Citroen Grand C4 Picasso – orders open, RM195k est

Citroen_Grand_C4_Picasso_Malaysia_002

The order books are open for the Citroen Grand C4 Picasso at all showrooms nationwide. As previously reported, the new Gallic seven-seat MPV is available in just one variant – a 2.0 BlueHDi – in limited numbers at an indicative pricing of RM195,000, which if past experience is any indication should include insurance. We’re also told that units would be delivered in time for the Hari Raya Aidilfitri celebrations.

The sole powertrain on offer is a 2.0 litre four-cylinder turbodiesel, making 148 hp at 4,000 rpm and 370 Nm of torque at 2,000 rpm. Mated to a regular six-speed automatic transmission (no ETG/EGS automated manual this time), it goes from 0-100 km/h in 10.2 seconds on its way to a top speed of 207 km/h, while returning 4.6 litres per 100 km on a combined cycle and emitting 120 grams of CO2 per kilometre.

In what could be a first for our market, the Grand C4 Picasso is also fitted with AdBlue urea solution injection in the exhaust to lower the emission of harmful nitrogen oxides. However, as is usual for diesel cars in Malaysia, the particulate filter has been removed to suit our “unique” Euro 2M fuel.

Our GC4Ps will come with a comprehensive list of equipment, including dual-zone automatic climate control up front with dedicated blower controls and air vents for the second (pillar-mounted dual-zone blower control) and third rows (roof-mounted single-zone blower control), keyless entry and start, a seven-inch touchscreen infotainment system below an enormous 12-inch digital instrument cluster (with three display themes), navigation, a reverse camera, a panoramic roof, an electrically-powered tailgate and 18-inch wheels wrapped with 225/45R18 Michelin Pilot Sport 3 tyres.

But wait, there’s more – you also get a 360-degree surround view system (shows a top view angle of the car), lane departure warning system, blind-spot monitoring system and automatic parking. You even get a massage function for the driver and passenger seats, with an electrically-operated foot rest for the latter! Suddenly the steep price doesn’t seem so bad, does it?

As for safety kit, the Grand C4 Picasso comes with six airbags, ABS with EBD and Brake Assist, traction control, stability control, four-wheel disc brakes and three ISOFIX mounts with top tethers on the middle-row seats. Four colours will be available locally – Noir Onyx (black), Blanc Banquise (white), Blue Teles and Rouge Babylone (red).

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:20 pm

cant decide if its actually cheap or expensive

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 6
    • Petrolhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:25 pm

At least it looks better and cheaper than UMW Toyota’s Alphard and Estima

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 5
      • submarine on Jun 14, 2014 at 12:05 am

but plenty of idiots will still go n buy those recon alphards n estimas wo

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 18
      • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 6:11 am

But the C4 GP is more a competitor to the VW Touran, while the Estima competes with the VW Sharan and the Alphard with the VW T5 Multivan. Though at least it is probably bigger than the Touran, but again, not as big as a Sharan.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:34 am

The DS kind of pricing for such non-DS Citroen is I am afraid a bit steep, to be honest

• kadajawi (Member) on Jul 08, 2014 at 7:36 pm

It is. However on the Malaysian market… this is bigger (4,60m) and more comfortable than the rather compact Touran (4,40m, and in production for 11 years now, with 2 major facelifts). In fact, the Touran is about as big as the 5 seater version of the C4 Picasso.

It is also well specified, though some options are sadly missing (no HID for 190k?).

And despite it not wearing the DS badge it is a great looking car, with a nice looking – though maybe not as premium – interior.

Finally, diesel engines command a decent premium over petrol engines when you buy them in Europe, I’d say around RM 10k minimum. It all adds up.

But whether Citroen can sell any of these in Malaysia… I have my doubts. It IS too expensive, no matter how much you can justify the price. A made in Malaysia EEV version is what is needed to lower the price a lot.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 7:55 am

sorry i disagree i still very much like the alphard. however, in comparison to the estima it is cheaper, prettier etc etc…in comparison to say mazda 5/ford s-max…..its not that cheap….have to see for myself on how big is it….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • Expensive.

get yourself Mazda Biate or Serena better.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 20
  • sudonano (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:41 pm

This would compete close to the Sharan from VW I guess.

Looks well made and really fancy though.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • picasso on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:20 pm

not really la. its only slightly larger than the 5008. the next gen 5008 based on the new 308 will probably catch up. its narrower and shorter than the sharan. third row more for kids. sharan third row can fit adults.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 6:14 am

The 5008 was based on the last generation GP, so yeah, you’re right. The next 5008 will be based on the new GP, but that will take a while, given that it was facelifted not long ago.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 6:12 am

The C8 is Citroen’s Sharan competitor, though I don’t know if they even make it anymore. The GP sits a class lower.

• thgh (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:47 pm

the price hmm… don’t think it can sell.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 11
  • zeek (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:01 pm

Here comes comments about the price, ‘reliability’, and resale value…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 8
    • Trying to act smart act as super car genius?
      1thimg for sure that is real bad for this car0…aftersales

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 18
      • someguyonthenet on Jun 14, 2014 at 11:45 pm

I really don’t care about resale value. I will eventually bonded with my cars. But maintenance, so long as there is a service center, it would be fine….probably.

• before anyone complain abt the price, keep in mind that this is competing against the Ford S-max which is north of 200k.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 3
    • The S-Max is one segment above the C4GP. The 3rd row in the C4GP is tight and there is almost no boot space behind the 3rd row seats when in use. The S-Max offers much more space in the 3rd row and boot space as well.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:11 pm

And just how many of those does Ford sell in Malaysia?

Also, the S-Max is bigger, and it’s the sports car of MPVs. Lots of power, good handling, sacrificing other things for the sake of being a nice car to drive. It’s centered around the driver.

The C4 Grand Picasso is centered around the passengers.

• Same L0r on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:04 pm

RM195k? Come on, give me a break. For MPV, you can go
    Alza => Avanza => Innova => Previa => Alphard. So many choices and much cheaper. Our models have much better RV than Citroen.

For those who keep on bashing UMW rip off… This is true rip off!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 77
    • If you worry about RVs, you can’t afford this car.
      “our” models? You Toyota salesman issit?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
      • Same L0r on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:52 pm

If one don’t care about the RV, either he has rich daddy, else he won’t be able to afford this ultra overpriced car as well.

Lack of financial management ability is the always the key factor remaining poor. The best example? See our government.

What’s wrong if I am Toyota salesman? Soon i gonna see this car parked at our trade-in warehouse.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 38
        • ppl CAN have good “financial management ability” and still DONT have to worry about resale value

it’s called living within your means.

poor people like you who can only afford cheap cars because u didn’t study hard at school are the ones who worry about resale value

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 5
          • lowprofile (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 9:52 pm

too many years of sales conditioning. he will never accept differing views. let him be in his tempurung where the only thing he knows and can talk about is aftersales and rv. what other sales pitch do they have anyway? there are others who can afford to throw cash about that these people don’t know of. even if they know some and those still buy what they sell, they are clearly not in a league above even though they have the cash. they won’t be reading stuff here anyway.

• Same L0r on Jun 15, 2014 at 1:25 am

How many ‘A’ you have for your SPM? Does your boss always have more ‘A’s than you? Did Ananda Krishnan score straight A in STPM?

I may not have many ‘A’s as you, but with good RV, I change from Vios to Lexus, because every car i bought didn’t depreciate much. I could easily buy a C class with cash now. See now I am teaching you a lesson, study hard boy (aka photostat machine).

I totally understand your mindset as you have no RV experience with Proton. From Saga to Wira, then to Persona, you can’t move up, because all cars you bought, worth nothing after several years. And end up you have to take 90% 9-years car loan every time you changed a car.

Study smart, work hard, then I give you good discount on the cheapest Vios, ok?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
          • samelorstpd on Jun 15, 2014 at 7:09 pm

Same Lor is stupid salesman, people know RV is higher when the buy price is higher. But buyers have to compensate it with higher loss too. Try to calculate the TOC, japs brands have worse value tha local cars.

Example? Oh please only dumb people will get fooled by fool salesman. RV high konon, padahal loss also high. Ptuihh.

• Same L0r on Jun 16, 2014 at 1:39 pm

A Preve 1.6 Premium CVT is selling at RM72,853. The Vios Auto J is selling at RM77,313 (just RM5k more expensive).

After 10 years, how much a 10 years old Preve and Vios will worth?

Vios definitely worth AT LEAST RM10k more than Preve. The Vios owner can upgrade to Altis with good trade-in price while the Preve owner will stay with RM80k priced cars.

No need call people stupid, everything on fact!

By calling people stupid, you show your stupidity instead.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:14 pm

So you end up saving 5k on the Vios. However you pay for that with a car that is nowhere near as safe, not as spacious, not as good handling, and on and on and on. You are enduring 10 years of misery, and perhaps even heavy injuries or death for RM 5k? Sounds like a very bad deal.

• Are you trying to say this is a premium brand compared to toyota?they are on same level…normal people’s car….
        It’s normal when ppl talk about RV for such range of car…and dont bullshit saying this car is

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 26
        • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 4:28 pm

Compared to ASEAN Toyota it is a premium brand.

• lowprofile (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 9:38 pm

you’re hallucinating… but its ok. it happens.

• Are you buying this?

• naza citroen really screws up the pricing of citroen cars here. under brookland, the previous grand picasso was nowhere near rm200k. still loaded with many features.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • neutral on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:34 pm

there’s a hefty price to be paid for marketing. naza is doing a good job with citroen and peugeot in malaysia. same can’t be said about brooklands.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 4
  • Silent Reader on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:19 pm

A tad expensive! It would make more sense to buy Peugeot 5008.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
  • Amanda on Jun 13, 2014 at 7:53 pm

At that price might as well pay a bit more for the new Odyssey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • bujingyun on Jun 13, 2014 at 8:42 pm

love the word ‘unique’ highlighted above..shows that our government really gave us the ‘highest’ quality ofdiesel to us

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
  • Obviously (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 9:27 pm

Hmm….looks better in red paint than this sky-bluish color.

• TheDean on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:28 pm

Diesel + Citroen = 3 words….. Ker Ray Zee. The looks does stand out though. As for VW Sharan, it is more in Alphard territory. It is longer and wider than Alphard, but lower. Alphard only looks huge.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 7:07 am

The Sharan is placed against the Estima. VW’s Alphard competitor is the T5 Multivan (also being derived from a commercial van). Mercedes’ Alphard competitor is the V-class.

• still can’t decide whether this car is good looking or ugly, but one thing for sure it wont be flying ofg shelves in Malaysia with that pricing.

• seancorr on Jun 14, 2014 at 12:18 am

Doesn’t look like it has xenon lights? Good spec list though

• Shaekey on Jun 14, 2014 at 5:18 pm

I went to see the car. It doesn’t have the xenon light and no video screen on the headrest also. Otherwise, it’s pretty fully loaded.

The cover for the panoramic roof is a thin cloth, not like the 5008 (more like Ford S-Max). The 3rd row seats when deployed, leave plenty of gaps on the left and right side, and also in the middle in between the seats. Since the 3rd row really meant for kids, it should be for “well behaved kids”. If the kids like to stand up and move around, they may get their small feet stuck in those gaps. I wish Citroen would have think of some kind of covers for the gaps.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:21 pm

Children shouldn’t walk around in the car. Not while moving at least. They should be sitting, wearing their seatbelts. If they don’t, they can kill the passengers sitting in front, apart from dying themselves of course. It is up to the parents to teach them.

• sick&tired on Jun 14, 2014 at 2:12 am

I am glad they dropped the semi-auto transmission. I never understod why the previous generation used this transmission.

the adblue,although is good for the environment, is a big PITA. I am not sure about citroen, but in the audi q7 if the adblue is empty, the car will not start. the Thai sourced 730ld didn’t have adblue whereas the grey imported 730ld has it. so if bmw could remove it, why not citroen?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 8:37 am

Just fill up adblue if it’s empty…

• sick&tired on Jun 14, 2014 at 7:39 pm

in europe, you can purchase it from any petrol station, but in Malaysia, its not easily available. Plus its not as easy as it seems,for a Q7 anyway.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:27 pm

Let’s hope Citroen has made the tank more easily accessible. Also, there’s nothing stopping you from keeping stocks of adblue. Maybe some online seller on Mudah will have it readily available for order, so that when you need it you already have some at home. Otherwise I agree, there are some… not so well thought out issues with adblue. IIRC there are cars with like a 30k servicing interval, but the adblue tank lasts 20k only… otherwise it could have been just done when it is time to do the servicing. However servicing intervals are shorter in Malaysia, so that might work out just fine.

It’s too early to tell how exactly it will be for this car.

• Same price with Ford S-Max yet smaller in size. Well Naza just bring in the 1.6 Turbo like the old one and sell at the same price last time circa 120k, that makes more sense.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 14, 2014 at 8:39 am

There is no way they’d sell it at the old price, Citroen in Malaysia is placed above Peugeot now, thus it has to be more expensive than the 5008, also cause it is a better car. I do think they went overboard with the pricing, 170-180k would be much more reasonable.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:49 am

that is partially wrong

DS (by Citroen)
        > Peugeot > Normal Citroen

are how they are placed in terms of which brand is above which

read here
        http://www.psa-peugeot-citroen.com/en/automotive-brands/ds/innovative-luxury-paris

http://www.psa-peugeot-citroen.com/en/automotive-brands

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:30 pm

That is their European strategy. This is Malaysia, and it seems like in Malaysia Citroen (including DS) > Peugeot.

As for going the petrol route… I guess that could shave off 5-10k, but no where near enough to get down to 120k, even if you drop all the options.

However. Diesels are very efficient. And there is this CKD EEV scheme by the government. Maybe Citroen can apply for that and start CKDing the GP? Maybe they are testing interest here? With a massive tax cut this could become a really interesting option.

• Leonon on Jun 14, 2014 at 10:12 am

Almost all options ticked for our local units, except Xenon projector headlamps which should come as standard la.. visually it definitely enhances the already beautifully sculptured car.

• Price too high, better go for mazda biante or Serena.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 14
    • sick&tired on Jun 14, 2014 at 7:44 pm

this car will make the biante and serene look like a cheap chinese knock off!

the problem with people like you is that you only look at price, the biante and serena might be cheaper, but the C6 is a far superior car. just look at the interior! freaking awesome! fck RV, i would pick the C6 over any other MPV.

• hahaha on Jun 14, 2014 at 6:02 pm

MPV for ppl with unique taste…

• Maseratits on Jun 14, 2014 at 8:28 pm

The main selling point of this car to anyone who is interested in getting an MPV, would most definitely be the beautiful looks of it. What a stunning looking MPV!

• kctan on Jun 14, 2014 at 9:24 pm

exora cfe all the way

• Aww punchy diesel engine <3 to me its significantly better than those petrol-powered MPV cx this one is diesel! And diesel is the fuel that gt the most subsidization from G! Why dun get a diesel? Better+more punchy+get more income tax back by pumping diesel! Lol i noe the income tax part isnt really significant though.

• taiko on Jun 15, 2014 at 9:45 am

OMG. What car is this?195k without vacuum door for rear passenger. what type of fellow will buy this mpv. maybe the weird family

• Iskandar on Jun 15, 2014 at 2:26 pm

No cruise control?

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:33 pm

The car shows you a 360° view from above the car, and notices when you leave your lane and steers itself back. I would be very surprised if it didn’t have cruise control… it’s just that the list of what it has is so long that you can’t mention everything.

• allen on Jun 16, 2014 at 12:23 am

Avanza will pwn this no RV car anytime.

• moonier on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:12 am

if got sliding door, will be better..

• I cannot find any cupholders for the 2nd row passengers. Kind of odd for a family MPV. Up front, just 2 shallow cupholders for the driver and front passenger.

• cheng on Jun 29, 2014 at 7:53 am

Too bad. No 5 yrs warranty. This GC4P comes with 3 yrs warranty only!

• najibest on Jul 07, 2014 at 3:52 pm

now this is tempting….

• kacimara on Jul 08, 2014 at 1:26 pm

5 tempat duduk je tu woi… mcm myvi hahaha

• seancorr (Member) on Oct 30, 2014 at 8:52 pm

Wait a minute…which bright spark decided that the gear lever should be protruding from the steering column in an almost vertical position??

• Proton should adopt alot of these European MPVs’ practicality features into its Exora’s interior, which should help sales. ?