Ford Fiesta 1.0 Ecoboost now in Sabah and Sarawak

New Fiesta 1.0L EcoBoost_2

The Ford Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost is now in Sabah and Sarawak, available in all showrooms across both states from today onwards. Priced at RM99,588 (OTR without insurance) in East Malaysia, the sole five-door Sport+ variant is available in three colours – Arctic White, Panther Black and True Red.

The Fiesta 1.0 EcoBoost was launched in Peninsular Malaysia on May 2, priced at RM93,888. What sets it apart from the Fiesta 1.5 is the award winning 1.0 litre three-cylinder turbo engine (International Engine of The Year in 2012 and 2013) under the hood.

The Ecoboost GDI unit makes 125 PS at 6,000 rpm and 170 Nm at 1,400 to 4,500 rpm – surely the highest output RM20 of road tax can buy! A PowerShift six-speed dual-clutch transmission does gearbox duties.

Kit wise, it’s virtually identical to the 1.5 Sport and Titanium save for a full bodykit with splitter-mounted DRLs and seven airbags to the 1.5’s two. EcoBoost decals on the bonnet and sides of the car round off the differences.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Janji Capati on Jun 13, 2014 at 2:19 pm

MITI said car prices will be reduced 30% by year 2018…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 7
  • Ole ole ole ole….world cup fever is on! No time to comment on Paul Tan’s website except for this message! Who will win the World Cup?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 6
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 3:08 pm

I win.. because I don’t waste 2-3 hours of my life time watching TV..

Go to work with enough rest.

Make more money too..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 21
      • Ibrahim on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:07 pm

He got more than enough la, thats why he spent so much time watching tv. You think living is only working hah? You poor working class.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
        • motorbart on Jun 15, 2014 at 10:33 am

That’s motorhead, always look down on people, dun know the reality also look down.

He himself is fake, claimed to drive overrated vios oni sudah perasan rich, puihhhh

• Ney Mah.. on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:43 pm

Sabah n Sarawak prefer Japan….not in World cuplah.. That dey want Brazil.

• Whatever on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:47 pm

Price difference of 5700?! Kononya 1 Malaysia!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 0
    • Jimmy on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:16 pm

Transportation fee and insurans, konon.
      What the differences in prices of Mercedes, or Honda, vehichles between EM and WM?

• Foong on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:56 pm

Hey Motorhead, i run an MNC, but I still watch the World Cup. Its how you manage time, little fella – not how much sleep you get. In Japan, some employees sleep less than 4 hours, but they are still highly productive. So live healthy, stop smoking, stop eating red meat and alcohol, jog often and you can sleep 3 hours and yet be bright and cheery to work.

• tecklee on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:59 pm

Sorry to say this, but unless Ford gets rid of the Powershift dry clutch gearbox, customers are going to regret buying this car. Lots of problems.

• plotongkoman on Jun 14, 2014 at 12:33 am

AIYAAAA… NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LAH.. NO TALKING TALKING…i oni drive bm double u since i was born… Again, NO MONEY GO BUY PLOTONG LAH.. Hehehe

• hope can install this engine into my kelisa and tapao all myvi, dugong, siti, and sam loo’s hilux :D

• Bataman on Jun 14, 2014 at 3:18 pm

RM100k Kancil with a problematic gearbox.

No thanks.

• Tmsoo on Jun 14, 2014 at 6:31 pm

Just went to showroom on today. The salesman said this car no test drive. Now only left white color. The car is 2013 yr production n there is no 2014 car on sale yet. getting rebate 5k for 2013 car. What is Ford think the sales is really good since no test drive for ecoboost and only white color for sale? Very upset to hear this…

• Josh Ling on Jun 17, 2014 at 4:39 pm

saw the true red one in a showroom here. that red is simply gorgeous!!! pity the gearbox is having many issues, else it will be a very good buy. the new fiesta can really do with more power and torque!

• NormanTheGreat (Member) on Aug 14, 2014 at 1:35 pm

I wonder those who condemmed too much had even test drive let alone owned..For now im trading in my wife Jazz for the 1.0T Fiesta ecoboost..And i myself driving the Preve LE with improved drivetrain..Why my wife chose the ecoboost over her 5 years old Jazz?Simple,save road tax,better mileage and more or less the same spacious as Jazz(Spacious among its category) and she wanna being diff..All we know is Japan is reliable etc but that statement actually dont quite like it
    especially in modern days..Yes 10-15 years ago Toyota and Honda is the kinda of bulletproof engines manufacturers but it wasnt the case now.The car itself feel like youre driving a 1.5 or even low spec 1.6 with better low end torque..Try it yourself