Qoros 9 Sedan Concept – a student’s 2020 vision

qoros 9 01

Qoros has revealed a design study called the Qoros 9 Sedan Concept. Unveiled at the Coventry University Degree Show in the UK as a 1:4.5 scale clay model, the vehicle is an interpretation of a future Qoros based on an extension of the automaker’s ‘New Premium’ philosophy.

The design is the brainchild of design student Jihoon Seo – the 29-year-old Korean undertook a five-month spell with the brand’s designers in Shanghai as part of the Qoros Design Team’s internship programme before being sponsored by the company through his final-year project at Coventry University’s School of Art and Design.

For his final year project, the team at Qoros briefed Seo to create a flagship concept saloon for the brand to launch in the year 2020, specifically aimed at 40-50 year-old professionals living in a modern metropolitan city.

qoros 9 02

The Qoros 9 exhibits several design cues seen on the Qoros 3 Sedan – which went on sale in China last November – as well as the Qoros 3 Hatch, and introduces some new concept design themes for the future.

The shape features generous proportions and clean horizontal lines, and notable design elements include a trapezoidal front grille with a chrome surround, perforated/diamond-cut eight spoke 19-inch alloys and LED Xenon headlamps.

There are no traditional door mirrors on the car – a high-definition rear-view camera replaces the usual fare, discreetly integrated into the LED side indicator repeater module just below the base of each A-pillar.

Anthony Lim believes that nothing is better than a good smoke and a car with character, with good handling aspects being top of the prize heap. Having spent more than a decade and a half with an English tabloid daily never being able to grasp the meaning of brevity or being succinct, he wags his tail furiously at the idea of waffling - in greater detail - about cars and all their intrinsic peculiarities here.

• venven81 on Jun 19, 2014 at 1:41 pm

b.e.a.utiful

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 7 Thumb down 5
  • nabill (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:15 pm

Has dat Camaro look

• Front and rear fugly…The sides nice tho

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 7
  • mamat on Jun 19, 2014 at 2:47 pm

what do you feel proton ?

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 10 Thumb down 8
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:38 pm

suppose how u feel..since this is student design

• Vader (Member) on Jun 20, 2014 at 7:59 am

I believe potong having good designers too.
        However, the finalized design concept is fall on the management decision and the potong management decision always suck!!!

• olddesign on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:59 pm

Is this the best they can do? Proton is much better.
      No, this is not sarcasm.

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 9
  • Lane Tamer on Jun 19, 2014 at 3:01 pm

This company has just started business, but looked at how it has progressed, miles ahead of Proton. Shame on you P1…

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 26 Thumb down 6
    • kzm (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:40 pm

that bcoz of u la…study no gud but complain all the way

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 5 Thumb down 14
    • fast5 on Jun 19, 2014 at 9:17 pm

Can’t agreed more, not like p1 chairman greedy and arrogant… if the corruption of 30 years can be stop proton won’t be like current stat…

• If like that, shame much more on much older automakers:
      Shame on you Toyota
      Shame on you Honda
      Shame on you Nissan
      Shame on you Mazda
      Shame on you BMW
      Shame on you Geely
      Shame on you Hyundai
      Shame on you Kia
      And the list goes on….

Like or Dislike: Thumb up 9 Thumb down 17
  • Look at how other’s vision on 2020…P1 and even P2 the jaguh kampung..

• sonyman on Jun 19, 2014 at 4:36 pm

a little bit of this, a little bit of that, makes this car perfect.

Like a Camaro, like a bentley, like nothing of a proton.

• EnergyAnalyst on Jun 19, 2014 at 5:55 pm

Design idea from Korean intern! Not bad!

• AVH (Member) on Jun 19, 2014 at 6:22 pm

To be very frank, It looks absolutely hedious from front and rear. (The headlights also have seen action in a previous Kia concept whose execution on the concept is better).

Now where’s my fire suit!

• Proton didn’t progress much because they’re trying to serve a car for shitty Malaysian that want high quality car with stupid cheap price. we all can guess what will this Malaysian creature will say if Proton rebadged this right. :p

• choha on Jun 19, 2014 at 8:27 pm

the qoros logo failed!

• Veneno on Jun 20, 2014 at 12:08 am

Rolls-Royce wannabe..??

• johngill (Member) on Jun 21, 2014 at 3:33 pm

This is a clean and fuel efficient car, would like to add it to my collection.