JPJ’s new ruling leads to disabled drivers’ protest

A new ruling by the Road Transport Department (JPJ) requiring disabled drivers to get a letter from a doctor every time they want to renew their driving licence has sparked fury among the community. It led to a protest held by a group of disabled people from five non-governmental organisations yesterday.

Various reports said that representatives from Petpositive, Malaysian Spinal Cord Injury Association (Masia), Yayasan Ehsan, Adult Blind Association of Selangor (Abas) and Independent Living and Training Centre gathered at the JPJ office in Wangsa Maju at 11 am, demanding that disabled drivers should only be required to show a doctor’s certification upon renewing their licences for the first time.

This comes after the transport ministry waived driving licence fees for disabled people in April, before JPJ required that a doctor’s letter must be produced before an exemption from those fees can be acquired upon each licence renewal. The disabled would also need to submit a medical report to JPJ whenever they acquire a vehicle modified to suit their needs.

Petpositive president Anthony Siva Balan Thanasayan said, “We have to see a specialist each time we want to renew our driving licence, which is a hassle for us. I don’t see the purpose of having the disabled’s identity card for anymore.” The protestors then threw their disabled’s identity cards into a dustbin in a symbolic move.

What do you think? Should disabled drivers only be required to show certification upon renewing their licences for the first time, or is there a method to JPJ’s decision?

After trying to pursue a career in product design, Jonathan Lee decided to make the sideways jump into the world of car journalism instead. He therefore appreciates the aesthetic appeal of a car, but for him, the driving experience is still second to none.

• tombyron on Jun 18, 2014 at 4:44 pm

what a joke…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 5
    • Same L0r on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:08 pm

The stupid drivers who park their Mercedes, BMW, Audi anywhere blocking the roads should instead get a letter from Jabatan Perdana Menteri or LHDN that they are high rank government officer or rich typhoon EVERYTIME they park!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 36 Thumb down 4
    • HAMEED KOYAKUTTY on Jun 18, 2014 at 8:48 pm

As i mentioned yesterday, JKJR, JPJ, MIROS, JKR are a bunch of idiots who are wasting taxpayer money but introducing and implementing idiotic measures and regulations……..

If u want to be an idiot, be in style such as P. Rejab……kaya kaya kaya…..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • I don’t see this funny. I have my sympathy to the disable but what JPJ did this time was right. It’s for the safety of everyone including other road users. I seriously think sometimes just because they are OKU it means no one can impose any rules on them. Just follow this rules and it’s for the sake of everyone and I don’t think on is issue JPJ had done anything wrong.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 27 Thumb down 35
      • flat_tire on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:42 am

u bukan OKU bole arr senang cakap..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 11
      • OKU_right on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:13 am

Sir, yr theory is flawed. If OKU need to present medical certificate to renew driving license, then this rule should be applied to everyone. You never know when u will become OKU or be in less-than-perfect condition to drive a car.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 4
        • Physical disability in any ways will affect their ability to control the vehicle. Moreover the presentation of letter from doctor is only required when they renew their license. I think we Malaysians are living in this very convenient country where rules are mostly not fully enforced. Try living in country like Australia or our neighbor Singapore and see how many ‘hassles’ they have to go thru to fully abide with the laws. In Australia they even have another set of test for disabled drivers.

• OKU_right on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:51 pm

“Hassles” will be understatement if you NEED to follow Malaysian law. Pls read the comment from Civil Minded, you’ll know what I mean.

• civil minded on Jun 19, 2014 at 1:45 pm

I don’t agree with you in this. as a disabled person myself, i can tell u the hassles and nightmares that i’ve went through in order to get a valid OKU driving license. first u’ve to obtained letter from jabatan kebajikan negeri, GH and JPJ. Don’t expect that u can get licence by going through 1 round of this 3 locations. at least u’ll be turning thru and fro 3 rounds.
        I don’t mind to put in extra time and effort for the first time application, but not in license renewal annually.
        does gov think that our permanent disability can be cured within years? this is wasting our precious time.

• Anti-Establishment on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:08 pm

But the JPJ didn’t ask for a letter from Jabatan Kebajikan Negeri etc everytime you want to renew, only a letter from a doctor.

Surely that’s not the big hassle that it’s made to be? And if you renew every 5 years, that’s like only once every 5 years.

• This is seriously stupid…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 9
  • Yet another stupid not thought through ruling by our civil servants.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 9
  • taboogen on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:03 pm

its a good thing for those who are really disable. its not that everyday you go and renew the lics. once a year or even 5years once.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 29
  • OMG… seriously!
    They should go saman those idiots that park at disabled parking lot instead!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 4
    • Black Dog on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:48 pm

Immediately tow them away. Or better still like hudud, chop off their legs and let them feel the disability!

• BadBET on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:07 pm

just looking at the OKU can know already they are disable, what a joke by JPJ.
    How come some mental retarded person can become JPJ policy maker?
    They are the one need to provide doctor’s certification to confirm they a fit TO SERVE the people.. and a quick glance by SPRM onto their bank account and life style are most welcome.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 37 Thumb down 6
  • Reserved on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:11 pm

just wondering…why JPJ did not consult these groups first before comes up with this stupid ruling…there shld be a much better way…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 4
  • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:12 pm

Does this story cover the whole picture…? Because I think JPJ really ought to elaborate on why they’re making this move. Is there a loophole to the current practice that they need to alter it this stringent?

Nonetheless I do believe it’s too much for disabled drivers to provide doctor’s letter each time they want to renew their licenses.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 22 Thumb down 3
  • This is ridiculous…
    If they have such time, please get off their lazy bottom n saman those lowlife that park at disabled parking lot.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 19 Thumb down 4
  • Guilt79 on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:26 pm

With this ruling, JPJ staff can get free when visiting these doctors? Probably only applies to appointed clinics and hospitals. Smell cronies here..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 8
  • This is what happened when you get idiotic brainless person running the organisation……once they open their mouth or give idea they will create inconvenience to the public. They are just out of this world!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 14 Thumb down 7
  • This is what happened when you get idiotic brainless person running the organisation……once they open their mouth or give idea they will create inconvenience to the public. They are just out of this world!

• Najib Bin Ali on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Malaysia, Endless Possibilities………

• poppi (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:31 pm

Another unacceptable remarks from our so called policy makers.
    Medical reports should be done only once..
    unless people with permanent disability like those losing limbs can grow back their arms and legs.. That’s a different story… In bolehland JPJ thinks it is possible… Kuang2..

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 6
  • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:33 pm

when a man becomes blind, with he get back his vision sometime in the future?? Does a paralaysed man will become normal again? For the medical technology at this stage, and near future…NO, RIGHT? So when a person become disabled, he would hv been certified by the doctor

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 11 Thumb down 7
    • TopsyBoXyTurvy on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:41 pm

JPJ, instead of improving quality of life, make disabled person suffers more … what they know best is making money from selling car registration numbers…If JPJ is not managed by a bunch of monkeys, then it must be chimpanzees…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 4
    • Rokuth on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:16 pm

Well what if a person is disabled and is able to drive a vehicle when he/she got his/her license but his/her condition is degenerative, conditions making him/her less and less able to properly drive as time goes by? Someone like Stephen Hawkings? Would you want him to be driving?

• carazy on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:36 pm

Shame on you JPJ.. OKU ppl should be help, not burden them more

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 13 Thumb down 5
  • kcng (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:37 pm

apa lagi JPJ mau?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 6
  • Scirwode on Jun 18, 2014 at 5:45 pm

Considering the license fees for their driving license is waived, having a doctor’s letter to be produced every time they renew their license shouldn’t be an issue. If we want to make sure they are 100% fit to drive despite their disability, these are the kind of processes they have to go through.

It is no different that what drivers in UK and Euro countries have to go through with regards to disable driving licenses, at times their ruling are even more stringent that what is suggested.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 15 Thumb down 5
    • Mr.Skywalker on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:39 am

This needs to come from JPJ. They need to explain their move. Justify the change instead of acting like a dad who knows what’s best for us.

• I’m not siding with the JPJ here, but when one is certified as diabled, are we saying their condition and reflexes don’t worsen over time?

• victor tan (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:13 pm

This is beyond stupid, I can’t even laugh on this.

• Mind sick ke..

• you now know where the wastage of resources go to…!

• Painter on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:24 pm

I am more concerned on blatant abuse of disabled carpark by motorists. Government should clamp down on these errant drivers before introducing another layer of red tape.

• FireAce on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:52 pm

Government also should give authority and making it compulsory for parking provider in hypermarket/supermarket to clamp those non OKU idiots that parking on OKU parking lot.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:40 pm

Most disabilities don’t just go away…and even those that can be healed take a ton of money, time and effort to remedy, if possible at all. I think this is a very badly thought through decision on their part unless they can put forth a convincing case for their decision.

• The insane one on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:52 pm

Why the blind (ABAS) are complaining? Are they suppose to be driving? Do they have a JPJ driving license? OR they they offer their support “blindly”

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 8 Thumb down 7
  • The insane one on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:54 pm

Our country is run bu baboon.

• The insane one on Jun 18, 2014 at 6:56 pm

somewhere in JPJ office…. JPJ officer: lesen sudah percuma, APA LAGI ORANG CACAT MAU!?!?!?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 6 Thumb down 8
  • cobra on Jun 18, 2014 at 7:37 pm

Oh come on…JPJ, you are really stupid to the core. Already they are disabled and yet JPJ inconvenient them further. Have a heart for those less fortunate. Don’t try to be funny lest one day you are in the same situation.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • TheDean on Jun 18, 2014 at 7:50 pm

Malaysia has always seen black or white, and the many shades of grey in between. Why not have the doctor’s certification period-graded? Like PD (permanent disability), TD-number of years (Temporary Disability), etc? Not all disabilities are permanent, so those PD no need to have certifications, and those with TD are given periods during which the doctors think they are classified as disabled. Easy.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • kadajawi (Member) on Jun 18, 2014 at 8:46 pm

I didn’t even know this exists. Whenever I see someone parking on a disabled car park, they could walk, or there was no sign on the car to show that they actually need this car park.

Anyway, is there something like this for families where one of the passengers is disabled? It would be nice to be officially allowed to use the car park, even though it’s not the driver that is disabled.

• Mohsein Mokhtar on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:12 pm

Kadajawi, I disagree with you. The disable parking should only be utilized by the disable driver. As for family members that have the disability they should drop them off at a convenience place and find a normal parking space. I am a disable driver myself and 90% of the time unable to park at the disable parking space because of this.

• SamsungFreak on Jun 21, 2014 at 4:52 pm

Mohsein, those abled individuals that park at disabled lots… are disabled too… THEY ARE MENTALLY RETARDED

• abuya12345678 on Jun 18, 2014 at 9:23 pm

You all already curse gomen, hate gomen. No need to tell others because as long BN, either good or bad, curse is a must until death and hereafter.

However, as my father in law is OKU and really need OKU parks, I want to suggest to JPJ to focus on BIG issue rather than this ikan bilis issue. Stop talking about law if no full enforcement. Why need medical report everytime to renew. You are not disable therefore you never know what they actually feeling. You think medical report is free? Come to hospital required one day off. Come to JPJ required another one day off.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 12 Thumb down 3
  • JPJ should form another group of people OKF “Orang Kurang Fikir”

• carbonman on Jun 18, 2014 at 10:06 pm

I think rather than proving they are still disabled, this requirement is for doctors to certify that the particular OKU is still fit to drive. Of course people can’t grow back limbs or brains… But what if their condition worsen and they no longer fit to drive? It might be dangerous and cause more harm to the public right?

• Anti-Establishment on Jun 18, 2014 at 11:14 pm

I agree – there are many disabilities that are degenerative in nature which is why the authorities had to take such action to ensure that fitness is important.

But because of the anti-establishment hate spewing around the country (whether it is warranted or not is for another forum), somehow some commentators here have chosen to disable their brains…

• Mr.Skywalker on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:45 am

It’s quite disturbing actually. We need to stop with this “emotion before thought” behaviors.

• kenny on Jun 18, 2014 at 11:54 pm

in boleh land, every miracle can happen, something funny like this is an example of it. ppl change for better, but our agencies opt for opposite……

• Ranger on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:10 am

Malaysia is fast becoming a laughing stock to the rest of the world.

Does the decision makers at JPJ have any brains left in them??
    Always coming out with STUPID rules to make life difficult for the public.
    First they come up with stupid rules to disallow the use of dark tints in such a freakin hot climate.
    Then they even suggested to ban the use of HID Xenon headlights, even on cars that come with original HID units <<<— so stupid!!!
    Now they come up with measures to make life harder for the disabled.
    How much more stupid can their rules become???

• salamander on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:38 am

In JPJ eyes, OKU must be like starfish or salamander. Able to grow new limbs …… ha ha

• Rulered on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:09 am

There are temporary disable who takes advantage of privellage supposed to be enjoyed by the permenantly disabled. I suggest only the temporarily disabled should get letter from specialist everyrime they want to renew their license, the permanently disable should be given an exemption from this hassle.

• WaJib on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:12 am

Itu perbuatan yang sombong dan bodoh dari JPJ. Pls respect the OKU..

• hooooo on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:26 am

why there need to trouble those OKU need to get renew this and that

• On one fine day… If you were hit by an unfit OKU, who were to blame? JPJ, because they give their driving licences?
    Its not an insult, but more to prevention…

• stance4life on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:12 pm

Bravo JPJ! Bravo for making everybody’s life including the disabled a living nightmare! Apa apa pun tak boleh!

• Spirior on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:47 pm

My country going down the drain. Corruption, incompetence, wastage. Repeat that a trillion times. Then suddenly everything is as normal. This is Malaysia. This is Malaysiaaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!

• KillBox1Alpha on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:16 pm

The only OKU’s I see on the road are those cutting que, jumping red lights, double parking and so on…and these are the ones requiring letters…from the psychiatrist.

• JPJ new rule again?
    JPJ is redundant and GOV should just abolish them.
    All they ever did is making the rakyat hate them. Nothing good ever comes from JPJ ruling.

• bbgun on Jun 20, 2014 at 11:00 am

The specialist bill will cost more than the $30 a year license fee.. WTF

• vezeroth on Jun 21, 2014 at 2:31 pm

It isnt a stupid rule actually… certain medical conditions that our OKU’s suffer from do progressively deteriorate and hinders their ability to drive or handle machinary over the years… Therefore it should be imperative that they be screened by a reliable goverment certified dissability doctor before allowed to drive something that can kill!