F36 BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe launched: 428i, RM390k

4GC-MALAYSIA-2

BMW Malaysia has just launched the F36 BMW 4 Series Gran Coupe – the launch model is the 428i Gran Coupe, the car arriving a month after it was sampled at its international press drive in Spain. The 428i GC is available in two variant forms – a Sport Line version as well as a M Sport.

The handsome four-door offering – which brings the fight to the Audi A5 Sportback locally – shares much in common with the F32 4 Series Coupe it’s based on.

Aside from borrowing the front and rear ends of the two-door, the overall dimensions are largely the same (4,638 mm long, 1,825 mm wide, with a 2,810 mm wheelbase), though it’s 12 mm taller at 1,389 mm than the two-door Coupe and its roof line is 112 mm longer to provide additional headroom for rear occupants.

The 4 GC has a 480 litre volume boot, accessible through a hatch-styled automated tailgate. In terms of space, it’s identical to the F30 3 Series and 35 litres more than the 4 Series Coupe, and folding the 60:40-split rear bench (on the test cars in Spain, a 40:20:40 configuration) increases this to 1,300 litres.

As its badge suggests, this 4GC is powered by the N20B20 2.0 litre TwinPower twin-scroll turbo lump in its 245 hp at 5,000-6,500 rpm and 350 Nm at 1,250-4,800 rpm output tune, and this is paired with a ZF eight-speed sport automatic transmission. Performance figures for the 1,605 kg variant include a 0-100 km/h time of 6.0 seconds and an electronically-limited 250 km/h top speed.

Standard equipment on the 428i GC Sport includes Adaptive M Suspension, 18-inch double-spoke Style 397 alloys and 225/45 series tyres, Sports seats and leather steering wheel. BMW Sport-badged door sill finishers and a nine-speaker, 205 watt HiFi audio system.

The M Sport package adds on an M Aerodynamics kit and BMW Individual high-gloss Shadow Line elements, comfort access, panorama sun roof and M-badged door sill finishers, and switches the steering wheel to a signature three-spoke M Sport unit and the audio system to a 16-speaker, 600 watt Harman/Kardon kit.

The 428i GC M Sport is also shod with 18-inch wheels, but of the M light-alloy double-spoke Style 441 variety, wrapped with 225/45 front and 255/40 rear rubbers.

Five exterior colours are available for the 428i Gran Coupe Sport, these being Melbourne Red, Glacier Silver, Mineral Grey, Alpine White and a brownish shade called Jatoba. Interior upholstery is Dakota Black leather with red highlights, though buyers opting for the Alpine White shade can pick a Dakota Coral Red leather job.

The M Sport version, meanwhile, gets four colour options, Mineral Grey and Alpine White being joined by Carbon Black and the signature Estoril Blue outfitting all the Spanish drive examples. Again, the interior scheme is Dakota Black leather, but for the Carbon Black exterior there’s a Dakota Ivory White/Black option, as seen on the Malaysian launch car.

Pricing for the BMW 428i Gran Coupe Sport is RM389,800 on-the-road without insurance, while the M Sport package adds RM29,000 to the equation, taking a 428i GC M Sport to RM418,800.

That’s a premium of RM31,000 over the F32 coupe’s 428i Sport Line (RM358,800) and RM30k for the 428i M Sport (RM388,800), and in the case of the F30 3 Series sedan, a jump of RM79k over the 328i M Sport, which goes for RM309,800.

For further reading, read our 428i Gran Coupe M Sport test drive report from Bilbao, Spain, or compare the two new 4 Series Gran Coupe variants against the 3 Series sedan and 4 Series Coupe.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• shame_Loo on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:43 pm

What? 390K? Better go with 528 M-Sport!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
    • Some more the 4 GC shared the interior quality of 3 series.. But has the price of 5 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 0
      • Banyak Masuk Worksyop on Jun 18, 2014 at 10:11 am

Why would someone buy a trash that ONLY gives 2 years warranty.

BMW Malaysia is the ONLY company not just in Malaysia but the entire world to give its cars only 2 years warranty.

All other cars in Malaysia have upped their warranty to 5 years. Even BMW’s rival Mercedes have upped their warranty to 4 years.

Do you know why BMW only gives a mere 2 years warranty? Very simple. Just right after the 2nd year, as seen in forums and BMW groups postings, major parts will fail. Most common part is the gearbox. Be prepared to fork out about RM80,000 for a new gearbox.

That is why if you buy BMW, make sure you are a multimillionaire. If you are just a high earner earning RM20,000 a month, please don’t bother with BMW even if you can afford the repayments. You will be paying through your nose for parts.

Remember, unless you are a multi millionaire, please be careful when buying a BMW in Malaysia. BMW Malaysia themselves have no confidence in their own products to give a longer warranty.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 58 Thumb down 10
    • kzm fanboy on Jun 18, 2014 at 8:10 am

Cannot afford it, go buy Proton Gen2 lah….some scrap iron car dealer may give it free used unit too

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 18
      • Buyer Beware - Depreciation on Jun 18, 2014 at 10:16 am

Never buy a new BMW. Always buy 2nd hand.

The price of the 1st year depreciation is so great, you might just get a heart attack. I just bought a BMW 520i, mileage about 5000KM, 2013 July model with still 6 months warranty left for RM250,000. A brand new 2014 BMW 520i is RM370,000.

So, in 11 months, the car can drop RM120,000.

The same with this 428i If you are interested, just wait 1 year. You can get this 428i for RM250,000. Being a coupe, it will be less in demand and price will drop more than a sedan.

Usually 2nd year onwards BMW prices stablilizes and depreciates abt RM20,000 to RM30,000 per year.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 2
        • powderful on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:17 pm

Sage advice mate. Let the first owner take the hit. These cars are hardly driven anyways and it’s prudent to buy a used one and then drive the snot outta it.

• Agree. I went to one of BMW’s carnivals and they quoted my 2013 428 for ‘valuation’ at rm250k.

• zeek (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:06 pm

I still prefer the A5 sportback in terms of looks. The BMW may be a bit more fun to drive and slightly more powerful but it looks too much like a 3 series

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 6
    • Jon Snow (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 9:53 am

Couldn’t agree more! Park side by side, I can easily differentiate A4 & A5, but 3 series and 4 series…??? Can somebody help me?

• powderful on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:20 pm

4 is LOWER and WIDER and LONGER (even the 2 door variant is lebih panjang than the 4-doored 3). But you need to see ’em side by side.

• Sam Loo Ori on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:14 pm

Audi is just a set of cars with different sizes A3,A4,A5,A6,A7,A8 all looks the same can’t differentiate at all to the man or woman on the streets. Just like paper size A4, A3, A5 etc…

• Sam Loo Ori on Sep 03, 2014 at 1:15 pm

BMW is also heading in that direction. To stand out. Simply get a Camry 2.5V or lexus ES250. You can’t go wrong with a toyota

• Spongewai on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:44 pm

BMW Malaysia, are u considering to local assemble this 4 series gran coupe??

50-50

• therealmaserati on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:49 pm

Overpriced piece of crap. It has a 0-100 time of 6.0 secs but it doesn’t feel fast at all.

The same goes for the 328i. 0-100 in 5.5s but feels no where as fast as it claims.

And BMWs are seriously freaking overpriced. Better off in a A45 AMG which is way cheaper and has better performance!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 28
    • alonso on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:09 pm

Check your info bro. 328i quoted as 6.1 while 328 msport is 5.9 s. And a45amg is in different segment competing with golf r

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 4
    • One heck of the worry merc salesman.

• Riverdance on Jun 18, 2014 at 10:08 am

The Merc is very desirable but most people cannot wait for one year to get the car.

• Allen on Sep 03, 2014 at 9:24 pm

I agree. Vios TRD sportivo is much faster and can easily smoke a 335i. You can feel the G-force when you floor the pedal.

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:05 pm

390k for a 4 series? 5 series is wat? I felt that nowadays is not the series to determine the wealth but the weird or oddball models does. Look at the 4 siri gc, 3 siri gt. Price is comparable or even higher than the 5siri.

What is 5siri? More for the poor now.

• autobarbarian on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:06 pm

so, what bmw have done is, remove 2 doors from the 328i, then add the doors back again for an extra 90k??? amazing

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 2
  • “Therealmeserati” – facts are facts. ‘Feelings’ are subjective. In your case, perhaps is better for you to go lie down on the doctor’s couch and tell him all your problems..

• Therealmaserati on Jun 18, 2014 at 11:18 am

Stewpid. U drive a car u open up the spec sheet and check every detail or u drive the car and feel it go ?

Of cuz feeling is important. Thats why korean cars sucks even though their paper specs are impressive.

Thats why the Golf Gti MK6 sold like hot cakes because it is one of the best feeling cars ever.

For me the most overrated car is BMW 3 series

• alonso on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:32 pm

Don’t just talk cock here. Go and argue in BMW forum la bro, they will politely invite you to join their weekend drives, then you can prove your point.

• APKing on Sep 03, 2014 at 10:25 pm

I ‘feel’ therealmaselati is an idiot.

• Apa lagi BMW mau?

• sutheshkumar on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:42 pm

This car is a CBU while the 528i is a SKD. provided if the latter is a CBU it would have costed significantly higher.

Do note that Comfort Access is standard across the range and is also offered for the Sport guise as well.

• mango on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:55 pm

390k for this car?! M sport add someor 30k. ill go with A5 Quattro anytime

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • TheDean on Jun 17, 2014 at 11:03 pm

Ultimate Model Confusion is their latest motto. Their next offering will be a model that looks like the 3 Series, performs like the 4, and big as the 5. And it’ll be called the “4.5 Series Gran Confusion Active Hybrid Just Buy”.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 33 Thumb down 1
    • Riverdance on Jun 18, 2014 at 10:12 am

Yes, very confusing but good for them I think. You just enter their showroom and suddenly buy something you didn’t know existed at the top end of your budget. Their SA must be having a headache remembering all the models and their variants.

• Yours Faithfully ( YF ) on Jun 17, 2014 at 11:31 pm

I just cannot cannot cannot accept a 4 series which looks like a 3 series, space wise similar also to a 3 series to be priced higher than a more spacious, more elegant 5 series.

Is BMW taking everyone for a ride? I doubt that I will see this flooding the market.

BMW had left a bitter impression to me with their pricing strategy for this 4 series.

Feeling confused and sad.

• seancorr on Jun 17, 2014 at 11:39 pm

I think one would only get this model coz he or she really likes the design else the 528i M-Sport is a better pick as it has stuff like HUD that the 4 GC doesn’t even have.

• u forgot 528i m sport series also come with
      1)full adaptive LED headlamp,
      2)adaptive suspension (stiff in sport)
      3)launch control ( already tried by myself)
      4)Full LCD meter
      5)16 harman kardon speakers
      6)4 zone aircond

• DoryFishEverywhere on Jun 17, 2014 at 11:40 pm

The 428i M sport costs almost the same as the 528i M Sport??
    Are you kidding me??

This car is basically a 328i with a slanting roofline towards the rear. Not gonna pay so much more just for that.

Besides choosing the F10 is definitely a better choice. Interior quality is much better and there are more space in the rear. Even the speedometer looks more upmarket.

I notice BMW Malaysia likes to give crap alloy wheels to the Malaysian market. In other markets, there are optional 19″ wheels. But as usual in this country, buyers always pay more and get much less than others.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 2
    • Malaysia World Cup Team on Jun 18, 2014 at 12:59 am

When malaya enter world cup we ll get one of this crap.

• heybadigol on Jun 18, 2014 at 9:34 am

Of course, on paper the 5 series is a better buy (bang for buck). But the 3/4 series is WAY better in the handling department than a 5 Series (the Cadillac CTS beats the 5 Series in the twisties – can you ever imagine an American car beating the UDM in handling). The F10 5 series has lost a bit of its handling cred in a move to make it more lux like the Merc E Class. Whereas, the 3/4 series is still the ultimate driving machine. Guess it depends what you are looking for. For me, as I am getting older and the fact I spend more time in traffic rather than hugging curves, id go for the 5 series too, or a Lexus GS which has such soft touch material everywhere inside the cabin.

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 7:26 am

4 door sedan based on a 2 door coupe based on a 4 door sedan.

• heybadigol on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:26 pm

Best comment of the day! So in the end, its just a 3 series.

• I wonder will there be 5 series gc

• Gran Coupe means 4 doors. 5 Series already 4 doors. You means 6 Series GC? Oh wait..that arrived 2 years ago.

• bryan on Jun 18, 2014 at 7:39 am

Haha, I guess BMW Malaysia forgot there’s a 4 door coupe Mercedes-Benz CLA45 AMG at RM392,888.00

Better looks, better specs & way better performance.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 8
  • BMW the most Powerful car! RWD = Drift

• Tearing the dance Floor on Jun 18, 2014 at 11:04 am

Guys pls stop comparing the CLA to the 4 series. They’re not even in the same class in terms of size.

I do have to admit the pricing of this car is strange. At RM400++k, this car as trespassed into 5 series category, which should not be the case.

BMW Malaysia should consider allowing its customers to choose its specs. Items like comfort access and alloy wheel designs should be made optional to buyers who are willing to pay for it. In the UK, customers get to tick the box of what features or interior trim they desire.

• Therealmaserati on Jun 18, 2014 at 11:28 am

Who the hell cares about size?!!! Main thing is it has better performance and better specs than this 4

• The only thing that i can comprehend peoples from buying a 4 series gran coupe instead of 3 series are peoples which are very fancy with frame-less window. And they are willing to pay RM90K out of it.

• Denaihati on Jun 18, 2014 at 12:33 pm

simple but awesome meter panel and nice fully red seat. 2nd hand price much be better even still high.

• Semi-Value (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 3:19 am

on a side note…the pictures taken this time quite bad quality la

• Anthony Lim (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 4:26 am

Yup, got to agree. Conditions for photo taking weren’t really favourable though. Very different to this: http://paultan.org/2014/05/31/driven-f36-bmw-4-series-gran-coupe/bmw-428i-gc-bilbao-39/ The feedback is however much appreciated.

• The extra premium for this car is for the looks or better handling performance? Externally it looks similar to a 3 series except the back.

• ronbon on Aug 11, 2014 at 11:35 am

I dont get the point of this car. BMW created a new line of even numbered specifically being 2-doors coupe to differentiate from the odd numbered 4-doors and then they came out with this??? I’m confused BMW