Motorists’ attitudes to blame for accident spike – JKJR

PJ Traffic Jam

The Road Safety Department (JKJR) says that rising road accident rates are caused, among other things, by the attitudes of road users who believe that it would not happen to them.

National news agency Bernama quoted JKJR director-general Datuk Dr Tam Weng Wah as saying that it is because of this mentality that road users neglect the rules, contributing to increased crashes and fatalities.

“In terms of road safety awareness, it is there but it is at a low level, and motorists are not taking safety aspects very seriously. By right, the people themselves must correct this attitude because it is their own lives at stake here,” he said, adding that last year, some 60% of the 6,915 deaths on the road involved motorcycles ridden by youths.

saigon-motorbike

“We have to pay closer attention to this, because it is the younger motorists who are most at risk of being involved in accidents. As such, I hope the younger generation in particular can change their attitudes, practice better driving patterns and follow the law so that they do not add to the statistics,” he added.

Tam also voiced his concerns about the rising trend of using smartphone apps while driving, warning that such behaviour, if left uncurbed, could become the biggest cause of road accidents in the future.

The director-general was at the launch of a road safety programme in partnership with Petron Malaysia and the Malaysian Institute of Transport (Mitrans) at Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM), where 150 helmets and 100 tins of motorcycle engine oil was distributed.

Do you agree with the points raised?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• Latte on Jun 16, 2014 at 5:43 pm

Yes never blame kopi O culture. Never!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 5
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:49 am

Woi JKJR yang tersangatlah BODOH…..

I had proposed many many many proposal for you to adopt, implement, consider…..but none is taken into affect….

JKJR should be abolished, its a waste of taxpayers money !!!!!

THE REAL CULPRIT TO MSIAN ROAD ACCIDENTS:
      JPJ – PLAIN IDIOTS SYLLABUS AND IDIOTIC OFFICERS
      JKJR – WHAT IS MY ROLE???? NOT SURE, NOT UNDER MY OFFICE, N0T ENUFF BUDGET BLA BLA BLA…..
      MIROS – I STUDY ONLY MAAAA……I CANNOT IMPLEMENT MAAAA
      JKR – ROAD QUALITY, IDIOTIC ROAD SIGNAGE, INAPPROPRIATE ROAD SPEED…….NO BUDGET MAAAA…….

BODOH PUNYA ENFORCERS……LAGI MAU BLAME MOTORIST…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
      • Black Dog on Jun 17, 2014 at 12:26 pm

There it goes. When it’s clearly stated that most accidents victims are MOTORCYCLIST, here most are talking about car drivers.

It’s easy to understand why motorcyclist are killed more than other road users. They never give a damn about traffic lights. They never wear helmets or faulty rear lights esp in small towns. They squeeze between cars so fast that not only get themselves killed but destroy a lot of side mirrors too. They load 3 or 4 persons in a bike and the police think biasa aje lah.

• abuya123456789 on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:00 pm

Yes…. Always blame motorist…. When accident, police will consider motorist fault, not because road condition, not because confusing interchange road as well as stupid signage (signage for wedding is far far far better), not because traffic light timing and etc.

For vehicle, always come out statement, pasaran di Malaysia tak terlibat.

• Yes partly true that the attitudes of the motorist and drivers contributes to the increase of accident rates but JKR , JPJ are to be blamed too , they are the ones that should be educating the drivers and motorcyclist and make sure they are fit in terms of skills and attitude and not just accepting bribes and easily give out license to the people

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 68 Thumb down 6
    • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:48 pm

Education is one thing, enforcement another. The problem is that it doesn’t matter how well educated and considerate you are, if everyone around you is a jerk you’ll end up being one as well. People have to be forced to drive properly, following ALL the rules, not just the speed limit. Then, maybe, after a long time, people will adapt and drive properly without having to be forced to.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 17 Thumb down 2
      • Agree that everyone could be less of jerks. But education is much preferable to “forcing” people. Forcing people to do anything rarely work as well long term. If people hate it, they will revert. They should want to do it.

Also, all the rules? If you’re Malaysian enough, you should know that some of the rules are stupid and/or made up on the spot (then flip flop days later) without consultation.

Another less-known issue is that bad traffic planning. Strange U-turns, or overly-high density areas (approve too many condos/offices, but never build proper or enough access roads) -> these “force” people to drive “creatively” too.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:43 am

I agree with the bad planning, and the .

At least some of the rules (such as tinting) are taken from Europe, and they make sense (and not for the “criminals could hide” reasons the government likes to give), even if people don’t understand.

Is there a complete set of traffic rules for Malaysia in English somewhere?

As for enforcement: If you watch traffic education videos from Germany from the 60s etc., you’ll see they were very bad drivers. Constant enforcement and education changed that. People didn’t want to wear seatbelts, but if you ever sat in a car with a young German, they will put on their seatbelt at the very moment they get into the car. Even when the car isn’t moving yet.

In any case, the problem is that people adapt to other drivers. If the majority drives bad, they will spoil good drivers, and vice versa. Sadly that means that even if every new student is a great driver, very considerate and all, they will be spoilt very soon. I learned driving in Germany, and drove there for a decade or so, before spending 2 years in Malaysia. My driving style has become much more aggressive, and at times I might even overtake on the wrong lane. And I was told by older Malaysian drivers to just stay on the right lane! What do you think will happen with a kid that has just passed driving school, and learned to drive on the left lane unless overtaking. Then he drives his father, and he will tell his son “aiya, why always switch lanes? Drive on the right lane can, don’t make me sea sick!” How long until the kid will stick to the right lane?

• JPJ yes.. but not JKR..

• of course. i Fxxking hate motorcyclist. There are the main causing major and minor accidents. the ride as if they own the road. screw them.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 85 Thumb down 31
    • AVH (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Following the comments, I am starting to think that there are people mistaking motorist for just motorcyclist.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
      • kangkong on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:27 pm

I notice there are getting more and more drivers “just back” from USA or Europe. Why? They just drive like tortoise at the overtaking lane like his/her own road!

Otherwise, talking on phone with 1 hand like the whole world belong to him/her.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 4
    • AVH (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:22 pm

Following the comments, I am starting to think that there are people mistaking motorist for just motorcyclist.

• xx driver/rider on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:39 am

not all motorcyclist are fxxking on the road.. some of the drivers too are fxxking idiots…

• AVH (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:05 pm

In another news, studies have shown than when a person is killed, he is not alive anymore….and statiistic revealed that the leading caused of burns is touching hot surface. Honestly, did it took this long for the JKJR to realise this facts?

Its not just driving fast either, I have notice many if not most Malaysian driver are genetically born to KEEP TO THE RIGHT, regardless of the speed. Regardless the fact that it is a 2 or 3 lane highway, almsot all drivers kee to the right and saty there. And most of them have extremely poor situational awareness. The other day on the NKVE, I saw a person entering into the NKVE and is almost just natural to go straight to the right as possibe……right into the path of a Trailer doing double the speed. I like to add mirror-less and lightless motorcycles, Taxi who stops wherever at their whimps and fancy and also drivers who ignores Signal lamps(The color orange are apperently a sign to PICK-UP their speed, regardless is it a signal lights or Traffic lights), this rant will be another TL:DR.

But I also blame the roads…..merging in an out almost instantly, roadworks takiing entire generations to built and Road signs that tell you what you have missedor in the case in Cheras, they are all Bloody advertismenet boards for Loan Sharks(AS IF we can squint out eyes to see your number!!). Errand motorist are just part of the ingrediant, poor planned rooads and ever ongoing roadworks are the other ingrediiants that make Malaysian roads a chaos wonderland.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 72 Thumb down 1
    • holofanboi on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:03 am

The turn signal. Apparently the fingers are too heavy to bloody use it.

Or ego. I dont know. All I know is, young or old the turn signal is never used.

For those not using turn signal pls remove your signal lamps I think I can open a business with it.

Profit not guaranteed.

• isuzuki on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:05 pm

Maybe because Malaysia has become a lawless country?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 51 Thumb down 4
    • Hehe. So far 29 likes, and not a single dislike.

In before the cybertroopers add a dislike.

• isuzuki on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:47 am

Heard of this? What does the traffic light mean (in Malaysia)?

Green – Go
        Orange – Go very fast
        Red – No police around, go.

LOL

• ToBohLanSamLoo on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:06 pm

The design of road, the road quality and the racing Myvi are the factors too.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 56 Thumb down 1
  • Same L0r on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Yes, they always think they own the road. It is their right to come fast from behind and expect everyone notice them.

They are daring to race with cars at the speed of 130km/h and they think they are Iron man in real that nothing would happen to them.

When they are lucky didn’t die on the road, they will upgrade to saga/viva then you see the mat rempit style of these cars on the road cutting here and there like playing need for speed.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
  • Jejambu on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:14 pm

Attitudes are the main reasons. But both attitudes of road users as well as authorities and planners. Signages, traffic lights, lighting, road surface conditions are all wanting. There’s no standard when it comes to traffic lights. There’s no standards when it comes to road signages, no standards when it comes to street lighting, etc. On one hand, traffic rules applies to the masses but VIPs get away with it. They even have outriders for hire to clear the path for them in traffic jam. So everyone’s attitudes must change to reduce incidences of accidents and law breaking.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:52 pm

Just yesterday, someone with a very antique car(probably Bentley or Rolls Royce, But its definitely Pre-War British) driving down NKVE with heavy escort policeman actually clear the path for the entire 3-lanes of the NKVE. Given these circumstances its probably a High ranking member of the Royal family…..
      Not that I am against it but I prefer they actually take one lane of the highway instead of all 3, those poor rakyats stuck behind them in all 3 lanes.

• Also bad road planning: have to U-turn 1 km down the road, or just simply too little lanes for too high density area. Who asked who to give approval to developers for so many condos/offices without upgrading roads?

And even bad parking planning. Leads to cars double/triple-parked to take up lanes and worsening traffic jam. How can it make sense to have only 2 parking spaces, for a 4-storey shoplot? Only 2 people in 4 floors drive? All other people helicopter in? Hijack public bus? No need customers?

• IamConcernToo on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:20 pm

Yes, drivers’ attitude cause most of the accidents, the other time is due to unsafe road condition, where motorcyclists/drivers weave in/out of traffic to avoid them. Now that they realise half of the problem, I sincerely hope it won’t take them long to enforce the necessary corrective measure.

• There’s one more annoying thing that can cause accident – overtaking on the emergency lane.. i actually saw one car hitting the back of a stationary car (tyre punctured) few years ago on PLUS highway. Luckily no one died… I was like happy and sad at the same time. Happy coz something actually happened to the guy that committed the act, sad for the owner oh the stationary car

• gdntsk (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:34 pm

Yes, bad attitude of motorists can lead to increasing accidents. However, it isn’t the only factor because in Malaysia, there are plenty of factors other than motorists’ bad attitude that contribute to road accidents. Some of them may not be common factors:

1. Extremely undertrained drivers (8-10 training hours is too LOW compared to other developing/developed countries)
    2. Badly maintained roads i.e. potholes and cracks on the road
    3. Peculiar road/interchange/highway entry lane/highway exit lane technical design (there are some in KL, not sure whether other places have that too) which can cause confusion to motorists to a certain extent
    4. Badly maintained vehicles (especially old ones)
    5. Bad weather conditions
    6. Stray animals on the road
    7. Crosswinds (especially on highways)
    8. Unforeseen circumstances (like a tyre bursting while travelling on the highway at 110 km/h)
    9. Unnecessary and illegal speeding

And younger people are not the only high risk group tht can get involved in accidents. In fact, EVERYONE is at high risk of getting into accidents considering the state of our “perfect” driving skills.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 1
    • I agree completely on your first point. In addition, most driving school only teach their student on how to pass the test instead of teaching on proper driving technique and road safety.

• kadajawi (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:08 pm

The test is to blame too though. If the test is designed to test behavior rather than being able to move the car only, driving schools would have to teach that as well.

My driving exam in Germany took around 45 minutes IIRC, it included having to drive on the highway, all the while the tester was chatting with me while watching if I paid enough attention to the road while being distracted (i.e. if it happens automatically, and not just because I’m being tested and concentrate very much on it), giving instructions that are illegal (so I have to notice and tell the tester) etc.

I also blame the cars they use to teach and test driving students. Use something proper, something the student might end up driving, so that highway driving can be learned. At the moment they get used to underpowered cars with no NVH, that feel really fast without being fast at all. Once they switch to their parents car they’ll be racing because they are adjusted to lots of noise meaning driving slowly. Germans usually learn on C segment hatchbacks, though I’ve even seen big SUVs (pity the students…). In Malaysia I’d say a B segment sedan would be the best choice. Anything from a Saga onwards would be fine.

• These issues are not restricted to Malaysia. Roads in London are at times just as bad. However motorists are nowhere near as aggressive.

• I spent less than 5 hours on the wheel before taking my driving exam back in Indiana, USA and my driving instructor happen to be my college mate. I think the driving skills and technique are developed over time.

To me, it’s just Malaysian, if not asian/3rd world mentality and lack of enforcement causing all these to happen.

• angeldown on Jun 16, 2014 at 6:42 pm

The attitude of the rider/driver got problem, totally agree, but who allow those people to be on the road? JPJ of cos… with the level of corruption in the license acquiring process, anyone can just pay their way to get the driving license, and these problematic people will just drive down the road and create accident like nobody business… and no authority is actually doing anything to control or catch these problematic people, probably because they have drank the kopi from them… hopeless

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:35 pm

U just confirm wat i said previously that bolehland people r very corrupt people..everything must suap somebody…jpj people became corrupt bcoz boleh people corrupting them..u give they take, they ask u give..same thing

• Yea, blame the motorists! So, let’s ban the motorbike. What’s next? The truck driver? Let’s ban the lorry! Next? the road the condition is terrible! Let’s ban JKR. Finally, our government policy sucks, let’s ban the government.

It’s easy to put blame on other people. But, our government institutions like JPJ, JKR, Puspakom, Police, etc, never really did a holistic study on accident cases and how to reduce or prevent them.

Where did all our money (billions and gazillions ringgit)go that we pay through road tax? I don’t see any major improvement in the road system or public transportation.

Stop the blaming game.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 15
    • The comments on this website are going from bad to worse. We as motorists are responsible for the way we choose to behave on the road. No amount of Government legislation can change the ignorant and selfish attitude of drivers on our roads. So let’s grow up and start acting like we actually care about our lives, and the lives of those around us.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:38 pm

U close ur eye or wat?…if u accident during heavy rain on highway road…u want to blame ur ownself or god?

• Utopia on Jun 16, 2014 at 7:05 pm

If everyone will drive like the angel (or do anything for the sake of others), there’s no need for law.

Unfortunately, we know there are people with different agenda, crooks and people who are only looking out for themselves. And some people view dangerous driver differently as others.

We don’t life in a perfect world. That’s why we have law to keep everyone leaving happily. JPJ need to step it up and prioritised and do their job at educating, promoting and penalising dangerous driving. Clean up you act JPJ.

• matkool on Jun 16, 2014 at 7:20 pm

1. Fix your damn JPJ and hapuskan rasuah. Fking bribe everywhere even for one test.
    2. Then JKJR fix the damn road lah. One day I almost hit a car because want to avoid dangerous jalan berlubang. If tak avoid tayar rosak, if avoid langgar kereta. So how ?
    3. First class car but third country mentality.

• kzm (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:43 pm

1. Many boleh people very corrupt people.
      2. If jln bndran, negeri, kg must ask ur state govt.
      3. This im totally very agree

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 7:22 pm

Ahh.. again first Miros.. then JKJR.. all agree with motorhead. . It’s about attitude. . Yesterday 3 Lambo burnt down.. & yet some Protong butthurt said Myvi & Vios are coffins? Why not kapchai?

What a mentality. .bunch of loosers mentality. . Very obvious. .

They think they are 100% safe in the not selling well Sperma S.. hope they are not dead yet.. May God bless them..

Remember folks. . Paul not dead in a Daihatsu. . Or Myvi.. or Perodua. . Or jap milo tin.. Toyota. .

So.. follow the rules.. speed limit. Any modern cars are safe if driven at 60-90kmp.. any cars.. including a Kancil. Plus.. safe fuel for the earth.
    Safe money too.. like me… Hahaha. .

Abg polis mesti suka Motorhead. . Wa sudah tobat.. x mau saman.. wa drive slow2.. ikut law..

• motorbart on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:11 pm

Despite not selling well, Suprima S is still much safer than junk Myvi and Vios. Syok sendiri proton butthurt.

• Same l0r on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:16 am

Buy Preve, you only safe during accident but your wallet is not safe from the moment you got the car.

Using your logic, the saga, persona, satria, exora also junk because they are not better than Myvi.

Proton fanboy really think Preve/Suprima S are the car from heaven.

• Motorhead (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:15 am

5S..

Sendiri syok.. sendiri rosak.. sales carnival.. sendiri tak boleh jual.. sendiri bankrupt..

So you admit yourself sendiri not selling well.. global car konon.. puiihh..

Hahaha. ..

• Same L0r on Jun 17, 2014 at 12:16 pm

UPDATED:

Proton 6S Lifestyle:
          1. Sendiri Cakap
          2. Sendiri Syok
          3. Sentiasa Rosak
          4. Sales Carnival
          5. Sendiri (masih) Tak Boleh Jual
          6. Sendiri (mungkin) Bankrupt.

Thanks, Motorhead!

• Hate to say this but it’s partly true.

• Whynot on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:38 pm

On more than 3 occasion in a busy jammed street in KL and Selangor, my car back side lamp was broken and both sides car was scratched with irresponsible motor cyclist by one Indo’s and by two Indian’s. The Indo’s did the worst one by damaging my lamp causing me several hundreds ringgit without even saying sorry. While two fat Indian’s simply moves on without stopping at all. This is the most of the attitudes you will get from poor motorcyclists! I can summons with a polis report as I had records of their no. plates. But I did not because I was once a motorcylist too. But please don’t do that again motorcylists. Your life is not worth a penny if you kill yourself one day like a dead cat or dog by the road side. Nobody will pity you. It is a stupidity of your own arrogant attitudes.

• lamepug on Jun 16, 2014 at 8:40 pm

road are like tiger mouth.. the more u lingering the highest chances u get the bites. so stay out of road.

• Bataman on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:14 pm

JPJ – Remember to potong the tress which is blocking most of the roadsigns before a dividing road. Seems like very popular in Malaysian roads there’s always a coconut or palm tree blocking the sign.

• satumii on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:15 pm

When enforcement officers are corrupted and failed to enforce the law – motorists will take advantage of the circumstance to break the law. Singaporean motorists behave like a pussycat while driving in Singapore but drive like a rabid dog when in Malaysia.

• Tiger on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:36 pm

Changing lanes without any signal or at the very last minute, this is undoubtly the cause of many fatal accidents, victims mainly motorcyclist..just read the news and almost everytime the same words ” the motorcyclist grazed the car or grazed by the car”

• tokmoh (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 9:55 pm

Yes, yes, yes, yes, semua salah raykat, tak penah govt salah. Govt tu Tuhan, perfect, tak boleh salah langsung.

Buat jalan cam haram, salahkan kita yg gunakan jalah sampah diorg. Ble kte cuba compare ngn jalan2 kt first world countries, butthurt kata kite yg bodoh tak reti bawa, tak suka kluar.

IF JPJ/JKR etc are not as corrupted as now, road standard would be much better, drivers will be better as lousy drivers will fail their tests.

Instead, sibuk pasal dark tint, bodoh bertingkek tingkek. Director diorg pakai tint gelap, bola kecut tak berani nak tegur, kte pasang tint mahal2 lebih rm2,000, sibuk nak bazir duit, masa kte. G MAMPOS LA CADBURY JKR/JPJ/KAFIR LAKNATULLAH MAKAN RASUAH!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • klguy on Jun 16, 2014 at 10:22 pm

yaya, blame everyone except yourselves.

• Ray (Member) on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:12 pm

Have to agree with them this time. Most accidents are indeed caused by ill mannered driving, which is then further contributed by a common perception that being an experienced driver makes a good driver. Drivers with such mentalities can usually be spotted speeding on our streets and changing lanes without even bothering to flick on their turn indicators. Of course, there’s the usual bunch of youngsters who drive like maniacs on the road with their pimped up Myvis, and there will always be this little boy or girl with a P sticker slapped on the rear windscreen hogging the right lane without knowing what to do next.

Horrible driving attitudes of Malaysians, my personal list:
    1. Road hogging, especially the right lane. And of course, this includes driving in the middle of two lanes. Like a boss baybeh!
    2. Emergency braking. I don’t know why but we Malaysians tend to do so all the time, perhaps a lot of us are not alert enough on the road.
    3. Not forgetting tailgating though. Most people tend to stick closely to the butt of the car in front. Dude, you need ample distance to brake when the person in front stops suddenly.
    4. Indecision, which means sudden lane changes, and of course without using turn indicators. Way to go people!
    5. Motorcyclists rule! Oh yes, they squeeze through lines of cars and hit wing mirrors, dash out of junctions suddenly and I’ve actually noticed quite a number of them not stopping at the red light.

I do agree that enforcement is also one of the main contributors to this issue but then, putting all the blame on them is not fair. It all still comes down to our driving on the road, and we don’t have many points to accuse them for not being committed enough in their jobs. Of course, stricter enforcement would be a very welcoming strategy to solve this but when it comes to “solving”, things are already a little late. Why not do more to “prevent” accidents from happening by practising good driving ethics?
    (Hint: stricter JPJ testing should be implemented, though)

• motorise on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:18 pm

Funny to see this article this evening. Just earlier in the afternoon I almost killed a motorcyclist. I was driving on an avenue at around 70kph and this lady decided to ride her motorbike right across the road WITHOUT looking, in a very slumber manner.

But one thing that REALLY annoys me on the road is freaking slow pokes on the overtaking lane.. best is when they have ZERO situation awareness and do not know that they are holding up traffic behind, even when people had to resort to undercut them over and over and over again. Even after honking some of them they still refuse to move. Selfish pricks.

• kangkong on Jun 17, 2014 at 7:58 am

Me even worst, have to press emergency brake for 2 times in 500m distance last Friday. Those idiot mat rempit just ran through red light like enjoying sight seeing. The second one even worst that they looked back at me like they do not know what they have done wrong after my hard pressing horn.

• Denaihati on Jun 16, 2014 at 11:24 pm

we just agree with the statistic show to us, because can’t interview death people to ask why the accident happen. increase number of CCTV could help on analyze the causes.
    every day we will see many rude driver on the road. human attitude + technology might improve this unsolved problem.

• murads on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:14 am

Education is the best approach..initially. We have progressed so far in terms of technology and development but unfortunately the mindset is still “underdeveloped” ….by choice. So education is not working anymore…enforcement and strict enforcement is the answer. Not by JPJ, not by PDRM, not by any but all in concerted effort. The irony is some of the enforcement units are not “functioning”…if you know what I mean

• Rulered on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:50 am

I remember back in the 70s where ppl were educated and reinforced to buckle up. It was a simple and plain advertisement in TV, radio and signboards but persistently done. The results can be seen till today. Education and reinforcement comes hand in hand just like we teach our kids everyday.

• the driver on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:14 am

Just start with enforcement – there are not enough police on the road to enforce traffic laws. It is human nature to find the easiest path – to cheat for their own selfish reasons like speeding, ride irresponsibly, beat traffic lights, etc. When the police get their act together there will be change. Europe was just like Malaysia 40 years ago, until they started enforcing the law.

• motorcylist on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:00 pm

For all the drivers, it could be car drivers, bus drivers, van drivers, lorry drivers or even screw drivers, the side mirrors and mirror inside you car is not for you guys to see your ugly face or for do make up. Its for you to watch upcoming vehicles and motorbikes from behind and side of you car. So always please see your car mirrors when turn and drive your car. Always give some space for motorbikes to go. Don’t simply drive your car until the middle of the lane. This bad act drive will cause blocking motorbikes. Most importantly please give signal and watch for other vehicles and motorbikes from your car side mirror before changing lanes and turn. Please dont use your smart phone and tablets checking facebook,watch porn and playing games while you driving. When you concentrate masturbating inside your car using your china made tablets and smart phones without your knowledge you will tend to drive your car to your right hand side most of the time and can make motorcyclist and other cars can collided with you, because nobody will expect that kind of driving from you. So my advice for all the jokers in the road, whatever you are doing inside your car please always USE and WATCH your car SIDE MIRRORS and MIRROR inside your car for approaching motorcyclist and cars. If you do that then you can save a lot of motorcyclist life and can avoid accidents. Also please educate your girlfriends, sister, mothers and wife the important of side mirrors. Women drivers….damn i don want to tell bout it!!!

• longjaafar on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:34 pm

There is zero contribution from media owners on road safety, besides news of accidents etc.
    Road safety must be a concerted effort and over a period of time, incessantly reminding and educating readers and viewers. But we have none of that here in Malaysia. I guess media owners need to be paid for time and space before they lift a finger to “contribute” towards road safety and saving lives and limbs. They are pathetic lot.

• mr1031 on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:46 pm

ramai xpakai otak bawak kenderaan..bwk macam sewel..xmenyabar2..potong sana sini..bikin panas..memang patut pon eksiden..ada byk lagi negara yg condition jalan yg lagi teruk dr malaysia, tp statistik kemalangan x setinggi malaysia..ape cer??

• Dan K on Jul 05, 2014 at 8:14 am

After reading all these comments, I feel that there’s no right or wrong. Both parties are to be blamed for different reasons. For those who have travelled to UK and Australia, you’ll know what I mean.

The blame for the authorities first :
    1. Lack of road maintenance, pot holes everywhere.
    2. Lack of clear signage. Placing a speed bump warning behind a tree doesn’t help.
    3. Bad quality paint for road markings. I’ve seen freshly painted warning lines disappear in weeks.
    4. Turning a blind eye to offenders. I worry I’ll get arrested for sedition when I say there are officers out there who keep taking financial favours from offenders. Maybe the government is not paying them enough. Or worst, the consequence is too easy on them.
    5. Letting the rampage of inconsiderate, sometimes violent and mostly offending groups called Mat Rempit. Some just ride, that’s okay. But they ignore road rules like traffic lights. They act violently as they are in numbers. They break other peoples property ( like side mirrors) and then in a group attack the driver like it’s his fault. What do the police do? Nothing, because they’re always outnumbered. Isn’t a group of 400 bikers considered against the law as the government stipulated that any group of more than 10 persons are considered to be an ILLEGAL gathering and must have a pre-approved permit from the police before they are allowed?
    To me, these inconsiderate violent morons are what puts fear into people every Friday and Saturday night. Most of us don’t like to go out to town as on these nights, this whole bunch of gangster like riders go around blaring their horn, shouting at innocent bystanders, rob, mug, burgle, vandalise and physically and vocally abuse others who are not in their gang. Why do we let this happen?
    6. Police, JPJ, government officials are all supposed to be role models of society. How can the society behave with civility if the authorities won’t? Don’t tell me it’s a “Do as I say and not as I do” attitude. That’s not the right teaching.
    7. Family members of authorities are not eligible for being let off for every criminal offence. From helmets, hand phones, violence, vandalism, etc.
    8. It’s time to implement the points system. 12 points and lose their license for 2 or 3 years. Make them retake their test is full. The only people who will disagree with me are those who are obviously law breakers on the road.

Motorists : We are also to blame.
    1. Consideration for another driver/rider/pedestrian. We always have that “I MUST BE FIRST” attitude. We don’t let others out of a parking space unless we want that space.
    2. Yellow box system. It’s there for a reason. But every time there’s a yellow box and a jam or traffic lights, the yellow box is FULL of cars and that causes jams when the opposite traffic can’t turn.
    3. Don’t let your unlicensed/under aged child ride a bike or drive a car when they don’t have the responsibility of it. We all have seen the 12 year old on an ex-5 or that 15 year old girl from Sri KL driving out in a BMW. There is an age limit for licensing for a reason. Anyone can look left and right, but children do not understand the consequences of driving like they were playing a PS4. There’s no reset button and try again.
    4. Specially to motorcycle riders. STOP CUTTING TRAFFIC! A good percentage of accidents I have seen are normally a car wanting to turn right and a bike is cutting traffic, flying down the middle line of two lanes and is totally oblivious to what’s going on around them.

Another one. This is for the implementation of the government. Stop the Bodily Injury Claim from happening. This law is a totally illegal act which is being exploited by individuals and corrupt lawyers. Even though the motorcyclist is fully in the wrong and most of the time, without license, under aged, etc. Stop allowing them to claim against the other party. The motorcyclists insurance must pay for damages caused and also should there have been a wrong doing, the license should be revoked for dangerous and irresponsible commandeering of a vehicle. The same goes to a car driver, etc. Why should the innocent suffer the premium increase? It becomes a scam and insurance companies will play along. A RM2000 pay out to some random claim end ups as the car owner who was not at fault having their NCD disqualified.

These are simple things that would change the whole country as we see it. For those who’ve travelled and driven in UK. You will notice the difference. Even a young teenage driver has the consideration to let a parked car out of ther parking space without motive.

I also believe that the point system for driving and riding offences should be implemented strongly. Speeding, driving whilst under the influence, dangerous driving and road rage should all face consequences of their appropriate offence. Road rage offenders should face jail time and lose their license for life. People with attitude problems should not be allowed on the road. Their a menace to society and are of no use to anyone.

There. I’ve said my peace. Like it or not, this is my point of view based on what I’ve seen. I hope that we as people can work together to get rid of the shame that we carry as Malaysian drivers and riders. We’re not a third world country, but on te road, we look like barbarians to the outside world. It’s embarrassing and shameful.!