RON 95 petrol, diesel could be exempted from GST

gst-petrol-diesel

The government is considering the possibility of exempting the Goods and Services Tax (GST) from the purchase of RON 95 petrol and diesel, according to a Bernama report.

Deputy finance minister Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan said that this is because at present, the two fuel commodities are exempt from sales tax at rates of 58.62 sen a litre and 40 sen a litre, respectively.

The subsidisation and sales tax-exemption of fuel is a huge cost to the government, he said, adding that the government has not officially decided yet if GST will be imposed on the purchase of fuel.

“(Translated) The government wants to see how much savings (can be obtained) from this move before making a subsidy rationalisation,” he said on Thursday.

fuel-subsidies-june-2014 091

Ahmad said that at present, RON 95 petrol is priced at RM2.10 a litre after a 71 sen government subsidy, and diesel at RM2.00 a litre after a 74 sen government subsidy.

He explained that the breakdown of total petroleum subsidies from 2000 to 2014 were 50% for petrol, 40% for diesel and 10% for liquefied petroleum gas (LPG).

The government paid RM3.425 billion in petroleum subsidies in 2000, RM2.398 billion in 2001, RM917 million in 2002, RM1.823 billion in 2003, RM4.788 billion in 2004, RM8.164 billion in 2005, RM7.281 billion in 2006 and RM8.770 billion in 2007, Ahmad said.

The figure rose sharply to RM15.378 billion in 2008, due to the global oil price jump. Subsidies paid in subsequent years up to 2013 were RM5.593 billion, RM9.065 billion, RM20.275 billion, RM24.726 billion and RM23.458 billion, while this year’s estimation is RM22.24 billion, he added.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Dr Muhammad on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:07 am

say no to GST..increase the Rakyat’s income 1st then we can talk about GST

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 66 Thumb down 8
    • fast5 on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:45 am

Gov just love to make up story GST this GST that. ..
      In cause of making nonsense suggestion what about just demolish excise duty and all hidden taxes…
      Simple solution Rakyat will be happy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 4
      • Same L0r on Jun 16, 2014 at 1:27 pm

Buy car – GST
        Buy Fuel – GST
        Repair Car – GST
        Mod parts – GST
        Toll – GST
        Car Park – GST

For the government and cronies to enjoy Bentley, Lambo, Malaysian tax payers have to die poor.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 46 Thumb down 5
      • tokong on Jun 16, 2014 at 1:33 pm

Example, one apple coming to Malaysia, when import it need to pay 6% from dealer. When dealer sell to distributor, distributor need another 6% to gov. Assume distributor sell them direct to customer, customer need to pay 6% again. So min 18% goes to gov. Unlike last time only 1 time tax when import apple. So u say goods price coming down due to Gst? Get ready for inflation my dear Malaysian.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 6
        • tokong tau sembahyang sajakah? on Jun 16, 2014 at 2:53 pm

You example given was totally wrong.
          Please visit http://gst.customs.gov.my and read all that first then only you can understand how gst is working in malaysia.

Dont comment if u do not sure, u end up giving false info to others who might also dont bother to get the real truth.

Bottomline, if u are a manufacture or wholeseller, u will be scared to increase ur profit margin because gov will know ur actual profit.

Here comes the LHDN… lol

p/s: big taukey will be affected lah…ofcoz la they dont want gst…untung sikit maaa….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 14
          • ohmyE on Jun 16, 2014 at 7:38 pm

go and learn english then u can understand Goods and Services Tax better

• Nampak sgt kebodohan die ni!!!

• Same L0r on Jun 16, 2014 at 3:30 pm

NO, it is not like that. For normal items, the buyer can claim back the GST paid by previous seller. The buyer only need to pay the tax on value added.

Example: item cost RM1
          A sell B RM1.06 (RM0.06 is GST)
          B sell C RM2.12 (RM0.12 is GST) but claim back RM0.06.
          C sell D RM3.18 (RM0.18 is GST), but claim back RM0.12.
          D sell E RM4.24 (RM0.24 is GST), but claim back RM0.18.
          E sell to customer RM5.30 (RM0.30 is GST), end customer absorb all tax.

BUT!!! For CAR only!!!
          *New car*
          Importer buy from oversea RM106k (RM6k GST)
          Importer sell to A RM127.2k (RM7.2k GST)
          A sell to B RM148.4k (RM8.4k GST)
          B sell to end customer RM159k (RM9k GST)
          No one can claim GST, total GST: RM24.6k

Second hand)
          Toyota sell A RM159k (RM9k is GST)
          A sell B RM84.8k (RM4.8k is GST)
          B sell C RM53k (RM3k is GST)
          No one can claim GST, total tax: RM16.8k

Don’t forget there are still excise duty, import tax, AP etc!

All parts and services need to pay GST. The car price will hike! So be prepared.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 0
    • turbo_guy on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:50 pm

Thank you Govt. and welcome GST. We are going to join BN (Broke Nation)!

• me (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:27 am

“The subsidisation and sales tax-exemption of fuel is a huge cost to the government”.

What an idiot.

If the government does not spend too much money on unnecessary items (purchase of items above value, bribery, unnecessary events etc), these subsidies and tax exemption is not a huge cost to the government.

I thought excise duty for cars already contribute high profit for the government. What happen to those money?!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 45 Thumb down 3
    • Corruption ;)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 3
    • ThePolygon on Jun 16, 2014 at 3:11 pm

Aiyoyo… works two ways mah…

“The subsidisation and sales tax-exemption of fuel is a huge cost to the government”.

can also be…

“The excise-duty of imported cars is a huge cost to the people”.

• Of course it has to be GST free for patrol, WTH…isn’t we get enough for inflation?

• matdol on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:28 am

panda gst money for the animals rakyat suffers umno bn kroni kaya

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 2
  • Sunan on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:34 am

Do you believe this government?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 3
  • KERAjaan on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:39 am

ron 97 2.85
    ron 95 2.81

apakah.. mati2 kene tipu.. wakakakaka..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 32 Thumb down 5
    • GUTIERREZ on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:04 am

what are u trying to prove?
      anywho ron97 is also subsidized.. from rm 3.++ to 2.85
      i think it would be better if the govt abolish the subsidy for 97 and just fully subsidize ron95. all of us (lower-middle class citizen) would be much happier.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 13
    • ahmadjohnson97 on Jun 16, 2014 at 12:11 pm

I’m no economist but why don’t gov just subsidise RON 97 and abolish RON 95 since the price are not much difference? I have to think many times if I want to buy a used car like Mitsubishi Evo, Honda Civic Type R, Suzuki Swift Sport, etc. But still I prefer if the gov float RON95 and diesel and reduce the excise duty on cars to be fair.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 2
      • Bataman on Jun 16, 2014 at 12:45 pm

Because Gov cheat you. RON 95 is really RM 2.10 market price. Where got subsidy…on paper only!!! LOL.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 4
      • RON97 on Jun 16, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Not much different?

Even if only subs for 70 cents/l…how many liters u think all Malaysian used?

Even at 2.85/liter of RON97, come visit Johor Bahru/Pasir Gudang/Tg.Kupang, u’ll see the Singaporean taking advantages buyin RON95.
        Even RON97 is stiil much cheaper for them.

Very hard to pleased ungrateful Malaysian. lol

every thing also not good… make ur own government la sai….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 14
        • Bataman on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:20 pm

You are really stupid. Do your maths man.

RON 97=RM 2.85, RON 95=RM 2.81

Difference is only 4 CENTS.

Since you are going to subsidy, just do for RON 97. So we pay RM 2.14 for RON 97, instead of RM 2.10 for RON 95.

Why bother with all the hassle of having RON 95 at all? The processing cost, the logistic, the admin cost and whatever cost of having 2 fuel type.

Wakarimasuka?? Faham?? Understand? Ming Pai???
          :x

• ‘Could’???? if nobody raises this issue, it WILL be imposed with gst..bloody government..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
  • kardashian on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:51 am

im okay with the implementation of GST as long as the govt. abolish the excise duties and sales taxes on cars and upgrade to euro 5 fuel! at least we have a better car that is more fuel efficient = less fuel ups = savings for the govt.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 1
  • mmaker on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:29 am

Nasib baik Rafizi kecoh berkenaan hal ini. Jika tidak buta-buta rakyat malaysia kena bayar gst jika beli petrol.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 28 Thumb down 4
  • The Government think that by not enforcing GST on higher grade fuel, the rest of goods will not have increase in price. They forget about 1 thing. Those millionaires drives luxury vehicles that uses high grade fuel will also pass the increase price in fuel to the end users.

Let say a millionaire driving a Ferrari and used high grade fuel. Let say this millionaire sell something that everyone uses, be it poor or rich. Whatever expenses he occurs, he will claim from his Company, thus his cost of doing business increase. Guess who will pay the extra money he spend on the high grade fuel?

I am not an expert in economy, but I think the Government is not thinking rationally and did not think enough.

• Bataman on Jun 16, 2014 at 12:47 pm

“Think” and “brain” is not in the dictionary use by our goverment.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 3
  • What you mean by could be exempted? Should not have GST!

• x gst on Jun 16, 2014 at 3:00 pm

X GST
    reduce subsidy + gst = rakyat suffer

• Kelvin on Jun 16, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Consumption tax on a subsidized good.

#OnlyInMalaysia

• Kenneth on Jun 16, 2014 at 4:11 pm

Save your bread by spending less on luxury items like CAR. Replace with cheaper ride or even maybe buy one CAR and drive for minimum 8 years :)

That’s reality after all.

• Impose GST provided no cost increase within 10 years, if cannot just say no GST
    Or
    Income increase annually

• blz88bri on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:41 pm

GST= GOVERNMENT SUCK TAX

• Nissan on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:46 pm

Sorry, not commenting on this post, just wander why some other post are comment disabled?

• bn mmg jahat on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:22 am

Bn mmg jahat. Mau matikan rakyat. Bg rakyat jd miskin. I know some countries who implement GST but the rakyat did not die, because they abolish all taxes but only implement GST. BN UMNO GST will totally be different. It will only berat sebelah tahap gaban and rakyat will die poor. Stupid government la. Asyik menyusahkn rakyat aje. Pegi mati la.

• Huge Cost on Jun 17, 2014 at 4:27 pm

“The subsidiZation and sales tax-exemption of fuel is a huge cost to the government”

Sales tax-exemption is not a cost to the govi,
    subsidizing the fuel is not a huge cost to the govi since we are an oil producing country, the govi should be making huge money selling these imported low grade euro2 fuel to us rakyat.

• hcgui on Jun 18, 2014 at 12:08 pm

GST = Government Say Thankyou. =)