Peugeot 508 facelift unveiled – new face and engines

508 Berline 01

The Peugeot 508 has received a facelift nearly four years after we first saw it, and as facelifts go, we’re looking at a pretty major one. Not just a shot of botox, but a new grille that’s “emblematic of the brand’s future models”. We’ve seen this new nose before on the Peugeot Exalt Concept and Chinese-market new Peugeot 408 from the 2014 Beijing Motor Show.

The new grille is more vertical than before and houses a big Peugeot lion in the middle. The front lighting – headlamps, daytime running lights, direction indicators, foglamps – are all LEDs. The visual signature – a “comma” on the sedan and SW (wagon), claws on the RXH (Audi Allroad-style raised wagon) – is provided by the DRLs. Also redesigned is the bonnet, which is now more horizontal to match the nose.

The rear end of the D-segment sedan is said to be more “structured” now, with a redesigned rear bumper that is more prominent. The rear lamps have also been reshaped, with a revised opalescent three-claw signature.

508 Berline 11

Inside, the smart-looking dashboard is unchanged at a glance, but upon closer inspection, the iDrive-style controller is gone, and in its place is a new storage box with lid. This addresses one of the few complaints we have about the 508 – the lack of cabin storage spaces.

Most of the functions can now be accessed by touching the seven-inch (same size) central screen. New to the equipment list are blind spot sensors, reverse camera and Peugeot Connect Apps.

Peugeot is offering new engines for the 508. On the petrol front, we have the 1.6 litre THP 165 S&S, a Euro 6 mill paired with either a six-speed manual or the new EAT6 six-speed auto. Replacing the THP 156, this new motor is significantly lower in C02 emissions.

508 Berline 05

In the diesel department, new BlueHDi engines include a 2.0 litre BlueHDi 150 6-speed manual (CO2 emissions of just 105 g/km, best in class for the power offered) and a 2.0 litre BlueHDi 180 EAT6 with CO2 emissions of just 111 g/km. Peugeot says that the latter is one of the best compromises between power and fuel consumption in the segment.

The HYbrid4 diesel hybrid variant, unique in the segment, will continue to be available. The system joins a 163 hp 2.0 litre HDi engine with a 37 hp electric motor coupled to the rear wheels. Both power sources operate either alternately or in tandem.

The Peugeot 508 facelift will be produced at Rennes, France for the European market, and at Wuhan for China. It will be launched in Europe this September, while China will get the car in January 2015. It should be awhile more before it reaches our shores then. So, what do you think of the 508’s new face?

Read our review and shootout of the Peugeot 508 vs the Ford Mondeo.

Peugeot 508 Facelift Sedan

Peugeot 508 Facelift SW

Peugeot 508 Facelift RXH

Danny Tan loves driving as much as he loves a certain herbal meat soup, and sweet engine music as much as drum beats. He has been in the auto industry since 2006, previously filling the pages of two motoring magazines before joining this website. Enjoys detailing the experience more than the technical details.

• wandy on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:50 am

Front looks like volvo a bit..or maybe just me..but this one is more handsome..

Well-loved. Like or Dislike: Thumb up 60 Thumb down 4
    • the driver on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:21 am

Agreed – like an S60 from the side.

• DrCooper on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:35 am

I see more car try to have volvo fender design these days. I think in order to comply with IIHS new small overlapping test – in 2012 only Volvo (2010 model !) survive with GOOD remarks.

• Obviously (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 3:22 am

Peugeot cars are looking better and better…The DRLs on the RXH look pretty awesome. You definitely won’t miss it when it’s coming at you in your rear view mirror.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 40 Thumb down 1
    • kadajawa (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:56 am

All rakyat and menteri must buy, use Proton Accordana!

Kalau tak beli nanti chairman Proton marah, penasihat merajuk, blame Perodua, MITI too liberal open competition etc etc etc.!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 24 Thumb down 11
  • FarizY (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:07 am

Just yesterday I saw one of these at my workplace and thought Peugeot should shift its logo from the bonnet to the grill, and wow, that make it looks more appealing.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:15 am

Holy macaroni . Falling in love at first sight!

• Marieta on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:36 am

I prefer the old looks..more elegant and beautiful…not saying the facelift is ugly, it’s just ordinary.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 20 Thumb down 8
  • front is volvoish…

• molluy on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:40 am

to those who like to go to GPs and request for MCs..u all can go back to hell..useless pieces of…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 10
    • harjit on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:41 am

aku sakit hati betul dgn pt2 melayu yg dtg klinik time maghrib..bangang betul..kalo dah nak mampos sgt tu okla jugak..ni dtg komplen sakit kepala..sial betul pt2 mcm ni..guys..if ur one of them, then i say to you…..up urs!!!!

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 13
      • chai hor fun on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:26 am

hahahahaha…ko ni mesti selalu buat locum 5pm – 10pm..nak buat mcmne..ko ingat melayu pedulik ke maghrib ke, isyak ke, semayang ke..lebih2 lg melayu Johor n KL..hahahaha

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 3 Thumb down 14
  • i like the front of the old one better but i prefer the backside of this.

• AVH (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:11 am

Yea, the front looks alot more angry Bulldog and manacing than the sevelt front of the pre-FL (Thou it suits the RXH just fine). The rear is really awesome thou.

• anakanda on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:17 am

Wow facelift looks better, i can bet the current owner will say their current car look better ;p

• nabill (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:03 am

Very pretty n elegant,shame on Japanese d segment designs (not including Mazda 6)

• Now, this is nice. Really nice looking.

• TheDean on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:40 am

Not just like a Volvo, but an OLD volvo.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 2 Thumb down 8
  • Denaihati on Jun 19, 2014 at 10:50 am

more look like new model, much beautiful and fresh.

• kumar on Jun 19, 2014 at 11:57 am

the rims look out of place. it does not look elegant.

• rchoo on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:06 pm

I still prefer the old front, but the new rear looks better.
    Generally not much difference.

• shawn eastern on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:18 pm

NOW … 508 is more MONDEO look – the result of using the similar computer software …. but it looks prettier …

• shawn eastern on Jun 19, 2014 at 12:20 pm

but the first model is most unforgettable design .. and u know that it is a 508 even with your eyes closed

• Ryper80 on Jun 19, 2014 at 4:55 pm

agree..i like the current front more.. the unique 508 identity is kinda drowned off a bit with the facelifted front..and it does look a bit like an Accord, like some has mentioned, at a glance…but liking the new engine & the addition of more gismos..!

• cantik on Jun 19, 2014 at 1:03 pm

Handsome car and good job from peugeot. If this car front grille put with T or VW logo. Sure selling like hot cake.

• DrCooper on Jun 19, 2014 at 3:30 pm

What’s new with THP 165 S&S engine other than low emission ? Can’t seem to find any info of it in the net, wiki only mention THP 163 (Or is it the same ?)

• rchoo on Jun 19, 2014 at 4:44 pm

It was THP 156, now up 9HP

• intermilan on Jun 20, 2014 at 11:16 am

From what I’ve heard, the new engine variant i.e. 165PS was roll out to solve few critical issues plaguing the engine its replaced.

• Vijen on Jun 19, 2014 at 5:23 pm

Meow….looks great….handsome looking lion..

• shaun on Jun 19, 2014 at 7:56 pm

Looks like a 2015 Hyundai genesis copy from the front. Looks very nice. Interior looks blend .

• intermilan on Jun 20, 2014 at 11:52 am

Anyone know what are the differences between the outgoing auto gearbox (AT6) and this new auto gearbox (EAT6)? .. Beside the official tagline that its help lower emission (even more).

I reckoned both are Aisin products, but Aisin don’t refer to their products as AT6 or EAT6.

Perhaps the AT6 gearbox is Aisin TF-80SC (AWF21, AF40-6, AM6, AW6A-EL) and TF-81SC (AF21).. BUT..

I highly suspect AT6 is actually Aisin M-series TM-60LS (max 300Nm of torque) rather than TF-80SC which is rated to handled up to 440NM of torque as the 156Ps Prince turbo-petrol engine is rated only with 240Nm of torque.

The AM6 auto gearbox fitted to Peugeot HDi turbodiesel engines is actually Aisin’s TF-80SC (AWF21, AF40-6, AM6, AW6A-EL) and TF-81SC (AF21).

But there is no info on EAT6.. and what ‘E’ in EAT6 stand for?

Perhaps the EAT6 is the latest revision of TM-60LS?
    But there is no info in Aisin website about this gearbox been revised or anything.

Any info is much appreciated.

• chongyew on Jun 22, 2014 at 4:25 am

How’s Nasim’s after-sales service anyway?

• Kelvin Oon on Apr 16, 2015 at 2:34 pm

Why looks like I’m the only one who prefer the front of new model and back of old model after read through others’ comment? Why they removed the chrome (I’m not sure whether is it called chrome or what) line at the back for the new model? T.T