1,200 ITIS CCTVs to monitor traffic flow and crime

bkk-ratchaprasong-dt-1

A total of 1,200 new closed-circuit television (CCTV) cameras are set to go online later this month in KL, reports The Star. The cameras will help to manage traffic, as well as watch out for traffic violations and crime, in the city under the revamped Integrated Transport Information System (ITIS).

“The new ITIS can help the police and DBKL traffic personnel oversee traffic conditions. A 30-member team is expected to monitor live feeds from the 1,200 cameras in various locations,” DBKL enforcement officer Mohd Hisham Izhar told the English-language daily.

“When an officer monitoring the feed spots traffic congestion building up in a particular area, he can immediately inform our personnel or traffic cops to manage the situation. This will greatly improve our efficiency and speed in managing traffic flow.”

As the team monitoring the CCTV live feed will consist of police as well as DBKL personnel, the improved ITIS could also help curb crime.

ITIS_Traffic_Webcam

Launched in 2005, ITIS did not get off to a great start – only a few of the 300 cameras under the original system are still working, but Mohd Hisham said lessons have been learnt.

Last year, KL mayor Datuk Seri Ahmad Phesal Talib called for an open tender for new contractors to revive ITIS, and GTC Global Sdn Bhd won the RM200 million contract. The company was then acquired by Telekom Malaysia in November 2013.

Already operational at several spots in the city, the new, improved ITIS system makes use of fibre optics instead of copper cables, and bumps up security with an automated alarm system, according to The Star.

Some cameras, especially those at major traffic junctions, even have 360-degree turning capabilities and speakers to aurally alert motorists. Mohd Hisham told The Star that he hoped the new cameras could also pick up traffic violations by taxis, buses, lorries and private car owners.

kl-city-jam

“Now it is a cat-and-mouse game with taxi drivers who park indiscriminately along the road. Within minutes, their action can cause a serious traffic congestion, especially in areas such as Jalan Bukit Bintang.

“We hope the CCTVs can be used to track repeat offenders and SPAD (Land Public Transport Commission) can use this information to take action, including revoking their permits,” he said.

“Until the (ITIS) project is fully completed, everyone will have to bear with major traffic congestions in Kuala Lumpur (particularly since MRT construction would go on until 2016) but the CCTVs will be a great help,” Mohd Hisham added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:00 pm

Long overdue, superb move…..everyone is a winner….
    Id love to be skeptical bcos of our incompetence,bt lets hope for da best……

• mustafa on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:39 pm

yeah…let’s hope for the best….

• Same L0r on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:13 pm

Even with CCTV, or enforcement officer there on the road, the illegal parking taxis, congestion, crime bla bla bla will still happen. Don’t follow the Proton style: Sendiri Cakap, Sendiri Syok.

RM200mil for 1200 CCTV, it cost RM16k each CCTV. GOOD PROFIT!!!! But who pay for it?

For a few to live rich, all Malaysian have to die poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 5
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 10:50 pm

Equipment, infrastructure and personnel. You don’t just install a CCTV unit there and expect video feed. Also, the personnel working on the system need to be fed too (the maintenance, the installers, yada yada).

Costing isn’t as simple as what you have said, bro. That said, the system isn’t transparent enough to say that none of the funds will be snapped by behind the scenes…

• _xXx_ on Jun 13, 2014 at 6:14 pm

hey, the place shown in the top photo is showing is definitely NOT in Mesia coz all our motorcyclists are well behaved…

• Tumbi on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:13 pm

Let say 1 CCTV cost about rm500, I think they gonna claim RM5000 each, RM4500 masuk pocket

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 10
  • Vader (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:19 pm

Without CCTV, almost everyone already know which area is always having heavy traffic jam.
    No point to waste more money (RM200 million) on installing new CCTV and upgrading the system, use this money to really improve the public transportation but not masuk pocket.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
  • CCTN non HD on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:25 pm

Are this High Definition CCTV camera’s being setup, what’s the point of putting in normal CCTV camera’s when you cannot capture the number plate on a car or bike or even capture the person’s face if a crime is taking place or in an event of a hit and run accident.

If the above cannot be done then this is just another round of wastage of the rakyat’s money and some cronies making millions in the side line !!

• W204 C63 AMG on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:28 pm

Forget about it, if MH370 could flew through Malaysian airspace without RMAF noticing, can you expect 30 people to watch over the entire KL city?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:51 pm

can u?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 13
      • pondan on Jun 13, 2014 at 11:58 pm

Uncle, uk cctv can trace by face recognition.

We can’t even notice the plane turn back.

U tokok ka? Or takde otak?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 8
  • gaviny on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:29 pm

wasn’t this reported few months ago the the entire ITIS system has been shutdown for months already as there are no more parts to replaced?

• DBKL - Sleeping Officers on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:34 pm

Even our army, with highly trained officers can miss MH370 from the radars, do you think this will work?

Military also cannot detect plane, you want the dungu DBKL staff and officers to jaga? They are worse than the military. Half the time DBKL officers are sitting in the kedai kopi and chit chatting. The DBKL don’t do anything in KL. Just showpiece. I don’t know why they even stand at the traffic light and do nothing.

DBKL, please do what you are good at, go and clean the longkangs and clean the semak. Our longkangs are so kotor but that you ignore.

The 30 memeber team that is going to monitor, I can assure you what they will do….they will sleep, makan, lepak, play whatsapp, surf porn on Internet, look at awek awek walking, giggle amongst themselves and so on.

How do I know this?

Because the current DBKL offices on the street do this. On duty but they will play whatsapp, chit chat, laugh and laugh whilst traffic passes by.

So how? If Military Radar guy can sleep on the job and let big Boeing plane enter our airspace, sure the DBKL officers cannot see any crime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 12
    • btree (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 2:33 pm

The system working or not is not the priority

Whats is important is spend the money, certain company will benefit

Wonder why people loves to buy cameras, ITIS, AES

Why not make use of everyone phone camera and share the picture on dedicated platform for traffic sharing

• kzm (Member) on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:52 pm

then u can? cakap berapi

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 12
  • pondan on Jun 13, 2014 at 1:46 pm

what else is new… when started… grand design, throw in tonnes of money and then… no maintenance. everything dies.. then ask for more money and do another grand implementation.

few years later… all dies..

only grand implementation can makan money.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 3
  • How many downed already?

• Just wonder how many CCTV will still be in working condition two months after installation

• Profit gile gile first..
    Crime and others last.
    Malaysia boleh!

• messi on Jun 13, 2014 at 2:49 pm

Satu lagi project untuk mengkayakan cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • messi on Jun 13, 2014 at 2:50 pm

Satu lagi project untuk mengkayakan cronies.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • Ellen on Jun 13, 2014 at 3:13 pm

In the name of “whatever”, we can spend the people money like nobody and don’t have to care about the consequence. Let’s just hope this little project last slightly longer than the usual one. Fighting crime??!! No way, man.

• antirakyatkerbau on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:23 pm

hari tuh ramai yg suruh pasang CCTv utk crime prevention, bila buat utk kroni la. bila cuba nak buat semua kata kroni la ape la… kalau suruh carik buti takda. hanya rakyat bodoh dapat pemimpin bodoh….

• appreciate on Jun 13, 2014 at 4:43 pm

got no CCTV complain when it really is needed like during crime

now got CCTV you all complain

Malaysia only like to complain

apa lagi lu mau???????????????

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
  • protonsucks on Jun 13, 2014 at 5:16 pm

put at police station also, cause thats the source of all crimes

• Azahari on Jun 15, 2014 at 10:56 am

Proper CCTV is an expensive stuff. You cannot compare law yatt CCTV with proper harden CCTV . Yet the CCTV is not the main cost of the hardware. The box that handles the data packet is the one that is expensive. You can buy high end Europe made for 5k in pond sterling or China made high end at cheaper price. And there is a high operation cost in it. Well that is not all the cost. You need to fiberize the CCTV and there is a transport equipment that look like a box in lay man term. If you are in the industry you will quickly realize that the price they are charging is pretty reasonable. There maybe some profit made by the contractor there might be no profit. I can tell you is this. A lot of telco players will be willing to charge the CCTV at cost. Means at no profit which I believe what they are doing right now in this case is. So the question is. How do the contractor make money? They make money somewhere else in this project. Not on the CCTV. Beautiful thing is it is not even our tax money that is paying for it. Nice? The article above already give us a clue to this. TM took over the flop company from the previous project. Why? Only industry players can pick this info up. This project is so smart that is actually a win win situation for government and the contractor. stop bashing the government if you dont know anything. Let me give you a clue. The money lies in the ground :)

• qozh moreno on Jun 17, 2014 at 12:55 am

Well said brother. Sometimes i wonder whether or not did this ppl think before they talk…

• biaDAP on Jun 15, 2014 at 4:18 pm

All of the chinese/malay commentor, please use proper sentence of English. Or you can use national language if you can’t speak properly. All of you always talking politics, not related to automotive at ALL

• Denaihati on Jun 15, 2014 at 11:29 pm

i hope it will a success project, very good purposes.

• wan lower crime! first make the economic betters! since before when our malaysia goes shitty.

the crime rate where got that high!!

because every1 hungry make every1 no choice just to do crime…

• syahif on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:55 pm

Good..Hopefully all the criminals will be caught.