Isuzu D-Max V-Cross 3.0L introduced – RM101k-118k

isuzu-d-max-v-cross 097

Isuzu Malaysia has introduced the Isuzu D-Max V-Cross range of pickup trucks. Based on the second-gen D-Max, which launched in Malaysia in May 2013, the V-Cross is powered by a VGS-equipped 3.0 litre 4JJ1-TCX turbodiesel that produces 177 PS at 3,600 rpm and 380 Nm of torque between 1,800 and 2,800 rpm.

That’s a 40 hp and 60 Nm jump over the 2.5 litre VGS turbodiesel in the ‘regular’ D-Max, although made at the same revs. The engine is connected to either a five-speed manual or five-speed auto. All V-Cross variants are 4×4.

Standard exterior equipment includes 255/65 R17 alloys, front fog lamps, chromed folding wing mirrors with LED indicators, side steps, reverse sensors, roof rails and bedliner. Inside, all variants have auto air-con, variable intermittent wipers, a rear demister and speed-sensing auto door locks.

Safety-wise, all variants get dual front airbags, ABS with EBD and BA, ESC, TCS, Isofix, an alarm with immobiliser, and five three-point seat belts.

Additionally, there’s a range-topping V-Cross Safari variant. Finished in an exclusive Venetian Orange Mica, the auto-only variant has its exclusive rims, front grille, exclusive front bumper guard, side steps and side body cladding painted grey, and its roof rails matte black.

It also gets a sporty-looking rear deck lid called a V-Lid, “Italian Premium Leather” seats with orange stitching, special carpet mats and a 6.2-inch screen incorporating navigation, multimedia and a reverse camera display.

isuzu-d-max-v-cross 098

OTR prices with insurance are as follows: V-Cross manual RM101,344, V-Cross auto RM107,460, V-Cross Safari auto RM118,486. A roll bar is a RM1,200 option (cannot be fitted on Safari because of the V-Lid).

Venetian Orange Mica (Safari only), Cosmic Black Mica, Garnet Red Mica, Titanium Silver Metallic and Splash White body colours are available. A three-year/100,000 km warranty is offered. The Isuzu D-Max V-Cross 3.0L will hit showrooms this weekend.

The second-gen Isuzu D-Max range in Malaysia is now thus (below prices are OTR without insurance):

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• those 17 tyres look rather weedy with those wheel arches

• totti on Jun 16, 2014 at 12:37 pm

Isuzu,

You have a nice dashboard and reliable engine but your interior space is worth than the B segment car. (straight back)

If you want to beat Hilux, pls improve your interior space ( to D segment legroom) or just another option of Truck for Malaysia.

I am looking for a family track but looking at the small rear door will stop me from visiting your show room. (dont even want to see and test ride)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 44
    • fknbz on Jun 16, 2014 at 5:17 pm

advice: truck is not good for family use, its bumpy.. Truck is still a truck. For comfort better go for a sedan. =)

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 3
      • urzu3 on May 13, 2015 at 9:31 pm

sedan nak balik kampung susah wei… ingat jalan masuk kampung ok ka…

• parkjw on Jun 16, 2014 at 7:28 pm

hahaha hilux interior space my arse. I cant even sit properly behind a hailat and i’m 6 feet tall. the front seat also too near to the sterling wheel, made it feels like it is made for those with short legs or dwarves.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 2
  • Denaihati on Jun 16, 2014 at 12:42 pm

V-Cross Safari auto have great appearance and style. No doubt all variant have higher torque.

• proud owner of dmax 4×4 2.5 – superbly awesome 4×4!!! and even though 3.0 power is really enticing me to upgrade, but the roadtax here in peninsular will be a killer – 2.5 is enough for me; it can effortlessly cruising @ 150km/hr with unbelieveable FC and damn cheap (relatively) maintenance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 41 Thumb down 1
    • someguyonthenet on Jun 16, 2014 at 4:07 pm

how is the cabin space?

• T.H.Chiang on Aug 25, 2014 at 1:13 pm

It’s not as bad as people claimed. I am an owner of 2.5 4×4. Love every single minute driving it.

• Anti-Fuel-Price on Jun 16, 2014 at 12:53 pm

Helllll yeahhhh baby……. Isuzu u done a great marketing survey. One of my fren construction company was using 2 units of Isuzu 2.5 and when fill with tiles, the truck seem “struggling” especially drive up slope, 2.5 is enough but if 3.0 would be great.

• gutierrez on Jun 16, 2014 at 1:07 pm

the safari edition is superb!!!!!!! i wish that money fell out of the sky… it is raining here in KK.. please let it rain rm 100’s!!!!!!!

• poppi on Jun 16, 2014 at 2:41 pm

It’s True that rear seat space is a bit smaller than hilux n triton but it’s not noticeable. Very minor. Unless your family members are in the FTW (Fat, Tall and Wide) class. It should be sufficient. With ABS, EBD, VSC,TSC, airbag and 5 speed auto gbx.. You’re my my first choice for a 3.0 liter. Hilux is lame, outdated, n still offering us old technology without esc n so on. Price relatively similar.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 3
  • Screw all these puss trucks…

Real man drives Ford F series trucks/T-Tundra

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 54
    • Naji8 on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:35 pm

screw ur a**..shut ur pie hole when u dont even afford to buy puss truck..hahajaj

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 1
  • nabill (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 4:20 pm

Loks ultra cool that orange one…straight fight with the ranger wildtrack….bt power stil lagging behind even da navara 2.5….
    Anyway it really is awesome!

• ahmah on Jun 16, 2014 at 5:14 pm

Most of the new generation track (isuzu/navara/ford/madza/mitsu) still not able to beat the Hilux in term of sale. They can put a high power engine and nice dashboard and neglected the interior space for urban cowboy.

Hilux is still the king in malaysia if this bunch of designer still not able to come out with some innovative design for urban Cowboy’s truck that need a big interior like D segment Car for family comfort.

I am ex-Hilux owner for 3 years and still looking for a family truck. But unfortunatly till today, just cant see any truck with a big interior despite their improvement on the dash board with big horse power engine.

The car designer still sleeping with their job if they are not able the beat the 10 old Toyota Hilux interior space.

They lack of innovative. A good designer should be able to know the urban cowboy’s truck that should have a longer legroom at the rear (like D segment car and an additonal 300mm internal storage area for bag instead of putting bag at the open cargo area).

A 2.5 cab design will be perfect and reduce the open cargo space to 600mm length. (urban cowboy dont need a open cargo)

An innovative Designer that able to produce the big interior (D segment) will beat the Toyota Hilux in term of engine refinement and safety features and sedan car dash board.

Toyota Hilux got no threat from year 2014/15 from new Navara/Triton/izusu in malaysia and they still can enjoy the brisk sale without any improvement of the engine and dash board.

T Hilux always know what the Urban cowboy requirement. And those stupid designer make the Toyota Hilux No : 1 in Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 52
    • Curious on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:28 pm

If you are praising Hilux as the best, why sold (i presume) yours and look for another truck? I am just curious.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 35 Thumb down 0
    • thgh (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:40 pm

wah you sound like you know a lot of things. why don’t you design something than?

typical keyboard warrior/ toyota fanboy/ troll that all you can do is talk nonsense.

Hilux having D segment rear cabin space? joke of the day.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 0
    • Obviously (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:21 pm

Hilux sells because of brand image and reputation. I’ve sat in the back of a Hilux before. I tell you, the vibrations I felt in my bum from the rock hard seats and the flattish back made me feel so glad that I wasn’t there for a long-haul journey. It was a short stretch of road that I’ve driven along before. I never knew the road had so many imperfection until I rode along it in a Hilux.

Reliability aside, the Hilux has not much else going for it. It’s a joke when it comes to safety. It rides high but there is no stability control or roll-over mitigation measures. Plenty of the accidents along the Pan-Borneo Highway in Sarawak involve Hiluxes driven like they’re some Porsche 911. The D-Max is commendable now that it includes stability control and the Ford Ranger will soon include that as well. These are the ones leading the charge and Toyota’s Hilux is only riding on brand trust and reputation which can be quite illogical in the automotive market.

The newer trucks (Triton, Navara, Ford Ranger, BT-50; not sure about D-Max) are far more comfortable than the Hilux (according to reviews), especially the Ford Ranger which won the Overall Car of the Year award, beating more conventional contenders for the title:

http://www.at.ford.com/news/cn/Pages/All-New%20Ranger%20Is%20First-ever%20Pickup%20to%20Win%20Coveted%20%E2%80%9COverall%20Car%20of%20the%20Year%E2%80%9D;%20All-new%20Focus%20Wins%20%E2%80%9CFamily%20Car%20of%20the%20Year%E2%80%9D.aspx

The out-going Hilux is outdated in every way. It shows you haven’t been out to the showrooms before typing this. We’ll just have to see what the Hilux’s successor will bring along when it finally decides to show its face.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 146 Thumb down 0
    • Hadi75 on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:35 pm

Hilux this….hilux that….hilux the best…bla…bla…bla…yet after 3 years you sold it and looking for a new truck….????if hilux is the best why sold it and why still looking???just buy hilux la….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 0
    • poppi (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:47 pm

Hilux (Toy ota)( is doing well in Malaysia because they manage to established a well equipped support system for they fleet like svc cnter, parts and good sales team. But that doesn’t mean it’s the best in the market. Before judging please at least test drive them all (ford, Isuzu, mazda, triton, etc. You’ll be surprised how unique each pickup is tailored to meet the demands of different drivers. And being the first doesn’t guarantee long terms success. Toyota will fall someday and the cycle continues and another company will take its place. Just look at Sony and Samsung. Who’s laughing now..

• 13rian on Jul 24, 2014 at 1:33 pm

First What about the colorado and the D-Max Would win a brand new hilux for sure

• Baja Lapis Seng on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:17 pm

Nice that more and more exciting trucks is being churned out into the market. Nissan, Isuzu, Chevrolet, Ford etc etc is moving up the standard…..wonder if Toyata’s truck will try to catch up or stayed behind slowly being obselete

• is the road tax pricing structure correct??

• harold on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:46 am

Hilux is popular target for car thieves.

Some of us prefer buy trucks but never go offroad.

• To me the best looking truck is always VW AMAROK. But damn VW Malaysia still dont want to bring it into Malaysia. Wrote to them twice many years back and they told me considering. Well its already 3 years!!!! What the hell are you guys doing VWM??

• ahmah on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:17 am

Dear all forum member.

Don’t make yourself look like a dump fool just to bash for no reason and provide your own judgement on why I sold off the Toyota Hilux. As today, Hilux still no: 1 is because of spaciousness and reliable engine despite having low HP and bad suspension.

I am here to give my opinion on how to be an innovative designer and know the Urban Cowboy needs to become No: 1 in Malaysia. I am not biased toward hilux.

Did I say hilux is good at every department? (Engine/suspension/power?) Please don’t try to be an expert and pretend to know everything. But the fact is, despite having less HP/bad suspension/outdated engine, he can make it no: 1 in Malaysia. Why?

I don’t take diesel/durian or those smelly stuff at the cargo deck even I am working in the Construction industry and use to go to the site very often with muddy road.

I am here to highlight the newer trucks that don’t meet the urban cowboy needs especially the cabin space which is uncomfortable with straight back chair and lack of internal storage for a trucks.

I used Hilux with a Canopy and found that the cargo space is too big for me and serve no purposes all. The goods or bag will be moving around at the cargo bed (after shopping) after cornering despite having some netting to prevent the moving goods.

In conclusion, most of the Urban cowboy don’t need an open cargo space and create an internal storage at the back seat will be more practical to keep a sport bag and computer items. (Extend the roof line and rear glass to the centre of the wheel to create an internal storage at the deck thus the backseat able to move backward for comfort.

I think many dump people here including the designer(have yet to own a truck) still emphasize on power and latest technology to sell their product and unaware of what needed to be done for an urban cowboy.

Perhaps, this designer is emphasizing on cargo space for other country usage rather than the passenger comfort.

As a ex truck owner for 3 years, I don’t think the truck is practical for Urban Cowboy without a big interior back seat (bigger than Hilux) for my family comfort and some internal storage space for some goods. But till today, No truck (including the Hilux) is able to meet my needs and has moved to a more practical car now.

The designer need some innovative to design a truck that suit Malaysia cowboy and high HP truck can convince the buyer here.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 25
    • Jon Snow (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 11:51 am

Clearly all your claims, ideas, opinions…blah…only applies to Malaysia where we are so UNIQUE to have “Urban Cowboy” who in reality can’t afford a decent SUV or D-segment sedan(thanks to Gov again) for family to sit in comfort while driving in the urban area, not to forget driving in psycho, crazy, selfish, don’t care about other smaller or “softer” car, give way you small car or I’ll bang your back & blah blah blah… driving “MODE”. Also not to forget they also think since their car is so “BIG” in their illusion Hilat is so luxurious and so much to be proud of….pathetic…
      I felt sad for you, not angry actually…
      Btw, looking at global sales figure Ford, Nissan, Isuzu, Chevy, GM’s designer don’t really bother to look at your “shiok sendiri” brilliant idea…thanks anyway for your input.

• Ahmah,

Sabar ye. The reason the forummers here react the way they do to your statement is because you called the designers of other truck “stupid”. So expect lah the repercussion.

• Hadi75 on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:32 pm

Hilux….spacious???are you kidding…..hilux still number one is because of the brand name and perceived quality……and this “urban cowboy” that you keep repeating most probably you…..
      A truck iS a truck with big flatbed for cargo…that is what they are built for….If you want bigger space inside with all those space to keep your things then dont buy a truck….it is not for you…you better get yourself an mpv…..

• If you got money = buy an SUV
      If less money = buy a 2nd hand SUV (eg. Land Cruiser 80 series)
      If no money = naik bas lah bro…

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 10:13 pm

To have the last word, the car you have described about having an extended roof line with seats capable of being moved back fit the bill for an MPV or a family oriented SUV.

Your urban cowboy concept (are you one?) seems like they actually don’t know what kind of car they need. There are other cars perfectly suited to what you described as “what urban cowboys want” yet why are the urban cowboys only considering pickup trucks? These trucks are built with a specific purpose and a specific market in mind. The cargo bed exists for the reason of hauling cargo. They aren’t classified as commercial vehicles for no reason, you know?

If you are thinking “why does this cargo bed exist? why can’t it be used to have more cabin space instead?” then you are looking at the wrong class of car. You should look at SUV’s or MPV’s which are far more family oriented (they have more comfortable rear suspensions).

I don’t know, man. Your argument doesn’t really make sense. Hilux is number one because it was good back then. Now? Not so much. It’s selling on its legacy alone. The rear is uncomfortable (rode in one). Have mercy on your family and get a proper vehicle designed for the family man. If you want space, there’s the Honda CR-V, the Nissan X-Trail, Mitsubishi Pajero Sport, Toyota Fortuner, Mazda CX-5, and many more. Even the Ford Ranger is more comfortable than the Hilux.

• Rokuth on Jun 20, 2014 at 5:18 pm

From your descripion, it sounds like you should have upgraded to the Fortuner. The Toyota Fortuner is basically a shorter, fully enclosed Hilux. Unfortunately, because it is considered a SUV, its price is much higher.

• akumaru on Jun 26, 2014 at 8:53 pm

ahmah… do we have cowboy in malaysia…. lawak lah u nie… haha

• Hilux Lover on Jun 17, 2014 at 12:26 pm

I have been using hilux more than 7 years and bought again hilux twice…..I test drove yesterday..1 word SUPERBB!!! seriously worth buying! Good Job Isuzu!

• Hadi75 on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:50 pm

Hilux interior spacious???are you kidding me…..hilux still number one bcos of perceived quality and brand name….
    A truck is a truck with large flatbed to carry cargo and stuff….if you want bigger interior to stash all your stuff than a truck is not for you….you should buy an suv or mpv…i think this “urban cowboy” that you keep repeating is you…..and by the way, it is spelled D U M B not D U M P….sound the same but different meaning…

• =)

I don’t mean supporting Isuzu DMax, tested on pushing it to the limit on road stability compare to other trucks, it is the best among all available in the market. The traction control, esc, braking system are best among all. It react almost instant without delay unlike other models. Power wise, lower power but consistent in power delivery.

• Trucker on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:32 pm

I currently own Isuzu dmax 3.0 iteq and the current Hilux 3.0 VNT
    Comfort – Hilux wins
    Handling – dmax wins
    Resale value – Hilux wins
    Durability – both wins
    Armor – dmax wins ( dmax iteq steel is much more solid than Hilux)
    Performance – Hilux wins (Isuzu apparently cuts the power but chipping will solve that issue)
    Modding – Hilux wins (Isuzu is a bit complicated to mod)
    Overall both on equal terms. Hilux main competitor is the dmax series. Don’t waste time test driving them,as their true nature will not be reveal during test drive. Just pick the truck which suits your need rather then listening to salesman or fan boys. Cheers!!

• 2cents on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:15 am

To be frank, consumers nowadays are very smart due to researching and comparing specs among all the makes.
    D-Max = Durable Reliability Comfort & Good FC
    Triton = Powerful & Futuristics Look (not my cup of tea)
    Navara = Powerful and Rugged
    Hilux = Smooth Performance Durable Reliable but Bumpy
    Ranger = Powerful and Rugged (Quite wild looking)

The above pickup are most sellable on road. Different pickup have different character.

• fknbz on Jun 26, 2014 at 7:24 pm

You know why Hilux’s sales better? It because boss bought Hilux for his worker. But he bought his self a Ranger or Dmax. Get what i mean? ;)

• Serena27 on Jun 28, 2014 at 12:45 pm

1) Looks good and outstanding.

2) How is Isuzu Dmax more advantageous than the new Nissan NP300 2014? There are of course difference in horsepower and torque.

Both are equally good. Would like some good technical views from you guys

Serena.

• Bslee on Sep 25, 2014 at 9:40 pm

I would wait till new Nissan Nevara being released here , heard it has bigger rear seat and comfy too because of rear multilink suspension. Wait lah.

• poppi (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 11:50 am

could not wait for the new navara… the reason is..
    auto industry is so competitive.. Wait for the new navara.. then in just a few weeks or months toyota will release its new arsenal of hilux, followed by ford, isuzu, etc… all in a very short span of time.. just compare what we have now and hope for the best.. Bought the dmax vcross so far satisfied with its FC, comfortness, torque and power.. A car is just a car it will never be a better investment compare to your house or education. Buy one that fits your needs..

• poppi (Member) on Oct 26, 2014 at 11:58 am

yo mr bossy paul tan.. how bout once in a while come up with an article that educate people on all matters that related to automotive sector.. Exmple like how to buy a used car, what to check for, how to fix simple things like overheating and so on. I just hate it when people quarrel over trivial things like which car is better and so on… Your money your decision.. Many forumers here have a part time job.. that is of a SALESMAN!

• Dmax Vcross on Nov 24, 2014 at 10:17 pm

I own vcross 3.0…powerful..great handling..hvr more technology than toyota hilux vnt turbo..

• Kampong Boy on Dec 18, 2014 at 11:33 am

Ive been using isuzu dmax 2.5 for almost 3 yrs..she never disappoint me whenever I need a truck to transport my bibit getah to my kebun..not spacious enough but excellent fuel consumption and durable..tough truck!!! Just some advise..if u need heavenly comfortable car,dont buy truck..go for suv or sedan..truck are made for tough environment..which one better..toyota hilux or other truck?? I honestly think its depend on individual..

• Dmax Vcross on Feb 08, 2015 at 9:57 pm

I wonder when my friend told me that his ford 2.2 xlt perform more powerful when he drove on ascended lane.. RPM is the answer..High power delivered by lower rpm is the reason..

• Vcross on Feb 08, 2015 at 10:03 pm

High Power delivered during lower rpm is show how powerful are the car…

• trucker on Apr 02, 2015 at 7:47 pm

D only reason hilux bcome d best seller coz giant estates, logging camps are buying it. Why? Bcoz these Co’s. are d distributor of hilux. Otherwise, hilux selling just as goog as other trucks. When ppl see lots of hilux in estates n logging camps, they assumed hilux is d toughest.. but in reality..

• Ali imran on Jan 10, 2016 at 2:37 pm

I used to drive small cars n sedan cars. My first drive is kancil (everybody drove them, u have to or u will have ur license), viva n then nissan almera. Most of the time, i thought that i dont need truck coz i dont bring along high load in my car. But after i ride dmax v cross, i totally fell in love towards trucks. Then i test drive ford, nissan navara n so on. For me, ford is on the top list, when it comes to comfort n tech, second is navara and third is this dmax 3.0. However, ford is too pricey n their spare parts will cost me a lot. Nissan navara is good, especially the highest spec vl, but the engine is somehow, well, i thought the engine have too much pressure. For a 2.5 then u shoot up to 194hp, from my point of view, put a lot of stress to the engine. Of course after 5 years the engine will not be reliable just like when u first bought it. So, after quiet some time, i think i will face some problems with the engine just like how navara used to, since she is using the same engine as the previous one which is prone to problems. The dmax v cross 3.0 is the best overall. From price, durability, specs, spare parts n i hardly heard owners complaining about dmax. Hilux, too outdated. It piss me off when the trd is almost the same price as dmax but no esc ebd n etc? Toyota u got to be kidding me. Its like i will be overpaying this hilux. N the ride, gosh!!! Its so hard n stiff!!! Hate hilux!! Seriously man, should come out with a better version. For mazda, well, i hardly see mazda bt 50 on the road, but i test drive one. For city cruising, its like the mazda is struggling to keep up with the speed of 80km/h. Its not a good machine if u drive like an old man. Comforts n etc is good n i think its the cheapest truck available in the market where at 106k u will have 3.2 engine. For mitsubishi, the comfort n road manner is uncomparable for me. However, i hate the design (sorry mitsubishi guys). For me, dmax 3.0 v cross is the best n finally, i bought one yeaaayyyy!!!! Dmax diablo for me. Have u got one?