Grey import car problems due to low fuel quality not our problem – Mercedes-Benz Malaysia

W222_Mercedes-Benz_S_400_Hybrid_020

Mercedes-Benz is one of the more popular makes brought into Malaysia by grey importers, and there are many “UK Spec” and “Japan Spec” units running on the road. Nearly new or used units at a steep “discount” over official imports may be tempting, but you may run into trouble, souring the ownership experience.

Mercedes-Benz Malaysia (MBM) has issued an official circular to all its authorised dealers and service centres concerning warranty coverage for failures resulting from fuel quality on grey market vehicles. The circular clarifies that any failures in Mercedes-Benz cars brought in through unofficial channels will not be accepted under warranty by Daimler AG as they are unprepared for local fuel quality.

“The fuel quality in Malaysia does not meet the operating requirement of vehicles produced in other countries. As such, imported vehicles which have not been suitably adapted to the local fuel quality, may experience failures,” explained MBM president and CEO, Roland Folger.

Mercedes CLS 1st Gen
The original CLS, with an NA CGI 350 engine, may be tempting at below RM200k, but is it worth the risk?

“Only vehicles purchased through Mercedes-Benz authorised dealers are prepared adequately for the local conditions and it is our obligation to warn the public of the risks that are taken in purchasing a Mercedes-Benz from an unauthorised dealer.” Folger added.

As we’re all aware of, fuel from Malaysian pumps, both petrol and diesel, are of Euro 2 standards. That’s a few rungs lower than the standard of fuel in Europe, Japan and even our neigbouring ASEAN countries, so cars meant for those markets may not run smoothly with our fuel, and complications may arise.

We recall that when Merc’s direct-injection CGI (Charged Gasoline Injection) engines were first introduced in Malaysia a couple of years ago, MBM said that engine programming had to be tweaked to suit local fuel.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• Tumbi on Jun 17, 2014 at 12:39 pm

I don’t care what problems there as long as it’s Mercedes benz

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 108
    • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:46 pm

Yep.. janji conti.. janji Merc.. rosak repair saje.. duit byk.. apa kira..

Not my money anyway. .

Jap milo tin they said..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 8
      • AP PEKEMA PENCURI on Jun 18, 2014 at 10:47 am

What MBM is trying to say is true. Because of the AP thieves and all dirty PEKEMA members have brought a bad name to the whole car industry.

Every single PEKEMA member brings in cars from UK and Japan, 99% of which are ex car rental cars, they have been trashed and trashed with high mileage. Then our PEKEMA thieves bring it down to Malaysia, quickly clock it down to 5000KM and lie to you and tell you it is a showroom car.

Most of these cars brought in by PEKEMA members have clocked over 200,000 KM but when you buy it, it shows 5000KM or less.

You are the loser because when you buy a car that has truly clocked over 100,000KM, you will spend a bomb changing worn out parts. As for luxury cars like Porsche, Mercedes and BMW, you can be spending over RM100,000 just in changing worn out parts alone.

There is no way to tell that the car brought in is high mileage. Because the PEKEMA AP thieves send the car to car spas who do a great job washing and touching up the car to look ultra brand new.

9 out of 10 buyers of AP PEKEMA cars get a rude shock when they take their cars in to authorised delaerships to get their cars checked. Once they plug in their proprietory diagnostic machines, the cars show even 300,000 KM clocked on it. The buyer gets a rude shock because when he bought his Alphard or Porsche, the car shows it has clocked less than 10,000KM.

Ask most AP PEKEMA car buyers who have actually sent their cars in to authorised dealerships like Porsche Glenmarie or Mercedes Malaysia. All of them will verify one thing to you, they got a rude shock to see the mileage of their cars in the few hundred thousand region. They get a shock to find out their car was an ex rental car that has been trashed and trashed and trashed and when the local Malaysian buyer buys it, he thinks its showroom condition with less than 10,000KM done on it.

Don’t underestimate this. A car that has done few hundred thousand KM has so much of parts to be replaced. You think buying that Alphard for RM200,000 is cheap. Wait till you spend another RM100,000 on parts replacement alone in 1 or 2 years time.

What Folger is saying is simple. MBM is too scared to repair those recon cars that have no history and whose speedometer has been tempered.

Those wanting to buy recon, try asking the seller where the warranty and service booklet is. The seller will lie through their teeth telling you it has no booklet eventhough the car is 2 years old and it has a 5 year warranty in Japan or UK. Surely if it is owned by an individual in the UK he would have kept his service booklet when he sold the car since it is under warranty. But not a single one of our AP PEKEMA thieves can give the service history and booklet to show the history of the car.

The AP PEKEMA boys really make a huge profit. You see, in the UK, the price of a car is determined by the milegae and not by the year of make. Unlike Malaysia, the year of the make determines the price. So, for example, a 2010 Mercedes E250 with 20,000KM on it will cost far more expensive than a 2013 E250 with 200,000KM on it.

Our PEKEMA thieves buy the high mileage cars for dirt cheap because in the UK the high mileage cars are sold super cheap. Eventhough the year of make is 2013 or 2014.

Then they bring the high mileage cars here in Malaysia, modify the odometer to say, below 10,000KM and sell it. You the buyer are so happy thinking you got a 2013 car with 10,000KM it. But in truth, you just bought a lemon that has 200,000KM on it.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 201 Thumb down 8
        • pinzi on May 11, 2019 at 2:16 am

the authority should step in, regulate and enforce. they are thieves for sure

• Same L0r on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:18 pm

You can just change the Mercedes logo on your Saga and stick the AMG logo at the back. I had seen a few on the road.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 55 Thumb down 9
  • pondan on Jun 17, 2014 at 12:50 pm

Waiting for gov official to issue a denial statement on low quality fuel.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 214 Thumb down 14
    • Followed by Proton statement backing the government with the chairman uttering nonsense.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 63 Thumb down 16
    • Basically I think it is not really low quality but fuel of different grade and you need a different type of engine. As simple as that.

If it is really low grade, how to explain the good performance of millions of other cars in Malaysia including Merc.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 26
      • Karipap on Jun 17, 2014 at 4:29 pm

Couldn’t agree more with u Wann. Lain padang, lain belalang. You cannot wear winter coat and visit Saudi Arabia… same as u wear baju melayu and u go play futsal. U still can play, but your performance lain macam la… that’s the perumpamaan dia laa.. hehehe…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 5
        • Motorhead (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:33 pm

Almost all japs model ve this kinda of problems. . Imported JDM can use here. No sweat.. then they talk kork on quality. . Safety. . Japs milo tin they said..

Conti saje quality? Malaysian diesel can’t go?.. well it’s about mind set..

Never mind. . Those bot Merc shouldn’t complain about repair cost.. just repair la..

Japs milo tin xde class.. conti ada class..

Beli jgn x beli.. wa sokong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 17
      • Obviously (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:48 pm

Our fuel differs from other countries by the Euro grading system. In a way, it can be said that the grade reflects on the quality of the fuel but it doesn’t reflect the energy density of the fuel. If you compare the energy density of their RON97 and our RON97, it’ll be similar but that is another rating. These Euro grades indicate how “clean” the fuel is. Euro5 fuel is significantly cleaner (less toxic emissions after combustion) than the Euro2M fuel which we currently have. While they can have the same octane rating, RON (same performance), they have different qualities due to one having cleaner emissions (and therefore, less engine deposits) than the other.

In order to improve efficiency, engines are being made to operate closer and closer to their mechanical limits. Engines of yesteryear had good performance as well, as car enthusiasts will testify, but they burn less cleanly and use more fuel than the newer generations of engines. Euro2 fuel can still give high performance, no doubt, but they will foul up the internals of engines faster and the engines of today have a lower tolerance compared to the engines of old.

In a sense, it is lower quality fuel we have. Dirtier fuel, basically. So the same engines have to be adapted (usually detuned so that it doesn’t operate as close to its operational ceiling) so that it can tolerate more…dirt.

Hope that helps.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 137 Thumb down 2
      • kaiser on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:15 pm

homogeneous and stratified combustion,, that the answer.

• +1

there are a lot of fuel stations in UK selling cheap fuel. Tesco, Asda, Saintsbury. Are they selling high grade fuel like shell or Esso? And so far, i haven’t heard any problems because of that. i think this statement is more on marketing strategy. buy only from the authorised dealer with >200k price.

• Sad thing to hear for a country produce quality petroleum, yet it’s rakyat using low grade petrol.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 241 Thumb down 12
    • tishaban on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:45 pm

The biggest reason we’re using low grade petrol and diesel is because the government doesn’t want to subsidize expensive fuel. They make more money selling the good quality fuel we produce and buying cheap low quality fuel.

I wonder though if the government realizes how much more money using low quality fuel will cost them in the future. First through the environmental damage which will reduce our agricultural and tourism income. Then through the healthcare costs when more and more people get sick.

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 79 Thumb down 1
    • powderful on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:35 pm

Sad thing to see comments from idiots who knows nothing but spout ‘truths’.

The truth is, we c an run EUR5 fuel. Anytime…anyday. BUT…a frickin’ big BUT is how in da fook do the Government contend with having to subsidize EUR5 standard fuels??

The Government is currently subsidizng the RON95 at 61cents thereabouts which makes the petrol ca.2.60-2.70/litre without subsidies.

IF the government says we use EUR5 petrol…ayoyo karawale…. Price is gunna be MYR7.00-8.00/Litre. Berapa banyak gomen nak kena subsidize to quell the chantings of the hoi pollois???
      Example : Stayed in HKG for plenty years. To fill up my company V221(100lits fuel tank) cost me HKD1575. Divide that by 2.35 @ current rate. Berapa ringgit malaysia???

Orang Malaysia semua eksyen. Nak bawa kereta sendiri. I faham gak pasal negara kite panas! And Public Transport…aiyayayeeeay. But we can’t have it all kan?? Something’s gotta give. Kalau pun Gomen subsidize the new EUR5, berapa banyak boleh??? Kalau Gomen subsidize at even 2.oo/Litre, they gotta recoup the loss by …by…what??? Hantam Income-tax jadi 40-45% above 50k/annum ka??? Some countries do just that. Australia. Minyak bagut….Tax kasi fening. Singapore, ada sikit subsidy. Hantam balik from COE/ARF and some other things. Try owning a car in SG baru bersyukur korang rakyat Malaysia. Tungkus lumus nak habis bayar loan 10 tahun, alih2 still kena bayar COE baru!!! Apa macam ??

We read Paul Tan and we see nice piccies and rasa mcm mau beli MBZ baru le, BMW baru ler….withe great new Diesel and Petrol engines. Frust menonngeng ler gamaknye bila dapat tau minyak kite FAIL for these new engines. Understand. That is us car nuts and petrolheads and kids and dreamers. Probably 10-20% tops of the populace. But reality is in the form of Pak Abu, Mr.Tan and Uncle Munusamy kat kampung who ain’t gunna give a flyin’ fook on whether the local cheap fuel will clog up their 3mm mikuni carb jets in their Honda Cubs or Proton Sagas or Datsun SSS???

I’m not pro gomen, far from it. But I travel and live in countries where the petrol prices tarak kesian punye. Just watch Top Gear when they gotta fill up the F12/LP700/Huayra in their comparos. Nangis kalu when you see the Eurodollars for a 100L tank !!

Buy old 964/993 Carreras, 348s and 355s and 360s kalau nak sangat sports cars. Still fast as heck, and you can just pay 2.1 or 3.0 hinggit per litre at the pumps and will have no problems with the engines whatsoever.

Or be Sam Loo’s friend and buy Toyota. You can’t do much wrong there…NOT!

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 152 Thumb down 73
      • anakjambi on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:37 pm

what is your problem dude…chill out ..
        malaysia boleh..what r u complaining about? mumbling about your stay in hong kong , europe…poodahhh…as if you are the only person living overseas…ptuiihhhh.. i also worked overseas…that’s why i asked for bih salary casue i know cost of living there is high..
        if the petrol price in malaysia goes to the roof also , we pay ler.. or else keep car at home…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 21 Thumb down 51
        • brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:06 pm

really ?? where u stay??

Chill my a**, Price hike for freaking 0.20 sen and you already complaining 24/7 all day long. . .PUI, ‘price up we pay ler’

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • ORANG MINYAK on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:40 pm

BRO,
        FOR YOUR INFO, MALAYSIA IS THE BIGGEST OIL PRODUCER IN ASIA PACIFIC AND WE HAVE :
        – 50 X OIL RIGS
        – 30 GAS RIGS

WE DO NOT IMPORT A SINGLE DROP OF OIL AND THEY DID MENTIONED THAT WE EXPORT OUR GOOD GRADE OF OIL AND IMPORT THE LOWER GRADE, ALL NONSENSE. OUR FUEL & DIESEL GRADE IS THE LOWEST BECAUSE ‘KERAJAAN MAU UNTUNG BESAR’. OUR DIESEL GRADE IS FOR EURO 1 ENGINE AND IF YOU IMPORT THE LATEST TECH OF EURO 5 ENGINES, YOU HAVE TO CHANGE THE FUEL INJECTION SYSTEM OR OTHERWISE….ROSAK LAH YOU PUNYA HIGH TECH MERSC.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 32
      • pondan on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:57 pm

Unker powerful,

Gov printing money till no tomorrow, devalue ringgit till like dog shit, hence our saving.

Excess printed ringgits all hilang for god knows where.

Now, with devalued dog shit ringgit definitely we can pay for oil.

All this crap cut back is to refill all the excess printing ringgits that already gone to well connected ppl.

Pls dun talk crap about economics cuz u r juz another blind folk that being played but our gov.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 12
        • brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:08 pm

why they print the money then?

• pondan on Jun 17, 2014 at 11:33 pm

Go study economics and learn what the heck thay the US is in auch a deep shit before talking to me. *katak the bawah tempurung*

• brown kid on Jun 18, 2014 at 8:42 am

oh yes u are ‘katak bawah tempurung’ that doesnt even know sacrasm word… ROFL tard~

• AppleVsApple on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:44 pm

Hi Powderful,

Few things to point out:
        1. The subsidy of 61 cents include govt tax, which mean that the actual subsidy is lower
        2. Income per capita of HK is much higher than that of Malaysian
        3. Cars are much cheaper in HK
        4. The highest income tax rate in HK is 17%
        5. HK has one of the best public transport system in the world
        6. Cleaner fuel is always good for environment
        7. Malaysia is oil producing and exporting country

Pls compare HK with Sing, and not with Malaysia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 10
        • brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:12 pm

Then the hell all of you comparing M’sia with HK anyway?
          and get your fact right, where the **** u get the fact that HK tax is 17%!!. It just one part of the tax. Eh, wait have you been there? not go as tourist but staying… talk is cheap u know..and Mr Google doesn’t mean u know shyt about the place~

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 19
        • Er… I agreed with u but one, HK cars are not significantly cheaper than Malaysia. Yes, their GDP is high and fresh grad is getting almost RM6k – 10k per month. But let me tel u, those ppl are still struggling to meet end needs. Cost of living is so high even HK wish to migrate out. only the rich can survive. And when i say rich, even the sultans here have to drop their jaws.

• powderful on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:46 pm

Alo braderrr…..Gua never compared about living in HK vis a vis Malaysia. I’m just pointing out the cost of fuel if it ain’t subsidized, and using the current grade fuel, i.e EUR5.

And all those so-called ‘great countries’ ain’t so great if you look closely. Be thankful on what we have.

As for MY being an oil producing country….TRu Dat. But doesn’t mean if you produce, you must use it yerself on the cheap. Make money via the country’s produce.

This is a car forum, so it is only logic that we talk and bash anything that concerns the automobile. But cars are only cars.

As I’ve stated plenty times, live vicariously thru Paul Tan/CAR/Top Gear etc.. (means, kite dengar and baca and ‘berangan’ je thru these publications/media)and live within our means. Cursing the government cuz the new FT86/BRZ should be the price of Mr.Loo’s fave car shouldn’t be in the equation becuz we’re stuck with what we have,warts et all i.e this country, Malaysia.

Just imagine if we’re born in Nigeria or Cote d’Ivoire…..Lucky we innit?????

• brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:04 pm

even u rant and explain to them, trust me all they know is WTF $#$$%^& Sg car price so cheap!!!…

That what they do, expecting rainbow and all in other ppl country…dosnt even know anything about it and why is that, well cause they dont even go to other places. talk about ‘katak bawah tempurung’ eh.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 6
      • Vincent Ang on Jun 18, 2014 at 11:59 am

‘Orang Malaysia semua eksyen. Nak bawa kereta sendir’

Apa ‘eksyen’ oi!!!

For those who live in Kuala Lumpur they have public transport. What about those who live in small towns like Bentong or Batu Pahat and the hundreds of towns around Malaysia. Public transport p’ki adalah. Your BN bullshit government has destroyed the stage bus systems which serviced these towns for your information.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 6
        • powderful on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Dude….There’s a thing call ‘sarcasm’. Prolly you missed it in my missive. My bad.

My ‘BN’ gomen??? I am not partial to any partylah. I’m pointing out the facts. Our public transport is a mess….mmg harubiru and p*ki as what you said. My take is it will stay that way for plenty years to come. Why??? Doesn’t need to be Oppenheimer to figure that one out…hehe!

• Lane Tamer on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:19 pm

The G lies to the rakyat is never an ending story… How sad…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 75 Thumb down 26
    • Kangkung on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:35 pm

Gov ask us to eat Kangkung.
      always sacrifice our life quality by high tax, poor quality product sell to rakyat.

Mr. Chicken said: Others Vege expensive, eat Kangkung la! only RM1! See,Chicken also RM1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 11
    • theanswer on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:58 pm

lies? yes..feel cheated? nope..we already knew it. hahahaha

• gaviny on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:48 pm

lol, in the end customer bang table, raise the voice, MBM also have to accept

• Blaze on Jun 17, 2014 at 1:48 pm

CGI is a very lean burn fuel injection engine. Some say that few high end workshops can re-programmed the ECU to cater for our fuel just like what MBM did to its cars..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 2
    • powderful on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:38 pm

Tru. No big deal actually.Any Sunway shop with plenty MBZ/BMW outside can re-prog. Can’t blame Herr Folger though, he’s a ‘company-man’ and must parlay company ‘positives’ lah….

• brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:14 pm

some ppl just now to buy but doesn’t even know shyt about car. So sad to say about the ECU re-program thing… They don’t even know ECU exist ROFL

• they dont want u spend on a 2nd hand masidis, must buy new and pay thru your bum and absorb the depreciation. Grey importers are causing strong competition so scare tactic kasi la.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 3
    • brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:18 pm

Its true actually about the oil grad thing but the thing is any big/major cont workshop can make simple programming, and some of them can even change the engine hardware if u can spend the $$$~
      It not cheap process but it still cheaper then buying from MBM(with those taxes)

• ..then again euro 2 is bad lahh especially diesels

• guilt79 on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:02 pm

I foresee 2-3 days later, Merc will issue another statement to clarify the Fuel Quality in Malaysia.

• Just assume gov doesn’t know higher grade fuel exist.

• bugger on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:08 pm

always put the blame on govt without checking the fact…do your homework first laaa dude! Whether the bloodsucker petro companies that lobbied like hell to defer the Euro 4 standard or it was govt’s decision. Cakap tong kosong la dey.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 26
  • GUTIERREZ on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:15 pm

where the fcuk is the government’s promise to bring EURO 4 fuel? didnt the NAP or MITI (couldnt remember which) promised euro 4 fuels before mid-2014? so called “promises”!!!!!!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 3
  • me (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:19 pm

So the conclusion is not good to buy recond cars? The reason is because the fuel quality?

• Hmmm..looks like Mercedes Malaysia marketing department’s scare tactics to prevent owner from buying from grey importer. Good idea though.

Just hoping some workshop can then put up an advertisement to say they can tweak all grey importer Mercs to take our shitty fuel. Wouldnt that be interesting?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
  • It’s not about low or high quality of the fuel in term of energy produce or combustion. Euro 2 or 4 is about effluent quality.

It’s not about government lie as well. Producing those will increase operating cost thus will further increase the petrol price. Becareful of what you wish for.

• Joker on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:40 pm

Euro 2 petrol is really a joke….
    neighbouring ASEAN countries will laugh at us really.
    and for that price per litre as well…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 7
    • Wefookyew on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:56 pm

If I was gullible enuf to believe you.Yeah they r really laughing at us. That’s why they can’t get enuf of our fuel whenever they drive into Malaysia. Just look at the long lines of cars filling up at the petrol station after JB CIQ. Seems to me to be a case of envy rather than loathing. The gov even had to limit sales of fuel in the north just to keep the laughing neighbors from buying our crappy fuel.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 1
  • The G always and forever try to wash our brain, for those lower grade brain the G had a very successful rate, but here, sorry G, you are fail here, don’t only compared our asian region countries fuel price, next compare with price, quality and grade, then i will trust or believe you, you are the great lier G.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 4 Thumb down 9
    • powderful on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:52 pm

Marah nampak…..

Malaysia is one of the best places to live. Been there done that.

Truth is, the next best country in Asia, after Malaysia…and I mean ASIA, is Singapore. And China and that’s that.

Government will be government but at least ours doesn’t infringe on our rights to make our money. You can’t stand the heat in la cuccina, you can vamoose. I was, I came back. Now I’m good.

Note : Take a Chill Pill dude.
      Life is NOT about Cheap petrol and Cheap Cars.
      Life is about Cheap Wine,Fast Women and Fast Cars !!! YeeeHaaaaww!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 25
      • RejimKejamGanas on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:48 am

What a load of claptrap, next you are going to say go-ahead-go-stan is also nothing compared to Malaysia.

When the gullible donkeys just go with the flow, they don’t realize that they will eventually arrive at the slaughter. It will be too late then. Be wise, don’t wait for things to get worse beyond return then want to bitch about it.

• powderful on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:02 pm

Oh yes…Go-ahead-Go-stan and all ‘stans’ suffixes are bad news indeed. RejimKejamGanas lu pernah kena ISA ka???? If by your nick, in CN yer already NOT on the net. They’ll trace any scheisse you say about the country and the Wu Jin will get to you and WILL make you disappear. That is true RejimKejamGanas.

Ini baru kereta mahal, minyak low quality lu bilang ‘Rejim Kejam Ganas” ?????

• Grey imports starting to eat into someone’s Profits?

• Do you guys know that OUR fuels are exported at a premium (higher price) and WE IMPORT much lower grade (cheaper) fuels from overseas? This is a fact being told to me by those in the related industry. Sad fact.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 7
  • therealmaserati on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Who cares if thr is problem. The cost of repairing + costs of recon car is still cheaper than buying brand new frm mbm.

And thr are tons of German specialist who can help u tune ur recon merc to suit local fuel quality

• AVH (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:53 pm

Is it more expensive to produce or sell better quality Fuel?

Because I have a theory on why Malaysia can’t have better fuel, and its to do with our fuel subsidy. If better Euro Fuel are more expensive, than the government is would actually spent more to subsidise fuel than it is now, thus opting a cheaper route to continue with crappy fuel quality while continuing the subsidy.

And as to what benefit can the Government gain, as crappier fuel means less capable import cars in the market, thus contributing less to the economy? Well, I do understand some imports are in Proton’s market range of influence [wink].

• RejimKejamGanas on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:54 am

Our low quality fuel does limit competition. Which is why we have limited options and worse fuel economy. Before some joker claims it will become expensive, have you checked the price of goods lately? Do you think our low quality fuel will continue to stay ‘cheap’? Expect a double whammy eventually, low grade fuel at high prices due to our depreciating ringgit.

• Jason Siew on Jun 17, 2014 at 2:56 pm

I don’t see how fuel quality will affect Airmatic suspension on a grey-import S-Class.

• matkool on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:03 pm

I don’t understand. Still using euro2 where 2020 is coming. Dumb government.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 12
    • annoy_namous on Jun 18, 2014 at 9:53 am

Actually this is really easy. You want better quality petrol, buy ron97. You want cheaper quality, buy ron95. No need to complaint. The choice is in your hand.

• “MBM said that engine programming had to be tweaked to suit local fuel.”

You can make more money if you can tweaked the engine programming to suit with our local fuel here in Malaysia. Just buy the device or software from Germany. Then you can charge all the owners of grey importer Merc plus you can get a bonus point for giving the best options to “ALL” Merc owners regardless of where they from. If you still concern about your sales figures, then, I’ll ask my uncle to courier the device and software to me. Let me be rich.

• brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:47 pm

Errr other ppl/workshop already done this bro..
      good luck getting rich >.<

• kcng (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:08 pm

Soon all service center say it’s the petrol problem, don’t blame on us and not cover under our warranty.

• Ah Beng King on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:18 pm

so i need to cahnge the whole fuel system?? or just do an engine re-program?

• brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 8:48 pm

re-program the ECU only, well most of it some model need to change the fuel injection i think.

• sick&tired on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:20 pm

thats the whole problem with the AP system, lack of accountability! There are a lot of cars which cannot be used in Malaysia, even petrol cars. Even our petrol has high sulphur content, and with the newer direct injection engines, it will cause a lot of problems.

Here are some of the cars which cannot be used in Malaysia, but are still brought in by AP holders:-

1)Mercedes
    Any V6 direct injection engine, like the previous generation CLS W219 (Mercedes uses the term CGI)

2)BMW
    Direct injection N53 engine. e60 523i, F10 523i, etc. My friend bought a UK spec f10 523i, and he has been having endless problems. When he took the car to Auto Bavaria, they told him that the engine is not meant to be used in Malaysia. And the AP holder has refused to help him out. And to make things worse, he took a high loan. So he is stuck with paying high installments for the next 7 years for a car which is not meant to be used in Malaysia.

Also stay away from grey imported diesel engines.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 3
    • jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:29 pm

Agreed that grey importers suck big time.

I had an estima with numerous gearbox problem. Luckily bought the insurance warranty but still the dealer like buat tak tau attitute.

I swear it’ll be my first and last recon car.

• its good to do some research before buying a car..pity your friend

• contender on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Caveat Emptor … buyer beware.

Re-con cars are shitty cars which benefits the AP dealers …. the re-con cars with tempered mileage and visual touch up and is sold to 3rd world country bumps who yearn to own “cheaper” Merc/BMW/Vellfire/ Alphard etc etc but in actual fact are overpriced rental cars and unwanted cars. If you really still wants to buy such cars, at least buy the warranty package which will lessen your cost when your gearbox fails.

Moral of story, do not buy what you can’t afford

• jolly_idiot (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:26 pm

MBM balls so big to cucuk Msia G in selling cheap quality fuel?

Btw, who cares on the failure when price are much cheaper? At least save the bits for the repair or maybe sell it when problem starts.

• spongewai on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:28 pm

how long we could use Euro 2??

and when will introduced the new fuel quality Euro 4 or Euro 5??!

wasting time la dik

• BN Government of 47% always proud of their first world infrastructure and buildings.

What about giving us first world car prices and fuel quality?

Because I don’t use KLCC everyday, I dont use KLIA1/2 everyday, heck I havent been to KL tower! I dont drive in Sepang circuit everyday. The upcoming Menara Wawasan is for whom?? etc.

At least PR focus on the necessities such as giving free water (Selangor only) and financial aid for students and needy in Penang.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 21
    • underskinned on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Does everything has be about you? There’s probably other citizens who rely on those infrastructures on a daily basis.

• underskinned on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:30 pm

Does everything has to be about you? There’s probably other citizens who rely on those infrastructures on a daily basis.

• Concerned One on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:57 pm

Go to Malaysia kini la wei. This is automotive forum not political. Fed up with forumers here spouting rubbish and $h*t. I believe the topic is about fuel quality issues to grey imported cars, why melencong to free water and whatever. Fanatics. Hope admin ban these kind of rubbish.

• nabill (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 3:40 pm

If i wanna buy a grey import car…first ting to do is to tune da ecu to cope with da lower quality fuel…less power bt more reliability…
    U can go to any proper tuning centers…specially those motorsports kakis in sunway or even speedworks in pj…they r able to do that n thy have all da tools…
    I believe merc msia is able to do that at their sc bt bcos its an import,thy refuse…
    I think thy shouldnt,its ok if thy charge a high amount for da tuning bt not to deny da service,indirectly customers wil runaway frm da brand in general instead of separating between import and authorised.!

• DOubt on Jun 17, 2014 at 4:14 pm

I think this is unlikely true. It is a scare tactic. Even if you buy from AD with the inflated costs, there is no quarantee the car would not suffer from manufacturing defects.

• aiyoyo on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:30 pm

aiya why compare apple and oranges. Even a grey import car may suffer from manufacturing defects.

Point is some grey importers have been advertising in mudah that their 220CDi have their warranty covered by MBM which is totally false advertising.

• Source: Wikipedia

Euro 1 (1993):
    For passenger cars – 91/441/EEC.[8]
    Also for passenger cars and light trucks – 93/59/EEC.
    Euro 2 (1996) for passenger cars – 94/12/EC (& 96/69/EC)
    For motorcycle – 2002/51/EC (row A)[9] – 2006/120/EC
    Euro 3 (2000) for any vehicle – 98/69/EC[10]
    For motorcycle – 2002/51/EC (row B)[9] – 2006/120/EC
    Euro 4 (2005) for any vehicle – 98/69/EC (& 2002/80/EC)
    Euro 5 (2008/9) and Euro 6 (2014) for light passenger and commercial vehicles – 715/2007/EC[11]

• rally_fan (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Half the comments here are totally off the mark. there is nothing wrong with the fuel we are using. the difference with euro 2 and 5 is simple, reduction of harmful gasses being released into the air. i dont see anyone here complaining about our environment??

• Vincent on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:29 pm

Correct me if I’m wrong , nothing can be done in the ecu to suit our local fuel according to an expert friend of mine whose family has been repairing and trading merc Benz part for more than 30 years…

Our fuel sucks and it affect all local or grey import car…. U can tweak ecu for improve or reduce improvement performance of the car…

• putra_rider on Jun 17, 2014 at 5:47 pm

oohhh…thats why la my turbo car get slower..even ron97 euro 2 standard?

• I got a bit blur here, it states ” both petrol and diesel are euro 2″ I saw most of the car in western country run on ron91.. does it mean that their ron91 has higher “euro grade” than our ron95 ?

• brown kid on Jun 17, 2014 at 10:23 pm

its not ron91 i think.. its 91 octane

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:35 am

Yes, it is possible for their RON91 to be of a higher Euro standard than our RON95 because these two ratings are totally unrelated. Research Octane Number (RON) and other octane ratings are a measure of how resistant the fuel is to premature detonation in the engine (which causes knocking) while the Euro rating sort of indicates how clean the fuel is from undesirable emissions.

• Sam's Best Friend on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:28 pm

So basically, grey market can eated grass already?

• samolok on Jun 17, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Danny
    NA CGI350? NA and CGI co exist?

• Danny Tan (Member) on Jun 24, 2014 at 1:25 am

Yes, the M272 3.5 litre CGI engine was a direct injected, naturally-aspirated V6

• Sam. Loo on Jun 17, 2014 at 7:32 pm

No issues with toyota recond cars…. Mercs are for impotent uncle…

• albag on Jun 17, 2014 at 7:50 pm

padan muka la LEL

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 17, 2014 at 7:53 pm

Believe it or not, this is actually very true. How can you expect them to give warranty for something they are certain will break down sooner or later due to the fuel quality in our region?

• niterunner99 on Jun 17, 2014 at 9:08 pm

this is werid…Singapore also have lots of grey imported MB; BMW; Audi’s that goes to Malaysia to pump up every weekend…& they’re still running around in SG!!

• Could the experience of ‘accelerator pedal lag’ be due to the re-programming done on MB cars, (especially the C class) in accommodating the low fuel quality here in Malaysia?

• We all know that Malaysian fuel is one of the suckiest in ASEAN. Euro 2, even Thai is euro 4 n above. oni our RON 97/98 has the equivalent quality to other country’s. And when those who said SG cars come here and pump our fuel but still run on SG smoothly. Please use ur God gifted brain, they are restricted by our kangkung g to pump RON97 only. And they dont do it often as pumping fuel in Johor with a SG plate is prone to robbery attack. Thats fact. no where is safe in Malaysia.

• Dr R Azrin on Jun 18, 2014 at 12:13 am

Thus why our southern neighbours are made known if U use a good car…don’t fill up terrible fuel in Malaysia. Use at least V-Power Racing as it’s the alike of their RON95 in Singapore …where they even have RON98…almost the same of our AVGas UL110.

Had a truck here…and when I do my service, noticed the fuel pump filters are always full of water whereas when refuelled in SG..none detected.

What to do… we have to make do with Carb Engines.

• FarizY (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 8:19 am

In other words, we have cheap quality fuel, despite being famous for exporting high quality petrol.

• cendol (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 12:53 pm

How bout those Pre-owned Mercedes cars sold by AD themselves? These cars will have no problem with Euro2 petrol?

• powderful on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:12 pm

Any Non-Direct Injection engines no problem. The quality (rather the ‘cleanliness’ of fuel)affects mainly those with DI motors.

• Sparcov on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:41 pm

Aren’t all the new injection engine and ECU auto tune to suit the fuel and air content?

Do really need to tweak the ECU in the first place? The car and electronics so advance even the gearbox TCU can be auto tune to suit the driving style.

This is weird to me?

• anyone need help to programme they mb for dirty fuel (what mb call them in the setting) call me. the setting also include turning on the fan early so the engine temperature will be cooler.

• Car Lover on Oct 13, 2015 at 3:14 am

How could I contact you Sze? I want to import a Mercedes E350 CGI 3.5 Avantgarde BLUE efficiency from the UK. But don’t want any trouble later with the low grade fuel.

• A friend of mine who work in one of the oil company here told me that the fxxking govt never pay a single cent of the subsidy.. is it true? Any insider can concur this?