst recent reports pertaining to legal vehicle tint levels and the possible enforcement of Ops Cermin Gelap, Choo said that there exist high-performance window tints that are within the legal Visible Light Transmission (VLT) rates.

With the evolution and advancement of automotive window film technology, 3M is continuously developing tints that offer both solar protection and security, without blacking out car windows, Choo said.

3m-ops-cermin-gelap-c

He cited the 3M Crystalline AutoFilm series, whose Multi-layer Optical Film (MOF) proprietary technology combines over 200 layers to create a film thinner than a Post-it Note, resulting in a “clear film” that “can reject more heat than darker films.”

The series is claimed to reject up to 97% of infrared light, up to 60% of heat and up to 99.9% of harmful ultraviolet rays, while having a sun protection factor (SPF) of over 1,000 to help guard against skin damage.

“Without providing Malaysians with the right solutions to debunk their perception that darker shades of window films provide better heat rejection and safety, it will not be as easy to move them towards adhering to the standard VLT rates,” Choo said in the statement.

3M Honda CR-Z-7

The current legal minimum VLT rates are 70% for the front windscreen and 50% for all other windows. JPJ has recently proposed 25% for the two rear side windows and the rear window; remaining windows, status quo.

The Auto Audio, Accessories and Air-Condition Traders Association of Malaysia (AAA) has asked for 60% for the front windscreen and over 40% for all other windows. The Transport ministry has yet to announce its decision on the matter.

“It is important that all car owners are aware of the availability of alternative window films which are designed with lightly tinted films that can perform much better to allow clear, cool, visible light into the car for a safer driving experience.”

If and when enforced accurately, 3M Malaysia believes Ops Cermin Gelap will be an important aspect towards ensuring better road safety for the nation, the statement added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• anonymous on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:11 pm

this guy wants the ops to go on so that ppl all will go to 3M :P

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 16
    • frenzy on Jun 13, 2014 at 10:34 am

What did you expect? It’s the perfect opportunity to promote one’s own brand/product.

In any case, I have tried 3M before. I can vouch for the performance of it. It is really good.
      I did not want to pay so much, so what the outlet graciously did was to allow me to customise the package. I took the Crystalline for front, security for sides, and the entry level for rear.
      and I took the clear type, and is darker by 5%. very minimal.

Would buy again.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
      • Haleem on Jul 07, 2014 at 11:25 pm

Frenzy, mind sharing how much it costs you and what is ‘the other brand’ is?

• 3M Penipu Tinting on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:29 pm

The 3M guys are so sneaky they have taken advantage of the situation to promote their products by giving some bluff.

Lets get one fact straight. 3M is a bullshit company. All their tinting dont work and everybody complains you can feel the heat no matter how dark you get.

3M has no standard. They try to compete with VKool but they are no where to Vkool.

I run a fleet of cars for my office and I can confirm one thing, all the cars with 3M tinting has been stopped by JPJ and got summoned. This is despite 3M assuring and confirming it is legal.

Such an unethical and unscrupulous company. 3M better change their name to 3 Monkeys.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 12
      • 3 Monkeys on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:48 pm

The 3 guys sitting there. That is the 3M…. 3 Monkeys. Dumbo company. 3M is so so so so so low quality.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
        • Sanitary Pad on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:24 pm

If 3M sell Sanitary pad, they will say, thinner sanitary pad absorbs better than thicker sanitary pad.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 7
      • Go Elsewhere on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:05 pm

I see a company pandai take advantage of ruling, it must be a selfish company with no proper business principles. It is similar to when we had no water in klang valley and some shops stated selling water 10X the price.

That is 3M for you. If there was an earthquake, and many people were injured, 3M will take advantage of the situation and sell their 3M bandages and plaster 10X price.

then they will do press conference and say blood cannot penetrate their bandages and plaster despite being thin. They will say “Thicker bandages don’t absorb blood”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • Pagani Zonda on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:19 pm

It seems that certain parties are very worried once the gov allows darker tints, their product demand would go down the hill.

First of all, I am a user of 3M Crystalline window films, and despite how much you claim your products are within the JPJ standards, I was fined by the JPJ for having tints which are too dark.

Most tint suppliers can promise you the moon and stars claiming their films are legal, but in reality they would most likely fail the JPJ and Puspakom tests.

The bottom line is, there are much more benefits for allowing darker tints in such humid climate in our country.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 7
    • Megane on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:15 am

Yup same scenario here , i used RAytech security film and paid 2500 for it . Was fined by JPJ and brought for inspection . The films failed the VLT test miserably . Raytech put a claimer clause saying it’s JPJ compliant . Well it’s bullshit and Raytech refused to be responsible .

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • 3 Monkeys on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:50 pm

3M is short form for 3 Monkeys. Nothing from 3M works.
      Are they willing to pay your fines?

they try to be smart and think Malaysians are stupid.

• Sanitary Pad on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:26 pm

3M instead of tok kok, why don’t you give a gurantee to all your customers who kena saman by JPJ that you will reimburse their saman?

Pandai tok kok. Please pay all those kena saman but you assured that it is legal.

Can you honour this?

• Jake man on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:26 pm

Accessories and tint suppliers are very worried. Once dark tints are approved, recon black tints are legal. No more changing to clear glass and re-tint it to light colour tints.

Selfish business people.

Really sick of the idea that dark tints are related to criminal activities. There is basically no prove they are related.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 5
  • guan eng jr. on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:30 pm

kahkahkah..stupid to those dark tint worshippers.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
  • Is this a joke?
    VLT for Crystalline 70 only 68%. Even highest VLT among 3M products (Ceramic 75) is 72% only. Meaning the VLT for windscreen itself need to be 100%, else all 3M products will failed VLT = 70% spec. I have no problem to tinted with Crystalline 70, but what will be the actual VLT? Will it pass the spec?

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/en_MY/AutoFilm/Home/Products/Comparison/

• marketing gimmick..darker tint provide better heat rejection and security at lower cost..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 27
    • with today’s technology, anything is possible. Your thinking is just like those ol’days where you’ll literally think that the higher a car’s cc..the faster it is~LOL! Go do more reading dude.

• 3M chrystalline is good, but it’s biggest problem is it is not Smart-Tag friendly

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 115 Thumb down 2
    • realistic on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:31 pm

and also the price tag not too friendly either…

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 140 Thumb down 0
      • wayangkulit on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:49 pm

Cheap things no good,
        Good things no cheap.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 17
        • Same L0r on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:00 pm

Yes!
          Cheap things no good – Proton
          Good things no cheap – Mercedes

That’s why most people buy Toyota – not so cheap but good.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 48
          • KL Stray Cat on Jun 13, 2014 at 2:18 pm

I think you meant to say “Toyota…not so cheap, NOT so good”….LOL

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
          • Same L0r on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:24 pm

Don’t be naive. If Toyota not good, our sales still so good, long waiting period and good bonus for us?

If Toyota not good how it maintain best car seller in the WORLD?

Everything based on fact. But I understand your feeling that you may not able to afford a Toyota, so you said Toyota is not good. I recommend you to consider upcoming Perodua Axia. It should fall within your budget.

Lastly, when you said “Not so cheap, not so good”, kimchi cars are the perfect match, aren’t they?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 27
      • 3 Monkeys on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:53 pm

They rip people off. Heat rejection is total bull. You want good tinting, just go for Vkool. 3M tinting is the same as those that offer tinting in Groupon. From RM2800 discount to RM400.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:28 pm

New black smarttag seems to work properly.

Else, the solution is to use non-crystalline tint for top part of windscreen, other 3m series seems to be smarttag friendly.

• What about cutting a hole at the location of the Smart tag reader? Very easy to solve, I think.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 16
    • GKChong on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:39 pm

Better go for V Kool Elite, not dark, but rejects heat up to the same amount and Smart Tag friendly. I have it in my Nissan Teana. Im very impressed with it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 4
    • Why complain?

Everyone wants good heat rejection film. Since Infrared is one of the main source of heat, the film rejects it and that’s the reason it keeps your car cool.

It’s our SmartTag that uses the infrared tech which cause this contradiction.

Do more reading dude..

• # can 3M provide us cheaper price for this film? as far as i know, 3M tint film is very expensive. Not all of us can afford to buy it.

# the reasons why we want darker tint film for our car.1) for safety reason – our female driver
    – our back side of MPV
    – for breastfeeding purpose
    2) for healthy – this the only one that 3M provide. So better we stand to what we are fighting for. What 3M did is just for marketing purpose and kiss gov assess only..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 11
  • Twofifty on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:26 pm

3m is a joke. The quality of its film is questionable.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • Shifter on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:36 pm

Not very smart to understand that while your tint is within the ‘legal’ VLT, a lot of cars dont come is 100% clear/VLT. Add your tint on and what is legal can easily become illegal. Sigh…

• cheap marketing, it’s more of like they are trying to promote their 3M brand

• lousy 3m on Jun 12, 2014 at 6:59 pm

talk rubbish la 3M…ur crystalline product is not even as good as claimed…the 3m tint on my car became blur just after 3 years of using…so much money for this kind of quality…PTUI!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
  • Blue traveler on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:04 pm

Go for blaupunkt car tint. I just had one of car tinted with it. Last month. It’s good. Have security thickness too and smart tag no problem. I’m considering it for the rest of cars. And No, I’m not a salesman for any auto industries.

• Kelly on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Yes, there are many high performance clear tint out there. Question is how many can afford. Does the crystalline tint allows cool visible light through while blocking prying eyes (not authorities) scanning your back seat for stuffs?
    Sounds like promoting to me.

• 3muser on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:28 pm

+ AFAIK crystalline also cannot pass jpj …something to do with 68~69% VLT for the 70 version.

• but it looks better, so may as well go with the darkest.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 23
    • calcutta on Jun 12, 2014 at 11:08 pm

darker tint doesn’t necessary meant its better
      but its cheaper to make good performance tint from darker paper

• Bentley_Azure on Jun 12, 2014 at 7:38 pm

These tint suppliers are just worried their tints cannot sell after he Govn allows dark tins to be used.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 83 Thumb down 14
    • skiat (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:33 pm

Their just worry their tinted business especially Lim from AAA. She is brainless just to maintain their benefit and profit. She should resign since no professional knowledge and only make money from consumer.

• I thought this is general knowledge (TSER is the one that reject heat, not VLT)? Everyone who owns a car or want to do a tinted should know this fact..

• yihang (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:04 pm

Everyone know…just they want,darker to look good…

• Ac Schnitzer on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:13 pm

I am a user of 3M Crystaline and I had been fined once by the JPJ for having tint films which they claim is over the limit.

Tint film suppliers can promise you the moon and stars that their products comply with the govn’s standards, but most of the time they would fail JPJ and Puspakom tests.

Besides, how many percent of the population would be able to afford such expensive tint films(typically RM2k upwards) for a car.

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:09 am

>RM2k for the price of tint is outright ridiculous when you still have glare, risks of snatchers/robbers/mat rempit targeting you & still gets fined by JPJ.

• Master jedi on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:15 pm

i think 3M miss leading ppl here. Put darker tint is no becouse of heat, is the Sun Glare reduction, think why we want to wear Dark sunglass, is a same theory.
    For ppl who driving whole day long, darker tint can make their eye no so tiring.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 4
    • Do you think it is right to wear sunglasses when driving at night?

• For me, this is a good tint.. Even it not smart tag friendly. Cause for me, it worth it.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:11 am

Yup it’s worth opening your door & holding the smartag out.. Lol like older proton ;p

• any 3m crystalline series giv the max heat rejection but can pass smarttag 1? now i’m using 1 of the 3M series, everytime pass through smarttag, i hav to wind down my window…

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:21 pm

So far, I have noticed that V Kool has dropped a lot in quality. My 3rd V Kool installation was rather disappointing compared to my first 2, it started turning purplish in about 3 years.

I then switched to Llumar and have never looked back. They have a legal option and a not so legal one, but so far, with the legal options, I had no trouble when trying to sell the car off, plus the aftersales is fantastic. One peeled in 3-4 years, Llumar changed it for me (the whole window), free of charge, no questions asked. And no appointment needed too, as long as they have stock, they cut it and did it back for me immediately. (Didn’t make an appointment too!)

On that basis, I have switched to them fully now. Its also nice to know 3M and Llumar are generally the strongest in the market too.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • pak jabit on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:23 pm

other than security and heat rejection, driver also need some privacy since clear film easy to attract snatcher, thief, robber, stalker, pelesit rempit bla bla bla…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 10
    • blabla on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:13 pm

If you get kidnapped also, nobody knows, coz cannot see anything inside the car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 0
  • for the sake of busines…

• kairys on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:31 pm

What if I tell you that people tint their car not only for heat rejection? We tint because we want heat rejection, reduce glare (for people with eye prescription. With the sun shines bright in our country, dark tints sure comes in handy. Also, darker means more privacy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 13
    • blabla on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:18 pm

Use sunglasses.. can get those with prescription as well… Having dark tint like those JDM spec for privacy is ok, but not too dark until cannot see anything inside the car..

• What is the price for the 3M tints?

• choha on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:35 pm

only criminals have preference over heavily-tinted films

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 8
    • Hadi75 on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:52 am

By your logic then…every vips and enforcement officers that tinted their cars heavily is a criminal la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
      • aku la on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:31 pm

Yes.. this is a problem.. the criminal can pretend to be vips or enforcement officer, coz nobody can see anything inside the vehicle…

• whatajoke on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:52 pm

3m crystalline 40 (darker) reject heat better than crystalline 50 or 60 (less dark). i have crystalline 40 tinted in one of my car and crystalline 50 on another car. i can tell the different.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 4
    • I agreed with you. Seems like what 3M is telling is not true enough. Their dealer also recommend a darker tint too.

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:23 pm

Yea, just take from their website:

http://solutions.3m.com.my/wps/portal/3M/en_MY/AutoFilm/Home/Products/Comparison/

Crystalline 40 with 39% vlt has 59% tser n 56% glare reduction

Crytalline 70 with 68% vlt has 50% tser n 23% glare reduction

If he’s referring to cheap tints, he’s right, they may be darker but not have good heat rejection.

But good quality tint like 3m, huperoptik, raytect, vkool etc all show if they’re darker, they’ll reject heat better.

Jpj should allow vlt just enough for people to enjoy these premium tints legally. At current 70%, even the lightest like crystalline 70 is illegal after factoring the windscreen itself reduces vlt.

• blabla on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:24 pm

try putting crystalline 40 is an MPV vs crystalline 60 in a B-class, i can safely say you won’t be able to tell any differences due to the size and number of windows of the vehicle.

• Exactly, u got the point

• 3M User on Jun 12, 2014 at 9:40 pm

What is 3M talking about? When I installed their Nano security tint, they only came 40 and 70. They do not have 50. Fitting 70 is like not having any tint at all. So 40 under our current law is illegal. That aside, both my cars are fitted with 3M (Nano & Crystalline) and I feel it’s worth it because it works. I feel Crystalline is better in terms of heat rejection. For argument sake, darker tint cuts down glare from the blazing hot sun. I feel 60 for the front and 40 the rest is still logical. 25 is way too dark.

• protonsucks on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:00 pm

the reason why we put dark tint is mainly because of robbers and theft, they cant c who is driving, and what is inside, for the sake of protection for my wife and baby daughter, i will still install dark tint for the sake of my family’s security.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 12
    • aku la on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:36 pm

Better not.. if somehow rather your family member got kidnapped, or you car got hijacked, nobody will know what happened inside the car.

This is based on 2nd hand experience.

• victor tan (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:43 pm

2 known reasons why we shouldn’t choose this brand:

1) smart tag hard to pass by
    2) ridiculous price tag

So, y spend so much money to suffer?

• Is it true that the crystalline will interfere with smart tag?

• QChan on Jun 12, 2014 at 11:21 pm

“There is a common misconception in Malaysia that darker vehicle tints mean better heat rejection…. combines over 200 layers to create a film thinner than a Post-it Note, resulting in a “clear film” that “can reject more heat than darker films.”

How clear is your clear??

All we consumers basically want to know if it can pass the 70%/50% JPJ test? No matter how good your infrared red, UV or heat rejection is – if it can’t pass the JPJ VLT test, it’s a waste of time and money, and ultimately it has to be stripped off!

This wasn’t stated by the Choo fella……. It would useful if he says ALL his tinting films passed JPJ VLT test. Or only certain range of his 3M tints passed…….

• Lord Gitsy on Jun 12, 2014 at 11:36 pm

Dark “color” film don’t have heat rejection.
    Solar control film is different.
    Darker film have better heat rejection.
    Example :
    3M Crystalline 40, VLT:40% (Darker) TSER:59
    3M Crystalline 70, VLT:70% (Brighter)TSER:50

• Tommy on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:12 am

High performance tint that isn’t so dark but manages to reduce heat? And how much exactly will this high performance tint you claim cost?
    So 3M expect all of us to use this high performance tint?
    I sepak your head like sepak futball

• SharonMark on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:24 am

What a so call senior manager talking without having real fact. He should emphasis that their high end product are cost user friendly as well.

• totti on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:24 am

darker tint doesn’t necessary meant its better
    but its cheaper to make good performance tint from darker paper.
    ——————

Agreed with the above statement. Good performance lighter tint is very expensive and they can make more money from that.

At the same time, they want puspaskom to ensure that all cars will fail the test and remove the tint(if only lighter tint allowed) to get more business.

• Marketing only..darker doesnt mean cooler?The gain of visible light proportional to the gain of sun heat coming into vehicle, he should know that better than anyone.

• Let’s be honest about this. Many of us install dark tints because the car looks nice. This feeding baby excuse is so lame because if you’re irresponsible, you’d feed your baby in a moving car with your kid not in the proper seat.
    I know I use dark tint because it makes the car look nicer. Also, because I know enforcement is lax.
    You don’t hear rumblings on tint levels in more advanced nations in Europe, or closer to home, Xinjiapo…

• Note to 3M marketing team: don’t try to be smart and assume consumers of today are not as educated as your employees. We already knew what are VLT, IRR, and etc but we just want something that is beyond head rejection.

• Jordan on Jun 13, 2014 at 10:39 am

We would like to use darker shades of tint for privacy purposes as well.

• anonymous on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:10 am

3M advertising fail

• 112bz on Jun 13, 2014 at 3:37 pm

JPJ Japan or whatever they call it there don’t have any trouble with black solid window. What is wrong with police & jpj over here? Why so pengecut? and who is going to shoot you from inside car?? waste of bullet!

“Every man has the price, I will bribe left and right”

• Cleopatra on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:36 pm

A message to 3M marketing team: Pls shut up and do not act smart.

You are just talking rubbish in your own interest.

What you want does not necessary mean what Malaysian consumers want.

What we want is for the Govn to review the existing tint rules and allow darker tints for such hot weather in our country.

Thank you very much!

• bn_bodo on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:20 pm

i am using CR50 and CR40.

sure kena one la if road block. but i am the police so sure wont kena la one. hahaha. evil laugh.

jokes aside, the government should focus on catching crooks and snatch thief instead of saman the rakyat. most rakyat mesti mau pakai cermin gelap. kalau x pkai, kat traffic light org mari pecah itu ini la mau curi purse. kalau parking pun kena pecah la, sbb mau curi itu radio la, plastik bag carrefour ingat mau abik mknn la. bodo punya pencuri la.

so saya syorkn pls government concentrate on different thing la. like bring more money into msia ka. or finding the mh370 in diego garcia ka. atau apa2 yg tidak menyusahkn rakyat tetapi menyenangkn rakyat. others government can also lower the price of fuel and electricity.

• I use crystalline film. darker rejects more heat and it is proven. i have installed lighter shades of gray but it was not effective.

So JPJ and the Police stop bothering us poor folks and do your job in catching the real bad guys out there. And not seating all day long eating donuts and drinking coffee thus increasing your belly size.

• cermin gelap on Jun 14, 2014 at 8:47 am

This company tell perople,They follow the JPJ specification and please buy from them.

• Fail Marketing on Jun 14, 2014 at 10:09 am

Its not just about heat rejection, its about glare control to car cabin.

• vkool on Jun 14, 2014 at 12:33 pm

My car tinted with vkool, after 7 years, still clear and at original state, good product.

• 1. My old car had 3M tint that peeled off after 5 years, wasnt very effective in keeping out the heat as well.
    2. Darker tints with the same TSER UV protection provides better anti-glare, bcos this is a very sunny country.
    3. All accessory shops must have the VLT meter, otherwise its guesswork.
    4. High end tints are too expensive, these are mass production. Imagine a RM2500 tint that costs more than a Samsung S5, big profits.
    5. Real problems are snatch thieves on bikes with parangs, how difficult to catch them???
    Roadblocks everywhere checking bikes and not car tints…..

• Luxico on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:53 pm

It’s important to remember that window tinting laws vary across the world. Here in the UK the windscreen and the front side windows must allow in 70% of natural light. As for the rear, you can have any shade on allowing in from 5% – 70% of light.