Suzuki Swift RS – it’s the GLX all dressed up, RM80k

Suzuki Swift RS 1

It turns out that the Suzuki Swift RS that was spied on a transporter last week isn’t a hotter Swift Sport but a 1.4 model that’s simply been given a dress-up job. Suzuki Malaysia launched the Swift RS earlier today, and the variant takes a 1.4 GLX spec level model and adds on a number of items to tart it up.

The RS suffix may sound like it’s a fire-breathing beast, but it’s not, despite the “Now it is all show and all go!” tagline touted in the brochure. The initials don’t stand for Racing Sport or Rallye Sport but rather ‘Reinvent Style’, so perish the thought of taking on the likes of a Renault Clio RS 200 EDC in this one.

It’s available in only a single exterior shade, this being Superior White, and exterior kit includes LED daytime running lights, while the 16-inch alloys have been given a gun metallic finish.

There’s also a full body kit made up of front and rear diffusers, side skirts and a spoiler, and there’s also what is called a ‘gradient roof-top’, which is a black-into-red roof decal. Side decals complete the exterior rework.

Inside, the Swift RS features ‘rally-inspired’ sporty leather seat covers and door trim, dressed in black with red accents and with the ‘Swift’ name stitched on the front seat. There’s also a two-DIN Kenwood audio system with touchscreen display, Bluetooth, GPS navigation and reverse camera.

Otherwise, it’s all standard fare from the 1.4 GLX – on the equipment list are front fog lamps, a leather-covered steering wheel with tilt/telescopic adjustment, auto air-conditioning, push-start ignition, rear disc brakes with ABS, EBD and brake assist as well as two airbags.

No mechanical changes means the K14B mill continues on with its 95 PS at 6,000 rpm and 130 Nm at 4,000 rpm output, and the familiar Jatco-derived four-speed automatic transmission trundles on as well.

The CKD Swift RS is priced at RM79,388, on-the-road without insurance, which is a RM5,600 premium over the next model in line, the RM73,788 Swift GLX, though it’s still a distance away price-wise from the Swift Sport, which goes for RM97,888 in its manual guise and RM102,888 in CVT form.

The car comes with a three-year or 100,000 km warranty, though the RS roof decal only gets a two-year warranty. Suzuki Malaysia is targeting to sell 500 units of the RS annually.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:04 pm

Classic ‘ all show no go’ …..bt stil looks nice….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 3
    • Same price as Kia Rio but still no 6 airbags, no ESP & no cruise control. Hope it drives well

Come on Suzuki we are not thai or indon, we value our life

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
    • Obama (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:06 pm

After seeing the price..my first reaction “hahahaha…”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
      • Same L0r on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:04 pm

So small yet not really cheap. Our Vios is continue selling like hot cakes and sorry for the waiting period.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 17
      • A real idiot will buy this car. Just go buy a Myvi. It is bigger and you can save RM30k.

Btw, the girl got the word Police written on her baju. Ini salah. How can she do this?

Suzuki Malaysia must be arrested for doing such thing. Also can see her bra.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 20
  • azhar on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:18 pm

what they were thinking with that red roof??…urrrghhhhh

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
  • Still doesn’t have stability control like Honda Jazz. Hmm

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 1
  • Denaihati on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:30 pm

looks good and suitable for the young, interior also looks fresh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
  • TheDean on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:37 pm

95 ps / 130 Nm at high rpm? Just because there are splashes of red doesn’t make things an rs.

• tokong on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:39 pm

Can fight suprima?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 14
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 2:59 pm

Definitely cannot la..
      Superma is RM120k car and this only RM80k, 50% higher de…

• Suprima different league lah. Lower…..

• Should have labelled the car RBS. Real Bull Sh1t! Lol

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 61 Thumb down 2
  • Ok will wait for the Suzuki swift Rs sport+ supreme limited edition chronopack :)

• Swift Sport exterior simple nice and powerful.

• Johnny on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:18 pm

This is sad…

• Gonna sell my polo gti to buy this swift, too bad polo no value have to top up abit

• Blaze on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:32 pm

I wonder when they decided to come up with such variant, a study has been made and the results is that malaysian car buyers willing to spend 5-6k more on something useless rather than more airbags, stability control or maybe 5-6 speed autobox. If this is true than that’s who we are folks, we like style over substance… Kinda sad…

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:41 am

You have to notice that with all these red decals & all on this variant it’s targeted at young drivers, college students, richie rich newly licensed kids, etc. To these target audience what matters most are style such as this.

• sudonano (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Why get this when you could get the cheaper Jazz petrol 1.5?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 4
    • Majid on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:12 pm

I thought it is packaged with Nelofa

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Exactly.

• sutheshkumar on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:53 pm

Because all who have tested this car knows its a better car to own than the Jazz 1.5. that say and done, I would rather pay this price if they engineered this car with 7 airbags. Kia is doing it CKD so I dont see any reason Suzuki cant do the same. Singapore spec GLX is a Japan CBU with 7 bags. FTS.

• rellyah on Jun 12, 2014 at 3:54 pm

spoil the name of RS.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:17 pm

yawn, same car from 10 years ago.

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:23 pm

Really Suzuki? You do know with that price level there are better cars for me to consider?

But in Malaysia there’s this weird mentality so this variant is still gonna sell.

• The rear legroom…argh such a deal breaker!
    I think that was the biggest complaint and they didn’t improve on this new generation anyway.

• hway de Cruz on Jun 12, 2014 at 4:56 pm

wat?? 4 speed auto? u must b kidding?

• Enthu on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:02 pm

another “TRD Swift”…

• _xXx_ on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:04 pm

Was RR Limited Edition, now RS. All the ugly cosmetics parts. Plz laa…is this all you can do? Bring in the MT 1.4 wilya?

• Henry on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:06 pm

I like the wheels. The rest of the car is yikes.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:06 pm

typical ah beng…add unnecessary loud exhaust….boleh sudah…sure can sell in sentul

• tawil on Jun 12, 2014 at 5:14 pm

They should introduce swift diesel version same as India…

• Definitely for die-hard cucuki fan!

• adding bodykit n painting red deco sure can make this swift 200bhp, 0-100 in 6s… the best performance car u can buy under rm100k..

• Joke of the year. Vios is wayyyy better

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 17
  • yoyoyo on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:43 pm

who shot that pics? the police girl, button loose dy…

• tobil on Jun 12, 2014 at 8:55 pm

This is wat drb get when they buy proton… Ah beng r3 look alike.

• sooooooo not worth my money..

• no kick on Jun 12, 2014 at 10:17 pm

nice car but it’s so underpowered, doesn’t justify using the rs name. come on.

• alamak wardrobe malfunction dear miss policegal….i loike!!!!

• Steve Kok on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:05 am

This is what i called a Full Loan theory.

1. Car registration geran only stated Swift 1.4 on both normal specs and the special edition.

2. Those who wish to get full loan, SA will summit the the paperwork to bank stated buying the special edition at 80K, but they are actually buying the normal specs instead.
    I noticed that the special edition will always somewhere 10% dearer than the normal specs.

3. With some left over pocket money to change 18″ sport rims :) How nice lah!

• holofanboi on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:19 am

Very well said…ive always wondered why this type of car variant (overpriced visual addon) is often fully saleable in comparison to the base model.

By increasing the price to such a level, one can play with the loan process in such a manner to act as a buffer for the ‘less qualified’ to be able to get a car they normally wouldn’t be able to.

In this case, all that talk abt how one shouldn’t buy a car out of their reach is going to fall on deaf ears at the rate these sort of offers come up…

• BOYRACER on Jun 13, 2014 at 3:07 am

RS means “rupa sporty” literally.

• Josh Ling on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:05 am

wondering what will happen after the decal comes off in a few years time…..

• Zapruder on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:39 am

I used to laugh when I saw vios “trd” and Nissan Almera “impul performance package” on the road.. but this, this is a whole new level of raja lawak. Lol. At least put soft turbo la. Then u can boast about performance enhancement. Not a freaking 180hp-like body kit.
    All show and all go? Lol…

• rohan on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:09 am

honestly i think the limited edition swift RR looks much better than this fancy shit. look at those awkward bolt on bodykits with no mechanical improvements or whatsoever. plus the car comes with 3 year warranty however only cover its roof decal for 2, seriously this is a massive joke. Imagine 2 years later the decal starts to peel off and suzuki doesn’t give a shit about it. gosh

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 12:03 pm

Slightly higher power compare to Myvi lagi best. 1.3.. lagi best 1.5 even higher. . But Myvi are cheap. . No class.. rebadge they said.. no RnD bla bla..

Get this can waste tens thousands of ringgit. . It your money anyway. .

I don’t care.

• swifties on Jun 14, 2014 at 11:07 am

Im a big fan of Taylor Swift, so im going to buy this Suzuki SWIFT Red Stylish with no compromise.

• fendy on Dec 08, 2014 at 12:38 pm

Just bought this car with rm7500 discount come with 5 years warranty and 2 years free service and parts (only for suzuki owners) and free ipad 2 too..

• Regina on Apr 23, 2015 at 2:24 pm

Anyone know who the two police girls are? They look cute ^_^

• Santhosh on Sep 18, 2015 at 4:05 pm

Suzuki Swift RS – it’s the GLX all dressed up, RM80k red need to do on my new swift vdi where can it b done in india bangalore