e-Vehicle system introduced to monitor Labuan cars

e-vehicle-system-labuan 093

The Royal Malaysian Customs’ (JKDM) Labuan branch has introduced the online e-Vehicle application system to more efficiently monitor the movement of Labuan-registered vehicles, Bernama reports.

The e-Vehicle system speeds up the process of identifying the status of Labuan-registered vehicles that are brought into Sabah and Sarawak. It can also determine the vehicles’ locations in the Customs Major Areas (KUK), said JKDM director-general Datuk Seri Khazali Ahmad.

“The pioneer test for the e-Vehicle System had been carried out by the JKDM early this month and through the test, 27 vehicles were identified in Sabah and Sarawak that had violated Item 13 of the Customs Duty (Exemption) Order 2013 for bringing the vehicles to the KUK for more than 90 days in a year,” he told reporters after launching the system yesterday.

One has to register his or her vehicle’s number plate with the JKDM to obtain a password which can be used to access the e-Vehicle system, Khazali said. He added that the system could be accessed through a computer or smartphone.

Merc A45 AMG 1
The Merc A 45 AMG is priced at RM193k (RM150k less than Pen Msia) if you register it in Labuan/Langkawi

“Residents in Labuan, particularly, who frequently enter and leave Sabah and Sarawak, need no longer queue up at the vehicle ferry counters to take the e-Vis card like previously, but only need to renew their bank guarantee or public bond each year,” he said.

He added that the e-Vehicle system would be extended to all the JKDM state branches especially on the duty-free island, Pulau Langkawi.

To give you an idea of how much cheaper cars are in Labuan and Langkawi, a Toyota Vios G costs around RM65k in those duty-free zones – about RM20k less than you’d pay elsewhere. A Mercedes A 45 AMG costs only around RM193k there – a whopping RM150k less than you’d pay here! Compare car prices in Sabah, Sarawak, Langkawi, Labuan and the Peninsular at CarBase.my.

While most dream of the future, Jonathan Tan dreams of the past, although he's never been there. Fantasises much too often about cruising down Treacher Road (Jalan Sultan Ismail) in a Triumph Stag that actually works, and hopes this stint here will snap him back to present reality.

• Better settle the ferry from Labuan to Sabah. Nuisance. Why only 1 ferry? Get a life man…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 14
    • Bro are you labuan resident ? Currently has total 3 ferry company from labuan to menumbuk. The third one just start last month

• hey…u still in stone age?..there are so many ferry nowadays..you dont even need to book ticket earlier..can just go there queue and get a space.lol..

• Kalambuai on Jun 18, 2014 at 9:34 am

3 operator already bahhhhh…..are u local labuan or just dengar khabar angin saja….

• RoyFarrezhame Michael on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:20 pm

Yup.. That E-Vis stuff is a big bottleneck in terms of queing up just to get off from the Island to the mainland for Labuan-plate vehicles..especially during the holidays..

• gutierrez on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:43 pm

this will encourage all the labuan people to bring their cars (especially vios) and drive like sh!t in K.K.! overtaking like mad and cutting cues.. all of which they cant do in their tiny small island! gosh this is infuriating!

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:49 pm

should bina jambatan dari labuan ke KK, Parti Bersatu Sabah tak berjaya tak bina jambatan, MIC will bina jambatan. MIC berjaya, BN berjaya

• Kalun on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Let’s compare honda city in Labuan/langkawi (since both nearly have the same price) and in Peninsula Malaysia.

Base model:
    Labuan: RM61000
    Peninsula Malaysia: RM 73000
    Price difference = RM 12000
    Very weird. They didn’t even say about localisation parts about honda city and eev incentives.

Lets compare base model Nissan almera. 60% localisation of parts
    Peninsula malaysia: RM 67000
    Labuan: RM 54000
    Price difference = RM 13000

Seems like either Honda manage to get more than 60% localisation of parts and EEV incentives for Honda city as it drinks less fuel compare to its competitors and within eev requirements.

Lets add our local car into equation. Perodua. As its nearly 100% localisation. Perodua Myvi extreme
    Peninsular Malaysia: RM 53000
    Labuan: RM 49000
    Price difference = RM 4000

You can see the difference here. For proton, don’t have to put it into equation. Because its a Proton.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:30 pm

U go to any sepang time attack event,n most those high end high power sporta cars have langkawi number plates..

• Shit lah, it’s time we get these prices in Pen Msia.

• Celicazz on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:59 pm

Why?

Why not?

• Hades on Jan 18, 2015 at 3:21 pm

Anyone is labuan resident, want to know if i buy car from labuan,it’s possible and can I bring back to sarawak…any procedures needed,advised needed…tq