Highway R&R stops to be ‘No Smoking’ zones – MOH

smokers

Smokers, take note. All highway R&R stops are set to be gazetted as “No Smoking” zones by the end of this year. This was announced by Health Minister Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam, who added that eateries and toilets at R&Rs will be smoke-free.

Those who want to smoke can do so at the R&R parking lots, he told reporters after launching the national-level International No Tobacco Day event in Ipoh yesterday. According to the minister, the ministry had a meeting with all highway conccesionaires and they have agreed to the proposal. “We want to implement this as soon as possible,” he said.

Smoking pedestrians, you’ve got mail too. Subramaniam revaled that KL City Hall (DBKL) will also gazette its 23 km of sheltered walkways in the city centre as smoke-free zones.

“The authorities will also be stepping up enforcement and monitoring these areas to deter people from smoking. I know that enforcement will be a challenge as it covers a large area, but it will be done. It is only through strict enforcement that we can drive our message across,” he said, adding that offenders can expect to cough up between RM250 to RM500 in fines.

The measures are part of the Ministry of Health’s target to lower the number of smokers in the country by 16%. The Global Adult Tobacco Survey 2011 indicated that 23.1%, or 4.7 million Malaysians, are smokers.

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• sugar glider on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:54 pm

please provide a place for smoker. so, non smoker can breath freely without smelling tobacco and kutuk2 smoker.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 43 Thumb down 13
    • Same L0r on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:11 pm

Good move!

People can actually afford better car, if they quit smoking. E.g. those Saga smoker, they would be able to afford a Vios/Civic if they don’t smoke.

Smoking = Burning money, future, health all in 1.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 11
      • samelorstpd on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:17 am

Who cares about junky vios!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 16 Thumb down 7
        • Same L0r on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:47 pm

If no one cares, it won’t be the best selling foreign car model for so many years.

Don’t be naive. Instead no one really careabout Preve and Suprima S. Proton not even dare to disclose sales figure.

• samelorstpd on Jun 19, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Vios catfish can close shop and bungkus lah, so many preve on road now. Proton can carry on with GCC, can beat axia.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 0 Thumb down 6
      • M4R10 on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:46 am

I am not a smoker but still can’t afford better car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 1
        • Same L0r on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:49 pm

You need to change a better job, or work harder. In Malaysia, every hardworking man can get better life.

Even those who don’t really work also get a good life, say the cronies.

• danny on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:42 am

dont worry. keep saving & investing money and few years later u will surely be able to afford a better car.

• Sam Looser on Sep 03, 2014 at 12:34 pm

There is no difference between saga and vios other than the badge

• Fai Loooo on Sep 22, 2014 at 5:22 pm

Yes!… Betul tu.. sebenarnya semua kereta takde beza.. Lepas 9tahun jadi besi buruk… hahahahahaha… ape kena mengena smoking dengan beli kereta?.. huhu

• Finally one good decision made by the health minister…what took him so long?

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 64 Thumb down 4
    • make decision also problem..dont make decision also problem..typical malaysisn..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
      • I think you dont understand simple English. .I said finally…that means im glad a decision is made…rather then nt making a decision…now I guess you became the typical malaysian

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 3
        • Understood English more than you
          When make wise decision – why took so long / why not implement long ago

When make wrong decision – lagi problem.

That’s YOU.

• Not smoking is a good encouragement. So what is left for the entertainment? Racing in Batu Kawan stadium legally?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 7
    • danny on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:43 am

entertainment got so many choices, simply choose another one.

• Black Dog on Jun 18, 2014 at 2:57 pm

Boleh merokok, belanja kopi saja lah

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 31
  • parkjw on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:01 pm

good job! i hope this can be enforced country wide!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 49 Thumb down 2
    • guest on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:24 pm

Enforcement is the key issue here. Now you find smokers lighting up at clearly non-smoking areas without any care.

Zero enforcement means its pointless to have such silly rules. Have you ever seen smokers being fined for smoking in a non-smoking restaurant? I have never..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 42 Thumb down 2
      • Chris (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:57 am

I secretly(okay, not anymore) they passes a law where everyone can legally beat up smokers who were caught smoking in a non-smoking zone, like just last week I was in a mall toilet and saw two teenager smoking under the “no smoking” sign.

• sugar glider on Jun 19, 2014 at 1:46 pm

what about a driver drive 140km/h passing “110km/h sign”? . Beat them too? Typical malaysian. Dont throw rubbish there n there will make it hotspot for citizen to throw rubbish under that sign.

• danny on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:44 am

beating would be a bit too much. snapping photo and issuing a simple SAMAN would be great and this will help the government to increase their income. I wonder why the government dont think of this such simple move?

• There are more pressing things to address in MOH than this SMOKING AT R&R like Lynas, mining lake water for drinking.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 36
    • theres definitely a TON more things to address by MOH, but this is one of them and should be carried out anyway. why, you dont agree, or you cant smoke in R&R anymore after this?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 30 Thumb down 1
      • Yea.. why not ban it at the airports (no smoking room) where the ministers and officials take flight there too? Does these people stop at R&R? They are just good at victimizing the people. Just like the tint enforcement issue. Why the delay if not because of these people? Forget about all the excuses.

• halil on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:03 pm

Please enforced this to petrol station also

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 48 Thumb down 1
  • People will still smoke, good move anyway.

• Hah! As if they will obey. Penang ferry and heritage sites are also listed as no smoking zone, but absolutely everyone still smokes there. 0 difference.
    You want to stop people from smoking? Ban cigarettes, end of problem.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 39 Thumb down 2
    • Vader (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:34 pm

Set the none smoking zone is good, but the problem is no one are monitoring / take action for those keep smoking at these area.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 25 Thumb down 1
    • 100% agreed. Ban cigarettes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
      • Low Budget on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:51 pm

Correct! cigarette is much much more haram than pork, there are ways to ensure pork meat meet the required standard for consumption but cigarettes?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 11
        • danny on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:45 am

why must u talk about pork? cant u talk about chicken for instance?

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:43 pm

But you know, cigarettes are taxed heavily. So I don’t think the govt will not ban them anytime soon…

• Obviously, Gomen needs all these fund for their pocket.

• danny on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:47 am

no need to ban cigarettes, just ban it at certain places like shopping malls and certain streets will do. the others locations still let it be. and if can, allow the people to issue SAMAN to the smokers who violate the law by smoking in non smoking areas. Help the government to earn more money so that petrol subsidy can be continued!!!

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:44 pm

I don’t think the govt will* ban them anytime soon

• Keith Rozario (@keithrozario) on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:25 pm

A bit confusing headline.

It look like the highway R&R would stop being no-smoking zones :).

But good to know this is happening.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:25 pm

As a person who has severe allergic reaction to Nicotine, and dislike smokers regardless or Age, Gender, Social Status, Religion or Race…..
    PRAISE THE LORD!!!!!(or whatever religeon you practise, cheers!!)

Seriously, I am even considering buying gas mask off Ebay after the sudden amount of smokers I have been facing lately. This is almost the best thing the government has done (if it is truly implemented) to curb smokers, It would be best that the parliment pass a law that that grants any irritated member of public to find any smokers that are guilty of smoking in a non-smoke zone and by law(provided evidense), the smokers must received a single punch to the face by said member of the public…..But of course for now this will do.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 31 Thumb down 4
  • Please la… until today people are smoking in shopping complex, talk about R&R. All the handphone dealers are smoking openly in complexes.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 29 Thumb down 1
    • U daft? who the fuck smokes in a enclosed shopping complex? So far I have not seen one though, unless u are bold enough to take a photo to proof it.Then we believe you.

• RM $$$

• Denaihati on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:29 pm

should be better at parking lot or nearest, some smokers smoke in the aircon room. but i think also need to increase the number of ashtray at parking lot.

• Do not smoke while driving or riding or make sure u had an ashtray in your car!

• Cheers on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:44 pm

Thanks Subramaniam, Pls keep the HM Job,,,, do not ever give it to the useless MCA gang.

• Ken T. on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:45 pm

Smokers make their own decision that their health is at risk. Banning the WHOLE R&R is just stupid. Drivers that don’t smoke in the car will stop at R&R for a cig break.

They should set a designated smoking area so that second hand smoke does not spread to non-smokers. Then again, many people probably will not follow, I’ve even seen janitors smoking at R&R toilets, in front of a big “Dilarang Merokok” sign.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 9
  • Chow 1 on Jun 18, 2014 at 3:47 pm

Cigarette smoke is the most disgusting thing in the world. It mixes with smoker’s bad breath and totally spoil the good air around. The non-smokers around them are risked to breath in something toxic, dangerous, disgusting and smelly.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 23 Thumb down 4
  • macam susah je nak impliment.
    nanti pak guard jugak yang kena marah bila tegur smoker

• danny on Jun 25, 2014 at 9:49 am

pak guard seharusnya diberikan kuasa minima utk isu saman kpd smoker supaya smoker didenda di atas kesalahan mereka akibat tidak menghiraukan arahan kerajaan.

• nighttrain on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:18 pm

Go ahead, enforce lah.. I still need my nicotine and caffeine shots during long drives..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 11
  • erwinkarim on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:19 pm

good move, but i’m not sure if this is enforceable.

• taboogen on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:24 pm

I AGREE. no questions asked. smokers are rude, selfish and most of the time an idiot person. RIders like me always falls into victoms of ciggerate buds that is still lite when smokers just throw it out from the car window. even worst when it come to bus and lorry drivers. if smoking is good. close the car window and enjoy it yourself. Some says why not create a place for smokers. typically malaysia will you follow the instructions. even there is sign do not smoke here. still people smolking

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 5
  • NISSpengAN on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:32 pm

Good news for non-smoker !

• holofanboi on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:37 pm

Now this is a good move. It wont eliminate second hand smoking…

BUT IT SURE AS HELL WILL MINIMIZE IT!

Hue hue hue.

• protonsucks on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:39 pm

give them a smoking zone for smoking and a trash can to throw their buds, smokers may smoke freely in that zone, please respect smokers as its what they need to keep their alertness for driving and thank you to smokers that choose not to smoke in front of pregnant women and kids. im not a smoker tough

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 18 Thumb down 7
    • Agree. Put them smokers in a special room and gas them like one during WW II.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 1 Thumb down 9
  • Good luck too trying to make this happen!

• Have good law, but lazy or lousy enforcement, take action for few months, later, no more action againt the selfish smoker forever.

• iskhalifah on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:32 pm

Imagine u’re dining with your wife & little kids and suddenly got Asap kepuk2 surrounding you caused by next patron ‘selamba badak’ puff all the smoke to your table.
    Cannot tahan to punch that rude idiot and stuff his cigarette into his throat & nose if possible.

• pojie on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:41 pm

Although I’m a smoker, I applaud this move as I myself couldn’t stand people who smoke indiscriminately especially in public places. However, allowing people to smoke anywhere in the parking lot will do much as non-smokers will still be exposed to the smoke as they make their way to and from the parking lot. Plus, we can expect the area to be littered with cigarette buds. A designated smoking area away from the main R&R building would be better. It’s done in a lot of other countries.

• sepul on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:06 pm

Ban the production and selling of cigarettes entirely. That’s the best solution. Make them illegal.

• think b4 u type on Jun 19, 2014 at 3:25 am

u can hate smokers but to ban them entirely?

imagine how many job opportunities provided by BAT , JTI and Philip Morris..? These are FDIs

And the chunk of tax made by gov on ciggy tax?

Tobacco industry is basically recession proof…

think twice b4 giving a suggestion

• Samad Jain on Jun 18, 2014 at 7:25 pm

hahahah, I think this is all talk, no action.
    Hot hot chicken shit only, typically Malaysian govt.

Sorry, I am losing faith with the current govt that is so frequent with their flip flop here and there about their policies, etc.

I am proud to be Malaysian, but ashamed of the malaysian govt.

• katak on Jun 18, 2014 at 8:03 pm

I always wonder why people like to smoke in toilet. Is it because they like to smell shits or the smoke is more stinky than shit.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 9:23 pm

Speaking of smoke and shits, this is from a show I watch a few weeks back and it really reminds me of all the times I’am enjoying my meal in an open Mamak store and suddenly everyone decides to recreate Hitler’s shower. Here is the conversation:

A: sorry, but mind of I smoke here.
      B: of corse it isn’t you arsehole, how would you feel if someone makes feces right next to you while you eat. No….it’s not even that bad as feces smell isn’t actually harmful to our health. Everytime you put a butt in your mouth, everything living around you gets their life cut short when you exhale. Look around you, all these innocent people trying to live a nice life, all if them are not pleased one bit and wish for your…….”

Okay the dialogue gets out of hand here, but it dose make a very completing point. I honestly see no reason why people should smoke, it’s parasitic. It’s not like your life depends on it and it certainly don’t bring any good to your life. In fact it’s worse, it makes all those innocent and healthy unable to continue to live a happy life, bearing down your burnt breath and body Oder, adding that the environment is conteminated from your cigarette butt.

No it’s not cool one bit,thaw this as a PSA. If you’re thinking of smoking, please don’t. And id you’re already are, please be considerate.

• Iam a smoker but i am totally for non-smoking areas and smoke zones.

I am also quite an occasional long distance driver KL-SG every 2 weeks and during a long drive, it is nice to be able to stop and have a puff once or twice through out the journey. So to be fair, don’t have the R&R all smoke free, all i am asking for is one small covered area(away from the toilet/eateries) to just have a smoke. Sheltered from the rain and sun.

• LeYuv on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:46 am

yeah.. agreed.. don’t discriminate the smokers mannngggg… :P

• Psyduck on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:38 am

Enforcement must be consistent in order to keep smoke-free areas really smoke-free else nobody will bother about this ruling.

We once attended a wedding dinner at a restaurant and non-smoking signs were displayed on the walls. There was this Uncle who sat next to our table and started puffing away after every meal.

I highlighted this to the restaurant Captain and he pretended that this Uncle was transparent and did not do anything. As there were children around, I then told this Uncle that this is a non-smoking area and he told me, ‘Are you a policeman ah? Where got law to say that I cannot smoke here!’.

I then told him louder to respect others around him and to see for his own eyes the signboards around him. With so many eyes staring at him then, he rudely stubbed his ciggie and cursed me softly in his dialect.

My wife told me that had the Uncle been a gangster, I would be in serious trouble. Even though he may be the biggest taikor in this country, I will still go up to him and tell him to STOP SMOKING!

• Whyyyy dont drivers just smoke inside their cars?
    For whatever their reasons, other people might feel the same way too….

• ARYUNUS on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:51 pm

Good move tapi jalan malaysialah kotor dengan putung rokok. Mereka patut buat designated area for smokers. By smoking they contribute a lot to tax ma…

• A very good move, but just like any other directive in this county of ours, total enforcement will only happen for about 6 month to a year the most. Then it will be business as usual. Just like what’s happening to enforcement of rear seatbelt, pirated cd’s, etc..

• Same Old Shit on Jun 20, 2014 at 8:38 am

Same old shit… just a PR stunt.. we are just not discipline enough to take this matter seriously.. when majority of the enforcement officer are smokers themselves.

• Tikka on Jun 20, 2014 at 10:33 am

Welcome the idea but as rightly put by few enforcement is always an issue. My suggestion is to incentivize the enforcers…

• I pray that the government is serious about this. Please do what is right for the people. Do not be selfish. May God speaks to you.
    Smokers, pls be considerate. Children and women should be protected by us- so called the man!

• thanks to Health Minister Datuk Seri Dr S. Subramaniam that really care health of Malaysia i’d warmly welcome your implementation.